Inventory - MSS 056 - Audubon Park Commission Collection - Library Guides at University of New Orleans

MSS 056 - Audubon Park Commission Collection

Audubon Park Commission COLLECTION

(Mss 56)

Inventory

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

May 2000

Summary

Size: 58 linear feet

Geographic locations: New Orleans, La.

Inclusive dates: ca. 1886-1960

Summary: Records of the Audubon Park Commission, consisting mainly of minutes, miscellaneous account books, correspondence, banking records, invoices scrapbooks, photographs, and plans.

Related collections: Audubon Park Commission Collection, Addendum 1 (Mss 182); Audubon Park Commission Collection, Addendum 2 (Mss 259)

Source: Deposit, 1975

Access: No restrictions

Copyright: Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.

Citation: Audubon Park Commission Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

Historical Note

Audubon Park occupies a 190-acre site in uptown New Orleans bounded by St. Charles Avenue, Magazine Street, Exposition Boulevard, and Walnut Street, where the World's Industrial and Cotton Centennial Exposition was held in 1884-1885. One of the fair's main buildings, Horticultural Hall, became the principal attraction in the development of the site into a park and served to centralize activity, even after a hurricane destroyed it in 1915. Meanwhile, on May 31, 1886, the New Orleans City Council established a commission to operate the park. Less than two months later, on July 19, the upper section was named in honor of naturalist and artist John James Audubon, who lived and worked in Louisiana.

In 1893, noted park designer Frederick Law Olmsted was invited to draw up plans for a million-dollar improvement program, but not until 1897 did his son, John Charles Olmsted, inspect the site and begin work on what would become the master plan for Audubon Park. Already, in 1891, the park had installed its first kiddie ride, the flying horses. In 1898 the miniature train began operating, and golfing became available. Three years later, Shetland pony rides for children were offered.

When a hurricane destroyed Horticultural Hall in 1915, the insurance payment of ten thousand dollars was used to build a greenhouse and a cage for flying birds. The latter foreshadowed today's zoo. A formal garden took shape in 1921, and in 1924 an aquarium was opened. In the same year, the park regained use of a fifty-acre site which had been occupied by a sugar experiment station, and the additional space opened the way for various athletic facilities. Perhaps the most notable of these was the natatorium, which was, when it opened on May 3, 1928, the largest swimming pool in the South. User fees paid for the facility and set a precedent for the present zoo.

In 1919, Daniel D. Moore, manager-editor of the New Orleans Times-Picayune, offered five hundred dollars in seed money toward the establishment of a zoo. During the 1930s, Civil Works Administration funds from New Deal agencies and a bequest from Valentine Merz financed zoo construction, and on May 15, 1938, the Merz Memorial Zoo admitted its first visitors. Some of its facilities still remain in use.

Despite national acclaim in the 1950s for its achievement in producing the first whooping cranes--an almost extinct species--hatched in captivity, inadequate funding in the 1950s and 1960s caused the zoo to deteriorate. Its rejuvenation began in 1971 when the Bureau of Governmental Research presented plans for expansion and improvement. The following year, voters approved a tax increase to fund the park's development, and community efforts to rebuild the zoo began in 1976. An indication of the success of these initiatives is the Audubon Zoo's receipt in 1984 of the National Landscape Award of the American Association of Nurserymen. It was just the third time in half a century that the prestigious award was presented.

Source:

Forman, L. Ronald, and Joseph Logsdon, with John Wilds. Audubon Park: An Urban Eden. Photographs by David King Gleason and David Kleck. New Orleans: Friends of the Zoo, 1985

Series, Subseries, and Descriptions

Series I. Annual Reports (Superintendent), 1940, 1941

Series II. By-Laws and Rules, 1916

Series III. Charters, 1919-1923

Series IV. Clippings, n.d., 1922-1927, 1943-1956

Series V. Committee Books, n.d., 1939, 1942, 1943

Standing committees and their duties; with lists of members of Board of Commissioners.

Series VI. Correspondence, 1896-1960

Subseries VI.1 Audubon Park Auxiliary Association

Subseries VI.2 Audubon Park Commission

Subseries VI.3 Audubon Park Natatorium

Subseries VI.4 New Orleans Zoological Society

Series VII. Equipment Distribution Lists, 1956

Series VIII. Financial Records, 1900-1959

Includes bank and payroll records, audit reports, bids/contracts, budgetary information, cash books, etc.

Subseries VIII.1 Audubon Park Auxiliary Association

Subseries VIII.2 Audubon Park Baseball League

Subseries VIII.3 Audubon Park Commission

Subseries VIII.4 Audubon Park Country Fair and Livestock Show

Subseries VIII.5 Audubon Park Natatorium

Subseries VIII.6 Louisiana State Parks Association

Subseries VIII.7 Miscellany

Subseries VIII.8 New Orleans Zoological Society

Series IX. Minutes, 1886-1960

Subseries IX.1 Audubon Park Commission

Subseries IX.2 Audubon Park Natatorium

Subseries IX.3 New Orleans Zoological Society

Series X. Miscellany, 1901-1941

Includes government publications, price lists, advertisements, and related miscellany.

Series XI. Personnel Records, 1936-1957

Includes insurance records, lists of employees, time cards.

Series XII. Photographs, [1935]-1960.

Series XIII. Plans

Various buildings and sites at Audubon Park, including Administration Building, Bandstand, Natatorium, and topographical and general plans.

Series XIV. Scrapbooks, 1896-1961

Series XV. Sketchbook, 1897

Sketches by Olmsted Brothers, planners, Brookline, Massachusetts, of park buildings and sites.

Series XVI. Tax Records, 1942-1944

Series XVII. United States. War Production Board. Application for Priority Assistance, 1943

For Natatorium.

Series XVIII. United States. Works Progress Administration File, 1933-1939

Container List

Series I. Annual Reports (Superintendent).

56-1 1940, 1941.

See also Minutes. Audubon Park Commission ... (56-142 to 56-151).

Audubon Park Auxiliary Association. See Correspondence. Audubon Park Auxiliary Association ... (56-6); Financial Records. Audubon Park Auxiliary Association ... (56-17 to 56-19, 56-80).

Audubon Park Baseball League. See Correspondence. Audubon Park Commission ... (56-7 to 56-13); Financial Records. Audubon Park Baseball League ... (56-20), ... Audubon Park Commission. Bids/Contracts ... (56-39).

Audubon Park Commission. For specific series within record groups, see Correspondence. Audubon Park Commission ... (56-7 to 56-13); Financial Records. Audubon Park Commission ... (56-21 to 56-63, 56-81 to 56-124); Minutes. Audubon Park Commission ... (56-142 to 56-151); Personnel Records. Lists of Employees ... (56-160), ... Time Cards ... (56-165 to 56-172).

Audubon Park Country Fair and Livestock Show. See Financial Records. Audubon Park Country Fair and Livestock Show ... (56-125).

Audubon Park Natatorium, Inc. See Correspondence. Audubon Park Commission ... (56-7 to 56-13), ... Audubon Park Natatorium, Inc. ... (56-14); Financial Records. Audubon Park Natatorium, Inc. ... (56-64 to 56-66, 56-69 to 56-75, 56-126 to 56-138); Minutes. Audubon Park Natatorium, Inc. ... (56-152, 56-153); Personnel Records. Insurance Records ... (56- 157), ... List of Employees (56-161)... New Orleans, Department of Civil Service ... (56-164), ... Time Cards ... (56-173); Photographs ... (56-174, 56-175).

Bank Records. See Financial Records. Audubon Park Auxiliary Association ... (56-17, 56-18), ... Audubon Park Commission ... (56-22 to 56-34), ... Audubon Park Natatorium, Inc. ... (56-64 to 56-68); ... New Orleans Zoological Society ...(56-78); Correspondence. Audubon Park Commission, May 1940 (56-9).

Board of Commissioners. See Committee Books ... (56-5); Minutes. Audubon Park Commission ... (56-142 to 56-151).

Series II. By-Laws and Rules.

56-2 1 vol., 1916.

Series III. Charters.

Audubon Park Natatorium, Inc. See Minutes. Audubon Park Natatorium, Inc. ... (56-153).

56-3 Louisiana State Parks Association, November 1922, May 11, 1923.

New Orleans Zoological Society, September 1919. See also Minutes. New Orleans Zoological Society ... (56-155).

Series IV. Clippings.

56-4 n.d., 1922-1927, 1943-1956.

See also Correspondence (56-7 to 56-15); Scrapbooks. (56-176 to 56-190); Whooping Crane File ... (56-220 to 56-224).

Series V. Committee Books.

Standing committees and duties; with lists of members of Board of Commissioners.

56-5 n.d., 1939, 1942, 1943.

See also Minutes. Audubon Park Commission ... (56-142 to 56-151).

Series VI. Correspondence.

Includes both incoming and outgoing correspondence.

Subseries VI.1: Audubon Park Auxiliary Association.

56-6 n.d., 1938, 1940.

Subseries VI.2: Audubon Park Commission.

Attachments include advertisements, photographs, clippings, press releases, proposals, financial statements, bank records, minutes, newsletters, court cases, city ordinances, plans, and specifications; Audubon Park Natatorium, Inc., including charter; Federal Security Agency; National Youth Administration for Louisiana, Work Progress Administration; and whooping crane miscellany).

56-7 n.d.

56-8 1896, 1902, 1903, 1907, 1923-1935.

56-9 January 1936- July 1940.

56-10 August 1940-May 1941.

56-11 June 1941-December 1943.

56-12 January 1944-1955.

56-13 1965, 1957, 1960.

Subseries VI.3: Audubon Park Natatorium, Inc.

56-14 n.d. 1928-1930, 1936, 1937, 1939-1944, 1946, 1948-1950, 1956, 1957.

See also Correspondence. Audubon Park Commission ... (56-7 to 56-13).

Subseries VI.4: New Orleans Zoological Society.

56-15 1929, 1938, 1940-1942.

See also Personnel Records. Miscellany ... (56-158); United States. Works Progress Administration ... (56-195); Whooping Crane File ... (56-220 to 56-240).

Series VII. Equipment Distribution Lists.

56-16 January 3-December 31, 1956.

Series VIII. Financial Records.

Subseries VIII.1: Audubon Park Auxiliary Association. Bank Records.

56-17 Deposit Slips, 1931-1935, 1938-1940.

56-18 Statement and Cancelled Checks, May 26, 1930-June 26, 1935, February 14, 1938-July 12, 1940.

56-80 Cash Book (1 bd. vol.), August 1, 1921-July 12, 1940.

56-19 Invoices (with Financial Statements, January 1940), n.d., 1931, 1932, 1934, 1938-1940.

Subseries VIII.2: Audubon Park Baseball League.

56-20 Financial Reports (with tax statements on admissions), 1943-1945.

Subseries VIII.3: Audubon Park Commission.

Accounts Payable Statements. See Financial Records. Audubon Park Commission. Financial Reports ... (56-43).

56-21 Audit Reports (monthly), March, April, June, December 1942; January-June, August, October, November 1943; November 1945; February, March, August 1946; February-May, July-December 1948.

Bank Records.

56-22 Check Stubs (with void checks, 1 bd. vol.), November 13, 1950-June 18, 1951.

Deposit Slips.

56-23 Payroll Account, January-December 1942.

56-24 (Regular Account), June 1930.

Receipts.

56-25 Miscellaneous, June 1930, April 1940.

56-26 Music Fund, February 1, 1940-August 1, 1942.

56-27 Reconciliation Statements (with cash tapes; monthly) March 31- November 30, 1944.

56-28 Resolution Forms, 1946, 1959.

Statements and Cancelled Checks.

56-29 Gasoline Ration Account (with ration deposit slips), September 30, 1943-August 13, 1945.

See also Financial Records. Audubon Park Commission. United States. Office of Price Administration. Summaries of Gasoline Coupons Reports ... (56-61).

56-30 Music Account, February, May, June, August 1942.

Payroll Account.

56-31 February 1942; October-November 1943; January-May 1944.

56-32 June-December 1944.

56-33 Regular Account (with deposit slips, January-December 1942, September 1943-January 1945.

56-34 Valentine Merz Legacy Account, February, June 1942.

Voucher Stubs.

56-35 Payroll Account, February 14, 1942-December 23, 1944.

[Regular Account].

56-36 September 1941-July 1942.

56-37 August-November 1942, September 1943-March 1944.

56-38 April-December 1944.

56-39 Bids/Contracts (with Inventories and related correspondence; of concession stands, baseball leagues and golf course), n.d., 1928, 1933, 1936-1940.

56-40 Budget Reports, 1940-1942.

See also Minutes. Audubon Park Commission ... (56-142 to 56-151).

Cash Books (24 bd. vols.).

56-81 July 23, (?)-September 29, (?).

56-82 April 1, 1926-August 13, 1927.

56-83 September 1, (1927)-December 31, 1929.

56-84 October 27, 1927-September 30, 1931.

56-85 February 27, 1928-December 31, 1930.

56-86 July 7, 1931-December 31, 1937.

56-87 January (1), 1933-September (30), 1935 (Valentine Merz Legacy Account, February-September 1935).

56-88 November 1934-October (1935). (Summary of invoices only).

56-89 January (4), 1935-March 30, 1943.

56-90 October (1), 1935-December 31, 1937 (Valentine Merz Legacy Account, October (1), 1935-December (31), 1936).

56-91 January (1), 1937-December 22, 1939 (Valentine Merz Legacy Account only).

56-92 January (1), 1938-October (31), 1940.

56-93 November 1, 1940-September 18, 1942.

56-94 January 2, 1941- August 31, 1945.

56-95 July 31, 1944-December 31, 1946.

56-96 November 9, 1944-March 31, 1947.

56-97 January 31, 1947-December 31, 1948.

56-98 April 1, 1947-November 30, 1949.

56-99 January 31, 1949-December 31, 1950.

56-100 December 15, 1949-February 28, 1953.

56-101 December 31, 1950-April 30, 1954.

56-102 March 16, 1953-February 29, 1956.

56-103 May 15, 1954-April 30, 1957.

56-104 March 5, 1956-May 30, 1959.

56-41 Daily Cash Summary Reports (with cash tapes and proof sheets), June 1953-January 1954.

56-42 Equipment Inventory Lists, 1939, 1940.

56-43 Feed Prices Reports, May 5, 1941- November 17, 1942.

56-44 Financial Reports (with Accounts Payable Sheets, working sheets and cash tapes), n.d., 1930, January 1940-February 1941, January, March-June 1942, January-December 1944.

56-45 Gasoline and Mileage Reports (for use of trucks; daily), January 1943-June 1944.

56-46 Income Cash Ledgers (of Music Fund), June 1939-February 1942.

Invoices (with cash tapes).

56-47 n.d., 1927, 1928, 1930, 1934, 1935, 1938. March 1942.

56-48 April-July 1942.

56-49 August-December 1942.

56-50 January 1943-April 1944.

56-51 May-August 1944.

56-52 September 1944-December 1945, 1949.

56-53 Employees Compensation Reports (alphabetical), 1946, 1947.

Payroll Records.

56-54 Employee Earning' Lists (weekly and bimonthly), 1956, 1957.

Ledgers (20 bd. vols.).

56-105 March 17, 1900-June 14, 1902.

56-106 June 28, 1902-December 21, 1906.

56-107 January 15, 1907-September 30, 1912.

56-108 October 31, 1912-October 31, 1919.

56-109 March 15, 1916-April 15, 1919.

56-110 October 31, 1923-April 30, 1927.

56-111 May 16, 1927-December 15, 1928.

56-112 December 31, 1928-November 30, 1930.

56-113 December 15, 1930-December 31, 1933.

56-114 January 15, 1934-June 30, 1937.

56-115 February 28, 1935-October 31, 1937.

56-116 October [1], 1940-December 31, 1942.

56-117 January 15, 1943-March 31, 1944.

56-118 August 15, 1947-October 13, 1952.

56-119 August 13, 1955-October 29,1958.

56-120 October 13, 1955-October 29, 1958.

56-121 October 20, 1955-December 6, 1956.

56-122 December 13, 1956-February 27, 1958.

56-123 March 6, 1958-December 25, 1958.

56-124 November 13, 1958-December 29, 1958.

Receipt Books (5 vols.).

56-55 February 27-May 21, 1953.

56-56 May 21-August 25, 1953.

56-57 August 26-December 8, 1953.

56-58 December 8, 1953-March 22, 1954.

56-59 November 2, 1954-March 4, 1955.

56-60 Receipts (loose; relating to delivery of Granite Rock by the City Engineer's Office to Audubon Park), February 17-April 19, 1943.

56-61 Trial Balance Sheets, January 1940-December 1941, June-December 1953.

56-62 United States. Office of Price Administration. Summaries of Gasoline Coupons Reports (with blank forms), January 1, 1941-December 29, 1943.

See also Financial Records. Audubon Commission. Bank Records. Statement and Cancelled Checks. Gasoline Ration Account... (56-28).

56-63 United States. Works Progress Administration. Civil Works Project. Labor and Building Costs (item 1, 2, 3,), 1933.

See also United States. Work Progress Administration ... (56-195 to 56-218).

Subseries VIII.4: Audubon Park Country Fair and Livestock Show.

56-125 Cash Book (1 bd. vol.), July 10, 1957-June 27, 1958.

Subseries VIII.5: Audubon Park Natatorium, Inc.

Bank Records.

56-64 Check Stubs, July 23, 1943-June 10, 1944.

56-65 Deposit Slips (of regular and payroll accounts), February-April 1942, January 10-December 30, 1944.

56-66 Receipts (miscellaneous), August-November 1942, July-November 1943, March 1944.

Reconciliation Statements. See Financial Records. Audubon Park Natatorium, Inc. Bank Records. Statements and Cancelled Checks. Regular Account ... (56-68).

Statements and Cancelled Checks.

Payroll Account, June-December, 1943, January-April 1944.

Regular Account (with reconciliation statements), December 1943-December 1944.

Cash Journals (7 bd. vols.).

56-126 January 1, 1938-May 31, 1941.

56-127 February 1, 1942-December 31, 1946.

56-128 August 1, 1944-December 31, 1952.

56-129 January 2, 1945-December 31, 1954.

56-130 January 31, 1947-March 31, 1951.

56-131 April 16, 1951-May 31, 1960.

56-132 January 10, 1955-May 30, 1959.

56-69 Contribution Sheets (to Audubon Park Natatorium Fund), June-July 1926.

56-70 Equipment Inventory Lists (with manager's report, 1929), 1929, 1930.

56-71 Financial Reports (with reports on the Tennis Club, 1956, 1957), 1936-1944, 1956, 1957.

56-72 Invoices, 1928, 1929, 1939-1945.

Payroll Records.

56-73 Employees' Compensation Reports (alphabetical), 1946, 1947.

56-74 Employee Earnings Lists (weekly and bi-monthly), 1956, 1957.

Ledgers (6 bd. vols.).

56-133 May 15, 1933-December 31, 1936.

56-134 January 15, 1937-December 31, 1939.

56-135 June 19, 1952-March 27, 1958.

56-136 December 29, 1953-January 29, 1957.

56-137 February 13, 1957-December 29, 1958.

56-138 April 3, 1958-December 25, 1958.

Trial Balance Sheets, January 1940-December 1941, November 1943, January-August 1944, June-December 1953.

Subseries VIII.6: Louisiana State Parks Association.

Bank Records.

Statements and Cancelled Checks. See Correspondence. Audubon Park Commission, May 1940 ... (56-9).

56-139 Cash Book (1 bd. vol.; with minutes of monthly and annual meetings), October 19, 1922-August 11, 1931.

56-76 Receipts, n.d.

Subseries VIII.7: Miscellany.

Includes cash tapes, forms, etc.

56-77 n.d., 1941, 1945.

Subseries VIII.8: New Orleans Zoological Society.

56-78 Bank Records.

Deposit Slips. March 1942.

Cash Books (2 bd. vols).

56-140 April 1925-December 1941.

56-141 September 1925-December 1934.

56-79 Dues Collections Sheets, April 3, 1933-June 14, 1934.

See also Correspondence. Audubon Park Commission ... (56-7 to 56-13).

Insurance Records. See Personnel Records. Insurance Records ... (56-157 to 56-159).

Louisiana State Parks Association. See Charter ... (56-3); Correspondence. Audubon Park Commission ... (56-7 to 56-13); Financial Records. Louisiana State Parks Association... (56-76, 56-139).

Series IX. Minutes

Subseries IX.1: Audubon Park Commission.

Includes minutes of special and regular meetings, committee meetings and reports, lists of Commissioners, Bank Records, amendments, annual reports, financial statements, Treasurer's reports, and clippings; loose and 9 bd. vols.).

56-142 n.d., 1908, 1928, 1932-1935, 1937, 1940-1945, 1955-1960 (loose only; also includes blank pages No. 201-300).

56-143 1886-1894.

56-144 1894-1899.

56-145 1899-1905.

56-146 1899-1909 (Grounds and Improvements Committee only).

56-148 1903, 1911-1922.

56-147 1922-1926.

56-149 1927-1933.

56-150 1933-1941.

56-151 1941-1945.

Note: Commission Minutes for period 1945-1955 are at Louisiana Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals (in evidence at vault).

Subseries IX.2: Audubon Park Natatorium, Inc. (loose and 1 bd. vol.).

56-152 n.d., 1928, 1941, 1943, 1944, 1949 (loose).

56-153 1927-1958 (with charter, lease, and list of stockholders).

Subseries IX.3: New Orleans Zoological Society (2 bd. vols.).

56-154 April 1939-May 1941 (with reports).

56-155 July 1941-September 1942 (with charter, 1919).

See also Charters ... (56-3).

Series X. Miscellany.

Includes government publications, price lists, advertisements, and related miscellany.

56-156 n.d., 1901, 1925, 1937-1941.

New Orleans Zoological Society.

Charters. See Charters ... (56-3).

Correspondence (incoming/outgoing). See correspondence ... (56-15).

Financial Records. See Financial Records ... (56-78, 56-79, 56-140, 56-141).

Payroll Records. See Financial Records ... (56-52, 56-53, 56-105, to 56-124; 56-73, 56-133 to 56-138); Minutes ...(56-154, 56-155).

Series XI. Personnel Records.

Insurance Records (of the Audubon Park Commission and Natatorium Inc.).

56-157 Invoices (Hospital Service Association of New Orleans), n.d., December 15, 1940-October 15, 1945.

56-158 Miscellany (invoices, policies, claims with related correspondence), 1936, 1937, 1939-1944, 1956. For additional correspondence, see Correspondence ... (56-7 to 56-13).

56-159 Public Accidents Reports, 1941, 1943, 1944.

Lists of Employees.

56-160 Audubon Park Commission, 1939.

56-161 Audubon Park Natatorium, Inc., 1943.

56-162 Miscellany, n.d.

New Orleans. Department of City Civil Service.

56-163 Classification Questionnaires, 1942, 1943.

56-164 Personnel Requisitions and Reports of Appointments (Audubon Park Commission And Natatorium, Inc.; chronological by agency transaction number), 1957.

Time Cards (with tabulation sheets, cash tapes; weekly, bi-monthly).

Audubon Park Commission.

56-165 January - June 15, 1944.

56-166 June 16 - December 29, 1944.

56-167 July 29 - October 3, 1955.

56-168 September 29 - December 8, 1955.

56-169 November 29 - February 27, 1956.

56-170 February 17 - April 19, 1956.

56-171 April 14 - June 14, 1956.

56-172 June 15 - June 28, 1956.

56-173 Audubon Park Natatorium, Inc., July 1955.

Series XII. Photographs.

56-174 With negatives and plates. n.d., [1935], 1941-1944, 1946, 1947, 1952, 1955, 1957, [1958], 1960.

See also United States. Works Progress Administration ... (56-199).

Series XIII. Plans.

56-0

1 Administration Building

Includes unidentified plans, fragments

Artist’s rendering (damaged)

Blueprints 1-12, E1, F1, F2

2 Bandstand

General Plan blueprint

Seating Plan for Bandstand blueprint (3 copies)

Newman Memorial Bandstand (#207) blueprint (2 copies)

Newman Memorial Bandstand millwork blueprint (4 copies)

“Instructions for Erecting L & B Century Greenhouses”

Bandstand Plaza blueprint

Color rendering (damaged, in pieces)

3 Bridge

Concrete Bridge blueprint (3 copies)

Foot Bridge blueprint (3 copies)

Foot Bridge line drawing

Concrete Bridge line drawing)

Hurst St. Bridge line drawing (sheets 1 [on linen] and 2)

4 Drainage/Plumbing

Sewerage & Water Board Drawing #4713 (blueline)

Folder containing fragments

“Yeomans Portable Drainage Pump,” “Drain-Dri by Yeomans,” and attached correspondence

West Ditch blueprint (fragments, in envelope)

Drinking Fountain Details blueprint

10’ Servitude . . . for Installing Sewers to Serve Crippled Children’s Hospital blueline

Drainage of Engineering Department blueline with copy

Cross section, River Drive – Magazine St. to Pony Ring blueline with copy

Proposed & Existing 21’ Drain for New Gate & Weir Dam blueline (2 copies)

Proposed Dam and Gate Chamber (2 copies)

Drainage Ditches blueline (2 copies)

Drain Pipes blueline (2 copies)

[Untitled drainage plan] drawing

Drainage Plan sheet no. 2 drawing

Drainage Plan sheet no. 1 drawing and blueprints (2 copies)

Drainage Plan sheet no. 2 blueprint

[Drainage Plan of St. Charles Avenue, sheet no. 3] blueprint (2 copies)

Drinking Fountain blueprint

Water Mains & Smaller Water Pipes in Audubon Park blueprint (2 copies)

Walnut & Prytania to Pony Ring Survey & Obstructions line drawing (mirror image) and blueline

Walnut & Prytania to Pony Ring Existing & Proposed S.S.D. blueline (5 copies and drawing [mirror image])

Audubon Park S.S.D. Walnut St. to Pony Ring Profile blueline and drawing (mirror image)

Magazine St., Walnut St. to Calhoun St. thru Audubon Park, Proposed and Existing S.S.D. blueline

Proposed Sub-surface Drainage blueprint

Sub Surface Drainage blueline (3 copies)

Proposed Sub-surface Drainage blueprint and blueline (2 copies)

Storm Drain for Open Ditch West of Refectory blueprint

Nursery Water Sprinkler Lines blueprint (3 copies), line drawing

Proposed Pumping Plan for Monkey Island line drawing

Camp St. at Audubon Park Special Drain Manhole blueline and drawing (mirror image)

Location Plan for Drains drawing (damaged)

5 Greenhouse

Show House and Greenhouse drawings 1-11, MD, V-1, L-328-V, L-437-V, L424-V, L542-V, L476-V (accompanied by letter from E. F. Cummings to George Douglas, April 26, 1960)

Potting Shed & Boiler House blueline

Greenhouse Plan at End of Building blueprint

Proposed New Addition to Greenhouse blueprint

Foundation Plan for Greenhouse blueprint (6 copies)

Potting House blueprint

Detail of Eaves, End-wall & Etc. blueprint (2 copies)

Greenhouse Plan at End of Building blueprint (2 copies)

Forming Details line drawing

Foundation Plan for Greenhouse line drawing and blueprint

Foundation Plan for Greenhouse line drawing

Potting Shed & Boiler House (2 copies)

Potting House blueprint

Potting House blueprint and line drawing

Detail of Roof Construction, Ventilating, Sash, Etc. blueprint (2 copies) and line drawing

6 Landscaping/Lighting

Landscape Addition blueline

Plan Showing Proposed Drives Audubon Park blueprint (damaged)

Rail Holder blueprint

Lighting for Audubon Park Zoo blueprint (2 copies

Audubon Park Court Lighting blueprint

Audubon Park Tennis Court Lighting blueprint

Lighting Layout for Tennis Court blueprint

Tennis Courts Lighting Layout blueprint

Audubon Park Tennis Court Lighting, Elevation of Typical Pole Line blueprint

Proposed Maze redline

Tentative Plan Memorial Esplanade blueprint

Lighting Service for Audubon Park and Buildings line drawing

Details of “Red Dog” Curb Installation line drawing

Typical “Red Dog” Quarter Mile Track drawing

[Track and Football Plans] blueline (2 copies)

Proposed Connection of Hurst St. with Roadway in Audubon Park blueprint and blueline

Plan Showing Proposed Drives blueprint (3 copies) and line drawing (all damaged)

Lighting for Outdoor Tennis blueprint (5 copies)

Landscaping Plan for Otter Pool line drawing; with invoice from Kraak Nursery

[Audubon Park Lagoon] landscape drawing

Audubon Park Landscape Addition blueline

Audubon Park Landscape Addition blueline (damaged)

[Artist’s Conception of Audubon Park Flower Clock] landscape drawing

Letter Details for Audubon Park Flower Clock line drawing

Flower Clock blueline (3 copies, one with ink revisions)

Flower Beds in Vicinity of Aquarium blueline

Cyclone Fence Details blueprint

Baseball Grandstand line drawing

Floodlights for Baseball Diamond line drawing and blueprint (3 copies)

Specifications for Iron Work typescript

7 Miscellaneous

Bicycle Room blueprint

Proposed development for New Orleans Bridle Club landscape drawing (copy)

Buggy Shed blueprint

Proposed Golf Club Left Side Elevation line drawing

Proposed Golf Club Right Side Elevation line drawing

Proposed Golf Club Floor Plan line drawing

Proposed Golf Club Roof Plan line drawing

Estimated Cost of Bicycle Room manuscript

Baseball Grandstand line drawing

Baseball Grandstand blueprint (3 copies) and line drawing

8 Miscellaneous

Merz Memorial Plot blueprint (damaged)

Memorial for Norman Mayer blueprint

Gumbel Memorial Fountain and Surroundings blueprint

Survey for Crippled Children’s Hospital line drawing

Mengle Property Addition blueprint (2 copies) and line drawing

Proposed Baseball Grandstand line drawing

Wire Cages for Children’s Mesa, San Diego Zoological Society blueprint; with envelope

Perrier St. Weir Box line drawing (damaged) and blueprint

Sidewalks line drawing

Louisiana Industries Inc. Nashville Wharf Plant Layout blueline

Base Line Showing Upper Property Line of Audubon Park blueline

Public Bent R.R. Commission blueprint (damaged; in 2 pieces)

Sidewalks blueprint (3 copies)

9 Mississippi River Batture

Specifications typescript

Proposed Improvements to Audubon Park blueprint

Additional blueprints, bluelines, line drawings, typescripts: 91 items

10-11 Natatorium

Blueprints, line drawings: 7 items

12 Olmsted Brothers

General Plan for Audubon Park blueprint (2 copies)

Additional blueprints, bluelines, line drawings: 9 items

Shelters

13 Blueprints and line drawings: 21 items

14 Blueprints and line drawings: 32 items

15 Blueprints: 23 items

16 Skating Rink

“Discriptive [!] Specifications for Proposed Ice Skating Rink” (4 copies)

17-18 Topographical and General plans

19-27 Zoo

Alligator Pool plans

Barn

20 Blueprints and bluelines: 11 items

21 Blueprints, etc.: 36 items

22 Bear Cage

Blueprints: 2 items

Bird Cage

22 Blueprints: 19 items

23 “Specifications for a Flying Bird Cage for Audubon Park” (7 copies); with letter from Crowell Construction Co. to Audubon Park Commission, May 31, 1949, returning “plans and specifications for the flying bird cage project”

Blueprints, etc.: 48 items

24 [Elephant and Lion House, Entrance to Zoo, General Layout of Zoo plans borrowed previously]

25 Flamingo House

Blueprints: 4 items

Giraffe House

Horned Animals (Small) and Deer Enclosure

Blueprints: 10 items

26 Horned Animals (Large) Enclosure

Blueprints:

Horticultural Hall

Blueprints: 1 item

Lion House

Blueprints: 16 items

Monkey House

Blueprints: 5 items

Rabbit House

Blueprints: 1 item

Raccoon Cage

Blueprints: 1 item

27 Small Animals - Peccaries

Blueprints: 6 items

Snake House

Blueprints: 2 items

Stork and Crane House

Blueprints: 7 items

Swan Pool

Blueprints: 1 item

Tortoise House

Blueprints: 1 item

Water Buffalo Enclosure

Blueprints: 1 item

Series XIV. Scrapbooks (15 vols.)

56-176 August 18, 1896-January 16, 1916.

56-177 July 24, 1930-September 19, 1932; February 28, 1933.

56-178 May 7, 1934-August 13, 1935.

56-179 May 18, 1941-April 18, 1942.

56-180 November 25, 1941-November 25, 1943.

56-181 December 9, 1943-October 17, 1945.

56-182 November 1, 1945-February 9, 1947.

56-183 July 3, 1947-May 7, 1949.

56-184 May 6, 1949-November 12, 1950.

56-185 March 8, 1950-May 31, 1952.

56-186 May 1952-September 20, 1953.

56-187 March 6, 1953; December 1955-July 12, 1957.

56-188 October 25, 1953-December 29, 1955.

56-189 May 25, 1957-September 8, 1958.

56-190 September 17, 1958-April 10, 1961.

Series XV. Sketchbook.

56-191 Olmsted Brothers. Sketches, Audubon Park, New Orleans. 1 bd. vol., Brookline, Massachusetts, December 13, 1897.

Series XVI. Tax Records.

56-192 Miscellany (blank forms and instruction sheets), n.d. 1942, 1943.

56-193 Statements of Income Tax Withheld, 1943, 1944.

See also Financial Records. Audubon Park Baseball League ... (56-20).

United States. Office of Price Administration. Summaries of Gasoline Coupons Reports. See Financial Records. Audubon Park Commission ... (56-61).

Series XVII. United States. War Production Board. Application for Priority Assistance.

56-194 Application for Audubon Park Natatorium, Inc.), 1943.

Series VIII. United States. Works Progress Administration File.

Consists of proposals, plans, computations, estimates, quotations, bids, government forms and applications, correspondence, and related miscellany for various construction projects initiated under sponsorship of the Federal Emergency Relief Administration, Civil Works Administration, State Emergency Relief Administration, and Works Progress Administration), 1933-1935, 1938, 1939. Note: These papers were found together in a largely disorganized condition; where an original order could be discerned it was retained; where no order could be determined arrangement was made by type of document or subject.

56-195 Correspondence. December 5, 1933-May 6, 1935.

Note: Correspondence attached to material found in original order was not disturbed; for same see other series.

56-196 Envelopes and Folders (storage containers in which much of the Work Progress Administration File was found; the envelopes and folders in this series had content notation which did not match contents), n.d.

Labor and Material Estimates (detailing type, quantity, and cost of material and labor for proposed construction projects; included are working notes, material quotation and bids, government forms and application, maps and plans, and a few pieces of related correspondence and miscellany; arrangement by groups in apparent original order), n.d., 1933-1935.

56-202 Group 1, n.d.

56-203 Group 2, n.d.

56-204 Group 3, n.d., but includes letter dated June 19, 1935.

56-205 Group 4, December 14, 15, 1933.

56-206,

56-207 Group 5, various dates 1933, 1934.

56-208 Group 6, various dates 1933, 1934.

56-209 Group 7, n.d.

56-210 Group 8, April 16, 17, 1935.

56-211 Group 9, n.d.

56-212 Group 10, various dates 1934.

56-213 Group 11, various dates February, March 1934.

56-214 Group 12, various dates 1933-1935.

56-215 Group 13, n.d., but includes one item dated November 19, 1934.

56-216,

56-217 Group 14, various dates 1938, 1939.

56-197 Lists of Suggested Projects, various dates 1934, 1935.

56-198 Miscellany (memoranda; notes; reports on status of drawings, applications and work; receipts; government forms and pamphlets; sketch of construction detail), various dates 1933-1935.

56-218 Order Books and Forms (covering material and equipment requisitions). December 19, 1933-January 26, 1934; February 4, 1935-July 9, 1936.

56-199 Photograph (unidentified print of building), ca. 1930.

56-200 Topographical File (covering general grading and lagoon construction), various dates 1933, 1934.

Labor Journal (daily record of labor utilized on specific grading projects; includes miscellaneous related information). December 11, 1933-January 31, 1934, February 2, 1934.

Maps, Diagrams, Notebooks, various dates 1933.

Note: for related material see Labor and Material Estimates. ... Group 10 ... 1934 (56-212).

56-201 Work Accomplished Memorandum (letter of transmittal with memorandum detailing work accomplished; includes material quotation and bids, plans material and labor records, and government application), July 17, 1935.

56-219 Visitor's Register (to Horticultural Hall, Audubon Park, New Orleans, 1 bd. vol.), April 5, 1898-May 16, 1902.

Whooping Crane File (consisting of photographs, correspondence, clippings, invoices, press releases, plans, pamphlets, periodicals, programs related to the whooping crane activities of the park).

56-220 1941-April 1957.

56-221 May 1957-December 1958.

56-222 January 1959-December 1961.

56-223 January 1962-May 1965.

56-224 June 1965-1973.

Index Terms

Audubon Park (New Orleans, La.)

Audubon Park Commission

Parks—Louisiana—New Orleans

MSS 056 - Audubon Park Commission Collection: Inventory