: - MSS 310 - K & B Archives - Library Guides at University of New Orleans

K & B ARCHIVES

(Mss 310)

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

May 2003

Summary

Size: 36 linear feet

Geographic

locations: Chiefly New Orleans, La.

Inclusive dates: ca. late 1800s - 1997

Summary: Artifacts associated with K & B, Inc., formerly known as Katz & Besthoff, Limited, a chain of drug stores that operated from 1905 to 1997. Headquartered in New Orleans, the company operated stores in Mississippi, Alabama, Florida, Tennessee, and Texas, as well. This portion of the collection mainly contains pharmaceutical bottles and products sold by K & B, including both national and store brands.

Related

collections: Karen Harris Collection of Printed Ephemera (Mss 303); K & B Archives, Addendum 1 (Mss 313); K & B Archives, Addendum 2 (Mss 314); K & B Archives, Addendum 3 (Mss 315)

Source: Gift, March 2002

Access: No restrictions

Citation: K & B Archives, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

Historical Note

Katz & Besthoff, Ltd.—widely known as K & B, which became its corporate name in 1977, or KB for short—was born of a casual conversation that took place in April 1905 in Gustave Katz’s drug store at the intersection of St. Charles and Jackson Avenues. After earning a degree at the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy in the early 1890s, Katz had returned to his native New Orleans and obtained a job at Eugene May’s drugstore at 601 Canal Street. In 1896 the twenty-five-year-old struck out on his own. Quickly his name became synonymous with integrity in business dealings, competitive prices, and accuracy in filling prescriptions, which were routinely checked by a second pharmacist. Katz met Sydney Besthoff, the proprietor of a thriving drug store in Memphis, at the latter’s wedding to a New Orleans bride, and when the young couple decided to make their home in the city, he proposed a partnership.[1]

Sydney Besthoff already had identified a site in the heart of the shopping district, and later in 1905 the new firm of Katz & Besthoff opened the doors of its store at 732 Canal Street. The partners incorporated the contents of Katz’s store and adopted his practice of permitting his customers to open charge accounts and purchase goods on credit. Katz handled the technical end of the business, managing the finances and watching over the pharmacy; Besthoff welcomed customers, monitored activity on the floor, and suggested fresh ideas. He also contributed the first syllable of his surname to the firm’s slogan, “Only the Best.” With a shared dedication, determination, and emphasis on quality, the partners prospered. In 1910 they established a second store at 837 Canal Street. Ten years later K & B ventured uptown, opening a third store at St. Charles and Louisiana Avenues, and in 1923 a fourth at South Carrollton Avenue and Oak Street. Eighteen stores celebrated the fiftieth anniversary in 1955, the year in which K & B filled its ten millionth prescription. Twenty years later the count had risen to forty-seven million.[2]

In 1926 Sydney Besthoff died of a heart attack and his son, also a registered pharmacist who was familiar with the company, succeeded him. After Gustave Katz died in 1940, the Besthoff family bought out the Katzes and became the sole owner. The Katz name—or initial—remained part of the firm’s name, however, for as long as it stayed in business. In 1962 management passed to Sydney Besthoff III, whose association with the business began in 1939 when, as a twelve-year-old, he worked in the new photofinishing operation, located in the store at 1011 Canal Street. Under his leadership, K & B flourished as never before. In 1966 the firm expanded beyond New Orleans, opening a store across Lake Pontchartrain in Slidell, then in Baton Rouge, then in other states. Growth slowed considerably in the 1980s when the oil boom stopped booming but resumed in the 1990s with the acquisition of eight OSCO drug stores in Memphis, coming full circle to the city where the first Sydney Besthoff had begun. When Rite Aid bought the chain in July 1997, it numbered one hundred eighty-six stores in six states (Mississippi, Alabama, Florida, Tennessee, and Texas, as well as Louisiana), employing a staff of more than forty-eight hundred. Over forty-two hundred of them stayed on with Rite Aid.[3]

Endeavoring to give their clientele what they wanted, K & B adopted a broad-spectrum marketing strategy long before most drugstores did, selling everything from holiday decorations to garden hoses to tubes for 1950s televisions to home permanents to cigars to pet supplies, in addition to prescriptions and over-the-counter medications. Although many of these goods came from national manufacturers, K & B marketed numerous products under its own brand. The selection of K & B beverages, for example, included cola, beer, burgundy, port, and a whiskey called Sir Sidney. The store brand appeared also on baby oil, aspirin, antihistamine, suppositories, nasal spray, sleeping pills, vitamins, bandages, antiseptic, cream for athlete’s foot, antacids, batteries, matches, camera film, clocks, pencils, ballpoint pens, hurricane tracking charts, and street maps with all the K & B stores marked, to name but a few.[4]

One of the best examples of a native product was K & B ice cream, which came not only in the traditional flavors, but also in locally popular cherry vanilla, eggnog, and cream cheese. Soda fountains had existed in New Orleans since at least the 1830s, and they enjoyed considerable patronage, especially during the hot months of long Louisiana summers; one version of the creation of the ice cream sundae holds that it originated in the Crescent City. Because fewer cases of colds and flu occurred during the summertime, it was the pharmacy’s slack season, and income from the soda fountains supplemented the decline in revenue from prescriptions. At K & B they offset each other so neatly that except in December, month-to-month revenues never varied more than five percent.[5]

Several variations of the story of how purple became the company color exist. One version dates the association with purple from 1908, another from 1911; surely it began in “the days before paper bags, when products purchased at a pharmacy would have been wrapped in brown kraft paper and tied with a string. An unnamed New Orleans merchant had ordered a railroad car load of purple wrapping paper for a special promotion. But when it arrived, the merchant didn’t like the color. The paper was discounted below the cost of the regular kraft paper and K & B scooped it up.” It was good advertising, for as customers carried their purple parcels home, everyone knew where they had shopped. When the first shipment of purple paper ran out, more was ordered. The color inspired a variation on the firm’s slogan: “If it’s purple on the outside, it’s only the BEST from Katz & BESThoff on the inside.”[6] Purple became inextricably connected with the firm, which incorporated it in signs, packaging, and newspaper advertising. The last of these uses caused the New Orleans Times-Picayune to be the nation’s biggest consumer of purple ink. With so much purple everywhere, it is hardly surprising that its distinctive shade—“not quite lavender, not quite violet—has entered the local vocabulary as ‘K & B purple.’”[7]

At the same time Rite Aid acquired K & B, it also bought one hundred forty-six Harco Drug Stores, based in Alabama. The two buyouts made the thirty-five-year-old chain the nation’s largest, with nearly four thousand drug stores in thirty-one states, and gave it a new presence on the Gulf Coast. Separate purchase prices were not announced, but the combined cost of K & B and Harco approached $340,000,000. For that sum of money, Rite Aid “[stood] to gain their $838,000,000 in sales[, $580,000,000 of which came from K & B,] without all of the additional management costs of running the stores.” Although large chains had been gobbling up small, family-operated stores for years, New Orleans had largely resisted the trend. Pharmacies, however, had something more than changing times with which to contend: changing health care. “Analysts agree[d] that the growth of health maintenance organizations and other types of health care insurance plans commonly lumped under the banner ‘managed care’ . . . brought the small and mid-sized companies to the brink.” Only large, high-volume chains could withstand the pricing pressure, and K & B was sold while it was still profitable.[8]

Writing in the Atlanta Journal and Constitution, Anne Rochell explained that “all the fuss over a dying drug store chain [was] because a battle for the soul of New Orleans was being waged, and, for the moment, the outsiders [were] winning.” She noted that “To an outsider, the K & B drug stores here were nothing but boxy buildings with funny purple signs—a bit of an eyesore next to the mansions along St. Charles Avenue. But natives loved them, and when . . . Rite Aid bought them out, many vowed they would never shop there again.” Surprised by consumers’ devotion to the sign of the purple, Rite Aid officials proceeded more slowly than they had planned to introduce their own logo and slogan. At some point during the years, however, K & B “became not only a trusted business establishment, but a cultural icon on the New Orleans landscape,” and customers became friends.[9]

Notes

Excerpted from a paper by Florence M. Jumonville, first presented at the Popular Culture Association Conference, New Orleans, Louisiana, April 17, 2003.

[1]Sandie Gauthreaux, “A History of K&B,” The K&B Connection 8.1 (September 1997): 1, 3; New Orleans City Directory, 1896. Based on records still possessed by K&B and on interviews with Sydney Besthoff III, Gauthreaux’s article began as a paper she wrote as a student at Our Lady of Holy Cross College in New Orleans. It was published in its entirety in the final issue of The K&B Connection, a newspaper for employees.

2Gauthreaux, “History of K&B,” 1-2.

3Ibid., 1-3; James J. LeBlanc, “The End or the Beginning?,” The K&B Connection 8.1 (September 1997): 4; Gregory S. Nelson, “K&B Lives!,” University of New Orleans Magazine 28 (Fall 2002): 11; Betty Keith, quoted by Angus Lind, “Purple Prose: Whimsical Cookbook Is Fondly Recalled,” New Orleans Times-Picayune, June 17, 1998, p. E1 (quotation).

4Liz Scott, “Chemistry Set: How Mr. Katz and Mr. Besthoff Started an Empire,” New Orleans Magazine 32, no. 2 (November 1997), 21; Errol Laborde, “Purple Passion,” New Orleans Magazine 31, no. 12 (September 1997): 120. This collection includes examples of most of the K&B products mentioned here, as well as others.

5Gauthreaux, “A History of K&B,” 1-2; Anne Cooper Funderburg, Sundae Best: A History of Soda Fountains (Bowling Green, Ohio: Bowling Green State University Popular Press, 2002), 31, 63, 125; Scott, “Chemistry Set,” 20; James Slaton, “They All Screamed for K&B Ice Cream,” New Orleans Citibusiness 23 (September 15, 1997): 1, 42.

6Julie Landry, “K&B Purple Fading Away,” New Orleans Times-Picayune, July 31, 1997, p. 1G; Scott, “Chemistry Set,” 20; Nelson, “K&B Lives!,” 10-11, based on an interview with Sydney J. Besthoff III (quotation).

7Nelson, “K&B Lives!,” 10-11, based on an interview with Sydney J. Besthoff III; Anne Rochell, “The Americanization of New Orleans,” Atlanta Journal and Constitution, June 21, 1998, p. 01C (quotation).

8King, “Retailing Giant Rite Aid to Buy K&B Drugs Inc.”; Rite Aid Corp., “History,” <http://www.riteaid.com/company_info/history.php>, accessed April 15, 2003; Ronette King, “Little Guys Struggle against Big Operators,” New Orleans Times-Picayune, July 30, 1997, p. A3 (first quotation); Kathy Finn, “Looking Beyond the Sale of K&B Drugstores,” New Orleans Citibusiness 25 (July 28, 1997): 1, 37 (second quotation).

9Rochell, “Americanization of New Orleans” (first and second quotations); “Purple Pros Know Where to Go Saturday,” New Orleans Times-Picayune, June 5, 1998, p. L15; Louisiana State Archives, “Louisiana’s Jewish Community: Katz & Besthoff,” <http://www.sec.state.la.us/archives/jewish/JHKB.HTM>, accessed April 12, 2003 (third quotation).

List of Series and Subseries

Series I. Items Manufactured by or Distributed by K& B with the Company Logo

Subseries I.1 Over-the-counter medications—Antacids

Subseries I.2 Over-the-counter medications—Cough, Cold, and Allergy

Subseries I.3 Over-the-counter medications—Creams and Ointments

Subseries I.4 Over-the-counter medications—Pain Relief

Subseries I.5 Over-the-counter items—Miscellaneous

Subseries I.6 Prescription Medications

Subseries I.7 Miscellaneous Items

Subseries I.8 Alcohol Bottles

Series II. Items Sold by K & B, but not Produced or distributed by the Company

Subseries II.1 Personal hygiene and beauty items—Cosmetics

Subseries II.2 Personal hygiene and beauty items—Creams, Hair Care, and Deodorant

Subseries II.3 Personal hygiene and beauty items—Soap

Subseries II.4 Personal hygiene and beauty items—Talc Powder

Subseries II.5 Personal hygiene and beauty items—Shaving

Subseries II.6 Personal hygiene and beauty items—Dental Care

Subseries II.7 Drinkable items

Subseries II.8 Over-the-counter medications and remedies

Subseries II.9 Over-the-counter medications and remedies—Chronic Constipation

Subseries II.10 Items pertaining to first aid

Subseries II.11 Oils—Various

Subseries II.12 Poisons

Series III. Apothecary Bottles and Stoppers

Subseries III.1 Empty apothecary bottles

Subseries III.2 Apothecary bottles containing ingredients

Subseries III.3 Apothecary bottle stoppers

Series IV. Miscellaneous Items

Container List

Series I. Items Made by K & B with the Company Logo

Subseries I.1. Over-the-Counter Medications—Antacids

Antacid Gelatin Coated Caplets

For relief of acid indigestion, heartburn, and sour stomach.

24 count

Anti-Nausea Liquid, cherry flavored

Relief of nausea and upset stomach

4 fl. oz.

KA-Gel Tablets

Relief of gastric hyperactivity

100 count

Liquid Antacid plus Simethicone, Antacid/Anti-gas

For relief of acid indigestion, heartburn, and sour stomach

12 fl. oz.

Peppermint Antacid Tablets

Relief of heartburn, sour stomach, acid indigestion, and upset stomach

150 chewable tablets

Pink Bismuth Liquid

Relief of upset stomach, simple diarrhea, indigestion, nausea, heartburn

8 fl. oz.

Subseries I.2. Over-the-counter Medications—Cough, Cold, and Allergy

DailyHist 1

Antihistamine for sneezing, runny nose, itchy, watery eyes

16 count tablets

DailyHist-D

Antihistamine/nasal decongestant—12 hour relief

8 count tablets

DayTime Liqui-Gels

Non-drowsy cold/flu medicine, nasal decongestant, expectorant, cough suppressant, pain reliever, and fever reducer

20 count

Diphedryl

Antihistamine for temporary relief of upper respiratory allergies, hay fever, and the common cold

24 count tablets

Pedia Relief

Cough-Cold, nasal decongestant, antihistamine, cough suppressant, runny nose, stuffy nose, cherry flavored

4 fl. oz.

Triacting Sore Throat Formula

Pain reliever, fever reducer, cough suppressant, and nasal decongestant

4 fl. oz.

Subseries I.3. Over-the-Counter Medications—Creams and Ointments

Clotrimazole-7

Antifungal Vaginal inserts

Treatment of vaginal yeast (Candida) infection

7 vaginal inserts and applicator—100 mg per insert

Cures Athlete’s Foot-Clotrimazole Antifungal Cream

Relieves itching and burning, cracking, and discomfort associated with athlete’s foot, ringworm, and jock itch.

½ oz.

Hydrocortisone Cream

Temporary relief of itching associated with minor skin irritations and rashes.

1 oz.

Miconazole Antifungal Cream

Relief of itching, scaling, burning, and discomfort that accompany ringworm, athlete’s foot, and jock itch.

½ oz.

Miconazole Antifungal Cream

Relief of itching, scaling, burning, and discomfort that accompany ringworm, athlete’s foot, and jock itch.

1 oz.

310-18 Triple Antibiotic Ointment

Prevents infection in minor cuts, scrapes, and burns

½ oz.

Subseries I.4. Over-the-counter Medications—Pain Relief

310-19 Aspirin

Relief of minor aches and pains and fever reducer

250 count tablets

310-20 Backache

Pain relief, extra strength

24 count analgesic caplets

310-21 Ibuprofen

Pain reliever and fever reducer

50 count caplets

310-22 Pain Reliever without Aspirin

Relief of minor aches, pains, headaches and fever, extra strength

50 count solid geltabs

310-23 Pain Reliever without Aspirin

Acetaminophen drops for children, relief of fever and discomfort due to colds and flu, teething, immunizations, and tonsillectomy

½ oz.

310-24 Long Acting Nasal Spray

Decongestant, 12 hour relief, nasal congestion due to common cold, hay fever, allergies

½ oz.

Subseries I.5. Over-the-counter Items—Miscellaneous

Epsom Salt

Saline laxative, relief of constipation

1 lb.

Epsom Salt

Laxative and cathartic

8 oz.

Fiber Laxative

Constipation

90 count tablets

Glycerine Suppositories Laxative

Constipation

25 count adult size

Gift of Bernard J. Manning

B-1

Vitamin

100 count tablets

One Daily

Vitamin

100 count tablets

Sleep Aid

Reduces difficulty in falling asleep

16 count tablets

Stay Awake

Alertness Aid

16 count tablets

Film

Color Print, 126/20, Daylight or Flash

20 exposures

Adhesive Tape

Waterproof, ½ in. x 180 in.

5 yards

Bandages

Fabric, sterile, assorted sizes, cushions and protects cuts and scrapes

20 count

Hydrogen Peroxide Solution

Cleansing agent for cuts, scrapes, and abrasions of the skin

8 fl. oz.

Cola

12 fl. oz.

Energized Power Cell

Battery, long-life, super power

2 count, size C, 1.5 volts

Diet Aid

Maximum strength, caffeine free appetite suppressant, weight reduction

20 count time-release caplets

Saline Solution

For rinsing and cold storage of soft contact lenses, for use in heat disinfection

12 fl. oz

Eye Wash

Flushes out loose foreign materials or chemicals from the eye

4 fl. oz including sterile eyecup

Subseries I.6. Prescription Medications

310-42 Prescription bottle/vial

Label: [prepared by] Dr. Moyer for L. Ward on 6-12-47. [Instructions:] Dissolve one in glass of water one hour before retiring. [Prescription number] 466298-C.

Clear glass cylinder with partial cork stopper, vial contains cotton, but no medication.

310-43 Prescription bottle

Clear glass square bottle, contains cotton and ingredients.

Label is not legible.

310-44 Prescription bottle

Label is partially legible with the following information. [Prescription #] 481693-[?], prepared for Mrs. Joseph, [directions] tablespoon every four hours, [prepared by] Dr. Perrot.

Clear glass bottle with black screw-on top, light brown liquid ingredients.

310-45 Prescription bottle

Dark glass round bottle with black plastic screw-on cap

Label: illegible

Subseries I.7. Miscellaneous Items

310-46 Aromatic Ammonia Spirit

Dark brown glass bottle with white metal screw-on cap

Net Contents 2 fl. oz.

310-47 Fever Thermometer

Used for taking temperature

Tip broken

310-48 Clock

LCD Quartz

310-49 Cap/top/lid

Push and unscrew top for prescription medication bottle

310-50 Cap/top/lid

Push and unscrew top for prescription medication bottle

310-51 Coupons

String of coupons worth one cent each good for cash or merchandise at any K & B store, Coupons are numbered 570013-570035

23 coupons

310-52 Pen

Golden anniversary blue pen with gold top, 1905-1955

310-53 Pen

Better Drug stores purple pen with silver top

310-54 Prescription Card

Senior citizen prescription plan membership card, white with purple lettering and includes the name of the cardholder, address, and signature.

Gift of Miss Bernice Manning

310-55 Cigar Box

Custom Made Fancy Tales Mild Blend

Contained 50 cigars (not present)

310-56 Bag

Plastic purple bag with K & B logo in white

310-57 Mug/cup

Plastic purple mug with white interior, outside is decorated with nine different medicine labels

310-58 Film container

Splicer, patent pending by Kenco, from camera center

Round, 7 inches in diameter, ½ inch deep

Subseries I.8. Alcohol Bottles

310-59 Beer Bottle

Pilsen Lager, full brown glass bottle with purple and silver label

32 oz.

310-60 Wine Bottle

Private Cellar, California White Port, for sale in Louisiana only, 19% to 21% alcohol, empty clear glass bottle with yellow label

4/5 quart

310-61 Wine Bottle

California Burgundy, made and bottled by Colonial Vineyards, Elk Grove, California, 12% alcohol, green glass bottle with screw top, white label with pink lettering and gold accents

4/5 quart

310-62 Wine Bottle

California Port, produced and bottled by the Burbank Winery, Burbank, California, 19% to 21% alcohol, empty brown glass bottle with purple and white label

4/5 quart

Series II. Items Sold by K & B, but Not Produced or Distributed by the Company

Subseries II.1. Personal hygiene and beauty items—Cosmetics

310-63 Cutex Fingernail Set

Plastic yellow and white case includes a tube of nail flex lotion, 2 emery boards, 2 bottles of polish remover, and one bottle of perfect peach polish, 2 cotton balls, and perfect peach lipstick in a gold container.

6 x 5 x 1 ½

310-64 Cutex Paste Polish

On back: Northam Warren | New York

Round pink container with black lettering

1 x 1 x ¼

310-65 Heather

Modern Mascara

Black

On back: Heather Co., Distributors | New York, N.Y. | In Canada, Toronto, ONT.

Red and yellow metal container, oval shaped

2 ¾ x 1 ¼ x ¼

310-66 Loreal | Grow Strong | Restructuring | Nail Color

Price: 4.49, marked down to 1.79

Color: 207 Toffee

2 ¾ x 1 x 1 ¼

310-67 Loreal | Grow Strong | Restructuring | Nail Color

Price: 4.49, marked down to 1.79

Color: 201 Clear

2 ¾ x 1 x 1 ¼

310-68 Pond’s Cheeks | Dry Rouge

In 5 alluring | Stagline | Shades | To match | Pond’s “Lips”

This shade is Honey (Light)

Price: 10 cents

Packed by Pond’s Extract Company, New York, N.Y.

Aqua blue, round metal container pressed onto a cardboard for advertising and packaging purposes.

4 x 3 ¼ x ¼

Subseries II.2. Personal hygiene and beauty items-Creams, Hair Care, and Deodorant

310-69 Cutex | Hand Cream

Northam Warren New York

2.85 oz.

White jar with yellow/gold label, lid has a picture of a woman’s hand

2 ½ x 2 ¼ x 2

310-70 Dermassage | Medicated | Skin Cream

3.5 Oz.

On back: Colgate-Palmolive Co., New York, N.Y.

White glass jar with red, white, and green label

2 ¾ x 2 ½ x 2

Lilt home permanent (see item 310-72)

310-71 Shasta | Cream Shampoo

With improved lanolin

White glass jar with blue, pink, and white label

2 x 2 ¾ x 2 ½

310-72 Lilt | Foam home permanent

Back: Made in U.S.A. by Proctor & Gamble Cincinnati 1 Ohio

Cardboard, oval shaped container

310-73 Secret | Antiperspirant

Spray deodorant

Net Wt 3 oz.

Plastic container, bottom is blue and cap is white

Subseries II.3. Personal hygiene and beauty items—Soap

310-74 Crystal White | Family Soap

Wrapped in white paper with navy blue lettering

On back: Colgate-Palmolive-Peet Co.

4¼ x 2¾ x 1¼ in.

310-75 Kirk’s Flake | White Laundry | Soap

Wrapped in white paper with red and black lettering

On back: Procter & Gamble

4¼ x 2¾ x 1¼ in.

310-76 Lifebuoy | Health Soap

Soap contained in a red box with white lettering

On back: Lever Brothers Company | Cambridge Massachusetts

3 x 2 x ¾ in.

310-77 Lifebuoy | Health Soap

Soap contained in a red and yellow box

On back: Lever Brothers Company | Cambridge Massachusetts

3½ x 2½ x 1¼ in.

310-78 Mennen | Baby | Soap

Castile

The Mennen Company

Newark, N.J. U.S.A.

Soap contained in a light blue and white box, navy blue lettering

2¼ x 3¼ x 1½ in.

310-79 P and G | White Laundry | Soap

Procter & Gamble

Made in U.S.A.

Soap wrapped in navy blue paper with white lettering

4¼ x 3 x 1 in.

310-80 P and G | The White Naphtha Soap

Procter & Gamble Made in U.S.A.

Soap wrapped in navy blue paper with white lettering

4¼ x 2¾ x 1¼ in.

310-81 P and G | The White Naphtha Soap

Procter & Gamble Made in U.S.A.

Soap wrapped in navy blue paper with white lettering

4¼ x 2¾ x 1¼ in.

310-82 Pullman

You’re safe and sure when you travel by [Pullman]

Soap wrapped in blue and white paper

2¼ x 1½ x ¼ in.

Subseries II.4. Personal hygiene and beauty items-Talc Powder

310-83 Colgate | Talc | For | Men

Invisible | Soothing | Antiseptic

Colgate & Co.

New York, U.S.A.

Blue and white metal container

3¼ x 1 x ¾ in.

Jeris Talc (see item 310-85)

310-84 Palmolive

After Shave

Talc

On side: Colgate-Palmolive Co.

White metal container with red and green/blue lettering

4½ x 2 x 1½ in.

310-85 Jeris | Flesh | Talc

Specially Processed

Pleasantly Scented

Cools and Refreshes

Net contents 11 ounces

Distributed by Ar. Winarick Inc, New Brunswick

Metal container, slightly rusted, navy blue lettering

7½ x 3 x 2 in.

Subseries II.5. Personal hygiene and beauty items—Shaving

310-86 Blade holder

Metal, sliver

Imprinted on one side is the word Blades

1¾ x 1 x ¾ in.

310-87 Enders Speed Blades

5 for 25 cents

Give Wings to Your Shave

Durham-Enders Razor Corp

Mystic, Conn.

Green cardboard package with yellow and white lettering; five wrapped blades included.

2 x 1 x ¼ in.

310-88 Enders Speed

Razor without a blade, black handle and silver shaving edge

4 x 2 x 1 in.

310-89 Enders

W. M. Enders

Made in U.S.A.

Black razor carrying case with snap closure, purple velvet interior, metal razor handle contained in case

4 ½ x 2 x 1 in.

310-90 H. Boker & Co’s

Unrivaled Razor

Germany

Brown leather case, no contents

6½ x 1¼ x ½ in.

310-91 Handy Grip | Shaving stick

Colgate & Co.

New York

U.S.A.

U.S. Pat Sept 4 1917

Cylindrical metal container with screw-on top, handy grip refills screw into the metal grip

3½ x 1½ x 1½ in.

310-92 Mennen | Foam | Shave

Regular

Morristown, N.J. The Mennen Co. Toronto, Ont.

6 ¼ Oz.

Green and white canister with red accents

5 x 2 x 2 in.

Subseries II.6. Personal and hygiene items—Dental Care

310-93 Arnica Tooth Paste

Formerly known as Arnica Tooth Soap Compound

Net Weight 1 8/10 Ounces

Arnica Tooth Paste is an excellent Article for Use to | Whiten and Beautify the Teeth and Sterilize the Mouth | It imparts a most Delightful Perfume to the Breath

C. H. Strong & Co. Proprietors.

Chicago, Illinois

Metal container with red and black lid, hinged on the back; bar of orange tooth paste included; advertisement paper inside which states all of the reasons to buy this product including its cost effectiveness.

3¼ x 2 x ½ in.

310-94 Colgate | Dental Cream with Gardol

Colgate-Palmolive Co., New York, N.Y. Made in U.S.A. U.S. Patent No 2689170

Net Weight 6 ¾ oz.

New! | Family Size | Save 33 cents | Compared with Large Size

Rectangular red box with white lettering; tube of paste included, has white tube with red lettering and red screw-on cap.

8½ x 1¾ x 1½ in.

310-95 Fluorigard | brand of sodium fluoride mouthrinse

Hoyt Laboratories

Division of Colgate-Palmolive Co.

633 Highland Ave. Needham, MA 02194 U.S.A.

Clear glass round bottle with white child proof cap, green liquid included; label is white with green and light blue lettering.

7 x 2¾ x 2¾ in.

Subseries II.7. Beverages

310-96 Beer | Mardi Gras | Premium

1983

1^st edition

Purple, green, and yellow can

12 fl. oz.

5 x 2½ x 2½ in.

310-97 Horlick’s | Malted Milk

Racine-WIS-U.S.A.

Slough, Bucks, Eng.

Clear glass jar

5 x 2½ x 2½ in.

310-98 Perrier

From France | Naturally | Sparkling | Mineral Water

6 ½ Fl. Oz.

Green glass bottle with green and white label

6 x 2 x 2 in.

310-99 Schuhle’s | Pure | Grape Juice

Clear glass bottle

5½ x 2 x 2 in.

310-100 Southern Dairies | Milk

Sealtest System

National Dairy Products Corporation

Clear glass jar

5¼ x 2¼ x 2¼ in.

310-101 Coca-Cola

1902—75 years of bottles refreshment—1977

75^th anniversary

Roddy Manufacturing Company—Knoxville, Tenn.

Clear glass bottle, index card is included which states that it was given to Mr. Jack Stich by Eddie J. Ouille, Chief Pharmacist

10 fl. oz.

7½ x 2¼ x 2¼ in.

310-102 Coca-Cola

Light green glass bottle with red Christmas label, dated Christmas 1995

8 0z.

7 ½ x 2 x 2

310-103 Dr. Pepper

Good For Life!

6½ oz.

Glass bottle, empty

8 x 2 x 2 in.

310-104 Dr. Pepper

6½ oz.

Glass bottle

8 x 2 x 2 in.

310-105 Blue Ribbon

Pabst Brewing Company, Milwaukee

Intoxicating Liquor

June 30^th 1906

12 oz.

Clear glass beer bottle with red, white, and blue label

9 x 2½ x 2½ in.

310-106 Cinzano |Tonic

F. Cinzano & C. Torino

Permission for importation and sale as a non-beverage | tonic granted as per letter dated 27^th December 1922 | by the federal prohibition commissioner in Washington.

Dark green glass bottle with red and blue label

10 x 2½ x 2½ in.

310-107 Green River | Whiskey—A Blend

Penn. Maryland Corp.

Baltimore Maryland

On back: One Pint 90 proof

Clear glass rectangular bottle with black screw-on cap

7¾ x 3½ x 2 in.

310-108 Grolsch

Dark brown glass beer bottle with red and white stopper

9 x 3 x 3 in.

310-109 Bay Rum

Double Distilled

H. Michelsen | St. Thomas | West Indies.

Dark green glass bottle with green and white label

10¼ x 3 x 3 in.

310-110 J. Rosen[?]

Sparkling [Wine]

Dark green glass bottle with red label, label is mostly illegible

10½ x 2½ x 2½ in.

310-111 Caves de H. Mouquin

Tonic Wine

Port

Mouquin Inc.

Bordeaux Chicago New York

Contents 1 Pint 8 Fluid Ounces

Dark brown glass bottle, empty, white label with black lettering

12 x 2½ x 2½ in.

310-112 Chateau St. Charles

California | Champagne

Sparkling Wine Bulk Process

Produced & Bottled by | Mission Vinters, Mission San Jose, CA. Alcohol 11% by volume, contains sufites

Date: 4/01/90

Price: $3.29, marked down to 1.99

Dark green glass bottle

12 x 8 x 8 in.

310-113 Cordial Meedoc

G. A. Jourde

Bordeaux | France

Dark green glass bottle with brown label and black lettering, mostly written in French.

4/5 quart

On bottom: price $ 4.[?]0

10½ x 3½ x 3½ in.

310-114 La Prunelle

Cusenier

Made in France

Clear glass bottle with dark brown liquid

12 x 3 x 3 in.

310-115 Ojen

Distilled and Bottled by | L. E. Jung | Distiller, New Orleans.

Clear glass bottle, empty

11 ½ x 3 x 3

Subseries II.8. Over-the-counter Medications and Remedies

310-116 666 | Salve

Contains Ephedrine

Trial Size 5 cents

Manufactured By | Monticello Drug Co. | New York, N.Y. New Orleans, LA. | Jacksonville, Fla. | Mexico, D.F.

On bottom: For Head or Chest Colds, Headaches or Neuralgia, Irritation of Throat or Nasal Passages due to Colds, 666 Salve generally gives quick relief. Fine dressing for minor Burns, Sunburns, Sores, etc.

Yellow, round container with red lettering

1¼ x 1¼ x ¼ in.

310-117 Alka-Seltzer

The Sound of Fast Relief

Effervescent Reliever & Antacid

Consumer Health Division

Miles Laboratories, Inc., Elkhart, IN 46515

Cylindrical clear glass container with aqua blue label and screw-on cap, additional label colors include navy blue, red, and white

5½ x 1½ in.

310-118 American Family | Starch Blocker

Natural

Super Legume Concentrate

500 MG

10 Packets

30 Tablets

Distributed by | American Family | Division of | Jean Pierre Products, Inc. | Los Angeles, CA 90502

Red, yellow, and white box

6 x 4½ x 1 in.

310-119 Ammen’s | Antiseptic | Powder

Average Net Wt. 4 Oz.

Charles Ammen Co., Ltd.

Alexandria, Louisiana

Red, white, and blue cylinder

4 ½ x 2 x 2

310-120 Blue Mass

Powdered

Mallinckrodt Chemical Works

St. Louis New York

One ounce

Brown glass bottle with cork stopper

2½ x 1¼ x 1¼ in.

310-121 Cascarin

Sugar-Coated | Compressed | Tablets | No. 505 | (Red)

Parke, Davis & Co.

Detroit, Mich.

U.S.A.

Brown glass bottle with cork stopper, contains red tablets

4½ x 1¾ x 1 in.

310-122 Citralka

Park Davis & Co.

Detroit, Michigan, U.S.A.

25 tablets

Cylindrical clear glass bottle with cork stopper, label is white with red faded lettering; on the cork is the PD&Co. logo with the words Medic[?]nta Vera

6½ x 1¼ in.

310-123 Chief Gray | Horse | Indian Tonic

Chief Gray Horse Laboratory

New Orleans, LA

Clear glass bottle with cork stopper; graduated measurements imprinted on back.

7 x 2½ x 1½ in.

310-124 Chill and Fever | Tonic | And | Liver Invigorator

Plain | Without Iron

Price 75 Cents Per Bottle

From the Laboratory of the | Van Vleet-Mansfield | Drug Company | Memphis, Tenn. U.S.A.

Yellow box with black and red lettering

in.

310-125 Coricidin | Tablets

Lorenza | Rexall Drugs

Brown glass bottle with black plastic screw-on cap; imprinted on cap is Mallinckrodt

4¾ x 2¾ x 2 in.

310-126 Doan’s Pills

75 Cents | Per Box

A Stimulant Diuretic | To The Kidneys

Contents 40 pills

Foster-Milburn Co. Buffalo, N.Y.

MFG. Chemists Sole Distributors

Green metal cylindrical container with lid. No contents.

2½ x 1 x 1 in.

310-127 Dr. G. H. Tichenor’s | Antiseptic | Refrigerant

70% Alcohol

For cuts, bruises, sprains, |superficial burns, sun- | burn and mouth wash.

Contents 3/8 Fl. Oz.

Dr. G. H. Tichenor’s | Antiseptic Co. | New Orleans, La.

White box with navy blue lettering, bottle inside is clear rectangular glass with black screw cap

3¾ x 1½ x ¾ in.

310-128 Dr. G. H. Tichenor’s | Antiseptic | Refrigerant

70% Alcohol

For cuts, bruises, sprains, | superficial burns, sun- | burn and mouth wash.

Contents 3/8 Fl. Oz.

Dr. G. H. Tichenor’s | Antiseptic Co. | New Orleans, La.

White box with navy blue lettering, bottle inside is clear rectangular glass with black screw cap

3¾ x 1½ x ¾ in.

310-129 Dr. G. H. Tichenor’s | Antiseptic | Refrigerant

70% Alcohol

For cuts, bruises, sprains, | superficial burns, sun- | burn and mouth wash.

Contents 3/8 Fl. Oz.

Dr. G. H. Tichenor’s | Antiseptic Co. | New Orleans, La.

White box with navy blue lettering, bottle inside is clear rectangular glass with black screw cap

3¾ x 1½ x ¾ in.

310-130 Dr. G. H. Tichenor’s | Antiseptic | Refrigerant

70% Alcohol

For cuts, bruises, sprains, | superficial burns, sun- | burn and mouth wash.

Contents 3/8 Fl. Oz.

Dr. G. H. Tichenor’s | Antiseptic Co. | New Orleans, La.

White box with navy blue lettering, bottle inside is clear rectangular glass with black screw cap

3¾ x 1½ x ¾ in.

310-131 Dr. G. H. Tichenor’s | Antiseptic | Refrigerant

70% Alcohol

For cuts, bruises, sprains, | superficial burns, sun- | burn and mouth wash.

Contents 1 3/8 Fl. Oz.

Dr. G. H. Tichenor’s | Antiseptic Co. | New Orleans, La.

White box with navy blue lettering, bottle inside is clear rectangular glass with black screw cap

5¼ x 1¾ x 1 in.

310-132 Dr. G. H. Tichenor’s | Antiseptic | Refrigerant

70% Alcohol

For cuts, bruises, sprains, | superficial burns, sun- | burn and mouth wash.

Contents 1 3/8 Fl. Oz.

Dr. G. H. Tichenor’s | Antiseptic Co. | New Orleans, La.

Clear rectangular glass bottle with black screw cap

5¼ x 1¾ x 1 in.

310-133 Emerson’s | Bromo- | Seltzer

For simple | Headaches | And | Neuralgia

The Emerson Drug Company | Of Baltimore City | Maryland

Blue and white box, bottle inside

Net Weight 2 ¾ oz.

5¼ x 2 x 2 in.

310-134 Indian Cannabis

[?] Powdered Extract

Tested Physiologically

Brown glass bottle with cork stopper, label is faded, extremely difficult to read

On bottom: PD&Co. | 228

4½ x 1½ x 1½ in.

310-135 Iodine

Petrogen

2 Fld. Oz.

Wyeth

Alcohol, 9% | Iodine 5 Per Cent

Manufactured By | John Wyeth & Brother | Incorporated | Philadelphia

On bottom: Wyeth | 267

Rectangular glass bottle with cork stopper, brown label with black writing

4½ x 1½ x 1¼ in.

310-136 Laymon’s | U.S.P. Tincture | Iodine

Caution | Poison

Alcohol 87%

¼ Fl. Oz.

Made for & Packed By | World’s Products Co. | Spencer, Ind., U.S.A.

Rectangular clear glass bottle with black plastic screw-on cap; label is white, yellow, and red

3¼ x ¾ x ¾ in.

310-137 Leptandrin

Prepared from Leptandra | (Culver’s-Root)

No. 42

Parke, Davis & Co. | Manufacturing Chemists | Detroit, Michigan U.S.A.

Brown glass bottle with cork stopper

4¼ x 1½ x 1½ in.

310-138 Murine

For Your | Eyes

The Murine Co., Inc., Chicago 11, Ill.

Clear, round glass bottle with white plastic and black rubber eye dropper lid

3¼ x 1½ x 1½ in.

310-139 Nasco | Brand | U.S.P. | Tincture | Iodine

Caution Poison

Packed by National Specialty Co. Nashville Tennessee

Brown glass square bottle with black plastic screw-on cap

2½ x ¾ x ¾ in.

310-140 Norwich | Aspirin

5 Grains

1 or 2 tablets with water

The Norwich Pharmacal Company | Norwich New York

12 tablets

Yellow metal container, hinged on one side, decorated in red and black

Inside: remnants of small white aspirin tablets, cotton, and a paper insert advertising other Norwich products.

2 x 1½ x ¼ in.

310-141 Oleo Resin Cubeb

Manufactured by | Dodge & Olcott Co. | Factory Bayonne, N. J. | New York

On back: 1 oz avoir

On bottom: W T Co.

Brown glass bottle with cork stopper

3 x 1½ x 1½ in.

310-142 Progress | Smelling | Salts

Clear glass bottle with black plastic screw-on cap, green label

2¼ x 1¾ x ¾ in.

310-143 Sanmetto

Od Peacock Sultan | Division of Natcon Chemical Co., Inc. | Plainview, N.Y. 11803, U.S.A.

Light blue, red, and white rectangular box; dark brown cylindrical bottle with white screw-on cap and white label with black lettering

Bottle: 5½ x 2 in.

Box: 5½ x 2½ x 2½ in.

310-144 Skeeter Bite

Antidote $1.25

Relief for Bites of | Mosquitoes and Bees | And Similar Insects

Distributed by | Super Products | 813 W. J. Adams St. | Chicago, Ill. 60607

Dark brown, round glass bottle with black eyedropper lid; bottle encased in an outer plastic container with a lid

½ Fl. Oz.

310-145 Tincture | No. 89

Ferric Citro

Chloride N.F.

Eli Lilly & Co., Indianapolis, U.S.A.

¼ pint

Brown glass bottle with cork stopper

5 x 2 x 2 in.

310-146 Vicks | VapoRub

An Auxiliary Treatment | For Certain Forms of | Inflammation | And Congestion

Prepared by | The Vick Chemical Co. | Greensboro, N.C., U.S.A.

Directions listed on label

1 ½ Ounces Net

Round blue glass bottle with lid

2½ x 1½ x 1½ in.

310-147 White’s | Black Crow | Cold | Pills

Aid in relief of symptoms accompanying the common colds.

Mildly laxative

First National | Laboratories, Inc. | Leighton, Pa.

White square box with black lettering; picture of a black crow and the price of 25 cents on top; directions and dosage instructions on side; cautions on back.

20 count

2 x 2 x ½ in.

310-148 Yohimbin

Lehn & Fink Products Corporation, | Distributor | Bloomfield, N.J., U.S.A.

Directions and dosage information given

Price $1.50

Clear glass tube with tablets; label wrapped around the cylinder

3¼ x ½ in.

Subseries II.9. Over-the-counter Medications—Chronic constipation

310-149 Aloin

Eli Lilly & Company, Indianapolis, U.S.A.

One Ounce (28 GM.)

Brown glass bottle with cork stopper

3½ x 1½ x 1½ in.

B.B.B. Effective Alternative Compound (oversized item, see item 310-173)

310-150 Black-Draught

Mathedford & Co.

A | Purely | Vegetable | Laxative

Yellow box with black lettering, wrapped in clear plastic; dosage and cautions on the side of the box

2½ x 1½ x 1 in.

Dr. Hand’s Astringent Mixture (see item 310-152)

310-151 Ex-Lax

The Chocolated | Laxative

6 tablets 10 cents

Square metal container, blue and silver, price listed in red

1¾ x 1¾ x ¼ in.

310-152 Dr. Hand’s Astringent Mixture

Hand Medicine Co. | Philadelphia, PA. | Successor to | D. B. Hand, M.D.

2 Fl. Oz.

Price 50 cents

Green box with black lettering, clear glass bottle with white screw-on cap

Box: 6 x 2¼ x 1 in.

Bottle: 5¾ x 1¾ x 1 in.

310-153 Mrs. | Winslow’s | Syrup

Lafayette Drug Co., Inc. | 190 Baldwin Ave., Jersey City, N.J. | Successors to | Curtis & Perkins and Anglo American Drug Co.

Fluid Content 1 ½ oz.

Glass bottle wrapped in brown paper

5 x 1 x 1 in.

310-154 Nyal | Figsen

Nyal Company, Distributors | Detroit, U.S.A.

New package adopted 1925

25 cents

27 tablets

Rectangular metal container with hinged lid, orange with black lettering

3½ x 2 x ½ in.

Subseries II.10. Items pertaining to First Aid

310-155 Adhesive Plaster

Esparadrapo

SR | The Seamless Rubber Co. | New Haven, Conn.

5 Yds

4.57 M

Doughnut shaped metal container, olive green with black lettering

2½ x 2½ x 1½ in.

310-156 Bismuth- | Formic-Iodide | Compound

B F I

Small Size ¼ ounce

Made in U.S.A. Sharp & Dohme Philadelphia, Pa.

Antiseptic First Aid Dressing | And Surgical Dusting Powder

Ingredients and uses also listed on label

Round, blue, metal container with removable top with four holes to dispense powder

2½ x 1¼ x 1¼ in.

310-157 Cotolia | Liquid

Court Plaster

Waterproof | And | Antiseptic

Johnson & Johnson | New Brunswick, N.J. | U.S.A

Round, metal container with red and blue lettering; bottle and instructional paper inside the container

3 x 1¼ x 1¼ in.

Subseries II.11. Oils—Various

Alcohol Amyl (oversized item, see item 310-169)

310-158 Fitch’s | Rose Hair Oil

The F. W. Fitch Div. | Of the Grove Laboratories, Inc. | St. Louis, Missouri

Clear glass, rectangular bottle with black and white screw-on cap; label is yellow with black and red lettering; rose/pink colored oil included

On bottom: Fitch 0-9

3¾ x 2 x 1½ in.

Fritzsche Brothers, Oil of Cade (see item 310-170)

Fritzsche Brothers, Oil of Caraway, U.S.P. (see item 310-171)

310-159 Magnus, Mabee & Reynard | Importers and Manufacturers | New York, U.S.A.

Net Weight 1 oz. Avoir

Oil Cubebs—U.S.P.

Ninth Revision | Essential Oils—Drugs—Chemicals

Packed Expressly For | I. L. Lyons & Co. Ltd. | New Orleans, LA.

Round glass bottle wrapped in brown paper

3½ x 1½ in.

310-160 McKesson’s

Clear glass, rectangular bottle with dark brown screw-on cap, light yellow oil included [cooking oil?]

6 x 2 x 1½ in.

310-161 Mennen | Baby | Oil | Antiseptic

Net 5 Fl. Oz.

The Mennen Company

Box: rectangular, dark blue and light blue, 50 cents; advertisement on top of box encouraged purchase of the $1 economy size or the $2 money-saver size.

Rectangular clear glass bottle, imprinted on both sides with company name, Mennen; black plastic screw-on cap; label light and dark blue; yellow oil included.

5¼ x 3 x 1¾ in.

310-162 Oil Cypress

I. L. Lyons & Co. Ltd. | Wholesale Druggists and Importers | New Orleans, LA. | Established 1866

Clear rectangular glass bottle with a cork stopper, imprinted on the front of the glass are the words quality, purity

2 oz.

4¾ x 1¾ x 1 in.

Regoes Castor Oil (see item 310-172)

310-163 Sweet | Georgia Brown | Rose | Bath Oil

4 Fl. Oz.

Distributed by | Valmor Products Co. | Chicago, ILL 60616

Clear glass bottle with white screw-on cap; yellow oil included; front label is black and gold, back label is red, yellow, and black and includes directions for use.

5½ x 2¼ x 1 in.

Subseries II.12. Poisons

310-164 Beechwood Creosote Merck

N.F.

¼ lb.

Merck & Co, Inc. Manufacturing Chemists Rahway, N.J.

Poison

Brown glass, round bottle with black plastic screw-on cap

5 x 1¾ x 1¾ in.

310-165 I. L. Lyons & Co. Ltd. | Wholesale Druggists and Importers

[?]Oie [G]roton

Poison

Clear glass bottle with cork stopper; imprinted on the front are the words quality and purity; on the back are graduated measurements, 10 and 20 CCs.

On bottom: Blue Ribbon

4¼ x 1¼ x 1 in.

310-166 Lyon’s | [?]

Argentine | Ant Poison

I. L. Lyons & Co., Ltd. New Orleans

Clear glass bottle with rusted metal screw-on cap, yellow label with brown lettering

5½ x 2¼ x 1¼ in.

310-167 Nux Vo [?] U.S.P.

Poison [?]

Powdered Extract

Eli Lilly & Co.

Brown glass bottle with cork stopper, label is partially missing

4 x 1½ x 1½ in.

310-168 Sodium–Borate (Borax)

De Gruy’s Pharmacies | New Orleans’ Most Reliable Drug Stores | 1530 Gov. Nichols at N. Claiborne Ave. | New Orleans, LA.

Clear glass jar with screw-on cap, white powder inside

4½ x 2¼ x 2¼ in.

Subseries II.13. Oversize Bottles

310-169 B.B.B. Effective Alternative Compound

Effective | B Alternative | B Compound

Directions and dosage on back in eleven languages

Box is red and white with black lettering; brown glass bottle with cork stopper, imprinted into the glass on the front is BBB New York St. Louis

Box: 9½ x 3¾ x 2¼ in.

Bottle: 9¼ x 3½ x 2¼ in.

310-170 Alcohol Amyl | (Fusel Oil)

I. L. Lyons & Co., Ltd | New Orleans, LA.

Clear glass, rectangular bottle with cork stopper; brown label with black lettering; back of bottle has graduating measurements 1, 2, 3, and 20, 40, 60, 80 cc

5½ x 2 x 1¼ in.

310-171 Fritzsche Brothers | Essences and Essential Oils | Fine Drugs and Chemical Preparations | 1125211245

Oil of Cade

U.S.P. IX | New York

Black glass round bottle with cork stopper, brown label with black lettering

5 x 2¾ x 2¾ in.

310-172 Fritzsche Brothers | Essences and Essential Oils | Fine Drugs and Chemical Preparations | 0620221329

Oil of Caraway, U.S.P.

Dutch | New York

Brown glass round bottle with cork stopper, brown label with black lettering

4¼ x 2¼ x 2¼ in.

310-173 Regoes | Castor Oil | U.S.P.

Bottled By | Rigo Manufacturing | Company | Nashville, Tennessee

6 Fluid Ounces

Clear glass, rectangular bottle with white screw-on cap; label is orange, white, and black with directions for use and caution listed.

6¼ x 2½ x 1¼ in.

Series III. Apothecary Bottles and Stoppers

Subseries III.1. Empty Apothecary Bottles

310-174 No label

Clear glass bottle with top

Square with rounded edges

On bottom: 5482 | 13 W with circle around it

2¼ x 1 x 1 in.

310-175 No label

Clear glass bottle

Rectangular with rounded edges

On bottom: P with a circle around it | 10 | 1

3 x 1½ x ¾ in.

310-176 Bayer Aspirin

Clear glass bottle

On bottom: 5

2¾ x 1½ x ¾ in.

310-177 Bogel Drug Co. | Pure Medicines | Limited | New Orleans

Clear glass, round measuring cup; measurements on back are Table, Dessert, Tea

2 x 1 ½ x 1 ½

310-178 Chesebrough | Manufg. Co. Cd. | New York

Clear glass, round bottle

2½ x 1¾ 1¾ in.

310-179 Chesebrough Mfg. Co.

Vaseline

Clear glass, round bottle

2½ x 1¾ x 1¾ in.

310-180 Chesebrough Mfg. Co.

Vaseline

Clear glass, round bottle

2½ x 1¾ x 1¾ in.

310-181 Chesebrough Mfg. Co.

Vaseline

Clear glass, round bottle

2½ x 1¾ x 1¾ in.

310-182 Eli Lilly & Co. | Strychnine | Sulfate

½ Grain (0.0325 Gm.)

For Use in Compounding Prescriptions | Only

Lilly

Brown bottle with faded label and cork stopper, poison is imprinted on the back

On bottom: 79-6F

2¾ x 1¾ x 1 in.

310-183 Ferris & Ferris | Pharmacists | San Diego, Cal.

Clear glass bottle

2¾ x 1¼ x ¾ in.

310-184 H. Dannenmann | Pharmacist | Magazine, Cor. State, New Orleans

Clear glass bottle; broken top, cracked sides, and broken bottom; flat, oval-shaped

3¼ x 1½ x ¾ in.

310-185 Katz & Besthoff, Ltd. | Four Stores | Only the Best | New Orleans, LA.

Clear glass round measuring cup with measurements displayed

2¾ x 1¾ x 2 in.

310-186 Livaudais’ Pharmacy | 2733 Dauphine St. Phone 947-1616

Spirits of Peppermint

Adult: 15 drops in water

.50 ct

Keep out of reach of children

Clear glass bottle with black dropper top, white label with blue lettering, typed instructions, graduating measurements on back

On bottom: Duragulas | 19 X with a circle around it [?]

3½ x 1½ x 1 in.

310-187 Murine | For Your | Eyes

The Murine Co., Inc., Chicago 11, Ill.

Clear, round glass bottle with white eyedropper lid

3¼ x 1½ x 1½ in.

310-188 Park Davis & Co. | Detroit, Mich, U.S.A.

Arsenic Trioxide | (Arsenous Acid)

(Dispensary Tablets)

¼ Grain

Poison

Triangular brown glass bottle with round top, part of cork stopper inside bottle, poison imprinted on side

On bottom: F | 6

2¾ x 1½ x 1½ in.

310-189 No label

Clear glass bottle

Rounded with 12 short, flat sides

3¾ x 2 x 2 in.

310-190 No label

Clear glass bottle

Oval shaped

On bottom: 96

4½ x 2 x 1¼ in.

310-191 No label

Clear glass bottle

Round with 1¾-inch neck

On bottom: 3 [symbol] 4 | M-1011-A | 9

5 x 1½ x 1½ in.

310-192 No label

Clear glass bottle

Round with 1½-inch neck

4¼ x 1½ x 1½ in.

310-193 No label

Clear glass bottle

Four sided with rounded (front and back) and flat short sides, crack on inside

On bottom: [symbol]

3½ x 2 x 1¼ in.

310-194 No label

Clear glass bottle

Flat, rectangular bottle with round broken neck

On bottom: 1 or an I

5¾ x 1½ x ¾ in.

310-195 No label

Clear glass bottle

Flat, rectangular bottle with round long (1¾-inch) neck

On bottom: diamond shape

5¾ x 1½ x ¾ in.

310-196 American | Drugstore | 1115 | Canal St. | NO

Clear glass bottle with flat front and back and sides rounded. A bird is imprinted on the front label. Round neck with broken/chipped lip.

4 x 1¾ x 1 in.

310-197 Ammonium | Carbonate

(NH₄)₂ CO₃

Clear glass, round bottle

On bottom: Philada | Pat. [?] 1879 | Whitall Tatum & Co. | H | U.S.A. | New York

4¼ x 2 x 2 in.

310-198 City Drug Store

W. S. Forrey & Co | Harper Kans

Clear glass bottle with flat front and rounded back and sides

On bottom: M or W

4 x 2 x 1½ in.

310-199 C. Potthoff | Paints Oils | 96 Camp St. | New Orleans

Clear glass bottle, rectangular with flat edges

4½ x 1¾ x 1 in.

310-200 Erich Brand | Druggist | 647 Magazine St | New Orleans

Clear glass bottle with flat front and rounded back and sides

On bottom: W T & Co | Pat Jan | 22 78

4¾ x 2 x 1½ in.

310-201 Erich Brand | Druggist | 2201 Magazine St | New Orleans

Clear glass bottle with flat front and rounded back and sides

On bottom: Pat Jan | 22-78 | T-USA

4¾ x 2 x 1½ in.

310-202 F. C. Godbold | Apothecary | New Orleans

Clear glass bottle, rectangular with flat edges

On bottom: W T & Co. | [?]

4¼ x 1¾ x 1 in.

310-203 F. Maria Farina | No 4711 a Cologne

Clear glass bottle, hexagon shaped

4¾ x 2 x 2 in.

310-204 Fred. A. Earhart | The Reliable Pharmacy | Chippewa & 8^th Sts.

Clear glass bottle, rectangular with rounded edges on back and flat edges on front

On bottom: illegible

5¼ x 1¾ x 1¼ in.

310-205 Frostilla | Fragrant Lotion | Elmira. N.Y. U.S.A.

Clear glass bottle, rectangular

On bottom: 9 [symbol] 9 or 6 [symbol] 6

4½ x 1¾ x 1¼ in.

310-206 Husband’s | Calcined | Magnesia | Philada

Clear glass bottle, square

4 x 1¼ x 1¼ in.

310-207 Jacobs | New Orleans

Clear glass bottle

On bottom: Jacob’s New Orleans

4¼ x 2¼ x 1¾ in.

310-208 John Wyeth & Bro | Phila

Clear glass bottle, oval shaped with screw-on cap

On the cap: John Wyeth Brother | Manufacturing | Chemists | Philada

On bottom: 229

5 x 2¼ x 1¾ in.

310-209 J. S. J. Otto | Pharmacist | Magazine and Josephine Ave | New Orleans, La.

Clear glass bottle, rectangular with flat edges

On bottom: W T & Co. | A | U.S.A.

5 x 2 x 1¼ in.

310-210 J. S. J. Otto | Pharmacist | Magazine and Josephine Sts. | New Orleans, La.

Clear glass bottle, rectangular with rounded edges

On bottom: W T & Co

4½ 1½ x 1 in.

310-211 Katz & Besthoff | Pharmacists | New Orleans

Clear glass bottle, rectangular with slightly rounded edges, brown screw-on cap

On bottom: 1 with a circle around it

4¼ x 1¾ x 1¼ in.

310-212 Kuhn Remedy Co. | Chicago, Ills.

Clear glass bottle, round, glass is lavender tinted

4½ x 1¾ x 1¾ in.

310-213 Lambert | Pharmacal Company | Listerine

Clear glass bottle, round

On bottom: 4 [symbol] 5 | 14.

5½ x 2¼ x 2¼ in.

310-214 Lavoris | Lavoris Chemical Co. | Minneapolis

Glass bottle, round

On bottom: Lavoris | Chemical Company | Minneapolis

4¾ x 1¾ x 1 ¾ in.

310-215 Levi Garrett & Sons | Tobacco Scotch & Rappee Snuff

Manufactured and Sold by | American Snuff Div. | Conwood Corporation | Memphis , Tennessee 38101

Net Wt. 5.58 oz.

Brown glass bottle with cork stopper inside, off white label with black/gray writing, square with rounded edges

4¼ x 2¼ x 2¼ in.

310-216 Patten & Co’s | Dentifrice

Clear glass bottle, round

3 ¼ x 2 ¼ x 2 ¼

310-217 The Piso Company | Hazeltine & Co. | Trade-Piso’s-Mark

Green glass bottle, rectangular with flat edges

On bottom: 40

5¼ x 2 x 1 in.

310-218 Piso’s Cure | Hazeltine & Co. | For Consumption

Clear glass bottle, rectangular

On bottom: 50

5¼ x 2 x 1¼ in.

310-219 Richard Hudnut | New York | U.S.A.

3 ¾ Fld. Oz. Net.

Clear glass, oval bottle, bird imprinted on front

On bottom: 6 [symbol] 6 or 9 [symbol] 9

5 x 2½ x 1¼ in.

310-220 Roe Drug Company | Mobile | Ala.

Clear glass bottle, rectangular with flat edges

On bottom: W T CO | U.S.A.

5 x 2 x 1 in.

310-221 Saiz De Carlos | Pharmaceutical Chemist | and Physician

Stomalix | (Alcohol 5’3 Percent by Volume)

Dose | From one to two table-spoons full after each meal.

Serrano, 30. Madrid (Spain) | General Distributors

[?]ugera & Co. Inc. 90 Beekman Str. | New York City

9¼ x 2¼ x 2¼ in.

310-222 W. F. Young Inc. | Asorbine Jr.

4 Fl Ounces

Clear glass bottle; round, screw-on cap with a capital A imprinted on the top

On bottom: W. F. Young Inc. | Springfield, Mass. | U.S.A.

5¼ x 1¾ x 1¾ in.

310-223 No label

Brown glass bottle, round

On bottom: 92 with a diamond around it

6¼ x 2¼ x 2¼ in.

310-224 No label

Clear glass bottle, flat sides and front, rounded back, graduating measurements listed on front edges, on the left is 1 to 5 and on the right is 20 to 160 cc.

On bottom: 6 [symbol] 4

6½ x 2½ x 1½ in.

310-225 Berner’s Drug Store | Quality Drugs | Valence & Freret Sts.

Clear glass bottle, rounded back , flat sides and front, front has flat edges

On bottom: W [?] C Co.

7 x 2½ x 1¾ in.

310-226 The Chattanooga Medicine Co

Clear glass bottle, rectangular with slightly rounded edges

On bottom: 2 I with a circle around it 9 | 4

6¼ x 2½ x 1¼ in.

310-227 Ducro A Paris | Elixir Alimentaire

Light green glass bottle, rectangular with curved in front and back, flat sides with flat edges, neck of bottle is broken

7 x 2¾ x 1½ in.

310-228 Finlay-Dicks & Co | Mul-En-Ol | New Orleans

Dark brown glass bottle, oval shaped with flat front, glass is cracked and broken on the back

6 x 2½ x 1¼ in.

Clear glass bottle with flat front, flat angled sides and rounded back

On bottom: Patd. May 15 1888 | D. F. & D.

6 x 2¼ x 1½ in.

310-230 Rev. T. Hills | Vegetable | Remedy

Light green tinted glass bottle, oval shaped

5¾ x 2 x 1½ in.

310-231 No label

Clear glass bottle, round

7½ x 2¾ x 2¾ in.

310-232 No label

Clear glass bottle, round

8½ x 3½ x 3½ in.

310-233 No label

Clear glass bottle, round

11 x 4½ x 4½ in.

310-234 Acid | Hypophos.

Clear glass bottle, round

7¾ x 2¾ x 2¾ in.

310-235 Album. | Ceti.

Clear glass bottle with gold label and black lettering, round

10½ x 4½ x 4½ in.

310-236 Cal.Carb.P.

Clear glass bottle with glass stopper/lid, with gold label and black lettering, round

Bottle: 8½ x 3½ x 3½ in.

Stopper: 1¾ x 2 x 3 in.

310-237 Pimenta

Clear glass bottle with gold label and black lettering, round

11 x 4½ x 4½ in.

310-238 P. Irid. Flor.

Clear glass bottle with gold label and black lettering, round; lip is broken/chipped

7 ¼ x 2 ¾ x 2 ¾

310-239 R. Sarsap.

Clear glass bottle with gold label and black lettering, round; lip is broken/chipped

11 x 4½ x 4½ in.

310-240 Syr.Sarsa.Co.

Clear glass bottle with gold label and black lettering, round

9 x 3½ x 3½ in.

310-241 Syr.Hypoph. | Co.

Clear glass bottle with gold label and black lettering, round

9 x 3½ x 3½ in.

310-242 Tr. Stramon.

Clear glass bottle with gold label and black lettering, round; neck is cracked

9 x 3½ x 3½ in.

310-243 [?]S[?]Maru[?]

Clear glass bottle with gold label and black lettering, round

9 x 5½ x 5½ in.

310-244 No label

One Quart Liquid 0585-43 Reg. Sealed L.G. S

Clear glass bottle, square with flat sides and rounded edges

On bottom: 48-E | 53

8 ½ x 3 x 3

310-245 No label

On bottom: H. J. Heinz Co. | 341 | 2 A 37

Clear glass bottle with 8 sides, round top

6½ x 2¾ x 1½ in.

310-246 No label

Bottle

On bottom: Hurley

7¾ x 3 x 1¾ in.

310-247 Burnett’s Cod Liver Oil

By | T. Metcalf & Co. | Boston

Glass bottle, oval

8 x 3¼ x 2¼ in.

310-248 No label

Clear glass jar, round, with lid

Jar: 4 x 5½ x 5½ in.

Lid: 3½ x 6 x 6 in.

310-249 No label

Clear glass jar, round, with lid

Jar: 4 x 5½ x 5½ in.

Lid: 3½ x 6 x 6 in.

310-250 No label

Clear glass jar, round, no lid

4 x 5½ x 5½ in.

310-251 No label

Clear glass jar, round, no lid

4 x 5½ x 5½ in.

310-252 No label

Oversized apothecary bottle

Asymmetrical shape, clear glass

Height: 10 in.; width: 1¾ in. at neck, 6 in. at middle, and 3¾ in. at base

Subseries III.2. Apothecary Bottles Containing Ingredients

310-253 Folia.

Eupator.P.

Brown glass bottle with stopper, round, gold label with black lettering

11½ x 4¾ x 4¾ in.

310-254 Fruct.Nux.

Vomica.

Clear glass bottle, round, gold label with black writing, ingredients inside bottle in a clear plastic bag, lip is broken

10½ x 4¼ x 4¼ in.

310-255 Powdered Asafoetida

Livaudais’ Pharmacy | Phone Whitehall 7-1616 | Dauphine and St. Ferdinand Streets

Glass cylindrical container with glass stopper, printed label with typed ingredients

8¼ x 2¾ x 2¾ in.

Subseries III.3. Apothecary Bottle Stoppers

310-256 Stopper

Cork bottom with metal top

1¼ x 1 x 1 in.

310-257 Stopper

Glass

2 x 1½ in.

310-258 Stopper

Glass

2¼ x 2 in.

310-259 Stopper

Glass, broken bottom tip

2 x 1¾ in.

310-260 Stopper

Glass, broken bottom tip, crack on lip

1¾ x 1¾ in.

310-261 Stopper

Glass, chipped base

1¾ x 1¾ in.

310-262 Stopper

Glass

2 x 1¾ in.

310-263 Stopper

Glass

2¼ x 2½ in.

310-264 Stopper

Glass, Pomona imprinted on top, handwritten in black on base is BS H 5 oz.

2¾ x 2½ in.

310-265 Stopper

Glass, blue-green, Hemingray No 40 imprinted on side

3 x 3¾ in.

Series IV. Other Items

Subseries IV.1. Photographs

310-266 Photograph of Gustave Katz

8 x 10 in. black-and-white glossy copy photograph

310-267 Photograph of Sydney J. Besthoff

8 x 10 in. black-and-white glossy copy photograph

Subseries IV.2. Printed materials—Advertisements

310-268 Advertisement

Pepto-Bismol | for upset stomach

The advertisement depicts a boy holding his stomach after eating too many apples.

8¾ x 5½ in.

310-269 Williams’ Talc Powder

The J. B. Williams Co., Dept. A, Glastonbury, Conn.

Advertisement for baby powder, protected by a glass frame

On back: This is not a reproduction. 1910

8½ x 3 x ⅛ in.

Subseries IV.3. Printed materials—Books and pamphlets

Book

The Modern Materia Medica (3d ed.; New York: The Druggists Circular, 100 William street, 1912). 282 p.

Enclosure: green envelope bearing a three-cent stamp; addressed to Livaudais Pharmacy, 2733 Dauphine St., New Orleans, La.

Book: 7 x 5 x 1 in.

Envelope: 6½ x 3½ in.

310-271 Book

George M. Gould, A Pocket Medical Dictionary: Giving the Pronunciation and Definition of the Principal Words Used in Medicine and the Collateral Sciences (9th rev. ed.; Philadelphia: P. Blakiston’s Son & Co., Inc., 1012 Walnut Street, c1928).

6¼ x 3¾ x 1 in.

310-272 Pamphlet

The Monarch Marketing System Company, Price List: Tickets, Tags, Labels, and Sundries (Dayton, Ohio: The Company, 1946). 24 p.

“Effective | May, 1946.”

On back: a listing of other locations of the company in the U.S. and Canada

6¾ x 4 x ⅛ in.

310-273 Pamphlet

The Monarch Marketing System Company, Revised Price List: Monarch “50” Tickets in Rolls (Dayton, Ohio: The Company, 1941). 19 p.

“Effective October 1, 1941.”

6 ¾ x 4 x ⅛ in.

Subseries IV.4. Printed materials—Cards

310-274 Postcard depicting inside of a store

On back: “Bess” has concocted a new cure-all at the General Store, where penny candy, five cent cigars, and similar delicacies may still be purchased in this restoration of the supermarket of grandmother’s day. Tweetsie Railroad—Blowing Rock, N.C.

Made by Dexter Press, Inc. West Nyack, New York

5½ x 3½ in.

310-275 Index Card

White card with hand drawn bottles listed in order of height and described by dates from circa 1800, 1840, 1850, and 1870. The card is dated December 1982.

4½ x 2¾ in.

Subseries IV.5. Miscellany

310-276 Glass bottle, amber colored

Embossed with the word PUREX around neck

10 x 3 in.

310-277 Gold Dust | Scouring | Cleanser

Lever Brothers Company | Cambridge, Mass.

Net Weight 14 Ounces

Red, gold, and black cylindrical container; directions and uses on back

4¾ x 3 x 3 in.

310-278 Lodestone

Stone is contained in a brown cardboard cylindrical container which also holds a typed note on the back of pink ledger paper. The note reads as follows: Dear Mr. Stich, | I found this in the back of #11 | Store. Negroes, at one time, believed | Lodestone had the ability to attract | men or women to a person. I don’t know | what type this is but see what it attracts. | Bruce. Bordes.

Letter: 6 x 4¼ in.

Box: 6 x 2½ x 2½ in.

310-279 Electric Vaporizer

KAZ | Number 55A

Automatic Shut Off NO Open Flame

One Ounce Kaz Inhalant Included

A $2.85 Value—Both For $2.50

Katz Manufacturing Company, Inc. | New York, N.Y. Made and Printed in U.S.A.

Green and black box, vaporizer included, general directions for use on back

7 x 6 x 4 in.

310-280 Dr. Scholl’s | Moleskin | Adhesive | Plaster

The Scholl Mfg. Co., Inc. | Chicago, Illinois

Blue and yellow cylinder; directions for use on back

Adhesive plaster: 7 x 30 in.

Container: 8 x 2 x 2 in.

310-281 Dr. Scholl’s | Lamb’s Wool

Net Weight ½ Ounce 100% Lamb’s Wool

To be used as a padding or separate | dressing between toes to remove friction

The Scholl Mfg. Co., Inc. | Chicago New York Los Angeles Toronto

Dark blue and yellow box; complete and detailed directions for use on the back

4 x 2¼ x 2¼ in.

310-282 Pre-Paid | Mailer

8mm x 25 ft.

For | Color Movie | Films

On side of box: Processed Film Returned Directly To You

Square, white box with mailer inside which includes a ticket stub for the customer to write his or her name, a bag with a draw string for the film, and a perforated section for the customer to tear off for a receipt, NO. 134427. Film was mailed to Color Processing Station, P.O. Box 142, Houston, Texas.

Box: 2¼ x ¾ in.

Mailer: 5½ x 2 in.; bag: 3 x 3 in.

310-283 Kodacolor II | Color Negative Film

Unopened box containing roll of film; “Develop before 6/1980.”

Price $3.12

1¼ x 2¼ x 1½ in.

310-284 Johnson’s Baby Powder

Raw Material | Mineral-Talc

Vermont Mines

Light blue box, no contents

On bottom: Coleman E. Adler & Sons | Incorporated | 722 & 724 Canal Street | New Orleans

4¾ x 3½ x ½ in.

310-285 Coming | Soon!

White, round pin/button with purple deer in background and Coming Soon! in bold red lettering directly over the purple deer.

3 x ⅛ in.

310-286 Ask Us About | Orange | Tag | Specials | & Save

Round, orange pin/button with purple lettering, worn by employees during special events and in-store sales.

2¼ x ⅛ in.

310-287 Purple bow tie, clip-on

Worn by K & B employee

Radiance N.Y.C.

5 x 1½ in.

310-288 Box

Blue, opens on one side

3½ x 2½ x 1½ in.

310-289 Cigar

5½ x ½ in.

310-290 [Railroad spike]

Dark, heavy metal

6 x ½ x ½ in.

310-291 Thread

Clear glass cylindrical jar with silver metal top, 23 cardboard spools of white or red thread from various manufacturers including Johnson & Johnson

4¾ x 2½ x 2½ in.

310-292 Mendets

Mend All Leaks Instantly | Without the Use of Heat, Solder, Cement or Rivet | In Granitware, aluminum, Hot Water Bags | Tin, Copper, Brass, Sheet Iron, All Cooking Utensils and Rubber Goods | Simply Tighten Mendet and Leak is Mended

Assorted Sizes and Wrench in Each Package

Price 15 Cents

Collette Mfg. Co., Amsterdam, N.Y.

Contents 4 Pieces

Light green rectangular box with blue lettering; all four pieces still included.

4 x 1½ x ½ in.

310-293 Odotine | Nouveau Dentifrice

White, square top with black lettering in different point sizes and fonts

2¾ x ¾ in.

310-294 Maison Dorin | 27 R. Grenier St. Lazare Paris

Depose

Fard De Toilette

Marque De Fabrique

White, round top with black lettering in different fonts and point sizes

2¼ x ¼ in.

310-295 B-D Medical Center

Made of Pyrex

Becton Dickinson & Co.

Silver, metal syringe carrying case

3½ x 2 x ¾ in.

310-296 Clear plastic capsule

2 x ¾ in.

310-297 Dropper

Clear glass with orange residue

3 x ¼ in.

310-298 Stone

310-299 Gold container, lid lacking

Contains black rubber stopper marked 2

Container: 1¾ x ½ x ½ in.

Stopper: ¾ x ½ in.

310-300 Chester | Split | Buck Shot

Made in America

Wooden cylindrical container with lid; includes four split buck shot

2¼ x ¾ x ¾ in.

310-301 KB Ranch Co.

On sides: “Try Our Brand | of Hospitality” | American Ace By Universal Match Corp. Denver

Rectangular match box, matches included

2¼ x 1½ x ½ in.

310-302 Excelsior | Nipple Shield

Philadelphia New York

Brown box with black lettering

3½ x 2 x 2 in.

310-303 PickWick | Shaving Soap

Round, wooden bowl with lid

Lid: 2½ x 2½ x ½ in.

Bottom: 2½ x 2½ x 1 in.

310-304 Gillette

Property U.S. Army

Known the World Over

Khaki Set

Khaki material with mirror on back, rectangular, flat; may be part of an army shaving kit

4 x 1¾ in.

310-305 Bottle, partial

Neck and lip of a clear glass bottle that was broken at the base of the neck

1 x 1 in.

310-306 Cotton

Index Terms

Besthoff, Sydney

K & B Drug Stores (Firm)

Katz, Gustave

Pharmacy—Louisiana—New Orleans

Excerpted from a paper by Florence M. Jumonville, first presented at the Popular Culture Association Conference, New Orleans, Louisiana, April 17, 2003.

[1]Sandie Gauthreaux, “A History of K&B,” The K&B Connection 8.1 (September 1997): 1, 3; New Orleans City Directory, 1896. Based on records still possessed by K&B and on interviews with Sydney Besthoff III, Gauthreaux’s article began as a paper she wrote as a student at Our Lady of Holy Cross College in New Orleans. It was published in its entirety in the final issue of The K&B Connection, a newspaper for employees.

[2]Gauthreaux, “History of K&B,” 1-2.

[3]Ibid., 1-3; James J. LeBlanc, “The End or the Beginning?,” The K&B Connection 8.1 (September 1997): 4; Gregory S. Nelson, “K&B Lives!,” University of New Orleans Magazine 28 (Fall 2002): 11; Betty Keith, quoted by Angus Lind, “Purple Prose: Whimsical Cookbook Is Fondly Recalled,” New Orleans Times-Picayune, June 17, 1998, p. E1 (quotation).

[4]Liz Scott, “Chemistry Set: How Mr. Katz and Mr. Besthoff Started an Empire,” New Orleans Magazine 32, no. 2 (November 1997), 21; Errol Laborde, “Purple Passion,” New Orleans Magazine 31, no. 12 (September 1997): 120. This collection includes examples of most of the K&B products mentioned here, as well as others.

[5]Gauthreaux, “A History of K&B,” 1-2; Anne Cooper Funderburg, Sundae Best: A History of Soda Fountains (Bowling Green, Ohio: Bowling Green State University Popular Press, 2002), 31, 63, 125; Scott, “Chemistry Set,” 20; James Slaton, “They All Screamed for K&B Ice Cream,” New Orleans Citibusiness 23 (September 15, 1997): 1, 42.

[6]Julie Landry, “K&B Purple Fading Away,” New Orleans Times-Picayune, July 31, 1997, p. 1G; Scott, “Chemistry Set,” 20; Nelson, “K&B Lives!,” 10-11, based on an interview with Sydney J. Besthoff III (quotation).

[7]Nelson, “K&B Lives!,” 10-11, based on an interview with Sydney J. Besthoff III; Anne Rochell, “The Americanization of New Orleans,” Atlanta Journal and Constitution, June 21, 1998, p. 01C (quotation).

[8]King, “Retailing Giant Rite Aid to Buy K&B Drugs Inc.”; Rite Aid Corp., “History,” <http://www.riteaid.com/company_info/history.php>, accessed April 15, 2003; Ronette King, “Little Guys Struggle against Big Operators,” New Orleans Times-Picayune, July 30, 1997, p. A3 (first quotation); Kathy Finn, “Looking Beyond the Sale of K&B Drugstores,” New Orleans Citibusiness 25 (July 28, 1997): 1, 37 (second quotation).

[9]Rochell, “Americanization of New Orleans” (first and second quotations); “Purple Pros Know Where to Go Saturday,” New Orleans Times-Picayune, June 5, 1998, p. L15; Louisiana State Archives, “Louisiana’s Jewish Community: Katz & Besthoff,” <http://www.sec.state.la.us/archives/jewish/JHKB.HTM>, accessed April 12, 2003 (third quotation).

MSS 310 - K & B Archives: :