Societa Italiana di Mutua Beneficenza Cefalutana di Nuova Orleans COLLECTION
Earl K. Long Library
University of New Orleans
Size: 1 linear foot
locations: New Orleans, La.
Inclusive dates: ca. 1906 – 1946
Summary: Records of the Societa Italiana di Mutua Beneficenza Cefalutana di Nuova Orleans, an organization composed of natives of Cefalu, Sicily and their descendants. Founded in1887, it was dedicated to meeting the medical and other needs of its members, including burial in the organizations tomb after 1921. (The society's tomb can be found in St. Louis III Cemetery on lots 15-18 between Blanc and Odin Avenues on the left side of the main street entrance). Includes newspaper clippings; seven bound ledgers, ca. 1912 - 1938, detailing finances, minutes of meetings and membership; constitution and bylaws, 1924; handwritten and typed correspondence a blueprint of the society's tomb; broadsides; certificates; and miscellany. A few items are of Sicilian origin.
collections Italian Clubs Collection (Mss 1); Italian Newspapers Collection (Mss 142)
Source: Gift, June 1985
Access: No restrictions
Copyright: Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.
Citation: Societa Italiana di Mutua Beneficenza Cefalutana di Nuova Orleans Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
172-1 monthly dues receipts, March 1, 1914 - January 1, 1942 (bd. vol.);
172-2 disbursements, including payments for medicine, doctors' bills, and burial costs, March 1914 - March 1936 (bd. vol.);
172-3 membership roster and record of individual dues, with addresses of members and in some instances dates of death or expulsion, May 1930 - December 1938 (bd. vol.);
172-4 minutes of monthly meetings, August 1912 - May 11, 1930 (bd. vol.);
172-5 collections and disbursements, August 1914 - March 1938 (bd. vol.);
172-6 receipts from individuals, January 1922 - January 1923 (bd. vol.);
172-7 disbursements, including medical and burial expenses, March 1914 - October 1935 (bd. vol.).
172-8 Constitution, 1924.
172-9 Pharmacy bills with monthly charges itemized by individuals, November 1935 - March 1936.
172-10 Roster and dues, October (1925?).
172-11 Correspondence, primarily to and from Rosa Verderaime, president of ladies auxiliary of the society, 1926 - 1938; some n.d.
172-12 List of special donations, 1918.
172-13 Miscellany consisting of blueprint of society's tomb; League of Nations pamphlet concerning Ethiopian atrocities; photograph of Rivadavia Hospital, 1906; clipping, n.d.; broadsides celebrating society's 50th anniversary.
172-14 Comitato Pro Difensa Civile de Cefalu. List of donors and contributions, n.d.; clipping, n.d.; correspondence, 1918; certificate, 1918. For additional material see Correspondence, 172-11.
172-15 Comitato dell'Unione Democratic Liberale (Cefalu, Sicily). Certificates, October 13, 1918.
172-0 Newspapers (whole and partial issues):
28 Alexandria Daily Town Talk, Alexandria, La. March 19, 1946;
Catholic Action of the South, Alexandria edition, March 14, 1946.
Corriere D'America, New York, December 18, 1932, October 3, 1935;
Il Messagero, New Orleans, January 9, 1934, June 1, 1935, August 14, 1937, March 26, 1938;
New Orleans Item, February 23, 1946;
The Times-Picayune New Orleans States, "Young People's Paper," October 22, 1933*;
La Voce Coloniale, New Orleans, September 7, 1918, November 25, 1933*, June 9, 1934, February 5, April 9, 30, 1938*, February 3, 1945*.
*Because the library possesses microfilm copies of issues for these dates, the originals from this collection were discarded. In addition to the microfilm copy, original issues of La Voce Coloniale for these dates are located in the department's Italian Newspaper Collection, Accession 142.
Societa Italiana di Mutua Beneficenza Cefalutana di Nuova Orleans
Voce Coloniale, La