MSS 145 - Frank B. Moore Collection: Inventory
- Last Updated: Sep 9, 2018 11:09 PM
- URL: https://libguides.uno.edu/mss145
- Print Page
Frank B. Moore COLLECTION
(Mss 145)
Inventory
Earl K. Long Library
University of New Orleans
October 1997
Summary
Size: 33 linear feet
Geographic
locations: New Orleans, La.
Inclusive dates: ca. 1863-1972
Bulk dates: ca. 1900-1930
Summary: Record books, photogravure plates, apparatus, glass plate and film negatives, and paper prints from the photographic studio of Frank B. Moore. A wide range of subjects is covered, including scenes of the French Quarter, cemeteries, private industry, and individuals. Copy prints of most negatives are available. Negatives and copy prints are arranged by subject matter. The collection contains one print depicting the Medical College of Louisiana (ca. Civil War period) by Louis P. David.
Related
collections: Photographs Collection; Vieux Carré Photographs Collection (Mss 207); William Hession Collection (Mss 229)
Source: Deposit, 1982; Gift, 1984
Access: No restrictions. The collection is accessible through the Louisiana Digital Library (http://louisdl.louislibraries.org/).
Copyright: Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.
Citation: Frank B. Moore Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
List of Series and Subseries
Series I. Glass plate and film negatives.
Subseries I.1: Individual and multiple figures.
Subseries I.2: Industry / Commerce / Business.
Subseries I.3: Indoor photography.
Subseries I.4: Miscellaneous.
Subseries I.5: Outdoor photography (cemeteries and chapels).
Subseries I.6: Outdoor photography (rural scenes and city parks).
Subseries I.7: Outdoor photography (urban scenes).
Series II. Copy prints.
Series III. Record books.
Series IV. Miscellany.
Container List
Series I. Glass plate and film negatives.
Subseries I.1: Individual and multiple figures.
Individual figures.
Images of boys.
145-1 -
145-5 8" x 10" glass plates.
145-6 5" x 7" film.
145-7 -
145-14 5" x 7" glass plates.
Images of girls.
145-15 -
145-18A 8" x 10" glass plates.
Images of men.
145-19 -
145-47,
145-527 8" x 10" glass plates.
145-48 -
145-57,
145-537 5" x 7" film.
145-58 5" x 7" glass plate.
145-59 -
145-60 3½" x 5" glass plates.
145-496 -
145-497,
145-525 -
145-526,
145-530 11" x 14" glass plates.
Images of women.
145-61 -
145-81 8" x 10" film.
145-82 -
148-85 8" x 10" glass plates.
145-86 -
145-93 8" x 10" film.
145-94 -
145-207 8" x 10" glass plates.
145-208 -
145-215 5" x 7" glass plates.
145-216 -
145-224 8" x 10" film.
145-225 -
145-235,
145-529,
145-531 8" x 10" glass plates.
145-521 -
145-524 11" x 14" glass plates.
The following identifications are noted on the above negatives; titles, except where bracketed, were assigned by the original photographer, as were numbers in parentheses.
145-24 Plantation negro & palmettos, [n.d.].
145-47 Pie Man, [n.d.].
145-61 -
145-85,
145-151 Gladys, [n.d.].
145-101 -
145-102 Crescent Commides, [n.d.].
145-48 -
145-57 Sonny Moore, [n.d.].
145-172 [Mrs. James Wittenberg, n.d.].
145-224,
145-521 -
145-523 [Art Photography, n.d.].
145-525 Portrait of a man, Parker, [n.d.].
145-528 Brother Jones, aged negro, [n.d.].
Multiple figures.
145-236 -
145-302 8" x 10" glass plates.
145-303 -
145-305 5" x 7" glass plates.
145-306 4" x 5" film.
145-307 -
145-309 8" x 10" film.
145-498 -
145-518 11" x 14" glass plates.
The following identifications are noted on the above negatives; titles, except where bracketed, were assigned by the original photographer, as were numbers in parentheses.
145-255 The Seven Parisian Violets, [n.d.].
145-275 Schelling's Dixie Jazz Band, [n.d.].
145-276 Fischbein-Williams Syncopators, [n.d.].
145-498 Pop and Mom, [n.d.].
145-498 Central Trade Labor Union, [n.d.].
145-499 [Wedding group, n.d.]
145-500 Dental Class of Loyola University, 1923.
145-501 NOCP, 1918.
145-502 Central Trade and Labor Council--Labor Day Committee, [n.d.].
145-503 [Family portrait, n.d.].
145-504 [Patriotic pageant, n.d.].
145-505 Law Class, Loyola University, 1923.
145-506 Sophomore Class, T.H.S. (Houma, La.), 1915.
145-507 [Musicians, n.d.].
145-508 Nu Sigma, N.O., [n.d.].
145-509 [Doctors from Charity, Touro, Richardson, and Hutchinson hospitals, n.d.].
145-510 Commerce Department, T.H.S. (Houma, La.), 1915.
145-511 T.H.S. Staff (Houma, La.), [n.d.].
145-512 Pharmacy Class, Loyola University, 1923.
145-513 [Doctors from Charity, Touro, Richardson, and Hutchinson hospitals, n.d.].
145-514 Warren Easton High School, 1924.
145-515 [Musicians, n.d.].
145-515A [Women in costume, n.d.].
145-516 Junior High School, T.H.S. (Houma, La.), [n.d.].
145-517 [Costumed group, n.d.].
145-518 Pharmaceutical Chemists, 1917.
145-532 Warren Easton High School, 1923.
145-533 Tulane M.E., 1918.
145-534 T.H.S. (Houma, La.), 1915.
Subseries I.2: Industry / Commerce / Business.
145-310 -
145-327[1] 8" x 10" glass plates.
145-328 8" x 10" film negatives.
145-329 -
145-342 8" x 10" glass plates.
145-343 -
145-347 8" x 10" film.
145-348 -
145-356 8" x 10" glass plates.
145-520 11" x 14" glass plate.
The following identifications are noted on the above negatives; titles, except where bracketed, were assigned by the original photographer, as were numbers in parentheses.
145-310 -
145-313 Banana cargo, conveyors, mart (5, 104, 103), [n.d.].
145-314 -
145-315 Freight conveyors (85, 87), [n.d.].
145-316 Cotton floats (64), [n.d.].
145-319 Cotton on levee and ships (33), [n.d.].
145-323 S.S. Aquarius coming into the port of Rottendam [sic], June 24, 1922.
145-324 Steamship Proteus (141), [n.d.].
145-325 Southern Pacific Dock (99), [n.d.].
145-326 -
145-328 Johnson Iron Works, 9/17/1918, Job 198.
145-329 Rail, Jno. E. Mahoney (1039), [n.d.].
145-333 Interior and exterior of freight sheds, N.O. Terminal Co. (112), [n.d.].
145-334 Loading moss on a river, [n.d.].
145-338 -
145-339 [Fac-try-Lhy advertisement, n.d.].
145-340 French Market interior (19), [n.d.].
145-341 H. Begue's (126), [n.d.].
145-342 Old Fashioned French Drum Table, Mr. Begue--interior (40), [n.d.].
145-343 -
145-347 Blue Kitchen Luncheonette, [n.d.].
145-348 Old Luggar Landing (115), [n.d.].
145-349 Bayou St. John (45), [n.d.].
145-350 Canal Street Foot Ferry and Ships (83), [n.d.].
145-351 Old Basin and Boats (67), [n.d.].
145-352 Asher J. Hudson boat, [n.d.].
145-353 Mast sail ship (3), [n.d.].
145-354 Hanover ship, [n.d.].
145-355 S.S. Crathens (118), [n.d.].
145-356 Freight Conveyors on the river front (188), [n.d.].
145-520 Logging industry, [n.d.].
Subseries I.3: Indoor Photography.
145-357 -
145-363 8" x 10" glass plates.
145-364 7" x 7" glass plate.
The following identifications are noted on the above negatives; titles, except where bracketed, were assigned by the original photographer, as were numbers in parentheses.
145-357 Elks Place and old criminal court house, [n.d.].
145-358 -
145-360 Old Spanish Courtyard, Royal Street, [n.d.].
145-364 Slave Block, Hotel Royal, [n.d.].
Subseries I.4: Miscellaneous Items.
145-365 -
145-369 8" x 10" glass plates.
The following identifications are noted on the above negatives; titles, except where bracketed, were assigned by the original photographer, as were numbers in parentheses.
145-365 Diagram of inundated district, Sauve's Crevasse, 1849 [n.d.].
145-368 Seismic record of hurricane of September 29, 1915 by seismograph at Loyola University, N.O. [La., n.d.].
145-369 Flood Control Project of the Sacramento Valley [Cal., n.d.].
Subseries I.5: Outdoor Photography (Cemeteries and Chapels).
145-370 -
145-390 8" x 10" glass plates.
145-391 -
145-394 8" x 10" film.
145-519 11" x 14" glass plate.
The following identifications are noted on the above negatives; titles, except where bracketed, were assigned by the original photographer, as were numbers in parentheses.
145-370 -
145-371 St. Louis Cemetery [n.d.].
145-372 -
145-377 Metairie Cemetery [n.d.].
145-379 Army of Tennessee Monument, [n.d.].
145-380,
145-387 -
145-390 St. Roch's Cemetery and Chapel, [n.d.].
145-382 Vacarro Bros. tomb decorated (97), [n.d.].
145-384 Old House of Refuge (82), [n.d.].
145-385 St. Patrick Cemetery, [n.d.].
145-386 [Cemetery Scene] (120), [n.d.]
145-391 [Possibly Catholic Church in St. Bernard, n.d.].
145-393 -
145-394 [St. Leo the Great, n.d.].
145-519 [Decorated vault, n.d.].
Subseries I.6: Outdoor Photography (Rural Scenes and City Parks).
145-395 -
145-396 5" x 7" glass plates.
145-397 -
145-398 8" x 10" glass plates.
145-399 -
145-400 5" x 7" glass plates.
145-401 8" x 10" film.
145-402 -
145-435[2] 8" x 10" glass plates.
The following identifications are noted on the above negatives; titles, except where bracketed, were assigned by the original photographer, as were numbers in parentheses.
145-399 -
145-400 Negro huts, [n.d.].
145-402 -
145-403,
145-406 -
145-416 Oak and magnolia trees, [n.d.].
145-404 -
145-405 Horticultural House, Audubon Park, [n.d.].
145-417 -
145-421 City Park, [n.d.].
145-422 -
145-423 Packingham [sic] Headquarters, [n.d.].
145-424 -
145-425 [Plantation homes, n.d.].
145-427 -
145-435 [Country scenes, n.d.].
Subseries I.7: Outdoor Photography (Urban Scenes). See also Miscellany, 145-607.
145-436 -
145-447 8" x 10" glass plates.
145-488 -
145-451 8" x 10" film.
145-452 -
145-457 8" x 10" glass plates.
145-458 8" x 10" film.
145-459 -
145-482,
145-600 -
145-606 8" x 10" glass plates.
145-483 8" x 10" film.
145-484 -
145-488 8" x 10" glass plates.
145-489 8" x 10" film.
145-490 -
145-495 8" x 10" glass plates.
The following identifications are noted on the above negatives; titles, except where bracketed, were assigned by the original photographer, as were numbers in parentheses.
145-436 -
145-442 [Monuments in N.O., n.d.].
145-456 -
145-470 [Building in New Orleans Central Business District, n.d.].
145-471 Crescent track, [n.d.].
145-472 -
145-495 [French Quarter, n.d.].
Series II. Copy prints.
145-535 Copy prints, 145-1 - 145-372.
145-536 Copy prints, 145-373 - 145-607.
Series III. Record books of Frank B. Moore, Ltd. A majority of the volumes contain numbered and unnumbered lists of subjects photographed. Some contain random notation, and information on receipts and expenses in addition to photographic lists. Others contain company expenses only. All books are arranged in chronological order, and numbers and descriptions appearing in parentheses are those assigned by the original compiler.
145-538 [n.d.] (1-1000, contest).
145-539 1906 - 1916 (1-16804, Index, St. Charles Ave. Studio).
145-540 February 24, 1910 - March 22, 1914 (1923-4487).
145-541 October 7, 1913 - [?] (5000-15612, Index).
145-542 October 7, 1913 - August 27, 1914 (5001-7063) with notations.
145-543 March 22, 1914 - February 26, 1917 (4488-4999, 15000-15867) with notations.
145-544 August 27, 1914 - January 29, 1916 (7064-8981) with notations.
145-545 February 1, 1916 - March 16, 1917 (8982-10410).
145-546 ca. 1917 (1-628, Expenses--Duplicates) with notations and information on expenses and receipts.
145-547 March 1917 - March 1918 (19422-12364).
145-548 September 24, 1917 - November 27, 1918 (64-1489).
145-549 March 1918 - April 13, 1918 (12375-12553) with notations.
145-550 April 22, 1918 - January 1919 (136-4-14612).
145-551 January 1919 - 1931 (14613-42110 Index).
145-552 January 1, 1919 - December 1920 (1490-2092 Passports).
145-553 October 18, 1919 - 1920 (1000-1960) with notations.
145-554 January 20, 1919 - January 3, 1920 (14613-18605) with notations.
145-555 1920 - 1921 (2000-3136 Jambalaya).
145-556 January 3, 1920 - August 1921 (18606-19895).
145-557 August 21, 1920 - May 22, 1921 (19896-21175).
145-558 May 20, 1921 - October 1922 (21176-24321).
145-559 November 4, 1922 - October 1923 (24322-26795).
145-560 April 1923 - June 26, 1926 (205-2483 Colored Studio) with notations.
145-561 October 23, 1923 - October 1, 1924 (26795-28250) with notations.
145-562 October 1, 1924 - August 28, 1925 (28251-29920) with notations.
145-563 August 14, 1925 - October 4, 1926 (29921-31631).
145-564 July 21, 1926 - 1930 (100-1553) with notations.
145-565 September 7, 1926 - July 1927 (31632-33200).
145-566 July 1927 - April 1928 (33201-35701) with notations.
145-567 January 10, 1928 - April 1929 (36000-38065) with notations.
145-568 April 16, 1929 - January 1930 (38066-39471).
145-569 January 8, 1930 - April 1931 (39472-42110).
145-570 May 5, 1930 - September 11, 1935 (1554-52065).
145-571 May 1931 - June 1944 (42125-71183 Index).
145-572 May 1, 1931 - May 1932 (42111-43682).
145-573 May 26, 1932 - November 1934 (43683-50988) with notations.
145-574 May 1935 - December 1935, unnumbered entries.
145-575 September 13, 1935 - October 3, 1936 (52100-54485).
145-576 September 14, 1936 - September 24, 1937 (54486-56894).
145-577 September 20, 1937 - November 30, 1938 (56895-59291) with notations.
145-578 October 19, 1938 - March 27, 1941 (59292-62588).
145-579 March 27, 1941 - December 1, 1942 (62589-65631).
145-580 December 2, 1942 - August 3, 1944 (65632-68905).
145-581 June 20, 1944 - December 12, 1945 (68906-71725).
145-582 August 1, 1945 - January 1963 (71205-83874).
145-583 December 13, 1945 - April 17, 1948 (71726-73828).
145-584 April 19, 1948 - January 8, 1951 (73829-75907).
145-585 January 13, 1951 - November 1, 1953 (75908-78008).
145-586 November 5, 1953 - September 1, 1955 (78008½-79221).
145-587 September 1, 1955 - September 15, 1959 (79222-81532).
145-588 January 1, 1956 - April 1958. Debits, credits, and numbers that appear to identify photographs.
145-589 May 1, 1958 - August 1960. Debits, credits, and numbers that appear to identify photographs.
145-590 September 1, 1959 - May 1, 1963 (81533-83874) with notations.
145-591 September 1960 - April 1963. Business account book of photographer. Debits, credits, costs incurred by studios.
145-592 May 1, 1963 - April 30, 1967 (8375-68234).
145-593 April 1966 - February 1969. Business account book of photographer.
145-594 March 1969 - May 1972. Business account book of photographer.
145-595 June 1972 - December 1972. Business account book of photographer.
Series IV. Miscellany.
145-596 Photogravure plate (4 3/4" x 6¼"), wedding portrait.
145-597 Photogravure plate (12" x 18"), composite of beauty contest winners.
145-598 8" x 10" back for portrait camera.
145-607 7½" x 5¼" photograph. Medical College of Louisiana, Baronne and Common Streets (N.O., La.). Back of photograph lists Louis P. David, 150 Royal Street, as photographer.
145-599 Cracked glass plate negatives.
• • •
Damaged negatives (77 film, 19 glass plates) and 6 paper prints are housed in the following boxes:
Box A About 48 (8" x 10") film negatives.
Box B 29 film and 4 glass plate negatives.
Box C 11 glass plate negatives.
Box D 4 glass plate negatives and 6 paper prints.
Box E Fragments of glass plate negatives.
• • •
Images of boys.
145-1 Individual boy (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-2 Individual boy (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-3 Individual boy (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-4 Individual boy (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-5 Individual boy (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-6 Individual boy (5" x 7" film).
145-7 Individual boy (5" x 7" glass plate).
145-8 Individual boy (5" x 7" glass plate).
145-9 Individual boy (5" x 7" glass plate).
145-10 Individual boy (5" x 7" glass plate).
145-11 Individual boy (5" x 7" glass plate).
145-12 Individual boy (5" x 7" glass plate).
145-13 Individual boy (5" x 7" glass plate).
145-14 Individual boy (5" x 7" glass plate).
145-15 Individual girl (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-16 Individual girl (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-17 Individual girl (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-18 Individual girl (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-18A Individual girl (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-19 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-20 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-21 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-22 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-23 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-24 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-25 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-26 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-27 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-28 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-29 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-30 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-31 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-32 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-33 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-34 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-35 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-36 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-37 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-38 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-39 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-40 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-41 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-42 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-43 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-44 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-45 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-46 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-47 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-527 Individual men (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-48 Individual men (5" x 7" film).
145-49 Individual men (5" x 7" film).
145-50 Individual men (5" x 7" film).
145-51 Individual men (5" x 7" film).
145-52 Individual men (5" x 7" film).
145-53 Individual men (5" x 7" film).
145-54 Individual men (5" x 7" film).
145-55 Individual men (5" x 7" film).
145-56 Individual men (5" x 7" film).
145-57 Individual men (5" x 7" film).
145-537 Individual men (5" x 7" film).
145-58 Individual men (5" x 7" glass plate).
145-59 Individual men (3½" x 5" glass plate).
145-60 Individual men (3½" x 5" glass plate).
145-496 Individual men (11" x 14" glass plate).
145-497 Individual men (11" x 14" glass plate).
145-525 Individual men (11" x 14" glass plate).
145-526 Individual men (11" x 14" glass plate).
145-530 Individual men (11" x 14" glass plate).
145-61 Individual women (8" x 10" film).
145-62 Individual women (8" x 10" film).
145-63 Individual women (8" x 10" film).
145-64 Individual women (8" x 10" film).
145-65 Individual women (8" x 10" film).
145-66 Individual women (8" x 10" film).
145-67 Individual women (8" x 10" film).
145-68 Individual women (8" x 10" film).
145-69 Individual women (8" x 10" film).
145-70 Individual women (8" x 10" film).
145-71 Individual women (8" x 10" film).
145-72 Individual women (8" x 10" film).
145-73 Individual women (8" x 10" film).
145-74 Individual women (8" x 10" film).
145-75 Individual women (8" x 10" film).
145-76 Individual women (8" x 10" film).
145-77 Individual women (8" x 10" film).
145-78 Individual women (8" x 10" film).
145-79 Individual women (8" x 10" film).
145-80 Individual women (8" x 10" film).
145-81 Individual women (8" x 10" film).
145-82 Individual women (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-83 Individual women (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-84 Individual women (8" x 10" glass plate).
148-85 Individual women (8" x 10" glass plate).
145-86 -
145-93 8" x 10" film.
145-94 -
145-207 8" x 10" glass plates.
145-208 -
145-215 5" x 7" glass plates.
145-216 -
145-224 8" x 10" film.
145-225 -
145-235,
145-529,
145-531 8" x 10" glass plates.
145-521 -
145-524 11" x 14" glass plates.
Index Terms
Moore, Frank B.
New Orleans (La.)—Views