MSS 335 - Newcomers Club of New Orleans Collection: Inventory
- Last Updated: Sep 1, 2018 11:36 PM
- URL: https://libguides.uno.edu/mss335
- Print Page
NEWCOMERS CLUB OF NEW ORLEANS COLLECTION
(Mss 335)
Inventory
Earl K. Long Library
University of New Orleans
February 2008
Summary
Size: 9 linear feet
Geographic
locations: Greater New Orleans area
Inclusive
dates: 1947-1998
Summary: Records of the Newcomers Club of New Orleans, an organization comprised of women over twenty-one years of age who have relocated to the New Orleans area within two years prior to joining.
Related
collections:
Source: Gift, December 1998, December 1999
Access: No restrictions on use in our reading room
Copyright: Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
Citation: Newcomers Club of New Orleans Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
Historical Note
In 1947, a group of ladies called the New Orleans Hostess Service saw the need for an organization to welcome new people into the community. The purpose of the organization was to offer them friendship and entertainment, and to provide them with opportunities to use their talents and experiences in making a place for themselves in their adopted city. On September 12 a meeting was held for the purpose of organizing such a club. At that meeting it was decided to name this new organization The Newcomers Club of New Orleans. A candlelight ceremony was held at a January 1949 luncheon to celebrate the approval of the Constitution and By-Laws, and the City Charter plans were finalized. Hilda Resor Thomas is considered the club founder.
In addition to forming hobby groups and holding social functions, the ladies of this new club contributed their time and effort to a wide variety of cultural and philanthropic organizations throughout the city. In 1954 the Club joined the New Orleans Federation of Women’s Clubs and decided to limit its endeavors to one charity at a time. Members chose the Association for the Development of Pre-School Blind Children as their first philanthropic project. Since that time, the Newcomers Club has helped many different organizations, including the Louise S. Davis School and Raintree House, and has received recognition because of its involvement.
To help its members become a part of New Orleans, the Newcomers Club formed its own Mardi Gras organization, the Krewe of Neophermenos (“newly transplanted to this soil”). The first carnival ball was held on February 27, 1954, and the annual ball has become an important part of the Club’s social calendar. The crest of the Krewe of Neophermenos was designed by a Club member and was presented at the February 12, 1965 ball. The first doubloon, produced for the 1967 ball, bore the crest on one side and depicted a scene of old New Orleans on the obverse.
In February 1964 the Club voted to recognize outstanding service to the Club by presenting a Woman of the month Award to deserving members. Since that date, many surprised and happy ladies have been honored. The Special Recognition Award, given annually to an outstanding, long-term member for her involvement in Club activities, also began in 1964. In 1971 the Club initiated the Volunteer of the Year Award, presented annually to an outstanding member who has contributed her time and talent to volunteer work throughout the community.
List of Series and Subseries
Series I. Minutes of Board Meetings and Luncheon Meetings
Series II. Six-Month Reports
Subseries II.1: Reports of Officers
Subseries II.2: Reports of Committees
Subseries II.3: Reports of Hobby Groups
Series III. Monthly Reports
Subseries III.1: Reports of Officers
Subseries III.2: Reports of Committees
Series IV. Special Projects
Series V. Club Publications
Subseries V.1. Newcomers News (newsletter)
Subseries V.2. Club handbooks
Series VI. Miscellany
Container List
Series I. Minutes of Board Meetings and Luncheon Meetings
Bound volumes. Note: minutes of some meetings are bound out of chronological sequence.
335-1 August 1947 – May 1953
Includes original constitution and bylaws.
335-2 June 1953 – May 1956
335-3 June 1956 – May 1958
Includes list of past presidents.
335-4 June 1958 – May 1961
335-5 June 1961 - November 1963
335-6 December 1963 – May 1966
335-7 June 1966 – May 1968
335-8 June 1968 - November 1970
335-9 December 1970 - November 1972
335-10 December 1972 - November 1975
335-11 December 1975 – May 1978
335-12 June 1978 – June 1980
335-13 December 1980 – May 1983
335-14 June 1983 – May 1985
Includes constitution and bylaws.
335-15 June 1985 – May 1988
335-16 June 1988 – May 1991
335-17 June 1991 – May 1994
Series II. Six-Month Reports
Subseries II.1: Reports of Officers
President
335-18 November 1997 – June 1994
335-19 May 1994 - December 1991
335-20 November 1991 – June 1990
335-21 May 1990 - December 1985
335-22 November 1985 - December 1968
Insurance file
335-23 October 1989 – May 1964
President’s supply file
335-24 [n.d.]
President’s Tea Guest Book
335-25 [n.d.]
First vice-president
Six-month reports and related papers
335-26 November 1997 - November 1996
335-27-
335-28 May 1995 – May 1991 (2 folders)
335-29 Samples of certificates, place cards, etc.
335-30 November 1991 – May 1964
Luncheon reports (Summary)
335-31 November 1986 – [November 1978]
Individual first vice-presidents’ files
335-32 June 1985 - November 1985 (Deen White)
335-33 December 1984 – May 1985 (Linda Ferraro)
335-34 June 1984 - November 1984 (Kay Burch)
335-35 December 1983 – May 1984 (Sherilyn Hall)
335-36 June 1983 - November 1983 (Pat Sherinski)
335-37 December 1982 – May 1983 (June Kirk)
335-38 June 1982 - November 1982 (Chris Griggers)
335-39 December 1981 – May 1982 (Cathy Camalier)
335-40 May 1981 - November 1981 (Gloria Rathman)
335-41 December 1980 – May 1981 (Sandy Cusick)
335-42 December 1979 – May 1980 (Tina Balestrieri)
335-43 May 1978 – November 1978 (Scotty Dundas)
Restaurant contact information
335-44 [1980s]
Luncheon prayers
335-45 [n.d.]
Second vice-president
335-46 [n.d.], November 1997 – May 1963
Recording secretary
335-47 May 1997 – December 1968
Corresponding secretary
335-48 June 1997 – May 1966
Treasurer
335-49 May 1995 - November 1994, May 1989 - November 1986
335-50 May 1986 – November 1984
335-51 May 1983 – July 1967
Ledger
335-52 January 1985 – November 1995
Parliamentarian
335-53 November 1997 – May 1967
Historian
335-54 April 1990 – May 1964
Board members
335-55
Federation of Women’s Clubs Representative
335-56 May 1969 – March 1855
Subseries II.2: Reports of Committees
Area Coffee Committee
335-57 November 1960 – May 1960
Arts and Crafts Committee
335-58 November 1995 – July 1963
Civil Defense and Ecology Committee
Includes four booklets about disaster preparedness.
335-59 June 1983 - December 1967, December 1961, August 1959, December 1958, May 1958, [n.d.]
See also Community Awareness Committee
Club Handbook Committee
See Handbook Committees
Community Awareness Committee
Includes a copy of the Newcomers Club of New Orleans publication No Left Turn: (A Newcomer’s Guide to New Orleans).
335-60 January 1997 - November 1994, [n.d.]
See also Civil Defense and Ecology Committee
335-61 Decorations Committee
November 1996 – May 1956
Discover New Orleans Committee
335-62 May 1996 – June 1994
Entertainment Committee
335-63 November 1995 – [May?] 1964
Executive Rules Committee
Includes proposed changes in by-laws and standing rules.
335-64 November 1996 – June 1987
335-65 May 1987 - September 1983
335-66 November 1983 - December 1968
335-67 Changes made since by-laws books were printed, 1980
See also Changes in By-Laws and Standing Rules, Executive Rules Background
Finance Committee
335-68 May 1997 - February 1960
Handbook Advisory Committee
See Handbook Committees
Handbook Committees
Includes Handbook Advisory Committee, Club Handbook Committee
335-69 November 1985 - November 1983
Hostess Committee
Includes Luncheon Hostess Committee
335-70 November 1996 - November 1961
Mardi Gras Committee
335-71 December 1995 – June 1995, [n.d.]
Membership Committee
335-72 November 1997 – May 1994
335-73 May 1993 – May 1987
335-74 May 1989 - December 1985
335-75 November 1985 – June 1982
335-76 December 1982 - December 1975
335-77 November 1982 - December 1975
Membership lists
335-78 December 1989 – May 1978
335-79 [n.d.], May 1976 – May 1966
335-80 May 1966 – June 1964
335-81 June 1963 – [1959?]
Newsletter Committee
335-82 May 1994 – May 1960
Nominating Committee
Includes membership rosters.
335-83 October 1994 – March 1988
335-84 September 1987 – April 1982
335-85 September 1981 – March 1969
Philanthropy Committee
335-86 November 1995 – May 1974
335-87 May 1973 - October 1956
Photography Committee
335-88 November 1991 – May 1974, [n.d.]
Publicity Committee
335-89 November 1995 - November 1961
Reservations Committee
335-90 October 1995 - November 1962
Sunshine Committee
335-91 November 1994 - November 1962
Telephone Committee
335-92 November 1995 – May 1964
Volunteer Services Committee
335-93 December 1995 - November 1961
Ways and Means Committee
335-94 December 1995 – March 1960
Woman of the Month Committee
335-95 [December] 1996 - November 1966, [n.d.]
Subseries II.3: Reports of Hobby Groups
Antiques and Interior Design Hobby Group
335-96 November 1990 - September 1981
335-97 November 1980 - November 1972
See also Exploring the Arts Hobby Group
Book and Study Hobby Group
335-98 December 1994 - November 1975, [n.d.]
Bowling Hobby Group
335-99 November 1995 – May 1973, [n.d.]
Bridge Hobby Group
See Cards Hobby Group
Cards Hobby Group
335-100 May 1980 - November 1973
Exploring the Arts Hobby Group
335-101 April 1997 - November 1974
See also Antiques and Interior Design Hobby Group
Glee Club
335-102 December 1995 - November 1970
Golf Hobby Group
335-103 January 1986 - December 1956
Gourmet Club
335-104 September 1995 – July 1973
Lazy Gourmet Hobby Group
335-105 August 1995 – [1983], [n.d.]
Racquetball Hobby Group
335-106 December 1985 - June 1984, [n.d.]
Tennis Hobby Group
335-107 December 1985 - October 1977, [n.d.]
Series III. Monthly Reports
Subseries III.1: Reports of Officers
Second vice-president
335-108 [ca. 1996] – July 1995
Corresponding secretary
335-109 August 1995 – July 1995
Recording secretary
335-110 October 1995 - November 1961, November 1957
Treasurer
335-111 December 1995 – June 1989, [n.d.]
Subseries III.2: Reports of Committees
Area Coffee Committee
335-112 December 1995 – July 1995
Community Awareness Committee
335-113 October 1995 – June 1995
Decorations Committee
335-114 January 1996 – May 1995
Executive Rules Committee
335-115 February 1995 – June 1990
335-116 Background (information compiled October 12, 1975), [n.d.], December 1974 - December 1960
Finance Committee
335-117 May 1995 – November 1989
Hostess Committee
335-118 November 1995 – July 1995
Membership Committee
335-119 December 1995 - January 1991
335-120 December 1990 – June 1983
Series IV. Special Projects
Bicentennial
335-121 December 1976 – September 1974
Cookbook
335-122 January 1984 – October 1976
Recipes
335-123 [n.d.]
Louise S. Davis School
335-124 [n.d.], January 1974 – August 1964
Quilt
335-125 [n.d.], January 1980 – June 1979
Series V. Club Publications
Subseries V.1: Newcomer News (newsletter)
335-126 June 1996 – June 1989
335-127 April 1989 – June 1980
335-128 May 1980 – June 1976
335-129 November 1975 – June 1973
335-130 April 1973 - January 1969
335-131 December 1968 - January 1965
335-132 December 1964 - January 1960
335-133 December 1959 – June 1955
Subseries V.2: Club handbooks
335-134 [1955/56], [1957/58], [1963/64], [1966/67], [ca. May 1969], [1971/72], [1974/75], August 1977, February 1980, July 1983
335-135 July 1985 – July 1994
Series VI. Miscellaneous Files
Binding of minutes
335-136 July 1996 – April 1981, [n.d.]
Birthday luncheon
335-137 [n.d.], September 1989 – September 1984, October 1967
Forms – Discussion on a motion
335-138 March 1986 – July 1983, [n.d.]
Greeting cards
335-139 [n.d.]
Luncheon preferences survey
335-140 [August 1997]
Prospective speakers
335-141 August 1997 – July 1997
Club banner
335-142 [n.d.]
Index Terms
Newcomers Club of New Orleans
Women’s clubs—Louisiana—New Orleans