MSS 296 - Iris Kelso Papers: Inventory
- Last Updated: Nov 13, 2018 4:36 PM
- URL: https://libguides.uno.edu/mss296
- Print Page
Iris Kelso Papers
(Mss 296)
Inventory
Earl K. Long Library
University of New Orleans
April 2009
Summary
Size: 38 linear feet
Geographic
locations: Louisiana, especially New Orleans.
Inclusive
dates: 1950s-1996
Bulk
dates: 1980s-1990s
Summary: Miscellaneous papers, ephemera, and clippings related to Iris Kelso, her work, and her interests.
Related
Collections: Alec Gifford WDSU Television Archive of New Orleans Broadcasting (MSS 277)
Source: Gift, 1999
Access:< No restrictions
Citation: Iris Kelso Papers, Louisiana and Special Collections, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
List of Series and Subseries
Series I. Scrapbooks, 1960-1996
Scrapbooks containing photocopies of Ms. Kelso's columns for three New Orleans newspapers: The States-Item, Figaro, and The Times Picayune.
Series II. Political papers
Includes subject files of reference materials, chiefly pamphlets and articles (many of them photocopied) from newspapers and magazines.
Series III. Miscellaneous
Printed and visual materials, including books, videotapes, and political ephemera (e.g., campaign signs and flyers).
Series Descriptions
Series I. Scrapbooks, 1960-1996
Scrapbooks containing photocopies of Ms. Kelso's columns for three New Orleans newspapers: The States-Item, Figaro, and The Times Picayune.
Series II. Political papers
Includes subject files of Kelso’s reference materials, chiefly articles (many of them photocopied) from newspapers and magazines. There are also smaller amounts of correspondence, press releases, pamphlets and other ephemera from political campaigns, transcripts of interviews conducted by Kelso, as well as reporters’ notebooks and other notes compiled by Kelso.
Subseries II.1: Subject files: New Orleans
Mayors and Mayoral Elections
Other New Orleans Material
Book Proposal and “Best of” Columns
Subseries II.2: Subject files: Louisiana
Governors and Gubernatorial Elections
Legislators and Legislative Elections
Other Louisiana Material
Other Topics
Subseries II.3: Subjects files: Other Topics
Series III. Miscellaneous
Printed and visual materials, including books, videotapes, and political ephemera (e.g., campaign signs and flyers).
Subseries III.1: Printed Materials
Subseries III.2: Books and Videocassettes
Subseries III.3: Political Ephemera
Biographical Note
Born Iris Turner in December 1926 in Philadelphia, Mississippi, Iris Kelso began reporting Louisiana politics in 1951, when she joined the staff of the New Orleans States (later the States-Item), and continued to do so for nearly half a century in print and broadcast journalism. The daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Homer Turner, Iris was just four years old when her mother died, and various family members helped to rear her.
Kelso earned an undergraduate degree in 1948 at Randolph-Macon Woman's College in Lynchburg, Va. The college got her a job at The Hattiesburg (Miss.) American. "It was a wonderful job because I covered everything," she said. "I covered courts and things like that. I was so manic. ... I couldn't stand for a siren to go off without my knowing where was the fire and how could I get there. It was like living on the edge at all times." Her boss, Andy Harmon, was also a mentor who eventually used his connection at the New Orleans States, one of the city's two afternoon newspapers, to get her a job.
"She was a natural reporter," said Walter G. Cowan, her boss at The States. "It was obvious to me right off that she had the ability to talk to people and retain their confidence, even though she had to ask embarrassing questions. It's the kind of thing that rattles new reporters, but she always kept her composure."
Kelso started covering government when virtually everyone in politics and the press was male. "She'd come in and make herself very much at home. She accepted the fact that she was a woman, but she was a reporter just like everybody else, and she was going to be the best reporter that she could be," said former Lt. Gov. James Fitzmorris. When she described her early New Orleans years in a Washington Press Club Foundation interview, Ms. Kelso evoked a rough-and-tumble world out of The Front Page" where hard-driving, profane, cigar-chomping editors hid liquor in their desks, hollered at reporters, barked into telephones and yanked copy out of typewriters as the clock ticked toward deadline. She never stopped loving it. "I love afternoon papers," she said. "I love to cover (a story) as it happens, and I love to run to a phone. I became a very good dictator. I could dictate a story like crazy."
In 1959 Kelso was sent to Baton Rouge to cover the Legislature. But the big story was Gov. Earl K. Long's mental breakdown and his fight with people who tried to hospitalize him for paranoid schizophrenia. "I was so touched by the sight of this old crazy man and the tragedy of what was happening to him," she said. "It was just a very emotional thing for me."
In 1960 she married Robert Kelso, a rewrite man for The States-Item. He died in 1972.
By the middle of the 1960s, Kelso said she was tired of being an observer. "I wanted to participate in something, just to do something that mattered," she said in the interview. So she joined Total Community Action, an anti-poverty initiative. She was responsible for the Head Start program. In the 1980s, Kelso was a founding member of Grace House of New Orleans, a residential drug and alcohol treatment program for women.
After two years with Total Community Action, Kelso returned to journalism, but in another medium: television, covering politics for WDSU. While at WDSU, she hosted "Saturday Politics" and won a Peabody Award for her "City in Crisis," a profile of New Orleans. She returned to print journalism in 1978 as a columnist for Figaro, an alternative weekly. A year later, she joined The Times-Picayune as a political columnist. Interspersed with her political observations were columns about her neighborhood and her family, which, she said in an interview, were her most popular.
Kelso’s work earned her many honors, including the first Media Award (1979) from the Alliance for Good Government for her "excellence in news reporting on governmental and political affairs." Iris Kelso died on December 2, 2003, at the age of 76.
Container List
Series I. Scrapbooks (41 items)
Three-ring binders containing copies of Ms. Kelso's columns in the New Orleans States-Item, Times-Picayune, Figaro, and Gambit, and a small quantity of news articles mentioning or written by Ms. Kelso.
296-1 1961. New Orleans States-Item. Includes one column dated 1959 and one dated 1960.
296-2 1961. New Orleans States-Item. Includes one column dated 1959 and two dated 1960. Content almost duplicates 296-1 (contains a few columns 296-1 lacks).
296-3 1962. New Orleans States-Item.
296-4 1963. New Orleans States-Item.
296-5 1964-1965. New Orleans States-Item. Includes original typescript of columns dated May 16, 1964, and May 23, 1964.
296-6 1976-1978. Figaro. Possibly incomplete. Includes three columns dated 1979.
296-7 1978. Figaro.
296-8 1961-1979. "Best of Iris" columns and articles from Figaro, New Orleans Magazine, other sources.
296-9 1979, July 25 - December. New Orleans Times-Picayune.
296-10 1980. New Orleans Times-Picayune.
296-11 1981. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes columns pertaining to Brilab, beginning May 10.
296-12 1982, January - June. New Orleans Times-Picayune.
296-13 1982, July - December. New Orleans Times-Picayune.
296-14 1983, January - June. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes commentary from other newspapers on charges by the city administration that local political columnists, especially Iris Kelso, criticize Mayor "Dutch" Morial unfairly.
296-15 1983, July - December. New Orleans Times-Picayune.
296-16 1984, January - June. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes several news articles and commentaries by other writers.
296-17 1984, July - December. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Incomplete. Includes several news articles and commentaries by other writers.
296-18 1985, January - June 20. New Orleans Times-Picayune.
296-19 1985, June 23 - December. New Orleans Times-Picayune.
296-20 1986, January - May. New Orleans Times-Picayune.
296-21 1986, May 26 - December. New Orleans Times-Picayune.
296-22 1987, January - June. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes several news articles and commentaries by other writers.
296-23 1987, July - December. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes several news articles and commentaries by other writers.
296-24 1988, January - June. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes several news articles and commentaries by other writers.
296-25 1988, July - December. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes columns pertaining to the Republican National Convention in New Orleans.
296-26 1989, January - June. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes several news articles and commentaries by other writers.
296-27 1989, July - December. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes several news articles and commentaries by other writers.
296-28 1990, January - June. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes several news articles and commentaries by other writers.
296-29 1990, July - December. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes several news articles and commentaries by other writers.
296-30 1991, January - June. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes several news articles and commentaries by other writers.
296-31 1991, July - December. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes several news articles and commentaries by other writers.
296-32 1992, January - June. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes several news articles and commentaries by other writers.
296-33 1992, July - December. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes columns pertaining to the controversy over changing Carnival and several news articles and commentaries by other writers.
296-34 1993, January - June. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes several news articles and commentaries by other writers.
296-35 1993, July - December. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes two political fliers several news articles and commentaries by other writers.
296-36 1994, January - June. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes several news articles and commentaries by other writers.
296-37 1994, July - December. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes several news articles and commentaries by other writers.
296-38 1995, January - June. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes several news articles and commentaries by other writers.
296-39 1995, July - December. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes several news articles and commentaries by other writers.
296-40 1996, January - June. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes several news articles and commentaries by other writers.
296-41 1996, July - December. New Orleans Times-Picayune. Includes several news articles and commentaries by other writers.
Series II. Political Papers
Includes subject files of reference materials, chiefly articles (many of them photocopied) from newspapers and magazines. There are also smaller amounts of correspondence, press releases, pamphlets and other ephemera from political campaigns, transcripts of interviews conducted by Kelso, as well as reporters’ notebooks and other notes compiled by Kelso.
The series is subdivided according to whether the material deals primarily with the city of New Orleans or with the state of Louisiana. Files dealing with either New Orleans mayors or Louisiana governors have been placed at the beginning of their subseries. Other files are arranged alphabetically.
Note:
Researchers should not expect to find all materials dealing with the career of a particular political figure in a single place. As a working journalist, Kelso created files for both particular politicians and particular election campaigns, and filed material according to her needs and priorities of the moment. While not always consistent, we have tried to remain faithful to her organizational scheme as much as possible. For example, material on Mary Landrieu can be found in the files dealing with both the 1995 governors’ race and the 1996 U.S. Senate race, since Landrieu ran for office in both elections. Researchers would be advised to look for materials in a number of potential locations.
Subseries II.1: Subject File: New Orleans
Mayors and Mayoral Elections
These folders are arranged in alphabetical order by mayor or mayoral candidate. Specific campaigns are arranged chronologically by the date of the mayoral campaign.
Box 1:
Mayors of New Orleans. Contains lists of the mayors of New Orleans
Mayors’ Wives
Barthelemy, Sidney – 1974-1983
Barthelemy, Sidney – 1986-1989
Barthelemy, Sidney – 1990-1995
Barthelemy, Sidney – Transcripts of Kelso Interviews; Whelan and Young
Paper on Barthelemy
Landrieu, Moon – 1969-1978
Landrieu, Moon – 1979-1992
Morial, Dutch – 1981
Morial, Dutch – 1982
Morial, Dutch – 1983-1984
Morial, Dutch – 1985-1986
Morial, Dutch – 1989-1993
Morial, Dutch – Flyers, Interviews, Photos
Morial, Dutch – Arnold Hirsch’s “Dutch Morial: Old Creole in the New
South”
Morial, Dutch – Ernest Miller’s “Black Mayoral Leadership: A Political
Biography of Ernest Dutch Morial”
Morial, Dutch – Sybil Morial. Contains material relating to Morial’s wife
Sybil Morial.
Box 2:
Morial, Marc – 1983-1990
Morial, Marc – Transition, March to May 1994
Morial, Marc – May to December 1994
Morial, Marc – 1995-1996. Includes material on crime wave and new
NOPD chief Richard Pennington.
Morrison, Chep – Clippings, 1946-1964
Morrison, Chep – Clippings, 1964 Death and Posthumous
Morrison, Chep – Clippings, 1954 Police Scandal
Morrison, Chep – Book Reviews and Journal Articles
Morrison, Chep – Kelso Columns
Morrison, Chep – Photographs
Morrison, Chep – Union Passenger Terminal
Morrison, Chep – Manuscript of Jack McGuire’s unpublished book on
Chep Morrison
Schiro, Victor – General. This file includes correspondence between
outgoing mayor Morrison and incoming mayor Schiro regarding a dispute over furniture in the mayor’s office. Morrison wrote to Kelso and forwarded copies of correspondence he had had with Schiro.
Schiro, Victor – Kelso Columns
Box 3:
1986 Mayoral Race – Clippings
1986 Mayoral Race – Sidney Barthelemy Campaign Material
1986 Mayoral Race – Bill Jefferson Campaign Material
1986 Mayoral Race – Sam LeBlanc Campaign Material
1986 Mayoral Race – Other Candidates’ Campaign Material: Rudy
Lombard, Terry Hardy, Ben Rauch
1986 Mayoral Race – Sample Ballots and Push Cards
1986 Mayoral Race – Miscellaneous: Forums, Polls, Campaign
Expenditures
Box 4:
1986 Mayoral Race – Kelso’s Interview Notes and Audio Cassettes
1986 Mayoral Race – Kelso’s Interview Notes and Audio Cassettes
1986 Mayoral Race – Campaign Material for Council Candidates
1986 Mayoral Race – Campaign Material for Sheriff, Judges, Other
Offices
1990 Mayoral Race – Clippings
1990 Mayoral Race – Sidney Barthelemy Campaign Material
1990 Mayoral Race – Donald Mintz Campaign Material
1990 Mayoral Race – Miscellaneous. Contains opinion polls, material
from the campaigns of minor candidates, and a report exploring
whether conditions would favor Dutch Morial’s candidacy.
Box 5:
1994 Mayoral Race – Clippings - General
1994 Mayoral Race – Clippings – Times-Picayune Candidate Profiles
1994 Mayoral Race – Marc Morial Campaign Material
1994 Mayoral Race – Donald Mintz Campaign Material
1994 Mayoral Race – Donald Mintz Clippings, 1991-1993
1994 Mayoral Race – Mitch Landrieu Campaign Material
1994 Mayoral Race – Mitch Landrieu Clippings, 1985-1993
1994 Mayoral Race – Sherman Copelin Campaign Material
1994 Mayoral Race – Sherman Copelin Clippings, 1975-1993
1994 Mayoral Race – Ken Carter Campaign Material
1994 Mayoral Race – Ken Carter Clippings, 1985-1986
1994 Mayoral Race – Lambert Boissiere Campaign Material
1994 Mayoral Race – Sample Ballots and Push Cards
1994 Mayoral Race – Mintz Fliers Controversy - Clippings
1994 Mayoral Race – Mintz Fliers Controversy – Fliers, Evidence,
Interviews. Contains materials concerning the allegations that the
Mintz campaign produced and distributed anonymous racist and
anti-Semitic fliers. Includes examples of the fliers, statements and
affidavits from involved persons, as well as exhibits and evidence
produced for hearings on the fliers.
1994 Mayoral Race – Miscellaneous. Contains transcripts of interviews
Kelso conducted, opinion polls, fliers for public forums, etc.
Other New Orleans Material
These folders are arranged alphabetically, and contain materials on topics that are related to New Orleans. The materials in these files primarily consist of newspaper and magazine clippings, though other forms are included as well.
Box 6:
ACT / All Congregations Together
Alexander, Avery
Assessors - Burkes & Comiskeys
Assessors - Carter
Bagert Brothers
Bagneris, Michael
Bernard, Sherman (Black Insurance Agents)
Black Political Orgs
Boggs, Hale
Boggs, Lindy
BOLD (Black Organization for Leadership Development)
Buildings
Cahn, Jules
Canal Street
Canizaro, Joseph
Carter, Kenneth (Assessor, 1985)
Casinos
Casinos - 1994
Casinos - Tunica
Cassibry, Fred
Celebrity Chefs
Characters
Churches
City Council - 1994 Campaigns
City Council Study - PAR Group, 1991
City Council - Other
Box 7:
City Park
City Streets
Civil Rights
Clancy, Frank (Jefferson Parish Sheriff)
Clevenger, Jo Ann
Clubs
Computers ’96 – Genealogy
Concerned Clergy – 1985
Connick, Harry – District Atty.
Copeland, Al
Copelin, Sherman
Creoles
Crime
DA – Judges Notes
Democratic Convention, 1964 - “My Letter Home”
Dilberto, Woody / Glaudi, Hap
1996 District Attorney Race – General
1996 District Attorney Race – Connick, Harry
1996 District Attorney Race – Reed, Morris
1996 District Attorney Race – Faith Berthey Case
District Attys – Garrison / Hubert
Dreyfous, George (Constitutional Rights)
Dunbar, Charles (Father of Civil Service)
Eastern Airline Crash, 1964
Economy
Elder, Bill
“Excel ‘94”
Fertel, Rodney
Fire Department
Fire Department Museum
Fires
Flettrich, Terry
Floods – Mississippi River
Fossier, Mildred
Box 8:
Fossier Papers
Foti, Charles (Sheriff – N.O.)
Fountain, Pete
French Market
French Quarter
Garrison, Jim
General – Sightseeing
Giarrusso
Groesch, Gary
HANO – Cates, Sidney
Harris, Christopher
Higgins, Andrew
Hospitals
Hotels
Houses
Hubbard, Don
Hurricanes
Indians
Irish
Irons, Paulette (Dist. 95 – Irons / Rodgers)
Italians
Jazz
Jazz – Fountain, Pete
Jazz – Marsalis Family
Jefferson, Bill
1996 Judge Races
Judges – Augustine, Israel
Judges – Sapir, Eddie
’94 Judgeship Elections (Geneo Charts)
Kabakoffs
Kohlmeyer, Herman
Box 9:
Lacombe, Allen “Black Cat”
Landrieu, Mary
Lead Poisoning, Xavier Prof
Lee, Harry
Lehman Awards, 1984
Libraries
Lombard, Edwin A.
Lombard, Rudy
Louisiana Pizza Kitchen Robbery / Murders
Marcello, Carlos
Mardi Gras
Mardi Gras – Collectors
Mardi Gras – Salaun Illustrations
Media
Media – Flettrich, Terry
Media – Read, A. Louis
Media Men, Pollsters. Carvin, Jim
Media Men, Pollsters. Parker.
Media Men, Pollsters. Renwick.
Molpus, Dick – 1994 Speech
Monuments, Statues
Museums
Music
Neighborhoods
NOPSI
NORD
Ochsner, Dr. Alton
Oil and Gas
Old Regular Democratic Organization
Orleans Delegation
Oswald, Lee Harvey
Parish Prison
Parks
Parks – Audubon Zoo
Parsons, Kent
People
People (Great People)
Police Chiefs
Police Scandal, 1950s
Port of New Orleans
Quick Reference from Times-Picayune
Racism – Tulane – Minister’s Statement
Ramos, Paul
Rault Center Fire
Read, A. Louis
Republican Convention 1988
Box 10:
Restaurants
Restaurants – Brennan, Ella
Robinson, Martha
Rochon, Reynard
Saenger Theater, Loew’s
St. Augustine
School Integration, 1960s (Save Our Schools)
School Reform, 1992
School Reform Candidates
Schools
Schwegmann, John G.
Shaw, Clay
Sports
Sports – Cannon, Billy
Streetcars
Superdome
Termites
Theatre
Thomas, Irma
Top Stories – 1960s – 1970s
Top Stories – 1980s
Top Stories – 1990
Tourism
Tours
Tulane Scholarships
“The Way it Was”
Theobald, Robert
Times-Picayune
University Kickbacks (Tulane, UNO)
Upstairs Bar Fire
Box 11:
Voters Information League
Waltzer, Miriam
Watts, Judith
Weather/Snow
Weil, Gus
Welch, Virginia Cox
Wetland Erosion
Wilson, Peggy
Women in Politics
Women of Note
Wood, A. Baldwin
World’s Fair 1984
Wright, Judge Skelly
Writers
Wynne, Todie Lee
Miscellaneous
Book Proposal and “Best of” Columns
These folders contain materials related to a book proposal Kelso was developing and folders marked by Kelso as her “Best of”. The materials in these files primarily consist of newspaper and magazine clippings, though other forms are included as well, such as photographs. Also included are a few miscellaneous items of Kelso’s, including two photographs and her last column.
Box 11:
Book Proposal
Kelso Family Columns
Figaro, Best of, 1976-1977
Best of 1980
Best of 1986
Political Columns, Best
Press Club Awards – Women in Government
My Last Column
Photographs: Veasey [Veazie] at Last Duck Dinner, Dutch Morial
and Photo Staff, Times-Picayune 1957
Subseries II.2: Subject File: Louisiana
Governors and Gubernatorial Elections
These folders are arranged in alphabetical order by governor or gubernatorial candidate. Specific campaigns are arranged chronologically by the date of the gubernatorial campaign.
Box 12:
Governors and Gubernatorial Election Results. Contains lists of governors and election results.
The Long Family. Contains material relating either to the entire Long Family or to minor members.
Long, Earl – Contemporary Clippings, 1930s to 1930s
Long, Earl – Posthumous Clippings
Long, Earl - Movie “Blaze.” Contains material related to the 1989 movie Blaze.
Long, Earl – Blaze Starr. Contains material related to Long’s affair with Bourbon Street stripper Blaze Starr.
Long, Earl – Earl Long Stories. Contains anecdotes concerning Long, told by Kelso or others.
Long, Earl – Jesse Bankston on Earl Long
Long, Earl – Jack McGuire on Earl Long
Long, Earl – Morgan and Peoples on Earl Long
Long, Earl – Russell Wiley on Earl Long
Long, Earl – B. B. “Sixty” Rayburn on Earl Long
Long, Earl – Oral History Interview Transcript with Blanche Long
Long, Earl – Manuscript of Jack McGuire’s Uncle Earl Deserved Better
Long, Huey
Long, Russel
Box 13:
Davis, Jimmie
Davis, Jimmie – Oral History Interview Transcript with Jimmie Davis
Edwards, Edwin – 1970s
Edwards, Edwin – 1982 Letter from Edwards to Kelso. Contains an April 27, 1982 letter from Edwin Edwards to Kelso, in which Edwards rebuts charges made in Kelso’s column.
Edwards, Edwin – 1983
Edwards, Edwin – 1983 Campaign against Treen. Contains material related to Edwards’s 1983 campaign against Dave Treen.
Edwards, Edwin – 1984 Paris Trip. Contains material related to Edwards’s post-victory trip to Europe; Kelso attended and reported on the event.
Edwards, Edwin – 1984
Edwards, Edwin – 1985
Edwards, Edwin – 1985 Trial. Contains material relating to Edwards’s 1985 trial on fraud and racketeering charges.
Edwards, Edwin – 1986
Edwards, Edwin – 1987
Edwards, Edwin – 1987 Campaign against Roemer. Contains material related to Edwards’s 1987 election campaign against Buddy Roemer
Box 14:
Edwards, Edwin – 1988 to 1990
Edwards, Edwin – 1992 to 1996 (Final Term)
Edwards, Edwin – Elaine Edwards. Contains material relating to Edwards’s first wife.
Edwards, Edwin – Funny Cards. Contains two satirical Edwards-related cards.
Foster, Mike
Jones, Sam
McKeithen, John – 1964-1972
McKeithen, John – Since 1972
(material on Edwin Edwards filed below; see folders ______)
Roemer, Buddy
Treen, David
Treen, David – Blacks for Treen, 1983. Contains Kelso notes and Treen campaign publications relating to Treen’s effort to gain support among Black voters in the 1983 election.
1963-64 Governors’ Race. Contains material relating to the election contest between John McKeithen, deLesseps “Chep” Morrison, and Charlton Lyons.
1979 Governors’ Race. Contains material relating to the election contest between Dave Treen, Louis Lambert, Jim Fitzmorris, Paul Hardy, E. L. “Bubba” Henry, and Edgar “Sonny” Mouton.
1991 Governors’ Race – General Clippings and Campaign Material. Contains material related to the election in general, or to Edwards, Roemer, or other minor candidates in particular.
1991 Governors’ Race – David Duke Clippings, Interview, and Campaign Material
Box 15:
1995 Governors’ Race – Clippings
1995 Governors’ Race – Clippings – Candidate Profiles
1995 Governors’ Race – Mike Foster Campaign Material
1995 Governors’ Race – Mary Landrieu Campaign Material
1995 Governors’ Race – Mary Landrieu Clippings, 1988-1994
1995 Governors’ Race – Buddy Roemer Campaign Material
1995 Governors’ Race – Phil Preis Campaign Material
1995 Governors’ Race – Melinda Schwegmann Campaign Material
1995 Governors’ Race – Dave Treen Campaign Material
1995 Governors’ Race – Other Candidates: Bill Jefferson, Harry Lee
1995 Governors’ Race – Opinion Polls
1995 Governors’ Race – Lieutenant Governor Candidates – Kathleen Blanco
1995 Governors’ Race – Lieutenant Governor Candidates – Chris John, Greg Marcantel, Suzanne Krieger
Legislators and Legislative Elections
These folders are arranged in alphabetical order by legislative candidate. Specific campaigns are arranged chronologically by the date of the legislative campaign.
Box 16:
Duke, David - 1989-1990: Legislature. Material related to Duke’s original 1989 election to the state legislature and to his activities there.
Duke, David – 1990 U.S. Senate campaign against J. Bennett Johnston
Duke, David – Hate Letters. Contains hate mail sent to Kelso by Duke supporters.
Duke, David – Hill/Gerwin Papers. Contains papers written by Lance Hill and Leslie Gerwin on the Duke phenomenon.
Duke, David – Sterilization Plan; Duke’s Draft Record. Contains research material compiled by Duke opponents.
(other material related to David Duke can be found in the folders concerning the 1996 U.S. Senate election.)
1996 U.S. Senate Race – General Clippings
1996 U.S. Senate Race – Endorsement Ballots, Opinion Polls, Kelso Notes
1996 U.S. Senate Race – Duke, David
1996 U.S. Senate Race – Hayes, Jimmy
1996 U.S. Senate Race – Ieyoub, Richard
1996 U.S. Senate Race – Jenkins, Woody
1996 U.S. Senate Race – Landrieu, Mary
1996 U.S. Senate Race – Linder, Bill
1996 U.S. Senate Race – McMains, Chuck
1996 U.S. Senate Race – Wilson, Peggy
Other Louisiana Material
These folders are arranged alphabetically by topic, and contain materials on topics related to Louisiana. The materials in these files primarily consist of newspaper and magazine clippings, though other forms are included as well.
Box 17:
ABORT Record
Amtrack Wreck, 1993
Angola State Prison
Art Deco
Black Legislative Caucus Bond Deal (Landrieu, 1993)
Book with Jim Carvin on Louisiana Politics – Interview and Transcripts. Contains transcripts of conversations between Kelso and political commentator Jim Carvin, conducted in the process of preparing for a book the two were preparing to write together.
Book with Jim Carvin on Louisiana Politics – Outline
Bonnie and Clyde
Beaux, John
Brown, Jim
Bussie, Victor
Cajuns
Chronologies
Civil Rights
Congress
Democratic Convention, 1988. Atlanta.
Dodd, Bill
Elections – Election Dates, 1972 -1987
Elections – PAR Reports
Environment
Faucheux, Ron
Fitzmorris, Jimmy
Hainkel, John (1999 Political Flyers)
Johnston, Bennett
Kurtz, Wit of LA Politics
Legislative Candidates, 1993
Box 18:
Livingston, Robert
Lottery
Louisiana Legislators
LA. Legislators – Dixon, Irma
LA. Legislators – Hankel, John
LA. Legislators – Henry, E.L. “Bubba”
LA. Legislators – Kiefer, Nat
LA. Legislators – Nunez, Sammy
McKeithen, Fox
O’Keefe, Mike
Old State Capitol
Orphan Train, Early 1900s
Ortique, Revius (First Black SC Justice)
Perez Family (Plaquemine Parish)
Plantations
Political Stories
Presidential Elections
Rayburn, B.B. “Sixty”
Republicans
State Finances, 1987
Tonry, Rick
Weill, Gus
Women’s Issues
Miscellaneous
Subseries II.3: Subject File: Other Topics
These folders are arranged alphabetically by topic, and contain materials on topics that are not directly related to Louisiana or New Orleans. The materials in these files primarily consist of newspaper and magazine clippings, though other forms are included as well.
Box 18:
Clintons
Cuban Riots at Oakdale Prison
Mississippi – Faulkner and Welty
Molpus, Dick
Philadelphia Killings
Richards, Ann (Texas Governor)
Southern Politics (Republican Rise in 90s)
Series III. Miscellaneous
Various unfiled printed and visual materials, including books, videotapes, and political
ephemera (e.g., campaign signs and flyers).
Subseries III.1: Printed Materials
Box 19:
Legislators
Magazines
Material on Sen. Mike O’Keefe from Stony Dale
Transcript of Oral History – George McGovern
Transcript of Oral History – Jesse Bankston
Citizen’s Guide to the Legislature, ’72, ’76, and ‘80
Citizen’s Guide to the Legislature, ’84, ’88, and ‘92
Subseries III.2: Books & Videocassettes
Box 20:
Book, “On the Trail of the Assassins” by Jim Garrison. Paperback.
Book, “A Heritage of Stone” by Jim Garrison. Hardcover. Inscribed by
author.
Book, “I Don’t Need You When I’m Right” by Vic Gold. Hardcover.
Inscribed by David Kleck.
Book, “Cross to Bear” by John Maginnis. Hardcover.
Box 21:
Book, “The Rise of David Duke” by Tyler Bridges. Hardcover.
VHS Tape, Morial/Mintz and “Nasty Flyers”, 1994
VHS Tape, Raymond Strother/Richard Ieyoub, 3 July 91
VHS Tape, “Make Buddy Roemer History and Various Political
Campaigns”
Subseries III.3: Political Ephemera
Box 22:
Photograph: Iris Kelso, Dutch Morial, and Alan Katz
Photograph: Iris Kelso, Dutch Morial, and Leah Chase
Photograph: Iris Kelso and Dutch Morial
Campaign Sign, Mayor, Sidney Barthelemy
Campaign Sign, Mayor, Sidney Barthelemy
Campaign Sign, Councilman, Dutch Morial
Campaign Sign, District Attorney, Harry Connick
Campaign Sign, Mayor, Donald Mintz
Campaign Sign, Mayor, Ben Rauch
Campaign Sign, Mayor, William Jefferson
Campaign Sign, Council-at-Large, Dorothy Mae Taylor, Signed
Campaign Sign, Council-at-Large, Dorothy Mae Taylor, Signed
Campaign Flyer, “No Dukes”
Campaign Flyer, “No Dukes”
Campaign Flyer, “No Dukes”
Campaign Sign, “Stop David Duke”, Signed by Edwin Edwards, Dorothy
Mae Taylor, and William Jefferson
Campaign Sign, Governor, Edwin Edwards
Campaign Sign, Mayor, Marc Morial
Campaign Sign, Mayor, Marc Morial
Campaign Sign, Mayor, Marc Morial
Campaign Sign, Mayor, Marc Morial
Campaign Sign, Mayor, Marc Morial
Campaign Button, Senate, John Breaux
Campaign Button, Senate, Beck
Campaign Button, Judge, Norris Fitzmorris
Campaign Baseball Cap, Mayor, Sidney Barthelemy
Matchbook, Airforce One, Damaged.
Business Card, Iris Kelso, Damaged.
Audiocassette, Unlabeled
Index Terms
Kelso, Iris
States-Item
Figaro
Times-Picayune