DART & DART COLLECTION
Earl K. Long Library
University of New Orleans
Size: ca. 6½ linear feet
Geographic locations: Ireland; Richland Parish; St. Martin Parish; Harvey and New Orleans, Louisiana
Inclusive dates: n.d., 1848 (1848 - 1947) 1975
Summary: Legal records of Dart & Dart, New Orleans, La., consisting of legal files for three separate clients: Interstate Natural Gas Company, Grace King and Family, and Joseph Rathborne and family. Included are briefs, wills, correspondence, petitions, property inventories, judgments, transcripts.
Related collections: Dart & Dart and Prior Firms Collection (Mss 140); Dart & Dart and Prior Firms Collection, Addendum 1 (Mss 150); Dart & Dart and Prior Firms Collection, Addendum 2; (Mss 256); Henry P. Dart, Jr. Diary (Mss 327)
Source: Gift, October 1975
Access: No restrictions
Copyright: Physical rights, copyright, and literary property rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.
Citation: Dart & Dart Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
The Interstate Natural Gas Company file concerns a jurisdictional dispute between the Interstate Natural Gas Company and the Louisiana Public Services Commission that occurred from 1937 to 1947.
Grace King and family file concerns the succession of the W. W. King, family-owned lands, and the succession of Grace King. Grace King (1851 - 1932) was a prominent author whose works include New Orleans: The Place and the People (1895), Creole Families of New Orleans (1921), and Memories of a Southern Woman of Letters (1932).
Joseph Rathborne and family file concerns the succession of Joseph Rathborne. Joseph Rathborne (ca. 1845 - 1923), an Irish immigrant, became a successful American businessman. Among his holdings were a lumber business in Harvey, Louisiana, and lands in Ireland.
List of Series
Series I. Legal Files on services for Interstate Natural Gas Company
Series II. Legal files on services for Grace King and family
Series III. Legal files on services for Joseph Rathborne estate and family
Series I. Legal Files on services for Interstate Natural Gas Company. n.d., 1926 - 1947. (Original order maintained).
61-6 Consolidated Natural Gas Company. Booklet and financial statements. November 1, 1943, 1943, and 1944.
61-1 Interstate Natural Gas Company v. Federal Power Commission. No. 733 U.S. Supreme Court (October Term 1946) No. 10701 U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals 5th Circuit. Briefs for petitioner, respondent, and amica curiae. Also includes transcript with cover correspondence. May 2, 1947.
61-3 Interstate Natural Gas Company v. Federal Power Commission. No. 733 U.S. Supreme Court (October Term 1946). Transcript of Record, vols. 1 and 2. Filed November 30, 1946.
61-4 Interstate Natural Gas Company v. Louisiana Public Service Commission. Brief filed in U.S. District Court, Civil Action file No. 38. n.d.
61-10 Interstate Natural Gas Company v. Louisiana Public Service Commission. Briefs filed in Civil Action No. 38 in U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana, action for declaratory judgment, 1939.
61-2 Interstate Natural Gas Company v. Louisiana Public Service Commission. Briefs filed in hearing before Federal Power Commission, briefs filed in U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals 5th Circuit, and miscellaneous briefs. August 17, 1942, May, 1946.
61-5 Interstate Natural Gas Company v. Louisiana Public Service Commission. Includes complaint, pleas and answers, expense records, correspondence, publications. 1936 (1939 - 1945) 1945.
61-7 Interstate Natural Gas Company v. Louisiana Public Service Commission. Includes Green's brief in Mississippi tax cases with supporting precedents, supplemental memorandum brief for complainant and supporting correspondence and memoranda, supplemental memorandum brief for defendants in Mississippi Power and Light Co. v. City of Jackson, and briefs. n.d., December 31, 1934, May 27, 1939, and November 9, 1939.
61-8 Interstate Natural Gas Company v. Louisiana Public Service Commission. Includes pleadings; affidavits; orders; United Gas case miscellany; briefs; correspondence; contracts; petitions, answers, and supporting documents; Opinion of Three Judge Court; opinions and orders of Louisiana Public Service Commission; miscellany. 1927 (1938 - 1942) 1942.
61-9 Louisiana Public Service Commission v. Interstate Natural Gas Company before Federal Power Commission. Briefs, documents interpreting utility regulation, convention program and memorabilia, rules governing procedure of Federal Power Commission. n.d., April 1, 1926 - August 31, 1942.
Series II. Legal files on services for Grace King and family. n.d., 1848 (1848 - 1941) 1975.
61-14 Correspondence with the Macmillan Company. Also includes statements and contracts (1894 - 1931). n.d., 1894 (1923 - 1932) 1975.
61-11 Documents and correspondence re Boeuf Lands title, Richland Parish Louisiana. Includes maps, property tax receipts (December 10, 1883 - December 21, 1909), military land warrants, insurance policy, and miscellany. n.d., 1848 (1848 - 1914) 1956.
61-12 Documents and correspondence re Ideal Land Improvement Company, St. Martin Parish, Louisiana. Includes property descriptions, minutes, mineral leases, certificate of dissolution, and miscellany. n.d., August 17, 1889, (1905 - 1941) 1962. See also 61-20, ledger.
61-15 Documents and correspondence re succession of Grace King. Includes will, property inventories, petitions and judgments, tax receipts (1890 - 1904) and miscellany. n.d., 1890 (1927 - 1941), October 8, 1954.
61-13 Documents and correspondence re succession dispute of William W. King estate. Includes statement of facts, testimony, memorandum, petitions. n.d., August 13, 1888, January, 1912 - February 16, 1932.
61-20 Ledger book of Ideal Land Company with inserts that include extracts of minutes, statements, receipts, correspondence, and contract. January, 1913 - February 15, 1930.
Series III. Legal files on services for Joseph Rathborne estate and family. n.d., 1912 (1912 - 1935) 1946.
61-18 Correspondence re Livingston Parish Road District #3. Also includes newspapers, list of voters, and property assessments, bill of complaint, and miscellany. n.d., 1919 (1922 - 1923) 1923.
61-17 Documents and correspondence re J. Cornelius Rathborne et al. v. John Ehret, Mayor. Concerns dispute over incorporation of Harvey into City of Gretna. Includes transcript of trial, pledge, lawyers' notes, and miscellany. n.d., 1913 (1913 - 1915) 1946.
61-19 Documents and correspondence re succession of Joseph Rathborne. Includes certified copies of record of 28th Judicial District Court (petitions, orders, oaths, inventories). n.d., August 24, 1923 - June 5, 1933. Also includes wills, codicils, statements, and miscellany. n.d., 1914 (1914 - 1928) 1945.
61-16 Documents and correspondence re succession of Joseph Rathborne, Irish estate. Includes power of attorney, inventory, account sheets, and miscellany. n.d., November 6, 1912, (1923 - 1935) 1935.
Dart & Dart (Law firm : New Orleans, La.)
Federal Power Commission
Interstate Natural Gas Company
King, Grace Elizabeth
Louisiana Public Services Commission