Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information Literacy Tutorial: Module 6
Citing Sources

Module 6- Explore

This tutorial is composed of videos, graphics and text compiled from various sources. The overall design and many of the videos were created by The University of Wisconsin and are being used with permission. The layout and design of other library sites may vary slightly from UNO Library but the concepts are the same. 

 

Information Literacy Tutorial by Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported LicenseBased on a work at guides.library.uwm.edu

What belongs in a citation?

These tables show how to cite different kinds of resources in APA and MLA format. APA article from a database: Author, A.A., Author, B.B., & Author, C.C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume number(issue number), pages. DOI    APA Website: Author, A.A., & Author, B.B. (Date of publication). Title of document. Retrieved date, from name of Website, http://Web address.   MLA article from a database: Author, First Name. "Title of the Article." Title of Journal Volume.Issue (Year): pages. Name of database. Web. Date of access.   MLA Website: Editor, author, or compiler name. Name of Site. Version number. Institution/organization affiliated with the site, date of resource creation. Web. Date of access.  [Note: All of the formats use a hanging indent, and in all formats the title of the periodical is italicized.]

Module 6- Glossary Terms

  • Bibliography: A bibliography is a list of sources about a single topic. Each book listed in the bibliography is identified by its Author, Title, Publisher, Place of Publication, and Date of Publication. Articles from newspapers, journals and magazines include the title of articles, the authors, the journal or magazine, where it was published and the Volume, Issue Number, the Date of the Publication and the Pages the article appeared on. Each discipline has its own style for creating bibliography entries, e.g. MLA, APA.
  • Citation: The information given in a bibliography or a database about a particular title. The citation may include the article title, periodical title, book title, place of publication, publisher, volume, pages, and date. Refer to a style manual to learn how to format citations for your own bibliographies.
  • Plagiarism: Using another's words, ideas, or other original work without giving proper credit (usually through citation).
  • RefWorks: A web-based tool that helps you manage citations, create bibliographies, and import references from databases. It can convert stored citations into formatted bibliographies. Formatting styles include APA, Chicago, and MLA.
  • Works Cited: A list of sources you have *cited* in your paper.

Module 6- Theory

Think of the University as a factory. Writing and research are the work of the University and knowledge is the product. In order for research to move forward, it is necessary to read what others have already discovered and written before us. This is the scholarly tradition. We must give credit to original research and acknowledge the sources we have used in our writing.

Work at the University level is guided by ethical standards in all academic work including taking tests, writing research papers, and publishing on the Web. Many students do not understand the extent of the rules for citing someone else’s work in the research process, and thus do not know when they are plagiarizing. However, it is your responsibility to learn and use appropriate research writing techniques.

A research paper should be a combination of your ideas and the previous research of other
scholars on the same topic. You can use another scholar’s words, facts and ideas, but this borrowed material must not be presented as your own creation. When writing a research paper, you should not merely review publications and extract a series of quotations from them. You should be looking for sources that provide you with new information about the topic which you are writing about, that expand your ideas, provide negative and/or positive examples to help your argument and that lend authority to your viewpoint on the topic.
 

From UNO's Academic Dishonesty Policy:

Academic honesty and intellectual integrity are fundamental to the process of learning and to evaluating academic performance. Maintaining such integrity is the responsibility of all members of the University. All faculty members and teaching assistants should encourage and maintain an atmosphere of academic honesty. They should explain to the students the regulations defining academic honesty and the sanctions for violating these regulations.

However, students must share the responsibility for creating and maintaining anatmosphere of honesty and integrity. Students should be aware that personally completing assigned work is essential to learning. Students who are aware that others in a course are cheating or otherwise committing academic dishonesty have a responsibility to bring the matter to the attention of the course instructor and/or academic unit head, or the Director. To promote academic integrity, students will assign the following pledge when required by the instructor.

I pledge that I have completed the work I am submitting according to the principles of academic integrity as defined in the statement on Academic Dishonesty in the UNO Student Code of Conduct.

Writing without Plagiarism

Writing Without Plagiarism

This is a guide to organizing your research and writing process so that you minimize the risk of plagiarism. It will help you answer questions like:

What is Plagiarism?Do I need to cite this?How do I cite this?How do I keep track of all the sources I use?

Licensing

The contents of the Information Literacy Tutorial may be reused with attribution. Please copy the following into new works based on the Information Literacy Tutorial.
Information Literacy Tutorial by Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at guides.library.uwm.edu