Inventory - MSS 287 - Jean Lafitte National Historical Park Collection, Addendum 2 - Library Guides at University of New Orleans

JEAN LAFITTE NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK COLLECTION, Addendum 2

(Mss 187)

Inventory

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

August 1997

Summary

Size: 13 linear feet

Geographic

locations: Southern Louisiana

Inclusive dates:

Bulk dates:

Summary: Source materials collected by National Park Service to document historical and cultural aspects of Jean Lafitte National Historical Park.

Source: Deposit, 1986

Access: No restrictions

Copyright: Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.

Citation: Jean Lafitte National Historical Park Collection, Addendum 2, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

List of Series

Series I.. Materials pertaining to the film Zydeco (1980-1984).

Series II. Audiocassettes

Series III. Microfilms

Series IV. Publications

Series V. Photocopies of resource materials

Series VI. General files

Container List

Series I. Materials pertaining to the film Zydeco (1980-1984).

Subseries I.1: 35mm videotapes.

287-1 Zydeco: Creole Music and Culture in Rural Louisiana. Segments I, II, III; master tape Segment I: "Zydeco Clubs and Creole Culture Today" (18:30).

287-2 Zydeco. A roll video transfer #1. Contents not specified.

287-3 Zydeco. B roll video transfer #1. Contents not specified.

287-4 Zydeco. A roll video transfer #2. Contents not specified.

287-5 Zydeco. B roll video transfer #2. Contents not specified.

287-6 Zydeco. Master Safe Copy. Contents not specified.

Subseries I.2: U-matic (3/4") videotapes.

287-7 Zydeco: Creole Music and Culture in Rural Louisiana (56:00).

287-8,

287-9 Zydeco. Segment I: "Zydeco Clubs and Creole Culture Today" (18:30). 2 copies.

287-10,

287-11 Zydeco. Segment II: "Old Time Creole Culture: Work, Religion and Music" (15:30). 2 copies.

287-12,

287-13 Zydeco. Segment III: "Inseparable Friends: A Creole Social Club's Rituals and Festivals" (16:53). 2 copies.

Subseries I.3: 35mm films.

287-14 -

287-16 Zydeco. Unused footage. 3 reels.

287-17,

287-18 Zydeco. Sound master rolls C I, C II.

Subseries I.4: Slides and Photographs.

287-19 Color slides.

"Scenes from the Premieres of the film Zydeco." Eunice, Louisiana, June 17, 1983 (7 slides); Houston, Texas, December 6, 1984 (7 slides).

"Scences from the making of the film Zydeco (10 slides). All photos: N. Spitzer.

Contact sheets, black and white photographs, (4 sheets); photograph, black and white (1).

Subseries I.5: Videocassettes, Thom Wolf Film and Video, June 17, 1983.

287-20 Video from Eunice Premiere, raw footage #1.

287-21 Video from Eunice Premiere, raw footage #2.

287-22 Video from Eunice Premiere, raw footage #3.

Subseries I.6: Reel-to-Reel Audiotapes, 7½ IPS x TAL

287-23 Zydeco Narrative.

287-24 Zydeco Sound Roll #7.

Zydeco Sound Rolls.

287-25 "Roll 1, Tails, Steve Duplantier 'Zodico'; scenes 1-6, Delten at Factory Punching In, Catfishing, Tattooing, 13 Barbershop."

287-26 "Roll 2, Tail, 2/17/80."

287-27 "Zodico Sound Roll 3, Delafore Interview."

287-28 "Roll 4, Tail out, Dim interview."

287-29 "Roll 5, Tail, 2/18/80."

287-30 "Zodico Sound Roll II, Barbershop, Trucks (?) on Square."

287-31 "Zodico Sound Roll 5, Steve Duplantier, Mrs. Delafouse, Inseperable [sic] Friends Picnic."

287-32 #4 "Wild Ambiance (Inseperable [sic] Friends), BeBe Carriere, Winter Interview."

287-33 #6 "Zodico, Interview Leon Puillory and Norbert Auzenne," Tails, Mono 7 1/2 IPS x TAL.

287-34 #7 "Zodico, Continuation Interview With Leon and Norbert Auzenne, truck, church bells."

287-35 #8 "Slim's."

287-36 #10 "Music at BeBe Carriere's" Mono heads.

287-37 #12 "Interview BeBe Carriere, Ambiance Birds, Wild Truck at Country Church."

287-38 #1 "Wild Sound Church and Cemetary [sic], Sync, Mill Sync" Heads, November 12, 1982.

287-39 #2 "Wild Cane and Weeds, Sync I.F.B.S. Lodge" Heads November 12, 1982.

287-40 #3 "Interviews, Inseparable Friends" Heads.

287-41 #6 "BeBe Carriere Voice Over, Luke Collins Sync."

Series II. Audiocasettes.

"Black Creole," Spitzer

287-42 #1. "Founders Day August 13, 1983, Inseperable Friends Benevolent Society."

287-43 #2. Continuation of #1

287-44 #3. "Zydeco Fest (9-1-84), Award to Clifton Chenier; Interview with Sheriff Jr. Frilot- Plaisance, Louisiana."

287-45 #4. "Discussion prior to Duralde Mardi Gras 1980."

287-46 #5. "More Pre-Mardi Gras Interviews, Duralde 1980."

287-47 #6. "Discussion at Mardi Gras, Duralde, 1982."

287-48 #7. "Pre-Mardi Gras Duralde 1977 (2-21), Ms. Fontenot, Ms. Ardoin, Bois Sec Ardoin, Paul Thomas, Marceline Ardoin talks about women's roles and spiritual life, costume making."

287-49 #8. "Post Mardi Gras Interview with Russell and Delpin Ardoin, Duralde, 2-23-77, Mardi Gras music and house visit 2-22-77."

287-50 #9. "Eva Fontenot and men in Soileau react to slide of Mardi Gras (not an interv) 2-6-78."

287-51 #10. "Traiteur Armand Jean Guillory, 2-3-78, Oberlin, Louisiana; Mrs. 'B' Fontenot of Basile, 2-8-78, on voodoo, language use, ethnicity."

287-52 #11. "Alscious 'B-5' Fontenot lead; Clown in Mardi Gras Duralde 1978; Commentary on slides and kinfolk."

287-53 #12. "Int. with Club Owner Morris Ardoin; Interview with Delphin Ardoin, Duralde, 2-4-78; Alscious Fontenot and Family React to Slides, Talk about Marriage, Duralde 2-4-78."

287-54 #13. "Mardi Gras in Duralde, 2-7-78; Wilfred Latour Int. Lake Charles; Zydeco Musician 2-8-78."

287-55 #14. "Int. with Alphonse 'Bois Sec' Ardoin and Canray Fontenot in Atlanta, GA for Blues Fest, 1-21-84."

287-56 #15. "Int. with Edwin Victorian and Lucious Cezar, Soileau (11-17-84); Hist. of Local Creoles; Int. with Denus McGee (4-9-83)."

287-57 #16. "Panel on Zydeco Music, Houston, TX (12-2-84) Lorenzo Thomas (Mod.), Bud Jackson, Lonnie Mitchell, Nick Spitzer, Rockin' Sidney."

287-58 #17. "Int. with Delton Broussard, Creole Musician, Frilot Cove, 12-29-76 on Religion, Life, History, Music."

287-59 #18. "Int. with Musicians Walter Polite and Delton Harris in New Iberia 9-76, Language, Tales, Riddles; Bouki and Lapin Tales."

287-60 #19. "Musician Freman Fontenot Basile (11-29-76) Life, History, Music, etc."

287-61 #20. "Int. with Eddie Poullard Creole Musician Living in San Francisco (also Dewey Balfa) S.F. CA, 9-29-84."

287-62 #21. "Int. with Inez Catalon, Kaplan, 12-1-76 on Women's Singing and Color Classifications, Family History."

287-63 #22. "BeBe and Eraste Carriere, Lawtell, 11-13-76 Life, History, Music, etc."

287-64 #23. "Int. with Urban Creole Musician Hiram 'Lune' Sampy, Carencro, 11-18-76, Life, History, Music, Language, etc."

287-65 -

287-70 Six audiocassetttes, not labeled in any way. Possibly part of "black creole" series.

287-71 -

287-76 Zydeco 1/4" Dub rolls, (6 audiocassettes).

287-77 -

287-78 Cox Family Louisiana Folklife Festival, 6-26-84 (2 audiocassettes)

287-79 -

287-81 Robert Shaw and Bill Neely, 8-10-84 (3 audiocassettes)

287-82 Sonny Bourg and the Bayou Blues Band (1 audiocassette)

287-83 Chuck Nations and Deep River Boys (1 audiocassette)

287-84 La Bottine Souriante, samples from Y a ben du changement; Les espousailles (1 audiocassette).

287-85 Louis Joubert and the Cajun Cousin Band (1 audiocassette)

287-86 Accordian Music by Ursula Hodge, 9-8-94 (1 audiocassette)

287-87 James R. Masefield, tenor banjo (1 audiocassette)

287-88 Dewey Balfa and Friends, workshop 6-8-84

287-89 North Louisiana Folk Music Sampler collected by Susan Roach and John Ford, field recordings (1 audiocassette)

287-90 Demo for N.O. (New Orleans), (1 audiocassette)

287-91 Lesa Cormier, Homer LeJeune and the Sundown Playboys, recorded live 8-9-84 V.F.W. Sulphur, LA (1 audiocassette)

287-92 Terry Cormier & The Louisiana Aces [?] (1 audiocassette)

287-93 Jimmy Ball, Jane Ball, Bubby (?) Ball, Houck Family, Beavers, Rabon Tyler (1 audiocassette)

287-94 Daniel K. Womach (1 audiocassette and paper with notes)

287-95 Selected Commercial Recordings of Black American Religious Quartets 1926-1953 (1 audiocassette, not labeled with typewritten notes- 2 pages, Lynn Abbott, 8-27-83)

287-96 Dale Adams, I WAS THERE (1 audiocassette).

287-97 Ceili Creek (1 audiocassette).

Series III. Microfilm.

287-98 Derr, Lucille E. "The Administration of Estevan Miro in Louisiana, 1784-1791. . . ." (M.A. thesis)

287-99 Goodykoontz, Colin B. "Spanish Exploration of Louisiana and the Adjacent Borders of New Spain." (M.A. thesis)

287-100 Johnson, Roxana G. "Spanish Activities in the Louisiana Territory." (M.A. thesis, 1928, XCU 668)

287-101 McGlashan, Marian L. "Manuel Gayoso DeLemos, Govenor of Louisiana, 1797-1799." (M.A. thesis)

287-102 Yerxa, Dorothy I. "The Administration of Carondelet in Louisiana, with an Appendix of Original Documents." (M.A. thesis)

287-103 "Boas Collection of American Indian Linguistics: G 64; G6.6 Freeman Guide #734."

287-104 "Boas Collection of American Indian Linguistics: A7.2, G6.3, Freeman Guide #735."

287-105 "Boas Collection of American Indian Linguistics: G6.3, Freeman Guide #735 Continued."

287-106 "Michael G. Schene, Solicited Num. 800197."

Series IV. Publications and Photocopies of Publications.

287-107 Abel, Annie Heloise. "The History of Events Resulting in Indian Consolidation West of the Mississippi." In Annual Report of the American Historical Association for the Year 1906. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1908, p. 233-237. Photocopy.

287-108 Alden, John Richard. John Stuart and the Southern Colonial Frontier. New York: Gordian Press, 1966, p. 357-369. Photocopy.

287-109 Alvord, Clarence Walworth. "Eighteenth Century French Records in the Archives of Illinois." In Annual Report of the American Historical Association for the Year 1905, vol. 1, p. 353-366. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1906. Photocopy.

287-110 The American Indian: Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington: National Archives and Records Service, 1972. 2 copies.

287-111 Andreassen, John C. L. "Check List of Historical Records Survey and Survey of Federal Archives Publications for Louisiana." Louisiana Historical Quarterly 27 (1944). Photocopy.

287-112 Baillargeon, Noël. "The Seminary of Quebec: Resources for the History of the French in the Mississippi Valley." In The French in the Mississippi Valley, ed. John Francis McDermott. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1965, p. 197-207. Photocopy.

287-113 Baker, Steven G. "Cofitachique: Fair Province of Carolina History and Archaeology of the Carolina Indians." M.A. thesis, University of South Carolina, 1974.

287-114 Baker, Steven G. "The Working Draft of The Historic Catawba Peoples: Exporatory Perspectives in Ethnohistory and Archaeology." Columbia, S.C.: S. G. Baker, 1975.

287-115 Bannon, John Francis, ed. Bolton and the Spanish Borderlands. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1964. Table of contents and Chapter 9, "Cession of Louisiana and the New Spanish Indian Policy," p. 172-184. Photocopy.

287-116 Basso, Keith H. "Southwestern Ethnology: A Critical Review." Annual Review of Anthropology 2 (1973): 221-252. Photocopy.

287-117 Beatty, Willard W. Louisiana Educational Survey. Vol. IV, Section 9: "Education of Louisiana Indians." Baton Rouge: Louisiana Educational Survey Commission, 1942. Photocopy.

287-118 Beers, Henry Putney. The French in North America: A Bibliographical Guide to French Archives, Reproductions, and Research Missions. Chapter 1: "French Archives and American History." Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1957. Photocopy.

287-119 Beers, Henry Putney. Spanish & Mexican Records of the American Southwest. Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 1979.

287-120 Berry, Jane M. "Indian Policy of Spain in the Southwest, 1783-1795." Mississippi Valley Historical Review 3 (March 1917): 462-477. Photocopy.

287-121 Bon Temps: The Good Times Guide to Greater Baton Rouge 1.2 (June 16, 1983). Issue contains an article about Zydeco.

287-122 Bossu, Jean-Bernard. Travels in the Interior of North America, 1751-1762. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1962, p. 129-197. Photocopy.

287-123 Bouknight, Marie, et al. Guide to Records in the Military Archives Division Pertaining to Indian-White Relations. [Washington: General Services Administration, 1972]

287-124 Bourgeois, Henry L. "Four Decades of Public Education in Terrebonne Parish." M.A. thesis, Louisiana State University, 1938. Excerpt. Photocopy.

287-125 Brain, Jeffrey P. On the Tunica Trail. Baton Rouge: Louisiana Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, 1977. Photocopy.

287-126 Bureau of Governmental Research. Economic and Social Study. New Orleans: The Bureau, 1968. Photocopy.

287-127 Bureau of Governmental Research. Legal and Administrative Report. New Orleans: The Bureau, 1968. Photocopy.

287-128 Bureau of Governmental Research. New Orleans Central Business District Traffic Study. New Orleans: The Bureau, 1968. Photocopy.

287-129 Bureau of Governmental Research. Summary Report: Evaluation of the Effects of the Proposed Riverfront Expressway. New Orleans: The Bureau, 1968. Photocopy.

287-130 Bureau of Governmental Research. Technical Report on the Effects of the Proposed Riverfront Expressway. New Orleans: The Bureau, 1968. Photocopy.

287-131 Bureau of Governmental Research. Technical Report on the Environmental Survey. New Orleans: The Bureau, 1968. Photocopy.

287-132 Bushnell, David I. "The Choctaw of St. Tammany Parish." Louisiana Historical Quarterly (1917): 11-20. Photocopy.

287-133 Bushnell, David I. "Ethnology: Some New Ethnologic Data from Louisiana." Journal of the Washington Academy of Sciences 12 (July 19, 1922): 303-307. Photocopy.

287-134 Bushnell, David I. "Myths of the Louisiana Choctaw." American Anthropologist 12 (1910): 526-535. Photocopy.

287-135 Carmack, Robert M. "Ethnohistory: A Review of its Development, Definitions, Methods, and Aims." Annual Review of Anthropology 1 (1972): 227-246.

287-136 Chinard, Gilbert. L'Amérique et le rêve exotique dans la littérature Française au XVIIe et au XVIIIe siècle. Geneve: Slatkine Reprints, 1970. Excerpts. Photocopy.

287-137 Claiborne, William C. C. "A Talk from William C. C. Claiborne . . . to the Chief Head Men and Warriors of the Chactaw Nation." Official Letter Books of W.C.C. Claiborne, ed. Dunbar Rowland. Jackson, Miss.: State Department of Archives and History, 1917. Excerpt. Photocopy.

287-138 Cohen, Ronald. "Ethnicity: Problem and Focus in Anthropology." Annual Review of Anthropology 7 (1978): 379-401.

287-139 Crawford, Richard C., and Charles E. South. Guide to Records in the Civil Archives Division Pertaining to Indian-White Relations. Preliminary draft for National Archives Conference on Research in the History of Indian-White Relations, 1972.

287-140 D'Antoni, Blaise C. "The Church Records of North Louisiana." Louisiana History 15 (Winter 1974): 59-67. Photocopy.

287-141 Dart, Henry Plauché. "The Archives of Louisiana." Louisiana Historical Quarterly 2 (October 1919): 349-367. Photocopy.

287-142 Dorsey, J. Owen. "Address by James Owen Dorsey, Vice President, Section H: The Biloxi Indians of Louisiana." Proceedings of American Association for the Advancement of Science 42, (1893): 267-287. Photocopy.

287-143 Dorsey, J. Owen. "Two Biloxi Tales." Journal of American Folklore 6 (1983): 48-51. Photocopy.

287-144 Downes, Randolph C. "A Crusade for Indian Reform, 1922-1934." Mississippi Valley Historical Review 32 (December 1945): 331-354. Photocopy.

287-145 Downs, Ernest C. "How the East Was Lost." American Indian Journal vol. 1, no. 2 (1975): 6-10. Photocopy.

287-146 Downs, Ernest C., and Jenna Whitehead, eds. "The Houma Indians: Two Decades in a History of Struggle." American Indian Journal 2 (March 1976): 2-8. 2 photocopies.

287-147 Dreschsel, Emanuel Johannes. "Mobilian Jargon: Linguistic, Sociocultural, and Historical Aspects of an American Indian Lingua Franca." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Wisconsin--Madison, 1979.

287-148 Dyer, J. O. "The Lake Charles Atakapas (Cannibals) Period of 1817 to 1820." Galveston, Tex.: J. O. Dyer, 1917. Photocopy.

287-149 Eggan, Fred. "Historical Changes in the Choctaw Kinship System." American Anthropologist 39 n.s. (1937): 34-52. Photocopy.

Ethnohistory. American Society for Ethnnohistory.

287-150 Vol. 27, Number 1, Winter 1980.

Vol. 27, Number 2, Spring 1980.

Vol. 27, Number 3, Summer 1980.

Vol. 27, Number 4, Fall 1980.

287-151 Vol. 28, Number 1, Winter 1981.

Vol. 28, Number 2, Spring 1981.

Vol. 28, Number 3, Summer 1981.

Vol. 28, Number 4, Fall 1981.

287-152 Vol. 31, Number 1, 1984.

Vol. 31, Number 2, 1984.

Vol. 31, Number 3, 1984.

Vol. 31, Number 4, 1984.

287-153 Ethridge, Adele Nash. "Indians of Grant Parish." Louisiana Historical Quarterly 23 (1940): 1107-1131. Photocopy.

287-154 Fenton, William N. American Indian and White Relations to 1830: Needs & Opportunities for Study. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1957. Excerpts. Photocopy.

287-155 "A Film and Video Survey of Louisiana History and Culture." Cultural Vistas: 1985 edition. The Louisiana Humanities Resource Center of the Louisiana Committee for the Humanities.

287-156 Fischer, Ann. "History and Current Status of the Houma Indians." The American Indian Today, ed. Stuart Levine and Nancy Oestreich Lurie. Baltimore, Md.: Penguin Books, [196-?], p. 212-234. Photocopy.

287-157 Flores, Dan L. "The Red River Branch of the Alabama-Conshatta Indians: An Ethnohistory." Southern Studies 16 (1977): 55-72. Photocopy.

287-158 "Gage to O'Reilly, November 18, 1769"; "Spain in the Mississippi Valley, 1765-1794"; and "Juzan to Ezpeleta, February 19, 1781." Annual Report of the American Historical Association for the Year 1945. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1949. Photocopy.

287-159 Gilbert, William Harlen. "Surviving Indian Groups of the Eastern United States." Annual Report of the Board of Regents of the Smithsonian Institution for the Year Ended June 30, 1948. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1949, p. 407-458. Photocopy.

287-160 Goss, Charles Wayne. "The French and the Choctaw Indians, 1700-1763." Ph.D. dissertation, Texas Tech University, 1977. Photocopy.

287-161 Gosselin, Amédée. "Les Sauvages du Mississipi, (1698-1708)." Proceedings of the International Congress of Americanists, No. 15, vol. 1, 1906, p. 29-51. Photocopy.

287-162 Gregory, Hiram F. Excavations: 1979; Presidio Nuestra Senora Del Pilar De Los Adaes. Baton Rouge: Louisiana Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, 1980.

287-163 Gregory, Hiram F. "Jena Band of Louisiana Choctaw." American Indian Journal 3 (February 1977): 2-16. Photocopy.

287-164 Gregory, H. F.; H. K. Curry; and J. L. McCorkle. Natchitoches Parish Cultural and Historical Resources: History. Natchitoches, LA: Natchitoches Parish Planning Commission, 1979.

287-165 Grossman, Larry. "Man-Environment Relationships in Anthropology and Geography." Annuals of the Association of American Geographers 67 (March 1977): 126-144. Photocopy.

287-166 Guide to Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs in the Archives Branches of the Federal Records Centers. Compiled by Staff of the Archives Branches. Preliminary draft for the National Archives Conference on Research in the History of Indian-White Relations, 1972.

287-167 Haas, Mary R. "Men's and Women's Speech in Koasati." Language 20 (1944): 142-149. Photocopy.

287-168 Haas, Mary R. "Southeastern Indian Linguistics." In Red, White and Black: Symposium on Indians in the Old South, ed. Charles M. Hudson. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 1971, p. 44-54. Photocopy.

287-169 Haas, Mary R. Tunica Texts. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1950. Photocopy.

287-170 Haffner, Gerald O. "Major Arthur Loftus' Journal of the Proceedings of His Majesty's Twenty-Second Regiment Up the Mississippi in 1764." Louisiana History (Summer 1979): 325-334. Photocopy.

287-171 Harrington, M. Raymond. "Among Louisiana Indians." Southern Workman 37 (1908): 656-661. Photocopy.

287-172 Heider, Karl G. "Environment, Subsistence and Society." Annual Review of Anthropology 1 (1972): 207-227. Photocopy.

287-173 Hickerson, Harold. The Chippewa and their Neighbors: A Study in Ethnohistory. New York: Holt, Rinehart and Winston, 1970. Excerpts. Photocopy.

287-174 Hill, Edward E. Records in the General Archives Division Relating to American Indians. Preliminary draft. National Archives Conference on Research in the History of Indian-White Relations, 1972.

287-175 Holmes, Jack D. L. "Juan de la Villebeuvre and Spanish Indian Policy in West Florida, 1784-1797." Florida Historical Quarterly, p. 387, 388, 391. Excerpts. Photocopy.

287-176 Holmes, Jack D. L. "Maps, Plans and Charts of Louisiana in Spanish and Cuban Archives: A Checklist." Louisiana Studies 2 (Winter 1963): 183-203. Photocopy.

287-177 Holmes, Jack D. L. "A New Look at Spanish Louisiana Census Accounts: Recent Histography of Antonio Acosta." Louisiana History (Winter 1980): 78-86. Excerpt. Photocopy.

287-178 Holmes, Jack D. L. "Research Opportunities in the Spanish Borderlands: Louisiana and the Old Southwest." Louisiana Studies 1 (Winter 1962): 1-9. Photocopy.

287-179 "The Houma Indians Since 1940." American Indian Journal 2 (April 1976): 16-17. Photocopy.

287-180 Hunter, Donald G. "The Settlement Pattern and Toponymy of the Koasati Indians of Bayou Blue.' Florida Anthropologist 26 (June 1973): 79-88. Photocopy.

287-181 Isajiw, Wsevolod W. "Definitions of Ethnicity." Ethnicity (1974): 111-124. Photocopy.

287-182 Jacobson, Daniel. (Creek) Indians Alabama-Coushatta. New York: Garland Publishing Co., 1974. Photocopy.

287-183 Jacobson, Daniel. "The Origin of the Koasati Community of Louisiana." Ethnohistory 7.2 (Spring 1960): 97-120. Photocopy.

287-184 Jenkins, Mary Lou. God's Dividends in Louisiana. Alexandria, La.: Baptist Woman's Missionary Union, 1950, p. 88-91. Photocopy.

287-185 Jennings, Francis. "Anthropological Foundations for American Indian History." American History 7.4 (December 1979): 472-479. Photocopy.

287-186 Juricek, John T. "Indian Policy in Proprietary South Carolina, 1670-1693." M.A. thesis, University of Chicago, 1962. Excerpt. Photocopy.

287-187 Keesing, Roger M. "Theories of Culture." Annual Review of Anthropology 3 (1974): 73-97. Photocopy.

287-188 Kelsay, Laura E. Cartographic Records in the National Archives Relating to Indians in the United States. Preliminary draft Conference on the National Archives and Research in Historical Geography, 1971.

287-189 Litigation Request Tunica-Biloxi Tribe. Book II, Appendix 3, Appendix 4. Lawrence A. Aschenbrenner, Esq., Arlinda F. Esq. Locklear, Native American Rights Fund. Donald Juneau, Esq., August 3, 1979.

287-190 Louisiana Baptist Convention. Annual, 1939, p. 46-49. Photocopy.

287-191 Louisiana Baptist Convention. Annual, 1949, p. 6-7, 58-59. Photocopy.

287-192 Macdonald, Robert R., ed. Louisiana's Black Heritage. New Orleans: Louisiana State Museum, 1979. Excerpts. Photocopy.

287-193 Margry, Pierre. Découvertes et établissements des Français dans l'ouest et dans le sud de l'Amérique septentrionale, 1614-1698: Mémoires et documents inédits. Paris: D. Jouaust, 1875-1886. Excerpts. Photocopy.

287-194 Martin, Calvin. "Ethnohistory: A Better Way to Write Indian History." Western Historical Quarterly (January 1978): 41-56. Photocopy.

287-195 McGowan, James Thomas. "Creation of a Slave Society: Louisiana Plantations in the Eighteenth Century." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Rochester, 1976. Bibliography, p. 425-437. Photocopy.

287-196 McKee, Jesse O., and Jon A. Schlenker. The Choctaws: Cultural Evolution of a Native American Tribe. Jackson: University of Mississippi Press, 1980, p. xvi-49, 209-221. Photocopy.

287-197 Menier, Marie-Antoinette; Etienne Taillemite; and Gilberte de Forges. Inventaire des Archives Coloniales: Correspondance à l'arrivée en provenance de la Louisiane. Tome 1 (Articles C 13A 1 a 37). Paris: Archives Nationales, 1976.

287-198 Moore, John Preston. Revolt in Louisiana: The Spanish Occupation 1766-1770. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1976, p. 233-239. Photocopy.

287-199 Murdock, [George P. Ethnographic Bibliography of North America. New Haven: Human Relations Area Files, 1960?]. Excerpts. Photocopy.

287-200 Nasatir, Abraham P., and Ernest R. Liljegren. "Materials Relating to the History of the Mississippi Valley from the Minutes of the Spanish Supreme Councils of State, 1787-1797: A Calendar Guide." Louisiana Historical Quarterly 21 (January 1938): 5-75. Photocopy.

287-201 Parenton, Vernon J., and Roland J. Pellegrin. "The `Sabines': A Study of Racial Hybrids in a Louisiana Coastal Parish." Social Forces 29 (1950): 148-154. Photocopy.

287-202 Porter, Kenneth W. "A Legend of the Biloxi." Journal of American Folklore 59 (1946): 168-173. Photocopy.

287-203 Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Number 163: Volume 1, compiled by Edward E. Hill, National Archives, National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, Washington: 1965. (2 copies)

287-204 Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Number 163, Volume II, compiled by Edward E. Hill, National Archives, National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, Washington: 1965.

287-205 Prucha, Francis Paul. American Indian Policy in Crisis: Christian Reformers and the Indian, 1865-1900. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1976. Bibliography, p. 405-443. Photocopy.

287-206 Prucha, Francis Paul. A Bibliographical Guide to the History of Indian-White Relations in the United States. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1976. Excerpts. Photocopy.

287-207 Purser, Joyce. "The Administration of Indian Affairs in Louisiana, 1803-1820." Louisiana History 5 (Fall 1964): 401-419. Photocopy.

287-208 Roy, Ewell P., and Don Leary. "Economic Survey of American Indians in Louisiana." American Indian Journal 3 (January 1977): 11-16. Photocopy.

287-209 Schwerin, Karl H. "The Future of Ethnohistory." Ethnohistory 23/4 (Fall 1976): 323-341. Photocopy.

287-210 Snell, William Robert. "Indian Slavery in Colonial South Carolina, 1671-1795." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Alabama, 1972. Excerpt. Photocopy.

287-211 Speck, Frank G. "A Social Reconnaisance of the Creole Houma Trappers of the Louisiana Bayous." American Indigena 3 (1943): 210-220. Photocopy.

287-212 Spicer, Edward H. "Types of Contact and Processes of Change." Perspectives in American Indian Culture Change, ed. Edward H. Spicer. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1961, p. 517-544. Photocopy.

287-213 Stanton, Max E. "A Remnant Indian Community: The Houma of Southern Louisiana." Southern Anthropological Society Proceedings 4 (1971): 82-92. Photocopy.

287-214 Stuart, Paul. "United States Indian Policy: From the Dawes Act to the American Indian Policy Review Commission." Social Service Review (September 1977): 451-463. Photocopy.

287-215 Swanton, John R. "Indian Language Studies in Louisiana." Explorations and Fieldwork (1930): 195-200. Photocopy.

287-216 Swanton, John R. The Indian Tribes of North America. Washington: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1979, p. 643-682. Photocopy.

287-217 Swanton, John R. Indian Tribes of the Lower Mississippi Valley and Adjacent Coast of the Gulf of Mexico. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1911, p. 274-277. Photocopy.

287-218 Swanton, John R. "Mythology of the Indians of Louisiana and the Texas Coast." Journal of American Folklore 20 (1907): 284-289. Photocopy.

287-219 Swanton, John R. "The Tunica Language." International Journal of American Linguistics 2.1-2: 1-39. Photocopy.

287-220 Thomas, Joe Doan. Audiovisual Records Relating to Indians in the United States. Preliminary draft for National Archives Conference on Research in the History of Indian-White Relations, 1972.

287-221 U.S. Congress. American Indian Policy Review Commission. Task Force on Terminated and Nonfederally Recognized Indians. Final Report to the American Indian Policy Review Commission. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1976.

287-222 U.S. Congress. American Indian Policy Review Commission. Task Force on Terminated and Nonfederally Recognized Indians. Tunica Tribal History Documentation from the Report on Terminated and Nonfederally Recognized Indians. Reprinted from Final report to the American Indian Policy Review Commission, p. 193-209. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1976.

287-223 U.S. Department of the Interior. Bureau of Indian Affairs. "Proposed Findings for Federal Acknowledgement of the Tunica-Biloxi Indian Tribe of Louisiana." Federal Register 45.248 (December 23, 1980): [v.p.]. Photocopy.

287-224 Webb, Clarence H., and Hiram F. Gregory. The Caddo Indians of Louisiana. Baton Rouge: Louisiana Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, 1978.

287-225 Wehmann, Howard H. Records Pertaining to Indians in the Continental and Confederation Congresses and the Constitutional Convention (Record Group 360): A Preliminary Guide. April 1972.

287-226 Western Regional Folklife Festival, (10th : 1984 : Great Meadow, Golden Gate National Recreation Area). [Untitled Program], Sept. 29-30, 1984. [California: The Festival], 1984.

287-227 Wilson, Samuel. The Vieux Carré, New Orleans: Its Plan, Its Growth, Its Architecture. New Orleans: Bureau of Governmental Research, 1968. Photocopy.

287-228 Woods, Patricia D. "The French and the Natchez Indians in Louisiana: 1700-1731." Louisiana History 19 (Fall 1978): 413-436. Photocopy.

287-229 "Work of Indexing Louisiana `Black Boxes.'" Louisiana Historical Society Publications 8 (1914-1915): 7-20.

287-230 Wright, J. Leitch. Anglo-Spanish Rivalry in North America. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 1971. Bibliography, p. 229-245. Photocopy.

287-231 Zimmerman, William. "The Role of the Bureau of Indian Affairs Since 1933." The Annuals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science no. 311 (May 1957): 31-40. Photocopy.

287-232 Excerpts from unidentified publications.

287-233 Promotional materials for Louisiana folklife film and music events (10 pieces).

Series V. Photocopies of Resource Materials.

287-234 Index cards containing bibliographic citations.

287-235 Photocopies of documents at the Archives of the Seminary of Quebec (38 items).

287-236 Translations of materials pertaining to Indian tribes of Louisiana found in the Papeles Procedentes de Cuba (11 items).

287-237 Photocopies of #2915, 14th District Court, Avoyelles Parish, LA Court Case; typescript of letter Father Francois le Maire, 1714-1717; correspondence from Museum of the American Indian (3 items).

287-238 Photocopies of documents at the Archives of the Seminary of Quebec (48 items); ms. translations of materials from the Archives of the Seminary of Quebec (4 pages).

287-239 Photocopies of documents relating to David Billiot and Houma Indians (letters, photographs) from the American Philosophical Society Library (53 pieces).

287-240 Microfilm printout of document from the Public Records Office, London.

287-241 Microfilm printout of documents from the Public Records Office, London (18 items).

287-242 Ms. excerpt from A Dictionary of the Biloxi and Ofo Languages by James Dorsey.

287-243 Microfilm printouts of documents from "Colonial Office 5: American and West Indies," Public Records Office, London (10 items).

287-244 Microfilm printouts from unknown source (8 items).

287-245 "Pamphlet Accompanying Microcopy No. 348. Report Books of the Office of Indian Affairs 1838-1885." Photocopy.

287-246 Photocopies of miscellaneous materials from the Archives, Houma Nation (typescripts of oral histories, town meeting notes; 17 items).

287-247 Magnaghi, Russell M. "Indian Slavery in French Louisiana, 1766-1769" and "Abolition of Indian Slavery in Spanish Louisiana, 1769-1803." Rough drafts and correspondence.

287-248 "Supplement 1 to Section 1: Education." In ms.: "For use in petition for federal recognition by United Houma Nation, Golden Meadows, LA." Draft copy, 29 pages; revised copy 33 pages. Photocopies.

287-249 Schlesinger, Roger. "Andre Thevet's Views of Americans of New France." 12 pages. Photocopy of typescript.

287-250 Gordon, Amy Glassner. "Levy Laudonniere and the Amerindians." 20 pages. Photocopy of typescript.

287-251 "Raudot, Charlevoix et les Amerindians." 13 pages. Photocopy of typescript.

287-252 Letter. Michael G. Schene, U.S. Department of the Interior, National Park Service, to the Archivist of the Archives of the Seminary of Canada requesting materials on specifically noted correspondences. June 5, 1980. 2 pages. Photocopy.

Series VI. General Files.

287-253 Newspaper clippings pertaining to the film "Zydeco," 1983-1984 (3 items).

287-254 "Zydeco: Commentaries Letters of Thanks," 1981, 1983-1985 (8 items).

287-255 "Zydeco: Scripts, Shooting Logs, Plans, Edit Instructions," [ca. 1984] (24 items).

287-256 "Zydeco: Grant Files and Sponsor Letters," 1978-1985 (25 items).

287-257 "Zydeco: Items from Showings and Promotional Materials," 1984-1985 (14 items).

Index Terms

Folklore—Louisiana

Jean Lafitte National Historical Park

Louisiana World Exposition (1984 : New Orleans)

Zydeco music

MSS 287 - Jean Lafitte National Historical Park Collection, Addendum 2: Inventory