MSS 305 - New Orleans Geological Society Collection: :

BOX 8 

 

305-79            N.O.G.S. Publicity and Public Relations Committee 1969-1970 – correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-80            N.O.G.S. Entertainment Committee 1969-1970; Correspondence and materials regarding this committee and N.O.G.S. entertainment functions.  Most of the correspondence deals with soliciting donations for the N.O.G.S. entertainment budget.  List of Contributors dated January 1971

 

305-81            Historian’s Correspondence, 1969-1970.  Includes material for a “25 Years Ago This Month” column for the N.O.G.S. Log.

 

305-82            Correspondence of William C. Krueger, Secretary, 1969-1970, much of it concerning Directory advertising

 

305-83            Other Miscellaneous Correspondence of William C. Krueger, Secretary 1969-1970

 

305-84            Minutes of Director’s Meeting; Executive Committee Meetings; officer’s Meetings, October 1969-Aug 1970; Treasurer’s Report, 1969-70

 

305-85            Minutes of the Regular Monthly Meeting, September 1969-August 1970

 

305-86            Composite List of N.O.G.S. Members, Committee Preference Cards, September 1970

 

305-87            N.O.G.S. Log [Newsletter] Vol. 10 November 1969-October 1970

 

BOX  9

 

305-88            N.O.G.S. Library Committee 1970. Correspondence and memoranda

 

305-89            1970 Committee Members (two lists); Treasurer’s Report

 

305-90            Correspondence, “General Information Regarding Conduct And Procedures of Hearing – United States Department of The Interior Bureau of Land Management,” Memorandum dealing with federal income tax; list of A.A.P.G. publications; University of Tulsa “Short Course In Advanced Petroleum Geology” pamphlet; List of Members; Treasurer’s Report (full version)

 

305-91            Salt Domes Revision Committee - correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-92            Awards Committee - correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-93            Miscellaneous Correspondence 1971; includes schedule of N.O.G.S. speakers 1971-72; Secretary’s Report; List of Membership

 

305-94            Cross Section Committee - correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-95            Correspondence 1970-1971 - Miscellaneous topics and authors

 

305-96            Environmental Committee 1970-1971 - correspondence regarding this committee,

 

305-97            N.O.G.S. Directory 1970 -- correspondence regarding the N.O.G.S. directory, including budgetary information

 

305-98            Publications Committee -- correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-99            Field Trip Committee -- correspondence regarding this committee and various N.O.G.S. field trips for 1970-1971

 

305-100         Library Committee 1970-1972 - correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-101         School Information Committee – correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-102         Membership Committee – correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-103         Entertainment Committee – correspondence, receipts, invoices, etc.

 

305-104         Constitution, List of officers and Committee Chairmen, Treasurer’s Report, Society Position Paper On Federal offshore Lease Sale of December 1971

 

305-105         Minutes of Director’s Meetings, Executive Meetings and Special Committees

 

305-106         Minutes of Regular Meetings

 

305-107         N.O.G.S. Log [Newsletter] Vol. 11 November 1970 -October 1971

 

BOX  10

 

305-108         Miscellaneous Correspondence 1971-1972, includes correspondence relating to N.O.G.S. 1972 photo directory, “Notes on the Publication of a Photo Directory;” List of Committees and Chairmen; Correspondence regarding various committees 1970-1971

 

305-109         Entertainment Committee: correspondence, invitations, receipts, paperwork, lists of contributors

 

305-110         Publications Committee / Public Relations Committee / Continuing Education Committee – correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-111         Membership Committee – correspondence, memoranda, etc. regarding this committee

 

305-112         School Information Committee – correspondence, etc.

 

305-113         N.O.G.S./G.C.A.G.S. correspondence, proposed constitutional changes

 

305-114         Library Committee – reports and correspondence

 

305-115         Environmental Committee – includes considerable material dealing with Lake Pontchartrain and lease of land activities in the early 1970s. Also contains newspaper editorials, and various responses; clipping from Vieux Carre Courier December 10-16, 1971 (“Lake Pontchartrain: It’s Oil Over Now!”) various letters to the editors of New Orleans States-Item, and correspondence with Louisiana Congressman Patrick Caffery, Speedy O. Long, Senator F. W. Hebert, and others. etc.

 

305-116         Field Trip Committee, 1972. Correspondence and other memoranda; Guidebook: A Walking Tour of Downtown New Orleans (booklet)

 

305-117         Computer Applications Committee / Cross Section Committee / Auditing Committee - correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-118         Awards Committee / Offshore Louisiana Oil & Gas Fields Committee - correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-119         Charities and Memorial Committee - correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-120         Ballot Committee – includes list of trade organizations compiled by New Orleans Chamber of Commerce, 1972

 

305-121         President’s Incoming Correspondence 1971-1972 [Letters to president from others].  Letter regarding Oklahoma City Geological Society’s tax fight with the Internal Revenue Service; Farewell comments of outgoing A.A.P.G. president James E. Wilson; list of officers of the Corpus Christi Geological Society 1973-74; Memo regarding “Junior Membership” category in N.O.G.S.; List of N.O.G.S.  Committee Chairmen 1974; Memo regarding geologic registration and a survey conducted by the Oklahoma section of the A.I.P.G.; Letter from Harry Anisgard regarding alleged racial discrimination at the Metairie Country Club

 

305-122         President’s Correspondence 1971-1972 Frank Crawford, President; includes original copies of “President’s Corner” columns from the N.O.G.S.  Log publication; handwritten operations budget, July 1972; Materials regarding Lifetime Membership awards given to “Boots” Bremer and  Jules Braunstein (including brief biographies of both men); correspondence from Frank Constant regarding Geologist certification; correspondence regarding the release of electrical logs for the state of Louisiana; Minutes of Directors’ Meeting, May 10, 1972; clipping from the Times Picayune February 22, 1972 “Courts Go Too Far – Bellmon: Cancellation of offshore Lease Sale Cited”; Correspondence from Frank Crawford to Senator Henry Bellmon, Mayor Moon Landrieu and others; correspondence regarding “Decision Methods For Petroleum Exploration: A short course of special interest to Gulf Coast geologists, engineers, and managers;” correspondence regarding the delegates to the A.A.P.G. Convention; press release offering N.O.G.S. assistance to the city of New Orleans in forming a policy position regarding oil/gas exploration and pollution; miscellaneous correspondence regarding the George C. Matson Award

 

305-123         Secretary’s File, Committee Preference List; blank N.O.G.S. letterhead

 

305-124         Minutes of Monthly Regular Meetings October 71- December 72

 

305-125         Minutes of Director’s Meetings September 71 – November 72; List of Committee Chairmen 1971-1972

 

305-126         General Statement (Financial) 1971-1972; Treasurer’s Reports

 

305-127         N.O.G.S. Log [Newsletter] Vol. 12 November 1972-October 1973

 

305-128         N.O.G.S. Directory 1971

 

BOX  11

 

305-129         Publicity and Public Relations Committee / Public Affairs Committee. “The Na­tional Energy Outlook” pamphlet published by Shell, March 1973; “A Response to Issues in the Assessment of Environmental Impacts of Oil and Gas Production on the Outer Continental Shelf” pamphlet published by Public Issues Study Group of the N.O.G.S., August 1974; miscellaneous correspondence concerning Public Affairs Committee and increasing the visibility of the N.O.G.S. as a lobbying/consultation force in matters of public energy policy; Environmental Action Committee Prepared Speeches and Supplemental Information” listing

 

305-130         Publications Committee – includes 1973 inventory of N.O.G.S. publications, lists and catalogs from other geological organizations

 

305-131         Field Trip Committee – Correspondence, notes, and fliers advertising field trips by other Geological Societies and University Departments (Shreveport Geological Society, LSUNO Geology Department)

 

305-132         Geologic Registration Committee, including. forms for registering as a geologist in Delaware

 

305-133         G.C.A.G.S. Correspondence regarding various G.C.A.G.S. business; Treasurer’s Report for 1972; Minutes of G.C.A.G.S. Executive Meeting, March 27, 1973; Gulf Coast Section (G.C.A.G.S.) Report, 1972

 

305-134         Library Committee 1973: Correspondence, report to N.O.G.S. president

 

305-135         School Information Committee correspondence, report to N.O.G.S. president

 

305-136         Insurance Committee / Historian Committee – miscellaneous correspondence, reports to N.O.G.S. president, 1973

 

305-137         Membership Committee – correspondence, report to President, 1973 committee membership lists

 

305-138         Entertainment Committee 1973 – miscellaneous Correspondence regarding various N.O.G.S. functions (cocktail parties, Crawfish boil, Christmas dance, etc.), also receipts and advertising fliers.

 

305-139         Citizen’s Advisory committee / Charities and Memorials Committee miscellaneous correspondence, 1973.

 

305-140         Well Data Committee – contains materials pertaining to the government release of oil well data, 1973-1974

 

305-141         Miscellaneous Correspondence 1973-1974; Geological Auxiliary, correspondence to and from Dr. M. W. Haas, President of the A.A.P.G.; President’s Corner column, 9/14/74; list of nominees for officers’ elections 1974-1975; announcement of officers (election winners) 1974-1975;

 

305-142         A.A.P.G. – correspondence, publications, notes, lists of delegates to the 1973 A.A.P.G. convention; A.A.P.G. Honors And Awards (pamphlet); A.A.P.G. Constitution and Bylaws; A.A.P.G. press release regarding award winners, including N.O.G.S. members Gordon Atwater, winner of the Sidney Powers Memorial Medal, and Leslie Bowling, Distinguished Service Plaque; correspondence regarding a discussion of disciplinary action against a member at national A.A.P.G. and local (N.O.G.S.) level

 

305-143         Continuing Education Committee -- committee membership list; correspondence regarding committee activities

 

305-144         Employment Counseling / Cross Section Committee – Report to president regarding activities of the Employment Counseling committee; correspondence regarding Environmental Committee, stating that said committee should become more active in public relations; report to president regarding activities of Cross Section Committee

 

305-145         Treasurer’s Reports 1973 (financial data) and related financial correspondence

 

305-146         Miscellaneous Correspondence – regarding N.O.G.S. Log, inventory of projection equipment, schedule of speakers 1972-1973, list of committee members

 

305-147         Membership committee 1973 – correspondence, reports, etc.  Biography of Leslie Bowling, Gordon Frey, Jules Braunstein, and other prominent members of the N.O.G.S.; correspondence regarding delegates to A.A.P.G. and ballot results of A.A.P.G. Delegate elections; results of a questionnaire analysis done by A.A.P.G. regarding the Sloss Report concerning the registration of geologists; President’s Corner column, February 13, 1973; Notice to Society delegates concerning Proposed Amendments To Constitution & Bylaws of the A.A.P.G., 1972; Minutes of A.A.P.G. House of Delegates Meeting, April 16, 1972; Program announcement for  “A Symposium On Underground Waste Management and Artificial Recharge,” September 26-29, 1973

 

305-148         Auditing Committee / Computer Committee / Offshore Louisiana Oil and Gas Committee – correspondence regarding activities of these committees

 

305-149         Minutes of Executive Committee Meetings / Minutes of officers’ And Directors’ Meetings

 

305-150         Miscellaneous Files – includes Entertainment Fund contributors’ list, correspondence regarding the N.O.G.S. directory

 

305-151         N.O.G.S. Log [Newsletter] Vol. 13 November 1972-October 1973

 

BOX 12

 

305-152         N.O.G.S. Log [Newsletter] Vol. 14 November 1973-October 1974 / Directory 1974

 

305-153         Library Committee / Continuing Education Committee / Employment Counseling Committee. Correspondence regarding the activities of these various committees, 1973-1974

 

305-154         Environmental Committee – includes statements from N.O.G.S. members at Louisiana Senate hearings regarding oil exploration and its effects on the environment, 1974

 

305-155         Miscellaneous Correspondence – correspondence regarding N.O.G.S. Women’s Auxiliary and its directory; correspondence regarding N.O.G.S. Log newsletter; list of officers for the South Texas Geological Society 1975-1976;results of Kansas Geological society survey regarding licensing of geologists; undated press release/article “Oil Search In Gulf Coast Area Up Sharply;” biographic sketches of N.O.G.S. members Lee Meltzer and Frank Crawford, supplied when both ran for Vice Presidency of A.A.P.G.

 

305-156         Treasurer’s Reports / Membership Committee / Auditing Committee / Charity Committee / Tax Forms, returns, financial statements, etc.

 

305-157         Minutes From Executive Committee Meetings / Minutes From officers’ And Directors Meetings

 

305-158         Minutes of N.O.G.S. Board of Directors Meetings October 74 – November 75

 

305-159         Public Affairs Committee – 1974 – Minutes of AAPG Public Information Committee Meeting, March 31, 1974; Memorandum entitled “Future Activities of the Public Affairs Committee of the New Orleans Geological Society; Testimony By New Orleans Geological Society for Department of Interior Public Hearing, July 15 and 16, 1974, regarding Proposed New Rules For Submission And Disclosure of Geological and Geophysical Data on Outer Continental Shelf Tracts (draft version); Summary of Proposed Testimony by New Orleans Geological Society and Southeastern Geophysical Society at U.S.G.S. Public Hearing, July 15, 1974; Statement presented at the hearing on G&G Data Disclosure on July 15, 1974, by Joe B. Foster; information and files regarding tax-exempt status of non-profit organizations with respect to political lobbying; Testimony by New Orleans Geological Society for Department of Interior Public Hearing, July 15 and 16, 1974, regarding Proposed New Rules for Submission and Disclosure of Geological and Geophysical Data on Outer Continental Shelf Tracts (final version); memorandum regarding Energy Conservation, December 14, 1973; Letter to Walter Cronkite, December 7, 1973 from Kenneth A. Schwarz (N.O.G.S. member); A.A.P.G. memo regarding a slide presentation “Energy Crisis: Real Or Contrived?” being offered to affiliated societies; correspondence from Raymond Stevens, President of N.O.G.S. to various civic leaders regarding efforts to postpone action on House Bill 8, House Bill 9 and Senate Bill 9,  “which will be detrimental to the exploration efforts of the oil and gas industry of this state”; correspondence regarding “OCS Oil and Gas – An Environmental Assessment” by the Review Committee of the National Research Council, released by the National Academy of Sciences in 1974

 

305-160         Publications Committee / Field Trip Committee / GCAGS Awards Committee / Nominating Committee / Library Committee – correspondence and memoranda regarding these committees

 

305-161         Program Committee / School Information / Insurance Committee / Historian / Membership Committee / Entertainment Committee – memoranda and correspondence regarding these committees; Report from Program Chairman Peter Gray, September 16, 1974; Schedule of N.O.G.S. guest speakers 1973-1974; School information committee report; list of N.O.G.S. officers, 1974-1975; Membership Committee annual report; list of entertainment fund contributors, 1974; list of N.O.G.S. Entertainment Committee members, 1974; summary of expenses for N.O.G.S. Christmas Dance, 1974

 

BOX  13

 

305-162         Library Committee [1974-1975] correspondence and memoranda, including a list of items donated to the New Orleans Public Library during the year 1975

 

305-163         Publicity and Public Relations Committee: President’s Letters; Tulsa Geological society newsletter, June 1975; miscellaneous correspondence concerning committee matters; correspondence concerning Dr. Abdulrahman al-Zamil’s visit to the United States to speak at a N.O.G.S. function, 1974; miscellaneous correspondence; announcement of election of officers for 1975-1975; announcements sent to various media regarding new N.O.G.S. officers; Memo regarding suggestions for public relations for N.O.G.S., June 1975

 

305-164         IRS File, including tax documents 1974-1975.

 

305-165         Public Affairs Committee 1974-1975 – Miscellaneous correspondence, memoranda regarding attempts to defeat S.692 Gas Regulation Bill (1975),  a bill which attempted to place limitations on the prices energy companies could charge and exert more regulatory control over the energy industry; letters to Phil Johnson of WWL-TV and a response to his editorial broadcast of June 17, 1975; article “Gas Producer’s Records Subpoenaed” from the Times-Picayune June 17, 1975; “U.S. Gas Picture Darkens While SNG And LNG Lag,” The Oil and Gas Journal June 16, 1975; letter to Senator Warren Magnuson, Chairman Senate Committee on Commerce, June 17, 1975; Draft of “Comments on HR 6218,” presented to House Select Committee on the Outer Continental Shelf hearing in New Orleans, Louisiana, on June 7, 1975; copy of H.R. 6218; “Comments On HR 6218 (final version); various materials regarding exploration risks in finding oil and gas, and government regulation of the process; papers and materials concerning the drilling of “wildcat” oil rigs; Agenda, House Select Committee on the Outer Continental Shelf, April 30, 1975; List of Potential Witnesses for Hearings of the Ad Hoc Select Committee on the Outer Continental Shelf, April 30, 1975; Testimony of R. M. Jemison, Jr. at the Louisiana Energy Commission Hearing, April 18, 1975, List of Members of Public Affairs Committee 1974-1975; Press release concern­ing Senate Finance Committee Report titled “Profitability of Selected Major Oil Company Operations,” released January 13, 1975; List of “Important Senate Committees;” “Background Paper #2, Independent/Major Roles in the Explor­ation for Oil and Gas,” paper by Strategic Committee on Public Affairs, A.A.P.G.

 

305-166         Publications Committee – correspondence regarding N.O.G.S. Publications. Includes Publications Inventory dated February 22, [1975]

 

305-167         Field Trip Committee / Geologic Registration: correspondence and memoranda regarding these committees. Georgia Registration of Geologists Act of 1975; “Registration Revisited,” an article from Geotimes magazine, July 1972; copies of various legislation concerning the registration of geologists; “The Professional Geologist” newsletter, May & June, 1971; undated paper entitled “Registration in Louisiana 1946-1973,” a “very rough draft” of “A Bill Relating to Professional Geologists” regarding registration (sample bill dated March 1975); State of Idaho Senate Bill No. 1007, As Amended by State Affairs Committee” (undated); “Assembly Bill No. 600” (California legislature, undated); miscellaneous correspondence regarding the issue of Geologic registration

 

305-168         G.C.A.G.S. 1974-1975 Correspondence, financial reports, etc.

 

305-169         Library Committee / Nominating / Program / School Information / Insurance / Continuing Education / Publications Committee – Correspondence, reports, memoranda regarding these committees. Copy of “The St. Paul Liability Policy” sent as a sample to N.O.G.S. by New Orleans insurance agent Frank Hoyt; miscellaneous receipts, bills, invoices and other paperwork; N.O.G.S. bank statements January – December 1974

 

305-170         Entertainment Committee – Miscellaneous correspondence; list of donors; various receipts for N.O.G.S. Entertainment Committee expenditures

 

305-171         Miscellaneous 1974 – 1975 receipts and financial records

 

305-172         Field Trip Committee / Awards Committee / Luncheon Committee – Miscel­laneous correspondence, receipts and other ephemera regarding these committees

 

305-173         I.R.S. File 1974 –1975 – includes, forms, tax returns, correspondence

 

305-174         Membership Committee – correspondence

 

305-175         President’s Correspondence – Peter Gray, President 1974-1975.  Information regarding Gordon Atwater, Sydney Powers Memorial Medalist for 1973 (A.A.P.G. award); correspondence regarding the naming of OCS Protraction Diagrams (to be named in memory of prominent deceased geologists); miscel­laneous correspondence from Peter Gray; article: “Michel Halbouty’s Oil Genius Recognized by Yount,” (Beaumont Sunday Enterprise-Journal, July 4, 1976); Brief biography of Michel T. Halibouty; miscellaneous correspondence; “First Call for Papers: offshore Technology Conference, May 2-5, Houston, Texas”; Minutes of Executive Committee Meetings, November 1975- September, 1976; Minutes of Meetings of The Board of Directors, December 1975-August 1976

 

305-176         A.A.P.G. correspondence, brochures, etc.; Program for A.A.P.G. Awards Banquet, 1975; “Take the A.A.P.G. Route to Professionalism” (pamphlet), miscellaneous correspondence, list of scheduled future A.A.P.G. conventions 1975-1979; list of Speakers Bureau Chairmen for affiliated societies of A.A.P.G.

 

305-177         School Information / Awards Committee – correspondence . List of N.O.G.S. Committees and Chairmen 1974-1975; correspondence regarding Awards committee, 1974-1975; List of Committees and Chairmen, 1975-1976; Obituaries for Leslie Bowling and Harold O. Miller (Times-Picayune); List of members of School Information Committee

 

305-178         N.O.G.S. Log [newsletter] file: invoices, receipts correspondence 1974-1975

 

305-179         Directory / Publications / Cross Section Committee – correspondence regarding these committees

 

305-180         Treasurer’s Reports and Files 1974-1975

 

305-181         Miscellaneous Correspondence 1974-1975 – concerning membership, finances, etc. Contains a photocopy of portions of “The Mother Earth News, July 1975, issue no. 34”; Correspondence regarding N.O.G.S. board of directors meeting July 10, 1975; set of charts showing “Distribution of Advertising Rates Among Geological Societies;” miscellaneous correspondence and documents regarding N.O.G.S. budget and financial records;

 

305-182         N.O.G.S. Log [Newsletter] Vol. 15 November 1974-October 1975

 

 

BOX  14

 

305-183         N.O.G.S. Library Committee 1975-1976 – correspondence regarding this committee; committee report

 

305-184         Publicity And Public Relations – Correspondence, clippings, list of board of Directors 1975-1976;

 

305-185         I.R.S. Files – correspondence and paperwork regarding N.O.G.S. taxes and non-profit status

 

305-186         Public Affairs Committee 1975-76 – correspondence; Rough Draft of Statement By N.O.G.S. Submitted to Bureau of Land Management Concerning Mid-Atlantic Oil and Gas Lease Sale” dated February 11, 1976; series of letters to the editor and other correspondence regarding an article in the States-Item headlines “Offshore Oil Bonanza Dividends Staggering,” November 3, 1975;

 

305-187         N.O.G.S. Log [Newsletter] file, correspondence contains “How to Edit the Log”

 

305-188         Publications Committee – correspondence and memoranda regarding N.O.G.S. publications, including budget papers

 

305-189         Geological Registration Committee / G.C.A.G.S. folder 1975-1976 – correspondence regarding these committees, the registration of geologists, etc.

 

305-190         G.C.A.G.S. Convention file – correspondence regarding planning and preparation for the G.C.A.G.S. convention which took place in New Orleans, October 11-13, 1976

 

305-191         Historian Committee / Nominating Committee / Program Committee – correspondence regarding these committees

 

305-192         School Information / Technical Projects – correspondence regarding these committees

 

305-193         Entertainment Committee – correspondence regarding N.O.G.S. Entertainment Committee, including budgets, memoranda on particular events (Crawfish boil, Christmas party, etc.) and list of potential donors to entertainment fund 1974-1976

 

305-194         Membership Committee / Continuing Education / Directory Committee

 

305-195         Treasurer’s Reports 1976 / Various Committee Correspondence / Lists of Committees 1975-1976 and their chairmen

 

305-196-        N.O.G.S. Log [Newsletter] Vol. 16 November 1975-October 1976

 

305-197         Miscellaneous correspondence/ past presidents & lifetime members / student paper awards

 

305-198         Constitutional committee includes constitutions and bylaws of other southern geological societies, including Shreveport Geological Society, Austin Geological Society, Houston Geological Society, South Texas Geological Society, Mississippi Geological Society, East Texas Geological Society; correspondence and memoranda regarding updates to N.O.G.S. constitution

 

305-199         A.A.P.G. Correspondence, delegates - Correspondence and memoranda regarding A.A.P.G. convention; also contains computer printout of N.O.G.S. membership list, dated November 1975

 

305-200         Secretary’s Correspondence 1975-1976 – Calvin A. Parker, N.O.G.S. secretary – list of N.O.G.S. officers 1976-1977; correspondence regarding recipients of N.O.G.S. scholarships 1975-1976; documents for a proposed revision of the N.O.G.S. constitution; pamphlet for “A Short Course in Unitization of Oil and Gas Properties, July 12-16, 1976; Treasurer’s Report, June 15, 1976; undated memo “N.O.G.S. Mulls Technical Bulletin;” miscellaneous correspondence; list of new members for 1975; correspondence regarding Student Paper Awards; other miscellaneous correspondence

 

305-201         President’s Correspondence 1976-77 – Charles Stuart, President – miscellaneous correspondence, including letters regarding the Second Annual Past President’s And Honorary Members Day, correspondence regarding honorary memberships, Committee Report dated February 5, 1976; Treasurer’s Report, December 31, 1976; Newspaper reports concerning Vince Perrin, a geologist and N.O.G.S. member indicted (and later convicted) on charges of conspiring to steal oil well data in order to exploit it; miscellaneous correspondence; operation budget June-August 1976 (handwritten copy); correspondence regarding Ladies’ Auxiliary

 

305-202         Minutes of the Board of Directors July 1976-September 1977

 

BOX  15

 

305-203         N.O.G.S. A.A.P.G. files, 1975-1976, miscellaneous correspondence and reports regarding N.O.G.S. and the A.A.P.G.

 

305-204         A.A.P.G. Convention in New Orleans May 24-26 1976 – materials concerning this convention – correspondence, memoranda, etc.

 

305-205         Library Committee / Continuing Education Committee / Treasurer’s Reports – correspondence regarding these committees

 

305-206         Awards Committee – correspondence and memoranda regarding this committee

 

305-207         A.A.P.G. Correspondence concerning elections, and other non-convention-related topics (items related to the A.A.P.G. convention are in folder 204).

 

305-208         Publicity And Public Relations Committee / I.R.S. / Newsletter correspondence/ Publications Committee – correspondence regarding these committees

 

305-209         Public Affairs Committee 1976-1977 – correspondence and memoranda regarding these committees

 

305-210         G.C.A.G.S. – correspondence and information about the G.C.A.G.S. convention

 

305-211         Entertainment Committee – correspondence regarding to the Entertainment Committee, 1976-77, including committee report and financial information regarding N.O.G.S. functions

 

305-212         Meetings of the Board of Directors (Minutes) August 1976- September 1977

 

305-213         N.O.G.S. Log [Newsletter] Vol. 17 November 1976-October 1977

 

 

BOX  16

 

305-214         Library Committee / Employment Counseling Committee / Continuing Education Committee – correspondence regarding these committees

 

305-215         Directory Committee / Cross Section Committee / Treasurer’s Reports and budgets 1977-78 / Publications -- Correspondence and Budget

 

305-216         Committees and Chairmen 1977-78 (list) / Miscellaneous Correspondence / Awards Committee / Honors and Awards for A.A.P.G., includes program of A.A.P.G. Honors And Awards winners, September 1977

 

305-217         Executive officers Meeting Minutes / Board of Directors’ Minutes 1977-1978 / G.C.A.G.S. Spring meeting minutes / List of New Members 1978 / Audit Com­mittee – correspondence and memoranda regarding these committees and events

 

305-218         A.A.P.G. Delegates Folder – correspondence and information regarding N.O.G.S. delegates to the A.A.P.G. convention

 

305-219         officers, Board of Directors Meeting Minutes 1977-78

 

305-220         Miscellaneous Correspondence 1977-78 – Letter to President Jimmy Carter, October 17, 1977; miscellaneous correspondence; A.A.P.G. General Statement, September 1977; A.A.P.G. List of Corporate Contributors by Category; miscellaneous correspondence; A.A.P.G. General Questionnaire, December 1974; 

 

305-221         Publicity and Public Relations / I.R.S. / Public Affairs Committee – correspond­ence and memoranda regarding these committees

 

305-222         N.O.G.S. Log / Publications Committee / Field Trip Committee – correspondence regarding these committees

 

305-223         G.C.A.G.S. and G.C.A.G.S. Convention 1978 (correspondence concerning upcoming convention)

 

305-224         History Committee -- “The History of the New Orleans Geological Society” compiled in 1978

 

305-225         Nominating Committee / School Information Committee –- correspondence regarding these committees from 1977-1978

 

305-226         Membership Committee / Entertainment Committee 1977-78

 

305-227         N.O.G.S. Log [Newsletter] Vol. 18 November 1977-October 1978

 

 

BOX  17

 

305-228         Library Committee – correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-229         Publicity and Public Relations Committee / I.R.S. file [includes tax return] correspondence and memoranda

 

305-230         Public Affairs Committee – correspondence regarding pre-lease, on-structure drilling on OCS (offshore) lands (N.O.G.S. was opposed to such drilling);

 

305-231         N.O.G.S. Log committee / Publications Committee / Field Trip committee / Geologic Registration Committee – correspondence regarding these committees

 

305-232         G.C.A.G.S.  Convention correspondence, treasurer’s reports, minutes of meetings 1978-1979, etc.

 

305-233         Miscellaneous Committee reports: Nomination / School Information / Insurance Technical Projects – correspondence and memoranda regarding these committees

 

305-234         Entertainment Committee – information regarding N.O.G.S. Entertainment activities 1978-1979, such as Golf Tournament, Christmas Dance, Crawfish Boil, etc.  Includes correspondence regarding these events, and Solicitation List (of potential sponsors)

 

305-235         Directory Committee Treasurer’s Reports / List of Committee Chairmen 1978-79 / Committee Preferences (membership volunteer responses)

 

305-236         Minutes: Board of Directors, Regular Monthly Meetings, Executive Officers Meetings 1978-1979. [Arranged in reverse chronological order (newest first)]

 

305-237         Awards Committee / Lifetime Membership Awards / A.A.P.G. delegates

 

305-238         Miscellaneous Correspondence 1979-1980 – correspondence regarding review of N.O.G.S. financial books, 1978-1979; Proposal for recognition of non-members who contribute to N.O.G.S. committees; miscellaneous N.O.G.S. correspondence; “Compiling Directory And Maintaining Membership File Recommended Time Table for N.O.G.S. Secretary; Directory and Membership Summary; Minutes of Executive Committee Meeting, G.C.A.G.S. April 25, 1980; other miscellaneous correspondence

 

305-239         List of Members 1979-80

 

305-240         A.A.P.G. Miscellaneous correspondence and memoranda

 

305-241         History of New Orleans Geological Society highlights, including list of lifetime members

 

305-242         N.O.G.S. Log [Newsletter] Vol. 19 November 1978-October 1979

 

 

BOX  18

 

305-243         Library Committee / Nominating Committee – correspondence regarding these committees

 

305-244         Miscellaneous Correspondence / A.A.P.G. Convention 1979-1980 correspond­ence

 

305-245         Publicity and Public Relations – includes “The U.S. Oil and Gas Industry: Exploration and Development” a position statement published by the American Institute of Professional Geologists, January 1980

 

305-246         A.A.P.G. Petroleum Information Package 1980

 

305-247         Public Affairs Committee – includes testimony of Rudolph Siegert, Geologist, before the House Subcommittee on Fisheries And Wildlife Conservation and the Environment, October 5, 1979, New Orleans, Louisiana, regarding the adverse effect of government delays placed upon exploratory drilling in Wetlands areas due to environmental regulations

 

305-248         Auditing Committee / Scouting Committee / Treasurer’s Report for Third Quarter, 1979-1980

 

305-249         Awards Committee – correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-250         Publications Committee – correspondence and memoranda regarding this committee

 

305-251         Committee Reports, I.R.S. (including tax correspondence)

 

305-252         School Information Committee – correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-253         Technical Projects / Geologic Registration Committee – correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-254         Board of Directors Meetings Minutes

 

305-255         N.O.G.S. Log [Newsletter] Vol. 20 November 1979-October 1980

 

BOX  19

 

305-256         Library Committee – correspondence regarding this committee, including budgets and memoranda

 

305-257         1982 Directory

 

305-258         Continuing Education / Scholarship Fund / Operating Budget 1980-1981 – correspondence regarding these committees

 

305-259         Public Relations Committee 1980-1981 – correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-260         Public Affairs Committee – Proposal for Geological Advisory Committee, June 23, 1981; February The Developing Energy Crisis: A Long Tradition; Forum Number One: Historical Perspectives On The Energy Crisis; Forum #2: Present Conditions, Ethical Concerns; Forum #3: Speculation On Future Trends; Resources And Discussion Questions

 

305-261         Scouting – Explorer Charter 1981 (Boy Scouts of America)

 

305-262         Publications Committee – Report of Publications Committee 1980; Inventory of Publications 1980

 

305-263         Field Trip Committee Report 1981

 

305-264         G.C.A.G.S. – miscellaneous correspondence, memoranda, etc.

 

305-265         G.C.A.G.S. Convention 1980-1981 folder – correspondence, etc. pertaining to 1980 Convention

 

305-266         Program Committee – committee report, correspondence

 

305-267         Technical Projects Committee – committee report, correspondence

 

305-268         A.A.P.G. Correspondence 1980-1981 – N.O.G.S. correspondence regarding the A.A.P.G.

 

305-269         Miscellaneous Correspondence to the N.O.G.S. President, 1980-1981 / Awards Committee report and correspondence

 

305-270         Treasurer Reports 1980-1981

 

305-271         Committee Memberships -- lists, correspondence, etc.

 

305-272         Minutes of Meetings Regular Monthly Meetings / Board Meetings 1980 – 1981

 

305-273         A.A.P.G. Student Chapter – notes and correspondence

 

305-274         1985 A.A.P.G. Convention – correspondence relating to the proposed A.A.P.G. Convention in New Orleans in 1985

 

305-275         N.O.G.S. Log [Newsletter] Vol. 21 November 1980-October 1981

 

BOX  20

 

305-276         Library Committee – correspondence and memoranda regarding this committee, including lists of books donated to various libraries

 

305-277         Publicity and Public Relations Committee – correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-278         Publications Committee - correspondence regarding this committee; list of publications and inventory in stock, dated August 1, 1981

 

305-279         N.O.G.S. Log Committee – correspondence, budget, etc. N.O.G.S.  Log publications for 1981-82 is in folder 292

 

305-280         Nominating A.A.P.G. Delegates 1982 – notes and correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-281         Luncheon and Speakers Committee - correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-282         Field Trip Committee - correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-283         Entertainment Committee - correspondence regarding this committee and N.O.G.S. social events, such as Christmas party, crawfish boil, etc.  List of potential donors to entertainment fund.

 

305-284         Continuing Education - correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-285         Budget, Treasurer’s Reports (1982)

 

305-286         Committee Budgets / Publications - correspondence regarding these committees

 

305-287         Technical Projects Committee - correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-288         Transportation Committee Report, and miscellaneous Correspondence and Papers, 1982 – Transportation Committee annual report, correspondence regarding A.A.P.G. Delegates, publications budget

 

305-289         1982 List of officers, Directors and Committeemen, and photo of 1982 officers

 

305-290         General President’s Correspondence (Charles Corona, President, 1981-1982) – miscellaneous correspondence, including letters inviting individuals to meetings, a copy of Grantors and Givers, University of New Orleans publication, Vol.1, No.1, July 13, 1982; correspondence involving meetings for 1982; correspondence regarding the N.O.G.S. efforts to lobby against proposed CWEL tax legislation; correspondence regarding to N.O.G.S. efforts to lobby against House Bill No. 1660, the Louisiana Wetlands Tax; correspondence regarding N.O.G.S. Log schedule; list of invitees to N.O.G.S. past present and honorary members meeting, June 7, 1982; miscellaneous correspondence

 

305-291         Minutes of Meetings Regular Meetings / Executive Board Meetings

 

305-292         N.O.G.S. Log [Newsletter] Vol. 22, November 1981-October 1982

 

 

BOX  21         1982- 1983

 

305-293         Library Committee1983

 

305-294         Technical Projects Committee – Minutes of Technical Projects Committee

 

305-295         Publicity and Public Relations Committee / Publications Committee – correspondence regarding these two committees, including lists of publications sold, publication notice for the book “A Tour Guide to the Building Stones of New Orleans,” correspondence discussing N.O.G.S. potentially forming a Mardi Gras krewe or truck float

 

305-296         Program Committee / Projection Committee / Photography Committee – notes and correspondence

 

305-297         Scholarship Fund – correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-298         Geologic Registration Committee - correspondence regarding this committee, concerned with government efforts to regulate geologists through registration and licensing

 

305-299         Entertainment – correspondence regarding this committee, including budgets and memoranda regarding various N.O.G.S. social functions, including crawfish boil and Christmas Dance

 

305-300         Employment Counseling / Directory Committee - correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-301         Continuing Education / Boy Scout Committee Awards Committee / Auditing Committee - correspondence regarding these committees

 

305-302         A.A.P.G. School Information Committee – notes and correspondence

 

305-303         A.A.P.G. Delegates – notes and correspondence regarding this committee, appointment of delegates to the A.A. P.G.

 

305-304         Miscellaneous Correspondence 1982-1983 Duncan Goldwaithe, President

 

305-305         A.A.P.G. Delegates Committee 1982-1983

 

305-306         “Follow Up on A.A.P.G. Day” paper and convention packet from 1982

 

305-307         Treasurer’s Report, Budget, Financial Papers

 

305-308         Minutes of the Regular Noon Meeting

 

305-309         Minutes of the Executive Board Meeting

 

305-310         Public Affairs Correspondence 1982-83

 

305-311         N.O.G.S. 1982-1983 Budget

 

BOX  22

 

305-312         Library Committee 1983-1984 – miscellaneous correspondence and papers regarding this committee; includes a geology course outline for the Non Technical Education Committee

 

305-313         Transportation Committee /Technical Projects Committee – correspondence and memoranda regarding these committees

 

305-314         Publicity & Public Information Committee/ Publications Sales Committee

 

305-315         Projection/Photography/Non-technical Education/Nominating/Membership Com­mittees – miscellaneous correspondence regarding these committees

 

305-316         N.O.G.S. Log Correspondence / N.O.G.S. Memorial Scholarship Committee

 

305-317         Ad Hoc Luncheon Site Committee – notes of temporary committee concerning the relocation of N.O.G.S. luncheons to another restaurant, circa 1983-1984

 

305-318         Historical / Field Trip / Women’s Auxiliary / Entertainment Committee

 

305-319         Boy and Girl Scouts/Continuing Education/Employment Counseling/Awards & Nominations Committees

 

305-320         Miscellaneous Committee and Budget Reports 1983-1984

 

305-321         A.A.P.G. Delegates / Miscellaneous N.O.G.S. Correspondence

 

305-322         N.O.G.S. Log Vol. 23 #3-12. Vol. 24 #1-12

 

 

BOX  23

 

305-323         N.O.G.S. Library Committee 1984-1985 – papers of the Library Committee

 

305-324         A.A.P.G. Convention Report – correspondence and reports concerning the A.A.P.G. convention (some correspondence as well)

 

305-325         A.A.P.G. Correspondence – Convention-related and other miscellaneous

 

305-326         Minutes of Executive Board Meetings 1984-1985 – minutes of executive board meetings, plus related correspondence, financial statements, etc.

 

305-327         N.O.G.S. Entertainment Committee 1984-1985 – correspondence regarding the N.O.G.S. Entertainment Committee and the Society’s social functions: crawfish boil, Christmas party, etc. etc.

 

305-328         N.O.G.S. Field Trip Committee 1984-1985 – correspondence regarding this committee

 

305-329         N.O.G.S. Committee Reports – for various committees; includes budget estimates and reports on various committee activities 1984-1985

 

305-330         A.A.P.G. Convention Field Trips – correspondence regarding A.A.P.G. field trips (Cancun and the Yucatan peninsula, Mexico; Jackson, Mississippi; Lake Charles, Louisiana, and others) and short courses offered at the A.A.P.G. convention in 1985

 

305-331         G.C.A.G.S. 1984-1985 Correspondence, Memoranda, etc.

 

305-332         N.O.G.S. Log Correspondence/Membership Committee/Directory Committee

 

305-333         Financial Records 1984-1985: Spread Sheets, Budgets, Quarterly Reports

 

305-334         N.O.G.S. Log [Newsletter] Vol. 25 November 1985-February 1985

 

305-335         Duties of N.O.G.S. officers, Budget Requests, officers’ List, Long Range Calendar, Etc.

 

305-336         Publications & Publications Sales Committee/Relocation Committee/Program Committee

 

305-337         Publicity and Public Relations Committee / Technical Projects Committee

 

305-338         Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1985-1986 – brief biography of George D. Severenson, winner of the A.A.P.G.’s Distinguished Service Award for 1986; various committee and activity reports; President’s Columns from the N.O.G.S. Log; correspondence regarding Scientific Creationism; correspondence regarding various members and the A.A.P.G.

 

305-339         General Correspondence and Other Committee Reports, 1984-1985 – correspond­ence regarding the Clay Minerals Society; list of G.C.A.G.S. past officers and presidents 1951 – 1983; handwritten draft of statement “Announced From the Podium December 5 ’83 Luncheon” regarding the sinking of the Glomar Java Sea in the South China Sea off the coast of Vietnam, October 25, 1983

 

BOX  24

 

305-340         N.O.G.S. Directory 1986

 

305-341         N.O.G.S. Operations: Checkbook and Bank Statements November 1981- September 1983

 

Missing issues of N.O.G.S. Log and issues from beyond February 1985 may be found in LA COL stacks under call number QE1 .N54.

 

 

BOX CONTENT BY YEAR / FOLDER #

 

With a few minor exceptions, the boxes are chronological as follows:

 

Box         Years            Folder #                               Box         Years            Folder #

 

Box 1:    1949-1955       1-13                                   Box 13:  1974-1975      162-182

Box 2:    1955-1959       14-22                                 Box 14:  1975-1976      183-202

Box 3:    1960-1963       23-42                                 Box 15:  1976-1977      203-213

Box 4:    1964-1965       43-53                                 Box 16:  1977-1978      214-227

Box 5:    1966-1967       54-61                                 Box 17:  1978-1979      228-242

Box 6:    1967-1968       62-68                                 Box 18:  1979-1980      243-255

Box 7:    1968-1969       69-78                                 Box 19:  1980-1981      256-275

Box 8:    1969-1970       79-87                                 Box 20:  1981-1982      276-292

Box 9:    1970-1971       88-107                              Box 21:  1982-1983      293-311

Box 10:  1971-1972      108-128                             Box 22:  1983-1984      312-322

Box 11:  1972-1973      129-151                             Box 23:  1984-1985      323-339

Box 12:  1973-1974      152-161                             Box 24:  1985-1986      340-341

 

FINDING AID FOR N.O.G.S. COLLECTION (MSS # 305)

 

Listed by Folder Number

 

Search for an item by type or by year – the number given is the folder number for that item

 

YEAR	Regular Minutes	Executive Minutes	officers/ Directors Minutes	Member Directory	NOGS Log	Treasurer’s Report/IRS	A.A.P.G. materials	G.C.A.G.S. materials
1950-1955	1	2		3		4,5,6,9
1956	1			13		15,16
1957	1			13
1958	19			13
1959	19	19		13
1960-61	27	26		24	34
1961-62	28	29			35
1962-63	30	42		24	36
1963-64	37			43	48
1964-65	38	46	51	52	49
1965-66	45	58		61	53		55
1966-67	54			61	60	54
1967-68	65		65	66	67		59
1968	73			62	67
1968-69	78	75	75		72
1969-70	85	77	77	86	87	84
1970-71	106			90, 97	107	89, 90
1971-72	124		125	128	127	126
1972-73		149	149		151	145	142, 147	175
1974					152		159
1974-75		157	158		182	156, 171, 180	159	168
1975-6			212		196		199, 203, 204, 207	176, 189, 190,210
1976-77		21	212		213	195
1977-78		217	219	217		205, 215	218, 220	223
1978-79	236	236	236		242	217, 235		223,232
1979-80	272		254	239	255	248	237, 240, 244	238
1980-81	272		272		275	270	246, 268, 273	264, 265
1981-82	291			257	292	285	280, 302, 303, 305, 306
1982-83	308	291			322	301,307	321
1983-84						320	324, 325, 330
1984-85		326			334	333		331
1985
1986				340

 

Index Terms

 

 

Geology—Louisiana—New Orleans

New Orleans Geological Society