Charles V. Booth COLLECTION

(Mss 292)

Inventory

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

April 1998

Summary

Size: 33 linear feet

Geographic

locations: Greater New Orleans (La.) area

Inclusive dates: 1935-1990

Bulk dates: 1963-1988

Summary: Materials pertaining to the New Orleans Carnival, especially to truck parades; includes doubloons, carnival club histories, designs for trucks and doubloons, photographs, and general records and correspondence of the Elks Krewe of Orleanians and the Elks Krewe of Jeffersonians.

Related

collections: Carnival Ball Programs Collection (Mss 88), Richard Dixon Collection (Mss 94); New Orleans Carnival Collection (Mss 122), Telling-Grandon Collection (Mss 128), Judge John Minor Wisdom Collection (Mss 197)

Source: Gift, 1989

Access: No restrictions

Copyright: Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.

Citation: Charles V. Booth Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

Historical Note

The first organized Mardi Gras truck parade in New Orleans followed Rex down Canal Street on March 5, 1935, when fifty-six different groups riding on decorated trucks banded together to form the Elks Krewe of Orleanians. Many of the participants were members of fraternities, sororities, neighborhood social clubs, and schools. In addition to the Elks trucks, numerous other decorated trucks were sponsored by independent carnival clubs, for a total of nearly one hundred vehicles in the first truck parade.

In New Orleans, street celebrations have commemorated Mardi Gras at least since February 24, 1857, when the Mistick Krewe of Comus held its inaugural parade. The routes of the major parades included St. Charles Avenue, Canal Street, Royal Street, and other principal streets in downtown New Orleans and the French Quarter. After World War I, some maskers, who had theretofore celebrated as they walked and danced through the streets, formed groups to ride on home-decorated trucks of various description. The parade routes were heavily policed, however, and the trucks were not permitted to parade on major streets. As time passed, the number of trucks and the quality of their decoration increased, and something of a competition burgeoned among the truck groups. By the late 1920s and early 1930s, decorations were becoming increasingly elaborate.

After riding on a decorated truck sponsored by the local Lodge #30 of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks in 1933, Chris R. Valley conceived the idea of organizing the independent trucks into a parade which would follow Rex on the established parade route. On September 6, 1934, an Elks Carnival Committee was formed within the lodge, with Valley as its chairman. On January 18, 1935, the group began publicizing the plan in the newspaper. Given impetus by local columnists such as Mel Washburn and F. Edward Hebert, by the Elks committee, and by the general enthusiasm for Carnival, the idea caught on, and the Elks Krewe of Orleanians was born. Valley, who remained active with the group for thirty years, gathered many of the materials in the collection.

As time passed, the Elks Krewe of Orleanians grew, generally sponsoring forty-five to one hundred trucks annually from 1935 to 1955, one hundred fifty trucks through 1965, one hundred eighty trucks through 1971, and one hundred fifty trucks since 1971. In 1946, Russell Calonge formed the Krewe of Crescent City, a parade of fifty to seventy-five trucks which follows the Elks Krewe of Orleanians. Two additional truck parades began in the mid-1970s to follow the Krewe of Argus parade in Metairie, Louisiana (Jefferson Parish): the Krewe of Jefferson, founded by William H. Aitken, and the Elks Krewe of Jeffersonians, sponsored by B.P.O.E. Lodge #30. Together they contribute some one hundred trucks, and the Elks Krewe of Gretna on the West Bank provides about sixty-five more. Another dozen or so trucks follow the Krewe of St. Bernard parade in St. Bernard Parish. Each truck is sponsored by an individual carnival club consisting of ten to fifteen families. On average, forty persons ride on each truck.

Maskers riding on trucks are known for the generosity with which they toss favors, known as “throws,” into the crowds of spectators. This custom began during the earliest Mardi Gras celebrations with the throwing of foodstuffs, candies, and cookies, and evolved into today’s assortment of beads, plastic toys and cups, and doubloons. The last of these, a 1½”, lightweight aluminum medallion, was originated by H. Alvin Sharpe. First used by Rex in 1960, doubloons had spread by 1963 to the truck parades. The first truck doubloon was a ceramic disc distributed by the Verbenas Carnival Club, followed in 1964 by a wooden nickel thrown by the Trabs Carnival Club. Beginning in 1965, truck doubloons proliferated so rapidly that by 1969, some one hundred seventeen trucks out of a total of two hundred seventy in Greater New Orleans were throwing their own truck doubloons. By 1969, however, interest in truck doubloons was diminishing. During their glory years, however, some two hundred twenty carnival clubs were responsible for the minting of three thousand different medallions, for a total of more than twenty-five million truck doubloons.

The collection was donated to the Earl K. Long Library by Charles V. Booth (b. 1923), a collector of Mardi Gras, truck, and doubloon history.

Sources:

Booth, Charles V. “50th Anniversary Elk’s Truck Parade.” 1983.

Booth, Charles V. “Truck Doubloons.” 1988.

Series, Subseries, and Descriptions

Series I. Carnival Throws and Memorabilia

Subseries I.1: Doubloons

Subseries I.2: Other throws

Plastic cups, panties, cap

Subseries I.3: Memorabilia

Medallions, krewe favors

Series II. Historical Background

Subseries II.1: Truck parades

Subseries II.2: Carnival clubs

Series III. Visual Materials

Subseries III.1: Photographs of trucks

Subseries III.2: Designs for trucks, costumes, etc.

Subseries III.3: Designs for doubloons

Subseries III.4: Miscellaneous photographs

Series IV. Papers

Subseries IV.1: Elks Krewe of Orleanians general records and correspondence

Subseries IV.2: Elks Krewe of Orleanians doubloon records

Subseries IV.3: Elks Krewe of Jeffersonians

Subseries IV.4: Miscellany

Series V. Publications

Subseries V.1: Newspapers

Clippings and excerpts on subjects relating to Carnival, from New Orleans newspapers.

Subseries V.2: Carnival calendars

Subseries V.3: Truck krewe publications

Subseries V.4: Other krewe publications

Subseries V.5: Publications pertaining to doubloons

Subseries V.6: Miscellaneous publications

Subseries V.7: Recordings

Container List

Series I. Carnival Throws

Subseries I.1: Doubloons

292-1 Ceramic truck doubloons, 1963-1970 (27 items, framed together)

1963 (800) Three designs

Smiling mask

Light gray-blue (turquoise)

Green and gold painted on white

(Also issued, but lacking: light purple; dark blue on white)

Frowning mask

Green and gold on white

(Also issued, but lacking: light gray-blue; light purple)

Clown

Dark to medium purple

(Also issued, but lacking: green and gold on white)

1964 (1200) Clown design only

Medium blue green

Green and gold on white

(Also issued, but lacking: light purple; dark purple)

292-1 1965 (1800) Clown design only

Dark green

Light purple

(Also issued, but lacking: dark purple; medium bluish green; green and gold on white)

1966 (1800) Clown design only

Dark purple

Green and gold on white

(Also issued, but lacking: medium purple; dark green; light purplish gray; light purplish gray with flecks of gold)

1967 (1800) Clown design only

Medium green

Medium purple

1967 Truck #25, “Golden Harvest,” won honorable mention

Green and gold on white with the word “Verbenas” on the obverse

1968 (800) 16 Three-petaled flower with clown face in the center

Gold (almost orange)

Medium green

Medium purple

Purple, gold, and green petals with pink face on white

292-1 1969 (800) Clown with top hat

Yellow

Light green

Light purple

Purple, gold, and green on white

1970 (400) Clown design only

Speckled red

Speckled green

Dull purple

Green, gold, and purple on buff clay

Doubloons from Elks Krewe of Orleanians

292-2 1964, 1965, 1966, 1967

292-3 1968

Includes dates and list.

292-4 1969

Includes date and list.

292-5 1970

Includes dates and list.

292-6 1971

Includes dates and parade list.

292-7 1972

Includes dates.

292-8 1973

Includes dates and list.

292-9 1974

Includes list.

292-10 1975

Includes list.

292-11 1976

Includes list.

292-12 1977

Includes Elks Krewe of Jeffersonians; dates list.

292-13 1978

Includes dates and list.

292-14 1979

Includes dates and list.

292-15 1980

Includes dates and list.

292-16 1981

Includes dates and list.

292-17 1982

Includes dates and list.

292-18 1983, 1984

292-19 1985, 1986

Includes dates and list.

292-20 1987, 1988, 1989

Includes dates and list.

Other truck krewes

292-21 Krewe of Crescent City

1966-1988

Includes inventory and appraisal.

292-22 Truck Krewe of Jefferson

1973-1989

292-23 St. Bernard Parish parades (includes Chalmette Lions, St. Bernard truck parades and independents, out-of-town trucks)

1967-1988

Float parades

Downtown parade doubloons

292-24 Album #1

Babylon

1962, 1964, 1967-1980, 1982, 1983

Bacchus

1969-1983

Carrollton

1966-1974, 1976-1983

Clones

1980, 1981

Comus

1967-1977, 1979-1983

Endymion

1967-1983

Freret

1966-1980, 1982

292-25 Album #2

Hermes

1966-1983

Hestia

1977, 1978, 1980

292-25 Icarius

1982, 1983

Iris

1962-1983

Mecca

1968-1979, 1982

Mid-City

1965-1983

Mokana

1968-1975

Nolamiss

1971, 1973, 1974

Momus

1967-1983

Okeanos

1965-1980, 1982, 1983

292-26 Album #3

Pegasus

1966-1983

Proteus

1967-1979, 1981, 1982

Rex

1960-1983

Thoth

1963-1983

Tucks

1970-1973, 1978, 1979, 1982, 1983

292-26 Venus

1962-1980, 1982, 1983

Zulu

1964-1972, 1974-1976, 1978, 1980, 1982, 1983

West Bank parade doubloons

292-27 Album #1

Alla

Includes inventory and catalog values.

1966-1987

Choctaw

Includes inventory and catalog values.

1963-1987

292-28 Album #2, “Cleopatra” to “Poseidon”

Cleopatra

1972-1987

Cronus

1968

Grela

1960, 1966-1988

Jugs (King Nomtoc)

1970-1974, 1976-1978, 1980-1983

Knights of King Arthur

1978-1983, 1987

Marc Antony

1984

Nefertari

1974-1988

292-28 Nike

1974

Octavia

1980-1983, 1987

Leander Perez Memorial Doubloon

Poseidon

1962, 1966-1985, 1987

292-29 Jefferson Parish parade doubloons

Atlas

1970-1981, 1983

Aquila

1977-1983

Argus

1973-1983

Caesar

1980, 1982, 1983

Centaur

1975

Centurions

1981-1983

Diana

1968-1982

Helios

1964-1978

Hesper

1972-1975

Isis

1974-1980, 1982, 1983

292-29 Jason

1965-1976

Kenner Carnival Club

1982

Krewe of Mardi Gras

1975-1982

Corps de Napoleon

1981-1983

Phoenix

1975, 1976

Rhea

1971-1980, 1982, 1983

Romulus & Remus

1973

Thor

1975-1983

Zeus

1965-1983

292-30 St. Bernard Parish parade doubloons

Alpheus

1968-1976

Amor

1970-1978

Aquarius

1975, 1976

Arabi

1967-1980

292-30 Atreus

1983

Chalimar

1976-1980

Daughters of Eve

1973-1979

Gladiators

1974-1982

Hercules

1969-1983

Itaperus

1980

Juno

1970-1976, 1978, 1979, 1982

Jupiter

1969-1981

Jupiter & Juno

1983

Minerva

1977-1981, 1983

Pan

1972-1978

Pandora

1968-1983

Pontchartrain

1976-1983

Samson & Delilah

1983

292-30 Selena

1977-1983

Shangri-La

1974-1983

Sprites

1969-1979

Titans

1983

Vikings

1972-1975

292-31 Marching group doubloons

Babbling Bastards of Bruno

Irish Channel Corner Club

1967-1975

Crescent City Carriage Club

1976

Deep South

1978

Delachaise

1967-1969, 1971, 1972, 1974

Pete Fountain’s Half Fast Walking Club

1966-1980

Garden District Carnival Club

1969-1973, 1976

Grela

1968, 1969

Jefferson City Buzzards

1966-1980

292-31 Jefferson Royals

1975, 1979-1981

Juma

1967-1969, 1971, 1972, 1976-1979

Kenner Trojans

1974

Lamplighters

1968-1970, 1972-1974

Peggy Landry’s Silk Stocking Strutters

1976

Lyons

1966-1970, 1972-1974, 1976, 1977, 1980, 1981

River Oaks Academy

1972

Satan

1972-1980

Stardusters

1966-1971

Tafluma

1978, 1980

Turnbull

1966-1976, 1978, 1979, 1981

Westbank Strutters

1969

Westside

1969-1974, 1976-1979, 1981

292-32 Doubloons from motorized, equestrian, and military units

1967-1981

292-33 Doubloons from balls

Achilles

1971, 1972

Adonis (Morgan City, La.)

1977

Alhambra

1970

Alpheus

1970

Anubis

1969

Apollo

1972, 1973

Athena

1973, 1974

Bal Masque

1967-1973

Bards of Bohemia

1968-1971, 1973, 1981, 1982

Cee Bee Bee (Covington, La.)

1972

Celestial Knights

1977

Christopher (Thibodaux, La.)

1969, 1971, 1976

Elenians

1968, 1969, 1971

292-33 Eros

1968-1975, 1978

Eta Tau Sigma

1968, 1969

Flea Club

1968

Hebe

1968-1971

Janus

1971, 1972, 1983

292-34 Krewe of Louisianians (Washington Mardi Gras Ball)

1968-1976, 1980-1982

Lourdes (Violet, La.)

1965, 1967-1970, 1972, 1973

Marionnettes

1968-1973

Naiads

1967-1974, 1977

Nemesis

1967-1970, 1974

Newcomers

1967-1969, 1971, 1982, 1983

Niobeans

1969, 1970, 1972

Noblads

1968-1976, 1978

Omardz

1971, 1972, 1976

292-34 Petronius

1969

Petros

1962

Sparta

1969-1972, 1974-1976, 1978, 1979

Vulcan

1970, 1971

292-34 Out-of-town balls and parades

Allovus (LaPlace, La.)

1965

Apollo (Lockport, La.)

1971, 1972, 1976

Attakapas (Lafayette, La.)

1970-1972, 1976

Bonaparte (Lafayette, La.)

1976

Chronos (Thibodaux, La.)

1969, 1971-1973, 1976

Cleophas (Thibodaux, La.)

1968, 1969, 1971, 1976

Gulf Coast Carnival Assn. (Biloxi, Miss.)

1966-1969

Hephaestus (Morgan City, La.)

1971

Houmas (Houma, La.)

1966-1969, 1976

292-34 Hyacinthians (Houma, La.)

1968-1971, 1976

Inca (Mobile, Ala.)

1976

Infant Mystics (Mobile, Ala.)

1965-1967, 1969, 1971

Jean Lafitte (Grand Isle, La.)

1969-1972

Jeanne D’Arc (LaPlace, La.)

1979

Juno (Covington-Mandeville, La.)

1967-1972, 1974-1976, 1981

Lake Catherine

1976

Le Krewe Mystique de la Capitale (Baton Rouge, La.)

1979

Les Brigands de Lafitte (Lafayette, La.)

1970

Carnival Assn. of Long Beach (Long Beach, Miss.)

1977

Mystic Stripers (Mobile, Ala.)

1972

Neptune (Golden Meadow, La.)

1968

Nereids (Waveland, Miss.)

1967-1972, 1976, 1978, 1981

Olympia (Covington, La.)

1966-1972, 1974, 1976

292-34 Order of Myths (Mobile, Ala.)

1967, 1968, 1971

Perseus (Slidell, La.)

1971, 1973, 1975-1977, 1979, 1980

Rosethorne (Crown Point, La.)

1967-1971, 1975, 1976

St. Paul (Pass Christian, Miss.)

1967-1970

St. Paul’s School (Covington, La.)

1968

Slidellians (Slidell, La.)

1975-1976

Southwest Louisiana Mardi Gras Assn. (Lafayette, La.)

1970, 1973

Terreanians (Houma, La.)

1967-1973, 1976, 1978

Tournament of Roses Parade (Pasadena, Calif.)

1968

Triton (Bay-Waveland, Miss.)

1976, 1978

Versailles (LaRose, La.)

1976

St. Patrick’s Day doubloons and related materials

292-35 St. Patrick’s Day Doubloons Album #1

Contains newspaper articles, paper money, and doubloons from Irish Channel parades, Metairie parades, and out-of-town parades

1966-1983

292-36 St. Patrick’s Day Doubloons Album #2

Contains doubloons from St. Patrick’s Day and St. Joseph’s Day parades, Irish Channel parades, Metairie parades, and out-of-town parades

1961-1983

292-37 Miscellaneous doubloons

Downtown parades (24 items)

Babylon

1981

Bacchus

1984

Endymion

1984

Hermes

1980, 1981, 1984

Iris

1977, 1980, 1981

Okeanos

1980

Rex

1984

Thoth

1984

292-37 Venus

1984

New Orleans East parades

Arabi

1977

292-37 Minerva

1980

Oz

1982, 1983

Thor

1983

West Bank parades

Alla

1988

Choctaw

1988

Octavia

1984

292-37 Marching groups

American Italian Heritage Society of Eastern New Orleans

1980

David Crockett Steam Fire Co. No. 1

1983, 1986, 1987

Deep South

1982

Pete Fountain’s Half Fast Walking Club

1982, 1983

292-37 Irish Channel Corner Club

1982, 1983

Jefferson City Buzzards

1982-1984

Joe’s Jungle

1982, 1983

292-37 St. Flips

1983

Tafluma

1982, 1983

Turnbull

1972, 1975, 1982

Westside

1982

Zigzag

1982, 1983

292-37 Motorized groups

Jerusalem Temple Clown Unit

1982

Jerusalem Temple Dunebuggy Unit

[198-?]

Jerusalem Temple Honda Corps

1982-1984

Jerusalem Temple Joker Unit

1984

Jerusalem Temple Motorcycle Escort

1982, 1984

Kenner Volunteer Fire Company

1983

Platta Temple Motor Patrol

1982

Terrytown Fire Department

1983

292-37 United States Coast Guard

1982

WWL Radio

1982

292-37 Equestrian groups

Anheuser-Busch, Inc.

1982-1983

Jefferson Indians

1968, 1981-1984, 1986

Jefferson Parish Sheriff’s Posse

1981-1984

Midnight Riders

1982-1984

Plaquemines Parish Sheriff’s Posse

1987

United States Army Recruiting Service

1967

West Bank Posse

1983-1984

Wranglers

1982-1984

292-37 St. Patrick’s Day Doubloons

Algiers Irish Rebels

1970

A Bit o’ the Green

1972-1973

Cleary Marching Club

1984-1985

292-37 Contemporary Arts Center, Krewe of Clones

1981

Decatur Street Irish Club

1985

Downtown Irish Club

1985

Irish Channel Kiddie Korner Klub

Easter parade, 1969

Irish Channel St. Patrick’s Day Parade

1964

Jefferson City Buzzards

1984

Jefferson Parish, Louisiana

[198-?], 1982, 1984, 1987

Jefferson Royals

1982, 1985

The Mixed Breeds

1968

Morgan City Leprechaun Club

1968-1969

Mystic Nites of Juma

1982, 1985

New Orleans East Irish Marching Club

1982

Original Westside Carnival Club

1982

Patty’s Pack

1985

292-37 St. Patrick

1961, 1982, 1985

St. Patrick’s Volunteer Fire Company

1984, 1985

Shady Ladies Marching Club

1982, 1984-1985

Terrace Corner Marching Club

1982, 1984-1985

Turnbull Social & Carnival Club

1982, 1984-1985

292-37 Miscellaneous / unidentified doubloons

Carnaval de Servicio

1973

Krewe of Petite Pierre

1969

Laplace Jaycees

1978

New Orleans Police

1968

PPP [Phunny Phorty Phellows?]

[not before 1987]

Subseries I.2: Other throws

292-38 Paper money

Covington Lions Club

1966 (2 copies)

Krewe of Crescent City

1975

292-38 Double Trouble Carnival Club

1975 (2 copies)

Elks Krewe of Orleanians

1974 (3 copies)

Family Funsters Carnival Club

1978

Gaylords Carnival Club

1965-1969 (2 copies of each); accompanied by photograph of 1965

Les Mascarade

1969 (2 copies)

Ye Olde Fire Fighters

1973 (3 copies)

Miscellaneous (no group association)

[19--] (4 items)

Certificates

Fun Lovers Carnival Club

Copy of Declaration of Independence, 1967

292-39 - Plastic Mardi Gras cups (171 items)

292-40

Lids to accompany plastic Mardi Gras cups (13 items)

Mardi Gras panties (2 items)

Hat, “Nutty Buddies Carnival Club” (1 item)

Subseries I.3: Memorabilia

292-41 Krewe of Crescent City

Bronze medallion, “1968 New Orleans Mardi Gras,” depicting Mayor of New Orleans deLesseps S. Morrison on obverse (1 item)

1968

Pendant; notation reads, “500 minted” (1 item)

[1974]

Elks Krewe of Orleanians

“Str[ange] & Wonderful Kooky Karrots” E-45 favor (carrot made from orange satin and green net, with felt features) (1 item)

[197-]

Krewe of Poseidon, charm bracelet (1 item)

1972

Terrytown Carnival Club

Boxed set containing letter opener, tape measure, clip, and money clip (4 items)

1972

Heart-shaped dish (1 item)

1972

Boxed pendant (1 item)

1972

Series II. Historical Background

Subseries II.1: Truck parades

292-42 1935-1965

Includes lists of krewes and floats, winners, copies of photographs and newspaper articles, Mardi Gras program, notices to krewes.

292-43 1966-1975

Includes lists of krewes and floats, descriptions of floats, winners, copies of newspaper articles, blank forms, notices to krewes, Franklin Mint Almanac, rules and regulations, business cards.

292-44 1976-1979

Includes lists of krewes and floats, doubloon orders, descriptions of floats, winners, copies of newspaper articles, blank forms, notices to krewes, color photographs, catalog from Green Duck Mint, rules and regulations.

292-45 1980-1981

Includes lists of krewes and floats, doubloon orders, descriptions of floats, winners, blank forms, rules and regulations, copies of newspaper articles, notices to krewes.

292-46 1982-1983

Includes lists of krewes and floats, descriptions of floats, winners, doubloon orders, blank forms, rules and regulations, newspaper articles, Alvin Sharpe stories.

292-47 1984

Includes lists of krewes and floats, descriptions of floats, judging slips, winners, doubloon orders, Awards Dinner programs, copies of newspaper articles, notices to krewes, rules and regulations, copy of city ordinance relative to Carnival.

292-48 1985

Includes lists of krewes and floats, doubloon orders, winners, Awards Banquet program, judging slips, winners, notices to krewes, rules and regulations, newspaper articles, Mardi Gras calendars.

292-49 1986

Miscellaneous papers of several krewes; pertain to doubloons, rosters, correspondence, etc.

292-50 1987

Miscellaneous papers of several krewes; includes doubloon statistics and various newspaper articles.

292-51 1988

Miscellaneous papers of several krewes.

292-52 1989

Miscellaneous papers of several krewes; includes newspaper article, photocopies, and rules/regulations for Elks Jeffersonians.

292-53 1990

Miscellaneous papers of Elks krewes.

Subseries II.2: Carnival clubs

Historical notes on various carnival clubs, arranged alphabetically

292-54 A - B

292-55 C

292-56 D

292-57 E - Fo

292-58 Fr - Fz

292-59 G

292-60 H

292-61 I - J

292-62 K

292-63 L

292-64 M - Mer

292-65 Met - Mz

292-66 N - O

292-67 P - Q

292-68 R

292-69 S

292-70 T - U - V

292-71 W - X - Y - Z

292-72 Miscellaneous contents (addresses, photocopies of newspaper articles, fliers, dated notes, etc.)

Subseries II.3: Doubloons

292-73 Proofs of doubloons (1966-1971)

Includes ms. identification list

List of carnival clubs with titles of trucks and photocopies of doubloons (1963-1988)

292-74 A - F

292-75 G - L

292-76 M - Z

292-77 Truck doubloon summaries (1984-1989)

292-78 Descriptions of carnival clubs, with photocopies of doubloons (ca. 1976)

Publications

292-79 Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. Ritual of the Subordinate Lodges Under the Jurisdiction of the Grand Lodge of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks of the United States of America. [S.l.: The Order], 1946.

292-80 Berthelot, Ruth O. Louisiana Medallions: Chronological Listing, Louisiana Subject Medals, Mardi Gras and Non-Mardi Gras, Struck in Connection with or Pertaining to Louisiana and Louisiana Territory, through August 1968. [S.l.: s.n., 1969?]

292-81 Elks Krewe of Orleanians. Mardi Gras Souvenir Program, 1958. [New Orleans, La.: The Krewe, 1958?]

292-82 Guren, Jay, and Richard Ugan. Carnival Panorama: New Orleans Mardi Gras Medals and Krewes, 1884-1965. New Orleans, La.: Anderson Publications, 1966.

292-83 Sharpe, H. Alvin. Collected Meditations. [New Orleans, La.]: Dixie Savers Club, 1979.

292-84 Guide Book of Prices, Mardi Gras Doubloons, 1960 thru 1970. Metairie, La.: W. L. Kearney, [1970?]

292-85 Doubloon Check List, Mardi Gras, 1972. [New Orleans, La.?]: Dixie Doodle, [1972?]

292-86 Mardi Gras Truck Parade Check List, 1964 thru 1974. [S.l.: s.n.], 1974.

292-87 Mardi Gras Parade Check List, 1960 thru 1975. [S.l.: s.n., 1975]. Cover only.

Mardi Gras Parade Check List, 1960 thru 1976. [S.l.: s.n., 1976]. Cover only.

292-88 Mardi Gras Doubloon Price Guide and Check List, 1960 thru 1977. [S.l.: s.n., 1977?]

292-89 Mardi Gras Doubloon Check List and Price Guide, 1960 thru 1978. [S.l.: s.n., 1978?]

292-90 Doubloon Check List, Mardi Gras, 1960 thru 1978. [S.l.: s.n., 1978?]

292-91 Mardi Gras Doubloon Check List, 1960 thru 1979. [S.l.: s.n., 1979?]

292-92 Mardi Gras Doubloon Check List, 1960 thru 1979. [S.l.]: John Ehret High School, [1979?]

292-93 Mardi Gras Doubloon Check List, 1960-1980. [S.l.: s.n., 1980?]

292-94 Mardi Gras Doubloon Check List. [S.l.: s.n., 1977?]

292-95 Price List of 1979 Doubloons. [S.l.: s.n., 1979?]

292-96 Doubloons, Commemorative Medals, Wooden Nickels: 1960-1971 Price Booklet. Thibodaux, La.: Bayou Coins & Medals, [1971?]

292-97 Booth, Charles V. Mardi Gras Truck Doubloons. Metairie, La.: Metairie Doubloon World, 1988.

Series III. Visual Materials

Subseries III.1: Photographs of trucks

Elks Krewe of Orleanians Parade photographs

292-98 1954 (7 items)

“Gems From The Arabian Nights” #1

Kenner Carnival Club

Photographer: Ralph Uribe

8” x 10” black & white

“Colonial Carnival” #2

Les Bon Vivants

Photographer: Ralph Uribe

8” x 10” black & white

“An Old Dutch Garden” #3

Kings & Queens Carnival Club

Photographer: Gentilly Photo Service

8” x 10” black & white

“Jolly Rogers” #5

Jolly Rogers Carnival Club

Photographer: C. Diblin, Jr.

8” x 10” black & white

“Roses Of Picardy” #15

Club unknown

Photographer: Harry A. Tucker

8” x 10” black & white

“Baseball Champions” #41

Chalmette Carnival Club

Photographer: Ralph Uribe

8” x 10” black & white

“Buccaneers” #50

Club unknown

Photographer: Ralph Uribe

8” x 10” black & white

292-99 1956 (7 items)

“Shake, Rattle, And Roll” #8

Club unknown

Photographer: unknown

8” x 10” black & white

“The Fisherman” #9

Gator

Photographer: unknown

2 photos, each 8” x 10” black & white

“Sunflower Garden, A Butterfly’s Paradise” #39

Gay Revelers

Photographer: Henry C. Hartmann

7” x 11” black & white

“Jet Age” #44

Air Force Association

Photographer: Henry C. Hartmann

7” x 11” black & white

“Cut-throats Of The Spanish Main” #75

Hahnville High School

Photographer: Henry C. Hartmann

7” x 11” black & white

“Panther’s Paradise” #91

Club unknown

Photographer: Henry C. Hartmann

8” x 10” black & white

292-100 1957 and [n.d.] (2 items)

“Jack In The Box” #81

Krewe of Hope We’ll Make It

Photographer: Arthur L. Swanson

8” x 10” black & white

292-100 “Our Wedding Day,” [n.d.]

Krewe: unknown

Photographer: unknown

8” x 10” black & white

292-101 1959 (16 items)

“Soldiers On Parade” #17

Club unknown

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 5” black & white

“Showboat” #22

Krewe: unknown

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 5” color

“Welcome Alaska” #27

Fun Lovers

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 5” black & white

“The Red Sea” #32

Jesters Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 5” color

“Chinese Gardens” #35

Flambeau’s Social Club

Photographer: unknown

3½ “ x 5” color

“The Moth And The Flame” #37

Marrero Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½” color

“The Big Hunt” #39

Metry Jokers

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7” color

292-100 “Red Riding Hood & The Wolf” #45

Club unknown

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½’ black & white

292-101 “Musical Notes” #49

Club 20

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 5” color

“Snow in New Orleans” #58

Club unknown

Photographer: unknown

2 photos, each 3½” x 3½” black & white

“Spider And The Fly” #60

Club unknown

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½” color

“Tipsy Gypsies” #65

The Merry Makers

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½” black & white

“China Dolls” #68

Club unknown

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½” black & white

“Aurora In Snowland” #72

Family Funsters

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½” color

“Happy Hunting Grounds” #75

Club Who’s Who

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½” black & white

292-102 1963 (1 item)

“Winter Frolics” #4, Grand Prize Winner

Friendly Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

11” x 14” black & white

292-103 1965 (133 items)

8” x 10” color photographs, unless otherwise noted.

“Hand of Caesar” #1

The Friendly Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Coral Reef” #4

Gaylords Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Alice in Mardi Gras Land” #6

Club unknown

Photographer: David Nelson

“Louisiana Land of Plenty” #8

Mizpah Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

5” x 7”

“Clermont Disneyland” #9

Clermont Social Club

Photographer: unknown

“Frogs In A Lily Pond” #10

Club unknown

Photographer: unknown

8” x 8”

“Signs of the Zodiac” #11

Exclusives Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-103 “Coral Gardens” #12

Happy Larks

Photographer: David Nelson

“Thumbelina” #13

Westbank Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“The Jolly Jesters” #14

Krewe of Elmeer

Photographer: Arthur L. Swanson

“The Fox and the Grapes” #15

Lakeside Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3” x 4”

“The Fox and the Grapes” #15

Lakeside Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

2 photos, each 3” x 4”, together on a 5” x 8” sheet

“Pennies From Heaven” #18

Crescenteers Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Sunday in the Park” #19

Jesters Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“The Magic of Aladdin” #20

Good Timers

Photographer: Arthur L. Swanson

“If Spiders Spun Webs of Gold” #21

Funtimers Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

292-103 “Red Headed Zebras” #22

Ten Plus Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Sew-Sew” #23

Krewe of 59’ers

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Vikings” #24

Jolly Rogers

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Fascinating Fencers” #25

Lakeview Funlovers

Photographer: unknown

“Black Gold” #30

Fun Lovers Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

2 photos, each 3½” x 3½”, on sheet

“High As a Kite” #36

Guys, Girls, & Kids (GG & K)

Photographer: David Nelson

8” x 10,” with 2 smaller photos affixed to back, each 3” x 3”

“Louisiana” #38

Beaus & Belles Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Bats in the Belfry” #50

Gentilly Happy Go Luckies

Photographer: unknown

3” x 5”

“Holy Mackerel” #51

The Family Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

292-103 “Wine & Roses” #52

Krewe of Crazy Eights

Photographer: unknown

“Moby Dick” #53

A-1 Social Club

Photographer: unknown

“Strawberry Shortcake” #54

Pals of Pleasure

Photographer: unknown

“A Streetcar Named Canal” #55

Bobcats

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Monkey’s Holiday” #57

Marrero Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Venetian Vineyard” #58

Krewe of Jabolina

Photographer: unknown

3 1/4” x 3 1/4”

“Golden Days at Milneberg” #59

Krewe of Trabs

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½”

“Lazy Leprechauns” #60

Jumping Jacks Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Sea Serpents” #61

Suburbanites

Photographer: David Nelson

292-103 “By The Sea” #63

Carnival Social Club

Photographer: unknown

“Cradle of the Deep” #64

Busy Couples Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Louisiana Strawberries” #65

Mystic Morons of Metry Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Dan-Dy-Lions” #67

Lakettes

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 4”, clipped to paper

“Little Red Riding Hood” #68

Cocoteros Club

Photographer: unknown

“Mexican Fiesta” #69

Club unknown

Photographer: unknown

“Remember When” #70

Merry M’s

Photographer: unknown

3” x 4”, clipped to a card

“Louisiana Hay Ride” #72

Laughing Jokers

Photographer: David Nelson

“Bats’ Haven” #73

Jolly Jesters Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-103 “Bye Bye Blackbird” #74

Gaytimers Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Bye Bye Blackbird” #74

Gaytimers Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 5”

“Mardi Gras Bakers” #77

Club unknown

Photographer: unknown

3 1/4” x 4”

“You’ve Got To Be A Football Hero” #78

Newman School

Photographer: unknown

“Our Mardi Gras” #79

City Pleasure Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½” clipped to paper

“Brain Twisters” #80

Newman School

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 5”

“Isle of VooDoo” #82

Mischievous Mystics (M & M)

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Three Flavors” #83

Olister

Photographer: David Nelson

“Jack In The Box” #85

Chiquita Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

292-103 “Creepy Critters” #86

Trumpers

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Fiesta” #87

Alley Cats

Photographer: David Nelson

“Kings & Queens of Hearts” #88

The Merry Makers

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Beetles and Beatles” #89

Fisher-Forst

Photographer: unknown

“Robin’s Hide-Away” #92

March Carnival Club

Photographer: J.H. Henson

“The Green Dragon” #93

B.B. & C. Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Autumn Harvest” #94

Krewe: unknown

Photographer: unknown

“Louisiana Mosquito Massacre” #95

Goodtimers Carnival Club, Inc.

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“The Buccaneers” #96

Clement Betpovey, Jr. & Co.

Photographer: unknown

292-103 “Lots of Tots & Polka Dots” #97

Duplicates

Photographer: unknown

“Garden Friends” #98

Flambeaux

Photographer: unknown

“A Witch’s Brew” #102

Pearly Whites Social and Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“The Framing of the Krewe” #103

Banditos

Photographer: unknown

3 photos, 3½” x 5” each, clipped to a card

292-104 “Population Explosion” #104

Southport Revelers

Photographer: David Nelson

“Hearts & Flowers” #106

Lake Terrace Gang

Photographer: David Nelson

“Satan’s Holiday” #108

Happy Hoppers

Photographer: David Nelson

“Peter Pan” #109

Lakeview Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3 photos, 3½” x 3½” each, clipped to a card

“The Ancient Mariner” #110

Harmony Club

Photographer: unknown

“Hot Heads” #111

The Merry Makers, Inc.

Photographer: unknown

292-104 “Ice Capades of 1965” #112

St. Leo the Great C.Y.O.

Photographer: David Nelson

“Devil’s Playhouse” #113

Funtimers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Clowns Under The Big Top” #115

Seminole Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Academy Awards” #116

Les Bouffons

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 5” clipped to a card, accompanied by a letter from Marilyn Boudreaux, Secretary of Les Bouffons

“Jolly Jesters of ‘65” #119

Jolly Jokers

Photographer: David Nelson

“Roman Holiday” #121

Crawdads Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“There’s No Place Like Nome” #122

The Dreamers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Gum Drops Yum Yum” #123

Delta Carnival Club

Photographer: Emile Eskine, Jr.

“King Midas And The Golden Touch” #124

Lively Ones Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

292-104 “Yeomen Of The Guard” #125

Merry Makers of Destrehan

Photographer: Gary’s Studio

“Hell On Wheels” #126

Dixie Dozen Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Taj Mahal” #127

KCS’ers

Photographer: unknown

“Back To Milneberg” #128

Humdingers

Photographer: unknown

“Denizens Of The Deep” #129

Funlovers Carnival Club of Jefferson

Photographer: Gary’s Studio

“Taffy Wagon” #130

Club unknown

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½”, clipped to a card

“Louisiana Hay Ride” #131

Cracked Pots

Photographer: unknown

2 photos, 3½” x 5½” and 5” x 7,” glued to paper

“Green Thumbs” #132

Green Horns

Photographer: David Nelson

“Sails Our Lake Pontchartrain” #133

The Amigos Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Fantasy Under The Sea” #134

Merry Mixers

Photographer: unknown

292-104 “Louisiana Hot Peppers” #135

The Forty Fours

Photographer: unknown

“The Artists” #136

Fun Makers

Photographer: unknown

“Vikings” #137

New Orleans-Jefferson Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Days of Hell and Troy” #138

Good Times Carnival Club

Photographer: Mathews

“Mad Mad Mad Orientals” #139

Funny Forties Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Honey In The Horn” #141

Happy Dozen Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Klassy Cirque Klowns” #142

Pontchartrain Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Sleepy Beauties” #143

Merry Funsters

Photographer: unknown

“Alaskan Playground” #144

Packenham Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Honeycombers” #146

Gems Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-104 “Fiesta” #149

Around the Town Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Sour Adolines” #150

The Krewe of Who

Photographer: unknown

“Blue Birds of Happiness” #151

The Merry Maskers

Photographer: unknown

“Beautiful Bubbles” #152

The Lively Ones Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Party Line” #153

Party Liners

Photographer: unknown

2 photos, color 5” x 7,” black & white 3½” x 3

“Crescent City Farmers” #156

The Undecideds

Photographer: unknown

5 photos, 3 3” x 3” clipped to 8” x 10”, another 8” x 10”

“Aristocratic Zooites” #157

Casual Aristocrats

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Rat Finks” #158

Dublin St. Social and Pleasure Club (Palmorads)

Photographer: unknown

3” x 4” clipped to a card

“The Monkey Cage” #159

Clippers Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

292-104 “Stairway To The Stars” #160

One Mad Family

Photographer: unknown

“Hi Ballers” #161

The Weirdos

Photographer: David Nelson

“Gentilly Wood-Nuts” #162

G.W. Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 5”

“Win, Place, and Show” #164

Dixie Doodlers

Photographer: unknown

2 photos, each 3” x 4”, clipped to a card

“Carrot Patch” #167

KNOC Karnival Klub

Photographer: unknown

“The Big Top” #168

Signa Phi Nothing

Photographer: David Nelson

2 photos, each 8” x 10”

“The Night They Discovered Champagne” #171

Royal Flushes

Photographer: unknown

“Fiesta In Mexico” #172

Sigma Phi Epsilon

Photographer: unknown

2 photos, 5” x 5” and 5” x 7”

“Gala Fiesta” #173

Scarecrows

Photographer: unknown

292-105 1965 (34 items)

8” x 10” color photographs unless otherwise noted.

“Days Of Mayan Glory” #2

Gator

Photographer: David Nelson

“Snake In The Grass” #5

Verbenas Organization

Photographer: unknown

“Tales Of Fairyland” #7

Mules

Photographer: David Nelson

“Battle Of New Orleans” #16

All For Fun Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“A Buck Well Spent” #17

Gaylords Carnival & Social Club

Photographer: unknown

“China Town” #27

Karnival Kapers

Photographer: David Nelson

“Scotch On The Rocks” #32

Lakeview Masqueraders

Photographer: David Nelson

“Totem Poles” #34

Merry Maskers of Arabi

Photographer: unknown

“Judgment Day” #35

Jolly Jacks Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7” in cardboard folder

292-105 “Wynken, Blynken And Nod” #37

Club Lucky “18”

Photographer: Frank Gordon

“Visions Of Sugar Plums” #39

Gay Masqueraders

Photographer: unknown

8” x 10” black & white

“Tenderfoot’s Roundup” #40

The Dollar Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Vineyards” #41

Fun Makers Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Halloween” #42

Club unknown

Photographer: David Nelson

“Spiders And Webs” #43

Lakeshore Merrymakers

Photographer: unknown

“Temple Fire Dancers” #44

Friendship 12 Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Year Of The Dragon” #46

Jefferson Legionaires

Photographer: David Nelson

“Mardi Gras Fountain” #48

Confused Couples

Photographer: David Nelson

“Chinese Holiday” #49

Krewe of Hope We’ll Make It

Photographer: David Nelson

292-105 “La Nouvelle Orleans” #62

Brandy Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“In Old Venice” #71

Kings & Queens

Photographer: unknown

“Fourth Of July Fun” #75

Jolly Funsters

Photographer: unknown

“High Society Clowns” #76

Most Unique Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Damn Cold” #81

Who’s Who Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Banditos” #84

Krewe of Fine Arts

Photographer: Marion Dumaine

“Horse’N Around” #90

Merry Em Tees

Photographer: unknown

“Black Widow Spiders” #91

The Funsters

Photographer: David Nelson

“Louisiana Strawberries” #100

Harmony Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Who Do Da Voo Doo?” #105

Happy Horn Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

292-105 “Black Magic” #117

Cobra Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Krewzaders” #118

Krewe of Pelopidas

Photographer: David Nelson

“Circus On Parade” #120

Happy Go Luckies of Jefferson

Photographer: David Nelson

“Good Bye Street Cars” #154

Gay 12

Photographer: unknown

“The Big Top” #168

Signa Phi Nothing

Photographer: David Nelson

292-106 1966 (11 items)

8” x 10” black & white photographs, photographer unknown.

King’s Float

“Madam Butterfly” E-1

Friendly Carnival Club

“Antebellum” E-4

All For Fun Carnival Club

“Golden Flamingos” E-15

Mizpah Carnival Club

“Joker’s Wild” E-16

Pals of Pleasure

“River Queen” E-17

Gaylord’s Carnival and Social Club

292-106 “Satan Place” E-18

Westbank Carnival Club

“Tick Tock” E-20

Jolly Jacks Carnival Club

“The Worm Turns” E-23

Lakeview Carnival Club

“Custard’s Last Stand” E-27

Happy Larks Carnival Club

“Cleopatra Returns To Rome” E-32

The Kinsmen

292-107 1967 (24 items)

8” x 10” color photographs

“Checkmate” #58

Gentilly Happy Go Luckies

Photographer: David Nelson

“Krystal Gazers” #67

Olister Dancing School

Photographer: David Nelson

“Buttered Popcorn” #75

KNOC Karnival Klub

Photographer: David Nelson

“Holiday In Spain” #79

Kin Folks Kapa Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Merry Widows” #83

The Humdingers

Photographer: David Nelson

292-107 “Mardi Gras Magic” #84

Jet Set Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Greenwitch Village” #85

Harmony Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Hooligan’s Wacky Ship” #90

Merry Maskers Carnival Club, Inc.

Photographer: unknown

“The Gay Nighties” #93

Krewe of Klowns

Photographer: David Nelson

“Scarecrow A-Go-Go” #101

The Dreamers

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Jewel Box” #102

Green Horns Carnival Club

Photographer: George Mathews

“Jest-A-Bunch Of Fools” #103

The Dollar Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Circus Daze” #104

Krewe of Fine Arts

Photographer: unknown

“Yes, Virginia, There Is A Wolf” #112

Duplicats Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Safari” #120

V.I.P. Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-107 “Show Boat” #124

The Fun Makers

Photographer: unknown

“The Big Cheese” #152

Harmony Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Of Elves And Toadstools” #156

Casual Aristocrats

Photographer: David Nelson

“Photo Finish” #161

Merry Maskers of Metairie

Photographer: David Nelson

“Damsels In Distress” #171

Maskers A-Go-Go Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Louisiana Mud Bugs” #172

Hi Ballers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Cushion & Cue” #174

Southern Silhouettes Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Hares And Hers” #175

Cousins Inc.

Photographer: David Nelson

“A Bunch Of Nuts” #177

Wrecks of Mardi Gras Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-108 1968 (52 items)

Color photographs, 8” x 10” unless otherwise noted.

“Bonne Anniversaire Madame Nouvelle Orleans” #1

All For Fun Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Birth Of The Blues” #9

Gator Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Strawberry Shortcake” #16

Conglomerates Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½”

“20,000 Legs Under The Sea” #20

Krewe of Who

Photographer: unknown

4 photos, 3½” x 3½,” affixed to cardboard

“Land Of Siva” #22

Crackerjack Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Mardi Gras Fountain” #23

Packenham Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Aladdin’s Lamp” #24

Goodtimers Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Tickled Pink” #32

New Orleans-Jefferson Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-108 “Spring Is Sprung” #36

Sintes Sporters

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 5”

“End Of The Rainbow” #37

Exclusive Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Les Poupees Of Orleanians” #41

Jesters Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 5”

“Puff the Magic Dragon” #48

Krewe of Varuna

Photographer: unknown

3” x 4”

“Would You Believe Snoopy” #62

Crawdads Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Happy Anniversary” #64

Karnival Kapers

Photographer: unknown

“Crazy Birds” #65

Alley Cats

Photographer: David Nelson

“Christmas In February” #66

Merry Maskers of Arabi

Photographer: unknown

“Spring Has Sprung” #67

Royal Flushes Carnival Club, Inc.

Photographer: unknown

292-108 “Tried In Vane” #68

The March Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“News & Nonsense” #83

The Amigos Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Population Explosion” #89

Party Liners Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 5”

“Mardi Gras Marineland” #90

Funny Forties Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“The One That Got Away” #92

Pals of Pleasure

Photographer: unknown

3” x 4”

“Tiajuana Taxi” #100

B.B. & C. Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Frogs In The Lily Pond” #103

Crescenteers Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Fantail Fantasy” #104

Who’s Who Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Buccaneers” #107

Nobleman Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-108 “Bubble Trouble” #109

The Carefrees, Inc.

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Heading South” #111

St. Leo C.Y.O.

Photographer: David Nelson

“Symbols Of Freedom” #112

The Undecideds

Photographer: unknown

“Barataria Buccaneers” #114

Gaytimers’ Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3 photos, each 3½” x 3½,” affixed to cardboard

“Whoopee In The Tepee” #115

Carnival Social Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Eric The Red” #117

Fun Lovers Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Parrots’ Alley” #120

Tri-Parish Carnival Club, Inc.

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Bum Boogies” #128

Palmorads’ Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½”

“The Worm Turns” #129

Rab Riders

Photographer: David Nelson

292-108 “King Cake Party” #132

Gemini Nine Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 5”

“Rabbits In A Carrot Patch” #133

The Gay Sixteeners’ Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Peanuts At Mardi Gras” #138

Newman School 9th Grade

Photographer: David Nelson

“Dudes & Dames” #140

Krewe of Klowns

Photographer: David Nelson

“Flower Holiday” #142

Newman School 8th Grade

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½”

“Circus Daze” #145

Hi Ballers

Photographer: David Nelson

“Here Comes The Sun” #151

Krewe of Bucks

Photographer: unknown

“Give Me A Little Squeeze” #152

Krewe of Algerians

Photographer: unknown

3” x 6”

“Hell On Wheels” #154

The Merry Maskers Carnival Club, Inc.

Photographer: David Nelson

292-108 “Gold Mine In The Sky” #155

Jet Set Carnival Club

Photographer: Leon

“Dealer’s Choice” #158

Jolly 24 Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

2 photos, each 3½” x 3½,” affixed to a letter from Krewe Captain

“Snoopy And The Red Baron” #164

Fun Makers

Photographer: unknown

2 photos, 8” x 10” and 5” x 5,” stapled together

“The Cornucopia” #166

Humdinger Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Psychedelic Serpents” #168

Trumpers Carnival Organization

Photographer: unknown

“In The Valley Of The Jolly Green Giants” #177

Jolly Green Giants Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“The Daisy Patch” #178

La Famille Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“She Loves Me, She Loves Me Not” #180

Club unknown

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½”

292-109 Lodge 30, 1969 (101 items)

8” x 10” color photographs

“Titanic” #6

The Clippers

Photographer: unknown

“The Lost Planet” #9

The Southerners

Photographer: unknown

“Paris Perfumes” #11

Les Bouffons

Photographer: David Nelson

“If Ever I Cease To Love” #12

Club unknown

Photographer: unknown

“Peace To The World” #13

Lakeview Funlovers

Photographer: unknown

“Changing Of The Guard” #14

Merry Maskers of Arabi

Photographer: unknown

“Linus And The Great Pumpkin” #15

West Bank Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

[Title unknown], #16

Merry Funsters

Photographer: David Nelson

“Fishermen’s Paradise” #18

Gems Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-109 “Dancers Of The Temple” #23

Lakeside Carnival and Social Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Catch A Falling Star” #24

Ten Plus Club

Photographer: unknown

“Caribbean Sunset” #25

Shufflers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Fiesta Time” #26

Mizpah Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Hobo’s Haven” #27

The Lively Ones Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Cleopatra” #30

Merry Mix Social Club, Inc.

Photographer: John E. Kuhlman

“Land Of The Midnight Sun” #32

Seminole Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“French Market In Old New Orleans” #34

Laughing Jokers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Wild Swans” #35

59er’s Carnival Club, Inc.

Photographer: David Nelson

“Azalea Trail” #37

Gator Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-109 “Old Milneburg” #38

Gay 12 Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Gourmet’s Delight” #39

Gaillard’s Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Tip Toe Thru The Tulips With Us” #42

The Funmakers

Photographer: David Nelson

“Garden In Old Vienna” #43

Exclusive Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“St. Charles Avenue The Street Of Parades” #47

The Original Goodtimers

Photographer: David Nelson

“A Jeannie’s Dream” #49

Marrero Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Talk To The Animals” #51

Merry Makers of Destrehan

Photographer: Gary’s Studio

“Toss-A-Me-Gently” #52

Hope We’ll Make It Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Sugar Shack” #53

Brandy Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“When Knighthood Was In Flower” #56

The Merry Maskers

Photographer: David Nelson

292-109 “Stars In The Clouds” #58

The Hum Dingers

Photographer: unknown

“Tinker Toys” #59

Rab Riders

Photographer: David Nelson

“Earth Or Bust” #60

Four Corners Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“King Me” #62

Jumping Jacks

Photographer: David Nelson

“Dragon-Ash” #64

Trabs Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Buy A Poppy Please” #65

Lakefront Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Old Woman Who Lived In The Shoe” #66

G.W. Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Captain Kidd’s Treasure” #67

Happy-Go-Lucky of Harahan

Photographer: unknown

“Casino Royale” #68

Goodtimers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“We Danced At The Mardi Gras” #69

Gay Revellers Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-109 “Jisc Jockeys” #73

The Undecideds

Photographer: unknown

“Midnight Ride Of Ole Saint Nick” #76

Fun Lovers Carnival Club

Photographer: John E. Kuhlman

“Tu-Lips You Can’t Kiss” #77

Kings & Queens Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Sayonara” #78

The Rebels (formerly Hi-Ballers)

Photographer: David Nelson

“Ali Baba And The 28 Thieves” #79

Jefferson Legionaire Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Four And Twenty Blackbirds” #81

Gay Masqueraders

Photographer: David Nelson

“Flower Power” #83

Calender Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Cold Day In Hades” #85

Packenham Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Pipe Dreams” #86

Lively Ones

Photographer: unknown

“Heavenly Daze” #88

Harmony Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-109 “Full House” #89

Newman School 8th Grade

Photographer: David Nelson

292-110 “Hot Off The Grapevine” #91

Gentilly Happy Go Luckies

Photographer: David Nelson

“The 19th Hole” #92

Booze Broads & Children

Photographer: David Nelson

“Come Home Mr. Drone” #93

Family Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Happy Birthday Eddie” #94

Merry Maskers of Metairie

Photographer: unknown

“Laugh, Clown, Laugh” #96

CYO

Photographer: David Nelson

“In A Dutch Garden” #98

Krewe of Elmeer

Photographer: David Nelson

“Tulip Mania” #101

Gentilly Pleasure Seekers

Photographer: David Nelson

“Desert Caravan” #103

Krewe: unknown

Photographer: David Nelson

“A Shoe Full Of Children” #104

Gay Sixteeners Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-110 “Rabbit Habit’ #105

Les Chanticlaires

Photographer: David Nelson

“Dome Sweet Dome” #108

Bissonet-Maned Downs Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Humpty-Dumpty” #109

Southport Revelers Social Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“A Peep Into Easter” #112

The Gay Masqueraders

Photographer: David Nelson

“Sainted, Painted, Tainted” #113

Wrecks of Mardi Gras

Photographer: David Nelson

“Bumble Bees & Butter Cups” #114

Fun Makers Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Buddy’s Birthday Party” #116

Old Pro Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“It’s A Mod Mod World” #118

Delta Carnival Club

Photographer: C. Diblin, Jr.

“Come Into My Parlor” #119

Carefrees, Inc.

Photographer: unknown

“Welsh Esteddfad, Music Festival” #120

Lakeview Masqueraders

Photographer: David Nelson

292-110 “Mexican Fiesta” #121

Krewe of Crazy Eights

Photographer: David Nelson

“On Guard” #123

The Dreamers

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Lollipop Set” #124

Jolly Funsters Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Hokus Pokus” #133

Club unknown

Photographer: unknown

“Garden of Eatin’“ #134

Alley Cats

Photographer: David Nelson

“Blooming Idiots” #135

New Orleans-Jefferson Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Pretti Posie People” #136

Pontchartrain Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Monopoly” #138

Beaus & Belles Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Gone To Pot” #140

Krewe of Klowns

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Power of Flowers” #141

Confused Couples Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-110 [Title unknown], #143

Club unknown

Photographer: David Nelson

“Shamrock Holiday” #145

Club unknown

Photographer: David Nelson

“Just Kids” #146

Nobleman’s Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Great Pink Sea Shell” #147

Amigos Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Speedsters” #148

Persian Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Louisiana Strawberries” #150

Merry Makers of Jefferson

Photographer: David Nelson

“Remember When” #151

Gala Fiesta Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Comet Whirl” #152

Casual Aristocrats

Photographer: David Nelson

“Lollies N Pops” #153

Krewe of Fine Arts

Photographer: unknown

“All Roads Lead To Dome” #154

Royal Flushes, Inc.

Photographer: unknown

292-110 “The Web Weavers” #156

Merry Mixers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Toy Box” #157

Greenhorns

Photographer: David Nelson

“King Tut” #158

Penny Pinchers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Away In A Beautiful Balloon” #159

Family Funsters

Photographer: unknown

“Luck Of The Irish” #162

Karnival Kapers

Photographer: David Nelson

“Doubloons” #163

The Dollar Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Pot Of Gold” #166

Dreamers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Basket Of Easter Chicks” #170

Krewe: unknown

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Rise Of Atlantis” #171

Peres Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Dixieland Dutchmen” #174

Merry Rogues of Algiers

Photographer: David Nelson

292-110 “Circus Parade” #175

The Rounders Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“A Short History Of Our Country” #176

La Famille Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-111 1969 (53 items)

Color photographs, 8” x 10” unless otherwise noted.

“See-The-Sea” E-3

Kinsmen Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Myths Of The Greek Sun God” E-4

Cobra Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-111 “You Can’t Take It With You” E-5

Lakeview Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Courtyards Of New Orleans” E-7

All For Fun Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Puppets On A String” E-17

Jolly Jacks Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Siamese Dancers” E-19

Crescenteers Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½”

292-111 “Noah’s Ark” E-20

Krewe of Fantasy

Photographer: unknown

3 photos, each 3½” x 3½”, clipped together

“Coronation Of Catherine The Great” E-22

Clermont Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Blue Feathered Friends” E-31

Happy Haus Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½”

“Up, Up And Away” E-33

Jolli Timers

Photographer: David Nelson

“Little Old Spanish Town” E-36

A-1 Social Club

Photographer: John E. Kuhlman

“Temptation” E-40

Conglomerates Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 5”

“The Treasure Seekers” E-41

The Lakeshore Carnival Club, Inc.

Photographer: unknown

“Marco Polo & The Princess” E-44

Flambeau Social Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Secret Of The Leprechauns” E-45

Out For Fun Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

292-111 “The Seven Gods Of Good Fortune” E-46

KCS’ers

Photographer: David Nelson

“Easter’s On Its Way” E-48

Fun Makers

Photographer: unknown

8” x 8”

“This Is A Happy Bunch” E-50

Pals of Pleasure Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Coo Coo Time Down South” E-54

Dixie Doodlers

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½”

“Black Gold” E-55

Pleasure Seekers Carnival Club, Inc.

Photographer: David Nelson

“A Pharaoh’s Fantasy” E-61

The Crackerjacks Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

2 photos, each 3½” x 5,” stapled together

“Fortune Kookies!” E-63

Mutual Admiration Society (became Mask of Louisiana, Inc. in 1970)

Photographer: David Nelson

“Glancing At The Galaxy” E-70

Crawdads Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Jazz Greats” E-71

Progressive Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

292-111 “Aladdin’s Wondrous Lamp” E-72

Jolly Jesters Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Dominoes” E-74

Funtimers Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Tip Toe Thru The Tulips” E-75

Hi-Jinks Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Snow Balls In Hell” E-80

Tri-Parish Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Stormy Weather” E-84

Southern Silhouette Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Ole” E-87

Around the Town Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Birds By Audubon” E-95

Trumpers Carnival Organization

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Be A Clown, Be A Clown, Be A Clown” E-97

Gaytimers Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

4” x 4”

“March of the Siamese Children” E-100

Kinfolk Kapers Club

Photographer: unknown

292-111 “Fun At The Beach” E-106

March Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Red Roses for a Blue Lady” E-110

The Merrymakers Carnival Club, Inc.

Photographer: David Nelson

“Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner” E-111

Signa Phi Nothing

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“How Sweet It Is” E-117

KNOC Karnival Krewe

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½”

“Daisies Won’t Tell” E-122

The Merrymakers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Fiesta Villa” E-127

Funny Forties Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Go Tigers Go” E-130

Merry Makers Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Signs of the Zodiac” E-137

Jet Set Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Rushin To Mardi Gras” E-139

Gemini Nine Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½”

292-111 “Turkey Shoot” E-142

Jolly 24 Club

Photographer: unknown

4” x 4”

“Hold That Tiger” E-149

Masked Revellers

Photographer: David Nelson

“Crawfish Jubilee” E-155

Good Timers East

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Ketch All” E-160

Newman School 9th Graders

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½”

“Are You Jestin’?” E-161

Club unknown

Photographer: unknown

2 photos, each 3½” x 3½”

“Go Saints Go” E-164

Krewe of Pembo

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½”

“The Angry Sea” E-169

Full House Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Court Jesters” E-177

Les Mascarade

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½”

292-111 “Bunnies Hoppin Chicks A Poppin” E-178

Krewe of Krazy Kats

Photographer: unknown

2 photos, 3½” x 3½” and 5” x 7”, clipped together

“Jolly Green Giant” E-179

Bon Temp Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3” x 6”

“Krazy Kadets” E-180

The Metairie Merry Makers

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

292-112 Lodge 30, 1970 (120 items)

Color photographs, 8” x 10” unless otherwise noted.

“House Of Pearls” #5

Jolly Jacks Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Young At Heart” #6

Newcomers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Shades Of New Orleans” #7

Pals of Pleasure Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Sleeping Beauty” #9

Southport Revellers Social Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Phoenix - Bird Of The Sun” #11

Mule’s Club

Photographer: unknown

292-112 “And Nero Fiddles” #13

Lakeview Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 5”

“This Is The Age Of Aquarius” #16

Merry Mix Social Club

Photographer: John E. Kuhlman

“Antiques” #17

Hi-Jinks Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Ants Misbehaving” #18

Amigos Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Dazzling Gems” #19

The Gems Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Cook Of The Walk” #21

Dixie Doodlers

Photographer: unknown

4” x 4”

“Birthstones” #23

Gentilly Happy Go Luckies

Photographer: unknown

“Handwriting On The Wall” #25

The Merry Maskers

Photographer: unknown

“Gingerbread Man” #27

Krewe of Jabolina Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-112 “Where Eagles Dare” #28

Krazy Kats Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

2 photos, 2 3/4” x 6½” and 3” x 4,” glued to cardboard

“The Children Of Mu” #29

Lakeshore Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Wheelers And Dealers In Las Vegas” #30

Laughing Jokers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Who’ll Eat Crow” #31

Goodtimers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Swing On A Star” #35

KCSers’ Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Casino De Paris” #39

West Bank Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Hey Diddle Diddle” #40

Fun Lovers Carnival Club

Photographer: John E. Kuhlman

“Caesar Salad” #42

Metairie Merry Makers

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“The Jewel Box” #43

Lakeview Masquraders

Photographer: David Nelson

292-112 “El Toreador De Mardi Gras” #44

Trabs Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Where The Rainbow Meets The Sun” #45

Merry Mixers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Swallows Of Capistrano” #46

Club Lucky 18

Photographer: David Nelson

“L’aquarium Exotique” #47

Jolly Rogers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Here’s Looking At You” #49

Cracker Jacks Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“SS Queen City” #50

Krewe of Fantasy

Photographer: unknown

“Desert Delight” #51

Les Chanteclairs’ Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“I Love A Parade” #52

Trumpers Carnival Organization

Photographer: unknown

“Sunny Side Up” #53

Jolly 24 Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Nicotine Fits” #55

Wrecks of Mardi Gras

Photographer: David Nelson

292-112 “Sun Worshipers” #56

Party Liners Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“The Magic Toy Box” #57

Crescenteers Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Heavenly Wonderland” #58

Jolli Timers

Photographer: David Nelson

“Snoopy To The Moon” #59

Calender Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Tulip Time In New Orleans” #60

Beaus & Belles Carnival Club

Photographer: Walter S. Brannon

“Pride Of India” #61

The Goodtimers, Inc.

Photographer: David Nelson

2 photos, 8” x 10” and 5” x 7”

“Bluebirds Over The White Cliffs Of Dover” #62

Lakeside Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“VooDoo Magic” #63

The Southerners Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½”

“Big Oaks From Little Acorns” #64

The Gay Masqueraders’ Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“How Sweet It Is” #65

Merry Marchers of Arabi

Photographer: unknown

292-112 “Ferdinand And His Crazy Daisies” #68

Guys & Dolls Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Pillow Talk” #69

Four Poster Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Vanishing American” #71

The Dollar Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Soup Bunch” #72

Old Pro Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“VooDoo Land” #73

Fun Makers Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Ah-Nee-She-Nah-Be” #76

The Merrymaskers Carnival Club, Inc.

Photographer: David Nelson

“To Bee Or Not To Bee” #77

Progressive Carnival and Social Club

Photographer: unknown

“New Orleans Hi Tops” #78

The Dreamers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Cortez Conquers The Aztecs” #79

Merry Rogues of Algiers

Photographer: unknown

“Candyland” #80

Royal Flushes

Photographer: unknown

3” x 4”

292-112 “Halloween Munsters” #81

Krewe of Algerians

Photographer: unknown

3” x 4”

“Ma & Pa & Them Hills” #83

Casual Aristocrats

Photographer: David Nelson

“La Ensalada” #84

The Undecideds

Photographer: unknown

“Sir Lance And His Lot” #85

G.W. Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Spring Fantasia” #86

Ceres Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Floating Gardens, Xochimilio, Mexico” #88

Gay Masqueraders

Photographer: unknown

3” x 4”

“Fly Me To The Moon” #89

Flambeaux Social Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 5”

292-113 “The Blessing Of The Shrimp Fleet” #91

Pontchartrain Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“We’re Out To Clean Up The World” #92

Jolly Funsters Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-113 “Scarecrow In The Corn Patch” #93

Krewe of Hope We’ll Make It

Photographer: David Nelson

“Paul Revere Rides Again” #94

Southern Silhouette Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Putting On The Ritz” #95

Merry Maskers of Metairie

Photographer: unknown

“Showboat” #96

New Orleans East Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Sign On The Dotted Lion” #97

Gemini Nine Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 5”

“Chaotic Cavemen” #98

Who’s Who Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Fallen Angels” #99

Alley Cats Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Mardi Gras Fountain” #100

Lower Coasters

Photographer: David Nelson

“Look At All Dem Injuns” #101

Jefferson Legionaires

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Yellow Payges” #102

Hi Ballers Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

292-113 “Clown Town U.S.A.” #103

Nobleman’s Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Easter 1970” #106

Westside Jesters’ Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Gypsy Caravan” #107

Karnival Kapers

Photographer: David Nelson

“Let Your Fingers Do The Walking” #109

The Green Horns Carnival Club

Photographer: Gary’s Studio

“Chicken Little” #111

The Seminole Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Ring, Ring The Banjo” #120

Around the Town Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“1970 Martians” #121

Jet Set Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“The Three Kings” #123

Checkmate Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“We’ve Been Working On The Railroad” #125

Gay Sixteeners’ Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Forty Days Away” #127

Conglomerates Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½”

292-113 “Doing Our Thing” #128

Club unknown

Photographer: unknown

2 photos, each 4½” x 4½”

“Lancelot, Camelot And Our Lot” #129

Swingsters Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Cajun Fishermen” #130

Newman School

Photographer: unknown

“The Greatest Free Show On Earth” #132

Little Wrecks Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Sea Of Stars” #133

Four Corners Carnival Club

Photographer: Gordon Pursley

“Halley’s Comet Returns” #134

Brandy Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Punch & Judy” #135

Lakefront Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Miami It Ain’t” #136

Krewe of Fine Arts

Photographer: unknown

“I Dream Of Genie” #137

Goodtimers East Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

5” x 7”

“Magic Carpet Ride” #138

Delta Carnival Club

Photographer: C. Dublin, Jr.

292-113 “Coo Coo Choo Choo” #141

Merry Makers of Jefferson

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Farmers And Their Belles” #142

The Merry Makers

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“The Jolly Roger” #143

Kings & Queens Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Zodiac Signs” #144

Rebels Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Grads” #146

Dreamers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Spring Fiesta” #149

Happy Go Luckies of Jefferson

Photographer: David Nelson

“A Dutch Treat” #150

Out For Fun Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Frontier Frolics” #152

Masked Revellers

Photographer: David Nelson

“This Land Is Our Land” #153

Les Mascarade Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½”

“Picnic Pests” #154

Carnival Social Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-113 “Chef Salad” #155

Bon Temps Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

4” x 4”

“Signs Of The Zodiac” #156

Lively Ones Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Paradise Lane” #157

March Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Golden Palominos” #160

New Orleans-Jefferson Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Aladdin’s Lamp” #162

Krewe of Boeuf Gras

Photographer: David Nelson

“Little Red Riding Hood And The Wolf” #163

Rebel Friendship Club

Photographer: unknown

“Moonlight And Roses” #164

Clique Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Fox Hunt” #165

Fast Half Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“School Dais” #166

West Bank Hi Lites Carnival and Social Club

Photographer: unknown

“Cajuns’ Dream” #167

Friends & Neighbors carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½”

292-113 “A Horse Of A Different Color” #168

No-Name Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“In Your Easter Basket” #170

Family Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½”, clipped to letter

“Castle Keepers” #171

The Energetics

Photographer: David Nelson

“Precious Gems” #173

Harahan Saints Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Birth Of The Blues” #174

Hi-Timers

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 3½”

“Never Never Land” #177

Golddiggers Social Club

Photographer: unknown

3 photos, each 8” x 10”

“SS Del Funseekers” #178

The Funseekers’ Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Bishops & Pawns” #180

The Odd Couples

Photographer: unknown

3” x 4”, clipped to letter

292-114 1970 (26 items)

8” x 10” color photographs unless otherwise noted.

“The King And I” #4

The Kinsmen

Photographer: David Nelson

“1492 Our America Begins” #8

Les Bouffons Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Happy Jappy Ferry” #10

Shufflers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Ringmaster And His Pretty Fillies” #12

Ten Plus Club

Photographer: unknown

“The Prairie Schooner” #15

The Clippers Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Signs Of The Times” #24

The In Crowd

Photographer: David Nelson

“Bloomin Idiots” #26

Penny Pinchers of Jefferson Parish

Photographer: David Nelson

“United World” #32

Gaillard’s Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Bunny Hop” #48

Merry Makers Carnival Club, Inc.

Photographer: David Nelson

292-114 “Those Were The Days” #70

Mask of Louisiana, Inc.

Photographer: David Nelson

“Put It In Black And White” #82

Abracadabra Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Elegant Elephants” #87

Fun Timers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Lot ‘A’ Bull” #90

A-1 Social Club

Photographer: John E. Kuhlman

“Off To See The Wizard” #104

Kinfolks Kapers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“River Road Plantation” #108

Jumping Jacks

Photographer: David Nelson

“Watermelon Patch” #110

Pleasure Seekers

Photographer: David Nelson

“Hearts And Flowers” #119

Packenham Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Yipes Stripes” #122

Krewe of Klowns, Inc.

Photographer: David Nelson

“King Midas Alias Goldfinger” #126

Full House Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

292-114 “Sayonara” #131

Merry Makers of Destrehan Carnival Club

Photographer: Gary’s Studio

“Trick Or Trick” #140

Crawdads Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Funny Faces” #147

The Humdingers Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Totem Poles” #148

Jolly Jesters Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Mexico To The Mardi Gras” #158

Marrero Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Horse Play” #175

Westbank Suburbanites

Photographer: David Nelson

“Oaklawn Safari” #176

Oaklawn Raiders Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

292-115 Lodge 30, 1971 (85 items)

8” x 10” color photographs unless otherwise noted.

“Lafitte’s Dream Of Japan” #6

Harmony Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Green Cat Cabaret” #11

Jolly Jacks

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 5”

292-115 “Diamond Showcase” #14

Progressive Carnival Club

Photographer: Romaguera

“Bayou Beauties” #17

Seminole Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Enchanted Clock” #23

Crescenteers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Mary Had A Little Lamb” #26

Lakeview Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“24 Hour Bug” #31

Merry Rogues of Algiers

Photographer: unknown

“Blue Willow” #35

March Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“All That Rotten Cotton” #37

Dixie Doodlers Carnival Club

Photographer: Ralph J. Romaguera

“Too Too Many” #40

Metairie Merry Makers

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“King Cobra” #41

Amigos Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Krazy Krawfish” #43

Lakeshore Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

292-115 “Fine Feathered Friends” #44

Beaus & Belles Carnival Club

Photographer: Ralph J. Romaguera

“This Stuff Just Kills Me” #47

The Crackerjacks Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 5”

“Lara’s Theme” #51

The Lively Ones

Photographer: David Nelson

“Coo Coo Quacks” #52

Krewe Krazy Kats

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Home Of The Brave” #62

Krewe of Klowns

Photographer: Ralph J. Romaguera

“Buccaneers Buccanettes” #63

Four Corners Carnival Club

Photographer: Gordon Pursley

“The Musketeers” #64

Southern Silhouette Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Flambeaux Blues” #66

Flambeaux Social Club

Photographer: unknown

3” x 4”

“Railroad Daisies” #67

The Undecideds

Photographer: unknown

292-115 “Hawaiian Holiday” #69

Gay Masqueraders

Photographer: Ralph J. Romaguera

“The House Of Wei” #70

Merry Makers, Inc.

Photographer: unknown

“Mardi Gras Fountain” #74

The Clippers Carnival Club

Photographer: Ralph J. Romaguera

“School Daze” #79

Alley Cats Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Magic Horse” #81

Brandy Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Happy Birthday Baby” #82

Club unknown

Photographer: unknown

2 photos, each 4” x 4”

“Smoky Mary” #83

Krewe of Elmeer

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Game of Kings” #84

West Bank Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

2 photos, each 3½” x 3½”

“Let’s Go Bananas” #94

Gemini 9

Photographer: Ralph J. Romaguera

“Fairytale Land” #95

Kinfolk Kapers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-115 “Audubon’s Dream” #97

Wrecks of Mardi Gras

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Lantern Festival” #98

The Lively Ones Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Life Of A Butterfly” #99

Lakeside Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Dragon Ship” #100

Newman School

Photographer: David Nelson

“Raindrops” #101

Newman School 7th Grade

Photographer: Ralph J. Romaguera

“Let The Sunshine In” #102

Jolly Funsters Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Come Rain Or Come Shine” #103

Krewe of Crazy Eights

Photographer: David Nelson

“Candy Land” #104

Family Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Catch As Catch Can” #106

Oaklawn Raiders Carnival Club

Photographer: Gordon Pursley

“Bases Are Loaded” #107

Hi-Timers

Photographer: David Nelson

292-115 “Las Vegas-Lost Wages” #108

Lakeview Masqueraders

Photographer: David Nelson

“Journey To The Center Of The Earth” #112

Mask of Louisiana, Inc.

Photographer: David Nelson

292-116 “The Drummer Boy” #114

Hi Ballers

Photographer: unknown

“Tulip Time” #118

Karnival Kapers

Photographer: David Nelson

“Beer And Pretzels” #121

Old Pro Carnival Club

Photographer: Ralph J. Romaguera

“Mardi Aquarium” #122

Jolly Twenty-Four Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Terrestrial Bodies” #123

Who’s Who Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea” #125

West Bank Hi-Lites

Photographer: unknown

“Don’t Clown With My Heart” #126

Out For Fun Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“For The Love Of Karrots” #129

Dreamers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-116 “Gala Fiesta” #130

Gala Fiesta Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Rhyme Tyme” #134

Happy Go Luckies of Jefferson

Photographer: David Nelson

“Good Ship Lollipop” #136

Pontchartrain Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Born Free” #137

Masked Revellers Carnival Club

Photographer: Ralph J. Romaguera

“La Jolie Papillon” #139

Rebels Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Mysterious Sphinx” #141

Funseekers Carnival Club

Photographer: Romaguera

“Mardi Gras In The French Quarter” #145

Friends & Neighbors Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3½” x 5”

“Louisiana Sunshine Tree” #146

Crawdads Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Vieux Carre” #149

Fast Half Carnival Club

Photographer: Romaguera

“Free Toe O Happy Bandito” #150

B.B. & C. Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

292-116 “Holland Holiday” #151

Swingsters Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Musical College” #152

Krewe of Pembo

Photographer: David Nelson

“Mint Juleps” #153

Hi-Jinks Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

8” x 10”, clipped to letter

“Italian Vineyard” #155

Casual Aristocrats Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Coeur de Lion” #156

Around The Town Carnival Club

Photographer: Ralph J. Romaguera

“We Salute America” #157

Fun Timers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Serpent Of The Nile” #158

The Humdingers Carnival Club

Photographer: Ralph J. Romaguera

“The Zodiacs” #162

The Southerners

Photographer: Ralph J. Romaguera

“Louisiana Derby” #163

Guys & Dolls Carnival & Social Club

Photographer: unknown

2 photos, each 8” x 10”

292-116 “Where The Elite Meet” #164

New Orleans East Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

5” x 7”

“Circus World” #165

Packenham Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Siesta de Amigos” #166

Gentilly Happy Go Luckies

Photographer: unknown

“Red Bird Haven” #168

Music Makers Carnival Club

Photographer: John E. Kuhlman

“Circus Daze” #169

Ball & Chain

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Roaring Twenties” #171

Funsters Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Life Is Just A Bowl Of Cherries” #172

Fat Tuesday, Inc.

Photographer: unknown

Form: 2 photos, 3½” x 5” and 8” x 10”, clipped to letter

“Blooming Idiots” #174

Unknown Revelers Club

Photographer: unknown

“Pieces Of Eight-Luck of The Irish” #175

Club unknown

Photographer: David Nelson

“Hell On Wheels” #176

Palmorads’ Social Club

Photographer: Ralph J. Romaguera

292-116 “Jokers Are Wild” #177

The Eisenhower Brigade Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Mickey & Minnie In Cheeseland” #179

Kaleidoscope Carnival Club

Photographer: Ralph J. Romaguera

“Moonlight Gamblers” #180

Statewide Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Ye Ole Coffee Shoppe” #181

Family Affair

Photographer: Gordon Pursley

292-117 1971 (24 items)

8” x 10” color photographs unless otherwise noted.

“The Royal Hunt of The Sun” #2

Nutcrackers Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“A Child’s Whirl” #3

Jolli Timers

Photographer: David Nelson

“This Is Heaven” #18

Laughing Jokers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Kama Kura Kousins” #25

Bissonet Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Circus Clowns” #29

Jolly Rogers

Photographer: David Nelson

2 photos, 8” x 10”

292-117 “Vikings” #39

Calender Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Butterflies Are Free” #46

The In Crowd

Photographer: David Nelson

“Red To Rind” #54

Merry Mixers Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Tequila Banditoes” #55

Merry Makers of Jefferson

Photographer: David Nelson

“Doubloon A Tics” #58

The Dreamers Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Louisiana Gold” #59

The Bon Temp Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

4” x 4”

“Raindrops Keep Falling” #65

New Orleans-Jefferson Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Devil Made Me Do It” #68

Family Funsters Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“The Three-Toe Bandito” #76

No-Name Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Pixieland Jazz” #77

Penny Pinchers Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

292-117 “South Of The Border” #78

Krewe of Algerians

Photographer: unknown

3” x 4”

“Gay Nineties Spring Garden” #105

Club Lucky 18

Photographer: David Nelson

“Hollin House Mixers” #109

Funny Forties Carnival Club

Photographer: Ralph J. Romaguera

“Doubloon Fever” #110

Royal Flushes Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

3” x 4”

“Krazy Dazy” #116

Party Liners Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“The Top Banana” #138

The Merry Makers

Photographer: Ralph J. Romaguera

“Daisies Don’t Tell” #148

Merry Maskers of Metairie

Photographer: unknown

“Oriental Festival” #160

Fun Lovers Carnival Club

Photographer: John E. Kuhlman

“My Merry Olds” #173

Easy Riders Social Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-118 Lodge 30, 1972 (101 items)

8” x 10” color photographs by David Nelson.

“Truth or Consequences” E-10

Confused Couples

“Calories Free” E-14

Krewe of Krazy Kats

“Make A Wish” E-18

The Gems Carnival Club

“Panorama Easter” E-19

The Dolphins

“Written In The Stars” E-20

The Kinsmen

“Cotton Candy” E-23

Amigos Carnival Club

“Here’s Your Pride, New Orleans” E-23

Little Wrecks Carnival Club

“Mousey Mardi Gras” E-26

Gay Revelers Club

“Gingerbread Man” E-27

Fun Lovers Carnival Club

“Proud As A Peacock” E-29

Lowercoasters

“Something Fishy About Neptune” E-33

Merry Nix Social Club

“I’m Forever Blowing Bubbles” E-38

The Clippers Carnival Club

292-118 “Don’t Rain On My Parade” E-42

Merry Maskers of Metairie

“A Roman Holiday “ E-44

Harahan Saints Carnival Club

“Nickelodeon Dream” E-45

Good Timers East

“The Owl And The Pussycat” E-46

Merry Makers Of Destrehan

“We B’s Doing Our Thing” E-48

The Happy Hour Carnival Club

“Bees And Babees” E-50

Family Funsters Carnival Club

“Fowl Play” E-51

The Merry Makers

“Northern Lights” E-55

Westside Jesters Carnival Club

“Windmills Of My Mind” E-57

The Undecideds

“When It’s Hot, It’s Hot” E-59

Crescenteers Carnival Club

“Wonderful World Of Disney” E-60

Merry Maskers of Arabi

“Sweet Smell Of Success” E-61

The Humdingers

“Yankee Doodle Dandies” E-62

Bissonet-Maned Downs Carnival Club

“Loves Me Loves Me Not” E-63

Friends & Neighbors Carnival Club

292-118 “Spring Will Soon Be Here - Won’t It” E-64

Trabs

“Aladdin’s Lamp” E-65

Golddiggers Carnival Club

“All Chiefs And No Indians” E-67

The Music Makers

“Siam’s Chime Of The Times, 1939” E-68

Ceres Carnival Club

“Mysteries Of The Sea” E-70

Kinfolk Kapers

“Sing A Song Of Sixpence” E-72

Brandy Club

“Temple Of The Gods” E-73

Around the Town Carnival Club

“Big Top” E-74

Rebel Friendship Carnival Club

“Little Woods” E-76

Krewe of Pembo

“Hot Ants” E-77

Metairie Merry Makers

“Let’s Play Chess” E-78

Lakeshore Carnival Club

“Ridin’ To Noo Awlins” E-79

Kaleidoscope Carnival Club

“Doubloons On Parade” E-81

Merrymakers, Inc.

“Nero’s Neurosis” E-82

Gentilly Happy Go Luckies

292-118 “Gingerbread Man In Candyland” E-83

Good Timers Carnival Club

“Long May It Wave” E-84

Packenham Carnival & Social Club

“Cactus Kid” E-86

B.B. & C. Carnival Club

“Mr. McGregor’s Garden” E-88

Four Corners Carnival Club

“The Undersea World of Jacques Cousteau” E-89

Guys & Dolls Carnival & Social Club

“Gone But Not Forgotten” E-90

Family Affair Carnival Club

“Babes In Joyland” E-91

Easy Riders

“Lafitte’s Crew” E-92

Swingsters Carnival Club

“Creole Tomatoes” E-93

Flambeaux Social Club

292-119 “According 2 Hoyle” E-94

Happy Go Luckies of Jefferson

“Don’t Count Your Chickens Before They Hatch” E-95

Fat Tuesday Carnival Club

“Mardi Gras On The Moon” E-96

The Dollar Carnival Club

“Gold Rush Days” E-97

Krewe of Algerians

“Bayou Country” E-98

The No Name Carnival Club

292-119 “Clowning Around” E-99

Club Lucky 18

“Sundaes In New Orleans” E-101

Fast Half Carnival Club

“Land Of Oz” E-102

Trumpers Carnival Club

“Christmas Ornaments” E-103

Old Pro Carnival Club

“Frog Prince” E-105

Signa Phi Nothing Carnival Club

“Something Sphinx” E-106

Impossible Dream Carnival Club

“Sea Of Hands” E-108

New Orleans-Jefferson Carnival Club

“Ben Hur And Him” E-109

Funny 40’s Carnival Club

“Snow White & The Poison Apple” E-110

Ball & Chain Carnival Club

“Arabian Knight” E-111

Crawdads Carnival Club

“Guardian of the Sword” E-112

The Gay Sixteeners

“Time Marches On” E-114

No Name Given

“Say Cheese” E-115

Gentilly Woods Club

“Superstitions” E-116

Fun Seekers Carnival Club

292-119 “Make A Wish” E-118

Gentilly Pleasure Seekers

“The Spider And The Fly” E-119

Green Horns

“Mardi Gras Fools” E-120

Out For Fun Carnival Club

“Hot Stuff” E-121

Les Chanticlairs

“Basket A Bunnies” E-122

Hi Ballers

“Lovely Louisiana” E-123

A-1 Social Club

“Teddy Bears Picnic” E-124

Kings & Queens Carnival Club

“Parfait Parlor” E-125

Carnival Social Club

“Greenie Garter” E-126

Newman School 7th Grade

“Oriental Wing Ding” E-127

Hi Timers

“Sea Stoned” E-128

Mask of Louisiana, Inc.

“Nursery Land” E-129

Family Carnival Club

“Make A Reservation” E-130

Krewe of Crazy Eights

“Champagne Flight” E-131

The Pleasure Seekers Carnival Club

292-119 “Family Gems” E-133

Oakland Raiders

“Sunshine & Roses” E-134

The Seminole Carnival Club

“Cajun Injuns” E-135

The Lively Ones

“Mississippi Riverboat Gamblers” E-136

Karnival Kapers

“Pass That Peace Pipe” E-137

Jolly Funsters Carnival Club

“In The Still Of The Night” E-139

The Funsters

“Dizzy Jockies” E-142

Alley Cats

“Some Crust” E-143

Abracadabra

“Daffy Dolphins” E-145

The In Crowd

“Wise Old Owls” E-146

Pieces of Eight

“Sweet Hearts” E-147

Krewe of Fine Arts

“Egyptian Kingdom” E-148

Merry Makers of Jefferson

“Hallucephants” E-149

Palmorads

“Toys Little Girls Love” E-150

Gay Timers Carnival Club

292-119 “Aloha” E-151

Gay Masqueraders

“Hit Parade” E-152

Masked Revelers

“Toys Made By Elves” E-154

Jumping Jacks Carnival Club

“The Executioners” E-157

Fun Timers Carnival Club

“Vices Of Life” E-170

Dawn Busters Social Club

292-120 1972, [n.d.] (21 items)

8” x 10” color photographs unless otherwise noted.

“Cat Castle” #11

Wrecks of Mardi Gras

Photographer: David Nelson

“Underarm Expert” #17

Westbank Suburbanites

Photographer: David Nelson

“King Arthur’s Court” #25

Zodiacs

Photographer: David Nelson

“Nero Fiddles Rome Burns” #28

The Energetics

Photographer: David Nelson

“Dark Shadows” #30

KCS’ers

Photographer: David Nelson

292-120 “Calories Galore” #36

Mules Social & Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Which Is Witch” #40

Crackerjacks Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Wicked Witch Of The West” #47

Krewe of Hope We’ll Make It

Photographer: David Nelson

“Fowl Play” #51

The Merry Makers

Photographer: David Nelson

“Snow Flurries” #75

Jolly Rogers

Photographer: David Nelson

“Coughin Corner” #100

Krewe of Fantasy

Photographer: David Nelson

“Popeye And Pals” #107

Casual Aristocrats

Photographer: David Nelson

“Haunted Castle” #138

Southern Silhouettes

Photographer: David Nelson

“Checkmates” #140

Royal Flushes

Photographer: David Nelson

“The Flying Frigate” #141

New Orleans East Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-120 “Soot On Us” #144

Gay Twelve Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Upper U.S.” #153

The Gay Masqueraders

Photographer: David Nelson

“Elmeer Diner” #156

Krewe of Elmeer

Photographer: David Nelson

“24 Hour Bug” #160

Statewide Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Tropical Fish” #169

Playmate Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

Krewe of Elks Official Car, n.d.

Photographer: David Nelson

292-121 Lodge 30, 1973 (7 items)

8” x 10” color photographs, photographer unknown

“Pink Squirrel” E-45

The Happy Hour Carnival Club

“Reigning Cats & Dogs” E-47

Hi Ballers

“Jonah And The Whale” E-51

Crescenteers Carnival Club

“CDB (See The Bee)” E-55

Mask of Louisiana, Inc.

“Lil Green Ghoul House” E-106

Easy Riders Carnival Club

292-121 “Li’l Red & The Wolves” E-151

Booze, Broads & Children Carnival Club

“Don’t Bug Me” E-168

Funsters Carnival Club

292-122 Negatives and Photographs, 1973, 1974 (8 items)

Photographer unknown.

“So Proudly We Hail” #2, 1973

Jolli Timers

8” x 10” black & white, 5” x 7” black & white

“Emperor’s Dream” #5, 1973

Newcomers Carnival Club

8” x 10” black & white

“Two Of A Kind” #14, 1973

Clique Carnival Club

8” x 10” black & white

“Kingdom Of Neptune” #18, 1973

Jolly Jacks

8” x 10”

“Ye Olde Fire Fighters” #100, 1973

The Over The River Gang

One 8” x 10” color, four 5” x 7” black & white

“Glory Bee” #2, 1974

All For Fun Carnival Club

8” x 10” black & white

“Snow White And Rose Red” #11, 1974

Club unknown

8” x 10” black & white

“Chicken A La King” #19, 1974

Southport Revelers

8” x 10” black & white

292-123 Various dates (1965, 1967, 1969, [n.d.]) (16 items)

8” x 10” color photographs, unless otherwise noted.

“Bales O’Fun” #45, 1965

Lakefront Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Pizza Palace” #135, 1967

Krewe of Hope We’ll Make It

Photographer: David Nelson

“Wacky Apple” #21, 1969

Mule’s Carnival and Social Club

Photographer: unknown

“Harlequins” #102, 1969

Westside Jesters’ Carnival Club

Photographer: Stempel

“Red Beans N’Rice” #107, 1969

The In Crowd

Photographer: David Nelson

“Rex’s Jesters” #144, 1969

One Mad Family

Photographer: unknown

“Big Top” #167, 1969

Lower Coasters

Photographer: David Nelson

“Abracadabra” #172, 1969

Abracadabra Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Portrait Of A Russian Winter” #1, 1970

The Nutcracker Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

292-123 “This Is Our Country” #2, 1970

Cobra Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Mud Bug Paradise” #34, 1970

Gay Twelve Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

“Tickled Pink” #36, 1970

All For Fun Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Let Yourself Glow” #74, 1970

Bissonet Maned Downs Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Indian Love Call” #50, 1971

Manners Carnival Club

Photographer: David Nelson

“Leprechaun’s Pipe Dream” #119, 1971

Harahan Saints Carnival Club

Photographer: Ralph J. Romaguera

Photograph of Major Gregory Boyington, USMC, [n.d.]

Photographer: unknown

8” x 10” black & white

292-124 Oversize photographs (1961, 1965-1966) (4 items)

“Alpine Climbers” #74, 1961

Happy Hoppers Carnival Club

Photographer: Arthur L. Swanson

5½” x 14” black & white

“Oriental Fantasies” #3, 1965

Gentilly Carnival Club

Photographer: unknown

11” x 14” color

292-124 “Ali Baba and Forty Thieves” #47, 1965

Lake Shore Carnival Club

Photographer: J. H. Henson

11” x 14” color

[Unidentified float with Egyptian theme] #13, 1966

Unknown carnival club

Photographer: unknown

8” x 10” black & white

292-125 Photocopies, 1977 (described)

Elks Krewe of Jeffersonians

Photocopies; with descriptions, unless otherwise indicated

292-126 1973-1976

292-127 1977

292-128 1977

Without descriptions

292-129 1978

292-130 1979

292-131 1980

292-132 1981

292-133 1982

Photographs of trucks #1 and #5 lacking

292-134 1983

292-135 1984

292-136 1985

292-137 1986

292-138 1987

292-139 1988

292-140 1989

Elks Krewe of Gretna

Photocopies; with descriptions, unless otherwise indicated

292-141 1987

“66 trucks, 2142 riders.”

292-142 1988

“66 trucks.”

Krewe of Crescent City

Photocopies; with descriptions, unless otherwise indicated

292-143 1986

292-144 1987

292-145 1988

292-146 1989

Westside Carnival Club

8” x 10” color photograph

292-147 1974

Subseries III.2: Designs for trucks, costumes, etc.

Artwork

Elks Krewe of Orleanians

292-148 1970

292-149 Decor and costume, 1976

292-150 1981

Elks Krewe of Jeffersonians

292-151 1976

292-152 1977

292-153 1978

292-154 1979

292-155 1980

292-156 1981

292-157 Photocopies of truck designs, 1965-1970

“Bales O’Fun” (1965) (6 copies)

Elks Truck No. 45

Lakefront Carnival Club

292-157 “Out of This World” (1966) (4 copies)

Elks Truck No. 26

Jolli Timers

“Wacky Apples” (1969) (7 copies)

Elks Truck No. 21

Mules Club

292-157 “Harlequins” (1969) (11 copies)

Elks Truck No. 102

Westside Jesters’ Carnival Club

“Red Beans-N-Rice” (1969) (5 copies)

Elks Truck No. 107

The In Crowd

“Rex’s Jesters” (1969) (4 copies)

Elks Truck No. 144

One Mad Family

“Big Top” (1969) (4 copies)

Elks Truck No. 167

Lower Coasters

“Abracadabra” (1969) (3 copies)

Elks Truck No. 172

Abracadabra Carnival Club

“Portrait of a Russian Winter” (1970) (5 copies)

Elks Truck No. 1

Nutcracker Carnival Club

“This Is Our Country” (1970) (6 copies)

Elks Truck No. 2

Cobra Carnival Club

“Mud Bug Paradise” (1970) (13 copies)

Elks Truck No. 34

Gay Twelve Carnival Club

“Tickled Pink” (1970) (10 copies)

Elks Truck No. 36

All for Fun Carnival Club

“Happy Jappy Ferry” (1970) (7 copies)

Elks Truck No. 10

Shufflers Club

292-157 “The Spider . . .” (1970) (5 copies)

Elks Truck No. 14

Tri-Parish

“Let Yourself Glow” (1970) (8 copies)

Elks Truck No. 74

Bissonet Maned Downs Carnival Club

“Indian Love Call” (1971) (14 copies)

Elks Truck No. 50

Marrero Carnival Club

“A Leprechaun’s Pipe Dream” (1971) (4 copies)

Elks Truck No. 119

Harahan Saints Carnival Club

292-158 Photocopies of 8” x 10” black-and-white photographs of trucks, most hand-colored, 1965-1972

“Scotch on the Rocks” (1965)

Elks Truck No. 32

Lakeview Masqueraders

“See-the-Sea” (1969)

Elks Truck No. 3

Kinsmen Carnival Club

“Myths of the Greek Sun God” (1969)

Elks Truck No. 4

Cobra Carnival Club

“Courtyards of New Orleans” (1969)

Elks Truck No. 7

All for Fun Carnival Club

“Wacky Apples” (1969)

Elks Truck No. 21

Mules Club

292-158 “Coronation of Catherine the Great” (1969)

Elks Truck No. 22

Clermont Carnival Club

“Up, Up and Away” (1969)

Elks Truck No. 33

Jolli Timers

“Seven Gods of Good Fortune” (1969)

Elks Truck No. 46

K.C.S.ers

“Fortune Kookies!” (1969)

Elks Truck No. 63

Mutual Admiration Society

“Aladdin’s Wonderful Lamp” (1969)

Elks Truck No. 72

Jolly Jesters Carnival Club

“March of the Siamese Children” (1969)

Elks Truck No. 100

Kinfolk Kapers Club

“Red Roses for a Blue Lady” (1969)

Elks Truck No. 110

The Merrymaskers

“Daisies Won’t Tell” (1969)

Elks Truck No. 122

Merry Makers Carnival Club

“Signs of the Zodiac” (1969)

Elks Truck No. 137

Jet Set Carnival Club

“Big Top” (1969)

Elks Truck No. 167

Lower Coasters

292-158 “Portrait of a Russian Winter” (1970)

Elks Truck No. 1

Nutcracker Carnival Club

“Our American Heritage” (1970)

Elks Truck No. 3

Harmony Carnival Club

“The King and I” (1970)

Elks Truck No. 4

The Kinsmen

“House of Pearls” (1970)

Elks Truck No. 5

Jolly Jacks Carnival Club

“1492: Our America Begins” (1970)

Elks Truck No. 8

Les Buffons

“Prairie Schooner” (1970)

Elks Truck No. 15

The Clippers Carnival Club

“Signs of the Times” (1970)

Elks Truck No. 24

The In Crowd

“Bloomin Idiots” (1970)

Elks Truck No. 26

Penny Pinchers of Jefferson Parish

“Peppermint Paradise” (1970)

Elks Truck No. 33

Gay Revellers Club

“Mud Bug Paradise”

Elks Truck No. 34

Gay Twelve Carnival Club

292-158 “Tickled Pink” (1970)

Elks Truck No. 36

All for Fun Carnival Club

“Heavenly Wonderland” (1970)

Elks Truck No. 58

Jolli Timers

“Those Were the Days” (1970)

Elks Truck No. 70

Mask of Louisiana, Inc.

“New Orleans Hi Tops” (1970)

Elks Truck No. 78

MSS 292 - Charles V. Booth Collection: Inventory

Series I. Carnival Throws and Memorabilia

Series II. Historical Background

Series IV. Papers

Series V. Publications

Series I. Carnival Throws