WALLACE C. WALKER SCRAPBOOKS COLLECTION
Earl K. Long Library
University of New Orleans
Size: 1 linear foot
locations: New Orleans, Louisiana; Crowley, Louisiana; Reserve, Louisiana
Summary: Four scrapbooks containing chiefly photographs and newsclippings pertaining to residences and other structures in Louisiana. Assembled by Wallace C. Walker, a New Orleans developer, contractor, and realtor who worked on these and other construction projects in Louisiana and Mississippi.
Source: Gift, April 2008
Access: No restrictions on use in our reading room
Copyright: Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
Citation: Wallace C. Walker Scrapbooks Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
The firm of Wallace C. Walker & Bros.—realtors, developers, and general contractors—developed the Cortez, Palm Air, and Park Place subdivisions in New Orleans and Pass Christian Isles in Mississippi. Wallace C. Walker, the firm’s president and chief executive officer, also was a primary in developing the “Miracle Mile” on Tulane Avenue in New Orleans, where his business was located in the Walker Building at 1728 Tulane, in the 1960s.
Wallace Charles Walker, who died on July 28, 1986, at the age of 82, attended Iowa State University and graduated from Loyola University in New Orleans. The son of Marie Nicaud Walker and Wallace Lee Walker, he was married to the former Mary Treadaway. They were the parents of one daughter, Lizette (Mrs. Roy) St. Paul. Walker was a member of the Southern Yacht Club, the Pendennis Club, and several Carnival organizations.
Obituary, New Orleans Times-Picayune, July 30, 1986, p. B-9.
342-1 Miscellaneous projects scrapbook
Contains photographs of the following:
Louisiana Highway Commission – Rayne Over Pass, Crowley, La.; Brockman & Walker, Inc., Contractors
June 10, 1936 – October 22, 1936; [n.d. but 1936-1937]
Godchaux Sugars – Concrete Warehouse, Reserve, La.; Brockman & Walker, Inc., Contractors
August 27, 1936 – Nov. 9, 1938; [n.d.]
U.S. Post Office, [location not given]; Brockman & Walker, Inc., Contractors
February 26, 1937 – March 26, 1937; [n.d.]
[Unidentified building, location not given]; Wallace C. Walker, General Contractor. Includes photographs that may have been taken at Walker’s office; one depicts a man, possibly Walker, seated at a desk
September 8, 1939 - November 3, 1939
Cortez Subdivision, [New Orleans, La.] – residences
November 16, 1938 – March 23, 1940
342-2 Cortez Homes / Palm-Air Subdivision Scrapbook
Contains newsclippings pertaining to homes built in the Cortez subdivision, New Orleans, and sold by Wallace C. Walker, builder and developer. Contains newspaper advertisements and news articles pertaining to the residences, often including a photograph and the name of the purchaser. The Cortez subdivision was in the vicinity of Jefferson Davis Parkway and New Basin, with homes in the $5,000 to $5,500 range on Cortez, South Telemachus, South Genois, and Dixon streets.
October 2, 1938 - September 14, 1941
342-3 Park Place Scrapbook
Contains newsclippings pertaining to homes built and sold in the Park Place area of New Orleans by builder/developer Wallace C. Walker. Contains newspaper advertisements and news articles pertaining to the residences, often including the name and photograph of the purchaser; also some loose clippings and ephemera. Located on the site of the former United Fruit Company Radio Station, Park Place was next to City Park between Delgado Trade School and Lake Pontchartrain, bounded by Navarre Street, Marconi Drive, and Florida Avenue. Park Place homes ranged in price from $7,000 to $18,000 (http://www.crt.state.la.us/culturalassets/fema106/readComment.asp?CommentID=27).
February 28, 1940 - August 19, 1949
342-4 Greater Tulane Avenue Association Scrapbook
Contains newsclippings and ephemera. Wallace C. Walker served as president of a group of Tulane Avenue businessmen who formed this organization to revitalize Tulane Avenue in New Orleans as a shopping district and to encourage and promote the business interests of the merchants.
August 8, 1950 - February 12, 1952
Brockman & Walker, Inc., Contractors
Cortez Homes (New Orleans, La.)
Greater Tulane Avenue Association
Miracle Mile (New Orleans, La.)
New Orleans (La.)—Lakeview
Palm-Air Subdivision (New Orleans, La.)
Park Place (New Orleans, La.)
Walker, Wallace C.