MSS 166 - Ambrose / Pegasus Bridge Collection: Inventory

AMBROSE / PEGASUS BRIDGE COLLECTION

(Mss 166)

Inventory

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

 

Summary

 

 

Size:                           0.25 linear feet

 

Geographic

locations:                 Normandy

 

Inclusive dates:      1944

 

Summary:                 Original manuscript of Stephen E. Ambrose's Pegasus Bridge (New York: Simon & Schuster, 1985).  Includes emendations and typesetting instructions.

 

Related

collections:              Ambrose / Dwight D. Eisenhower Collection (Mss 153); Eisenhower Center Conference Collection (Mss 191); Ambrose / Dwight D. Eisenhower Collection, Addendum 1 (Mss 298)

 

Source:                     Gift, 1985

 

Access:                     No restrictions

 

Copyright:                Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.

 

Citation:                    Ambrose / Pegasus Bridge Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

 

 

Historical Note

 

            According to the dust jacket of Pegasus Bridge, "Pegasus Bridge was the first engagement of D-Day (during World War II).  The Allies knew that the bridges over the Orne River and the adjacent canal were the key to D-Day, and so did the Germans.  As the invasion loomed ever nearer in the spring of 1944, the Germans guarded the bridges day and night, prepared for their destruction at any moment.  This is the story of Major John Howard and the 181 troops under his command, whose task it was to seize Pegasus Bridge.  Landing in gliders in the early morning hours of June 6, 1944, within yards of the bridge itself, Howard's small detachment of British airborne troops stormed German defense forces and paved the way for the Allied invasion of Europe."

Container List

 

 

Box 1

 

166-1              Front matter.

 

166-2              Chapter 1.  "D-Day: 0000 to 0015 Hours."

 

166-3              Chapter 2.  "D-Day Minus Two Years."

 

166-4              Chapter 3.  "D-Day Minus One Year to D-Day Minus One Month."

 

166-5              Chapter 4.  "D-Day Minus One Month to D-Day."

 

166-6              Chapter 5.  "D-Day: 0016 to 0026 Hours."

 

166-7              Chapter 6.  "D-Day: 0026 to 0600 Hours."

 

166-8              Chapter 7.  "D-Day: 0600 to 1200 Hours."

 

166-9              Chapter 8.  "1200 to 2400 Hours."

 

166-10            Chapter 9.  "D-Day Plus One to D-Day Plus Ninety."

 

166-11            Chapter 10.  "D-Day Plus Three Months to D-Day Plus Forty Years."

 

166-12            Back matter.

Index Terms

 

Ambrose, Stephen E.

Normandy (France)—History

Pegasus Bridge

World War, 1939-1945—Campaigns—France—Normandy