MSS 307 - Jacob Shoen & Son Collection: :
- Last Updated: Aug 24, 2018 12:38 AM
- URL: https://libguides.uno.edu/mss307
- Print Page
Jacob Schoen & Son COLLECTION
(Mss 307)
Inventory
Earl K. Long Library
University of New Orleans
November 2002
Summary
Size: 30 linear feet
Geographic
locations: New Orleans, La.
Inclusive dates: 1874-1997
Bulk dates: 1874-1923; 1944-1997
Summary: Business records of a major mortuary in New Orleans
Consists of over 200 volumes of accounting books used to conduct their business, including journals, cash books, order books, and ledgers. Also contains some books relating to Schoen Realty & Investment Company, Hope Benevolent Association, Fire Company No. 10, and the Metropolitan Club. Records are of particular interest to anyone interested in the livery or funeral businesses, particularly in New Orleans, as they reflect the interdependence of the undertakers of the city when it came to lending and borrowing equipment. The collection would also be of use to anyone interested in the history of the Faubourg Marigny, French Quarter, and Bywater neighborhoods, as well as the extended Seventh, Eighth and Ninth Wards of the city. It would also be of interest to anyone studying family or cultural history of those areas, particularly the German, Italian, and Creole residents, as well as the many benevolent associations throughout the city.
Related
collections: A. P. Boyer Collection (Mss 175); Tharp-Sontheimer Funeral Homes Collection (Mss 317)
Source: Gift, 2002
Access: No restrictions
Copyright: Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.
Citation: Jacob Schoen & Son Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
Historical Note
The undertaking firm known as Jacob Schoen and Son started as Frantz and Schoen on March 1, 1874. Henry L. Frantz was born in Alsace-Lorraine September 3, 1846, and emigrated to the Orleans in 1857. He married Johanna Waldo of the Third District and started a blacksmith and wagon manufacturing business with a cousin in 1871. Working in this trade he came to know Jacob Schoen. Mr. Schoen was born June 8, 1841, in Eigloch, near Worstadt, Hesse Darmstadt, in what is now central Germany. He emigrated to New Orleans December 29, 1859, and engaged in the longshoremen’s business. After a few years he entered into a partnership with Philip Levy, a prominent stevedore in the city. This partnership lasted for seven years, at which time Mr. Schoen established a carriage and livery business. He and Mr. Frantz entered into their partnership and purchased the former undertaking establishment of Jacob Klees, 155 N. Peters St. In 1885 they expanded by purchasing the undertaking business of John Grayer at 35-39 Elysian Fields.
By the mid-1890s they had a prosperous business, with five hearses, fifteen to twenty carriages, and nearly forty horses. While undertaking was the major concern they also had a thriving business hiring out carriages for any occasion. Their major base was in the Third District, but they handled funerals and carriages for all parts of town. In March 1891 they handled the funerals of Joseph Macheca and James Caruso, two of the eleven Italians lynched by a mob at the Parish Prison. A large portion of their business involved the various benevolent associations created by ethnic and fraternal organizations to provide their members with a proper burial. The different faiths of the partners ensured a wide range of connections: Mr. Frantz was an active member of St. Paul’s Lutheran Church, Port and Burgundy Sts., while Mr. Schoen, a Catholic, worshiped at Holy Trinity Church on St. Ferdinand St.
As a sideline, Henry Frantz helped organize the Orleans Manufacturing Co. in the late 1880s to supply undertakers with coffins, caskets, and other supplies. This business expanded to become one of the major producers and suppliers in the Gulf states. In June 1897 he sold Jacob Schoen his interest in Frantz and Schoen. Frantz devoted his attention to this manufacturing enterprise and other interests, eventually serving several terms on the City Council, the Orleans Levee Board, and the City Park Commission. Jacob Schoen took as his new partner his oldest son from his first marriage, Philip J. Schoen, and named the firm Jacob Schoen and Son. Their business prospered, due in no small part to the elder Schoen’s sociability and business connections. At the time of his death, on November 17, 1903, Jacob Schoen belonged to about twenty fraternal associations, all of whom turned out in force to pay their respects at his home, 3015 Royal St., making his funeral one of the largest in the city at that time.
Philip J. Schoen was born in New Orleans to Jacob and Henrietta Loerbick Schoen on June 12, 1862. He began assisting his father with the undertaking business nearly from its inception at the age of thirteen. He assumed greater responsibilities, first as his father’s partner 1897-1903, and then as his successor and sole proprietor of the business until he retired in 1925. After his death on June 11, 1927, the business continued to be run by his widow, the former Marie E. Sporl, and their four sons: Philip J., Jr.; Edward A; and Gerard L. in New Orleans, and Cyprian in Covington, Louisiana. These sons and their descendents expanded the family business in several ways. By the mid-1930s they had established other funeral homes, at 3827 Canal St. and another in Covington, as well as the Schoen Realty & Investment Company. Soon after World War II they established the Jacob Schoen & Son Insurance Company, located at 519 Elysian Fields in New Orleans
The majority of the records in this collection concern the business as run by Henry Frantz, Jacob Schoen, and Jacob’s son, Philip Schoen, before the latter’s death in 1927.
Sources: New Orleans City Directories; Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Louisiana (Chicago: Goodspeed Publishing Co., 1892) Vol. 1: 422-23; Vol. 2: 502; Daily Picayune November 18 & 19, 1903; Times-Democrat November 18 & 19, 1903; Times-Picayune June 12, 1927; Louisiana’s German Heritage: Louis Voss’ Introductory History. Don Heinrich Tolzmann, ed. (Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1994): 45.
Series, Subseries, and Descriptions
Series I. Journals, 1874-1959
These books record the chronological transactions of the business, whether funeral, carriage or car. They record the name and address of person arranging the funeral or for a vehicle. For the former this name is followed by a little cross “+” and the name or relationship of the deceased. These entries may also be listed under the deceased’s name as the “Estate of.” The early years are indexed by date while later volumes are often indexed individually.
Subseries 1: Index to Dates, 1888-1912
Names of the deceased or person contracting, alphabetical by first letter of last name, then chronologically by date.
Subseries 2: Official Journals, 1874-1959
These are the final journal entries transcribed from the Rough Entries and give specific price information for all the services, and often record the payment history. Later volumes have indexes, either in the front of the book or separately bound.
Subseries 3: Rough Entries, 1891-1912
These are the first entries for services ordered. While they generally do not have price information, they do record information not found in the Official Journals, such as drivers and times scheduled, and for funerals the doctor, church, and cemetery are usually noted in the lower left side of the entry.
Series II. Cash Books, 1887-1990
These books are arranged chronologically by transaction and show the receipts and disbursements of cash, usually in a double-page spread, with money received (debits) on the left page and money spent (credits) on the right, and description of each transaction, which is generally the name of the person or firm involved.
Subseries 1: Daybooks, 1887-1990
These are the final books transcribed from the Rough Entries. Generally entries are totaled daily and balanced monthly. Some books overlap dates, which indicates they may have been used for different accounts. Entries also include weekly lists of wages paid, Christmas bonuses, and tickets sold for various purposes.
Subseries 2: Books, 1918-1957
These are more comprehensive and substantial volumes, with printed names on the spines. These show more detail about the transactions, including to which of the various accounts the receipts and disbursements belong.
Subseries 3: Rough Entries, 1900-1911
These are the first entries of cash transactions, in the same double-page format, but they are not generally totaled. Once entries had been transcribed to the daybook, a large script “E” (probably meaning “Entered”) was written over it.
Subseries 4: Expenses, 1897-1918
Unlike the other cash books, these are single-page entries that list dates, description, and amount of expenses.
III. Order Books, 1889-1978
These books are arranged chronologically and record information about the scheduling: type of event (wedding or funeral), date, time, location, driver(s). They also keep a tally of services borrowed and loaned to other mortuaries in town.
Subseries 1: Services, 1889-1963
These books include both funeral and livery orders (carriages and later cars).
Subseries 2: Vehicles, 1920-1934
These books are generally used for scheduling cars.
Subseries 3: Caskets, 1957-1978
These books record the casket orders for various accounts, including the account number, name, and type of casket.
Series IV. Ledgers, 1875-1954
These books keep track of the various running accounts the funeral home had with its customers and other businesses. Unlike the others, these books are arranged by account name and address. as accounts were created. Bound volumes generally have an index in the front, while those that were loose-leaf sheets in binders are in alphabetical order. Accounts are double-entry (debits and credits) and are either balanced or forwarded to another page (folio) in the volume.
Subseries 1: Control Books, 1912-1924
These are the most complete ledgers, and are arranged chronologically. Each transaction is listed in a particular double-entry account: banks and cash entries on the left pages; accounts receivable, payable, general expense and other accounts on the right.
Subseries 2: Accounts Receivable, 1875-1918
Accounts that owe money to this firm.
Subseries 3: Accounts Payable, 1907-1922
Accounts that this firm owes money to.
Subseries 4: Miscellaneous, 1888-1954
Includes these ledgers: (1) Frantz & Schoen’s undertakers accounts with other mortuaries in town; (2) employees ledger; and (3) trial balances.
Series V. Title Receipts, 1900-1917
Copies of receipts from customers after they paid their accounts and received title to cemetery properties. Receipts are pasted in the books chronologically, with an index in front. Entries show the name of owner (possibly deceased’s estate), date and the name of the cemetery.
Series VI. Call Books, 1944-1997
These books record in chronological order the initial contacts made concerning funeral services. A stamp was created with the information required and space to write the answer, with two to four entries to a page. The number system in the left margin consisted of two parts: first, the month (1-12); second, the sequence of the call. So “241” means the 41st call in February. The entries record information about the deceased (name, date and time of death, release of the body, whether autopsy involved) and potential arrangements (location preferred, contact information). The two subseries are nearly identical.
Subseries 1: Canal Street, 1944-1997
Subseries 2: Elysian Fields, 1954-1997
Series VII. Schoen Realty & Investment Company, 1935-1955
Books relating to this offshoot of the funeral home business. They include a journal, cash books, and ledgers, containing similar information to those described above.
Series VIII Miscellaneous Books, 1873-1966
These books were found in the donation but are not directly related to the Schoen businesses:
-
Hope Benevolent Association, 1873-1911 (Henry Frantz and Philip Schoen served as treasurers for a long period of time; also featured as an fraternal account in the Schoen books.)
-
Fire Company No. 10, 1880-1892
-
Metropolitan Club, 1889 (Minutes in front of volume, discussing group’s formation and acquisition of property at 3015 Royal St that Jacob Schoen would purchase in 1895.)
-
Tally-Ho Club, 1958-1966 (Private club apparently centered around sailing activities)
IX. Ephemera
Paper items found between the pages of various books of the collection. These include examples of funeral notices traditionally posted in neighborhoods, receipts, some sales materials, and financial calculations. For a complete list of these materials, see Appendix A.
Volume/Container List
Volumes are numbered sequentially, beginning with the earliest of the first series. Folders are identified by box and folder numbers. Loose items inserted in volumes were removed and placed in separate folders. If a volume contained loose items, it will be identified by “Y” in the Ephemera column. To locate these items, see the entries under Series IX: Ephemera and Appendix A: List of Ephemera
Series Subseries Start Date End Date Volume Folder Ephemera
I. Journals
I.1 Index to Dates
1/1/1888 6/11/1897 1
6/12/1897 2/28/1912 2
I.2 Official
8/16/1874 10/6/1874 1-1
7/1/1877 12/30/1880 3
1/1/1881 6/30/1884 4
7/1/1884 10/31/1886 5 Y
11/1/1886 2/28/1889 6 Y
3/1/1889 5/27/1891 7
5/28/1891 4/22/1893 8 Y
4/23/1893 5/19/1895 9 Y
5/20/1895 6/11/1897 10
--(Index Vol. 11) 6/12/1897 2/17/1899 1-2
6/12/1897 2/17/1899 11
--(Index Vol. 12) 2/18/1899 9/30/1900 1-3
2/18/1899 9/30/1900 12 Y
--(Index Vol. 14) 10/1/1900 12/8/1902 13
10/1/1900 12/8/1902 14
12/9/1902 12/21/1903 15 Y
11/18/1903 9/1/1905 16 Y
--(Index Vol. 18) 9/1/1905 11/21/1907 17
9/1/1905 11/21/1907 18 Y
11/22/1907 1/31/1910 19 Y
2/1/1910 3/14/1912 20 Y
--(Index Vol. 22) 3/31/1913 3/31/1917 21
3/31/1913 3/31/1917 22
4/1/1917 3/29/1920 23 Y
I.2 Official
--(Index Vol. 24) 3/30/1920 12/31/1923 1-4
3/30/1920 12/31/1923 24 Y
6/30/1949 12/31/1959 25
--(Adjustments) 6/30/1949 12/31/1959 1-5
I.3 Rough Entries
5/1/1891 5/12/1893 26 Y
5/13/1893 1/6/1896 27
1/1/1896 7/27/1897 28
9/26/1896 5/22/1898 29
5/23/1898 6/27/1901 30
11/16/1902 8/17/1904 31
8/18/1904 9/14/1906 32
9/16/1906 1/31/1908 224
2/1/1908 6/7/1908 33
6/8/1908 3/5/1909 34
3/6/1909 8/11/1909 35
8/12/1909 3/24/1910 36
10/11/1910 10/13/1911 37
10/27/1912 11/27/1912 1-6
II. Cash Books
II.1 Daybooks
3/1/1887 12/31/1889 38
11/1/1889 7/21/1892 39
12/14/1898 11/30/1900 40
11/29/1899 1/8/1901 41
1/8/1901 3/18/1903 42
3/19/1903 12/31/1905 43
7/1/1903 6/10/1905 44
11/20/1903 3/31/1905 45 Y
6/12/1905 9/1/1910 46
7/1/1909 2/29/1912 47
9/1/1913 11/15/1918 48
12/10/1918 7/10/1919 49
6/21/1920 7/14/1921 50
7/15/1921 12/31/1923 51
1/6/1924 5/5/1926 52
5/6/1926 8/31/1928 53
6/1/1953 9/30/1955 54
10/1/1955 9/30/1956 55
1/1/1958 3/31/1959 56
4/1/1959 6/30/1960 57
5/18/1974 1/20/1976 58 Y
7/1/1980 9/30/1980 59
7/1/1987 2/14/1990 60
II.2 Books
11/17/1918 12/31/1919 61
1/1/1920 1/21/1923 62
1/1/1926 12/31/1928 63 Y
1/1/1929 4/27/1932 64 Y
4/27/1932 7/12/1935 65 Y
7/1/1942 6/30/1951 66
4/1/1953 8/30/1957 67
II.3 Rough Entries
3/13/1900 1/31/1901 1-7
2/1/1901 1/3/1902 68
10/11/1903 3/29/1904 69
3/5/1906 8/12/1906 70
8/13/1906 1/19/1907 71
9/25/1907 5/23/1908 72
5/24/1908 1/8/1909 73
1/9/1909 9/13/1909 74
9/14/1909 5/8/1910 75
1/17/1911 10/5/1911 76
II.4 Expense Books
8/20/1897 11/30/1906 1-8
4/1/1915 11/7/1916 1-9
11/8/1916 11/16/1918 77
III. Orders
III.1 Services
11/6/1889 9/30/1891 78
6/27/1894 3/19/1895 79
3/23/1895 9/16/1896 1-10
10/19/1899 3/2/1900 80
12/17/1900 5/21/1901 81
3/6/1902 2/18/1903 82
2/19/1903 10/10/1903 83
10/14/1903 5/9/1904 84
8/10/1905 5/2/1906 85
5/2/1906 12/16/1906 86
12/17/1906 5/22/1907 87
5/23/1907 11/2/1907 88
11/3/1907 5/21/1908 89
5/22/1908 2/8/1909 90
11/4/1909 8/17/1910 91
8/17/1910 2/24/1911 92
2/26/1911 12/21/1911 93
12/22/1911 12/8/1912 94
6/14/1921 7/14/1921 95
9/10/1950 11/13/1951 96
3/20/1955 4/26/1956 97
4/27/1956 9/30/1958 98
10/1/1958 10/31/1959 99
11/1/1959 9/30/1961 100
10/1/1961 3/31/1962 101
4/1/1962 3/10/1963 102
III.2 Vehicles
5/6/1920 8/19/1922 103 Y
8/19/1922 9/26/1924 104 Y
9/26/1924 12/5/1926 105 Y
9/26/1924 10/9/1928 106 Y
10/10/1928 6/27/1934 107 Y
III.3 Caskets
12/31/1957 1/5/1962 108
7/14/1975 12/1/1978 109
IV. Ledgers
IV.1 Control Books
3/1/1912 6/30/1913 110 Y
6/3/1913 10/6/1917 111 Y
5/18/1922 1/28/1924 112
IV.2 Accounts Receivable
12/15/1875 7/31/1890 1
6/12/1897 6/9/1906 113 Y
2/16/1905 7/2/1911 114 Y
3/1/1912 1/22/1918 115
IV.3 Accounts Payable
4/1/1907 1/31/1912 116 Y
IV.3 Accounts Payable
1/1/1912 12/31/1915 117
1/1/1920 12/31/1922 118
IV.4 Miscellaneous
Undertakers 6/1/1888 5/31/1897 2-11
Employees 12/1/1905 2/29/1912 119 Y
Income Statements 7/1/1948 8/31/1956 2-12
Trial Balances 11/30/1950 1/31/1954 120
V. Cemetery Titles
11/4/1900 8/15/1904 121
5/21/1910 11/19/1917 122
VI. Call Book
VI.1 Canal St.
3/8/1944 1/8/1945 123
1/8/1945 11/9/1945 124
11/10/1945 8/4/1946 125
8/4/1946 5/10/1947 126
5/12/1947 1/17/1948 127
1/17/1948 10/26/1948 128
10/25/1948 7/9/1949 129
7/8/1949 3/25/1950 130 Y
3/27/1950 12/25/1950 131
9/8/1951 4/29/1952 132
1/13/1953 9/9/1953 133 Y
12/19/1954 8/13/1955 134
6/15/1957 12/13/1957 135
1/21/1959 2/21/1960 136
12/28/1966 11/18/1967 137
11/19/1967 9/14/1968 138
10/17/1971 7/31/1972 2-13(a-c)
7/31/1972 5/3/1973 139
1/7/1976 10/29/1976 140
10/29/1976 8/1/1977 141
8/9/1977 5/16/1978 142
3/5/1979 1/3/1980 143
1/2/1980 11/7/1980 144
11/7/1980 9/6/1981 145
7/1/1982 4/13/1983 146
4/14/1983 2/24/1984 147
2/25/1984 1/11/1985 148
1/11/1985 11/22/1985 149
11/22/1985 10/4/1986 150
10/3/1986 6/28/1987 151
6/29/1987 5/14/1988 152
5/13/1988 3/8/1989 153 Y
3/8/1989 12/29/1989 154
12/30/1989 11/10/1990 155
11/10/1990 9/16/1991 156
9/17/1991 7/15/1992 157
7/15/1992 5/22/1993 158
5/22/1993 4/1/1994 159
4/1/1994 2/14/1995 160
2/15/1995 1/14/1996 161
1/14/1996 1/12/1997 162
VI.2 Elysian Fields Ave.
6/28/1954 2/1/1955 163 Y
2/1/1955 9/30/1955 164 Y
9/30/1955 4/26/1956 165 Y
4/26/1956 12/3/1956 166 Y
7/5/1957 3/20/1958 167 Y
3/20/1958 1/24/1959 168 Y
1/24/1959 11/26/1959 169 Y
11/26/1959 11/28/1960 170 Y
11/28/1960 12/30/1961 171 Y
12/30/1961 1/5/1963 172
10/24/1965 9/1/1966 173 Y
9/1/1966 7/23/1967 174
7/23/1967 5/19/1968 175
5/20/1968 4/4/1969 176
4/5/1969 2/1/1970 177
11/28/1974 8/27/1975 178
8/27/1975 6/12/1976 179
6/12/1976 3/16/1977 180
3/17/1977 6/22/1977 181
6/22/1977 3/15/1978 182
3/15/1978 1/8/1979 183
1/8/1979 10/26/1979 184
10/26/1979 8/16/1980 185
8/17/1980 5/30/1981 186
5/30/1981 3/20/1982 187
12/26/1982 10/15/1983 188 Y
8/10/1984 6/3/1985 189
6/4/1985 3/31/1986 190
3/31/1986 2/12/1987 191
2/12/1987 1/18/1988 192
1/18/1988 11/23/1988 193
11/23/1988 9/6/1989 194
2/24/1992 1/9/1993 195
1/9/1993 11/20/1993 196
11/21/1993 10/8/1994 197
10/9/1994 9/1/1995 198
9/2/1995 8/23/1996 199
8/24/1996 6/8/1997 200
VII. Schoen Realty and Investment Company
Journal 3/8/1939 6/30/1955 201
--(Adjustments) 6/30/1941 11/9/1948 2-14
--(Adjustments) 7/16/1949 8/18/1955 2-15
Cash Book 1/4/1944 12/31/1946 202
Cash Book 1/3/1947 12/31/1949 203
Cash Book 1/1/1950 12/31/1952 204
Cash Book 1/5/1953 6/30/1955 205
Ledger 1/1/1935 6/30/1954 206
Ledger 7/1/1954 7/1/1955 207
VIII. Miscellaneous Records
Hope Benevolent Association 7/14/1873 4/18/1911 2-16
Fire Company No. 10 1/5/1880 3/31/1892 208
Metropolitan Club Minutes 11/21/1889 12/10/1889 30
Tally-Ho Club 1/1/1958 8/31/1966 209
IX. Ephemera
Journal Vols. 5, 6, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, & 18 3-17 24
Journal Vols. 19, 20, 23, 24, & 26 3-18 22
Cash Vols. 45, 58, 63, 64, & 65 3-19 35
Order Vols. 103, 104, 105, 106, & 107 3-20 24
Ledger Vols. 110, 111, 113, 114, 116, & 119 3-21 66
Call Vols. 130, 133, 153, 163, 164, 165, 166, 167,
168, 169,170, 171, 173, & 188 3-22 31
Appendix A: List of Ephemera
The following is a list of ephemera, or paper items, found between the pages of the various volumes of the collection. The “Vol./Item Number” consists of the volume the item was found in, and the number of that item within that volume. This number is written between brackets on the back of each item, generally in the lower-left corner (e.g. “[5.1]”). “Description” identifies each item in detail. “Between Pages” shows where in each volume the item was found. “Date” is the date of the item, if known. “No. Papers” shows the number of pages of each item.
Vol./Item Number Description Between Pages. Date No. Papers
5.1 Notice of 9th Ward People’s Ticket 294-5 3/22/1888 1
election of delegates, including H. L.
Frantz; “Good Government and Good Streets”
6.1 Handwritten funeral notice for Bernard 698-9 9/25/1889 1
Yeager
8.1 Itemized funeral bill for P. Wicker (+ wife) 394-5 9/14/1896 1
9.1 Notice of meeting of German organization, 396-7 10/7/1917 1
in German
12.1 Portion of printed death notice for Charles 98-9 11/7/1906 1
Berbuesse
12.2 Business card for Jacob Schoen & Son 240-1 1
12.3 Itemized bill for Wm. Schmidt for funeral of 432-3 6/29/1900 1
his wife; payment history on back
15.1 Letter from Knights of Columbus, 266-7 9/18/1912 1
Province of DeSoto
15.2 Reprint of article, “Exploiting Louisiana 6/2/1911 1
in Foreign Countries” from Times Democrat
16.1 Portion of death notice for Minnie Holscher 158-9 11/20/1906 1
16.2 Portion of blank death notice 240-1 1
16.3 Letter from merchant Peter Judlin, N. 514-5 1
Rampart St., about painting building
18.1 Blank death notice 72-3 1
18.2 Note on bill of W. Karloff to tell RR Co. 154 1
that bill is $113.00
18.3 Dispute of carriage bill by Anthony 166-7 11/6/1905 1
Fabacher, hotel & restaurant proprietor
18.4 Post card notice to members of Progressive 174-5 3/5/1910 1
Union of Smoker to meet B. F. Yoakum,
Frisco Lines
18.5 Health Almanac for 1917, Louisiana State 176-7 1/1/1917 1
Board of Health
18.6 Portion of handwritten death notice for Schwertz222-3 1/13/1919 1
Vol./Item Number Description Between Pages. Date No. Papers
18.7 Handwritten death notice for Joseph Pifourcat 222-3 1/12/1919 1
18.8 Note that Becker is putting in sewerage at 242-3 1
421-23 Chartres
18.9 Portion of printed death notice for Mary 248-9 5/25/1909 1
Kennedy Schaumburg
18.10 Ink blotter advertising Walle & Co., 360-1 1
Lithographers on Gravier St.
18.11 Handwritten death notice for Margaret 422-3 1
Gallie Ulrich (no date)
18.12 Blank deposit slip for Teutonia Bank & 532-3 1
Trust Co.
19.1 Typed letter from Frank Wm. Hart, 84-5 1/7/1910 1
attorney, re: payment of funeral of Mrs.
Francois Neveux
19.2 Portion of blank death notice for St. Anna 172-3 1
Ladies Society
19.3 Bill for Mrs. Schielder 200-1 5/29/1908 1
19.4 Post card notice to Philip Schoen re: 218-9 8/28/1914 1
meeting of Hall Jackson Benevolent
Association
19.5 Itemized funeral bill for Mrs. Thos. J. Byrnes 313 12/1/1908 1
19.6 Clipping from Picayune re: agreement 354-5 12/24/1908 1
between undertakers and two carriage
drivers unions.
19.7 Business card for Lackmann & Garcia, 412-3 1
General Hauling
19.8 Portion of death notice for Victor Biri; 436-7 6/13/1911 1
numbers written on back
19.9 Handwritten death notice for James Kenillia 462-3 2/13/1910 1
20.1 Printed death notice for Michael J. Joyce 372-3 5/14/1913 1
20.2 Dray receipt from Orleans Manufacturing 390-1 3/13/1918 1
20.3 Blank bill from Jacob Schoen & Son 530-1 1
23.1 Advertising brochure for Eureka Dodge 104-5 2
No. 2 High-Class Funeral Car
23.2 Card for Jos. P. Sendker, printer 3015 128-9 1
Royal St. (former home of Jacob Schoen)
23.3 Card for Theo. H. Harvey Press, 2317 N. 130-1 1
Rampart St.
23.4 Business card for Jacob Schoen & Son; 318 11/19/1918 1
writing on back
Vol./Item Number Description Between Pages. Date No. Papers
23.5 Note with name & address of Mrs. A. 10/28/1919 1
Fortier re: burial of E. E. Hutchinson
24.1 Itemized bill for L. D’Amico for funeral of 437 6/23/1922 1
wife
24.2 Itemized funeral bill for M. Fredericks 524 12/1/1922 1
24.3 Itemized funeral bill for estate of Wid. 660 7/2/1923 1
Charles W. Smith
26.1 Blank post card addressed to E(mbalmers) 66-7 1
S(upply) CO., Westport Conn.
45.1 Bills paid by P. J. Schoen for a/c Jac. btwn Dr for 12/21/1903 1
Schoen Succession Sept 11 &
Cr for Sept
12, 1904
45.2 “Amount of Gross Sales made from btwn Dr & 11/18/1903 4
November 18 1903 to April 23 1905” Cr for Nov
19, 1904
58.1 Letter from Charles C. Armbruster re: Back cover 10/20/1975 1
payment of his mother’s funeral, May E. Siren
63.1 Figures on expenses and earnings for fiscal Front cover 6/30/1921 3
year; list of accounts
63.2 Note to “Carl” (bookkeeper?) to post some 64 1
account information on A. Carevich
63.3 Statement of accounts for end of 1926 72 1/5/1927 1
63.4 Notes and figures on account entries for 1927 107 1/29/1927 3
63.5 Adding machine tapes and notes on 251 5/16/1928 1
accounts for 1928
63.6 Adding machine tapes and notes on Back cover 8/10/1928 1
accounts for 1928
64.1 Adding machine tapes and notes on 1 4/30/1931 10
accounts for 1931
64.1 List and adding tape of “Notes made” and 298 9/8/1930 3
“Notes Paid” 1930-32
64.2 “Sept Disbursements” 211 1
64.3 “Adjustment of Cash Book Entries, Jacob 228 6/30/1931 4
Schoen & Son, 1931”
64.4 Adding machine tapes and notes for 1932 251 3/31/1932 1
accounts
103.1 Blank death notice from 1920s 408 1
Vol./Item Number Description Between Pages. Date No. Papers
103.2 Business Card: Chas. S. Fitere 408 1
104.1 Bills from Krauss, Picone & Helman, City 118-19 8/31/1924 6
Auto & Wagon Works, Masset Brothers,
to McMahon mortuary
104.2 Letter to P. J. McMahon & Sons from 292-3 6/9/1923 1
Mount Olivet Cemetery re: new fiscal agent
104.3 Train schedule for all New Orleans trains Back pages 10/1/1922 1
104.4 Receipt from Shirer Casket Co. to P. Back pages 9/22/1924 1
McMahon
105.1 Bills from Times-Picayune Publishing Co. 12-3 8/29/1928 2
105.2 Business card for W. J. Steen Co., building 34-5 1
material
105.3 Letter and price list from Truxillo Tire 34-5 10/30/1924 2
Service, St. Charles Ave.
105.4 Telegram to McMahon re: arrival of 268-9 6/6/1929 1
remains of Irma Jourdan from Chicago
105.5 List showing dates (no years) and names 294-5 1
of newspapers (States, Item, TP)
106.1 Business card, A. P. Strumm, representing 8-9 1
Fyr Fyter Co.
106.2 Original death certificate for Mrs. 8-9 9/1/1928 1
Josephine Ryan
106.3 List of dates (no year) and newspaper 22-3 1
names: Item, TP, and States (re:
publication of notices or ads?)
106.4 Notes on arrangements for Blumenthal 62-3 2
funeral
107.1 Dray Receipt from Orleans Manufacturing 56-7 1
Co. to P. J. McMahon
110.1 Death notice for Jean P. Reulet 226 2/18/1911 1
111.1 Printed funeral notice for Joseph Brandner 49 12/11/1913 1
111.2 Priv. Ledger entries 469 10/31/1913 3
113.1 Account of Alexander Tormey for 1898-99 218-9 11/6/1898 1
113.2 Handwritten death notice for Edward 218-9 10/11/1909 1
Deluzain
113.3 Itemized bill for the Estate of August Roy 355 11/7/1903 2
113.4 Notice of limited payments by New 373 11/21/1903 1
Orleans & Northeastern Railroad Co.
Vol./Item Number Description Between Pages. Date No. Papers
113.5 Past-due accounts collected by John 378-9 7/25/1903 1
Stumpf for Frantz & Schoen, 1903-04
113.6 Dated but blank bill from Jacob Schoen & Son 444-5 4/16/1909 1
113.7 Copies of 2 newspaper notices re: Ladies 556 10/10/1907 1
Independent Benevolent Association of
the Third District
113.8 Payments on account of J. Ulm, 1906-07 566-7 11/6/1906 1
113.9 Notices from German newspaper Back cover 1
114.1 Death notice for Charles Louis Cook 190-1 6/21/1911 1
114.2 Dues receipts for members of United 356-7 6/1/1911 2
Brethren Association
114.3 Property tax receipt for Wid. J. Schoen 356-7 12/8/1911 1
114.4 Penciled death notice for Margaret Walz 366-7 1
114.5 Blank letterhead for Jacob Schoen & Son 402-3 1
114.6 Jackson Benevolent Association, notice 468-9 5/12/1914 2
and Advantages Derived by Affiliation
114.7 Bills for Henry Peters from United 478-9 10/7/1909 10
Brethren Association and Veglia & Babst,
carriage makers
114.8 Account card for A. Pichon for “funeral of 568 8/25/1905 1
children”
114.9 Bills for Mrs. Wm. Pique paid by Philip 612-3 7/21/1907 20
Schoen
114.10 Itemized funeral bill for Estate of Louis Roth 706 11/18/1909 1
116.1 List of supplies ordered (caskets, coffins, 356-7 1
robes, handles & ornaments)
116.2 Bills to Schoen & Son from P. M. 356-7 5/6/1911 9
Barriquand, Poland & Dauphine, for oats
119.1 Advertising for engraved plate from 358-9 1
Orleans Manufacturing Co.
130.1 Veteran’s form filled out for Arthur John Front cover 11/18/1949 1
Arata, Jr.
133.1 Business card for Joseph Zinsel of Zinsel 298 1
Auto Glass & Supply Co.
153.1 Notes on various arrangements 166-7 2
163.1 Note on Carl Dailey passing 165 1
164.1 Telegram re: arrival of remains of Marcus 71 3/28/1935 1
Ryninger from Houston
164.2 Note on what to do when Miss Vanderschuer dies 195 1
Vol./Item Number Description Between Pages. Date No. Papers
164.3 Notice on body shipped 73 3/31/1955 1
165.1 Receipt for ring of Sheldon LeBlanc 71 11/18/1955 1
165.2 Note on arrival of Baby Lang’s remains 88 12/5/1955 1
165.3 Note on arrival of remains of Olivia 180 2/5/1956 1
Badeaux from Mt. Vernon NY
165.4 Note on what to do when Charles Perrier 198 2/17/1956 1
passes
166.1 Notice to all local funeral homes re: fake 185 7/23/1962 1
calls on death of Estelle Schrieffer
167.1 Note re: death of Mrs. Myrtle Gardinier 6-7 1
167.2 Note on death of John E. Sagers in Japan 212 1
167.3 Telegram and note on remains of Lt. Col. 154 11/13/1957 2
Glade B. Bilby arriving from Montgomery, Ala.
168.1 “Charity Hospital Forms” Front cover 1
169.1 Note on Mrs. Lena S. Gibson 145 3/16/1959 1
169.2 Note on Elizabeth Brisbois 1/27/1959 1
169.3 Note on Mrs. Anna Droll 3/10/1959 1
169.4 Note on Mehrhoff family preferences 155 7/4/1959 1
169.5 Notes on Fr. Plauche arrangements 213 9/3/1959 1
169.6 Telegram on remains of Donald Willett 256 10/9/1959 1
arriving from Denver CO
170.1 Telegram re: remains of Louis Masson 106 3/4/1960 1
arriving from Berkeley, Calif.
170.2 Telegram re: remains of Harry T. Norman 115 3/10/1960 1
arriving from Hunter AFB, Savannah GA
170.3 Telegram re: remains of Jo Rabb, arriving 127 3/25/1960 1
from New York NY
170.4 Note on remains of Ronald Nicolich 137 4/8/1960 1
arriving from Albuquerque NM
170.5 Form releasing remains of Ernest Myham 153 4/30/1959 1
to Schoen
170.6 Note that Gustave Angel not expected to 171 1
171.1 Note on handling body of baby Russell 66 2/19/1961 1
Goodbee
171.2 Notes on Jewel Love 16 12/18/1960 1
173.1 Note about Albert Even’s pre-arrangement 271 1
188.1 Embalming report and note on Ignatius 175 6/2/1983 1
Gllo, Covington, La.
Index Terms
Fire Company No. 10
Hope Benevolent Association
Jacob Schoen & Son (Firm)
Metropolitan Club
Schoen Realty and Investment Company
Schoen, Jacob
Tally-Ho Club
Undertakers—Louisiana—New Orleans