Library Guides: MSS 006 Newman Louisiana Aviation Collection: Inventory

NEWMAN LOUISIANA AVIATION COLLECTION

(Mss 6)

INVENTORY

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

May 1999

Summary

Size:	Approximately 10 linear feet (1,628 items)
Geographic Locations:	Louisiana, especially New Orleans and Patterson
Inclusive Dates:	1916 to 1945.
Bulk Dates:	1928 to 1932.
Summary:	Records and memorabilia of aviation in Louisiana, with much material on the Wedell-Williams Air Service, Inc. of Patterson and New Orleans, Louisiana. The collection consists mainly of correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippings, aircraft catalogs, business records, and miscellany.
Related Collections:	Abe L. Shushan Collection (Mss 23).
Source:	Gift, 1969.
Access:	No Restrictions.
Copyright:	Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.
Citation:	Newman Louisiana Aviation Collection (MSS 6), Louisiana and Special Collections Department, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

Biographical Note

Earl Frederick Newman was born on May 5, 1901, in Kanawha, Iowa. A graduate of the University of Missouri at Columbia (Bachelor of Journalism, 1924), Newman found employment in newspaper work in Texas and Louisiana. In 1928 he became publicity director for Menefee Airways (New Orleans), at which time he learned to fly under the direction of James Wedell. From May 1928 to about March 21, 1931, he was employed by the Wedell-Williams Air Service, Inc. (New Orleans) as a publicist, flying instructor, and aircraft salesman. From April 1931 until about 1937, he was employed as a salesman by the Aerotopograph Corporation of America (later absorbed by Fairchild Aerial Surveys, Inc.), which trained him in the methods of aerial photogrammetry. During this period he worked on map compilations for the U.S. Geological Survey (December 1, 1933 to July 15, 1934). Newman also worked briefly for Eastern Air Lines during the mid 1930s. His work in aviation ended shortly thereafter when he went to work for the Marchant Calculating Machine Company. He died on October 27, 1966, in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

Newman's work for the Wedell-Williams Air Service and the Aerotopograph Corporation of America was centered at New Orleans with some activity in other areas of Louisiana and neighboring states. The collection is especially interesting because of the picture it conveys of commercial aviation in Louisiana during the late 1920s and early 1930s.

List of Series and Subseries

Series I:	Books, 1929-1941.
Series II:	Clippings, ca. 1924 (1928-1933) 1961.
Series III:	Correspondence (incoming and outgoing), 1929-1943.
Series IV:	Government Publications.
Series V:	Maps.
Series VI:	Miscellany.
Series VII:	Periodicals.
Series VIII:	Photoengraving Plates, ca. 1930, 1937.
Series IX:	Photographs (prints and negatives), ca. 1924-1935.
Series X:	Sales, Advertising and Technical Literature and Miscellany, ca. 1920 (1928-1932) 1945.

Series Descriptions

I.	Books, 1929-1941 (20 items). Books and periodicals pertaining to aviation.
II.	Clippings, ca. 1924 (1928-1933) 1961 (108 items). Mainly concerned with the Wedell-Williams Flying Service and local aviation events; also, numerous clippings devoted to national aviation activities.
III.	Correspondence (incoming and outgoing), 1929-1943 (306 items). Subseries III.1 n.d., 1929 (1929-1931) 1938 (260 items). Primarily concerned with Newman's work on behalf of three companies (Wedell-Williams Air Service, Inc., Aerotopograph Corporation of America, and Fairchild Aerial Surveys, Inc.), the material covers such activities as the promotion of aviation in general, the sale of aircraft, the training of student pilots, the development of air travel and the sale and making of aerial surveys and maps for private companies and government agencies. Subseries III.2 1930-1940 (11 items). Correspondence addressed to Newman from the American Society of Photogrammetry (included, mainly as enclosures, are mimeographed copies of a Certificate of Incorporation, Constitution, Standard Specifications of the Society and related miscellany, and the Statutes of the International Society for Photogrammetry). Subseries III.3 n.d., 1942-1943 (35 items). Correspondence to and from Newman concerning his attempt to obtain a commission in the armed forces (included are school transcripts, questionnaires, applications and related miscellany).
IV.	Government Publications (48 items). Includes monographs, serials, and maps.
V.	Maps (11 items). Subseries V.1 n.d. (4 items). Blueprint line maps of Louisiana parishes. Subseries V.2 1930 (1 item). Blueprint line map of Louisiana soil. Subseries V.3 c.a. 1934 (6 items). Line and aerial maps.
VI.	Miscellany (3 items). Contains objects associated with Newman's career in aviation.
VII.	Periodicals (166 items). Periodicals pertaining to aviation and to photogrammetry.
VIII.	Photoengraving Plates, ca. 1930, 1937 (10 items). Images associated with early aviation in Louisiana.
IX.	Photographs (prints and negatives), ca. 1924-1935 (569 items). Subseries IX.1 ca. 1930-33 (141 items). Photographs (prints and negatives) listed in Fairchild Aerial Surveys, Inc. inventory dated February 24, 1933. Pictures are general and detailed aerial views of New Orleans, Baton Rouge and Lake Peigneur, Iberia Parish, Louisiana. Subseries IX.2 ca. 1924-1935 (251 items). Aerial views and mosaics (prints and negatives) of Louisiana and Texas locales. Subseries IX.3 ca. 1929-1935 (59 items). Photographs (prints only) concerned with Newman's career in aviation, individuals and events associated with the Wedell-Williams Air Service, and related activities. Subseries IX.4 ca. 1929-1930 (100 items). Photographs (prints and negatives) of planes, parts, and the manufacture of same, which were produced and used originally as sales material; arranged alphabetically under the manufacturer's name.
X.	Sales, Advertising and Technical Literature and Miscellany, ca. 1920 (1928-1932) 1945 (387 items).

Container List

Series I. Books

6-1 Atterbury, W. W. The Railroads Enter Aviation. (Pennsylvania Railroad Company. Information, V. 1, No. 2). Philadelphia: Pennsylvania Railroad, 1929 (1 item).

6-2 Church, Earl Frank. The First of a Series of Papers on Topographic Mapping by Aerial Photography. Syracuse University, 1930-. Bulletins 7 (February 1936), 8 (June 1937), 10 (April 1939), 11 (January 1940) only (4 items).

6-3 Curtis Publishing Company. The Aviation Industry: A Study of Underlying Trends. Philadelphia: The Company, 1930 (1 item).

6-4 Directory of Approved American Airplanes with Complete Specifications and Photos. [1st]- annual edition; [1928]-. Los Angeles, CA: Western Flying Magazine [1928]-. Title varies. 1929/1930 edition only (1 item).

6-5 Junior Air Service of America, Inc. Commercial Aeronautics. Chicago: Junior Air Service of America, Inc., c1930. "Supplement to text no. 42" only. Diagram of engine troubles and repairs (1 item).

6-6 McKinney, E. G. Seismographing for Oil. Oklahoma City: Times-Journal Publishing Co., 1935] (1 item).

6-7 Peeler, Virginia. Aviation as an Occupation. New Orleans: High School Scholarship Association, [19--]. (Vocational Information Series, No. 11) (1 item).

6-8 Pynchon & Co. The Aviation Industry. 2d. ed. New York: Dispatch Printery and Bindery Corporation, 1929 (1 item).

6-9 Smith, Art. Art Smith's Story: The Autobiography of the Boy Aviator Which Appeared as a Serial in the Bulletin, ed. by Rose Wilder Lane. San Francisco: The Bulletin [c1915] (1 item).

6-10 The Standard Guide to Private Planes, ed. by Lester Ott. New York: Aeronautics Publishing Associates [annual, 1945-]. 1945 issue only (1 item).

6-11 Syracuse University. Special Bulletins on Aerial Photogrammetry. Syracuse, NY: The University, 19--. Second (January 1940), fifth (May 1940) numbers only (2 items).

6-12 Thorpe, Leslie Aaron. A Text Book on Aviation: The Cadet System of Ground School Training. 4 vols. San Fransisco: Aviation Press, 1929. Vol. 2 only (1 item).

6-13 Travelers Protective Association of America. Louisiana Division. State Convention Number... Thirty-Eighth Annual Convention, Shreveport, May 2-3, 1930. [S.l.: s.n., 1930] (1 item).

6-14 Winged Transport. Sponsored by Transcontinental Air Transport, Inc., Curtis Flying Service, and City of Columbus. Columbus, Ohio, Kline L. Roberts Organization, 1929. 1 item

6-15 Zweng, Charles A. Air Navigation Note Book. Glendale, CA: Pan American Navigation Service, distributors, 1941 (1 item).

6-16 Zweng, Charles A. Ground Instructor, Covering "General Aeronautics." Bloomington, IL: Lithographed by McKnight & McKnight, 1941 (1 item).

Series II. Clippings. ca. 1924 (1928-1933) 1961

Mainly concerned with the Wedell-Williams Flying Service and local aviation events, there are also numerous clippings devoted to national aviation activities. Loose clippings with dates are arranged chronologically; contents of scrapbooks have been left in original order.

Loose clippings.

6-17 n.d. (45 items).

6-18 1924 (1928-1933) 1961 (59 items).

6-19 Scrapbook 1. Mainly material with Shreveport and New Orleans locales. ca. 1930 (1 item).

6-20 Scrapbook 2. Mainly material with Baton Rouge and New Orleans locales. ca. 1928-1929 (1 item).

6-21 Scrapbook 3. Mainly material with general Louisiana locale; much material on national scene. ca. 1929-1932 (1 item).

6-22 Scrapbook 4. Miscellany on aviation, probably compiled by Newman during his youth. ca. 1916 (1 item).

Series III. Correspondence (incoming and outgoing), 1929-1943

Correspondence (including some business reports and related miscellany) is arranged in one of three subseries and in chronological order. Most communications are to or from Newman; correspondence not originating with or addressed to Newman is included since it relates to his activities and was probably given to him for his information. Attachments and enclosures have been left as found.

6-23 Subseries III.1: n.d. (8 items); 1929 (1929-1931) 1938 (252 items)

Primarily concerned with Newman's work on behalf of three companies (Wedell-Williams Air Service, Inc., Aerotopograph Corporation of America, and Fairchild Aerial Surveys, Inc.), the material covers such activities as the promotion of aviation in general, the sale of aircraft, the training of student pilots, the development of air travel and the sale and making of aerial surveys and maps for private companies and government agencies.

6-24 Subseries III.2: 1930-1940 (11 items)

Correspondence addressed to Newman from the American Society of Photogrammetry (included, mainly as enclosures, are mimeographed copies of a Certificate of Incorporation, Constitution, Standard Specifications of the Society and related miscellany, and the Statutes of the International Society for Photogrammetry).

6-25 Subseries III.3: n.d. (5 items); 1942-1943 (30 items)

Correspondence to and from Newman concerning his attempt to obtain a commission in the armed forces (included are school transcripts, questionnaires, applications and related miscellany).

Series IV. Government Publications

6-26 Louisiana. Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans. Port Handbook of New Orleans, 1930. [New Orleans: The Board, 1930] (1 item).

6-27 Louisiana. Department of Agriculture and Immigration. Louisiana's Message, 1930-1931. Baton Rouge: Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Immigration, 1931 (1 item).

6-28 Louisiana. Department of Conservation. Louisiana Conservation Review, 1930, Annual Number. Vol. 1, no. 6 (March 1931) (1 item).

6-29 New Orleans. Sewerage and Water Board. Sixty-Second Semi-Annual Report. . . . New Orleans: Wetzel Printing, 1930 (1 item).

6-30 U.S. Department of Agriculture. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of Lafayette Parish, Louisiana. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1916 (1 item).

6-31 U.S. Department of Agriculture. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of Natchitoches Parish, Louisiana. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1925 (1 item).

6-32 U.S. Department of Agriculture. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of Rapides Parish, Louisiana. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1918 (1 item).

6-33 U.S. Department of Agriculture. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of Sabine Parish, Louisiana. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1922 (1 item).

6-34 U.S. Department of Agriculture. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of St. Martin Parish, Louisiana. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1919 (1 item).

6-35 U.S. Department of Agriculture. Bureau of Soils. Soil Survey of Washington Parish, Louisiana. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1925 (1 item).

6-36 U.S. Department of Commerce. Aeronautics Branch. Aeronautics Bulletin No. 7-B: School Supplement of Air Commerce Regulations. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1931 (1 item).

6-36 U.S. Department of Commerce. Aeronautics Branch. Application for Pilot's License. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1928, 1929 (2 items).

6-37 U.S. Department of Commerce. Civil Aeronautics Administration. Civil Aeronautics Bulletin No. 25: Meteorology for Pilots. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1943 (1 item).

6-38 U.S. Department of Commerce. Coast and Geodetic Survey. Index of Air Photo Compilations: Louisiana. [S.l.: The Survey, 19--] (2 items).

6-39 U.S. Department of Commerce. Coast and Geodetic Survey. Inside Route Key West to Rio Grande. Nos. 6, 8. 1925. [S.l.: The Survey, 1925] (2 items).

6-40 U.S. Department of the Interior. Bureau of Reclamation. Boulder Canyon Project - Questions and Answers. [S.l.: The Bureau], 1930. 1 item.

6-41 U.S. Department of the Interior. Geological Survey. Bulletin 788-F: Topographic Instructions of the United States Geological Survey. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1928 (1 item).

6-42 U.S. Department of the Interior. Geological Survey. Construction and Operation of the Hugershoff Aerocartograph. [S.l.: The Survey], 1929 (1 item).

6-43 U.S. Department of the Interior. Geological Survey. Index to Topographic Maps and Geologic Folios: Florida, Louisiana. [S.l.: The Survey], 1931 (1 item).

6-44 U.S. National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics. Report No. 240, Nomenclature for Aeronautics. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1928 (1 item).

6-45 U.S. Superintendent of Documents. Weather, Astronomy and Meteorology: List of Publications Relating to Above Subjects, for Sale by Superintendent of Documents. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1934 (1 item).

6-46 U.S. War Department. Training Regulations No. 190-5: Topography and Surveying. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1931/32. (7 pts. of 1 item) (1 item).

6-47 U.S. War Department. Corps of Engineers. Topographic Map, Quadrangle Series: Arkansas, Lake Village Quadrangle, Grid Zone "C." Washington: U.S. Army, 1931 (1 item).

6-48 U.S. War Department. Corps of Engineers. Topographic Map, Quadrangle Series: Arkansas-Louisiana, Eudora Quadrangle, Grid Zone "C." Washington: U.S. Army, 1931 (2 copies; 2 items).

6-49 U.S. War Department. Corps of Engineers. Topographic Map, Quadrangle Series: Arkansas-Louisiana, Wilmot Quadrangle, Grid Zone "C." Washington: U.S. Army, 1932 (3 copies; 3 items).

6-50 U.S. War Department. Corps of Engineers. Topographic Map, Quadrangle Series: Louisiana, Bonita Quadrangle, Grid Zone "C." Washington: U.S. Army, 1931 (1 item).

6-51 U.S. War Department. Corps of Engineers. Topographic Map, Quadrangle Series: Louisiana, Collinston Quadrangle, Grid Zone "C." Washington: U.S. Army, 1931 (3 copies; 3 items).

6-52 U.S. War Department. Corps of Engineers. Topographic Map, Quadrangle Series: Louisiana, Drew Quadrangle, Grid Zone "C." Washington: U.S. Army, 1931 (1 item).

6-53 U.S. War Department. Corps of Engineers. Topographic Map, Quadrangle Series: Louisiana, Haile Quadrangle, Grid Zone "C." Washington: U.S. Army, 1932 (2 copies; 2 items).

6-54 U.S. War Department. Corps of Engineers. Topographic Map, Quadrangle Series: Louisiana, Hurricane Quadrangle, Grid Zone "C." Washington: U.S. Army, 1931 (2 copies; 2 items).

6-55 U.S. War Department. Corps of Engineers. Topographic Map, Quadrangle Series: Louisiana, Naff Quadrangle, Grid Zone "C." Washington: U.S. Army, 1932 (3 copies; 3 items).

6-56 U.S. War Department. Corps of Engineers. Topographic Map, Quadrangle Series: Louisiana, Oak Grove Quadrangle, Grid Zone "C." Washington: U.S. Army, 1931 (3 copies; 3 items).

Note: A number of the foregoing topographic maps have been cut, and several have holographic notations.

6-57 U.S. War Department. Mississippi River Commission. Maps of the Mississippi River: Alluvial Valley of the Mississippi River, Southern Sheet - New Orleans District. [Washington]: U.S. Army, 1935 (1 item).

6-58 Unknown state government. An Act Relative to the Preparation of a Topographic Survey and Map of the Commonwealth. "Approved May 26, 1933." [S.l.: s.n., 1933] (1 item).

Series V. Maps

Many of the maps in this collection are annotated, and all were probably used as working maps in aerial surveying. Maps issued by United States Government agencies are arranged under the Government Publications series.

6-59 Subseries V.1

One blueprint line map of each of the following Louisiana parishes: Lafourche, Plaquemines, Saint Bernard, Saint Tammany. Unknown provenance; n.d. (4 items).

6-61 Subseries V.2

"General Soil Map of Louisiana" by A. H. Meyer. Louisiana State University, 1930. Blueprint line map (1 item).

6-60 Subseries V.3

Line and aerial maps of Morehouse Parish and vicinity (circa 1934). Probably used by Newman while working for U.S. Geological Survey (6 items).

Series VI. Miscellany

6-62 "Industrial New Orleans from the Air." Anonymous artist's sketch for advertisement, ca. 1930 (1 item).

6-64 Newman's flying cap and goggles (1 item).

6-63 "White Monoplane." Blueprint for construction of an airplane. [S.l.: s.n., 19--]. (4 parts of 1 item).

Series VII. Periodicals

6-65 Aeronautical Industry. "Directory Number" (January 26, 1929); Vol. 15, no. 8 (February 7, 1931); advertising circular with pictures of "prominent aeronautical personages," [19--] (3 items).

6-66 Aeronautics: An Authoritative Work... Issues no. 1-20 (September 4, 1940 - January 15, 1941) (20 items).

6-67 Air Travel Guide. Vol. 3, nos. 3, 4 (April, May 1930) (2 items).

6-68 Airline Rates and Routes. Vol. 1, nos. 1, 5-7 (October 1929, February-April 1930); Vol. 2, no. 2 (June 1930) (5 items).

6-69, 6-70 Airway Age. Vol. 10, nos. 1-3, 7, 11 (January-March, July, November 1929); Vol. 11, nos. 2, 3, 10, 11 (February, March, October, November 1930), 2 copies of no. 3; Vol. 12, no. 1 (January 1931) (11 items).

6-70 Alexander Aircrafter. January-March 1930 (2 copies of February issue); "Catalog Number," [19--] (5 items).

6-70, 6-71,

6-72 Aviation: The Oldest American Aeronautical Magazine. Vol. 25, no. 10; Vol. 26, nos. 17, 18; Vol. 27, nos. 8, 20-22; Vol. 28, nos. 7, 9, 11, 19-21, 23, 24; Vol. 29, nos. 3, 5; Vol. 30, nos. 2, 4, 8, 9; Vol. 32, no. 5; Vol. 36, no. 4 (Vol. 25, no. 10, Sept. 1, 1928-Vol. 36, no. 4, April 1937) (23 items).

6-72 Aviation News. Vol. 1, no. 4 (August 2, 1930) (1 item).

6-72 Civil Engineering. Vol. 5, no. 2 (February 1935) (1 item).

6-72 Curtiss-Wright Tradewind. Vol. 1, nos. 1, 2 (April, May 1930), 2 copies of no. 1 (3 items).

6-72 Engineering News-Record. Vol. 114, no. 4 (January 24, 1935) (1 item).

6-72 Everyday Science and Mechanics. Vol. 3, no. 5 (April 1932) (1 item).

6-72 Highway Magazine. Vol. 22, no. 8 (August 1931) (1 item).

6-72 Houston. Vol. 7, no. 7 (August 1936) (1 item).

6-72 Human Relations. Vol. 4, no. 7 (November 1929) (1 item).

6-72 Official Aviation Guide of the Airways. Vol. 1, no. 8 (October 1929); Vol. 8, no. 11 (February 1937) (2 items).

6-72, 6-73,

6-74, 6-75 Photogrammetric Engineering. Title varies: Sept. 1934-Sept. 1936, News Notes of the American Society of Photogrammetry; October 1936-, Photogrammetric Engineering. [Vol. 1, nos. 2-4] November 1934, January, April 1935; Vol. 1, nos. 5-7 (May-October 1935); Vols. 2-10 (January 1936-December 1944); Vol. 11, nos. 1,3,4 (January-March, September, December 1945); Vol. 12, nos. 1,2 (March, June 1946); Vol. 13, nos. 1-3 (March, June, September 1947); Vol. 14, nos. 1, 3 (March, September 1948); Vol. 15, no. 1 (March 1949). Vol. 1, no. 5 [incorrectly dated 1335] (53 items).

6-75 [Popular Astronomy: A Review of Astronomy and Allied Sciences?] "Constellation Charts from Popular Astronomy." Printed pamphlet of charts with no author, publisher, date or other bibliographical information (1 item).

6-75 Shreveport Magazine. Vol. 11, nos. 1,4 (January, April 1930), 2 copies of no. 4; "Industrial Shreveport, A Series of Advertisements Picturing Shreveport's Leading Industries," reprinted from the February 1930-January 1931 issues (4 items).

6-75 Sky Fighters. Vol. 14, no. 2 (August 1936) (1 item).

6-75, 6-76 Southern Aviation. Vol. 1, nos. 2-4 (October-December 1929), 5, 7-9, 11 (January, March-May, July 1930), 3 copies of no. 7; Vol. 2, nos. 2-4 (October-December 1930), 5, 6, 9 (January, February, May 1931); Vol. 3, nos. 1, 3 (September, November 1931) (18 items).

6-76 Southwest Business. Vol. 15, no. 7 (July 1936) (1 item).

6-76 Southwest Water Works Journal. Vol. 18, no. 7 (October 1936) (1 item).

6-76 T.A.T. Plane Talk. (Transcontinental Air Inc.) Vol. 1, no. 6 (June 1929) (1 item).

6-76 Transmission. Vol. 3 [1?] nos. 6-7 (June, July 1930, one issue), 9-10 (September, October [1930], one issue, 2 copies) (3 items).

6-76 Western Flying. Vol. 7, no. 2 (February 1930); Vol. 9, no. 3 (March 1931) (2 items).

Series VIII. Photoengraving Plates, ca. 1930, 1937

6-77 "Eastern Air Lines," ca. 1937 (1 item).

6-78 "'Safety' in Modern Travel," ca. 1930 (1 item).

6-79 Stanton, Stanley (Mr. & Mrs.), 1930 (3 items).

6-80 Unknown individuals, ca. 1930 (3 items).

6-81 Wedell-Williams Air Service aircraft, ca. 1930 (2 items).

Series IX. Photographs (prints and negatives), ca. 1924-1935

Photographs issued for promotional and sales purposes by the Aerotopography Corporation of America and Fairchild Aerial Surveys, Inc. are filed with other materials issued by these companies in the Sales, Advertising and Technical Literature and Miscellany series. In addition, some few photographs are included as attachments in Correspondence, Subseries 1. All other photographs are filed in one of the following subseries.

Note: Because of the possibility of nitro-cellulose content in some of the collection's original negatives, all negatives were reproduced on modern safety film and the originals discarded. Each new negative is accompanied by the positive print created in the process. Thus, for purposes of this inventory the term negative refers to a reproduced negative and its accompanying positive print, while the term print refers to an original print as acquired from the donor.

Subseries IX.1

Photographs (prints and negatives) listed in Fairchild Aerial Surveys, Inc. inventory dated February 24, 1933. Pictures are general and detailed aerial views of New Orleans, Baton Rouge and Lake Peigneur, Iberia Parish, Louisiana. Original inventory, together with an annotated Xerox copy of same, accompanies the series which is arranged numerically using code numbers assigned by original inventory. ca. 1930-33 (141 items).

6-82 Inventory (original and annotated Xerox copy) (2 items).

6-83 Negatives (47 items).

6-83 Prints (92 items).

Subseries IX.2

Aerial views and mosaics (prints and negatives) of Louisiana and Texas locale not included in Subseries IX.1 above; arranged alphabetically by locations, ca. 1924-1935 (251 items).

6-84 Louisiana. Baton Rouge. Louisiana State University campus (3 prints), ca. 1931 (3 items).

6-85 Louisiana. Baton Rouge. Old State Capitol building (2 prints), ca. 1931 (2 items).

6-86 Louisiana. Bogalusa. Great Southern Lumber Co. (1 print), 1929 (1 item).

6-87 Louisiana. La Salle Parish. Catahoula Lake vicinity (1 print), 1929 (1 item).

6-88 Louisiana. Marrero. Penick & Ford, Ltd. (syrup plant, 1 print), ca. 1931 (1 item).

Louisiana. Marrero. R. J. Reynolds Foods, Inc.

See above print of Penick & Ford, Ltd.

6-89 Louisiana. New Orleans. American Sugar Refining Co. (2 prints), ca. 1931 (2 items).

6-90 Louisiana. New Orleans. Business district (4 negatives, 4 prints), ca. 1931 (2 items).

6-91 Louisiana. New Orleans. Charity Hospital complex (4 negatives, 5 prints, 1 envelope), ca. 1931 (14 items).

6-92 Louisiana. New Orleans. Cloverland Dairy Products Co., Inc. (1 print), ca. 1931 (1 item).

6-93 Louisiana. New Orleans. Ford Motor Co. (1 print), ca. 1931 (1 item).

6-94 Louisiana. New Orleans. Huey P. Long Bridge, Construction of (13 negatives, 2 prints), ca. 1933 (28 items).

6-95 Louisiana. New Orleans. International Harvester Co. of America, New Orleans Twine Mill. ca 1931. 3 prints (3 items).

6-96 Louisiana. New Orleans. Lane Cotton Mills Co. ca. 1931. 1 print (1 item).

6-97 Louisiana. New Orleans. Lone Star Cement Co. ca. 1931. 4 prints (4 items).

6-98 Louisiana. New Orleans. Metairie Cemetery. ca. 1931. 1 negative. 1 print (2 items).

6-99 Louisiana. New Orleans. Municipal Auditorium. 1931. 3 prints (3 items).

6-100 Louisiana. New Orleans. New Orleans Public Service, Inc. (power plant, South Peters and Market Streets). 1931. 4 prints (4 items).

Louisiana. New Orleans. Port of Embarkation. See Louisiana. New Orleans. International Harvester Co. of America.

6-101 Louisiana. New Orleans. Public Grain Elevator and Terminal. ca. 1931. 1 print (1 item).

6-102 Louisiana. New Orleans. Sewerage and Water Board (pumping stations). ca. 1931. 4 negatives. 58 prints (66 items).

See also Louisiana. New Orleans. Charity Hospital complex; ibid., Metairie Cemetery; ibid., Municipal Auditorium.

6-103 Louisiana. New Orleans. Sewerage and Water Board (water purification plant). ca. 1931. 3 prints (3 items).

6-104 Louisiana. New Orleans. Shushan Airport (New Orleans Lakefront Airport). ca. 1933. 6 negatives. 12 prints (24 items).

Louisiana. New Orleans. United States Army Supply Base. See Louisiana. New Orleans. International Harvester Co. of America.

6-105 Louisiana. New Orleans. Unknown location. ca. 1931. 1 print (1 item).

6-106 Louisiana. Patterson. Airport. ca. 1930. 11 negatives. 1 print (23 items).

6-107 Louisiana. Rapides Parish. 1929. 2 prints (2 items).

6-108 Louisiana. Shreveport. General views. ca. 1931. 12 prints (12 items).

6-109 Louisiana. Unknown location (timberland). 1929. 2 prints (2 items).

6-110 Louisiana. Westwego. Celotex Corporation. ca. 1931. 1 print (1 item).

6-111 Texas. Dallas. General view. 1930. 1 print (1 item).

6-112 Texas. Houston. Views of business and industrial districts, ship channel, parks, Rice Institute, and Ellington Flying Field. 1924-1929. 26 prints (26 items).

6-113 Texas. Houston. National Elimination Balloon Race. 1930. 3 prints (3 items).

6-114 Texas. Monticello (Titus Country). Mosaic map. 1930. 1 print (1 item).

6-115 Texas. Overton (Rusk Country). High view. 1931. 1 print (1 item).

Subseries IX.3

6-116 Photographs (prints only) concerned with Newman's career in aviation, individuals and events associated with the Wedell-Williams Air Service, and related activities. Subseries includes one press production. Random arrangement. ca. 1929-1935 (59 items).

Subseries IX.4

Photographs (prints and negatives) of planes, parts, and the manufacture of same, which were produced and used originally as sales material; arranged alphabetically under the manufacturer's name. ca. 1929-1930 (100 items).

6-117 Aeromarine Klemm Corp. 1 print (1 item).

6-118 Bellanca Aircraft Corp. 2 prints (2 items).

6-119 Consolidated Aircraft Corp. 4 prints (4 items).

Detroit Aircraft Corp.

6-120 1 book of 38 prints and miscellaneous literature.

6-121 43 prints (44 items).

6-122 Fairchild Aviation Corp. 2 prints (2 items).

6-123 Fokker Aircraft Corporation of America. 2 prints (2 items).

6-124 General Airplanes Corp. 1 print (1 item).

6-125 Lincoln Aircraft Company, Inc. 1 book of 10 prints (1 item).

6-126 Mahoney Aircraft Corporation. 2 prints (2 items).

6-127 Mono Aircraft Corp. 4 prints (4 items).

6-128 Parks Air College, Inc. 1 print (1 item).

6-129 Sikorsky Aviation Corporation. 3 prints (3 items).

6-130 Stinson Aircraft Corp. 1 print (1 item).

6-131 Unidentified aircraft. 3 negatives. 26 prints (32 items).

Subseries IX.5

6-132 Photographs (prints only) of individuals and aerial views of uncertain identity. No arrangement, no dates (18 items).

Series X. Sales, Advertising and Technical Literature and Miscellany. ca. 1920 (1928-1932) 1945

See also Correspondence, Subseries III.1 for similar material included as attachments; for photographs of similar nature see Subseries IX.4 under Photographs.

6-133 Aeronautical Corporation of America, Cincinnati, Ohio. ca. 1931 (5 items).

6-134 Aeronca Flying Club, New Orleans, Louisiana. ca. 1930 (2 items).

6-135 Aerotopograph Corporation of America, Washington, D.C., ca. 1931 (23 items).

Air Express Service.

See Western Union Telegraph Co.

6-136 Air Service Training Limited, Hamble, Southhampton, England. ca 1931 (1 item).

6-137 Alexander Aircraft Company, Colorado Springs, Colorado. ca. 1929 (2 items).

6-138 American Aeronautical Corporation, Port Washington, Long Island, New York. ca. 1929 (1 item).

6-139 American Eagle Aircraft Corporation, Kansas City, Kansas. ca. 1930 (1 item).

Aviation Corporation of Delaware.

See Fairchild Aviation Corporation.

6-140 Bellanca Aircraft Corporation, New Castle, Delaware. ca. 1929-1931 (6 items).

Blackburn Aircraft Corporation.

See Detroit Aircraft Corporation.

6-141 Buhl Aircraft Company, Marysville, Michogan. ca. 1929 (2 items).

6-142 Cessna Aircraft Company, Wichita, Kansas. ca. 1929 (3 items).

6-143 Commercial Investment Trust Incorporated. Aeronautical Division, New York, New York. ca. 1930 (2 items).

Consolidated Aircraft Corporation.

See Fleet Aircraft, Inc.

Cord Corporation.

See Stinson Aircraft Corporation.

Curtiss Aeroplane and Motor Corporation.

See Curtiss-Wright Corporation.

Curtiss Robertson Airplane Manufacturing Company.

See Curtiss-Wright Corporation.

6-182 Curtiss-Wright Corporation, New York, New York. ca. 1929-1936 (35 items).

6-144, 6-184 Detroit Aircraft Corporation, Detroit, Michigan. ca. 1929-1930 (64 items).

See also Wedell-Williams Air Service, Inc.

6-145 Dycer Airport Flying Club, Los Angeles, California. ca. 1929 (1 item).

6-146, 6-185 Eastern Air Lines, New York, New York. ca. 1937 (10 items).

Eastman Aircraft Corporation.

See Detroit Aircraft Corporation.

6-147 Eastman Kodak Stores, Inc., New Orleans, La. ca. 1930 (1 item).

6-148 Emsco Aircraft Corporation, Downey, California. ca. 1929 (2 items).

Fairchild Aerial Camera Corporation.

See Fairchild Aerial Surveys, Inc.

6-149, 6-186,

6-187, 6-188,

6-169 Fairchild Aerial Surveys, Inc., New York, New York. ca. 1924-1932 (71 items).

Fairchild Airplane Manufacturing Corporation.

See Fairchild Aviation Corporation.

Fairchild Airplane Sales Corporation.

See Fairchild Aviation Corporation.

6-150 Fairchild Aviation Corporation, New York, New York. ca. 1929-1932 (6 items).

6-151 Fleet Aircraft Incorporated, Buffalo, New York. ca. 1930 (7 items).

6-152 Fokker Aircraft Corporation of America, New York, New York. ca. 1929 (1 item).

6-153 Ford Motor Company, Detroit, Michigan. ca. 1928-1930 (3 items).

6-154 General Airplanes Corporation, Buffalo, New York. ca. 1930 (6 items).

Gliders Incorporated.

See Detroit Aircraft Corporation.

6-155 Great Lakes Aircraft Corporation, Cleveland, Ohio. ca. 1930 (1 item).

Keystone Aircraft Corporation.

See Curtiss-Wright Corporation.

6-156 Kinner Airplane & Motor Corporation, Glendale, California. ca. 1930 (4 items).

6-157 Lincoln Aircraft Company, Inc., Lincoln, Nebraska. ca. 1928-1929 (1 item).

6-158 Lloyd-Thomas Company, Chicago, Ill. 1929 (2 items).

Lockheed Aircraft Corporation.

See Detroit Aircraft Corporation.

6-159 Mahoney Aircraft Corporation. San Diego, California. ca. 1929 (5 items).

Mahoney-Ryan Aircraft Corporation.

See Mahoney Aircraft Corporation.

6-160 Metal Aircraft Corporation, Cincinnati, Ohio. ca. 1930 (2 items).

6-161 Mohawk Aircraft Corporation, Minneapolis, Minnesota. ca. 1930 (2 items).

6-162 Mono Aircraft Corporation, Moline, Illinois. ca. 1930 (3 items).

6-163 Montgomery School of Aeronautics, Montgomery, Alabama. ca. 1929 (7 items).

Moth Aircraft Corporation.

See Curtiss-Wright Corporation.

6-164 Municipal Service Company, Inc., Hartford, Connecticut. ca. 1930 (2 items).

6-165 New Standard Aircraft Corporation, Paterson, New Jersey. ca. 1930 (1 items).

6-166 Packard Motor Car Company, Detroit, Michigan. ca. 1930 (1 item).

6-167 Parks Air College, Inc., East St. Louis, Illinois. ca 1930 (4 items).

See also Detroit Aircraft Corporation.

6-168 Pitcairn-Cierva Autogiro Company of America, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. ca. 1930 (1 item).

6-169 Pratt & Whitney Aircraft Co., Hartford, Connecticut. ca. 1930 (2 items).

6-170 Republican Aviation Corporation, Farmington, Long Island, New York. ca. 1945 (7 items).

6-171 Roberts Motor Mfg. Co., Sandusky, Ohio. ca. 1920 (1 item).

Ryan Aircraft Corporation.

See Detroit Aircraft Corporation; Mahoney Aircraft Corporation.

6-172 Sikorsky Aviation Corporation, Bridgeport, Connecticut. ca. 1930 (5 items).

6-173 Sky Specialties Corporation, Detroit, Michigan. ca. 1930 (2 items).

6-174 Southern Aeronautical Service, Inc., New Orleans, Louisiana. ca. 1930 (1 item).

Southern Air Express.

See Montgomery School of Aeronautics.

6-175 Spartan Aircraft Company, Tulsa, Oklahoma. ca. 1930 (1 item).

6-176 Stinson Aircraft Corporation, Wayne, Michigan. ca. 1930 (1 item).

Stout Metal Airplane Company.

See Ford Motor Company.

6-177 Swallow Airplane Company, Wichita, Kansas. ca. 1930 (1 item).

Travel Air Company.

See Curtiss-Wright Corporation.

United Aircraft and Transport Corporation.

See Pratt and Whitney Aircraft Company; Sikorsky Aviation Corporation.

6-178 United States Aviation Underwriters, Inc., New York, New York. ca. 1930 (1 item).

6-183 Wedell-Williams Air Service, Inc., New Orleans, Louisiana. ca. 1929-1930 (65 items).

See also Detroit Aircraft Corporation.

6-179 Western Union Telegraph Company. ca. 1931 (1 item).

6-180 Wheless Airport Engineering Associates, Shreveport, Louisiana. ca. 1930 (1 item).

6-181 Whittelsey Manufacturing Company, Bridgeport, Connecticut. ca. 1930 (1 item).

Wright Aeronautical Corporation.

See Curtiss-Wright Corporation.

Index Terms

Aerotopograph Corporation of America

Aviation

Fairchild Aerial Surveys, Inc.

Newman, Earl F.

Wedell-Williams Air Service, Inc.