Inventory - MSS 244 - Beatrice Rodriguez Owsley Collection - Library Guides at University of New Orleans

BEATRICE RODRIGUEZ OWSLEY COLLECTION

(Mss 244)

Inventory

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

July 2006

Summary

Size: 4 linear feet

Geographic

Locations: New Orleans, La.

Inclusive Dates: 1986-1996

Summary: Oral history project conducted with members of the local Hispanic community as well as Anglo New Orleanians who work with Hispanics. Includes materials which were donated to the University at the time of the interviews, as well as material collected by the interviewer on the local Hispanic community. Files on interviewees include photographs, correspondence, transcripts, miscellany. Some transcripts by University of New Orleans students were added ca. 1999.

Related

Collections: Beatrice Rodriguez Owsley Collection (Mss 268) contains audiotape cassette copies of the interviews. Also Carnival Interamericano (Latino) Collection (Mss 227)

Source: Created by Beatrice Rodriguez Owsley, Associate Archivist; inventory initially compiled May 1995

Access: Restrictions are indicated on inventory guide.

Copyright: Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.

Citation: Beatrice Rodriguez Owsley Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

List of Series and Subseries

Series I. Interviews

Series II. Research Material Collected on the Hispanic Community in New Orleans

Subseries II.1. Miscellaneous Subject Files

Subseries II.2. Newspaper Clippings Arranged by Subject

Subseries II.3. Newspapers and Magazines

Container List

Series I. Interviews

244-1 Agurcia, Alba Luz.

Homemaker and civic activist, formerly of Honduras. Interview conducted in Spanish on January 12, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-1.

File includes transcripts in Spanish and in English, correspondence, newspaper clippings, 7 snapshots of an annual Nativity display initiated by interviewee, a medal, and a stamped image of the Virgin of Suyapa, the Patron Saint of Honduras.

1975, 1987-95

244-2 Agurcia, T. Argentina.

Accountant and co-owner of Suyapa, Inc., an accounting firm, formerly of Honduras. Interview conducted in Spanish on July 25, 1991. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-2.

File includes correspondence, vita, and photograph of T. Argentina Agurcia.

1991

244-3 Almaguer, Amaury.

Co-editor of Aqui New Orleans, formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in Spanish on April 4, 1989. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-3.

File includes correspondence, newspaper clippings, and photographs of Almaguer.

1989-1994

244-4 Almaguer, Imara.

Co-editor of Aqui New Orleans formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in English on September 16, 1987. Two 60-minute audiocassettes of the interview located in Mss. 268-4.

File includes a transcript in English, correspondence, and business cards.

1987

244-5 Alvarez, Andres, Rev.

Faculty member, Universidad de las Americas, Puebla, Mexico and a Mexican national. Interview conducted in Spanish on October 5, 1993. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-5.

File includes correspondence.

1993

244-6 Ardon, Norma.

Vice President of United Way, and formerly of Guatemala. Interview conducted in English on February 18, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-6.

File includes a transcript in English, correspondence, and a snapshot of Norma Ardon.

1987

244-7 Arminana, Ruben.

President of Somona State University and formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in English on April 20, 1993. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-7.

File includes a transcript in English, correspondence, newspaper clipping, and snapshots of Ruben Arminina and his wife, Marni Arminina.

1993

244-8 Arminana, Tuly.

Foreign Affairs Coordinator, Ochsner Clinic and formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in English on November 28, 1986. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-8.

File includes a transcript in English, correspondence, newspaper clipping, a copy of Ochsner Report, Vol. 7, No. 2, Fall, 1986.

1986

244-9 Barreneche, Maria Nicholls.

Orleans Parish School Board, Teacher, English as a Second Language, formerly of Colombia, South America. Interview conducted in English on November 10, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-9.

File includes correspondence, and a snapshot of Maria Barreneche.

1987

244-10 Barthelemy, Sidney J.

Former Mayor of New Orleans and a New Orleanian. Interview conducted in English on September 5, 1990. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-10.

File includes a transcript in English, correspondence, newspaper clipping, a snapshot of Barthelemy and copies of the following pamphlets: What Is The Louisiana International Commerce Center? and New Orleans Citywide Development Corporation.

1990

244-11 Bencomo, Concepcion.

Social worker with Latin American Apostolate and formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in Spanish on February 19, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-11.

File includes correspondence, and a snapshot of Concepcion Benecomo.

1987

244-12 Bergen, Margarita.

Owner, Bergen Gallery and formerly of the Dominican Republic. Interview conducted in English on June 23, 1987. Two 60-minute audiocassettes of the interview located in Mss. 268-12.

File includes a biography and photographs of Margarita Bergen, correspondence, newspaper clippings, a copy of the pamphlet, Christmas in New Orleans, 1988.

1987-1988

244-13 Blassini, Ediberto.

Chemist, Tulane University and formerly of Puerto Rico. Interview conducted in English on August 2, 1988. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-13.

File includes correspondence, a copy of Community Education Programs, Summer 1988 and a snapshot of Blassini.

1988

244-14 Botero, Soffy.

Physician and formerly of Colombia, South America. Interview conducted in Spanish on May 13, 1987. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-14.

File includes correspondence, and photographs of Soffy Botero.

1987

244-15 Buras, Lulu.

Owner of beauty spas and formerly of Costa Rica. Interview conducted in Spanish on October 13, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-15.

File includes correspondence, a newspaper clipping and a photograph of Lulu Buras.

1987

244-16 Bustamente, Norma.

Dental technician, early organizer of Mensaje festival, and formerly of Nicaragua. Interview conducted in Spanish, on February 5, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-16.

File includes transcripts in Spanish and English, correspondence, and a snapshot of Norma Bustamente.

1987

244-110 Canales, Jessica.

Formerly of Honduras and an honors student at UNO.

She won the title of Senorita Unidad Hispanoamericana at the annual Unidad Hispanoamericana event held on March 30, 1996 in New Orleans. Interview conducted in English, on April 22, 1996. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-110.

File includes a photograph of Jessica Canales and newspaper clipping.

1996

244-17 Carreras, A. P.

Manager, Latin American and Caribbean Affairs, Port of New Orleans, formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in English on August 23, 1990. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-17.

File includes correspondence, a photograph of Carreras, and a magazine clipping.

1990

244-18 Chavarri, Ruperto J.

Head, Louisiana International Trade Center, University of New Orleans, and formerly of Spain. Interview conducted in English on August 31, 1988. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-18.

File includes handouts provided at conference on international commerce held June 26, 1987, newspaper clipping, photographs of Chavarri, and pamphlets on the center and on small business development. Copies of 1986-1987 Louisiana Exporting Guide and Directory and Developing International Trade in the Hispanic Business Community Through the Louisiana International Trade Center Program are also in the file.

1987-1988

244-19 Cortez, Carmen.

Receptionist at husband's medical office, and formerly of Costa Rica. Interview conducted in Spanish on February 17, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-19.

File includes correspondence, and a snapshot of Carmen Cortez.

1987

244-20 Cortizas, Felipe.

Student, University of New Orleans and a native New Orleanian. Interview conducted in English on March 27, 1989. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-20.

File includes correspondence and a snapshot of Felipe Cortizas.

1989

244-21 Cortizas, Nancy.

Restauratuer, Liborio Restaurant and formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in Spanish on July 17, 1989, with commentary by husband, Jose Cortizas. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-21.

File includes correspondence, snapshots of Nancy and Jose Cortizas, a menu from Liborio Restaurant, and a translation (May 1999).

1989

244-22 Davis, Alicia.

Former secretary to Mayor of New Orleans, UNO graduate student and formerly of Honduras. Interview conducted in English on February 14, 1995. Two 60-minute audiocassettes of the interview located in Mss. 268-22.

File includes snapshot of Alicia Davis.

1995

244-23 Davis, John.

President, Baton Rouge Area Foundation, born in the United States. Interview conducted in English on June 27, 1991 in Baton Rouge. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-23.

File includes a photograph of John Davis, correspondence, questionnaire used by interviewer, and copies of Louisiana, A New Direction, and The South's Stake in the U.S.-Mexico FTA Negotiations, A Report Prepared by the Council of the Americas, May 1991.

1991

244-24 deBango, Angela.

Jefferson Parish Schools teacher, civic activist and formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in Spanish on August 4, 1987. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-24.

File includes a transcript in Spanish, a biographical sketch and snapshot of Angela deBango, newspaper clippings, programs of theatrical events sponsored by Cervantes Fundacion Hispanoamericana De Arte, and her obituary.

1987-1994

244-25 de Castro, Robert F.

Owner, Robert F. de Castro, Inc., and formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in English on February 10, 1989. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-25.

File includes a transcript in English, correspondence, pamphlets relating to his business and photographs of Robert F. de Castro.

1989

244-26 de la Fuente, Andre.

Student, University of New Orleans, President of LASA (Latin American Student Association) and formerly of Belize. Interview conducted in English on December 19, 1988. A 60-minute audiotape cassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-26.

File includes a snapshot of Andre de la Fuente and a handout from LASA.

1988

244-27 Febres, George.

Artist and formerly of Ecuador. Interview conducted in English on March 6, 1989. Two audiocassettes (a 90-minute and a 60-minute tape) of the interview located in Mss. 268-27.

File includes a transcript in English, correspondence, photographs of George Febres, newspaper clippings, announcement of a gallery showing, April 1 - May 3, 1989, and a copy of My Cousin The Saint: November 20-December 19, 1982, New Orleans: Contemporary Arts Center, 1982. An obituary is enclosed.

1982-1983, 1989, 1996

244-28 Fine, Nora.

Owner, Nora Fine Associates, and formerly of Nicaragua. Interview conducted in English on November 9, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-28.

File includes a transcript in English, correspondence, and a snapshot of Nora Fine.

1987

244-29 Foley, Jane.

Homemaker, civic activist and a New Orleanian. Interview conducted in English on February 26, 1988. Two 60-minute audiocassettes of the interview located in Mss. 268-29.

File includes questionnaire prepared by interviewer, correspondence, and a newspaper clipping.

1988

244-30 Gomez, George.

Owner, George Auto Parts and formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in English on February 2, 1989. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-30.

File includes a transcript in English, correspondence, and questionnaire prepared by interviewer.

1989

244-31 Gonzalez, Lourdes Pascual.

Student, University of New Orleans and formerly of Cuba. Selected as "Senorita Unidad Hispanoamericana, 1994." Interview conducted in English on May 17, 1994. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-31.

File includes newspapers and magazine clippings.

1994

244-32 Guichard, Julio.

Director of International Relations for the City of New Orleans and formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in English on February 20, 1995. A 120-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-32.

File includes a transcript in English, correspondence, and a snapshot of Julio Guichard.

1995

244-33 Helling, Winston.

Owner, Aqua Power, manufacturer of marine parts, and formerly of Guatemala. Interview conducted in English on April 13, 1989. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-33.

File includes correspondence, snapshots of Winston Helling and miscellanea pertaining to Aqua Power.

1988-1989

244-34 Henao, Luis, Father

Head, Latin American Apostolate and formerly of Colombia, South America. Interview conducted in Spanish on July 9, 1987. Two 60-minute audiocassettes of the interview located in Mss. 268-34.

File includes newspaper clippings, correspondence, questionnaire, and transcripts in Spanish and English.

1987

244-35 Iglesias, Amalia.

Registered nurse and formerly of Guatemala. Interview conducted in English on November 2, 1988. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-35.

File includes correspondence and a snapshot of Amalia Iglesias.

1988

244-36 Iglesias, Luis.

Faculty member, Tulane University and formerly of Spain. Interview conducted in English on July 22, 1988. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-36.

File includes correspondence and a snapshot of Luis Iglesias.

1988

244-37 Indest, Greta Nelson.

Retired social worker and formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in English on February 4, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-37.

File includes a transcript, correspondence, and a snapshot of Greta Nelson Indest.

1987

244-38 Irizarry, Jannette.

Owner, Faxco and formerly of Puerto Rico. Interview conducted in English on March 20, 1988. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-38.

File includes a transcript in English, newspaper clipping, correspondence, and an obituary.

1988, 1989

244-39 Jerez, Laura.

Flamenco dancer and formerly of Guatemala. Interview conducted in English on February 25, 1991. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-39. (See also Mss. 227, Carnaval Interamericano (Latino) Collection)

File includes a transcript in English, newspaper clipping, and correspondence.

1989, 1991

244-40 Jimenez, Norma.

President, Master Plastics Corp., and formerly of Nicaragua. Interview conducted in Spanish on April 11, 1989. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-40.

File includes snapshot of Norma Jimenez, correspondence, and information on Master Plastics Corp.

1989

244-41 Kattan, David.

Immigration lawyer, businessman and formerly of Honduras. Interview conducted in English on March 13, 1991. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-4l.

File includes a transcript in English, snapshots of David Kattan and his wife, Thelma Foss Kattan, correspondence, photocopies concerned with Public Laws 99-602 and 101-649, and an obituary.

1991, 1995

244-42 Kiesling, Blanca.

Owner, Alice in Wonderland (children’s specialty store) and formerly of Nicaragua. Interview conducted in English on November 24, 1986. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-42.

File includes a snapshot of Blanca Kiesling and correspondence.

1986

244-43 Lampard, Catherine.

Immigration lawyer and a New Orleanian. Interview conducted in English on November 19, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-43.

File includes a transcript in English, questionnaire prepared by interviewer, a snapshot of and magazine article on Catherine Lampard, correspondence.

1987, 1994

244-44 Lindsey-Valdez, Lillia.

Clinical social worker and formerly of Mexico. Interview conducted in English on November 3, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-44.

File includes correspondence, a pamphlet on Louisiana social workers and a snapshot of Lillia Lindsey-Valdez.

1987

244-45 Llewellyn, Carmen.

Art gallery owner and formerly of Mexico. Interview conducted in English on October 3, 1987. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-45.

File includes correspondence, newspaper clipping, questionnaire prepared by interviewer, materials concerned with recent showing of artists Pedro Friedelberg and Jack Gates, and a snapshot of Carmen Llewellyn.

1987

244-46 Lombana, Marisol.

Owner, export-import firm and formerly of Panama. Interview conducted in Spanish on December 9, 1986. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-46.

File includes correspondence, and a newspaper clipping.

1986

244-47 Longoria, Salvador.

Lawyer, civic activist and formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in English on January 25, 1989. A 90-minute audiotape cassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-47.

File includes a transcript in English, correspondence, a photograph of and resume on Salvador Longoria, newspaper clippings.

1989

244-48 Lopez, Franklin.

Faculty member, University of New Orleans, and formerly of Ecuador. Interview conducted in English on October 21, 1988. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-48.

File includes snapshots of Franklin Lopez and a copy of his study entitled "Partnerships in Development Projects of Latin America: A New Approach to Louisiana's International Economic Relations.”

1987, 1988

244-49 Lovisa, Mario.

Owner of Mediterranean Tile Co., and a New Orleanian. Interview conducted in English on November 1, 1989. A 90-minute audiotape cassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-49.

File includes correspondence and a snapshot of Lovisa.

1989

244-50 Lowy, Maxine.

Free-lance writer, social activist, and a Louisianian. Interview conducted in English on May 14, 1987. Two 60-minute audiocassettes of the interview located in Mss. 268-50.

File includes a transcript, correspondence, questionnaire prepared by interviewer, a newspaper clipping, and a copy of "Hispanic Voter Registration Project of the Louisiana AFL-CIO," January, 1984.

1987

244-51 Lugo, Ernesto.

Manager, West Indies Agencies, Inc., and formerly of Venezuela. Interview conducted in English on March 30, 1989. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-51.

File includes a transcript in English, correspondence, and a snapshot of Ernesto Lugo.

1991

244-52 McElwee, Hilda.

Retired, former secretary, Office of International Relations, City of New Orleans and formerly of Ecuador. Interview conducted in English on January 26, 1987. Two 90-minute audiocassettes of the interview located in Mss. 268-52.

File includes correspondence, a snapshot of Hilda McElwee, and a copy of the questionnaire prepared by the interviewer.

1987

244-53 Maldonado, Hector.

Sports announcer for the New Orleans Zephyr Baseball Team, salesman for Home Improvement Company and formerly of Puerto Rico. Interview conducted in English on July 29, 1993. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-53.

File includes correspondence, a photograph of Hector Maldonado, promotional material on a forthcoming Puerto Rican cultural event, and a newspaper clipping.

1993

244-54 Marinovic, Nancy.

Owner, Enplanar, an architectural firm, and formerly of Bolivia. Interview conducted in English on January 15, 1987. A 90 minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-54.

File includes a transcript in English, correspondence, handouts provided at a Latino Conference, photographs of Nancy Marinovic, a business card, and a newspaper clipping.

n.d., 1986-1988, 1990, 1994

244-55 Mayorga, Christian.

Doctor, formerly of Nicaragua. Interview conducted in English on September 7, 1988. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-55.

File includes a snapshot of Christian Mayorga, his business card, newspaper clippings.

1986, 1988, 1991

244-56 Mazier, Carlos.

Optometrist, president of International Lions Club in New Orleans, Carrollton Section, and formerly of Honduras. Interview conducted in Spanish on August 12, 1991. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-56.

File includes correspondence, publications produced by the Lions Club, a snapshot of Carlos Mazier, and a business card.

1991

244-57 Menes, Pupi.

Musician, formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in English on May 27, 1991. A 90-minute audiotape cassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-57. (See also Mss. 227, Carnaval Interamericano (Latino) Collection.)

File includes correspondence.

1991

244-58 Miranda, Angel.

Owner, Altamira Restaurant, and formerly of Spain. Interview conducted in English on March 28, 1989. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-58.

File includes a transcript in English, correspondence, a menu from Altamira Restaurant, photographs of Angel Miranda, and a newspaper clipping.

1989, 1991

244-59 Molina, Luz Maria.

Lawyer, formerly of Colombia. Interview conducted in English on March 24, 1987. A portion of the 60-minute audiocassette of the interview has been restricted.

File includes a transcript in English, correspondence, and newspaper clippings.

1983, 1987

244-60 Montenegro, Aurelio.

Owner, Nu-Glo Car Wash, formerly of Nicaragua. Interview conducted in English on April 13, 1989. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-60.

File includes correspondence and his business card.

1989

244-61 Montenegro, Orlando.

Lawyer, formerly of Nicaragua. Interview conducted in English on July 27, 1988. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-61.

File includes correspondence and a snapshot of Orlando Montenegro.

1988

244-62 Morales, Beatriz.

Anthropologist, formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in English on September 26, 1987. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-62.

File includes correspondence, and a snapshot of Beatriz Morales.

1987

244-63 Muller, G. Bill.

Retired, former pilot, U.S. Marine Corps and formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in English on September 14, 1988. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-63.

File includes correspondence and a snapshot of Bill Muller.

1988

244-64 Murphy, Philip.

English teacher, Latin American Apostolate, born in the United States. Interview conducted in English on April 8, 1987. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-64.

File includes correspondence and a snapshot of Brother Philip Murphy.

1987

244-65 Nadas, Giorgina "Gina."

Travel agent, formerly of Venezuela. Interview conducted in English on June 25, 1987. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-65.

File includes correspondence, a snapshot of Gina Nadas, pamphlets from Experience Travel, Inc., her business card, and a copy of The Voice of Experience, Vol. 1, No. 2, Summer 1988.

1987, 1988

244-66 Napoles, Luz.

Homemaker, formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in Spanish on February 5, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-66.

File includes correspondence, a snapshot of Luz Napoles, and a transcript (May 1999).

1987

244-67 Nardi, Norberto.

Owner, Architram Design Group, formerly of Argentina. Interview conducted in English on July 20, 1988 and on July 26, 1988. Two 60-minute audiocassettes of interviews located in Mss. 268-67. Side 1 of the interview for July 20, 1988 was obliterated in the process of duplication.

File includes correspondence, a profile of Architram Design Group, a handout advertising an upcoming Argentinean event, snapshots of Norberto Nardi, newspaper clippings.

1984, 1986, 1988, 1989

244-68 Nodal, Adolfo V.

Executive Director, Contemporary Arts Center, formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in English on July 26, 1988. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-68.

File includes correspondence, vita, his business card, a snapshot of Adolfo Nodal, and newspaper clippings.

1981, 1985, 1986, 1988, 1989

244-69 Nuiry, Octavio.

Journalist, formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in English on July 22, 1988. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-69.

File includes a transcript in English, correspondence, a snapshot of Octavio Nuiry, and copies of articles by Nuiry.

n.d., 1988, 1989

244-70 Nuñez, Pedro, Father.

Head of Mensaje, a communications program sponsored by the Archdiocese of New Orleans and formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in Spanish on March 5, 1987. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-70.

File includes two transcripts in Spanish, correspondence, a copy of the magazine Mensaje, June/July 1987, handouts advertising an upcoming Mensaje Festival, a snapshot of Father Pedro Nuñez, a snapshot of Mensaje staff members, and newspaper clippings.

1976, 1986-1991

244-71 Olmedo, Miguel, The Rev.

Language Missions Coordinator, Baptist Association of Greater New Orleans and formerly of Panama. Interview conducted in Spanish on July 7, 1988. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-71.

File includes correspondence, pamphlets generated by the Baptist Association, a snapshot of Miguel Olmedo, and a newspaper clipping.

1987, 1988

244-73 Pedrosa, Betty.

Homemaker and civic activist, formerly of Colombia. Interview conducted in Spanish on April 13, 1987. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-73.

File includes two transcripts in Spanish and one in English, correspondence, and a snapshot of Betty Pedrosa.

1987

244-72 Penalosa, Susana Breaux Hurtate.

Owner, export-import firm, formerly of Mexico. Interviews conducted in English on December 16, 1986 and on May 16, 1989. Two 90-minute audiocassettes of interviews located in Mss. 268-72.

File includes correspondence, a transcript in English, a handout advertising a upcoming conference of The Americas Group, photographs of Susana Penalosa, and a newspaper clipping.

1986-1987, 1991

244-74 Pomar, Juana.

Homemaker, formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in Spanish on February 5, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-74.

File includes correspondence and a snapshot of Juana Pomar.

1987

244-75 Ponce de Leon, Lisa.

Head, Encuentro Inc., an international business matchmaker and trade exposition company, and a Louisianan. Interview conducted in English on January 6, 1993. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-75. (See also "Encuentro" under "Newspaper Clippings" and interview with Alejandro Rostran.)

File includes correspondence, pamphlets on Encuentro ’92, a business card and a newspaper clipping and questionnaire prepared by the interviewer.

1992

244-76 Pope, Lilliam Machado Zayas.

Deputy Director, Department of Utilities, City of New Orleans and formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in English on January 8, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-76.

File includes correspondence, a snapshot of Lilliam Pope, newspaper clippings, and a pamphlet on the Americas Group.

1987

244-77 Quintanilla, Julio.

Artist, muralist and Mexican. Interview conducted in Spanish on September 11, 1990. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-77.

File includes a transcript in Spanish, correspondence, newspaper clippings, biographical material on Quintanilla and information concerned with his mural, "Imagenes de los Tropicos" which is located at the Riverfront Floodwall in New Orleans.

1990

244-78 Reyes Gene F., III.

Transportation Superintendent, Louisiana Power & Light Company, former President of both the Latin American Chamber of Commerce and the Hispanic Chamber of Commerce. He was born in Galveston, Texas. Interview conducted in English on September 11, 1990. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-78.

File includes correspondence, newspaper clipping on the Caribbean Basin Initiative, material on the Latin American Chamber of Commerce, and photographs of Gene Reyes.

n.d., 1990s

244-79 Reyes, Raul.

Physician and formerly of Honduras. Interview conducted in English on November 2, 1988. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-79.

File includes correspondence, a snapshot of Reyes, a curricula vita, and newspaper clippings.

1988

244-80 Reynard, Juan.

Honduran, former president of the Latin American Studies Association (LASA) at the University of New Orleans. Interview conducted in English on October 19, 1988. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-80.

File includes a snapshot of Juan Reynard, a LASA handout and correspondence.

1988

244-8l Ricco, Concepcion.

Receptionist with Project Ayuda, National Association for Hispanic Elderly, and formerly of Honduras. Interview conducted in Spanish on May 22, 1991. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-81.

File includes transcripts in Spanish and English, a snapshot of Concepcion Ricco, correspondence, magazine articles, and photocopies of awards received in recognition of her work in social services.

1991

244-82 Ridley, Joan, Sister.

Lawyer, head of Eucharistic Missionaries of St. Dominic and born in the United States. Interview conducted in English on November 23, 1988. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-82.

File includes snapshot of Sister Joan Ridley and members of the sanctuary movement in New Orleans, typescript material as well as newspaper articles on the sanctuary movement and correspondence.

1988-89

244-83 Rodriguez, Rafaela de.

Retired educator and formerly of Honduras. Interview conducted in Spanish on February 2, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-83.

File includes a transcript in Spanish (1999), a snapshot of Rafaela de Rodriguez, correspondence, and an obituary.

1987, 1991

244-84 Rodriguez, Rose.

Teacher, Jefferson Parish Public Schools and formerly of Puerto Rico. Interview conducted in English on October 28, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-84.

File includes a snapshot of Rose Rodriguez, correspondence, and a newspaper clipping.

1987

244-85 Romero, Manuel.

Retired music teacher with New Orleans Public Schools and born in the United States. Interview conducted in English on October 30, 1987. Two 90-minute audiocassettes of the interview may be located in 268-85.

File includes a transcript in English, correspondence, written reminiscences by Romero, a magazine article, and snapshots of Romero and his sister, Lupe.

1987

244-86 Rostran, Alejandro.

Businessman, former director of Caribbean Basin Program and Encuentro New Orleans. Interview conducted in English on August 28, 1988. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-86. (See also "Encuentro" in "Newspaper Clippings" and interview with Lisa Ponce de Leon.)

File includes a snapshot of and resume on Alejandro Rostran, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and typescript material on Encuentro New Orleans.

1988

244-87 Rubio, Gloribel.

Director of Ecumenical Immigration Services and formerly of Nicaragua. Interview conducted in English on December 5, 1986. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-87.

File includes a snapshot of Gloribel Rubio, correspondence, and material on Ecumenical Immigration Services. 1986

244-88 Sampson, Martha.

Researcher, Endocrine Polypeptide and Cancer Institute, Veterans Administration Medical Center in New Orleans, volunteer in local Catholic youth group, and formerly of Nicaragua. Interview conducted in English on December 11, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-88.

File includes correspondence.

1981

244-89 Sanchez, Alfredo.

Director, Project Ayuda, National Association for Hispanic Elderly and formerly of Nicaragua. Interview conducted in English on July 9, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-89.

File includes a folder describing the association.

1987

244-90 Santos, Marianela "Nelly."

Coordinator of Hispanic programs with the Committee on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse for Greater New Orleans and with the New Orleans Substance Abuse Clinic and formerly of Puerto Rico. Interview conducted in English on April 6, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-90.

File includes a transcript in English, correspondence, a snapshot of Nelly Santos, and material concerned with her social service work.

1983, 1987

244-91 Scortino, Esperanza Ferretjans.

Former Assistant to the Governor of Louisiana for Hispanic Affairs, Chairman of the Governor's Hispanic American Affairs Commission, and of Spain. Interview conducted in English on January 23, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-91.

File includes snapshots of Esperanza Scortino, her vita, related material, and correspondence.

1987

244-92 Schweikert, Ernesto.

Owner, Radio Station KGLA and AABA Tours, a travel agency, formerly of Guatemala. Interview conducted in Spanish on September 26, 1991. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-92.

File includes a newspaper clipping and snapshots of Ernesto Schweikert.

1991

244-93 Servilla, Delia.

Secretary and formerly of Nicaragua. Interview conducted in English on November 29, 1986. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-93.

File includes a snapshot of Delia Servilla and correspondence.

1986

244-94 Steddon, Ricarda.

Beautician and formerly of Honduras. Interview conducted in Spanish on February 5, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-94.

File includes transcripts in Spanish and English and a snapshot of Steddon.

1987

244-95 Stephenson, Maria.

Lawyer and formerly of Colombia. Interview conducted in English on November 5, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-95.

File includes a snapshot of Maria Stephenson and correspondence.

1987

244-96 Stevens, Myrna.

Teacher's aide, Louise S. McGehee School and formerly of Belize. Interview conducted in English on June 25, 1988. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-96.

File includes a snapshot and correspondence.

1988

244-97 Torres, Bella.

Owner, El Sol Factory and formerly of Honduras. Interview conducted in English on January 28, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-97.

File includes photographs of Bella Torres and of her tortilla factory, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and calendars, pens, and a key chain used in promoting her products.

1987

244-98 Torres, Zoila.

Secretary and formerly of Honduras. Interview conducted in Spanish on November 30, 1986. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-98.

File includes a snapshot of Zoila Torres and correspondence.

1986

244-99 Treadway, Joan.

Reporter with New Orleans Times-Picayune and born in the United States. Interview conducted in English on January 18, 1988. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-99.

File includes a transcript in English, a snapshot of Joan Treadway, newspaper clippings and correspondence.

1988

244-100 Vallejo, Alba.

Spanish high school teacher and formerly of Nicaragua. Interview conducted in Spanish on August 24, 1990. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-100.

File includes transcripts in Spanish and English.

1990

244-101 Vazquez, David.

Student at the University of New Orleans, and performer with Ritmo Caribeno, a local musical group, and a New Orleanian. Interview conducted in English on May 29, 1991. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-101. (See also Mss. 227, Carnaval Interamericano (Latino) Collection.)

File includes a snapshot of David Vazquez.

1991

244-102 Vazquez, Jose "Pepe."

Owner, Vazquez Super Market, musician, founder of Ritmo Caribeno, and formerly of Cuba. Interview conducted in Spanish on February 18, 1991 and May 28, 1991. Two 90-minute audiocassettes of the interviews located in 268-102.

File includes snapshots of Jose Vazquez and correspondence.

1991

244-103 Vega, Lourdes.

Retired secretary and formerly from Panama. Interview conducted in English on January 16, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-103.

File includes a snapshot of Lourdes Vega, correspondence, and a newsletter issued by Elderhostels.

1987

244-104 Villa, Mario.

Artist, furniture designer and gallery owner, formerly of Nicaragua. Interview conducted in English on February 9, 1989. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-104.

File includes snapshots of Mario Villa, correspondence, and magazine articles on his career.

1989

244-105 Vitrella, Maria de los Angeles.

Assistant publisher of Internacional and formerly of Mexico. Interview conducted in English on July 12, 1987. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-105.

File includes a snapshot of Maria de los Angeles Vitrella and her daughter, correspondence, and copies of Internacional.

1987

244-106 Ward, Maria.

Affiliated with the United States Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census and formerly of Honduras. Interview conducted in English on August 18, 1988. Two 60-minute audiocassettes of the interview located in 268-106.

File includes a snapshot of Maria Ward, correspondence, and information on the Census of 1990.

1988

244-109 Zeron, Mario.

Businessman, owner of Destinations Inc., civic activist and formerly of Honduras. Interview conducted in English on July 20, 1995. A 60-minute audiocassette of the interview located in Mss. 268-109.

File includes correspondence, and a newspaper clipping.

1995

244-107 Zeron, Sandra.

Homemaker, volunteer in Mensaje program and formerly of Costa Rica. Interview conducted in English on January 17, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-107.

File includes a snapshot of Sandra Zeron and correspondence.

1987

244-108 Zuniga, Dora.

Director of Latin American Apostolate and formerly of Costa Rica. Interview conducted in English on January 8, 1987. A 90-minute audiocassette of the interview located in 268-108.

File includes a snapshot of Dora Zuniga, correspondence, and newspaper clippings.

1987

Series II. Research Material Collected on the Hispanic Community in New Orleans

Subseries II.1. Miscellaneous Subject Files

244-111 Casa Nicholas

Newsletters and newspaper clippings

n.d., 1989-1993

244-111 Comite Organizador Del Festival Latinoamericana

Program of first Hispanic festival held in New Orleans.

1973

244-111 Correspondence - Former Governor Roemer's commentary on Latin American trade

Correspondence, press release, and the following reports: Louisiana - The Pan American Center: A Proposal for Symbiotic Relationships. Prepared for Governor Buddy Roemer at his request, 1990 and Closing the Business Gap With Latin America: A Strategic Action Plan For Louisiana. Prepared for Louisiana Pan American Commission Planning Committee and MetroVision.

1991

244-111 Directories of Hispanic Commercial, Professional and Services Available in Louisiana.

Directorio Comercial, Profesional y de Servicios de Louisiana

1988, 1989, 1991, 1992, 1995-1996

244-111 Handbills, Announcements, Programs

n.d., 1987-1993

244-111 Hispanic Apostolate (formerly Latin American Apostolate)

Newsletters, handbills, report on the Apostolate

n.d. 1983-1993

244-111 Hispanic Chamber of Commerce

Booklets, newsletters, reports

n.d., 1990s

244-111 Hispanic Clubs in New Orleans

Listings for 1979,1990

244-111 Hispanic Scholarship Foundation of La. Inc.

Pamphlet

n.d.

244-111 Honduran Foundation

Report and newspaper clippings.

ca. 1990s

244-111 Islenos

Report, Tour of St. Bernard Parish for the Louisiana Historical Society, and newspaper clippings.

n.d., 1990s

244-111 Louisiana Tax Free Shopping

Correspondence, statistics, newspaper clippings.

ca. 1990s

244-111 Republican National Hispanic Assembly in New Orleans

Pamphlets, booklets, invitations.

ca. 1988

244-112 Photographs

Forty-two photographs on the Latin American Community in New Orleans. Topics covered include Latin American Apostolate, Mensaje Festival, Hispanidad Festival, Port of New Orleans, Hispanic Baptist Community Leaders, Ex-Cuban Political Prisoners, Cervantes Fundacion Hispanoamericana de Arte, Hispanic Medical Association, Carnival Latino, Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, Spanish-American Business Association, National Republican Convention in New Orleans.

n.d., 1970s-1990s

Subseries II.2. Newspaper Clippings Arranged by Subject

244-112 Encuentro

Reference material on the annual trade match-making event held in New Orleans. (See also interviews with Lisa Ponce de Leon and Alejandro Rostran.)

1992-1995

Nuestro Pueblo

Weekly newspaper article on the local Hispanic community which appears in the New Orleans Times-Picayune.

244-112 1988-1993

244-113 1994-1996

Port of New Orleans

Newspaper articles on the port and its director.

244-113 1988-1995

Racial Composition in New Orleans Neighborhoods

Articles based on 1990 U.S. Census Report.

244-113 1991

Trade with Latin America

244-113 1989-1991

Subseries II.3. Newspapers and Magazines

Aqui New Orleans

244-113 1990 - June, July, September, October, November, December

1991 - April, June, August, November

1992 - February, June, September, October, November

1993 - January, February, March, April, September

244-114 1994 - March, April, May, August

1995 - May, June, September, October

Hispanic New Orleans

244-114 August 29, 1994, December 12, 1994

La Prensa

244-114 1995 - March, April, May, June, July, August, October, November, December

1996 - January, February, March, April, May, June, August, September, October

Mensaje

244-114 1987 - April/May

1988 - April/May

1996 - August/September

El Mensajero

244-114 1995 - February/March, September/October, November

Mundo Hispano

244-115 1991 - August

Que Pasa New Orleans

244-115 1986 - September, October, November, December

1987 - March, May, Aug, September, November

1988 - August

1989 - January, March, July

1990 - July, September, October, November, December

1991 - January, March, April, May, June, July, September, November

1992 - January/February, March, May/June, July/August, October/ November

1993 - January/February, March/April, May/June, September/ October

1994 - January/February, March/April

Index Terms

Agurcia, Alba Luz

Agurcia, T. Argentina

Almaguer, Amaury

Almaguer, Imara

Alvarez, Andres, Rev.

Ardon, Norma

Arminana, Ruben

Arminana, Tuly

Barreneche, Maria Nicholls

Barthelemy, Sidney J.

Bencomo, Concepcion

Bergen, Margarita

Blassini, Ediberto

Botero, Soffy

Buras, Lulu

Bustamente, Norma

Canales, Jessica

Carreras, A. P.

Chavarri, Ruperto J.

Cortez, Carmen

Cortizas, Felipe

Cortizas, Nancy

Davis, Alicia

Davis, John

deBango, Angela

de Castro, Robert F.

de la Fuente, Andre

Febres, George

Fine, Nora

Foley, Jane

Gomez, George

Gonzalez, Lourdes Pascual

Guichard, Julio

Helling, Winston

Henao, Luis, Father

Hispanic American businesspeople—Louisiana—New Orleans—Interviews

Iglesias, Amalia

Iglesias, Luis

Indest, Greta Nelson

Irizarry, Jannette

Jerez, Laura

Jimenez, Norma

Kattan, David

Kiesling, Blanca

Lampard, Catherine

Lindsey-Valdez, Lillia

Llewellyn, Carmen

Lombana, Marisol

Longoria, Salvador

Lopez, Franklin

Lovisa, Mario

Lowy, Maxine

Lugo, Ernesto

McElwee, Hilda

Maldonado, Hector

Marinovic, Nancy

Mayorga, Christian

Mazier, Carlos

Menes, Pupi

Miranda, Angel

Molina, Luz Maria

Montenegro, Aurelio

Montenegro, Orlando

Morales, Beatriz

Muller, G. Bill

Murphy, Philip

Nadas, Giorgina "Gina"

Napoles, Luz

Nardi, Norberto

Nodal, Adolfo V.

Nuiry, Octavio

Nuñez, Pedro, Father

Olmedo, Miguel, The Rev.

Pedrosa, Betty

Penalosa, Susana Breaux Hurtate

Pomar, Juana

Ponce de Leon, Lisa

Pope, Lilliam Machado Zayas

Quintanilla, Julio

Reyes Gene F., III

Reyes, Raul

Reynard, Juan

Ricco, Concepcion

Ridley, Joan, Sister

Rodriguez, Rafaela de

Rodriguez, Rose

Romero, Manuel

Rostran, Alejandro

Rubio, Gloribel

Sampson, Martha

Sanchez, Alfredo

Santos, Marianela "Nelly"

Scortino, Esperanza Ferretjans

Schweikert, Ernesto

Servilla, Delia

Steddon, Ricarda

Stephenson, Maria

Stevens, Myrna

Torres, Bella

Torres, Zoila

Treadway, Joan

Vazquez, David

Vazquez, Jose "Pepe"

Vega, Lourdes

Villa, Mario

Vitrella, Maria de los Angeles

Ward, Maria

Zeron, Mario

Zeron, Sandra

Zuniga, Dora

MSS 244 - Beatrice Rodriguez Owsley Collection: Inventory