Library Guides: MSS 001 Italian Clubs Collection: Inventory

ITALIAN CLUBS COLLECTION

(Mss 1)

INVENTORY

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

July 1999

Summary

Size:	Approximately 5 linear feet.
Geographic Locations:	New Orleans, LA
Inclusive Dates:	ca. 1896-1963.
Bulk Dates:	ca. 1896-1963.
Summary:	Records and memorabilia of eleven Italian fraternal clubs. Includes various account books, bank records, constitutions and by-laws, correspondence, membership lists, reports, broadsides, and miscellany. Collection also includes about 150 books in Italian, which were part of the Dante Alighiere Society Library.
Related Collections:	Italian Newspapers Collection (Mss 142); Societa Italiana di Mutua Beneficenza Cefalutana Collection (Mss 172).
Source:	Gift, 1968.
Access:	No Restrictions.
Copyright:	Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.
Citation:	Italian Clubs Collection (MSS 1), Louisiana and Special Collections Department, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

List of Series and Subseries

Series I:	Dante Lodge (Loggia Dante), No. 174, F. & A. M.
Series II:	Italian Hall.
Series III:	Italian Union Club.
Series IV:	Italo-American Club.
Series V:	Records of Uncertain Provenance.
Series VI:	Societa Italiana del Tiro al Bersaglio.
Series VII:	Societa Italiana di Mutua Beneficenza Christoforo Colombo.
Series VIII:	Societa Italiana di Mutua Beneficenza Giovani Bersaglieri.
Series IX:	Societa Italiana di Mutua Beneficenza "La Bella Palermo."
Series X:	Societa Italiana di Mutua Beneficenza Terminese.
Series XI:	Societa Nazionale Dante Alighieri.
Series XII:	Societa Santa Rosalia.
Series XIII:	Unione Italiana, Inc.
Books from the Dante Alighieri Society Library

Container List

Series I. Dante Lodge (Loggia Dante), No. 174, F. & A. M.

1-1 Bank Statement and Cancelled Checks, Feb. 14 - Nov. 21, 1938.

1-2 Correspondence (incoming/outgoing), n.d., 1947, 1949, 1950, 1967.

1-3 Invoice (with packing slip), 1952, 1963.

1-4 Membership Forms (blank), 192_, 1951.

1-5 Membership List (printed), 1950.

Series II. Italian Hall

1-6 Broadsides, n.d.

Series III. Italian Union Club

1-7 Account Book. (1 bd. vol.), 1932 - 1951

Series IV. Italo-American Club

1-8 Bank Statements and Cancelled Checks, 1961, 1962.

1-9 Ladies Auxiliary Membership Form (blank), n.d.

1-10 Proposal (for reorganization of club; typescript), 1958.

1-11 Rules of Order (mimeographed form), n.d.

1-12 Treasurer's Report, 1962.

Series V. Records of Uncertain Provenance

Account Books (2 bd. vols.):

1-18 1911 - 1922.

1-19 1913 - 1922.

1-13 Check Stubs, 1953 - 1960.

1-14 Invoice (expense for cleaning house; holographic), 1943.

1-15 Miscellany (broadsides, librettos, dance programs, and related materials), n.d.

Series VI. Societa Italiana del Tiro al Bersaglio

1-16 Check Stubs, 1910 - 1924.

1-17 Constitution and By-Laws ("Statuto e Regolamento," 39 vols.), 1897.

1-20 Membership Certificate (blank), n.d.

Series VII. Societa Italiana di Mutua Beneficenza Christoforo Colombo

1-21 Constitution and By-Laws ("Constituzione e Regolamento," 19 vols.), 1914.

Series VIII. Societa Italiana di Mutua Beneficenza Giovani Bersaglieri

Membership Account Books (2 bd. vols.):

1-22 1893 - 1896 (including certificate of illness).

1-23 1895 - 1898.

1-24 Membership Badges, n.d.

Series IX: Societa Italiana di Mutua Beneficenza "La Bella Palermo"

1-25 Broadsides, n.d., 1925

1-26 Correspondence (incoming/outgoing), n.d., 1926, 1928.

1-27 Invoices, 1927, 1928.

1-28 Minute Book ("Processi Berbali Sedute Regolari e Straordinaire;" also includes correspondence, and reports of receipts and disbursements, 1 bd. vol.), 1921-1928.

1-29 Miscellaneous Notes, n.d., 1927, 1928.

Series X. Societa Italiana di Mutua Beneficenza Terminese

1-30 Constitution and By-Laws, ("Costituzione e Regolamento." 1 vol.), 1906.

Series XI. Societa Nazionale Dante Alighieri

1-31 Book Inventories (from the Biblioteca Italiana; also includes one notebook with miscellaneous notes), n.d., 1933.

1-40 -1-50 Books (from the Dante Alighieri Society Library). See list, p. 10-17.

Series XII. Societa Santa Rosalia

1-32 Advertisement (from an Italian publishing firm "Libri Siciliani"), 1966.

Series XIII. Unione Italiana, Inc.

1-33 Bank Statement and Cancelled Checks, 1955.

1-34 Correspondence (incoming), 1927.

1-35 Invoices, 1927, 1933, 1934, 1943, 1944.

1-36 Miscellany (notes, tickets), n.d., 1921, 1959.

1-37 Reports (annual; covering receipts and disbursements), 1959.

1-38 U.S. Treasury Department. Employer's Quarterly Federal Tax Returns (with related forms), 1957.

1-39 Work Proposals (covering bids to repair the Italian Hall building, 1020 Esplanade Ave.), 1958.

BOOKS FROM THE DANTE ALIGHIERI SOCIETY LIBRARY

1-40 Abba, -. L'Epogea Garibaldina. (La Vita Italiana nel Risorgimento, 1849-1861).

Alfieri, Vittorio. Bruto Primo, Tragedia. Firenze: Societa An. Editrice "La Voce," n.d.

Ambrosini, Luigi. Cavalieri senza macchia e senza parua. (II Piemonte nel Risorgimento Italiano). Torino: G. B. Paravia, [1911].

Annuario della stampa Italiana ed Europea. Anno 1926. Milano, 1926.

Ariosto, Lodovico. Orlando Furioso di Lodocivo Ariosto. Vol. II. (Raccolta di Poeti Classici Italiani, antichi e moderni). Milano: Dalla Societa Tipografica de'Classici Italiani, 1925.

Ariosto, Lodovico. Orlando Furioso di Ludovico Ariosto. Secondo l'edizione del 1532, con commento di Pietro Papini. Firenze: G. C. Sansoni, [1933].

Ariosto, Lodovico. Orlando Furioso di Ludovico Ariosto. Secondo l'edizione del 1532, con commento di Pietro Papini. Firenze: G. C. Sansoni, [1933]. (PQ 4567.A5P3 1933 ARCH.).

A.S.R. Sulla Questione Tunisina. Rome: Angelo Signorelli, 1933.

Baccarini, Alfredo. Discorsi Politici, 1876-1890. Bologna: Nicola Zanichelli, 1907.

Bagali, Clementina. Letture, classe terza. [Milano: Incisioni e stampa Soc. an stab. Art. grafiche Alfieri & Lacroix, 1933]. (PC 1113.B3 ARCH.).

Baravelli, G. C. Stalin's Toast. Roma: Edizioni di Novissima, n.d. (DK 267.B27 ARCH.).

1-41 Bellincioni, Giovanni. L'Accaparramento Inglese delle Materie Prime. Roma, Pinciana, 1936.

Benelli, Sem. La Cena Delle Beffe. [Milano]: A. Mondadori, [1932]. (PQ 4807 E7C7 1932 ARCH.).

Berrini, Nino. Il Beffardo. Milano, A. Mondadori, [1922]. (PQ 4807.E76 B4 1922 ARCH.).

Bertolotti, Davide, and Cesare Bovida. Lettere A Sofia sopra la fiscia, la chimica, e la Storia Naturale di Luigi Aime - Martin. Vol. I. Milano: Lorenzo Sonzogno, 1846.

Biagi, Bruno. La Cooperazione. (Panorami di Vita Fascista). Vol. VII. [Milano]: A. Mondadori, 1933. (HD 3508.B5 ARCH.).

Bilancioni, Guglielmo. Giambattista Morgagni. Profili n. 62. Roma: A. F. Formiggini, 1922.

Bontempelli, Massimo. La Vita Intensa. 3d ed. Milano: A. Mondadori, 1931.

Bormioli, Mario, and G. Alfonso Pellegrinetti. Letture Italiane per Stranieri. Vol. 1. [Milano]: Edizioni Scolastiche Mandadori, [1954]. (3 copies) (PC 1117.L45 1954 Volume I ARCH.).

1-42 Bormioli, Mario, and G. Alfonse Pellegrinetti. Letture Italiane per Stranieri. Vol. 1. [Milano]: Edizioni Scolastiche Mondadori, [1954]. (2 copies). (PC 1117.L45 1954 ARCH.).

Bormioli, Mario, and G. Alfonso Pellegrinetti. Letture Italiane per Stranieri. Vol. 2. [Milano]: Edizioni Scolastiche Mondadori. (PC 1117.L45 vols.2 1954 ARCH.).

Bormioli, Mario, and G. Alfonso Pellegrinetti. Letture Italiane per Stranieri. Vol. 2. [Milano: A. Mondadori, 1954].

Botta, Carlo. Storia d'Italia continuata da quella del Guicciardini, sino al 1789. Vol. 3. Paris: Presso Baudry, 1832. (DG 538.B75, vol. 3 ARCH.).

Botta, Carlo. Storia d'Italia continuata da quella del Guicciardini, sino al 1789. Vol. 8. Paris: Presso Baudry, 1832. (incomplete).

Bragagnolo, Giovanni, and Enrico Bettazzi. I Cospiratori. (Il Piemonte nel Risorgimento Italiano). Torino: G. B. Paravia & Company, 1911. (incomplete).

Brocchi, Virgilio. L'Alba; Volume per la II classe elementare. Milano: A. Mondadori, n.d.

Brocchi, Virgilio. Santa Natura; Volume per la III classe elementare. Milano: A. Mondadori, n.d.

1-43 Buonaiuti, Alarico. Italia Lontana; libro di lettura per le classi superiori della scuole elementari italiane all'estero, premiato e approvato dal Ministero degli Affari Esteri. Bol. II. Firenze: R. Bemporad e Figlio, [1925].

Caprin, Giuglio. L'Italianita e il Confine della Venezia Giuglia. Firenze: R. Bemporad e Giglio, n.d.

Carducci, Giosue. La Gerusalemme Liberata di Torquato Tasso. Ed. by Pietro Papini. Firenze: G. C. Sansoni, [1933]. (PQ 4685.A1 ARCHIV).

Cargucci, Giosue. Opera di Giosue Carducci. Archeologia Poetica. Bologna: Nicola Zanichelli, [1908]. [Vol. 18]. (PQ 4685.A1 ARCH.).

Cargucci, Giosue. Opere di Giosue Carducci. Bozzetti e Scherme. Bologna: Nicola Zanichelli, [1889]. [Vol. 3]. (PQ 4685.A1 ARCH.).

Carducci, Giosue. Opere di Giosue Carducci. Cavalleria e Umanesimo. Bologna: Nicola Zanichelli, [1909]. [Vol. 20]. (PQ 4685.A1 ARCH.).

Carducci, Giosue. Opere di Giosue Carducci. Melica e Lirica del Settecento. Bologna: Nicola Zanichelli, [1909]. [Vol. 19]. (PQ 4685.A1 ARCH.).

Carducci, Giosue. Opere di Giosue Carducci. Primi Saggi. Bologna: Nicola Zanichelli, [1903]. [Vol. 2]. (PQ 4685.A1 ARCH.).

Carducci, Giosue. Opere di Giosue Carducci. Studi Letterai. Bologna: Nicola Zanichelli, [1893]. [Vol. 8]. (PQ 4685.A1 ARCH.).

1-44 Carducci, Giosue, and Severino Ferrari. Le Rime di Francesco Petrarca. Firenze: G. C. Sansoni, [1932].

Cattaneo, Carlo. Alcuni scritti del Dottor Carlo Cattaneo. Vol. I. Milani: Borroni e Scotti, 1846.

Cavara, Otello. Scoperte in Italia di un "reporter," ingenuo. Milano: Alpes, n.d.

Cavara, Otello. Il Milite Ignoto. Milano: Alpes, [1922].

Cipolla, Arnaldo. Al Sepolcro di Cristo. 3d ed. Milano: Alpes, 1927.

Costa, Giovanni. Diocleziano. Profili No. 50. Roma: A. F. Formiggini, 1920.

D'Alia, Antonio. Popoli e paesi nella Storia dell'Umanita, saggio di Scienza Politica. Roma: Flli. treves Dell'Ali, 1932. (CB 93.A3 1934 ARCH.).

D'Ambra, Lucio. Il Damo Viennese. Milano: A. Mondadori, [1932].

Della Rocca, Enrico. Autobiografia di Un Veterano: Ricordi Storici e Aneddotici del Generale Enrico Della Rocca. Vol. I: 1807-1859. Bologna: Ditta Nicola Zanichelli, 1897.

1-45 Della Rocca, Enrico. Autobiografia di Un Veterano: Ricordi Storici e Aneddotici del Generale Enrico Della Rocca. Vol. 2: 1859-1893. Bologna: Ditta Nicola Zanichelli, 1897.

Di Giusto, G. and F. Pasciuti. Cuor Lontano, corso di lettura per le Scuole Italiane all'Estero. 2d ed. Firenze: R. Bemporad & Figlio, [1922].

Di Marzio, Cornellio. Incontri e Scontri. Bologna: Licinio Cappelli, [1932]. (B 3636.M36415 ARCH.).

Fabbri, Sileno. L'Opera Nazionale per la Protezione della Maternita della'Infanzia. (Panorami di Vita Fascista, Vol. 8). Milano: A. Mondadori, 1932.

Favaro, Antonio. Archimede. Profili No. 21, 2d ed. Roma: A. F. Formiggini, 1923. (QA 29.A7F3 1923 ARCH.).

Fedelini, Enrichetta. Le donne di Casa Savoia. Torino: Societa Editrice Internazionale, [1926].

Federazione Fascista del Commercio della Provincia di Palermo. Cinque anni di attivita Sindacale, 1928-1932. Palermo: Arti Grafiche S. Pezzino & Figlio, 1933.

Flacco, Quinto Orazio. L'Arte Poetica di Quinto Orazio Flacco. Milano: Pietro Agnelli, 1836.

Forzano, Giovacchino. Campo di Maggio. Firenze: G. Barbera, 1931. (PQ 4815.075C35 1931 ARCH.).

Forzano, Giovacchino. Lorenzino. Milano: Fratelli Treves, 1923.

Garibalid, Giuseppe. Le Memorie di Garibaldi nella redazione definitiva del 1872, a cura della Reale Commissione. Bologna: L. Cappelli, [1932].

1-46 Giannone, Pietro. Storia Civile del Regno di Napoli. Vol. 5. Milano: Borroni e Scotti, 1847.

Goldoni, Carlo. Raccolta Completa delle Commedie di Carlo Goldoni. Vol. 19. Milano: Da Placido Maria Visaj, 1829. (PQ 4693.A1 1927, vol. 19 ARCH.).

Gramegna, L. Cavour e i Torinesi nel 1859. (Il Piemonte nel Risorgimento Italiano). Torino: Societa Tipografico - Editrice Nazionale, 1910.

Guardione, Francesco. Il Pensiero Civile e Politico di Ugo Foscolo. Milano: Alpes, 1928.

Guarino, Alessandro. L'Apologia di Cesare, a cura del Gen. D. Guerrini. Roma: Augustea, 1929.

Hall, R. B. The R. B. H. Song Book. New York, n.d.

Imperatori, Ugo, E. Italia Prodiga, Gli Italiani all'Estero. 2d ed. Milano: Aples, 1925.

Italian University of the Air (Universita Radio fonica Italiana). Passi Scelti Dalla Letteratura Italiana = Selected Passages from Italian Literature. Rome: E.I.A.R., 1939.

Italy. Italo-Ethiopian Dispute. (Abstracts from the Memorandum of the Italian Government to the League of Nations), 1935. (C 332 M.169 1935 ARCH.).

1-47 La Toscana alla fine del Granducato. Firenze: G. Barbera, 1909.

La Vita Italiana nel Resorgimento (1815-1861). Seconda Serie (1831-1846), Vol. 3. Firenze: R. Bemporad & Figlio, n.d.

La Vita Italiana nel Resorgimento (1815-1861). Quarta Serie (1849-1861), Vol. 2. Firenze: R. Bemporad & Figlio, n.d.

La Vita Italiana nel Resorgimento (1815-1861). Quarta Serie (1849-1861), Vol. 3. Firenze: R. Bemporad & Figlio, n.d.

Levi, Augusto. Notizie di Storia Fisica; attraverso al suoi cultori. Bologna: Nicola Zanichelli, [1932].

Levi, Mario Attilio. Augusto. Profili No. 105. Rome: A. F. Formiggini, 1929.

Manari, Adriana. L'Educazione Sovietica. Firenze: Felice le Monnier, 1938.

Mori, Attilio. La Tunisia. (Collezione Omnia, 18). Rome: Paolo Cremonese, 1930.

Morichini, Ugo. Il Bacino Adriatico e La Dalmazia. Rome: Libreria del Littorio, 1932. (CB 224.M6 ARCH.).

Musacchia, Giuseppe, and Edoardo Pirani. Il Colpo di Stato non e Rivoluzione! Rome: Sec. an Tipografica Luzzatti, 1932.

Mussolini, Benito. Discorsi dal Banco di Deputato, a cura di Alberto Malatesta. Milano: Alpes, 1928.

Mussolini, Benito. Discorsi del 1925. 2d ed. Milano: Alpes, 1928. (2 copies).

Mussolini, Benito. Discorsi del 1926. 5th ed. Milano: Alpes, 1928.

Mussolini, Benito. Discorso del 1927. Milano: Alpes, 1928. (2 copies)

Mussolini, Benito. Diuturna, 1914-1922. Milano: Alpes, 1924. (DG 575.M8 A3325 ARCH.).

Mussolini, Benito. I Discorsi della Rivoluzione. Milano: Alpes, 1928. (DG 575.M8A3 1928 ARCH.).

Mussolini, Benito. La Nuova Politica Dell'Italia. 4th ed. Vol. 2. Milano: Alpes, 1928. (DG 571.M8 1928 vols.2 ARCH.).

Noto, Cosimo. The Ideal City. New York, 1903. (HX 811.1903 .N9 ARCH.).

Orsi, Pietro. La Storia d'Italia. Vol. 1: 476-1313. 2d ed. Torino: G. B. Paravia e Comp., 1905.

Pedrazzi, Prazio. Il Levante Mediterraneo e l'Italia. Milano: Alpes, 1925. (DG 498.P35 ARCH.).

Perugini, Andrea. I Musei Scolastici del Patrio Risorgimento. Milano: Alpes, 1928. (2 copies)

1-48 Pinchia, ----. L'Opera di Cavour. (La Vita Italiana nel Risorgimento). (1849-1861). (incomplete).

Pirandello, Luigi. Enrico IV: tragedia in tre atti. Maschere nude, Vol. 4, 6th ed. [S.l.]: A. Mondadori, [1929]. (PQ 4835.I7A19 ARCH.).

Ratti, F. V. L'Adriatico Degli Altri. 2d ed. Firenze: R. Bemporad & Figlio, n.d.

Regio Esercito Italiano (Comando Supremo). La Battaglia del Piave. Rome: Tipografia Cuggiani, 1920.

Ribera, Almerico. Guido Cavalcanti. Profili No. 12. 2d ed. Rome: A. F. Formiggini, 1924. (PQ 4839.I26S44 ARCH.).

Rovani, Giuseppe. Cento Anni. Vol.1. Milano: Instituto Editoriale Italiano. (DG 540.R68 1940 v.1. ARCH.).

Rovani, Giuseppe. La Giovinezza di Giulio Cesare. Milano: Imperia, [1923]. (DG 261.R63 ARCH.).

Salvadori, Massimo. La Penetrazione Demografica Europea in Africa. Torino: Fratelli Bocca, 1932.

Silva, Pietro. Emanuele Filiberto. (Profili N. 99). Rome: A. F. Formiggini, 1928.

1-49 Spencer, Herbert. Principi di Sociologia. Translated by Dott. G. Edigi. Padova: Lorenzo Rinfreschi, 1922.

Starace, Achille. Fasci Giovanili di Combattimento. (Panorama di Vita Fascista). Vol. III. [Roma]: A. Mondadori, 1933.

Starace, Achille. L'Opera Nazionale Dopolavoro. (Panorame di Vita Fascista). Vol. II. [Roma]: A. Mondadori, 1933.

Tencajoli, Oreste Ferdinado. Poeti Maltesi D'Oggi. Rome: Angelo Signorelli, 1932. (BF 121.S7 1878 ARCH.).

Vaccari, Anselmo. Il Patto Mussolini. Rome: Angelo Signorelli, 1933.

Vallardi, Antonio. Disegno Scolastico Indestriale. Catologo No. 5. Milano: Antonio Vallardi, 1926.

Valli, Luigi. Il Diritto Dei Popoli alla Terra. Rome: Augustea, 1932.

Venturi, Raffaele. Guida Allo Studente. Pergola: Gasperini, 1937.

1-50 Zanolini, Antonio. Il Diavolo del Sant'Ufficio. Storia Bolognese dal 1789 al 1800. Vol. 1. Caploago: Elvetica, 1847.

Zeni, Luisa. Figli D'Italia. Livorno: S. Belforte & Co., 1932.

Zenoglio, Vittorio. Saggi di Poesia Ideale Fascista. [Genove: Cappuro, 1932].

(Italian Grammar Book). Avvertanza.

(Italian Grammar Book). Ugo Foscolo.

Sonetti e Canzoni in Vita di Madonna Laura. [Firenze: G. C. Sansoni]. (partial copy)

Sonetti e Canzoni in Vita di Madonna Laura. [Firenze: G. C. Sansoni]. (partial copy, pp. 337-452, 465-548).

Unknown author or title. Segment.

1-50 Appendix, Bibliography.

Index Terms

Benevolent societies—Louisiana

Dante Alighieri Society

Dante Lodge (Loggia Dante), No. 174, F. & A. M.

Italian Hall

Italian Union Club

Italians—Louisiana

Italo-American Club

Libraries, Private

Societa Italiana del Tiro al Bersaglio

Societa Italiana di Mutua Beneficenza "La Bella Palermo"

Societa Italiana di Mutua Beneficenza Christoforo Colombo

Societa Italiana di Mutua Beneficenza Giovani Bersaglieri

Societa Italiana di Mutua Beneficenza Terminese

Societa Nazionale Dante Alighieri

Societa Santa Rosalia

Unione Italiana, Inc.