MSS 019 - Gladys McGuffey Rogers Collection: Inventory

Gladys McGuffey Rogers COLLECTION

(Mss 19)

INVENTORY

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

April 1998

 

Summary

Size:	149 items.
Geographic Locations:	Louisiana.
Inclusive Dates:	ca. 1930-1941.
Bulk Dates:	1934-1935.
Summary:	Papers and memorabilia primarily concerned with Sen. Huey P. Long and originally collected and/or produced by Gladys McGuffey (subsequently Mrs. Fred B. Rogers), who was employed as secretary to governors Allen and Noe and on occasion worked for Sen. Long.
Related Collections:	Hermann B. Deutsch Collection (Mss 8); The Times-Picayune Huey P. Long Assassination Editions Collection (Mss 330)
Source:	Gift, 1965.
Access:	No Restrictions.
Copyright:	Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.
Citation:	Gladys McGuffey Rogers Collection (MSS 19), Louisiana and Special Collections Department, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

Biographical Note

            Oscar K. Allen served as governor of Louisiana from 1932 to 1936 and, after Senator Huey P. Long's assassination in 1935, functioned as leader of the "Long machine."  Upon his death on January 28, 1936, he was succeeded by his lieutenant governor, James A. Noe.  Gladys McGuffey (subsequently Mrs. Fred B. Rogers) served as secretary to both of these governors and occasionally worked for Huey P. Long, the flamboyant former governor (1928-1932) and then U.S. senator.

            Most of the materials in this collection pertain to Long.  Born in Winnfield, Louisiana, in 1893, he studied law at Tulane University and was admitted to the Louisiana bar in 1915.  Long first practiced law in Winnfield, specializing in Workmen's Compensation cases, land titles, timber sales, and oil and gas, and later in Shreveport.  In 1919 he was elected to the Louisiana Railroad Commission (later the Public Service Commission), serving from 1918 to 1928 and chairing the commission for the last seven years of his tenure.  After an unsuccessful bid for the office of governor in 1924, Long was elected to that position in 1928.  During his four years in office, Louisiana dramatically increased spending for public education at all levels, reformed and improved prisons, and built bridges and highways.  Meanwhile, political opposition gathered strength amid allegations of usurpation of authority and other misconduct.  After impeachment charges failed in 1929, Long won election to the U.S. Senate the following year, but continued to govern Louisiana until 1932, after ensuring that candidates he favored had won Louisiana offices, including O. K. Allen, his successor as governor.

            A major force in national politics, Long opposed President Franklin D. Roosevelt's New Deal, advocating, rather, his own Share-the-Wealth Program, which would have eliminated personal fortunes in excess of three million dollars; given each family five thousand dollars with which purchase a house, a car, and a radio; and provided pensions for the elderly, minimum annual incomes, bonuses for veterans, and college educations.  Although Long's national strength died with him on September 8, 1935, in Louisiana his political influence endured for decades.

Source:

A Dictionary of Louisiana Biography, ed. Glenn R. Conrad (2 vols.; New Orleans, La.: Louisiana Historical Association, 1988).

List of Series and Subseries

Series I:	Books, 1935 (1 item)
Series II:	Broadsides and Handbills, [ca. 1935] (8 items) Primarily concerning political matters immediately preceding and following death of Huey P. Long.
Series III:	Newsclippings, 1932-1941 (82 items)
Series IV:	Correspondence, 1936, 1938 (2 items) Typescript and holographic contracts, resolutions, and speeches (including speeches by Huey P. Long).
Series V:	Government Publications, 1932-1936 (7 items)
Series VI:	Manuscripts, [ca. 1934-1935] (14 items)
Series VII:	Pamphlets, 1935-1936 (4 items) Primarily concerning Huey P. Long and his "Share Our Wealth" program.
Series VIII:	Visual Materials, [ca. 1930-1935] (27 items) Photographs, primarily concerning Huey P. Long, his staff and associates.
Series IX:	Sheet Music, 1935 (4 items) New Orleans-published sheet music, chiefly associated with Huey P. Long and/or Louisiana State University.

Container List

Series I.  Books, 1935 (1 item)

19-1                     Long, Huey Pierce.  My First Days in the White House.  Harrisburg, Pa., Telegraph Press, 1935.

 Series II.  Broadsides and Handbills, [ca. 1935] (8 items)

19-2                     Primarily concerned with political matters immediately preceding and following death of Huey P. Long; included is a Special Issue (handbill) of the Louisiana's Authors' Journal, ca. 1935.

 Series III.  Newsclippings, 1932-1941 (82 items)

19-3                     Newspaper: bound volume, 1932 - 1933 (1 item); loose pieces, [n.d.], (20 items), ca. 1935 - 1941 (53 items)

Periodical: loose pieces, 1935 - 1936 (8 items)

Series IV.  Correspondence, 1936, 1938 (2 items)

Typescript and holographic contracts, resolutions, and speeches (including speeches by Huey P. Long)

19-4                     1936, 1938 (2 items)

Series V.  Government Publications, 1932-1936 (7 items)

19-5                     Louisiana.  Inaugural programs, 1932, 1936.

Proof of Official Journal of the Senate of the State of Louisiana (September 9, 1935).

Louisiana Conservation Review (October 1935).

19-5                     United States.  Congressional Record - Senate (August 26, 1935; legislative day, July 29, 1935).

Memorial Services . . . of Huey Pierce Long (74th Cong., 2nd Sess. - House Doc. No. 480), Washington, 1936.

Huey Pierce Long.  Speech of Hon. John H. Overton . . . in Senate of the United States, January 22, 1936, Washington, 1936.

Series VI.  Manuscripts, [ca. 1934-1935] (14 items)

19-6                     Typescript and holographic contracts, resolutions, and speeches (including speeches by Huey P. Long), ca. 1934 - 1935

Series VII.  Pamphlets, 1935-1936 (4 items)

Primarily concerned with Huey P. Long and his "Share Our Wealth" program.

19-7                     1935-1936.

Series VIII.  Visual Materials, [ca. 1930-1935] (27 items)

Photographs, primarily concerned with Huey P. Long, his staff and associates.

19-8                     ca. 1930-1935 (25 items).

Silhouettes.  Alvin O. King and George M. Wallace, 1932 (2 items)

Series IX.  Sheet Music, 1935 (4 items)

New Orleans-published sheet music, chiefly associated with Huey P. Long and/or Louisiana State University.

 19-9                    Long, Huey P.  "Miss Vandy."  New Orleans, 1935.

                             Long, Huey P., and Castro Carazo.  "Darling of L.S.U."  New Orleans, 1935.

                             Long, Huey P., and Castro Carazo.  "Touchdown for L.S.U."  New Orleans, 1935.

                             Yacich, Chris, and Frank Arena.  "With a Sigh, We Say Goodbye, Huey Long."  New Orleans, 1935.

Index Terms

Long, Huey P.

Louisiana—Politics and government

Music--Louisiana

Rogers, Gladys McGuffey