MSS 121 - Sarah Towles Reed Collection: Inventory

Sarah Towles Reed COLLECTION

(Mss 121)

Inventory

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

 

Summary

 

 

Size:                           112 linear feet

 

Geographic

locations:                 Weyanoke, West Feliciana Parish, La.; New Orleans, La.

 

Inclusive dates:      1834-1979

 

Bulk dates:               1865-1979

 

 

Summary:                 Papers of Sarah Towles Reed and records of the New Orleans Public School Teachers Association (NOPSTA), later called the New Orleans Classroom Teachers Federation, a teachers' union in New Orleans.  Included are family and personal correspondence, publications, teaching materials, West Feliciana Parish materials, genealogical and historical research notes concerning West Feliciana Parish; photo­graphs, and miscellany.  Also included are union legislative materials, correspondence, agenda, constitutions, publications, files, and Orleans Parish School Board documents collected and maintained by the union.

 

Related

collections:              Orleans Parish School Board Collection (Mss 147)

 

Source:                     Gift, 1979

 

Access:                     No restrictions

 

Copyright:                Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.

 

Citation:                    Sarah Towles Reed Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

 

Biographical Note

 

            Sarah Towles Reed was born March 8, 1882, at Ouida Plantation near St. Francis­ville, West Feliciana Parish, Louisiana.  She moved to New Orleans in 1895, where she received a bachelor's degree from Newcomb College in 1904 and a master's degree from Tulane University in 1906.  Mrs. Reed resided in New Orleans until her death on May 8, 1978, except during a brief period of teaching at Belhaven College, Jackson, Mississippi and a summer of war work in 1918 in Washington, D.C.  Despite her residence in New Orleans, Mrs. Reed still retained close ties with West Feliciana Parish and the family plantation at Weyanoke.  Between 1918 and 1921 she married Eckland E. Reed but kept the union a secret because teachers who married could not keep their teaching positions.  Eckland E. Reed died in an automobile accident in 1921.

            In 1925 Sarah Reed received a bachelor of laws degree from Loyola University of the South and was admitted to the bar.  In the 1920s she began her teaching career in the New Orleans public schools, first at Sophie B. Wright High School then at Warren Easton High School.  She transferred to Alcee Fortier High School in 1932.  There she taught civics and commercial law until her retirement in 1951.

            In 1924 Mrs. Reed became a charter member of the New Orleans Public School Teachers Association (NOPSTA), a union which later affiliated with the American Federation of Teachers, changing its name to the New Orleans Classroom Teachers Federation.  From the mid-1920s until the mid-1970s she represented the interests of the teachers' union in lobbying at the state legislature.  After her retirement in 1951 she served as Executive Secretary of the New Orleans Classroom Teachers Federation.

            The collection also includes some correspondence and records of Mrs. Reed's sister, Miss Roberta Towles, also a teacher at Sophie B. Wright High School and an active union leader, and of Mrs. Reed's brother, Dr. John Ker Towles, author of a 1904 Tulane University master's thesis entitled "Housing Conditions in the Vicinity of St. Mary's Market, New Orleans" and for many years an economist and statistician for the Chase Manhattan Bank, New York City.

List of Series and Subseries

 

 

Series I.         Clippings

 

Series II.        Communism Materials

 

Series III.       New Orleans Classroom Teachers Federation Records

 

Series IV.      Personal and Family Records and Papers

 

Series V.       Publications

 

            Subseries 1:            American Federation of Teachers publications

 

            Subseries 2:             Louisiana state documents

 

            Subseries 3:             Miscellaneous Publications

 

            Subseries 4:             National Education Association publications

 

            Subseries 5: Teachers union locals' publications

 

Series VI.      Teaching Materials

 

Series VII.     John Ker Towles Materials

Container List

 

 

Series I.    Clippings

 

121-268                     [n.d.], June 21, 1890 - May 30, 1940.

 

121-269                     [1928], May 8 [1928] - February 28, 1943.

 

121-270                     March 1, 1943 - July 19, 1944.

 

121-271                     July 21, 1944 - December 31, 1944.

 

121-272                     January 3, 1945 - September 30, 1945.

 

121-273                     October 1, 1945 - May 10, 1978.

 

 

Series II.        Communism Materials

 

121-4              "Communist Platform for the N.O. City Election" [1930s]

 

 

Series III.       New Orleans Classroom Teachers Federation Records

                        (formerly New Orleans Public School Teachers' Association)

 

                        Agenda and programs.

 

121-1                          [n.d.]; September 9, 1949 - June 19, 1957.

 

                        Broadsides.

 

121-2                          [n.d.]

 

                        Bulletins.

 

121-5                          [n.d.]; February 21, 1934 - September 24, 1954.

 

                        Case Files.

 

                             Files maintained by the New Orleans Federation of Teachers on cases involving specific teachers.  Files were not generally maintained in this order by the union, but these have been so arranged here for archival purposes.  See also 121-20 - 121-34.

 

                                    Matilda Brazile case.

 

121-18                            October 22, 1930.

 

                                    Peter Cabral case.

 

121-18                            [n.d.]; February 22, 1928 - January 21, 1928.

 

                                    Samuel J. Peters High School teachers' case.

 

121-26                            December 20, 1948 - November 15, 1949.

 

                        Charters, constitutions, and by-laws.

 

121-3                               [n.d.]; 1928; January 11, 1933 - May 9, 1950.

 

                        Correspondence.

 

                             See also 121-99 - 121-166 and 121-90 - 121-92.  Correspondence (121-124) includes affidavits from her students, 1948.

 

121-6                          [n.d.]; March 11, 1924 - December 26, 1930

 

121-7                          January 31, 1931 - November 28, 1937

 

121-8                          [1938]; January 7, 1938 - December 1938

 

121-9                          January 5, 1939 - December 19, 1941

 

121-10                        January 5, 1942 - December 21, 1943

 

121-11                        January 19, 1944 - December 20, 1945

 

121-12                        January 3, 1946 - December 3, 1947

 

121-13                        February 12, 1948 - December 31, 1948

 

121-14                        January 14, 1949 - December 29, 1950

 

121-15                        January 3, 1951 - November 14, 1952

 

121-16                        January 5, 1953 - February 6, 1975

 

                        Original order and with titles assigned by New Orleans Classroom Teachers Federation.  See also 121-6 - 121-8.

 

                        Amendments.

 

121-17                        Amendment 8, 1926; [n.d.]; [1925]; March 27, 1926 - November 2,1940.  See also 121-24, 121-36 - 121-52, and 121-78.

 

                        Appreciation.

 

121-17                        [n.d.]; June 21, 1927 - April 24, 1931.

 

                        Associations.

 

121-17                        [n.d.]; August 1932 - June 1942.

 

                        Associations.  Conventions and Meetings.

 

121-17                        1926; March 18, 1927 - April 25, 1930.

 

                        Nicholas Bauer and the School Board.

 

121-18                        [n.d.]; November 1, 1936 - October 12, 1938.

 

                        Bogalusa Teachers.

 

121-18                        [n.d.]; August 31, 1938 - October 6, 1941.

 

                             Matilda Brazile.

 

121-18                        October 22, 1930

 

                             Case of Miss Augustine Aurianne.

 

121-18                        [n.d.]; [September 26, 1931] - October 9, 1931.

 

                             Peter Cabral.

 

121-18                        [n.d.]; February 22, 1928 - June 21, 1928.

 

                        Central Council of Social Agencies.

 

121-18                        [n.d.]; February 2, 1931 - March 27, 1931.

 

                        Central Trade and Labor Council.

 

121-18                        [n.d.]; February 14, 1936 - August 7, 1945.

 

                        Certification.

 

121-18                        [n.d.]; May 12, 1945; March 21, 1946.

 

                        Classification of Teachers.

 

121-19                        [n.d.]; February 5, 1926 - February 15, 1941.

 

                        Constitution of Federation.

 

[?]                                October 1, 1938.

 

                        Dramatics.

 

121-20                        [n.d.]; 1927, March 28, 1927 - June 13, 1931.

 

                        Equalization Fund.

 

121-20                        [n.d.]; November 17, 1937; August 20, 1943.

 

                        Federal Aid.

 

121-20                        [n.d.]; January 11, 1937 - April 23, 1945.

 

                        Films.

 

121-20                        April 7, 1931 - October 9, 1931.

 

                        Grievances File.

 

121-20                        [n.d.]; April 6, 1936 - May 26, 1938.

 

                        High School Association.

 

121-21                        [n.d.]; May 5, 1927 - [August 1945].

 

                        Information Requests for Kindergarten.

 

121-21                        [n.d.]; January 12, 1926 - November 18, 1929; 1930.

 

                        Jefferson Parish.

 

121-21                        [n.d.]; 1939, October 18, 1940 - May 6, 1943.

 

                        Junior High.

 

121-21                        April 11, 1927 - February 22, 1928.

 

                        Junior High Buildings.

 

121-21                        April 22, 1927 - May 17, 1927.

 

                        Junior High Course of Study.

 

121-22                        [n.d.]; April 11, 1927 - May 6, 1927.

 

                        Junior High Teacher Requirements.

 

121-22                        [n.d.]; May 23, 1927.

 

                        Irvin F. Kuenzl: National Office, A.F.T.

 

121-22                        November 4, 1937 - July 27, 1938.

 

                        Governor R[ichard] W. Leche file.

 

121-22                        December 15, 1937 - September 10, 1938.

 

                        Legal Opinions - Pearl Eberle Case.

 

121-22                        1934; July 24, 1942.

 

                        Legislation Amendment 8.

 

121-22                        [n.d.]; October 4, 1926 - November 2, 1928.  See also 121-20, 121-36 -- 121-52, 121-78.

 

                        L.T.A.

 

121-22                        [n.d.]; June 13, 1934 - October 9, 1944, 1945.  See also 121-222 - 121-224.

 

                        L.T.A. Committee Teachers' Salaries.

 

121-22                        [n.d.]; December 1, 1926 - October 30, 1927.

 

                        Lunch Department.

 

121-22                        [n.d.]; November 16, 1942 - February 6, 1943.

 

                        Meetings.

 

121-22                        September 19, 1931 - November 18, 1931; tickets for Book Review lessons, [n.d.]

 

                        Membership.

 

121-22                        [n.d.]; December 1, 1925 - August 29, 1929.  See also 121-54 - 121-65.

 

                        "Merit-Responsibility Question."

 

121-22                        [n.d.]; March 10, 1942 - July 3, 1943.

 

                        Minutes.

 

121-22                        [n.d.]; April 10, 1927 - November 6, 1929.  See also 121-53.

 

                        NEA Convention New Orleans.

 

121-23                        [n.d.]; January 1926-1946.

 

                        NEA Correspondence.

 

121-24                        [n.d.]; March 24, 1930 - October 1931.

 

                        New Orleans Classroom Teachers' Federation Correspondence.

 

121-24                        June 23, 1936 - August 7, 1936.

 

                        New York Teachers.

 

121-24                        [n.d.]; September 14, 1935 - January 19, 1941.  See also 121-243.

 

                        Non-degree.

 

121-24                        [n.d.]; May 13, 1937 - September 24, 1942.

 

                        NOPSTA.

 

121-24                        [n.d.]; 1928; November 1930 - March 18, 1944.

 

                        Parent Teacher Association.

 

121-25                        [n.d.]; August 10, 1940 - March, 1942.

 

                        Pensions.

 

121-25                        [n.d.]; January 12, 1939 - December 31, 1942.

 

                        Personnel Management.

 

121-25                        [n.d.]

 

                        Pictures.

 

121-27                        [n.d.]; May 15, 1937; January 23, 1942.

 

                        Program.

 

121-27                        [n.d.]; September 28, 1940.

 

                        Public Schools of New Orleans Cost.

 

121-27                        [n.d.]; 1928 - October 13, 1939.

 

                        Publications.

 

121-27                        April 1927 - October 21, 1930.  See also 121-79 - 121-89.

 

                        Quartee, Etc.

 

121-27                        [n.d.]; June 9, 1929 - July 8, 1932.  See also 121-85 - 121-87.

 

                        Questionnaire.  Junior High.

 

121-27                        [n.d.]; April 4, 1927 - December 4, 1931.  See also 121-90 - 121-92.

 

                        Reports.

 

121-28                        [n.d.]; January 8, 1926 - September 22, 1932.  See also 121-93.

 

                        Reports of School Board.

 

121-29                        [n.d.]; March 19, 1929 - May 12, 1950.  See also 121-88.

 

                        Requests.

 

121-30                        [n.d.]; September 19, 1931.

 

                        Resolutions.

 

121-30                        [n.d.]; February 12, 1926 - July 14, 1929, 1930.

 

                        Rules Adopted by School Board Patriots.

 

121-30                        [n.d.]; November 22, 1936 - April 1941.

 

                        Salaries.

 

121-31                        1925; 1927; March 12, 1927; May 13, 1927. See also 121-91 and 121-95.

 

                        Salary Schedules re: non-degree Teachers.

 

121-31                        [n.d.]; April 7, 1937 - July 10, 1947.  See also 121-95.

 

                        School Board Budget Salaries.

 

121-32                        [n.d.]; January 1922 - March 1946.  See also 121-73 - 121-78.

 

                        School Board Orleans Parish.

 

121-33                        [n.d.]; September 14, 1923 - December 8, 1944.  See also 121-73 -- 121-78.

 

                        School Survey file.

 

121-33                        [n.d.]; December 6, 1937 - May 19, 1939.

 

                        Sick Leave.

 

121-33                        September 12, 1934; August 28, 1943.

 

                        State School Board.

 

121-33                        [n.d.]; November 11, 1941 - May 1946.

 

                        Survey.

 

121-33                        [n.d.]

 

                        Teacher Tenure file.

 

121-33                        [n.d.]; January 20, 1938 - March 16, 1938.

 

                        Teachers Retirement Fund.

 

121-33                        [n.d.]; January 12, 1937 - May 25, 1946.  See also 121-281, 121-184, 121-185, and 121-235.

 

                        Tenure.

 

121-34                        [n.d.]; 1933; January 27, 1934 - May 11, 1945.

 

                        Roberta Towles.

 

121-34                        [n.d.]; February 9, 1938 - October 19, 1938.

 

                        Transfer of Teachers.

 

121-34                        [n.d.]; February 25, 1938 - May 6, 1942.

 

                        Transportations.

 

121-34                        October 25, 1927 - November 8, 1927.

 

                        Trial of Teachers.

 

121-34                        July 27, 1931, September 23, 1931.

 

                        University Women Association [American Association of University Women].

 

121-34                        November 21, 1940.

 

                        White House Conference.

 

121-34                        [n.d.]; September 16, 1931 - May 26, 1932.

 

 

                        Financial Statement Records

 

121-35                        [n.d.]; February 5, 1926 - May 12, 1944.

 

 

                        Legislative Materials.  See also 121-20, 121-24, and 121-80.

 

                                    Calendars (some annotated).

 

121-36                                    June 14, 1930 - June 21, 1934.

 

121-37                                    1936; June 6, 1936 - July 4, 1936.

 

121-38                                    1938; May 21, 1938; May 28, 1938.

 

121-39                                    1940; June 1, 1940.

 

121-40                                    June 8, 1940 - June 29, 1940.

 

121-41                                    May 30, 1942; July 4, 1942.

 

121-42                                    1944; May 20, 1944 - June 24, 1944.

 

121-43                                    June 8, 1946.

 

                                    Digest.

 

121-44                                    [n.d.]; May 6, 1940 - [July 6, 1940].

 

                                    File titled "Legislative."

 

121-292                                 [n.d.]; 1935; June 14, 1935 - January 2, 1941.

 

                                    Miscellaneous.

 

121-45                                    [n.d.]

 

121-46                                    1928; June 4, 1928 - November 19, 1968.

 

                                    Official Journal.

 

121-47                                    [n.d.]; June 10, 1936 - June 3, 1940.

 

121-48                                    June 4, 1940 - June 24, 1942.

 

121-49                                    May 8, 1944 - May 31, 1944.

 

121-50                                    June 6, 1944 - June 22, 1944.

 

                                    Receipts for contributions to legislative fund.

 

121-51                                    [n.d.]; 1931-1932.

 

                        Meeting Announcements.

 

121-52                        [n.d.]; April 26, 1927 - February 4, 1957.

 

                        Membership.  See also 121-24 and 121-212 - 121-217.

 

                                    Card Files.

 

121-54                                    [n.d.]; 1926-1932 arranged alphabetically.

 

121-55                                    A-B

 

121-56                                    C-D

 

121-57                                    E-G

 

121-58                                    H-L

 

121-59                                    M

 

121-60                                    N-Sl

 

121-61                                    Sm-Z

 

                        Miscellaneous.

 

121-62                        [n.d.]

 

121-63                        [n.d.]

 

121-64                        February 17, 1926 - December 1947.

 

121-65                        1948; March 26, 1948 - 1974.

 

                        Minutes.

 

121-52                        [n.d.]; November 16, 1928 - October 26, 1972.  See also 121-24.

 

                        Miscellany/Oddments.

 

121-66                        [n.d.]

 

121-67                        1923; [1924]; March 30, 1927 - December 1974.

 

                        News Releases.  United States Office of Education. 

 

121-67                        May 19, 1934 - August 21, 1934.

 

                        Certificates.

 

121-69                        June 1, 1968 - June 19, 1975.

 

                        Notes and Drafts.

 

121-69                        [n.d.]

 

121-71                        [n.d.]

 

121-72                        [n.d.]; January 10, 1927 - November 10, 1952.

 

                        Orleans Parish School Board Documents.

                             Assembled and maintained by the New Orleans Classroom Teachers Federation.  See also 121-32 and 121-33.

Administrative Papers

121-73                                    [n.d.]

 

121-74                                    [n.d.]; July 1, 1922 - August 18, 1943.

 

121-75                                    1944; October 2, 1944 - June 1, 1969.

 

                                    Reports.  See also 121-88.

 

121-76                                    [n.d.]; August 11, 1939 - December 13, 1940.

 

121-77                                    March 14, 1941 - November 14, 1947.

 

121-78                                    September 10, 1948 - April 6, 1970.

 

                                    Personal Panel of Teachers documents.

 

121-294                                 [n.d.]; February 13, 1953 - January 25, 1955.

 

                        Publications.  See also 121-27 and 121-242 - 121-244.

 

                                    Federation Bulletin.  Includes some preliminary drafts of Federation Bulletin.

 

121-79                                    [n.d.]; October 1943 - January 1966.

 

                                    Union Publications Pamphlets.

 

121-81                                    [n.d.]

 

                                    Union Publications Present Day Trends in Kindergarten.

 

121-81                                    September 1929.

 

                                    Union Publications Legislative Letter.

 

121-81                                    May 30, 1938.

 

                                    Union Publications Candidates for Mayor Talk to Teachers.

 

121-81                                    January 17, 1946.

 

                                    Union Publications Federation Honors O. Perry Walker.

 

121-81                                    [1965]

 

                                    Union Publications Federation Congratulates School Personnel.

 

121-81                                    [1967]

 

                                    NOPSTA Luncheon Program.

 

121-81                                    October 19, 1968.

 

                                    Federation Carry On Bulletin.

 

121-81                                    [1968]

 

                                    New Orleans Classroom Teachers Federation Yearbook.

 

121-82                                    1937-1938; 1940.

 

                                    New Orleans Teacher.

 

121-83                                    November 1928 - October 1930.

 

                                    NOPSTA News.

 

121-84                                    April 1936 - October 1941.

 

                                    Quartee.  See also 121-27.

 

121-85                                    February 1931 - December 1931.

 

121-86                                    January 1932 - December 1933.

 

121-87                                    January 1934 - May-June 1934.

 

121-87                                    Includes some printers' plates for Quartee.

 

                                    School Board Report.  See also 121-76 - 121-78 and 121-29.

 

121-88                                    1933, November 1940 - May 1943.

 

                                    Teacher Talk.

 

121-89                                    [n.d.]

 

                        Questionnaires.  See also 121-27 and 121-9 - 121-19.

 

                                    Survey of teachers' organizations in United States cities.

 

121-90                                    [n.d.], ca. 1931, June 1, 1931 - June 24, 1931.

 

                                    Survey of teachers' salaries in Louisiana.   See also 121-31.

 

121-91                                    1927.  Organized alphabetically by parishes.

 

                                                     Caddo

                                                     Calsacieu and Claiborne

                                                     Concordia

                                                     East Feliciana

                                                     Jefferson Davis

                                                     Lafayette

                                                     Madison

                                                     Rapides

                                                     St. Landry

                                                     St. Martin

                                                     St. Mary

                                                     Vermillion

                                                     Vernon

                                                     Washington

                                                     Webster

 

121-92                                    November 1928.  Organized alphabetically by school districts.  School districts were usually conterminous with and had the same names as parishes, except that some independent school districts served particular cities and were named for the cities.

 

                                                     Allen, Ascension, and Assumption.

                                                     Beauregard, Bogalusa, and Caddo.

                                                     Calcasieu, Cameron, Catahoula, and Concordia.

                                                     De Soto, East Feliciana, Evangeline, Franklin, and Iberville.

                                                     Jackson, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, and Lake Charles.

                                                     Madison, Minden, Monroe, Morehouse, and Natchitoches.

                                                     Ouachita, Rapides, and Richland.

                                                     St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist, and St. Martin.

                                                     St. Mary, St. Tammany, Tallulah, Tangipahoa, and Tensas.

                                                     Union, Vermillion, and Washington.

                                                     Webster, West Baton Rouge, West Feliciana, and Winn.

 

                        Reports and Statements.

 

121-93                        [n.d.]; 1920; 1932; February 10, 1933; June 26, 1953.  See also 121-28.

 

                        Resolutions.

 

121-94                        [n.d.]; December 8, 1932 - October 24, 1951.

 

                        Salary schedules.

 

121-95                        [n.d.]; December, 1931 - January 10, 1957.  See also 121-31.

 

                        New Orleans Teacher Retirement Fund System records.

 

121-281                     [n.d.]; 1926 - March 13, 1972.  See also 121-33, 121-184, 121-185, and 121-235.

 

 

Series IV.  Personal and Family Records and Papers

 

                        Album, Sarah T. Reed's ninetieth birthday celebration; some correspond­ence removed.  See also 121-164 - 121-165, 121-187, and 121-188.

 

121-177                     March 1972.

 

                        Certificates and Diplomas.

 

121-69                        Certificate of Honor awarded to Sarah T. Reed by the Orleans Educators' Association, 1971.

 

121-69                        Mayoralty of New Orleans Certificate of Merit awarded to Sarah T. Reed and signed by Mayor Moon Landrieu, June 19, 1975.

 

121-69                        Tulane University Certificate honoring Sarah T. Reed on the fiftieth anniversary of her graduation from Newcomb College, June 1, 1964.

 

                        Notes and Reminiscences by Sarah Reed.

 

121-186                     [n.d.]; March 8, 1916-November 22, 1918; ca. 1970s.

 

                        Newcomb Alumnae Commencement Program.

 

121-266                     1958.

 

                        Oversized Certificates and Diplomas.

 

121-265                     Certificate of admission to the Louisiana State Bar of Sarah T. Reed, June 13, 1924.

 

121-265                     Certificate of appointment of Sarah T. Reed as a colonel on the staff of Governor John. J. McKeithen, January 4, 1972.

 

121-265                     Certificate of attainment of Annie Towles certifying her completion of grammar school in the New Orleans Public Schools, June 16, 1911.

 

121-265                     Certificate of attainment of Roberta Towles certifying her completion of grammar school in the New Orleans Public Schools, June 7, 1902.

 

121-265                     Certificate of attainment of Catherine McGehre Towles certifying her completion of high school in New Orleans Public Schools, June 20, 1905.

 

121-265                     Certificate of the Chief of Ordinance, United States War Department, recognizing Sarah Towles [Reed's] Service to the department, December 31, 1919.

 

121-265                     Certificate of election of Roberta Towles as a police juror of West Felici­ana Parish and signed by Governor R[ichard] W. Leche, March 22, 1936.

 

121-265                     Grammar school teaching certificate of Sarah B. Towles [Reed], January 1909.

 

121-265                     High School diploma of Roberta Towles, New Orleans Public Schools,  June 20, 1905.

 

121-265                     Loyola University of the South diploma of Sarah T. Reed awarding her the degree of Bachelor of Laws, June 11, 1924.

 

121-265                     Teaching certificate, Gregg Shorthand, of Roberta Towles, August 12, 1927.

                                   

121-265                     Teaching certificate of Sarah B. Towles [Reed] certifying her to teach high school English in New Orleans Public Schools, September 26, 1909.

 

121-265                     Tulane University diploma of Sarah B. Towles [Reed] awarding her the degree of Bachelor of Arts, May 25, 1904.

 

121-265                     Tulane University diploma of Sarah B. Towles [Reed] awarding her the degree of Bachelor of Arts in Education, June 3, 1914.

 

121-265                     Tulane University diploma of Sarah B. Towles [Reed] awarding her the degree of Master of Arts, May 31, 1906.

 

                        Print of portrait of the Prince of Wales.

 

121-267                     [ca. 1930s]

 

                        College notes, notebooks and essays.  See also 121-186.

 

121-96                        [n.d.]

 

121-97                        October 16, 1851 - January 11, 1958.

 

                        Sarah T. Reed law school notes.

 

121-98                        [n.d.], October 13, 1915 - November 22, 1918.

 

                        Correspondence.  See also 121-9 - 121-19 and 121-176.

 

121-99                        [n.d.]

 

121-100                     [n.d.]

 

121-101                     [n.d.]

 

121-102                     December 24, 1834 - May 22, 1899.

 

121-103                     1900; February 8, 1900 - December 18, 1905.

 

121-104                     January 6, 1906 - December 30, 1913.

 

121-105                     January 17, 1914 - December 31, 1916.

 

121-106                     March 1, 1917 - December 19, 1919.

 

121-107                     ca. 1920s; 1920; January 19, 1920 - December 25, 1921.

 

121-108                     1922; January 3, 1922 - December 24, 1924.

 

121-109                     January 5, 1925 - December 29, 1926.

 

121-110                     January 6, 1927 - December 27, 1928.

 

121-111                     ca. 1929; January 15, 1929 - December 28, 1931.

 

121-112                     1932; January 4, 1932 - December 4, 1932.

 

121-113                     1933; January 2, 1933 - December 20, 1934.

 

121-114                     [1935]; January 2, 1935 - December 5, 1938.

 

121-115                     January 4, 1939 - December 26, 1939.

 

121-116                     ca. 1940s; 1940; January 3, 1940 - December 31, 1940.

 

121-117                     1941; January 1941 - December 17, 1941.

 

121-118                     January 5, 1942 - December 27, 1942.

 

121-119                     ca. 1943; January 1943 - December 31, 1943.

 

121-120                     1944; January 1, 1944 - December 28, 1944.

 

121-121                     January 2, 1945 - December 28, 1945.

 

121-122                     [1946]; January 1, 1946 - December 31, 1946.

 

121-123                     January 1, 1947 - December 16, 1947.

 

121-124                     1948; January 20, 1948 - December 27, 1948.  See also 121-167.

 

121-125                     January 4, 1949 - December 30, 1949.

 

121-126                     ca. 1950s; ca. 1950; January 2, 1950 - August 5, 1950.

 

121-127                     August 9, 1950 - December 31, 1950.

 

121-128                     ca. 1951; January 2, 1951 - December 2, 1951.

 

121-129                     December 6, 1951 - December 31, 1951.

 

121-130                     ca. 1952; 1952; January 1952 - December 31, 1952.

 

121-131                     ca. 1953; 1953; January 8, 1953 - July 1953.

 

121-132                     July 2, 1953 - December 30, 1953.

 

121-133                     ca. 1954; 1954; January 1, 1954 - December 12, 1954.

 

121-134                     December 13, 1954 - December 30, 1954.

 

121-135                     ca. 1955; 1955; January 1955 - October 8, 1955.

 

121-136                     January 6, 1956 - December 6, 1956.

 

121-137                     December 11, 1956 - December 31, 1956.

 

121-138                     1957, January 2, 1957 - December 24, 1957.

 

121-139                     ca. 1958, January 15, 1958 - December 31, 1958.

 

121-140                     1959, January 1, 1959 - November 5, 1959.

 

121-141                     ca. 1960s.

 

121-142                     ca. 1960s; 1960; January 11, 1960 - November 23, 1960.

 

121-143                     November 27, 1960 - December 31, 1960.

 

121-144                     1961; January 1, 1961 - December 16, 1961.

 

121-145                     December 17, 1961 - December 31, 1961.

 

121-146                     1962; January 1962 - April 25, 1962.

 

121-147                     May 2, 1962 - December 29, 1962.

 

121-148                     1963; January 7, 1963 - December 31, 1964.

 

121-149                     January 1965 - December 28, 1965.

 

121-150                     1966; January 5, 1966 - November 28, 1966.

 

121-151                     December 1966 - December 18, 1966

 

121-152                     December 19, 1966 - December 31, 1966.

 

121-153                     1967; January 2, 1967 - May 22, 1967.

 

121-154                     March 23, 1967 - October 31, 1967.

 

121-155                     November 1, 1967 - December 17, 1967.

 

121-156                     December 18, 1967 - December 30, 1967.

 

121-157                     1968; January, 1968 - April 23, 1968.

 

121-158                     May 1968 - November 24, 1968.

 

121-159                     [December 1968]; December 1, 1968 - December 31, 1968.

 

121-160                     [1969]; 1969; January 1969 - March 7, 1969.

 

121-161                     April 1969 - December 17, 1969.

 

121-162                     December 18, 1969 - December 31, 1969.

 

121-163                     [1970s]; January 1970 - December 30, 1971.

 

121-164                     1972; January 6, 1972 - March 31, 1972.  See also 121-177.

 

121-165                     April 4, 1972 - December 22, 1972.

 

121-166                     1973; January 2, 1973 - May 16, 1978.

 

                        Documents re Sarah T. Reed trial on charges of not adequately teaching Americanism.  See also 121-124.

 

121-167                     [1948]

 

                        Drawings

 

                                    Architectural drawings by H[enry]  F. Hienrichs & Sons, for a proposed bungalow to be built for Sarah B. Towles [Reed] at Claiborne Ave. and Eagle St., New Orleans.  4 sheets.

 

121-266                                 May 29, 1920.

 

                                    Drawing illustrating the public schools budget by Mulligan, first name unknown.

 

121-266                                 1938.

 

                                    Drawing of three four poster beds by Waring & Gillow, Ltd., Liverpool, England.

 

121-266                                 [n.d.]

 

                        Family business records.

 

                                    "Agreement not to Petition, Etc." document relating to family property owned in New Orleans.

 

121-68                                    July 26, 1941.

 

                                    Documents re estate of Sarah K. Towles.

 

121-68                                    March 15, 1945.

 

                                    Documents re succession of John Ker Towles, including his last will and testament.

 

121-68                                    October 6, 1960.

 

                        Genealogical and historical research principally concerning West Feliciana Parish and some adjacent areas of Louisiana and Mississippi.  Sarah T. Reed was the compiler of this research unless otherwise noted.  See also 121-191 - 121-196, 121-233, 121-187 - 121-188, and 121-235.

 

                                    Files re book to be titled St. Francisville.

 

121-175                                 [n.d.]

 

                                    Files usually relating to specific families unless otherwise  noted. [n.d.], and random dates.

 

121-169                                 Barrow family

                                                Collins family

                                                Eskridge family

                                                Evans family

                                                Feliciana officials

                                                Floyd family

                                                Fort family

                                                Johnson family

                                                Ker family

 

121-170                                 Mays and Jones Company, Pell City, Alabama

                                                Old Baton Rouge Papers

                                                Ranaldson family

                                                Ratliff family

                                                St. Francisville Democrat

                                                Semple family

                                                Tabor family

                                                Turnbull family

                                                Untitled file

                                                Woodville [Mississippi] file

 

                                    Genealogical research compiled by Daniel Towles.

 

121-171                                 [1900]; January 1, 1900 - January 20, 1900.

 

                                    Miscellaneous research materials used by an unidentified compiler, probably Sarah T. Reed.

 

121-172                                 [n.d.]; random dates.

 

121-173                                 [n.d.]; random dates

 

                                    Note cards.

 

121-174                                 [n.d.]

 

                        Minnie F. Ker copybook.

 

121-80                        ca. 1870.

 

                        Maps.  See also 121-191 - 121-196.

 

                                    Blueprint reproduction of a map of the Greensburg District, Louisiana.

 

121-267                                 [n.d.], ca. 1858

 

                                    Blueprint reproduction of a map of West Feliciana Parish.

 

121-267                                 Original dated March 1930; reproduction, [n.d.]

 

                                    Photographic reproduction of a copy of a map titled "Section of the Mississippi Valley showing Louisiana Plantations of Isaac Franklin" original dated 1858. 

 

121-267                                 Copy and reproduction both [n.d.]

 

                        West Feliciana Parish materials.  Includes Weyanoke and Ouida plantation records and Weyanoke store records.  See also 121-169 - 121-174, 121-233, 121-235, 121-187, 121-188, and 121-267.

 

121-191                     Record books, include cotton sales and property owned by Blacks in 1876.

                                                1875-1882.

 

121-192                     [n.d.]; January 7, 1861-April 6, 1949.

 

121-193                     ca. 1950s-November 26, 1956.

 

121-194                     ca. 1957.

 

121-195                     January 18, 1957 - October 10, 1958.

 

121-196                     August 1961 - March 13, 1970.

 

 

Series V.  Publications

 

                        Subseries V.1: American Federation of Teachers publications

 

121-197                     American Federation of Teachers.  26th Annual Convention.  August 1952.

 

121-197                     American Teacher.  September 1955 - January 1957.

 

121-198                     American Teacher Magazine.  January-February, 1935 - December 1948.

 

121-199                     American Teacher Magazine.  January-February, 1949 - February 1957.

 

121-199                     Constitution of the American Federation of Teachers.  1936.

 

121-199                     Constitution of the American Federation of Teachers.  1943.

 

121-199                     Labor's Battle for Education during World War II.  [n.d.]

 

                        Subseries V.2:  Louisiana state documents

 

121-200                     State Department of Education.  Annual Report, 1925-1926.  1927.

 

121-200                     State Department of Education.  Annual Report, 1926-1927.  1928.

 

121-200                     State Department of Education.  Annual Report, 1927-1928.  1929.

 

121-200                     State Department of Education.  Annual Report, 1928-1929.  1929.

 

121-200                     State Department of Education.  Annual Report, 1943-1944.  1944.

 

121-200                     Certification of Teachers (White).  1936.

 

121-200                     Certification of Teachers (White).  1940.

 

121-200                     Compilations of the General Labor Laws of Louisiana.  1937

 

121-200                     Compulsory School Attendance Laws of Louisiana.  1944.

 

121-201                     Constitution of the State of Louisiana, 1921; As Amended Through 1934.  1934.

 

121-201                     Constitution of the State of Louisiana, 1921; As Amended Through 1938.  1939.

 

121-201                     Constitution of the State of Louisiana, 1921; As Amended Through 1948.  1948.  2 copies.

 

121-201                     Course of Study for Louisiana High Schools.  1933.

 

121-202                     Education in Louisiana.  August 1945 - January-April 1948.

 

121-202                     Education in Wartime Louisiana.  February 1943 - May 1944.

 

121-202                     State Department of Education.  Eighty-First Annual Report.  1931.

 

121-202                     State Department of Education.  Eighty-Second Annual Report.  1932.

 

121-202                     State Department of Education.  Eighty-Sixth Annual Report.  1936.

 

121-202                     State Department of Education.  Eighty-Seventh Annual Report.  1935-1936.

 

121-202                     State Department of Education.  Eighty-Eighth Annual Report.  .  1936-1937.

 

121-203                     Elections in Louisiana.  1939.

121-203                     General Labor Laws of Louisiana.  1943.

 

121-203                     High School Spelling List.  1928.

 

121-204                     Laws Relating to the Payment of Wages. 1936.

 

121-204                     Louisiana Department of Labor.  1938.

 

121-204                     Louisiana Hour and Health Laws for Female Workers.  1938.

 

121-204                     Louisiana Law...Labor Agencies and Employment Bureaus.  1938.

 

121-204                     Louisiana Program for the Improvement of Instruction.  1938.

 

121-204                     Louisiana Program for the Improvement of Instruction.  1939.  2 copies.

 

121-204                     Louisiana Program for Curriculum Development.  1936.

 

121-204                     State Department of Education.  Ninety-Sixth Annual Report.  1944-1945.

 

121-204                     Official Journal of the House of Representatives of the State of Louisiana.  June 22, 1942.

 

121-204                     Official Journal of the Senate of the State of Louisiana.  May 27, 1971.

 

121-204                     Projet of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950.  1950.

 

121-205                     Proposed Plans for State Certification of Administrative, Supervisory and Teaching Personnel.  1949.

 

121-205                     Public School Laws of Louisiana. 1926.

 

121-205                     Public Welfare for Needy, Aged, Dependent Children, Blind, and Others.  [n.d.]

 

121-205                     Report to the People by Sam. H. Jones, Governor of Louisiana.  ca. 1940-1944.

 

121-206                     Roster of Officials of the State of Louisiana.  1931.

 

121-206                     Some Observations on Increased Funds made Available to our Public Schools.  1943.

 

121-206                     State Budget.  1946-1948.

 

121-206                     State Certification of Teachers, Superintendents, Supervisors, Principals, and Librarians.  1943.

 

121-206                     State Equalization Fund Distribution in 1932-1933.  1932.

 

121-206                     State High School Rally.  1936.

 

121-206                     Teachers' Certificates (White).  1926.

 

121-206                     Unemployment Compensation Law.  1936.

 

                        Subseries V.3: Miscellaneous publications

 

121-207                     AAUW New Orleans Branch, 1965-1966.  1966.

 

121-207                     The A. F. of L. Organizer.  June 1947.

 

121-207                     Adult Education in Springfield, Massachusetts.  [ca. 1943]

 

121-207                     Agricultural Adjustment Act.  1938.

 

121-207                     Albania Plantation.  [n.d.]

 

121-207                     American Association of University Women. New Orleans Branch, Year Book.  1939-1940 and 1953-1955.

 

121-207                     American Federation of Labor...Report of the Proceedings.  Fifty-sixth Annual Convention.  1936.

 

121-208                     Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools of the Southern States.  Proceedings.  1927.

 

121-208                     Atomic Era Controversial.  1948.

 

121-208                     Audio-Visual Teaching Aids.  1941.

 

121-208                     Basic Principles of Federal Aid to Education.  ca. 1946.

 

121-208                     Beyond the Horizon.  1949.

 

121-208                     Biennial Survey of Education.  1931.

 

121-208                     Board of Education By-Laws.  [n.d.]

 

121-208                     Board of Trustees of the Teachers' Retirement Fund.  1946.  See also 121-33, 121-235, 121-281, 121-184 - 121-185.

 

121-209                     British Teachers and the War.  [n.d.]

 

121-209                     Bulletin of the Baptist Bible Institute.  1931.

 

121-209                     Business Digest.  September 1937.

 

121-209                     California Labor School. 1945.

 

121-209                     California Method of School Financing.  1923.

 

121-209                     Camp Fires of the Everglades.  1860.

 

121-209                     Can Labor and Management Work Together?  1949.

 

121-209                     Carpetbaggers of Industry.  [n.d.]

 

121-209                     The Case for Industrial Organization.  1936.

 

121-209                     A Ceiling for Hours, a Floor for Wages, and a Break for Children.  1938.

 

121-209                     Cemetery for Grace Episcopal Church.  [n.d.]

 

121-209                     Charter of the League of Nations.  [n.d.]

 

121-209                     The Chase.  January 1927 and February 1928. [February 1928 issue includes a portrait of John Ker Towles.]

 

121-209                     Chicago Guild News.  December 10, 1945.

 

121-209                     A Child's Christmas in Wales.  1954.

 

121-209                     Church and State Newsletter.  November 1950 - March 1952.

 

121-209                     The Church Answers Labor's Critics.  [n.d.]

 

121-209                     Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa.  1965.

 

121-209                     Citizens Conference on the Crisis in Education.  [n.d.]

 

121-209                     City Problems.  October 30, 1940 and September 27, 1945.

 

121-209                     Civic Leader.  September 8, 1941 and April 3, 1956.

 

121-210                     The Classical Journal.  October 1923.

 

121-210                     The Clearing House.  October 1946 - October 1947.

 

121-210                     The Code.  October 1974.

 

121-210                     Code of Ethics, Pasadena City Schools.  ca. 1929.

 

121-210                     Companion to Caesar.  1927.

 

121-210                     Complete Works of Shakespeare.  ca. 1858.

 

121-210                     Condition of our Rights.  ca. 1948.

 

121-210                     Conference Comments.  June 1943.

 

121-210                     The Conspiracy Against the Schools.  1941.

 

121-210                     Constitution and By-Laws of the American Federation of Labor.  1938.

 

121-210                     Constitution and By-Laws of the American Federation of Labor.  1946.

 

121-210                     Constitution and By-Laws of New Orleans High School Association.  1922.

 

121-210                     Constitution and By-Laws and Rules of Order of Central Trade and Labor Council of New Orleans.  1950.

 

121-210                     Conversations on Infant Baptism.  1839.

 

121-210                     Coordinating Local Retirement Systems with Federal Social Security.  1955.

 

121-210                     Coordinator.  January-February, 1946; May-June, 1946.

 

121-211                     New Orleans Public Schools.  Course of Study.  1928.

 

121-211                     Covenant of the League of Nations.  1942.

 

121-211                     Curriculum Journal.  October 1940.

 

121-211                     Dear Parents.  1946.

 

121-211                     Directory of the Public Schools, New Orleans, La. (several annotated).  See also 121-54 - 121-65.

 

121-212                                 1925-1926 - 1936-1937.

 

121-213                                 1937-1938 - 1939-1940.

 

121-214                                 1940-1941; 1941-1942.

 

121-215                                 1942-1943 - 1944-1945.

 

121-216                                 1946-1947 - 1949-1950.

 

121-217                                 ca. 1953 - 1969-1970.

 

121-218                     Directory of U.S. Government Films.  June 1939.

 

121-218                     Directory of Welfare Agencies.  1937.

 

121-218                     Dixie Roto.  May 19, 1968; June 8, 1969.

 

121-218                     Echo [Julius Freyhan High School, St. Francisville, La. Yearbook].  ca. 1939-1940.

 

121-218                     Economic Advance of British Co-operation.  1931.

 

121-218                     Education: An Investment in People.  [1944].

 

121-218                     Education Bulletin.  October 1926.

 

121-218                     Education-Democracy's First Line of Defense.  1941.

 

121-218                     Education for Democracy.  Public Affairs Forum.  1936.

 

121-218                     Elementary Teachers General Council Reports.  1921-1925.

 

121-218                     The English Journal.  February 1942.

 

121-219                     Facts About the Public School System of Louisiana.  1926.

 

121-219                     Facts and Finances 1971-1972.  ca. 1972.

 

121-219                     Faculty.  May 1936 - April 1937.

 

121-219                     Farm Tenancy.  1937.

 

121-219                     Federal Labor Laws and Agencies.  1946.

 

121-219                     Forms of Municipal Government.  1939.

 

121-219                     Fortier Fun Fest.  1950.

 

121-219                     Fourth Civic Ball of the State of Fortier.  1941.

 

121-219                     Friends of Public Schools. Bulletin Supplement.  1945.

 

121-219                     Grand Fortier Street Fair.  1937.

 

121-219                     Handbook Elementary Teachers.  Buffalo, New York.  1928.

 

121-219                     Historic Holmes.  1924.

 

121-219                     A Historic Virginia Home. 1928.

 

121-219                     An Honest Answer in the Civil Rights Controversy.  1948.

 

121-219                     How America Lives. 1932.

 

121-219                     How Management Can Integrate Negroes in War Industries.  [n.d.]

 

121-219                     How Shall We Pay for Health Care?  1949.

 

121-219                     I. F. Stone's Weekly.  October 11, 1954.

 

121-219                     If You Are in Doubt.  [n.d.]

 

121-219                     Illustrated London News.  September 24, 1938.

 

121-219                     In Fact.  February 7, 1949.

 

121-219                     Index to Map of New Orleans.  1925.

 

121-219                     Industrial Texas versus New Louisiana Industry.  1946.

 

121-219                     Inequalities in Educational Opportunity in Louisiana.  1926.

 

121-220                     Instructional Sound Films for the Classroom.  1941.

 

121-220                     Integration.  June 1944; May 1946.

 

121-220                     International Monetary Fund and International Bank for Reconstruction and Development.  1944.

 

121-220                     Invest in High School Education.  [n.d.]

 

121-220                     Investigation of Concentration of Economic Power: Liquor Industry.  1938.

 

121-220                     Investigation of Concentration of Economic Power: Patents.  1939.

 

121-220                     Journal of the American Association of University Women.  January 1933.

 

121-220                     Journal of the Louisiana Teachers Association.  October 1929 - May 1932.

 

121-221                     Know Your Constitution.  1938.

 

121-221                     Koinopia Partners.  [n.d.]

 

121-221                     Labor's Challenge.  1937.

 

121-221                     League Essentials.  October 1951 - December 1968.

 

121-221                     League Lites.  October 1965.

 

121-221                     League of Women Voters of New Orleans.  1965-1966.

 

121-221                     League of Women Voters of New Orleans.  1968-1969.

 

121-221                     Legislative Achievements of the American Federation of Labor.  1943.

 

121-221                     Legislative Report.  American Federation of Labor.  [n.d.]

 

121-221                     Let Freedom Ring.  1937.

 

121-221                     Letters to Judd: An American Workingman.  ca. 1932.

 

121-221                     Louisiana.  1939.

 

121-221                     Louisiana: A Tourist Guide.  1933.

 

121-221                     Louisiana Historical Quarterly.  January 1919; January 1930; April 1930.

 

121-221                     Louisiana Number and Distribution of Inhabitants.  1930.

 

121-221                     Louisiana Parent-Teacher Bulletin.  December 1943 - May 1951.

 

121-221                     Louisiana Retired Teachers' Association Newsletter.  July 1957 - April 1974.

 

                                    Louisiana Schools.  See also 121-24.

 

121-222                                 November 1932 - May 1935.

 

121-223                                 February 1936 - November 1937.

 

121-224                                 April 1942 - April 1952.

 

121-225                     Louisiana State School Board Thirteenth Annual Convention.  1950.

 

121-225                     Louisiana Voter.  February 1963.

 

121-225                     Lovely Louisiana.  1937.

 

121-225                     Loyola Law Review.  June 1943; June 1947.

 

121-225                     Manchester Guardian Weekly.  August 2, 1951.

 

121-225                     Map of Chicago.  [n.d.]

 

121-225                     Memorial Service Alcee Fortier High School.  1946.

 

121-225                     Men of the South.  July 1945; March 1956.

 

121-225                     Mentally Retarded Children.  1944.

 

121-225                     NEA Journal.  September 1946 - March 1947.

 

121-225                     NF Digest.  June 1968.

 

121-225                     NLRA Proceedings and Practices.  1946.

 

121-225                     NOCCR Reports.  June 1953.

 

121-225                     NRTA Journal.  1956; June 1957 - September-October 1968.

 

121-225                     NRTA News Bulletin.  June 1965 - June 1969.

 

121-226                     The Nation.  May 23, 1934 - June 19, 1937.

 

121-227                     National Council on Teacher Retirement Proceedings.  1950.

 

121-227                     National League of Teachers' Associations.  Bulletin.  November 1928 - May 1938.

 

121-227                     National League of Teachers' Associations.  Year Book.  1928.

 

121-227                     The National Voter.  March 15, 1955 - August 15, 1956.

 

121-227                     The Needs of the University.  1948.

 

121-227                     Newcomb Alumnae News.  Summer, 1946 - July 1948.

 

121-227                     Newcomb Alumnae Newsletter.  1952, Winter 1967 and Winter 1968.

 

121-228                     New Factors in Industrial Relations.  1937.

 

121-228                     New Orleans...Facts Concerning the City.  1928.

 

121-228                     New Orleans Picayune.  [facsimile of January 25, 1837 edition]. [n.d.]

 

121-228                     The New Republic.  December 1, 1926 - May 24, 1943.

 

121-228                     New Orleans Unitarian.  [n.d.]; April 3, 1966.

 

121-228                     New South.  November-December 1949 - September 1956.

 

121-228                     New Threats to American Freedoms.  1948.

 

121-228                     The New York Stock Exchange.  1934.

 

121-267                     The New World Atlas and Gazetteer.  1928 ed.

 

121-229                     The 1951 Review.  1951.

 

121-229                     Oakley.  [n.d.]

 

121-229                     Oaths for Teachers.  1935.

 

121-229                     Old Testament Heroes.  1938.

 

121-229                     Opinion Declaring the Feinberg "Subversive Activities" Law Unconstitutional.  1949.

 

121-229                     Opportunity for Education for All.  1945.

 

121-229                     Orleans Parish Department of Public Welfare.  Annual Report.  1937.

 

121-229                     Our Constitution and What It Means.  1949.

 

121-229                     Our Country's Flag.  1941.

 

121-229                     Our Government at Work.  1945.

 

121-229                     Our Government Today.  1938.

 

121-229                     Our Times.  November 28 - December 2, 1949.

 

121-229                     PAR Sixth Annual Conference Program.  1960.

 

121-229                     PAR's 1968 Voters' Guide to the Amendments.  1968.

 

121-229                     Panama Canal.  1913.

 

121-229                     Parkway Commission of New Orleans.  Fortieth Annual Report.  ca. 1949.

 

121-229                     Paying for the War.  1942.

 

121-230                     Planning for Our Schools.  November 26, 1939; December 3, 1939.

 

121-230                     Platoon Schools in Birmingham, Alabama.  1925.

 

121-230                     The Plight of the Share-Cropper.  1934.

 

121-230                     Police Jury Code of 1901...West Feliciana Parish.  1901.

 

121-230                     The Present War.  1940.

 

121-230                     Preservation.  Summer 1965 - Fall 1968.

 

121-230                     The Principal at Work on His Problems.  1931.

 

121-231                     The Progressive.  June 1956.

 

121-231                     Progressive Education.  May 1936 - March 1937.

 

121-231                     The Prospect Before Us.  [n.d.]

 

121-231                     Protect the Wagner Act.  1938.

 

121-231                     The Public and the Schools.  February 28, 1945.

 

121-231                     The Public Be Served.  [n.d.]

 

121-231                     Public School Review.  September 1950.

 

121-231                     Public Welfare in Louisiana.  January 1938 - April 1938.

 

121-231                     Pupils' Outlines for Home Study: Ancient History, Part I.  1909.

 

121-231                     Pupils' Outlines for Home Study: Ancient History, Part II.  1909.

 

121-231                     Questions and Answers on the WPA.  1939.

 

121-231                     Questions Facing Consumers.  [n.d.]

 

121-231                     Rating and Promoting of Teachers, Detroit Manual of Instruction.  1930.

 

121-231                     Referenda Bulletin.  February 10, 1955.

 

121-231                     Reflections.  [n.d.]; August 1945 - September 1946.

 

121-231                     Religion and Race: Barriers to College?  1949.

 

121-231                     Report of the Advisory Committee on Education.  1938.

 

121-231                     Report of the President of Tulane University.  1947 and 1948-1949.  See also 121-236 and 121-282.

 

121-231                     Report on the Economic Conditions of the South.  1938.  8 copies, several annotated.

 

121-231                     Research Activities...Bureau of Governmental Research.  1944-1945.

 

121-231                     Research in Action.  August, 1956; September, 1956.

 

121-232                     Resettlement Administration.  First Annual Report.  1936.

 

121-232                     Review.  1946.

 

121-232                     Rights.  April, 1963.

 

121-232                     Roots of Prejudice.  1951.

 

121-232                     New Orleans Public Schools.  Rules and By-Laws, Rules and Regulations.  1913.

 

121-232                     New Orleans Public Schools.  Rules and By-Laws, Rules and Regulations.  1917.

 

121-232                     New Orleans Public Schools.  Rules and Regulations.  1925.

 

121-232                     New Orleans Public Schools.  Rules and Regulation.  1931.

 

121-232                     Rural Louisiana.  May 1966 - May 1969.

 

121-233                     Safety, Security, and the South.  [n.d.]

 

121-233                     St. Francisville Democrat.  December 17, 1948 - May 22, 1969.  See also 121-169 - 121-172, 121-191 - 121-196.

 

121-233                     St. Francisville True Democrat.  August 7, 1926.  See also 121-169 - 121-172 and 121-191 - 121-196.

 

121-233                     Scales for the Evaluation and Training of Teachers.  1937.

 

121-233                     Scholastic Teacher.  September 19, 1947 - April 25, 1951.

 

121-234                     School Administration in State Educational Survey Reports.  1931.

 

121-234                     Securities Act of 1933.  1933.

 

121-234                     Self-Directing Historical Notebook.  1926.

 

121-234                     Settling Plant Grievances.  1943.

 

121-234                     Shadow Over Europe.  1939.

 

121-234                     Shall Labor Support Roosevelt?  [1936].

 

121-234                     Ships.  November 1944 - October 1945.

 

121-234                     Silver and Blue.  [Alcee Fortier High School Newspaper] November 14, 1947 - December 19, 1968.

 

121-234                     The Single Salary Schedule.  1926.

 

121-234                     Social Security for Southern Farmers.  1936.

 

121-234                     Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools.  Proceedings...Fifty-Fourth Annual Meeting.  1949.

 

121-234                     Southern Conference for Human Welfare.  Report of Proceedings.  1938.

 

121-234                     Southern Labor Conference.  Third Biennial Report and Policy.  1946.

 

121-234                     Southern Patriot.  May 1945 - May 1947.

 

121-235                     The South's Landless Farmers.  1937.

 

121-235                     The Star Hill Hornet.  May 28, 1947; June 11, 1947.  See also 121-169 - 121-172, 121-191 - 121-196.

 

121-235                     State of Fortier: A Night of Stars.  1942.

 

121-235                     State Problems.  November 3, 1945.

 

121-235                     State Retirement System of Ohio.  [n.d.]

 

121-235                     State Retirement System of Ohio Manual of Information.  1946.

 

121-235                     Statement for George M. Lester.  1944.

 

121-235                     Statistics of the Negro Race, 1927-1928.  1930.

 

121-235                     Steel Strike Vote.  1945.

 

121-235                     Talking It Through.  1938.

 

121-235                     The Tarpon [Alcee Fortier High School Yearbook].  1944 and 1945.

 

121-235                     Teacher News.  [n.d.]

 

121-235                     Teachers' Bulletin.  September 1950 - March 1952.

 

121-235                     Teachers' Digest.  1945.

 

121-235                     Teachers' Retirement Fund Association.  Multnomahe County, Oregon.  Articles of Incorporation.  1923.

 

121-235                     Teachers' Retirement Fund.  Twenty-Seventh Annual Report.  1937.  See also 121-33; 121-184; 121-185; 121-281; 121-208.

 

121-235                     Teachers' Retirement Fund.  Forty Fourth Annual Report.  1954.  See also 121-33; 121-184; 121-185; 121-208; 121-281.

 

121-235                     Teaching Critical Thinking in the Social Studies.  1942.

 

121-235                     Teaching Farm Credit.  1934.

 

121-235                     Ten Shadow Plays for Children.  1935.

 

121-235                     The Tennessee Valley Authority.  1935.

 

121-235                     That New Labor Law.  1947.

 

121-235                     This is Bill Dodd.  [n.d.]

 

121-236                     The Ticket for You: Adlai Stevenson.  [1956]

 

121-236                     To Our Friend Margaret A. Haley.  1921.

 

121-236                     To Secure, To Use These Rights.  1963.

 

121-236                     Today's Civics.  1946.

 

121-236                     Town Meeting.  March 29, 1949.

 

121-236                     The Triangle.  February 1969.

 

121-236                     Trinity Church.  1948.

 

121-236                     The Truth About C.I.O.  1945.

 

121-236                     The Truth About Columbia, Tennessee Case.  ca. 1946.

 

121-236                     Truth Achievements of the Mayor Robert S. Maestri Administration.  ca. 1946.

 

121-236                     Tulane Alumni Fund Annual Report.  1954.  See also 121-282; 121-231.

 

121-236                     The Tulane News Bulletin.  February 1934.  See also 121-282; 121-231.

 

121-236                     Tulane University.  Report of the President.  1955-1956.  See also 121-282; 121-231.

 

121-236                     The Tulanian.  July 1947 - October 1956.  See also 121-282; 121-231.

 

121-237                     Uncle Sam's Finances.  ca. 1946.

 

121-237                     Unemployment Bulletin: Louisiana. 1930.

 

121-237                     Uniform Requirements in English.  1913-1919; [n.d.]

 

121-237                     United Nations.  1945.

 

121-237                     United Nations Reporter.  February 1951.

 

121-237                     United States Housing Act of 1937.  1938.

 

121-237                     The Untouchables.  [n.d.]

 

121-237                     Voluntary Labor Arbitration Rules.  1945.

 

121-237                     Wanted: The South's Future for the Nation.  1945.

 

121-237                     Waterworks, Sewerage, and Drainage Systems for New Orleans.  1938.

 

121-237                     West Feliciana ASCS Newsletter.  [n.d.]

 

121-237                     What Can I Do About It?  [n.d.]

 

121-237                     What Every Veteran Should Know About Labor.  1946.

 

121-237                     What Is Education?  1930.

 

121-237                     Which State Educates Best?  ca. 1932.

 

121-237                     Why and Whither of Labor Unions.  1946.

 

121-237                     Why Social Security?  1938.

 

121-237                     Why the C.I.O?  1937.

 

121-237                     The Witness.  February 17, 1955.

 

121-237                     Women and Their Money. 1949.

 

121-237                     Woodrow Wilson, Theodore Roosevelt, Franklin K. Lane on Americanism.  [n.d.]

 

121-237                     Work.  [n.d.], April 1937 - April 1938.

 

121-238                     Workbook on Local State, and National Government.  1931.

 

121-238                     Wright Chronicle.  [Sophie B. Wright High School yearbook].  November 1933 - June 1942.

 

121-238                     Yale University.  1906.

 

121-238                     You Have Seen Their Faces.  1937.

 

121-238                     Your Vote Counts.  1949.

 

121-238                     Youth Education for Those Out of School.  1936.

 

 

 

                        Subseries V.4: National Education Association publications

 

121-239                     Advance of the Teacher Retirement Movement.  1928.

 

121-239                     The Classroom Teacher and Character Education.  1932.

 

121-239                     Creating a Curriculum for Adolescent Youth.  [n.d.]

 

121-239                     Department of Classroom Teachers Official Report.  1934.

 

121-239                     Department of Superintendence Official Report.  1930.

 

121-239                     Ethics in the Teaching Profession.  1931.

 

121-240                     Journal of the National Education Association.  January 1937 - March 1945.

 

121-241                     Major Issues in School Finances.  1926.

 

121-241                     Modern Social and Educational Trends.  1934.

 

121-241                     National Education Association.  Official Manual for Delegates.  1931.

 

121-241                     Organizations Interested in International Relations.  1939.

 

121-241                     Practices Affecting Teacher Personnel.  1928.

 

121-241                     The Principal Studies His Job.  March 1938.

 

121-241                     Report of the Committee on the Economic Status of the Teacher.  1931.

 

121-241                     Report of the Committee on Retirement Allowances.  1928.

 

121-241                     Report of the Committee on Retirement Allowances.  1931.

 

121-241                     Report of the Committee on Tenure and Academic Freedom.  1948.

 

121-241                     Report of the Committee on Tenure Problems.  1931.

 

121-241                     Research Bulletin.  [n.d.]; ca. 1926.

 

121-241                     Salary Scales in City School Systems, 1928-1929. 1929.

 

121-241                     Special Salary Tabulations.  1933.

 

                        Subseries V.5: Teachers union locals' publications, except New Orleans, organized alphabetically by city.  See also 121-79 - 121-89.

 

                                    Chicago.

 

121-242                                 Chicago Union Teacher.  December 1945; November 1946.

 

                                    Cleveland.

 

121-242                                 Cleveland Teachers Federation Bulletin.  December 15, 1933.

 

121-242                                 Cleveland Teachers Federation Special Bulletin.  April 26, 1943.

 

121-242                                 What Price Education.  [n.d.]

 

                                    Denver.

 

121-242                                 Denver Classroom Teachers Association.  Articles of Incorporation and By-Laws.  [n.d.]

 

                                    Milwaukee.

 

121-242                                 Bulletin of the Milwaukee Teachers' Association.  February 1933 - March-June 1947.

 

                                    Minneapolis.

 

121-242                                 The Minneapolis Teacher.  October 20, 1950.

 

                                    New York.  See also 121-26.

 

121-243                                 Academic Freedom in a Time of Crisis.  1948.

 

121-243                                 Education for Democracy.  1938.

 

121-243                                 New York Teacher.  December 1938.

 

121-243                                 New York Teacher News.  November 8, 1947 - October 31, 1959.

 

121-243                                 Statement of Local 5 on Proposed Revocation of Its Charter. 1941

 

                                                Threat of Dual Unionism in the American Federation of Teachers.  1940.

 

                                    Philadelphia.

 

121-244                                 Philadelphia Teachers' Association News Letter.  December 1946 - January 1950.

 

                                    Rochester.

 

121-244                                 Constitution of the Rochester Teachers' Association. ca. 1929.

 

 

Series VI.  Teaching Materials

 

                        Binders for periodicals.

 

121-245                     [n.d.]

 

                        Class record cards.  See also 121-291.

 

                                    Alcee Fortier High School.

 

121-283                                 1932; 1933; 1938.

 

121-184                                 1939; 1940.

 

                                    Alcee Fortier High School and Sophie B. Wright High School.

 

121-285                                 1941; 1942.

 

121-286                                 1943; 1944.

 

121-287                                 1945; 1946.

 

121-288                                 1947; 1948.

 

121-289                                 1949-1951.

 

121-290                                 1952-1953; 1953.

 

                        Daily bulletins.

 

121-247                     September 12, 1944 - January 24, 1945.

 

                        Individual and summary teachers' reports on passed and failed students.

 

121-248                     [n.d.]; 1939-1951.

 

                        Memoranda to faculty.

 

121-249                     September 6, 1944 - October 16, 1944.

 

                        Miscellaneous.

 

121-274                     [n.d.]

 

121-275                     [n.d.]

 

121-276                     [n.d.]; September 1909 - October 21, 1942.

 

121-277                     1943; May 31, 1943 - February 6, 1969.

 

                        Office record cards.

 

                                    Alcee Fortier High School and Sophie B. Wright High School.  See also 121-283 - 121-290.

 

121-291                                 1938-1943.

 

                        Student attendance records.  See also 121-278 and 121-279.

 

121-247                     [n.d.]; 1938; September 1938 - 1951.

 

                        Student work.

 

                                    Autobiographies.

 

121-251                                 [n.d.]; October 18, 1937 - October 20, 1942.

 

                                    Civics class minutes and notes.

 

121-254                                 [n.d.]; [1939]; February 1939 - March 29, 1950.

 

                                    Notebooks.

 

121-252                                 [n.d.]

 

                                    Research projects.

 

121-253                                 [n.d.]; October 12, 1943.

 

                                    Scrapbooks.

 

121-255                                 [1936].

 

121-256                                 [1938].

 

121-257                                 [1939].

 

121-258                                 [1940s].

 

121-259                                 [1940].

 

121-260                                 [1940].

 

121-261                                 [1946].

 

                                    Teacher roll books.  See also 121-246.

 

121-278                                 [n.d.]; September 1921 - October 1924.

 

121-279                                 October 1926 - January-February, 1951.

 

                                    Teaching notes.

 

121-264                                 [n.d.]; September 1945.

 

                                    Tests and outlines.

 

121-262                          [n.d.]

 

121-263                          [n.d.]; April 30, 1937; May 1939.

 

                                    Textbook inventory reports.

 

121-250                          [n.d.]; February 2, 1942 - June 9, 1949.

 

 

Series VII.  John Ker Towles Materials

 

                        John Ker Towles's essay and research notes.

 

121-280                     "The Spirit of Scientific Research" (Tulane University, graduation essay, ca. 1902).

 

121-280                     Research notes for "Housing Conditions in Vicinity of St. Mary's Market, New Orleans" (Tulane University, M.A. thesis, ca. 1904).

Index Terms

 

 

Educators—Louisiana

Feminists—Louisiana

New Orleans Classroom Teachers Federation

Orleans Parish School Board

Ouida (Plantation : West Feliciana Parish, La.)

Reed, Sarah Towles

Schools—Louisiana—New Orleans

Towles, John Ker

West Feliciana Parish, La.

Weyanoke (Plantation : West Feliciana Parish, La.)