MSS 336 - Avondale Shipyards Collection: Inventory

AVONDALE SHIPYARDS COLLECTION

(Mss 336)

INVENTORY

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

February 2008

 

Summary

 

Size:                              Approximately 5 linear feet (16 boxes)

Geographic
Locations:                    Avondale, Louisiana.  Harvey, Louisiana.  Morgan City, Louisiana.  New Orleans, Louisiana.  Waggaman,    Louisiana.  Westwego, Louisiana.

Inclusive Dates:           1948 to 2002

Bulk Dates:                    1955 to 1976

Summary:                    Newsletters, photographic slides, and other miscellany.

Related
Collections:                 Avondale Shipyards vertical file, Avondale Shipyards – René P. Meric, Jr (Mss 425)., Avondale Shipyards – Henry Zac Carter (Mss 426),  Avondale Shipyards – Bill Springer (Mss 427), Avondale Shipyards – James Viavant (Mss 428)

Source:                        Gift, September 1997

Access:                        No Restrictions.

Copyright:                    Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.

Citation:                    
Avondale Shipyards Collection (MSS 336), Louisiana and Special Collections Department, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

Historical Note

Sources:        Avondale Shipyards, Inc. The Avondale Story [Brochure]. New Orleans, LA:

Avondale Shipyards, Inc.

                        Avondale. Retrieved January 18, 2008, from Global Security Web site:

http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/facility/avondale.htm

                        Kronenberg, Kenneth F. Avondale Industries, Inc. Answers.com, Business &

Finance, Retrieved January 18, 2008, from Answers.com Web site:

http://www.answers.com/topic/avondale-industries-inc?cat=biz-fin

            Avondale Shipyards was founded in 1938 as Avondale Marine Ways by James G. Viavant, Harry Koch, and Perry N. Ellis.  In the beginning, Avondale Marine Ways was primarily a repair and barge construction facility.  During World War II, Avondale was awarded a government contract to build a series of tugs for the United States Maritime Commission, which would be a gateway to further government contracts.  After the war, in addition to its government contracts for destroyers and destroyer escorts, Avondale expanded its operations to a more diverse assortment of commercial ships, including offshore oil rigs, drilling barges, and fishing boats.  The Korean and Vietnam wars brought Avondale additional government contracts for naval and cargo ships, spurring its continued growth.  In 1959 Avondale Marine Ways was purchased by the Ogden Corporation for $14 million, and in 1960 the name of the company was changed to Avondale Shipyards, Inc.  In 1985 Avondale was sold to its employees, and in 1988 became a publicly traded company.  A reduction of its Navy contracts contributed to a decline in overall revenue throughout the early 1990s.  In 1999 Avondale Industries was acquired by Litton Industries, which would in turn be acquired by Northrop Grumman Ship Systems in 2001, of which it remains a subsidiary to date.  

List of Series and Subseries

Series I:	Newsletters (3 boxes). Subseries I.1 Avondale Salutes. Subseries I.2 Yard Talk. Subseries I.3 The Shipbuilder.
Series II:	Avondale History (2 boxes). Subseries II.1 Brochures. Subseries II.2 Avondale Papers. Subseries II.3 Avondale Newsletter Proofs. Subseries II.4 “Story on New Yard”. Subseries II.5 Proofing Composites. Subseries II.6 Negatives. Subseries II.7 Photographs.
Series III:	Audio Cassettes.  (1 folder).
Series IV:	Photographic Slides.  (11 boxes). Subseries IV.1 Slideshow. Subseries IV.2 Exterior Shots. Subseries IV.3 Interior Shots. Subseries IV.4 Ships. Subseries IV.5 Bayou Black. Subseries IV.6 Parts and Equipment. Subseries IV.7 People and Personnel. Subseries IV.8 Oversized.

Series Descriptions

I.	Newsletters Subseries I.1 Avondale Salutes This series consists of issues of the Avondale Salutes newsletter, between the years 1953 and 1970. Subseries I.2 Yard Talk This series consists of issues of the Yard Talk newsletter, between the years 1965 and 1995. Subseries I.3 The Shipbuilder This series consists of issues of the Shipbuilder newsletter, between the years 1999 and 2002.
II.	Avondale History Subseries II.1 Brochures This subseries consists of pre-established folders of Avondale related brochures. Subseries II.2 Avondale Papers This subseries consists of various Avondale papers, pertaining to Avondale’s history, activities, and services.  Also included is a legal petition. Subseries II.3 Avondale Newsletter Proofs This subseries consists of proofing pages for the Avondale Salutes and Yard Talk newsletters, including composites and photocopies. Subseries II.4 “Story on New Yard” This subseries contains the contents of a folder included in the collection titled “Story on New Yard”.  Subseries II.5 Proofing Composites This subseries consists of proofing composites, or “positive negatives”, of various photographs included in or related to the “20 Years of Forward Progress” issue of the Avondale Salutes newsletter. Subseries II.6 Negatives This subseries consists of the negatives of various photographs included in or related to the “20 Years of Forward Progress” issue of the Avondale Salutes newsletter. Subseries II.7 Photographs This subseries consists of various photographs included in or related to the “20 Years of Forward Progress” issue of the Avondale Salutes newsletter.
III.	Audio Cassettes This series consists of audio cassette tapes.
IV.	Photographic Slides This series consists of numerous photographic slides of the Avondale shipyards and other related subjects.  Of the slides with dates, the majority appear to be from the 1970’s. Subseries IV.1  Slideshow This subseries consists of slides from an Avondale slideshow, numbered 1-75.  Slideshow appears to be a history of Avondale, and includes several older black and white pictures in addition to more recent photographs.  Subseries IV.2  Exterior Shots This subseries consists of slides depicting aerial photographs and exterior shots of buildings, construction, and shipyards. Subseries IV.3  Interior Shots This subseries consists of slides depicting various interior shots of buildings, ships, and other structures.  Also includes overexposed and undeveloped slides. Subseries IV.4  Ships This subseries consists of slides depicting ships, both completed and under repair or construction.  Includes photographs of the Delta Queen. Subseries IV.5  Bayou Black This subseries consists of slides related to the Bayou Black Division of the Avondale shipyards, which dealt primarily with offshore oil projects. Subseries IV.6  Parts and Equipment This subseries consists of slides depicting machinery, diagrams, and close-up shots of equipment and signage. Subseries IV.7  People and Personnel This subseries consists of slides depicting various persons, including Avondale personnel. Subseries IV.8  Oversized This subseries consists of oversized slides featuring a wide variety of Avondale subjects, the shipyard, ships, and other miscellany.

Container List

Series I: Newsletters

Subseries I.1 Avondale Salutes

            This series consists of issues of the Avondale Salutes newsletter, between the years 1953-1970.  When issues are lacking in volume or issue numbers, or improperly numbered, an attempt has been made to put the issues in their intended order.

Box 1:

336-1              October-December 1953.  3 issues.

336-2              January-March 1954.  3 issues.  May-November 1954.  7 issues.  December 1954.  1 issue.

336-3              1955.  Complete, 11 issues.

336-4              1956.  Complete, 12 issues.

336-5              1957.  Complete, 12 issues.

336-6              1958.  Complete, 11 issues.

336-7              January-October 1959.  10 issues.

336-8              January-March 1960.  3 issues.  May-July 1960.  3 issues.  N.D., cover only.  1

issue.  September-December 1960.  3 issues.

336-9              January-June 1961.  4 issues.  N.D., “Extra”.  1 issue.  July-September 1961.  2

issues.  November 1961.  1 issue.

336-10            January-August 1962, extra copy of January.  5 issues.  N.D., “Extra” issue.  1

issue.  October-December 1962.  2 issues.

336-11            February-September 1963, 2 extra copies of February.  6 issues.  October 1963,

1 extra copy of October.  2 issues.

336-12            March-August 1964.  3 issues.

336-13            March 1965.  1 issue.  N.D., “Extra”.  2 issues.

336-14            July 1965-January 1966.  Complete, 4 issues.

336-15            February-March 1966.  1 issue.  June-December 1966.  4 issues.

336-16            1967.  Complete, 6 issues.  Also includes “work print” of issue 6, with

annotations.

336-17            January-June 1968.  3 issues.  N.D., cover missing.  1 issue.  September-

December 1968.  2 issues.

336-18            January 1969-February 1970.  Complete, 7 issues.  Issue #2 includes typewritten

introductory letter to new employee.

Subseries I.2 Yard Talk

            This series consists of issues of the Yard Talk newsletter, between the years 1965-1995.  When issues are lacking in volume or issue numbers, or improperly numbered, an attempt has been made to put the issues in their intended order.

Box 2:

336-19            July 1-July 15 1965.  2 issues.  August-December 1965.  9 issues.

336-20            1966.  Complete, 24 issues.

336-21            January 1-February 1 1967.  3 issues.  March 1 1967.  1 issue.  April-December

1967.  18 issues.

336-22            January-December 1968.  14 issues.

336-23            January-November 1969.  10 issues.

336-24            January-March 1970.  3 issues.  May 1970.  1 issue.  December 1970.  1 issue.

336-25            January-November 1971.  10 issues.

336-26            January-September 1972.  6 issues.  December 1972.  1 issue.

336-27            1973.  Complete, 4 issues.

336-28            1974.  Complete, 5 issues.

336-29            February 1975-December 1976.  Complete, 8 issues.

336-30            January-June 1977.  3 issues.  September-October 1977.  1 issue.

336-31            March 1979.  1 issue, 2 copies.  Fall 1979.  1 issue.

336-32            1980.  Complete, 8 issues.

336-33            January-April 1981.  4 issues.  2 copies of January issue.

336-34            2 issues, N.D. between years 1974 and 1977.

Box 3:

336-35            June-December 1985.  5 issues.  “Special Edition”, 1 issue.

336-36            January-June 1986.  3 issues.

336-37            1987.  Complete, 5 issues.

336-38            1988.  Complete, 4 issues.

336-39            January-November 1989.  5 issues.

336-40            January-June 1990.  3 issues.  December 1990.  1 issue.

336-41            January-February 1991.  1 issue.  July-December 1991.  3 issues.

336-42            1992.  Complete, 4 issues.

336-43            1993.  Complete, 3 issues.

336-44            1994.  Complete, 4 issues.

336-45            1995.  Complete, 5 issues.

Subseries I.3 The Shipbuilder

            This series consists of issues of the Shipbuilder newsletter, between the years 1999 and 2002.

Box 3:

336-46            September-November 1999.  3 issues.

336-47            January-November 2000.  11 issues.

336-48            January-November 2001.  11 issues.

336-49            January-July 2002.  7 issues.  September 2002.  1 issue.

Series II: Avondale History

Subseries II.1 Brochures

This subseries consists of pre-established folders of Avondale related brochures.

Box 4:

336-50            Service Foundry.  4 items.

336-51            Marine Repair.  7 items.

336-52            Harvey Quick Repair Division.  7 items.

336-53            Avondale.  3 items.

336-54            Ship Designs.  1 item.

336-55            Miscellaneous.  4 items.

Subseries II.2 Avondale Papers

This subseries consists of various Avondale papers, pertaining to Avondale’s history, activities, and services.  Also included is a legal petition.

Box 4:

336-56            Reports (1) and photocopies (1) dealing with the history and current state of Avondale Shipyards and the Ogden Corporation.

336-57            Contents of “Avondale Background Information” folder.  Includes “Avondale is People”, “Marine Engineering/Log”, “Glossary of Shipbuilding Definitions” photocopies.

336-58            Contents of additional Avondale folder.  Includes “Shipbuilding Companies in LA”, “Background on LASH”, “New Tankers”, lists of Destroyer Escorts, Coast Guard Cutters, State Lines/Steamships, Lykes, and Mobile Oil Rigs both built and under construction, with launch dates, “Official Launching Party” items including a photocopied diagram of the Superdome, and a Yard Talk questionaire.

336-59            “Brief on Behalf of Employer” petition between Avondale Shipyards, Inc. and International Brotherhood of Boilermakers, Iron Ship Builders, Blacksmiths, Forgers and Helpers, AFL-CIO.  76 pages.

Subseries II.3 Avondale Newsletter Proofs

This subseries consists of proofing pages for the Avondale Salutes and Yard Talk newsletters, including composites and photocopies.

Box 4:

336-60            Editorial.

336-61            Main Yard.

336-62            Main Yard Marine Repair.

336-63            Bayou Black.

336-64            Work in Progress.

336-65            Ships.

336-66            Harvey Quick Repair Yard.

336-67            Steel Sales.

336-68            Service Foundry.

Subseries II.4 “Story on New Yard”

This subseries contains the contents of a folder included in the collection titled “Story on New Yard”. 

Box 4:

336-69            Main Yard.

336-70            Securities and Exchange Commission, Form 10-K.

336-71            Westwego Yard.

336-72            Repair Facility Proposal.

336-73            News bulletins and handwritten notes.

336-74            Draft copy of Avondale article, “Efficiency in Ship Designing Increased with New Drafting Equipment”.  Article is also accompanied by photographs.

336-75            Newspaper clippings and photocopies, with the headlines “First Woman Elected to Propeller Club Board” July 8, 1967, “Cutter Boutwell Launched at Avondale Ceremonies” June 18, 1967, and “Historic Riverboard Lurches in for Lift” January 24, 1973.

Box 5:

336-76            Photographs, black and white.  4 unidentified photographs, one three-person portrait, one “Lykes” ship at dock, one “United Fund 1966” banner, and one United flag atop a flagpole.

336-77            Photographs, black and white.  6 photographs, c.a. 1973, of the “Sprague” ferryboat.

336-78            Photographs, black and white.  9 photographs, April 1, 1966.  Series of shots that involve the powerdrill mascot, “Spark-y”.

336-79            Photographs, black and white.  21 photographs, c.a. 1972,of the Louisiana Maritime Museum.  Includes exterior, interior, group (adults and girl scouts), and brass band shots.

Subseries II.5 Proofing Composites

This subseries consists of proofing composites, or “positive negatives”, of various photographs included in or related to the “20 Years of Forward Progress” issue of the Avondale Salutes newsletter.

Box 5:

336-80            Avondale Salutes “20 Years of Forward Progress” issue and proofs.  Also includes four older snapshots of Avondale Marine Ways, c.a. 1938 and 1957.

336-81            Proofing composites of photographs, 45 pages.

Subseries II.6 Negatives

This subseries consists of the negatives of various photographs included in or related to the “20 Years of Forward Progress” issue of the Avondale Salutes newsletter.

Box 5:

336-82            Newsletter negatives, 22 negatives.

336-83            Photograph negatives, 40 negatives.

Subseries II.7 Photographs

This subseries consists of various photographs included in or related to the “20 Years of Forward Progress” issue of the Avondale Salutes newsletter.

Box 5:

336-84            N.D., black and white.  11 photographs.

336-85            1948-1968, black and white.  11 photographs.

336-86            1970-1978, color.  16 photographs.

Series III: Audio Cassettes

            This series consists of audio cassette tapes.

Box 5:

336-87            90 minute audio cassette.  Side 1: Rubber Plant.  Side 2: Offshore-Pipe Mill;

                        90 minute audio cassette.  Side 1: “Varant”.  Side 2: “Tape 2”;

                        90 minute audio cassette.  Side 1: Service Foundry-Quality Control.  Side 2:

Offshore Pre-Fab.

Series IV: Photographic Slides

            This series consists of numerous photographic slides of the Avondale shipyards and other related subjects.  Of the slides with dates, the majority appear to be from the 1970’s.

Subseries IV.1 Slideshow

Box 6:

336-88                        76 slides.

Subseries IV.2 Exterior Shots

Boxes 7 & 8:

336-89, 90                 349 slides.

Subseries IV.3 Interior Shots

Box 9:

336-91                        147 slides.

Subseries IV.4 Ships

Boxes 10 & 11:

336-92, 93                 405 slides.

Subseries IV.5 Bayou Black

Box 12:

336-94                        218 slides.

Subseries IV.6 Parts and Equipment

Box 13:

336-95                        204 slides.

Subseries IV.7 People and Personnel

Boxes 14 & 15:

336-96, 97                 353 slides.

Subseries IV.8 Oversized

Box 16:

336-98                        179 slides.

Index Terms

Ellis, Perry N.

Koch, Harry

Viavant, James G.

Avondale Shipyards

Delta Queen

Yard Talk

Avondale Salutes

Shipbuilder

Offshore Oil Industry Louisiana

Shipyards

Shipbuilding