Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
OneSearch (general search across many databases)
OneSearch - Advanced Search - This is a broad search across many databases (popular and scholarly). Your search will retrieve articles from newspapers and magazines as well as books and scholarly journal articles. You can use the date limiter and the "Reviews" source type to zero in on contemporary reviews of a work.
Biographical Information on Authors
Print Resources for Reviews, Author Profiles, etc.
Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature - This is an index to articles published in key popular magazines and journals. Our holdings cover 1900-2000. Location: 2nd floor, AI3 .R4.
Book Review Digest - This source lists book reviews in popular magazines, covering 1905-1999. Location: 2nd floor, Z1210. C95
Book Review Index - This source lists book reviews in popular magazines, covering 1965-2012 . Location: 2nd floor, Z1035 .A1 B6
Book Reviews and Coverage in Popular Press
MasterFILE Complete offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
• More than 2,300 full-text magazines and journals
• More than 870 full-text reference books
• More than 73,000 full-text primary source documents
• More than 1.6 million photos, maps and flags
• More than 70,000 videos from the Associated Press (AP)
New York Times Historical Archive 1851-2010
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage: Sept 18,1851-Dec 31, 2010
Times-Picayune (America's Historical Newspapers: 20th Century)
Earliest issue: January 01, 1837
Latest issue: December 31, 1988
Note: Issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
***Search for the title of the work, and then use the "Publication Type" limiter on the right to zero in on content from "Twentieth Century Literary Criticism" (will include contemporary reviews), if available.***
Book databases & Searching in Books
UNO Library's online catalog - find books in the UNO Library (print and electronic)
WorldCat -- This database combines contents of thousands of library catalogs, allowing you to search millions of records for books and other material. You can see how widely held a particular work is, as well as how many editions of a work were published.
HathiTrust Digital Library – Search the full-text of over 10 million books digitzed and preserved by a collection of libraries and research institutions. Content availability varies.
Google Books – Search the full-text of over 30 million books. Content availability varies.
Please note that if you identify a book that is not available in the UNO Library Catalog, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan.
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
For more tools for searching for literary criticism, see the general English Research Guide.