MSS 226 - K. Raeburn Miller Collection: Inventory

K. Raeburn Miller COLLECTION

(Mss 226)

Inventory

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

 

Summary

 

 

Size:                           114 linear feet

 

Geographic

locations:                             Primarily New Orleans, La.

 

Inclusive dates:     

 

Summary:                 Records and personal papers produced or gathered together by K. Raeburn in the course of his career as poet, English professor, and academic administrator.  Includes clippings, correspondence, audio tape recordings, and other miscellany.

 

Related

collections:              University of New Orleans Archives (Mss 159)

 

Source:                     Gift, June 1991

 

Access:                                 No restrictions

 

Copyright:                Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.

 

Citation:                    K. Raeburn Miller Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

 

Biographical Note

 

            K. Raeburn Miller was born to Kleber C. Miller and Peggy Dubose Miller on October 20, 1934, in Austin, Texas.  He received a Bachelor of Arts degree, with highest honors, from the University of Texas at Austin in 1956, a Master of Arts degree from the University of Iowa in 1958, and a Master of Fine Arts degree from the University of Iowa in 1960.  In 1960 he joined the Department of English at Louisiana State University in New Orleans (now the University of New Orleans).  Miller served as acting chairman of that department in 1975 and 1978-1979, and as chairman of the department in 1979-1982.  He also served the University of New Orleans as associate dean of the Graduate School, 1984-1990.  He was the author of two collections of poems, The Comma After Love (University of Akron Press, published posthumously in 1994) and Millenary (New Orleans Poetry Journal Press, 1986), and of individual poems published widely in various journals.  Miller died in New Orleans on September 6, 1990, of a stroke.  He was buried in Austin, Texas.

 

Sources include: Death notice, New Orleans Times-Picayune, September 9, 1990.

Container List

The collection has not been processed.

Index Terms

 

American poetry—20th century

American poetry—Louisiana

English language—Study and teaching—Louisiana

English literature—Study and teaching--Louisiana

Miller, K. Raeburn

University of New Orleans—Faculty