MSS 033 - Weiblen Memorials Collection: Inventory

WEIBLEN MEMORIALS COLLECTIOn 

(Mss 33)

Inventory 

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans 

 

Summary

 

Size:  15 linear feet

Geographic Locations:  New Orleans, La.

Inclusive dates:  ca. 1915-1972

Summary:  Records of a marble and granite business, consisting mainly of advertising catalogues, correspondence, plans and renderings, photographs, cost, price, inventory and sales records, purchase agreements, and bank, insurance, payroll and tax records.

Related Collections:  Weiblen Memorials Collection, Addendum 1 (Mss 288)

Source:  Gift, 1972

Access:  No restrictions

Copyright:  Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.

Citation:  Weiblen Memorials Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

Historical Note

            Weiblen Memorials (originally incorporated as Albert Weiblen Marble and Granite Company) was founded at New Orleans in 1887 by Albert Weiblen (Nov. 9, 1857 - May 1, 1957), a native of Mezingen, Germany, who settled in the Crescent City in 1885.  Soards’ New Orleans City Directory for 1888 lists Weiblen as foreman of Kursheedt and Bienvenu marble works, a company later absorbed by Albert Weiblen Marble and Granite Company.

            The Weiblen firm, which operated its own quarries in Georgia and fabricating plants in New Orleans, was also an importer of foreign marble and granite.  In addition to the numerous New Orleans tombs and monuments which it produced, the firm supplied marble and granite for such building as the capitol in Havana; the Jefferson Memorial in Washington, D.C.; and in New Orleans, the Whitney National Bank, the Canal Bank, the Civil Courts (on Royal Street), and the former Post Office (on Lafayette Square).

            In 1969 the company was sold to Stewart Enterprises (the holding company of Acme Marble and Granite Company), which maintained the Weiblen Memorials name until 1971.  At that time, the company’s offices at 116 City Park Avenue were closed, and all operations were merged with those of Acme Marble and Granite Company.  This merger accounts for the Acme records found in the collection.  It also accounts for the damaged condition of many of the documents, a condition which resulted when they were disposed of in an outdoor trash container prior to their discovery and retrieval by the donor.

            Because of such handling, very little of the original order could be ascertained.  The series which follow were chosen as the most practical and useful means of organization.  In general, they reflect the activities which produced the records.

            This synopsis is based on a Times-Picayune article of May 2, 1957; conversations with Henry Gandolfo, an employee of the company since 1915; and evidence in the collection.

Series Descriptions

 

Series I.                     Accounts Receivable (1962-1970)

Series II.                    Acknowledgments (1965-1967)

                                    Acknowledgments from Continental Granite Division of Georgia Marble to Weiblen Memorials.

Series III.                   Advertising and Sales Literature (ca. 1936-1971)

                                   Catalogues, pamphlets, handbills, printed illustrations, photographs, and miscellaneous papers;
                                    arranged alphabetically by name of issuing companies.

Series IV.                  Bank Records (1969-1970)

                                    Statements, cancelled checks, deposit slips.

Series V.                   Cash Journal (1962-1970)

 

Series VI.                  Correspondence (1929-1971)

                                    Incoming/outgoing, including internal memoranda.

Series VII.                 Daily Time Analysis Sheets (1965-1966)

                                    Records of project, employees and types of craft, hours, and rates of pay.

Series VIII.                Employee Loan Record (1962-1969)

Series IX.                  Employees’ Withholding Exemption Certificates (1943-1968)

Series X.                   Equipment Use Log (1971)

Series XI.                  Estimate Sheets/Time and Material Records (ca. 1960-1971)

                                 Details of material and labor costs for individual jobs.

Series XII.                 Files (1935-1971)

                                    On purchase of foreign marble, including invoices, insurance and bank papers, bills of lading,
                                    customs forms, and related miscellany.  Arranged chronologically by shipments as origially compiled.

Series XIII.                Inscription Purchase Agreements (1960-1972)

                                    Primarily Inscription Purchase Agreements with marble tickets, shop tickets, and lettering layout;
                                    also including a few miscellaneous agreements, contracts, and memoranda.

Series XIV.                Insurance Records (1961-1971)

 

                                    Subseries XIV.1:     Miscellany (1962-1971)

                                    Includes corresponence, invoices, credit memoranda, and related papers.

                                    Subseries XIV.2:     Policies (1960-1968)

                                    Includes automobile and general liability, miscellaneous losses (fire, theft, etc.), and
                                   workmen’s compensation and employers’ liability.

 

Series XV.                 Inventory Ledger (1969-1970)

Series XVI.                Invoices/Statements (1962-1971)

 

                                    Subseries XVI.1:     Issued by Elberton City Quarries to Metairie Cemetery Association
                                    and Weiblen Memorials (1962-1965)

                                  Subseries XVI.2:     Issued by Weiblen Memorials (1963-1971)

Series XVII.               Oddments (ca. 1936-1972)

                                    Primarily notes and jottings but including a scattering of acknowledg­ments, quotations, statements,
                                    invoices, receipts, and other miscellaneous business papers.

Series XVIII.              Payroll Records (1959-1971)

                                    Subseries XVIII.1:   Metairie Cemetery Association (1964-1971)

                                    Subseries XVIII.2:   Weiblen Memorials (1959-1970)

Series XIX.                Personnel Directories (ca. 1970)

                                    For Acme Marble and Granite, Acme Mausoleum, Architectural Stone, Lake Lawn Park, Metairie
                                    Cemetery Association, Mount Olivet Cemetery, St. Vincent De Paul Cemetery Association, Weiblen
                                    Memorials, and Wholesale Granite Works.

Series XX.                 Photographs ([n.d.])

                                    Prints and negatives, primarily depicting tombs, monuments, and sculpture; issued by Albert Weiblen
                                   Marble and Granite Company and unidentified companies (no arrangement).

Series XXI.                Plaque ([n.d.])

Series XXII.               Plans and Renderings (ca. 1915-1971)

                                    Originals and blueprints, primarily depicting tombs and funereal monuments but including a small
                                    miscellany of church and domestic works (no arrangement).

Series XXIII.              Policy Statements and Procedural Guides (ca. 1970)

                                    Handbooks, sample forms, interest tables, and related miscellany.

Series XXIV.             Price and Inventory Records (1936-1971)

                                    Including considerable information on sales, construction progress and costs.

Series XXV.              Printing Cuts ([n.d.])

                                   Illustrating tombs, civic monuments, and letterheads.

Series XXVI.             Purchase Orders (1969-1972)

                                   Issued by Acme Marble and Granite; reciprocal invoices attached.

Series XXVII.            Receipt Book (1966-1971)

                                    Records of customer payments to Weiblen Memorials.

Series XXVIII.           Sales Journals (1969-1970)

Series XXIX.             Tax Records (1935-1969)

                                    Subseries XXIX.1:  City of New Orleans

                                    Includes occupational licenses and applications for same, personal property tax bills, and real estate tax bills.

                                    Subseries XXIX.2:  State of Louisiana

                                    Includes inspection receipts, occupational licenses and applications for same, and real estate tax
                                   notices and receipts.

                                    Subseries XXIX.3:  Miscellany

                                    Subseries XXIX.4:  Personal Property Reports/Taxpayers’ Reports (1955-1966)

Container List

 

 

Series I.  Accounts Receivable

 

                        Ledger.

 

33-1                            1962; 1965 - 1969.

                                    With working papers for 1970.

 

 

Series II.  Acknowledgments

 

                        From Continental Granite Division of Georgia Marble to Weiblen Memorials.

 

33-86                          April 1965 - May 1967.

 

Series III.  Advertising and Sales Literature, ca. 1936 - 1971

                        Catalogues, pamphlets, handbills, printed illustrations, photographs, and miscellaneous papers; arranged alphabetically by name of issuing companies.  See also attachments in Correspondence . . . (33-5 - 33-10) and Plans and Renderings . . . (33-90 - 33-91).

 

33-31                          Acme Marble and Granite.  See also Rittaizo Sculptors . . . (33-53).

33-32a                        Amerigo di Martino Barsanti.

33-32b                        Fedele Andreani and Flli.

33-32c                        Armando Battelli.

33-32d                        Lodovico Bertoni and Sons.

33-33a                        Catullo Biagioli.

33-33b                        Fratelli Bramanti.

33-34                          G. Cappeliez-Henaut.

33-35a                        Carthage Marble.

33-35b                        Cincinnati Metalcrafts.

33-35c                        Coggins Granite Industries.

33-36                          Cold Spring Granite.

33-37a                        Giuseppe Cricca.

33-37b                        Noel Cricca.

33-38a                        Henri Daffe.

33-38b                        J. A. Dedouch.

33-39                          Vico Dolfi.

33-40a                        Edwards Memorial Specialist.

33-40b                        Elberton City Quarries.

                                    A. K. Fernstroms Granitindustrier.  See International Granite and Marble (33-44).

33-41a                        Fonderia Artistics Fiorentina.

33-41b                        General Bronze.

33-42                          Georgia Marble.

33-43a                        A. P. Grappone.

33-43b                        Heyward Granite.

33-43c                        Highpoint Granite.

33-43d                        Illyrian Roman Marble and Stone.

33-44                          International Granite and Marble.

33-45                          Italian Marble.

33-46                          Wm. H. Jackson Company.

33-47a                        Jacobson & Company.

33-47b                        Tompkins Kiel Marble.

33-47c                        Kohler.

33-47d                        E. G. Ladewich.

33-47e                        Marble Institute of America.

33-47f                         Adolf Martiner.

33-47g                        Matthews Memorial Bronze.

33-48                          Meierjohan-Wengler.

33-49                          Metairie Cemetery Association.

33-50a                        Michaels Art Bronze Co.

33-50b                        New Mexico Granite Co.

33-50c                        New Orleans Archdiocese Cemeteries.

33-51a                        Newman Brothers.

33-51b                        Northwest Granite Manufacturers Association.

33-51c                        Giovanni Pellerano.

33-52                          Marmo Portoro.

33-53a-b                    Rittaizo Sculptors.

33-54a                        Giuseppe Runggaldier.

33-54b                        E. L. Smith.

33-54c                        [G. M. Taccone].

33-54d                        W. C. Townsend & Company.

33-54e                        United Marble & Granite Corp.

33-54f                         United States Bronze Sign Co.

                                    G. Vignali.  See Fonderia Artistica Fiorentina (33-41).

33-55a                        Gino & Anchise Vanelli.

33-55b                        Vase Import Co.

33-55c                        Enzo Viviani.

33-55d                        Walker & Zanger.

33-55e                        Ralph Watkins Metalcrafts.

33-56                          Albert Weiblen Marble & Granite Co.  See also Photographs . . . (33-79).

33-57                          Worthington Pump and Machinery.

33-58                          Württenbergische Metallwarenfabrik.

 

Series IV.  Bank Records, 1969-1970

                        Statements, cancelled checks, deposit slips.

33-59                          Weiblen Memorials (account 42-95-9957-1), May 1969 - September 1970.

33-60                          Weiblen Memorials (payroll account 42-95-9971-7), May 1969 - March 1970.

33-61                          Weiblen Memorials (account 42-95-9981-4), February, March 1970.

Series V.  Cash Journal, 1962-1970

33-2                Journal.

Series VI.  Correspondence, 1929-1971

                        Incoming/outgoing, including internal memoranda.  See also Insurance Records, Miscellany . . .
                        1962 - 1971 (33-81).

33-5                            [n.d.]/uncertain date; February 1 - June 12, 1926; July 4, 1929 - June 30, 1930; December 7,
                                   1932 - June 20, 1941; September 8, 1943 - December 17, 1946.

33-6                            January 10, 1947 - December 30, 1960.

33-7                            January 14, 1961 - December 21, 1964.

33-8                            January 4, 1965 - December 30, 1967.

33-9                            January 2, 1968 - July 30, 1969.

33-10                          August 1, 1969 - October 4, 1972.

Series VII.  Daily Time Analysis Sheets (Acme Marble and Granite Construction), 1965-1966

                        Recording project, employees and types of craft, hours, and rates of pay.

33-87                          January, February, September - November 1965; January - August 1966.

Series VIII.  Employee Loan Record

33-62                          1962 - 1969.

Series IX.  Employee’s Withholding Exemption Certificates

33-30                          1943; 1944; 1950; 1952; 1954; 1956-1968.

Series X.  Equipment Use Log (Weiblen Memorials)

33-66                          June - October 1971.

Series XI.  Estimate Sheets/Time and Material Records

                        Detailing material and labor costs for individual jobs.

33-65                          ca. 1960 - 1971.

Series XII.  Files

                        On purchase of foreign marble, including invoices, insurance and bank papers, bills of lading, customs forms, and related miscellany.  Arranged chronologically by shipments as originally compiled.

33-24                          October 10, 1935 - August 28, 1939; May 24, 1946 - September 1, 1956.

33-25                          January 7, 1957 - September 28, 1965.

33-26                          February 16, 1966 - February 4, 1971.

Series XIII.  Inscription Purchase Agreements

                        Primarily Inscription Purchase Agreements with marble tickets, shop tickets, and lettering layout; also including a few miscellaneous agreements, contracts, and memoranda.

33-15                          [n.d.]/uncertain date; unattached lettering layouts.

33-16                          1960; 1962 - 1967.

33-17                          January 10 - August 8, 1968.

33-18                          August 9 - December 30, 1968.

33-19                          January 2 - December 30, 1969.

33-20                          January 8 - September 30, 1970.

33-21                          October 1, 1970 - February 4, 1971.

33-22                          February 8 - April 30, 1971.

33-23                          May 6 - August 3, 1971; September 27 - September 29, 1972.

Series XIV.  Insurance Records

            Subseries 1.  Miscellany.

                        Includes corresponence, invoices, credit memoranda, and related papers; arranged chronologically. 
                        See also Files . . . 1935 - 1971 (33-24 - 33-26).

33-81                          [n.d.]/uncertain date; 1962 - 1971.

            Subseries 2.  Policies.     

                        Automobile and General Liability.

33-82                          [n.d.]/uncertain date; 1961 - 1969.

                        Miscellaneous Losses (fire, theft, and other causes).

33-83                          1960 - 1967.

                        Workmen’s Compensation and Employers’ Liability.

33-84                          1965 - 1968.

Series XV.  Inventory Ledger

33-3                            1969; 1970.

Series XVI.  Invoices/Statements

            Subseries XVI.1.  Issued by Elberton City Quarries to Metairie Cemetery Association and Weiblen Memorials.

33-85                          1962 - 1965.

            Subseries XVI.2.  Issued by Weiblen Memorials.

33-88                          [n.d.]; 1963; 1964; 1966 - 1971.

Series XVII.  Oddments

                      Primarily notes and jottings but including a scattering of acknowledgments, quota­tions, statements, invoices, receipts, and other miscellaneous business papers.

33-80                          ca. 1936 - 1972.

Series XVIII.  Payroll Records

            Subseries XVIII.1.  Metairie Cemetery Association.

33-71                          1965 - 1969 (annual tabulations).

33-70                          January - November 1969 (weekly tabulations).

33-72                          1964 - 1969 (primarily bonus tabulations).

33-73                          January - October 1970 (salary and commission tabulations).

33-74                          January 1970 - March 1971 (commission tabulations).

            Subseries XVIII.2.  Weiblen Memorials.

33-75                          1965 - 1969 (annual tabulations).

33-77                          January 1962 - November 1969 (weekly tabulations).

33-76                          1964 - 1969 (bonus tabulations).

33-78                          January 1959 - February 1970 (weekly Wage-Hour Social Security Time Books), 12 bound volumes.

Series XIX.  Personnel Directories

                        For Acme Marble and Granite, Acme Mausoleum, Architectural Stone, Lake Lawn Park, Metairie Cemetery Association, Mount Olivet Cemetery, St. Vincent De Paul Cemetery Association, Weiblen Memorials, and Wholesale Granite Works.

33-63                          ca. 1970.

Series XX.  Photographs

                        Prints and negatives, primarily depicting tombs, monuments, and sculpture; issued by Albert Weiblen Marble and Granite Company and unidentified companies (no arrangement).  For additional photographs identified by issuing companies, see Advertising and Sales Literature . . . (33-31 - 33-58).

33-79                          [n.d.]

Series XXI.  Plaque

33-67              Brass relief: ALBERT·WEIBLEN·MARBLE & GRANITE·CO. ½ NEW-ORLEANS-LA.

Series XXII.  Plans and Renderings

                        Originals and blueprints, primarily depicting tombs and funereal monuments but including a small miscellany of church and domestic works (no arrangement).  See also attachments in Correspondence . . . 1926 (33-5).

33-90,

33-91                          ca. 1915 - 1971.

Series XXIII.  Policy Statements and Procedural Guides

                        Handbooks, sample forms, interest tables, and related miscellany.

33-64                          ca. 1970.

Series XXIV.  Price and Inventory Records

                        Including considerable information on sales, construction progress and costs.  See also Inventory Ledger, 1969; 1970 (33-3).

33-68                          ca. 1936; 1945 - 1950; 1955; 1961; 1964 - 1971.

Series XXV.  Printing Cuts

                        Illustrating tombs, civic monuments, and letterheads.

33-27 - 33-29     [n.d.]

Series XXVI.  Purchase Orders

                        Issued by Acme Marble and Granite; reciprocal invoices attached.

33-89                          December 1969; October 1971 - September 1972.

Series XXVII.  Receipt Book

                        Recording customer payments to Weiblen Memorials.

33-69                          October 10, 1966 - July 21, 1971.

Series XXVIII.  Sales Journals

33-4                            January - April 1970.

33-4                            Working papers, 1969.

Series XXIX.  Tax Records

            Subseries XXIX.1.  City of New Orleans.

                        Occupational License Applications.

33-11                          1955; 1956; 1960 - 1964; 1966 - 1968.

                        Occupational Licenses.

33-11                          1935; 1937 - 1956; 1959-1968.

                        Personal Property Tax Bills.

33-11                          1957; 1958; 1960 - 1962; 1964; 1966 - 1969.

                        Real Estate Tax Bills.

33-11                          1958 - 1963.

            Subseries XXIX.2.  State of Louisiana.

                        Inspection Receipts.

33-12                          1938; 1939; 1944; 1945.

                        Occupational License Applications.

33-12                          [n.d.]; 1970.

                        Occupational Licenses.

33-12                          1935 - 1955; 1957 - 1968.

                        Real Estate Tax Notices and Receipts.

33-12                          [n.d.]; 1948 - 1960; 1962.

            Subseries XXIX.3.  Miscellany.

33-13                          [n.d.]/uncertain date; 1956 - 1958; 1969; 1970.

            Subseries 4.  Personal Property Reports/Taxpayer’s Reports.

33-14                          1955 - 1966.

Index Terms

 

Acme Marble and Granite Company

Cemeteries—Louisiana—New Orleans

Cemetery monuments

Marbleworking

Weiblen Marble and Granite Company