New Orleans Typographical Union No. 17 COLLECTION
Earl K. Long Library
University of New Orleans
Size: 64 items, including 20 bound volumes
locations: New Orleans, La.
Summary: Bank deposit books; constitution, bylaws, and minutes; convention proceedings; union contracts; union histories; ledger book; publications; miscellaneous items.
collections: New Orleans Typographical Union No. 17 Collection (Mss 49)
Source: Gift, 1977
Access: No restrictions
Copyright: Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.
Citation: New Orleans Typographical Union No. 17 Collection, Addendum 1, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
On April 25, 1852, 115 representatives of fifteen New Orleans printing offices assembled at Commercial Exchange Hall “to consider “such measures as would promote the interests and general welfare of the printers of the city of New Orleans.” A constitution for the fledgling organization was drafted quickly, and on May 2, 1852, the New Orleans Typographical Union was launched. Its purposes were “the maintenance of a fair rate of wages, the encouragement of good workmen, the relief of members, and to use every means which may tend to the elevation of Printers in the social scale of life.” This statement of purpose was later amended to read, “The objects of this Union shall be the maintenance of a fair rate of wages; the encouragement of a thorough apprenticeship system as the best means of making good workmen; the relief and burial of members, and the elevation of members of the craft in the social scale of life.” Gerard Stith (d. 1880), then foreman of the composing room of the New Orleans Daily Picayune and later mayor of New Orleans, served as the union's first president. The organization was incorporated as on May 30, 1853.
Over the years, the New Orleans Typographical Union withstood the ravages of yellow fever, the vagaries of war and politics, the local introduction of the linotype machine in 1891, and other obstacles as it strove to ensure equitable wages and fair treatment for its members. The oldest trade union in New Orleans, it is affiliated with the International Typographical Union, the Louisiana AFL-CIO, and the Greater New Orleans AFL-CIO council.
Conrad, Glenn R., ed. A Dictionary of Louisiana Biography (2 vols.; [s.l.]: Louisiana Historical Association in cooperation with the Center for Louisiana Studies, University of Southwestern Louisiana, 1988), II: 771-772.
Heald, Thomas N. “History of New Orleans Typographical Union from May 2, 1852 to Jan. 1, 1901” (unpublished manuscript), 1901 (quotations).
List of Series
II. Apprentice Records
III. General Correspondence
IV. Contracts and Related Correspondence
VI. Old Age and Death Benefits
VIII. Financial Records
Series I. Publications
96-1 Constitution, Bylaws, General Laws and Convention Laws of the International Typographical Union and the Union Printers Home. Effective January 1, 1976. Colorado Springs, Colo.: International Typographical Union, 1976.
Constitution, Bylaws, and General Rules of New Orleans Typographical Union No. 17. New Orleans: New Orleans Typographical Union No. 17, 1961.
Book and Job Scale Contract between Detroit Typographical Union No. 18 and Closed Shop Employers of the Graphic Arts Association of Michigan, Inc., May 16, 1945-May 15, 1946. [Detroit, Mich.: Detroit Typographical Union No. 18, 1945].
96-2 Lipset, Seymour Martin, Martin Trow, and James Coleman. Union Democracy: The Inside Politics of the International Typographical Union. Glencoe, Ill.: Free Press, 1956.
96-42 The Signal 3.13 (April 2, 1942); miscellaneous newsclippings pertaining to the press.
Series II. Apprentice Records
Series III. General Correspondence
96-4 September 1925 - February 1939
96-5 September 1940 - November 1944
96-6 February 1945 - December 1945
96-7 January 1946 - February 1946
96-8 March 1946 - June 1946
96-9 July 1946 - December 1946
96-10 February 1947 - December 1947
96-11 January 1948 - December 1949
96-12 January 1950 - February 1959
96-13 January 1960 - July 1968; June 22, 1970
96-14 Undated correspondence
Series IV. Contracts and Related Correspondence
96-24 Blank contracts
Series V. Miscellaneous
96-15 Sample certificates, tests, enrollment forms, and membership applications, [19--]
96-25 Miscellaneous lists of members and their positions, prospective members, and chapel priority lists, 1958-1967
96-26 Correspondence to and from Joseph A. Saltarrelli as president of New Orleans Typographical Union No. 17 for sixteen years preceding his death in 1968; miscellaneous sample copies of publications and forms, 1959-1967
National Convention reports
96-36 Reports of local delegates to national conventions of the International Typographical Union, 1941-1955
96-43 Materials pertaining to visits of Charles Franz Woerler, general secretary of the International Graphical Federation, Bern, Switzerland; includes dossier and photograph, 1962
96-44 Includes photocopies of two petitions and an invitation to a spaghetti dinner sponsored by the Item-Tribune composing room, and a flyer pertaining to collective bargaining, 1933-1940.
Series VI. Old Age and Death Benefits
Tomb register, 1852-1943
96-28 Names of persons buried in the organization's tomb; includes names of Tomb Committee members, 1904-1913, 1934-1935
Old age pension roll
96-29 January 11, 1936 - August 19, 1939
Notice of death and application for mortuary benefit
96-30 June 1, 1949 - August 1, 1955
Mortuary benefits and related correspondence
96-31 1924-1928; March 1960 - May 1971
Series VII. Labor
96-32 E. P. Rivas, Inc., Appellant, versus New Orleans Typographical Union No. 17, Appellee: Appeal from the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana; Supplemental Brief for New Orleans Typographical Union No. 17. Docket No. 21,113. [New Orleans: s.n., 1965].
96-33 New Orleans Typographical Union No. 17, Petitioner, versus National Labor Relations Board, Respondent: Petition for Review of an Order of the National Labor Relations Board, Sitting in Washington. D. C. (Louisiana Case); Joint Appendix. Docket No. 22,881. [New Orleans]: Sirge-Links Southern Printing Co., .
U.S. Department of Labor Publications and Forms
96-34 An Act to provide for the reporting and disclosure of certain financial transactions and administrative practices of labor organizations and employers, to prevent abuses in the administration of trusteeships by labor organizations, to provide standards with respect to the election of officers of labor organizations, and for other purposes. [Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1959]. (2 copies)
“Labor Organization Financial Report.” Reports by New Orleans Typographical Union No. 17.
Fiscal year ending May 10, 1961
Fiscal year ending May 10, 1960
“Labor Organization Information Report.” Reports by New Orleans Typographical Union No. 17.
Fiscal year ending May 10, 1960. (2 copies)
Rough draft, [19--].
“Amendments to Labor Organization Information Report, Form LM-1.” Report by New Orleans Typographical Union No. 17.
Carbon and rough draft, September 30, 1961.
96-34 “Labor Organization Annual Report.” Reports by New Orleans Typographical Union No. 17.
May 11, 1961 - May 10, 1962
May 11, 1963 - May 10, 1964
May 11, 1966 - May 10, 1967
Related notes and correspondence
May 11, 1967 - May 10, 1968
Constitution, By-Laws, General Laws of New Orleans Typographical Union Number 17. [New Orleans: s.n.], 1951.
Constitution, Bylaws, General Laws and Convention Laws of the International Typographical Union and the Union Printers Home. Effective January 1, 1959. Colorado Springs, Colo.: International Typographical Union, 1959.
Labor Organization Annual Report: Forms & Instructions. [Washington]: U.S. Department of Labor, 1962.
“Labor Organization Information Reporting.” [Washington]: U.S. Department of Labor, 1959.
Affidavits for collective bargaining; strike-breaking activities
96-35 August 1934 - September 1935
96-37 Job protection laws, 1960-1961
96-38 Correspondence, newsclippings, flyers, 1965
96-39 Clarion-Herald, January 1963 - December 1968
96-40 Hauser Printing Co., 1965-1967
96-41 Standard Printing Co., March 14, 1957 - March 25, 1957
96-45 Ralph E. Scholl, 1941
96-46 Edward L. Jauchler, 1941
96-47 George L. Rodemann, 1941
96-48 Roy L. Leonard, 1942
96-49 Jesse W. Embrey, 1953-1954
96-50 Joseph E. Johnson, 1957-1960
Cases brought before National Labor Relations Board
96-51 Official Report of the Proceedings before the National Labor Relations Board . . . in the Matter of Franklin Printing Company, Inc. and Amalgamated Lithographers of America, Local #53, Ind., March 8, 1960. Washington: C. S. A. Reporting Corporation, .
96-52 Correspondence, petitions, and memoranda pertaining to Franklin Printing Company, Inc. and Amalgamated Lithographers of America, Local #53, Ind.
Series VIII. Financial Records
96-53 Ledger of receipts and expenditures, 1939-1940
96-54 Year Book Committee ledger of receipts and expenditures, 1939-1940
Series IX. Minutes
96-55 Minute Book, April 18, 1924 - December 20, 1940
96-56 Minute Book, January 17, 1941 - December 21, 1953
96-57 Minute Book, January 1954 - December 1968
96-58 Minute Book, January 1969 - May 1976
96-59 Minutes (unbound), January 1946 - March 1946; April 1967
New Orleans Typographical Union No. 17