MSS 142 - Italian Newspapers Collection: Inventory

ITALIAN NEWSPAPERS COLLECTION

(Mss 142)

Inventory

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

Summary

 

 

Size:                           5 linear feet

 

Geographic

locations:                 New Orleans, Louisiana

 

Inclusive dates:      1894 - 1964

 

Summary:                             L'Italo-Americano, ca. 1894 - January 17, 1922, n.d.; La Voce Coloniale, August 3, 1918 - July 1964, n.d. (includes duplicate issues)

 

Related

collections:                         Italian Clubs Collection (Mss 1); Societa Italiana di Mutua Beneficenza Cefalutana Collection (Mss 172).  The latter collection contains La Voce Coloniale (7 Settembre, 1918; 9 Giugno, 1934); II Messaggero, New Orleans (9 Giugno, 1934; 1 Giugno, 1935; 14 Agosto, 1937; 26 Marzo, 1938); and Corriere D'America, New York (18 Dicembre, 1932).

 

Source:                     Gift, May 1982

 

Access:                                 No restrictions

 

Copyright:                Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.

 

Citation:                    Italian Newspapers Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

 

 

Historical Note

 

            L'Italo-Americano, one of the first Italian language newspapers in the South, began publication about 1885 in New Orleans, La.  In later years advertisements and articles in English were included. It provided the Italian population of Louisiana, not only with local, national, and foreign news, but also reported social events in the area which would be of interest to the Italian community.

 

La Voce Coloniale, began publication in New Orleans, La., about 1915, and was intended for Italian-Americans living in the New Orleans area.  Beginning in 1962 the newspaper included articles of interest to the area's Latin-American community, and was tri-lingual with material in Italian, English and Spanish.  The title of the newspaper was changed several times with the following variations: Italo-American News (January 1, 1955 - May-June 1962), Italian-American International Review (July, 1962 - February, 1963), and The International Review (March, 1963 - July, 1964).

 

Container List

 

142-1              Positive microfilm (9 reels):

Reels 1-8, La Voce Coloniale, August 3, 1918 - July 1964, n.d.

Reel 9, L'Italo-Americano, ca. 1894 - January 14, 1922, n.d.

 

142-2              Inventory for 9 microfilm reels.

                                    Original issues of L'Italo-Americano and La Voce Coloniale:

 

                        L'Italo-Americano.

142-3                          ca. 1894-June 1898.

142-4                          March 18, 1911 - April 13, 1912.

142-5                          April 20, 1912 - March 26, 1921.  

142-6                          November 12, 1921 - January 14, 1922, n.d.

 

                        La Voce Coloniale.

142-7                          August 3, 1918 - December 26, 1931.

142-8                          January 2, 1932 - December 30, 1933.

142-9                          January 6, 1934 - December 26, 1936.

142-10                        January 2, 1937 - December 31, 1938.

142-11                        January 7, 1939 - December 28, 1940.

142-12                        January 4, 1941 - December 26, 1942.

142-13                        January 2, 1943 - December 20, 1944.

142-14                        January 6, 1945 - December 21, 1946.

142-15                        January 4, 1947 - December 25, 1948.

142-16                        January 8, 1949 - December 30, 1950.

142-17                        January 6, 1951 - December 26, 1953.

142-18                        January 2, 1954 - December 25, 1954.

 

4 fragments, n.d.

Index Terms

Italians—Louisiana—New Orleans

Italo-Americano, L’

Newspapers—Louisiana—New Orleans

Voce Coloniale, La