MSS 348 - Homer L. Hitt Collection: Inventory
- Last Updated: Sep 2, 2018 1:02 PM
- URL: https://libguides.uno.edu/mss348
- Print Page
HOMER L. HITT COLLECTION
Mss 348
INVENTORY
Earl K. Long Library
University of New Orleans
September 2009
Summary
Size: Approximately 30 linear feet (60 boxes).
Geographic Locations: New Orleans, La.
Inclusive Dates: 1917 to 2008.
Bulk Dates: 1958 to 1980.
Summary: Papers, correspondence, photographs, clippings, and related ephemera documenting the establishment and operation of LSUNO (later UNO) from its inception until the 1980s. The collection also includes the personal papers, letters, speeches, and other items belonging to, and produced by, the first chancellor of the university. Folder titles are copied from original labels whenever possible; bracketed information indicates information created and added by the archivist.
Related Collections: University of New Orleans Archives (Mss 159); Homer Hitt Scrapbooks Collection (Mss 290); Homer Hitt Editorial Cartoons Collection (Mss 308)
Source: Gift, 1997.
Access: No Restrictions (Exception, Lawsuit Subseries)
Copyright: Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.
Citation: Homer L. Hitt Collection (MSS 348), Louisiana and Special Collections Department, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
Historical/Biographical Note
LSUNO opened on Friday, September 5, 1958, with an inaugural convocation. A faculty of 63 offered freshman-level courses only to a racially integrated student body of 1,459. Additional courses were added each year until a full four-year curriculum was available, with the first, 102-member graduating class completing their studies in the spring of 1962. Graduate courses were introduced the following year.
The first appointment of an official to the staff of the fledgling Louisiana State University in New Orleans (now the University of New Orleans) was that of Homer L. Hitt (b. 1916), who was named dean of LSUNO on December 14, 1957. At the time, Hitt was associate dean of the graduate school and head of the departments of sociology and rural sociology at Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge. A native of Comanche, Texas, Hitt earned bachelor of science (1935) and master of arts (1937) degrees at LSU and a master of arts degree (1938) and a doctorate (1941) at Harvard University. His publications include The People of Louisiana (with T. Lynn Smith; LSU Press, 1952). An authority on population, Hitt was one of five scholars from the United States to be elected to the International Union of the Scientific Study of Population in 1952. Hitt’s status at LSUNO was changed in 1959 to vice president and in 1963 to chancellor; he retired from that position in 1980. Hitt died on Sunday, January 27, 2008 at the age of 91.
List of Series and Subseries
Series I. General Files
Subseries I.1. Buildings & Construction
Subseries I.2. Colleges & Schools
Subseries I.3. Establishment Efforts
Subseries I.4. Early History
Subseries I.5. Individuals
Subseries I.6. Personal Files
Subseries I.7. Other University of New Orleans Materials & Miscellaneous
Subseries I.8. Lawsuits (Restricted)
Series II. Speeches
Series III. Meeting Minutes
Series IV. Publications & Reports
Subseries IV.1. University of New Orleans & Miscellaneous
Subseries IV.2. Unpublished Draft of the History of the University of New Orleans
Subseries IV.3. Sociology, Published Articles
Subseries IV.4. Sociology Research
Series V. Clippings
Series VI. Audio-Visual
Subseries VI.1. Photographs & Illustrations
Sub-subseries VI.1.1. Framed Audiovisual Materials
Subseries VI.2. Slides & Audio Recordings
Sub-subseries VI.2.1. University of New Orleans
Sub-subseries VI.2.2. Miscellaneous
Series VII. Certificates & Ephemera
Series VIII. Plaques
Container List
Series I. General Files
Box 1
Subseries I.1. Buildings & Construction
348-01 The Assembly Center Issue, [nd 1969-1983]
348-02 Assembly Center Chronology and New Releases, [March 18, 1975-nd]
348-03 Capital Construction Requirements, [Comprehensive Enrollment Data, nd 1958-nd 1969]
348-04 Capital Outlay, ’83, [June 28, 1983-July 27, 1983]
348-05 Naming Kiefer Arena, [June 15, 1986-January 5, 1987]
348-06 [UNO Multipurpose Assembly Center Bill, May 29, 1978]
Subseries I.2. Colleges & Schools
348-07 Engineering, [August 29, 1980-January 12, 1993]
348-08 Geology Advisory, [April 16, 1989-nd 1989]
348-09 Law School Issue, [July 30, 1974]
348-10 Metropolitan Council for Lifelong Learning, [June 18, 1986-April 16, 1987]
348-11 [Report on the Condition of Departmental Honors Programs in Liberal Arts, LSUNO, nd Spring 1966]
348-12 Special Education Center, [February 29, 1980-April 15, 1980] {see also Box 4, folder 49}
348-13 Urban Studies—Origin, [February 24, 1966-July 9, 1986]
348-14 Urban Studies, Ph.D., Olson Committee, [February 13, 1986-January 28, 1987]
Subseries I.3. Establishment Efforts
348-15 [Curry, Rene A., September 7, 1954-December 15, 1983]
348-16 D. Sidney Duhon, [October 6, 1955-September 21, 1987]
348-17 [Efforts to Bring Higher Public Education to New Orleans, D. Sidney Duhon, October 6, 1955-February, 1956]
348-18 [Efforts to Bring Higher Public Education to New Orleans, D. Sidney Duhon, April 24, 1956-January 24, 1959]
348-19 YMBC Letters: LSUNO
{Folder Note: Valuable YMBC (Rene Curry) Letters Regarding Proposal to Establish State College in New Orleans}
Box 2
Subseries I.4. Early History
348-20 1958
348-21 1959
348-22 58-59 Student Demographics
348-23 1960 and 1961
348-24 1963 Developments, [April 11, 1963-July 26, 1963]
348-25 1963 Materials, [February 5, 1963-June 6, 1964]
348-26 The 1965 Crisis and the Separation Issue, [nd-July 7, 1965]
348-27 Academic Progress, 1958-1965, [nd 1958-October 11, 1963]
348-28 Academic—Miscellaneous, [August 19, 1959]
348-29 Advising—Mrs. Leyda, [March 20, 1961-September 12, 1963]
348-30 Alumni Association, [February 15, 1967-nd 1967]
348-31 Andry and Feitel-Architects; Navy Building Renovation, [January 21, 1957-June 4, 1959]
Box 3
348-32 Armentor Letter, [July 15, 1968-October 21, 1968]
348-33 Borth Reservations—April 1961
348-34 [Budget, Miscellaneous, January 31, 1967-May 12, 1970]
348-35 Committee Planning Report for LSUNO (by LSU Committee), 1957
348-36 Confidential LSUNO Document, [July 7, 1965]
348-37 Copies of Hitt Statement at Climax of “Ouster Move,” [nd 1965]
348-38 Disaster Study, [July 13, 1957-October 25, 1957]
348-39 Documents: 1962 Commencement Program; Saussy—N.O. Paper, [June 8, 1962-nd 1991]
348-40 [Documents, Early Years, Miscellaneous, July 28, 1959-June 8, 1973]
348-41 [Documents, Miscellaneous, nd 1960-nd 1988]
348-42 Discipline at UNO, [September 18, 1958-May 12, 1970] {see also Folder 69}
348-43 Early Faculty Militants, [December 23, 1960-June 7, 1963]
348-44 Early Legislators, [nd 1958-nd 1959]
348-45 Earliest Needs Study, Fenn, [nd 1955-nd 1987]
Box 4
348-46 From Ed Burks Office: Faculty Roster-LSUNO 1958;
Student Directory-LSUNO 1958; 1958 Disciplinary Memo
348-47 Graduate Program Approval; Photographs of first Graduate Degree Recipients, May 28, 1965 (Education and (1) in Chemistry), [June 25, 1963-February 4, 1968] [See photographs in “Photographs Series”]
348-48 Growth and Changes—LSUNO, [May 20, 1959-nd September 1963]
348-49 Hitt, Miscellaneous, [nd 1950s-December 17, 1983]
348-50 [The Hitt Rumor, April 27, 1964-April 14, 1967]
348-51 Important Documents, [June 20, 1955-September 16, 1987]
Original List on Folder:
- Chep Morrison letters on Leroy Johnson
- Hulen Williams
- Col. James Moreau
- Photo of (illegible) Union Committee {See Photographs Series}
- Site Chronology
- Norman Francis Welcome to John Paul II
{also contains bibliographies, compiled by a UNO archivist, of articles concerning the development of LSUNO}
348-52 [Legislation, Miscellaneous, nd 1956-June 11, 1984]
348-53 Legislative Acts—UNO, [nd 1956-nd 1984]
348-54 LSUNO Budget Justification, [April 24, 1961-nd 1967]
348-55 LSUNO Faculty Needs, 1959-60
348-56 LSUNO Information, [February 5, 1958-December 1,1972]
348-57a LSUNO Library, [July 1, 1958-June 30, 1960]
348-57b UNO Library—History, [January 25, 1962-August 21,
1963]
348-57c Naming the Library, [October 7, 1964]
348-57d World’s Ugliest Library, [nd-September 15, 1960]
Box 5
348-58 LSUNO Master Plan, [June 21, 1958-nd 1983]
348-59 [LSUNO Name Change, April 10, 1973-April 17, 1974]
348-60 LSUNO Name Change; Name Change Material, Mary Good, [November 15, 1973-January 15, 1974]
348-61 LSUNO Separation Issue, [October 21, 1968-April 5, 1969]
348-62 LSUNO Separation Legislation, [June 18, 1968-June 25, 1968]
348-63 LSUNO Student Directory—1958-1959
348-64 LSUNO and the University System, Jefferson Parish LSU
Alumni Association, 4-20-63
348-65 Material for Reveille Centennial Issue, Merlin C. Maag, [April 22, 1959-May 30, 1959]
348-66 Operating Budget, [nd 1963-nd 1964]
348-67 Public Relations—1958, [June 10, 1958-July 23, 1965]
348-68 Public Relations—1960, [November 9, 1959-August 7, 1960]
348-69 Recent Developments at LSUNO, re: Dope, April 24, 1970
348-70 [Salary and Budget, Miscellaneous; nd 1962- September 10, 1979]
348-71 Site Chronology, [nd]
348-72 Valuable Historical Papers, [April 14, 1961-May 13, 1980]
348-73 A Very Early Example of Chancellor Homer Hitt’s Signature,
With Gratitude, Joanne, [February 20, 1959]
Box 6
Subseries I.5. Individuals
348-74 Ambrose, Professor Stephen E., [March 3, 1975-May 20, 1980]
348-75 Bob Brown, [nd-June 27, 1990]
348-76 [Burks, Edgar E., September 14, 1984-October 16, 1984]
348-77 Milton Bush, [August 10, 1987-September 17, 1987]
348-78 [Theo F. Cangelosi, Death, August 12, 1992]
348-79 Carlton, Dr. Jack K., [May 31, 1958-December 31, 1965]
348-80 John Corporan, 9/22/65
348-81 Deming, Dr. Barbara, [nd-November 20, 1991]
348-82 Fitzmorris, Norris, [nd-May 16, 1986]
348-83 [Frey, Major Fred C., October 26, 1929-March 29, 1977]
348-84 Goudeau, John M., [April 1, 1958-August 15, 1966]
348-85 [Greco, Anthony J., June 5, 1990-nd 1992]
348-86 Mackin, Cooper, [November 4, 1983-December 14, 1985]
348-87 The Mickey-McMillan Affair, [May 21, 1959-January 12, 1960]
348-88 Middleton File, [February 20, 1963-September 7, 1965]
348-89 Miller, Raeburn [May 1, 1980-September, 13 1990]
348-90 Moises, Francis P., ABH #3 USN, [April 13, 1970-February 6, 1976]
348-91 Mueller, Nick, [nd-December 12, 1992]
348-92 Novel, Gordon, [October 9, 1958-September 10, 1959] {Restricted; filed with Lawsuits Subseries}
348-93 [O’Brien, Gregory, nd-May 8, 1988]
348-94 Raspanti, Joseph P., [October 11, 1991-May 14, 1993]
348-95 Richelle Inauguration, 3/6/81
348-96 Thompson, Dr. Daniel C., Dillard University, [nd 1976]
348-97 The Honorable Ben C. Toledano, [December 22, 1966-June 17, 1980]
348-98 Turbeville, Dr. Gus, [September 16, 1971-January 31, 1977]
Box 7
Subseries I.6. Personal Files
348-99 ADL’s Silver Torch of Liberty Award, Dr. Homer L. Hitt, [June 6, 1980-January 6, 1981]
348-100 Chancellor Homer L. Hitt—Personal, [October 21, 1977-December 18, 1979]
348-101 Chancellor Homer L. Hitt—Personal, [January 7, 1980-March 14, 1995]
348-102 [Chancellor’s Official Residence and Private Home, Febraury 16, 1978-May 12, 1980]
348-103 Dr. Homer L. Hitt—Distinguished Salesman of the Year Award—11/21/74—Banquet
348-104 Dr. Homer L. Hitt Honored as Outstanding Man of 1974 by the Institute of Human Understanding
348-105 [Faculty File, LSU, August 1, 1939-February 27, 1956]
348-106 [Hitt, Account of Hurricane Katrina, nd 2005]
348-107 [Hitt, Death, January 28, 2008-February 1, 2008]
348-108 Homer Hitt, Confidential, [October 5, 1983-December 1, 1983]
Box 8
348-109 Homer L. Hitt, Personal File, [December 7, 1970-
November 1, 1977]
348-110 Hitt, Retirement, [February 25, 1980-December 15, 1992]
348-111 Personal, [Biographical Data, nd December 1957-September 19, 1963]
348-112 Personal, [Biographical Data, nd-November 28, 1976]
348-113 Personal—Homer L. Hitt, [March 2, 1917-nd July 1965]
348-114 Testimonial Banquet, [July 19, 1965-August 2, 1965]
Box 9
348-115 Testimonial Banquet, [nd May 1965-August 16, 1965]
348-116 Thank You Letters, Testimonial Banquet, [July 22, 1965-August 28, 1970]
Subseries I.7. Other University of New Orleans Materials & Miscellaneous
348-117 ACTS-Lovelady, [nd-July 31, 1984]
348-118 Board Rosters, [nd 1980-nd 1983]
348-119 CELU; CELU 2: Court Decision [Citizens Committee for Equity and Excellence in Louisiana Universities, August 27, 1988-November 6, 1990]
348-120 Chancellor’s Search, [September 15, 1986-April 19, 1988]
348-121 [Commencement Programs, Fourth Annual Commencement, copy, May 28, 1965; Summer, August 11, 1990]
348-122 CPCU Luncheon, 11/6/80
348-123 Cultural Coalition and Cable, [August 27, 1980-November 10, 1980]
348-124 [Democratic Primary Ballot, Gov. Earl K. Long, January 17, 1956]
Box 10
348-125 [Documents, Miscellaneous, December 10, 1969-September/October 1990]
348-126 [Documents, Miscellaneous, November 5, 1978- November 30, 1988]
348-127 [Documents, Miscellaneous, March 20, 1980-May 9, 1995]
348-128 [Documents, Miscellaneous, April 25, 1984-December 1, 1986]
348-129 [Documents, Miscellaneous, September 1, 1985-April 15, 1990]
Labeled Contents on Front of Original Folder:
- Oil-Gas Recession Problems and La. Higher Education (LSU)
- Historical Data of:
- Loyola
- Xavier—Mother Drexel
- Tulane vs. Newcomb Controversy
- Enrollment Data
- UNO vs. LSU
- Fall 1987 Enrollment
348-130 Dual System: Recent and Contemporary, [March 14, 1974—December 3, 1988]
Box 11
348-131 [Enrollment, nd 1969-October 24, 1979]
348-132 Enrollment Data—UNO, Spring 1984, Spring 1987-88, Fall 1987-88
348-133 [Ephemera, nd]
348-134 [Founders Club, June 21, 1979-April 6, 1993]
348-135 Friends of the Library, [December 12, 1983-November 12, 1985]
348-136 Graduation Review, Naval Training Center, Illinois, [March 23, 1979-September 26, 1979]
348-137 [Handwritten Notes, Miscellaneous, nd]
348-138 Hitt Award (Alumni), [May 9, 1984-April 30, 1990]
348-139 Innsbruck, [July 3, 1979-nd 1985]
348-140 59th Cultural Mission—International House
348-141 64th International House Mission, [January 6, 1969-August 29, 1969]
348-142 International House European Tour, September 13-October 4, 1972
348-143 International House Mission—79th, September 14, 1975-October 4, 1975
348-144 International House Mid-East Mission, September 30, 1976-October 21, 1976
Box 12
348-145 International Trade Mart, [June 30, 1980-June 15, 1981]
348-146 International Trade Mart, [nd July 1981-September 22, 1981]
348-147 Joint Conference, Memorial Hospital, [February 4, 1982-April 14, 1982]
348-148 Letters, Etc. II, [February 11, 1985-April 30, 1987]
348-149 Letters and Miscellaneous, Spring 1987
348-150 Louisiana Educational Television Authority, [January 14, 1977-March 26, 1981]
348-151 Louisiana World Exposition, [September 11, 1980-May 12, 1981]
Box 13
348-152 LSU Board Rosters, [November 8, 1967-June 2, 1980]
348-153 [LSU Foundation Roster, nd February 1980]
348-154 Mayor Morial Statement, [April 9, 1981-April 28, 1981]
348-155 [McNeese State College, April 9, 1965]
348-156 Methodist Hospital, [nd May 1980-April 28, 1982]
348-157 Northeast Louisiana University, Materials relative to doctoral programs, [December 15, 1975-March 28, 1977]
348-158 [Presidency of the LSU System, March 29, 1972-April 18, 1972]
348-159 [Presidency of the LSU System, April 18, 1972-April 25, 1972]
348-160 [Presidency of the LSU System, April 14, 1972]
348-161 Private Institutions, Funds from State (Citizens for the Advancement of Public Education, et al); 1975-76 Items, Legislation Aid to Private Colleges
Box 14
348-162 Recommendation, Letters of, [April 21, 1967-April 6, 1992]
348-163 [Reunion Banquet and General Assembly, 1992-1993, May 28, 1992-May 24, 1993]
348-164 Southern University, [September 2, 1956-October 14, 1982]
348-165 Thank You Letters
348-166 Kickoff (25th) [Anniversary, September 5, 1958-September 6, 1983]
348-167 25th Anniversary Committee
348-168 UNO Alumni, [nd 1981-March 18, 1982]
348-169 UNO Alumni, [February 14, 1988-August 30, 1989]
348-170 UNO Alumnus of the Year, [November 9, 1987-nd 1992]
348-171 UNO Enrollment, [June 7, 1988-nd 1989]
Box 15
348-172 [UNO Foundation, June 5, 1987-nd 1995] {Dates are inclusive for all folders}
348-173 [UNO Foundation, June 5, 1987-nd 1995]
348-174 [UNO Foundation, June 5, 1987-nd 1995]
348-175 [UNO Foundation, June 5, 1987-nd 1995]
348-176 UNO Founder’s Day—September 5, 1980 (First Official One)
348-177 UNO Grants, R/D, [September 8, 1980-November 20, 1981]
348-178 UNO’s 30th Anniversary, [nd 1988]
348-179 [UNO Viewbook, nd 1992]
Material Enclosed:
- Campus Map
- Today’s Tour Highlighted
- Viewbook and Application
- UNO NOW
- Legacy 1992
- LSUNO Campus 1966
- Legacy 1990
- Present UNO Campus
- Transatlantic Partnership in International Education
- Recreation and Intramural Sports
- (information pamphlets of activities offered)
- Kiefer/UNO Lakefront Arena
- Campus Telephone Directory 1992
348-180 Vice Chair-R and D, [April 13, 1977-May 19, 1986]
Box 16
348-181 [The Cultural Service of WYES-TV, July 30, 1980]
348-182 Dennery File—WYES, [June 16, 1980-September 17, 1980]
348-183 June Mollo—[WYES, July 28, 1980-October 3, 1980] {Restricted; filed with Lawsuits Subseries}
348-184 Vince Saele—[WYES, August 22, 1980-March 16, 1981]
348-185 WTC Finance Committee, [January 23, 1987-February 3, 1987]
348-186 WYES Auction, [August 14, 1980-November 18, 1980]
348-187 WYES Board of Trustees, Annual Board Meeting, [June 18, 1980-October 6, 1980]
348-188 WYES Finance Committee, [July 2, 1980-September 23, 1980]
348-189 WYES Hart Separation, [January 27, 1978-November 6, 1980
348-190 WYES—TV, [nd July 1980-January 29, 1981]
348-191 WYES VIPs, [nd]
Box 17
Subseries I.8. Lawsuits (Restricted)
348-192 [Guilbault-Griffin Charges of Nepotism, Overview of 1970s Lawsuits, June 2, 1977]
348-193 [Guilbault v. Good, July 17, 1979-January 6, 1982]
348-194 Dr. Diran Sarafyan Historical Summary [nd; February 28, 1967-July 21, 1972]
348-195 Dr. Diran Sarafyan Historical Summary [March 17, 1972-January 11, 1974]
348-196 Dr. Diran Sarafyan Historical Summary [January 23, 1974-March 24, 1975]
348-197 Dr. Diran Sarafyan Historical Summary, 2 [January 24, 1972-October 8, 1975]
348-198 Dr. Diran Sarafyan Historical Summary, 2 [nd 1965-January 19, 1977]
348-199 Dr. Diran Sarafyan Historical Summary, 2 [December 11, 1975-April 3, 1977]
348-200 Dr. Diran Sarafyan Historical Summary, 2 [January 11, 1976-November 9, 1977]
348-201 Dr. Diran Sarafyan Historical Summary, 2 [nd February 1977-October 14, 1978]
Box 18
348-202 [Dr. Diran Sarafyan, Miscellaneous, August 28, 1979-February 29, 1984]
348-203 Legal Matters, Sarafyan and Guilbault, [October 23, 1980-March 25, 1982]
348-204 Oller Case, [September 11, 1980-September 12, 1980]
348-205 Sarafyan Matter, [May 26, 1980-February 26, 1982]
348-206 Sarafyan Matter, [June 26, 1981-February 3, 1982]
Series II. Speeches
Box 19
348-207 Annual Greek Day, nd
348-208 Capital Punishment, [Roy F. Blondeau, Jr.], nd
348-209 June Dairy Month Talk, nd
348-210 LSUNO Speeches
- Louisiana State University in New Orleans, [Announcement of University Establishment], nd
- LSUNO Physical Plant, nd
- Petition to the State to Fund LSUNO Building Program, nd
- LSU in New Orleans, nd 1958-59
- LSU in New Orleans: A College in Being, nd 1958-59
- LSUNO, [Description of University Site, Programs, and Budget], 5/2/60
- LSUNO Comes of Age, Theta Nu Chapter of Tau Kappa Epsilon, May 6, 1961
348-211 Southeastern Honors Convocation, nd
348-212 Student Responsibilities, nd
348-213 Our Highest Hope, Tentative Rotary Speech, nd
348-214 Board Speech, nd 1958
348-215 Charity Hospital School of Nursing, nd 1958
348-216 Commencement Speeches, nd 1958—6/7/60
348-217 Ground Breaking Ceremony, nd 1958
348-218 LSU in New Orleans, nd 1958
348-219 Enrollment Address, 4/11/58
348-220 LSU in New Orleans, Metropolitan Division of the LSU Alumni Association, April 29, 1958
348-221 LSU in New Orleans: A College in Being, 6/11/58
348-222 A Progress Report on LSU in New Orleans, 6/11/58
348-223 Rotary Speech on LSUNO, 7/9/58
348-224 The Destiny of LSUNO, Theo F. Cangelosi, September 5, 1958
348-225 The Inaugural Speeches, 9/5/58; [Dedication of Inaugural Convocation Monument, Program, May 22, 1966]
348-226 Progress Report on LSUNO, 11/7/58
348-227 Progress Report on LSUNO, 1/15/59
348-228 Progress Report on LSUNO, 2/25/59
348-229 Problems Incident to Starting a College, 5/13/59
348-230 LSUNO: Present and Future, 5/21/59
348-231 Rotary Speeches, [November 16, 1959]
348-232 Dr. Borth’s Centennial Speech, 1/2/60
348-233 Transition to College, Francis W. Gregory Parents Teachers Association Meeting, February 8, 1960
348-234 Louisiana State University’s Century of Service to Agriculture and Rural Life, February 23, 1960
348-235 LSUNO, 5/2/60
348-236 SGA Banquet Remarks, May 12, 1960
348-237 McNeese State College Commencement, 5/23/1960
348-238 LSUNO Looks Ahead to the Future, 8/10/60
348-239 Welcome to Freshmen, Fall 1960
348-240 LSUNO Looks Ahead to the Future, 10/4/60
Box 20
348-241 LSUNO Takes Shape, nd 1961
348-242 Sigma Xi Club Installation, nd 1961
348-243 “Our Common Educational Responsibility,” J.G. Tregle, Jr., March 22, 1961
348-244 LSUNO Comes of Age, April 7, 1961
348-245 Earliest Speeches and LSUNO Material, May 1961
348-246 LSUNO Comes of Age Speech, 5/6/61
348-247 SGA, 5/9/61
348-248 Circle K Speech, 5/11/61
348-249 Delta Omega, 5/25/61
348-250 Nicholls State College, 5/29/61
348-251 ROTC Commissioning Address, 6/2/61
348-252 The Importance of Character, Commencement, Martin Behrman Senior High School, June 5, 1961
348-253 Ben Franklin, 6/6/61
348-254 Commencement Exercises, Louisiana College, Martin D. Woodin, August 9, 1961
348-255 Homicide Investigators School, 9/18/61
348-256 LSU in New Orleans and Its Business Program, N.O. Chapter of the National Association of Accountants, 9/21/61
348-257 Welcoming Talks
- To the Student Body of LSUNO, September 22, 1961
- Welcome to New Students, nd January 1963
- Welcoming Remarks, Baptist Student Convention, October 11, 1963
348-258 Circle K Remarks, 9/25/61
348-259 Gentilly Rotary Club, 9/26/61
348-260 Louisiana Council of Teachers of English Convention, 10/14/61
348-261 Zeta Tau Alpha Banquet, 10/14/61
348-262 ASA Convention, 10/20/61
348-263 The Importance of Reading, 11/13/61
348-264 LSUNO Comes of Age, (N.O. Chapter of American Society of Training Directors, 11/28/61)
348-265 Baldini Award, 11/30/61
348-266 Preparation for College, Francis W. Gregory PTA, December 14, 1961
348-267 LSUNO Comes of Age, Rotary Club of Bogalusa, January 9, 1962
348-268 Junior Chamber of Commerce, Distinguished Service Annual Banquet, 1/24/62
348-269 LSUNO Comes of Age, Lions Club of New Orleans, March 13, 1962
348-270 Address of Welcome to Delta Sigma Pi, 4/15/62
348-271 Hammond High School, 5/21/62, The Case for Excellence
348-272 Remarks for Honors Convocation, May 24, 1962
348-273 First Annual LSUNO Commencement, 6/8/62
348-274 LSUNO: Progress and Prospect, N.O. General Agents and Managers Association, September 11, 1962
348-275 Veterans Day Speech, Veterans Administration, 11/9/62 and 1963
Box 21
348-276 Installation, LSUNO Beta Xi Chapter of Theta Xi, 1/12/63, BR Campus
348-277 Excellence in Education, Public Employees Training Institute, January 17, 1963
348-278 “Some Property of Value,” Women’s Council of the National Association of Real Estate Board Installation, 1/26/63
348-279 LSUNO Looks Ahead, Personnel Management Association of N.O., 2/11/63
348-280 V.P. Addresses, March 28, 1963-April 5, 1963
348-281 LSUNO: Its Present and Its Future, The Rotary Club of N.O.—4/10/63
348-282 LSUNO and the University System, Jefferson Parish LSU Alumni Association, April 20, 1963
348-283 Annual Business Administration Day, LSUNO, 5/3/63
348-284 Welcome of AIAA to LSUNO, 5/6/63
348-285 The Child and His Family—Full Circle, Southern Regional Conference of Child Welfare League of America, Baton Rouge, 5/8/63
348-286 Honors Convocation, LSUNO, 5/9/63
348-287 LSUNO: A Sound Investment, Vista Park Civic Improvement Association, 5/26/63
348-288 The Problem of Drop Outs, Jefferson Parish Civic Leaders, 9/11/63
348-289 Message from the Chancellor (For the Yearbook), [September 19, 1963]
348-290 “The Need and Importance of Education,” St. Martin’s Episcopal School, 10/1/63
348-291 “LSUNO and the Community,” Student Leadership Clinic—LSUNO, October 8 and 10, 1963
348-292 Remarks to LSUNO Women’s Club, October 9, 1963
348-293 The Problem of Drop Outs, East Jefferson High School PTA, October 10, 1963
348-294 Welcoming Remarks—La. Baptist Student Convention, October 11, 1963
348-295 “The Community Impact of LSUNO,” Gentilly Rotary Club, October 15, 1963
348-296 New Orleans—A University City, Speech to the Round Table Club, November 7, 1963
348-297 Introductory Comments, 11/8/63
348-298 WWL-TV Tape on LSUNO Broadcast-10 A.M., 12/8/63
348-299 AFL—CIO Remarks, Community Services Award, Dr. Hitt, 12/12/63
348-300 Whither “Citizens for LSUNO”? Citizens for LSUNO Meeting, 12/16/63
348-301 LSUNO Development, Christian Men’s Fellowship Meeting—Kenner,
1/9/64
348-302 LSUNO: A Phenomenon of the Space Age; LSU Alumni Leadership Workshop, Baton Rouge, February 14, 1964
348-303 LSUNO: A Vital Resource of Our Metropolitan Community, YMBC of New Orleans—1/15/64
348-304 LSUNO: A Persistent Opportunity, Executive’s Club of Louisiana, Inc., 2/6/64
348-305 “Improving Higher Education,” Deans Section, Louisiana College Conference, Northwestern State College, March 6, 1964 348-306 League of Women Voters Telecast, Monday, March 30, 1964
Box 22
348-307 Jefferson Parish Louisiana Teachers Association Banquet, Speech—4/4/64—Hilton Inn
348-308 Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission—April 9, 1964 (Speech), “Our Common Resources”
348-309 The Educator’s Social Responsibility, Student Louisiana Teacher’s Association, Roosevelt Hotel—April 10, 1964
348-310 Leon Godchaux High School Speech, La Place—9:00 A.M., 4-22-64
348-311 Social Welfare Day (Speech), April 24, 1964
348-312 La. Association for Retarded Children, Speech, 4/25/64—8:00 P.M., Roosevelt Hotel
348-313 Welcome, College Writers Society of Louisiana, LSUNO Campus, 5/2/64
348-314 Report of the Chancellor, Third Annual Commencement, 5/29/64, Municipal Auditorium
348-315 Fortier Senior High School Commencement Address, 6/3/64
348-316 General Assembly Meeting, LSUNO Alumni Association, June 7, 1964—2:00 P.M.—L.A. Auditorium
348-317 Remarks to General Agents and Managers Association (New Orleans), June 16, 1964
348-318 Welcome to Science Workshop, 7/9/64
348-319 American Malacological Union, Welcome Address, Sheraton-Charles Hotel—July 21, 1964
348-320 Kiwanis Club of Greater Gentilly, Speech, 7:00 P.M., 7/23/64—Seven Kettle’s Restaurant
348-321 Summer English Conference, LSUNO, August 7, 1964
348-322 Student Leadership Clinic—ODK, Tulane University, 9/8/64
348-323 LSUNO and Its Future, St. Charles Avenue Christian Church, 9/16/64
348-324 Graduation Speech for Police Recruits, Police Recruit Class 28, 9/26/64, Council Chamber, City Hall
348-325 The Role of LSUNO in the Community, Student Leadership Clinic, October 27, 1964
348-326 Youth Problems Conference, 11/7/64
348-327 Folding Paper Box Association of America, December 4, 1964, Royal Orleans Hotel
348-328 Introduction of Congressman Hale Boggs, JFK Oratorical Contest, LSUNO, 12/4/64
348-329 Welcoming Address, Southern College Placement Association Conference, Roosevelt Hotel, December 9, 1964
348-330 Some Advice on Investments, USL, College of Commerce Honor Society, 12/16/64
348-331 Area Economic Development Conference, Fontainebleau Motel, December 18, 1964
348-332 American College Public Relations Association—Mid-South District Meeting, 2/4/65—Jung Hotel—Speech—12:15 P.M.
348-333 Keynote Speaker—Junior League Meeting, “Spotlight ’65—Problem Areas of Our City,” 2/16/65—8:00 P.M.—Louise McGehee Auditorium
348-334 PAR’s Annual Conference—Banquet—3/18/65 (Gov. McKeithen speaks), Chair Morning Session—3/19/65
348-335 Welcome Address, Senior High School Counselors, Liberal Arts Auditorium, March 25, 1965
348-336 Pan-American Day Ceremonies, April 14, 1965
348-337 Ladies Auxiliary of Orleans Parish Medical Society, Progress of LSUNO, April 14, 1965
348-338 Education Day Convocation, 3:00 P.M., April 21, 1965, L.A. Auditorium
348-339 Welcoming Address, Vocational Guidance Conference, Kiwanis Club, Greater Gentilly, LSUNO, May 1, 1965
348-340 Introduction of Governor John J. McKeithen, “Campus Appreciation” Ceremonies, Wednesday, May 5, 1965
348-341 Higher Education and the Small Business Community, LSUNO Management Training Seminar, May 12, 1965
348-342 A Key to the Abundant Society, Junior Achievement Award Banquet, Jung Hotel, May 13, 1965
348-343 Progress of LSUNO, Carrollton Rotary Club, Lenfant’s Restaurant, May 17, 1965
348-344 The State of the Alma Mater, Second Annual Alumni (LSUNO) Association General Assembly, May 22, 1965 (Campus)
348-345 Fourth Annual Commencement, Municipal Auditorium, May 28, 1965
348-346 Holy Cross Commencement Speech, 4:00 P.M., May 30, 1965, Municipal Auditorium
348-347 Annual LSUNO English-Education Workshop, June 17-18, 1965, Liberal Arts Auditorium
348-348 Testimonial Banquet, 8/2/65
348-349 1965 Annual Stockholders Meeting, Edgewater Gulf Hotel, Edgewater Park, Miss., August 10, 1965
348-350 Welcome Address, Informational Institute, Sheraton-Charles Hotel, New Orleans, La., August 12-14, 1965
348-351 Second Annual ODK Leadership Conference, Tulane University, Stone Room, 6:00 P.M., September 7, 1965
348-352 Welcome, Evening Division’s Orientation Program, September 8 and 9, 1965
348-353 Welcome, Southwest Regional Placement Association Conference, Jung Hotel, 9/23/1965
348-354 Presentation of Scholarship, General Agents and Managers Association, Roosevelt Hotel, September 28, 1965
348-355 Kiwanis Club Speech, 10/5/65, Sheraton Charles Hotel, 12:10 P.M.
348-356 LSUNO Today, Speech to Westside Rotary Club, Gretna, La., October 12, 1965
348-357 What LSUNO Means to You, Gentilly Rotary Club, November 9, 1965, Vista Shores Club
348-358 WWL-TV Taping, 11/17/65
348-359 What LSUNO Means to You, Executives’ Club of La., Inc., Roosevelt Hotel, New Orleans, La., 12/2/65
Box 23
348-360 LSUNO: Present, Past, and Future, Men’s Brotherhood of the Gentilly Baptist Church, January 17, 1966
348-361 Innovations in Education, St. Bernard School Conference, 1/21/66
348-362 Welcome, Installation Ceremony, LSUNO Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi, 1/25/66
348-363 YMBC of Jefferson—Speech, Holloway House Restaurant, Metairie, La., 2/9/66
348-364 Young Republican Club, March 17, 1966
348-365 Lambda Chi Alpha, LSUNO Chapter, Founder’s Day Banquet, March 22, 1966
348-366 Address to Boy Scout Leaders, Canal Room, Sheraton—Charles Hotel, March 30, 1966
348-367 Planning for the Future, Jewish Community Center, April 7, 1966
348-368 Newly Desegregated Schools, LSUNO Library, 4/16/66
348-369 Graduation Banquet of Management Training Seminars, 5/11/66
348-370 Workshop Theatre Awards Banquet Speech, Hilton Inn, May 15, 1966
348-371 Annual Awards Banquet of Alpha Psi Omega, May 15, 1966
348-372 Speech—Society of World Relations, May 16, 1966, Delmonico’s Restaurant
348-373 The State of the Alma Mater, 3rd Annual LSUNO Alumni Day, 5/21/66
348-374 Remarks at Dedication of Marker Commemorating Inaugural Convocation of LSUNO, May 27, 1966
348-375 Report of the Chancellor, Commencement, 5/27/66
348-376 LSUNO: Your Investment in Prosperity, Kiwanis Club of Moisant, 6/14/66, Hilton Inn
348-377 Remarks at NDEA Institute Banquet, June 14, 1966
348-378 LSUNO: Your Investment in Prosperity, Rotary Club of Slidell, 7/15/66
348-379 Welcome Remarks, Gamma Beta Phi, Installation Ceremony, September 7, 1966
348-380 Education and Our Changing World, Pre-School Workshop, Jefferson Parish, 8/29/66
348-381 Gamma Beta Phi Installation Ceremony, September 7, 1966
348-382 Evening Division Orientation, September 8, 1966
348-383 Metairie Legion Speech, 8 P.M., Saturday, September 24, 1966
348-384 Parent’s Orientation, Liberal Arts Auditorium, September 25, 1966 (by Junior Division)\
348-385 Progress: A Mutual Commitment, American College of Life Underwriters, September 28, 1966
348-386 Some Problems Facing Higher Education, Southeastern Louisiana College, December 5, 1966
348-387 Urban Studies Institute, December 6, 1966
348-388 LSUNO Looks to the Future, Student Leadership Clinic, December 14, 1966
348-389 Northeast Midyear Commencement, January 24, 1967
348-390 Symposium of Southern Politics, February 17, 1967
348-391 Football Club Banquet, February 21, 1967
348-392 LSUNO Looks to the Future, Newman Club, February 22, 1967
348-393 Our Science-Endowed Society, Science Fair, March 11, 1967
348-394 LSUNO Alumni Fund Drive, 3/17/67
348-395 Introduction of Congressman Hebert, JFK Oratorical Contest, March 20, 1967
348-396 Welcome to School Counselors, Welcome to Louisiana Guidance Association, April 13, 1967
348-397 Committee of “50” Speech, Plimsoll Club, April 13, 1967, 2:30 P.M.
348-398 The First Ten Years, Rotary Club of New Orleans, April 19, 1967
348-399 Introductory Comments, Gov. McKeithen, Ambassador Alsogaray, Liberal Arts Auditorium, 4/27/67
Box 24
348-400 New Things Being Planned for LSUNO, President’s Cooperative School Club, May 8, 1967
348-401 Your Opportunities Ahead, Key Club of West Jefferson High School, 5/11/67
348-402 Remarks for Honors Convocation, May 12, 1967
348-403 Speech, New Orleans Hi 12 International Club, May 19, 1967
348-404 Commencement Address, De La Salle High School, May 24, 1967
348-405 Chapter Installation, Phi Eta Sigma, Freshman Honors Society, May 25, 1967
348-406 Report of the Chancellor, 5/26/67
348-407 4th Annual LSUNO Alumni Day General Assembly, Welcome, May 27, 1967
348-408 Commencement Address, Francis T. Nicholls High School, 5/31/67
348-409 Leadership in Rotary, Thibodaux Rotary Club, July 5, 1967
348-410 Opportunity with Responsibility, Delgado Commencement Address, 7/18/67
348-411 50th Anniversary Celebration, Baptist Theological Seminary, 10/3/67
348-412 LSUNO Speech for Public Relations Group, Public Relations Society of America, New Orleans Chapter, University Center, 10/26/67
348-413 Report to Board of Directors, LSUNO Alumni Association, University Center, October 28, 1967
348-414 Welcome, International Studies Association, Luncheon, University Center, 11/2/67
348-415 Gentilly Rotary Club, University Center, November 7, 1967
348-416 LSUNO Comes of Age, Reserve Officers Association Ladies Club, November 14, 1967
348-417 Welcome Remarks, Region X Meeting of La. Conference of Social Welfare, 11/16/67
348-418 Speech, La Petite Salon, November 16, 1967
348-419 An Afternoon at LSUNO, December 3, 1967
348-420 At the Forefront, Student Leadership Clinic, December 13, 1967
348-421 LSUNO: Its Aims and Objectives, LSUNO Chapter of the NAACP, 12/13/67
348-422 LSUNO: Ten Years on the Lakefront, American Legion, January 8, 1968; Metairie Couples Club, February 14, 1968
348-423 Higher Education and Progress, The Round Table Club, January 11, 1968
348-424 Penn Mutual Awards Banquet, Delmonico’s Restaurant, January 24, 1968
348-425 Speech, New Orleans Credit Men’s Association Banquet, Fontainebleau, January 25, 1968
348-426 New Orleans East Jaycees Banquet Speech, Congress Inn Restaurant, 1/26/68
348-427 Boy Scout Troop 103 “Court of Honor,” Oak Park Presbyterian Church, February 16, 1968
348-428 Southern Retail Executives Institute, Royal Orleans Hotel, February 21, 1968
348-429 Welcome, Counselors Conference, February 22, 1968, UC
348-430 Symposium on Materials Sciences, UC, 3/13/68
348-431 Welcome, Symposium on Southern Politics, 3/15/68, UC
348-432 LSUNO Alumni Association Board of Directors, March 30, 1968
Box 25
348-433 Business Administration Alumni Dinner, April 1, 1968
348-434 Introduction of Judge Edmund M. Reggie, April 5, 1968
348-435 Welcome, LSUNO Careers Day, April 22, 1968
348-436 Atlantic Community Center Banquet, April 26, 1968
348-437 Symposium on German Politics, University Center, April 30, 1968
348-438 Welcome Remarks to His Excellency Mr. Charles Lucet, Opening of Library Exhibit, E.K. Long Library, 5/8/68
348-439 Keys to Success in Education, Jefferson Parish Teachers’ Association, 5/16/68
348-440 Success in Education, Marion Abramson Senior High School, May 21, 1968
348-441 Report of the Chancellor, Seventh Commencement of LSUNO, 5/24/68
348-442 Welcoming Address, 5th Annual Alumni Day, University Center, June 8, 1968
348-443 LSUNO: Ten Years on the Lakefront, Delta Regional Primate Research Center, July 25, 1968
348-444 Parent Orientation, September 15, 1968
348-445 AAUP Address, LSUNO AAUP Chapter, University Center, October 7, 1968
348-446 Speech to the Round Table Club, New Orleans, November 7, 1968
348-447 Address at Commissioning of USS New Orleans, November 16, 1968
348-448 Distinction: A Personal Satisfaction, Federal Employees Award Luncheon, New Orleans Federal Executives Association, 11/27/68
348-449 The Symphony and the University, December 3, 1968
348-450 Welcome, Association of College Unions International, UC, 12/6/68
348-451 Dedication of Sebastien Roy Elementary School, Reggio, La., 12/19/68, 8 P.M.
348-452 Remarks for World Bank Group, Flambeau Room, UC, January 29, 1969
348-453 Mu Alpha Theta Convention, January 31, 1969
348-454 Career Day Program, Country Day School, February 28, 1969
348-455 CLCU Welcome, University Center, March 7, 1969
348-456 Speech, Members Council of the Chamber of Commerce, Noon, March 20, 1969
348-457 Lambda Chi Alpha Banquet, Fontainbleau Hotel, March 22, 1969
348-458 Football Banquet, Flambeau Room, UC, March 31, 1969
348-459 International Marketing Institute, University Center, April 16, 1969
348-460 Welcome, LSUNO Careers Day, April 17, 1969
348-461 Introduction of Dr. Albert W. Dent, Rotary Club of New Orleans, April 30, 1969
348-462 Welcome, Accounting Lectures Program, May 9, 1969
348-463 Industrial Management Club of Greater New Orleans, May 13, 1969
348-464 Welcome, LSUNO Oil and Gas Conference, May 16, 1969
348-465 Speech, Honors Convocation, Mercy Academy, May 19, 1969
348-466 The Student’s Stake in Higher Education, Orleans Club, May 20, 1968, 3:00 P.M.
348-467 Marion Abramson Sr. High School Graduation, May 21, 1968
348-468 Report of the Chancellor, Commencement, 5/30/69
348-469 Commencement Address, Andrew Jackson High School, 6/2/69, 8 P.M.
348-470 Welcome to LSUNO Economics Education Workshop, June 9, 1969, UC
348-471 LSUNO Alumni Association General Assembly, June 14, 1969, University Center {see also Audiovisual Series for related slides and CD-ROM}
348-472 Welcome, Parents’ Orientation, October 5, 1969
348-473 Seminar on Public Policy Welcome, City Council Chambers, 10/13/69
348-474 LSUNO Speech, Lake Vista United Methodist Church, 11/1/69
348-475 Welcoming Address, High School Honor Students, November 16, 1969
348-476 Mu Alpha Theta Convention, UC, January 29, 1970
348-477 Beta Gamma Sigma Installation, Rex and Comus Room, UC, February 19, 1970
348-478 Crisis at LSUNO, Jay-Cees, International House, 3/10/70
348-479 Mayor’s Welcome, Urban Studies Institute, UC, March 13, 1970
348-480 Greater New Orleans Rally Association, UC, March 21, 1970
348-481 LSUNO Budget Crisis Speech, Civic Council, Andrew Jackson, 4/3/70
Box 26
348-482 Career’s Day, UC, April 16, 1970
348-483 Welcome, German Politics Seminar, UC, April 17, 1970
348-484 Welcome, American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers, UCC, April 20, 1970
348-485 Alumni Association Contributors’ Luncheon, UC, May 5, 1970
348-486 Welcome, Oil and Gas Accounting Conference, UC, May 8, 1970
348-487 Welcome, Education Seminar, Education and Business Building, May 8, 1970
348-488 Saint Joseph Seminary College, Commencement Talk, Saint Benedict, La., 5/13/70
348-489 Management Training Seminars Program, UC, May 14,1970, 7:30 P.M.
348-490 Seventh Annual LSUNO General Assembly, May 23, 1970
348-491 Commencement Address, Nicholls State College, May 24, 1970
348-492 Report of the Chancellor, Commencement, May 29, 1970
348-493 Hitt Calls for Joint Endeavor in Message to New Students, September 10, 1970
348-494 Welcome, Orleans Home and Garden Forum, September 11, 1970, 9:30 A.M.
348-495 Welcome, The Association of Classroom Teachers of the Louisiana Teachers’ Association, UC, September 19, 1970
348-496 C of C Education Committee Panel Discussion, October 6, 1970
348-497 Kappa Delta Pi, October 8, 1970, 7:30 P.M., Room 216, UC
348-498 Welcome, International Studies Association, South and Southwest, 10/16/70
348-499 Speech, International Typographic Composition Association, Monteleone Hotel, October 22, 1970, 9 A.M.
348-500 Dedication of O. Perry Walker Senior High School, 10/28/70, 8:00 P.M.
348-501 Welcome, High School Honor Students, Sunday, December 6, 1970, 1:30 P.M., UC
348-502 Speech, Management Training Seminars Program Banquet, Flambeau Room, 12/16/70
348-503 Task Force on Higher Education, University Center, 1/9/71, 3:00 P.M.
348-504 Welcome, Conference on Economic Conditions in 1971, Room 211, UC, 1/14/71
348-505 Arbor Day Program, Acceptance of Gift of Trees to Campus, 1/15/71
348-506 Report of the Chancellor, January 22, 1971
348-507 Region III Food Service Convention Breakfast, January 29, 1971
348-508 Consumer Protection Seminar, Royal Bourbon Room, UC, February 4, 1971
348-509 Guidance Counselors’ Conference, February 15, 1971, UC, 1:30 P.M.
348-510 Welcoming Remarks, Wald Lecture, February 16, 1971
348-511 Greater New Orleans Rally Association, March 2, 1971
348-512 Louisiana Council of College Placement Officers, March 15, 1971
348-513 Lambda Chi Alpha Scholarship Banquet, March 19, 1971
348-514 ODK Installation, March 25, 1971
348-515 LSUNO Careers Day Speech, April 22, 1971, U.C. room 211, 12:30-1:30 P.M.
348-516 Willowdale Civic Association Group, April 26, 1971, 8 P.M.
348-517 Welcome, Oil and Gas Seminar, April 28, 1971
348-518 Welcome, Oil and Gas Accounting Conference, April 30, 1971
348-519 National Association of Educational Buyers, Welcome, May 6, 1971
348-520 N.O. Baptist Theological Seminary President Inauguration, May 7, 1971
348-521 TKE Decennial Banquet, May 8, 1971
348-522 Welcome, Conference on Consumer Affairs, May 12, 1971
348-523 Welcome, COPAHS, May 15, 1971
348-524 Eighth Annual Alumni General Assembly, May 15, 1971
348-525 The Mandate of the Honor Student, Plimsoll Club, May 25, 1971
348-526 Commencement Address, Walters Preparatory High School, May 28, 1971
348-527 Report of the Chancellor, Spring Commencement, June 4, 1971
348-528 Deep South Writers and Artists Conference, June 17, 1971
348-529 Association for University Business and Economic Research, Welcome, October 3, 1971
348-530 N.O. Chapter, Chartered Life Underwriters, Address, October 12, 1971
348-531 South Central Modern Language Association, October 29, 1971
348-532 High School Counselors Workshop, Fall Semester 1971
348-533 Management Training Seminars, December 1, 1971
348-534 Welcome, Honors Day at LSUNO, 1:15 P.M., December 5, 1971
348-535 Economic Outlook Conference, UC, Wednesday, December 6, 1971
348-536 Report of the Chancellor, Fall Commencement, December 17, 1971
Box 27
348-537 Welcome to Association of Executive Directors of Higher Education Facilities, Brennan’s Restaurant, January 19, 1972
348-538 Welcome, Seminar on Public Issues Revenue Sharing, January 24, 1972
348-539 Welcome, Louisiana Association of State College and University Business Officers, January 26, 1972
348-540 Guest Speaker, ODK Circle, Noon, February 7, 1972, UC, 125-127
348-541 Welcome to Sixth Annual Guidance Conference, February 23, 1972
348-542 Greater New Orleans Rally Association, Welcoming Address, 2:00 P.M., 3/21/72
348-543 National Research Coordinating Unit Directors’ Conference, March 22, 1972
348-544 Guest Speaker, Gentilly Rotary Club, Tuesday, April 11, 1972
348-545 Remarks to New Orleans Legislators, April 12, 1972
348-546 Welcome, Young Democrats, April 25, 1972
348-547 Welcome Address, Mortgage Bankers Association Seminar, May 2, 1972
348-548 Testimonial Dinner for President Hunter, Tuesday, May 2, 1972
348-549 Welcome, LSUNO Oil and Gas Accounting Conference, May 5, 1972, 8:30 A.M.
348-550 LSUNO: Past, Present, and Future, Management Training Seminars, 5/10/72
348-551 LSUNO Ninth Annual Alumni General Assembly, May 13, 1972,
UC 211 A & B
348-552 Welcome, Collegiate Program for Advanced High School Students, 5/20/72
348-553 Commencement, Friday, May 26, 1972
348-554 Welcome, Energy Crisis Summer Institute, 9 A.M., Monday, June 19, 1972
348-555 Welcoming Address, Women Against Crime, 10: 00 A.M., June 22, 1972, UC
348-556 Guest Speaker, Federal Business Association, Noon, 6/29/72, Algiers Naval Station Officer’s Club
348-557 Introduction of Dr. Taeuber, July 14, 1972
348-558 Ralph Jordan Retirement, July 21, 1972
348-559 Welcoming Address, Women Against Crime, 8/5/72, 10:00 A.M.
348-560 Report of the Chancellor, Summer Commencement, August 10, 1972
348-561 Mu Alpha Theta Welcome, H. & P.E. Center, Monday, August 14, 1972, 8:30 A.M.
348-562 Welcome, English Education Workshop, E.B. Building, August 21, 1972, 8:30 A.M.
348-563 Educational Conference on Cable Television, 9:30 A.M., Friday, October 13, 1972
348-564 Grand Opening of Lambda Chi Alpha House, 2:00 P.M., October 22, 1972
348-565 Welcome, American Institute for Decision Sciences, November 2, 1972
348-566 Welcome to High School Honor Students, Sunday, November 9, 1972, 1:30 P.M.
348-567 Welcome Address, Joe Davis Testimonial Dinner, November 30, 1972, 7:00 P.M.
348-568 Guest Speaker, Management Training Seminars Program Banquet, 12/6/72, 7:30 P.M.
348-569 Omicron Delta Epsilon Installation, UC, December 14, 1972
348-570 Report of the Chancellor, Winter Commencement, December 15, 1972
348-571 Guidance Conference, Tuesday, 2/27/73, 9:00 A.M., Royal-Bourbon Room, UC
348-572 Welcome, Joint Legislative Committee, 8:30 A.M., Friday, March 9, 1973, UC
348-573 Welcome, Metropolitan Home and Garden Forum, March 15, 1973, E & B Building
348-574 Welcome Address, League of Women Voters Regional Meeting, March 15, 1973
348-575 Business Council of the College of Business Administration, 3/30/73
348-576 Welcome, N.O. Chapter, American Marketing Association, Thurs., April 5, 1973
348-577 Parenton, Dr. Vernon J., Testimonial Dinner, Atlanta, Ga., April 12, 1973
348-578 Youthquake II, Welcome, Friday, 4/20/73, LSUNO Gymnasium
348-579 Guest Speaker, Council of Presidents Cooperative School Club, 4/25/73
348-580 Open House for Legislators, 5/1/73, 6:00 P.M.-8:00 P.M., Royal-Bourbon Room
348-581 Athletic Banquet, May 1, 1973, 7:00 P.M. Ballroom, University Center
348-582 Welcome, Oil and Gas Accounting Conference, 5/3/73, 1:30 P.M., UC
348-583 Welcome Address, Testimonial Dinner, Dean John A. Altazan, May 4, 1973
348-584 Remarks to Metropolitan Area Legislative Delegation, May 11, 1973
348-585 LSUNO Chapter of Phi Delta Kappa Meeting, May 15, 1973
348-586 Management Training Seminars Program, May 16, 1973, 7:30 P.M., Flambeau Room
348-587 Report of the Chancellor, Spring Commencement, May 18, 1973
348-588 Welcome Address, COPAHS, Saturday, May 19, 1973, 9:30 A.M.
348-589 Legislative Delegation Breakfast, 5/23/73, White House Inn
348-590 Young Men’s Business Club, 7:00 P.M., May 29, 1973, Il Restorante
348-591 LSUNO—Munich Summer School Program, Opening Ceremonies, June 3, 1973
348-592 Welcome, Energy Crisis Institute, June 18, 1973
348-593 Relevance of a College Degree, Commencement Address, McNeese State University, August 2, 1973
348-594 Report of the Chancellor, Summer Commencement, August 10, 1973
348-595 Welcome, Career Education Workshop, August 20, 1973
348-596 Welcome, Juvenile Bureau Workshop, September 20, 1973
Box 28
348-597 Louisiana Campus Security and Police Association Conference, 9/27/73, 9:00 A.M.
348-598 Welcome Address, Summer Institute on the Crisis, June 18, 1973, 8:30 A.M.
348-599 McNeese State University, August 2, 1973
348-600 Welcome Address, Career Education Workshop, 8/20/73, PAC
348-601 Welcoming Address, Juvenile Bureau Workshop, September 20, 1973
348-602 Guest Speaker, Louisiana Association of Broadcasters, Monday, September 24, 1973
348-603 Welcome, United Nations Day Luncheon, October 22, 1973, UC Grand Ballroom
348-604 Guest Speaker, Brother Martin High School, Parents’ Club Meeting, November 14, 1973
348-605 Welcome Address, Honors Day Program, Sunday, December 2, 1:30 P.M.
348-606 LSUNO Alumni Sugar Bowl Banquet, 12/7/73, 7:30 P.M., UC
348-607 Report of the Chancellor, Winter Commencement, December 21, 1973
348-608 Address to LSU Campus Police Officers, Training Academy, 1/14/74
348-609 Statement on Change, January 15, 1974
348-610 Welcome, Spring Workshops on Aging, March 8, 1974, 1:00 P.M., UC
348-611 Welcome, Student Personnel Administrators, March 9, 1974, 1:30 P.M., Braniff Place
348-612 Welcome, “Meet Your State Legislators” Dinner, March 12, 1974, Ballroom, UC
348-613 Welcome, Career Day Program, March 19, 1974, Noon, UC 211-A
348-614 Welcome, Biennial Convocation, Kappa Delta Pi, March 21, 1974, Marriott Hotel
348-615 Guest Speaker, Round Table Club, March 21,1974, 8:15 P.M.
348-616 Welcome, National Association of Foreign Student Affairs, March 28, 1974
348-617 Welcome Address, Metropolitan Home and Garden Forum, April 9, 1974, 9:00 A.M.
348-618 Guest Speaker, YMBC, April 10, 1974, 12:15 P.M., Braniff Place
348-619 Welcome, University Photographers Association, April 16, 1974, 9:30 A.M., UC Room 242
348-620 Welcome, Liberal Arts Honors Convocation, April 24, 1974, 1:00 P.M., LA Auditorium 140
348-621 Athletic Banquet, April 29, 1974, 7:00 P.M., Pelican Room, Fontainbleau Motel
348-622 Welcome, College of Business Administration Honors Convocation, May 1, 1974, 1:00 P.M.
348-623 Welcome, Science Honors Convocation, May 1, 1974, 7:30 P.M.
348-624 Welcome, Oil and Gas Accounting Conference, May 2, 1974, 1:30 P.M., UC
348-625 Commencement Address, Southeastern Louisiana University, May 11, 1974, 10:00 A.M., (see photo in “Photographs” series)
348-626 Installation of SGA Officers, May 14, 1974
348-627 What UNO Means to GNO, Management and Marketing Seminar, May 15, 1974
348-628 Report of the Chancellor, Spring Commencement, May 17, 1974
348-629 Welcome, Student Loan Seminar, May 7, 1974
348-630 Remarks to the Legislators, Legislative Breakfast of the Alumni Association, May 28, 1974
348-631 The State of the University, General Assembly, UNO Alumni Association, June 1, 1974
348-632 Welcome, AEC Summer Institute, June 24, 1974
348-633 Report of the Chancellor, Summer Commencement, August 8, 1974
348-634 Welcome FEB, Federal Executive Board Seminar, September 5, 1974
348-635 Welcome, Library Reception, September 12, 1974
348-636 Introduction of Dr. John Hope Franklin, Distinguished Lecture Program, September 24, 1974
348-637 Job Fair Welcome, October 2, 1974
348-638 Welcome to High School Honor Students, November 24, 1974
348-639 Report of the Chancellor, Winter Commencement, December 20, 1974
348-640 Welcome, Public Personnel Administration Seminar, January 24, 1975
348-641 Welcome, State Department of Education Conference, January 28, 1975
348-642 Ribbon Cutting Ceremony, Press Drive Separation Project, February 14, 1975
348-643 Welcome to Visiting Coaches, Kick-Off Banquet, March 6, 1975
348-644 Welcome, Developmental Education Luncheon, March 9, 1975
348-645 Science Fair Welcome, March 13, 1975
348-646 Welcome, College of B.A. Career Day Luncheon, April 3, 1975
348-647 Welcome, Science Exchange Seminar, April 11, 1975
348-648 Welcome, Bernie Sliger, Distinguished Lecture Series, 4/15/75
348-649 Clerical Workshop Welcome, 4/16/75
348-650 Introduction, Judge James A. Comiskey, 4/25/75
348-651 What UNO Means to GNO, Banquet, Management Training Seminar, April 29, 1975
348-652 Welcome, Cooperative Education Workshop, 4/30/75
348-653 Welcome, Science Honors Convocation, 4/30/75
348-654 Amoco Undergraduate Teaching Award, Science Honors Convocation, 4/30/75
348-655 Report of the Chancellor, Spring Commencement, May 17, 1975
348-656 The Next Rung of the Ladder, Marion Abramson Senior High School, Graduation, 5/28/75
348-657 Remarks for Alumni General Assembly, June 7, 1975
348-658 Welcome, Summer Workshop in Economics Education, 6/9/75
348-659 Welcome, Data Processing Seminar, 6/11/75
348-660 Report of the Chancellor, Summer Commencement, August 6, 1975
348-661 Remarks, Distinguished Salesman at Large Award Banquet, October 16, 1975
348-662 Welcome, Data Processing Seminar, 10/30/75
348-663 Welcome, Ceremony for High School Honor Students, November 16, 1975
348-664 What UNO Means to GNO, Lacho Seminar, 11/19/75
348-665 Welcome, New Orleans Classic Banquet, November 27, 1975
348-666 Report of the Chancellor, Winter Commencement, Afternoon and Evening Sessions, December 19, 1975
Box 29
348-667 Tom O’Neill, Lieutenant Governor of Massachusetts, Introduction, nd 1976
348-668 Hotel, Restaurant, Tourism, Career Day, UC Ballroom, January 27, 1976
348-669 Welcome, Department of Education Conference, 3/9/76
348-670 Welcome, Science Fair, Thursday, 3/11/76, UC
348-671 Welcome, Louisiana Council of College Placement Officers, 3/15/76
348-672 Welcome, Cooperative Education Workshop, 3/16/76
348-673 Remarks Concerning Richard J. Russell, 3/19/76
348-674 Welcome, Liberal Arts Honors Convocation, 4/20/76
348-675 Welcome, Association of Southeastern Biologists Meeting, April 22, 1976
348-676 Welcome, Estate Planning Conference, April 24, 1976
348-677 Introduction of William McCollam, Jr., 4/27/76
348-678 Welcome, College of Sciences Honors Convocation, 4/27/76
348-679 Guest Speaker, Holy Cross High School, 4/28/76, 7:00 P.M., School Cafeteria
348-680 Welcome, Oil and Gas Accounting Conference, 4/29/76
348-681 Introduction, Edwin Edwards, Oil and Gas Conference, 4/30/76
348-682 Report of the Chancellor, Spring Commencement, Afternoon and Evening, 5/14/76
348-683 Remarks for Alumni General Assembly, June 12, 1976
348-684 Tucker Retirement, UC 211, June 25, 1976
348-685 UNO—Innsbruck Summer School Program, July 5, 1976
348-686 Report of the Chancellor, Summer Commencement, 7/30/76
348-687 Maritime Seminar, September 15, 1976
348-688 Welcome, Ceremony for Public Speaking Classes, November 9, 1976
348-689 Welcome, New Orleans Classic Tip-Off Tournament Breakfast, November 26, 1976
348-690 UNO: The Taxpayer’s University, Metairie Couple’s Club, September 8, 1976
348-691 Report of the Chancellor, Fall Commencement, December 17, 1976
348-692 Guest Speaker, De La Salle High School Father-Son Banquet, January 26, 1977
348-693 Welcome, Mathematical Association Meeting, 2/25/77
348-694 Banquet Speaker, Association of College Honor Societies, 6:30 P.M., 2/26/77
348-695 Welcome, Science Fair, March 17, 1977, 5:30 P.M., U.C. Ballroom
348-696 Welcome, Energy Research and Development Administration Conference, 3/22/77, Banquet, 3/23/77
348-697 Introduction of Lindy Boggs, ERDA Banquet, March 23, 1977
348-698 Welcome, Cooperative Education Employers Conference, 3/23/77, 8:30 A.M., UC 210
348-699 Liberal Arts Honors Convocation, 4/13/77, 7:30 P.M., Business Building, Room 179
348-700 Welcome, College of Business Administration Honors Convocation, 4/20/77, 1:45 P.M.
348-701 Welcome, Estate Planning Conference, April 23, 1977, 9:00 A.M., LA 140
348-702 Welcome, College of Science Honors Convocation, Tuesday, 4/26/77, 7:30 P.M.
348-703 UNO Oil and Gas Conference, April 28-29, 1977
348-704 Welcome, Leadership, Honors Convocation and Introducing Mrs. Ruth Miller, 5/1/77
348-705 Athletic Awards Banquet, Mary 3, 1977
348-706 Speaker at Testimonial Dinner Honoring Max Herzberger, 5/6/77, UC, Room 211
348-707 Report of the Chancellor, Spring Commencement, Afternoon and Evening, May 20, 1977
348-708 UNO Alumni General Assembly, Saturday, June 11, 1977, 6:00 P.M.
348-709 Economic Workshop Luncheon, 7/1/77, Bourbon Room, University Center, 12:30 P.M.
348-710 Report of the Chancellor, Summer Commencement, August 4, 1977
348-711 New Faculty Wives Program, 8/18/77, UC Welcome, Thursday, 10 A.M., Rex-Comus Rooms
348-712 Remarks for Westbank Rotary, 8/30/77, 12:00 Noon
348-713 MAC Presentation of “Rate the Candidates” Scorecard, Rotary Club, August 31, 1977
348-714 Welcome, Maritime Seminar, Fairmont Hotel, September 15, 1977
348-715 Remarks for United Way Meeting, 9/15/77, 12:30 P.M., UC 242
348-716 Remarks for ODK Initiation, 9/28/77, 7:45 P.M., UC Room 208
348-717 UNO: The Taxpayer’s University, Lacho Seminar. 12/6/77
348-718 Report of the Chancellor, Winter Commencement, December 16, 1977
348-719 Welcome, Media Spectrum II, Journalism Workshop, January 6, 1978, 7:45 P.M.
348-720 Welcome, Guidance Conference, February 2, 1978
348-721 Southern College Personnel Association, Article Written for, March 1, 1978
348-722 Welcome, NCATE Visitation Team, March 12, 1978, 6:00 P.M.
348-723 Science Fair Welcome, 3/16/78
Box 30
348-724 Welcome, Liberal Arts Honors Convocation, April 12, 1978, 7:30 P.M.
348-725 College of Business Administration Career Day Luncheon, April 12, 1978, 12:15 P.M.
348-726 Science Honors Convocation, Tuesday, 4/25/78, 7:30 P.M. in UC 211
348-727 Business Administration Honors Convocation, Wednesday, 4/26/78, 2:00 P.M., UC 242
348-728 UNO Oil and Gas Accounting Conference, April 27, 1978
348-729 Eberle, Dr. Gerald J., Remarks for Retirement Reception, April 20, 1978
348-730 Welcome, ODK Leadership Honors Convocation, April 30, 1978
348-731 UNO Athletics Awards Banquet, May 9, 1978
348-732 Report of the Chancellor, Spring Commencement, Afternoon and Evening, May 19, 1978
348-733 Remarks, Alumni General Assembly, Saturday, June 3, 1978
348-734 Report of the Chancellor, Summer Commencement, August 3, 1978
348-735 Louisiana Appropriate Technology Conference, 9/26/78, 9:00 A.M. in Room 211-B, UC
348-736 Thirteenth Annual Metropolitan Leadership Forum, Sponsored by Tulane University and MAC
348-737 UNO International Marketing Institute, Introduce Luncheon Speaker, 11/15/78
348-738 Introduction of Mayor Morial, 11/20/78
348-739 New Orleans Classic Tip-Off Tournament Breakfast, November 24, 1978
348-740 Mary and Bill Good Dinner, December 12, 1978, 6:30 P.M., UC
348-741 Report of the Chancellor, Fall Commencement, Afternoon and Evening, December 22, 1978
348-742 Welcome, Energy Symposium, University Center, January 11, 1979, 12:00 P.M.
348-743 Welcome, The Louisiana Reading Association, Thursday, January 25, 1979, 5:00 P.M., UC
348-744 Southern Association of College and University Business Officers, Fairmont Hotel, February 12, 1979
348-745 Epilepsy Council Celebrity Roasts, Hyatt Regency Hotel Ballroom, March 28, 1979
348-746 Welcome, College of Business Administration, Honors Convocation, April 18, 1979
348-747 Welcome, Rabelais Symposium, Thursday, April 19, 1979, 9:00 A.M.
348-748 Welcome, College of Liberal Arts Honors Convocation, 4/25/79, 7:30 P.M.
348-749 Oil and Gas Conference, Welcome, 4/26/79; Introduction of Congressman Brown, 4/27/79
348-750 ODK Leadership—Honors Convocation, April 29, 1979, UC Ballroom
348-751 Welcome, College of Sciences Honors Convocation, 4/30/79, 7:30 P.M., UC 211
348-752 Welcome, La. Universities Marine Consortium, Breakfast, 5/8/79
348-753 UNO Athletic Banquet, Present the Homer L. Hitt Award, May 9, 1979, 6:00 P.M.
348-754 Report of the Chancellor, Afternoon and Evening, Spring Commencement, May 25, 1979
348-755 UNO Alumni General Assembly, 6:00 P.M., North end, University Center, 6/16/79
348-756 Innsbruck Faculty Welcome, 7/1/79
348-757 Opening Remarks, UNO—Innsbruck Summer School Program, July 2, 1979
348-758 Report of the Chancellor, Summer Commencement, August 2, 1979
348-759 Welcome, Naval Architecture Steering Committee, 9/13/79
348-760 Welcome, Jimmy Fitzmorris Speech, Political Science Class, September 24, 1979
348-761 Welcome, Louisiana Council of City-Parish Supervisors of Health and Physical Education, November 5, 1979
348-762 Address to Phi Delta Kappa, 11/26/79
348-763 Introduction of Ambassador Schober, November 28, 1979
348-764 Commencement Speaker, Georgia State University, Saturday, December 15, 1979
348-765 Report of the Chancellor, Afternoon and Evening, Winter Commencement, December 20, 1979
Box 31
348-766 Welcome to New Students, 1/10/80
348-767 Welcome to Media Spectrum Workshop, 1/11/80
348-768 Off-Campus Center Talk, January 20, 1980
348-769 Address to the Round Table Club, January 31, 1980
348-770 Freedom Shrine Dedication, 2/12/80
348-771 Welcome Fitzmorris and Landrieu, 2/15/80
348-772 Welcome to Science and Engineering Fair, March 6, 1980
348-773 “Birthpangs of a New State University,” Young Men’s Business Club, March 12, 1980
348-774 Welcome to College of Business Administration Career Day Luncheon, [Featured Speaker, Archie Manning], March 26, 1980
348-775 ODK Welcome, 3/28/80
348-776 Liberal Arts Awards Convocation. April 23, 1980
348-777 International Night Reception, April 26, 1980
348-778 Leadership Honors Convocation, April 28, 1980
348-779 Business Administration Honors Convocation, 4/30/80
348-780 Oil and Gas Accounting Conference, 5/1/80
348-781 Commencement Speaker—LSU in Shreveport—May 14, 1980
348-782 Chancellor’s Farewell, Report of the Chancellor, Spring Commencement Address, Afternoon and Evening, May 23, 1980
348-783 Response for Dinner at the Fairmont, A Tribute to Chancellor Homer Hitt, May 24, 1980
348-784 Commencement Speaker—McMain Magnet Secondary School—May 30, 1980
348-785 Welcome to New Students, June 4, 1980
348-786 Commencement Speaker, University of South Alabama, June 8, 1980
348-787 Alumni Association, Annual General Assembly, June 14, 1980, 6 P.M.
348-788 Welcome, Army Reserve School, June 16, 1980, 7:30 A.M.
348-789 UNO Summer Commencement, 7/31/80; [Richelle Curriculum Vitae]
348-790 Guest Speaker, Medical Center Commencement, 8/2/80
348-791 WYES, Volunteer Speech, September 5, 1980
348-792 United Way Speech, [October 14, 1980—October 27, 1980]
Box 32
348-793 Stern Retirement, May 6, 1981
348-794 Leadership Challenges in the 80’s, Address to Honors Convocation, University of Alabama, Birmingham, May 24, 1981
348-795 1962 Class Reunion, 2/6/82
348-796 UNO Speech, 25th Anniversary, nd 1983
348-797 Theo Cangelosi, Dr. Joseph G. Tregle, Jr., September 6, 1983
348-798 Nostalgia Series, 9/22/83
348-799 Commencement Address, Winter Commencement, December 17, 1983
348-800 Dedication of Library, 5/2/84
348-801 Civic Tribute Dinner, May 3, 1984, 7:00 P.M., Intercontinental Hotel
348-802 The Commencement, May 9, 1984
348-803 Award Presentation, G. Frank Purvis, Jr., 5/17/84
348-804 Honors Convocation, St. Martins Episcopal School, November 27, 1985
348-805 Early Turning Points in UNO’s Development, Alumni Speech, 2/20/86
348-806 Early Turning Points in UNO’s Development, Alumni Speech, 2/20/86
348-807 Mary Good’s Contributions to UNO’s Development, Remarks for Dinner Meeting, 9/18/89
Series III. Meeting Minutes
Box 33
348-808 Board of Supervisors Meeting (Special), September 1, 1956
348-809 Office of the Board of Supervisors, Mrs. Kitty B. Strain, LSU in Baton Rouge, September 1, 1956-November 23, 1959
348-810 Excerpt of Minutes of Board of Supervisors Meeting, August 3, 1957; RE: Admission of People with Criminal Records
348-811 Board of Supervisors Meeting, December 14, 1957
348-812 Board of Supervisors Meeting, February 1, 1958
348-813 Board of Supervisors Meeting, April 11, 1958
348-814 Board of Supervisors Meeting, May 26, 1958
348-815 Board of Supervisors Meeting, October 5, 1958
348-816 Board of Supervisors Meeting, November 6, 1958
348-817 Master Campus and Development Plan for Board of Supervisors, November 24, 1958
348-818 Board of Supervisors Meeting, December 6, 1958
348-819 Board of Supervisors Meeting, February 14, 1959
348-820 Board of Supervisors Meeting, May 25, 1959 (RE: Scholarships)
348-821 Board of Supervisors Meeting, June 12, 1959
348-822 Board of Supervisors Meeting, July 31, 1959
348-823 Board of Supervisors Meeting, August 1, 1959
348-824 Board of Supervisors Meeting, September 26, 1959
348-825 Board of Supervisors Meeting, October 30, 1959
348-826 Board of Supervisors Meeting, November 14, 1959
348-827 Board of Supervisors Meeting, December 12, 1959
348-828 Board of Supervisors Meeting, January 22, 1960
Box 34
348-829 Board of Supervisors, Finance, Buildings, and Grounds Committee, March 19, 1960
348-830 Board of Supervisors Meeting, April 2, 1960
348-831 Board of Supervisors Meeting, April 24, 1960
348-832 Board of Supervisors Meeting, May 21, 1960
348-833 Board of Supervisors Meeting, May 30, 1960
348-834 Board of Supervisors Meeting, June 5, 1960
348-835 L.S.U. Board of Supervisors, Roster, June 8, 1960
348-836 L.S.U. Board Agenda, Special Board Meeting, June 29, 1960
348-837 Board of Supervisors Meeting, June 29, 1960
348-838 Board of Supervisors Meeting, August 5, 1960
348-839 Board of Supervisors Committees, September 6, 1960
348-840 L.S.U. Board of Supervisors Parking Permits, September 6, 1960
348-841 Board of Supervisors Meeting, October 1, 1960
348-842 Board of Supervisors Meeting and Tour, November 4, 1960
348-843 Board of Supervisors Meeting, December 3, 1960
348-844 Board of Supervisors Meeting, January 7, 1961
348-845 Board of Supervisors Meeting: Finance, Building, and Grounds Committee, January 21, 1961, Minutes
348-846 Board of Supervisors Meeting, February 4, 1961
348-847 Board of Supervisors Meeting, March 25, 1961
348-848 Board of Supervisors Meeting, April 20, 1961
348-849 Joint Meeting of L.S.U. Board of Supervisors and Louisiana State Board of Education, May 20, 1961
348-850 Board of Supervisors Meeting, May 29, 1961Minutes, Regular Board Meeting, August 5, 1961
348-851 Minutes of Special Board Meeting, August 5, 1961
Box 35
348-852 Minutes of Special Board Meeting, August 8, 1961
348-853 Special Board Meeting, September 30, 1961
348-854 Regular Board Meeting, October 7, 1961
348-855 Minutes, Faculty Council Meeting, October 10, 1961
348-856 Minutes, Regular Board Meeting, December 16, 1961
348-857 Minutes of the Faculty Council Meeting, December 19, 1961
348-858 Minutes, Regular Board Meeting, February 10, 1962
348-859 Minutes of the Faculty Council Meeting, February 27, 1962
348-860 Regular Board Meeting, April 5, 1962
348-861 Joint Meeting, Board of Supervisors and State Board of Education, April 6, 1962
348-862 Minutes, Faculty Council Meeting, May 15, 1962
348-863 Board Legislative Committee May 28, 1962
348-864 Minutes, Faculty Council Meeting, May 29, 1962
348-865 Regular Annual Board Meeting, June 4, 1962
348-866 Student Publications Committee Meeting, July 31, 1962
348-867 Regular Board Meeting, August 4, 1962
348-868 Regular Board Meeting, September 29, 1962
348-869 Minutes of the Faculty Council Meeting, LSUNO, November 20, 1962
348-870 Minutes Regular Board Meeting, December 15, 1962
348-871 Faculty Council, 1963
348-872 Regular Board Meeting, February 2, 1963
Box 36
348-873 Regular Board Meeting, April 6, 1963
348-874 Annual Board Meeting, June 3, 1963
348-875 Special Meeting of the Board, June 25, 1963
348-876 Regular Board Meeting, August 3, 1963
348-877 Minutes, Regular Board Meeting, October 4, 1963
348-878 Regular Board Meeting, December 14, 1963
348-879 Faculty Council, 1964
348-880 Regular Board Meeting, February 1, 1964
348-881 Special Board Meeting, March 14, 1964
348-882 L.S.U. Board Meeting, April 3-4, 1964
348-883 Regular Annual Board Meeting, May 25, 1964
348-884 Regular Annual Board Meeting, August 1, 1964
348-885 Regular Board Meeting, October 3, 1964
348-886 Special Board Meeting, October 30, 1964
348-887 Regular Board Meeting, December 12, 1964
Box 37
348-888 Regular Board Meeting, February 6, 1965
348-889 Regular Board Meeting, April 3, 1965
348-890 Special Board Meeting, May 8, 1965
348-891 Regular Annual Board Meeting, May 24, 1965
348-892 Regular Board Meeting Minutes, August 7, 1965
348-893 Regular Board Meeting Minutes, September 25, 1965
348-894 University Committees, October 26, 1965 – August 13, 1965
348-895 Regular Board Meeting Minutes, December 11, 1965
348-896 Faculty Council, 1966
348-897 Faculty Council, 1967
348-898 Faculty Council, 1968
348-899 Minutes, University Senate Meeting, May 21, 1969-November 18, 1970
Box 38
348-900 Minutes, University Senate Meeting, 1972
348-901 Minutes, University Senate Meeting, 1973
348-902 Minutes, University Senate Meeting, 1974
348-903 Committee on Committees, September 18, 1973 – February 23, 1976
348-904 Senate Committee “C”, January 18, 1974-February 14, 1975
348-905 Minutes, University Senate Meeting, 1975
348-906 Minutes, University Senate Meeting, 1976
Box 39
348-907 U.N.O. Annual Oil and Gas Accounting Conference, April 29 – 30, 1976
348-908 Metropolitan Area Committee, 1977
348-909 Metropolitan Area Committee, 1978
348-910 Metropolitan Area Committee, 1979
348-911 Public Affairs Research Council of Louisiana, July 16, 1980 – October 21, 1981
348-912 The University of New Orleans Committee of the L.S.U. Board of Supervisors, October 6, 1980 – January 27, 1981
348-913 Graduate Council Meeting, December 10, 1981; Regular Board Meeting, August 12, 1983
348-914 MAC, Legislative Monitor, [nd June 1986-Junr 24, 1986]
348-915 The National D-Day Museum, June 8, 1993 – October 19, 1994
Series IV. Publications & Reports
Box 40
Subseries IV.1. University of New Orleans & Miscellaneous
348-916 “Andrew Jackson and the Continuing Battle of New Orleans, Joseph G. Tregle, Jr.,” 1981
348-917 “Board of Regents Report,” [nd] 1985
348-918 “Bylaws and Regulations of the Board of Supervisors of LSU,” March 1977 Revision
348-919 “A Call to Wholeness: The Inaugural Address of Gus Turbeville, President of William Penn College,” April 1980
348-920 The Crusade of the Eisenhower Center, Winter 1993
348-921 “The Current Relevance of Excellence,” Homer L. Hitt, The Circle, Summer 1977
348-922 “Don Smith,” UNO Basketball Program, nd
348-923 “Educating the City: UNO Steps Forward,” Lady Helen Hardy, January 1985
348-924 “An Educator’s Dilemma,” The Journal of Higher Education, nd
348-925 “The Establishment and Creation—The Louisiana State Colleges in the New Orleans Metropolitan Area—October 1955 to September 1958,” D. Sidney Duhon, 1985
348-926 “Final Report, St. Bernard Parish Special Task Force,” June 26, 1985
348-927 Footnotes Not in the Book, E.B. (Ted) Robert, 1983
348-928 Friends of the UNO Library Newsletter, December 1980 and February 1981
348-929 “A Judicial Legacy: The Last Will and Testament of Francois-Xavier Martin,” Warren M. Billings, Louisiana History: The Journal of the Louisiana Historical Association, Summer 1984
348-930 Legacy: UNO Alumni Association Magazine, Spring 1982
348-931 Louisiana Retired Teachers Association Newsletter, September 10, 1980; October 1980; January 1981; April 1981
348-932 “Louisiana State University: A Survey Report,” American Council on Education, 1940
348-933 The LSU Outlook, January 1962
348-934 “LSUNO Name Change Report,” April 18, 1973
348-935 “LSUNO Starts to Build,” Chemical and Engineering News, April 4, 1960
348-936 “Memories of J.W. Bateman,” (1884-1969),” nd
348-937 “Messages from the Chancellor,” Driftwood, etc., Homer L. Hitt and Troy H. Middleton
348-938 “The Need for Sound and Effective Student Leadership,” The Circle, Winter 1975-76
348-939 “The New Orleans Economy: Pro Bono Publico?,” James R. Bobo, 1975
348-940 “New Orleans—YES!, The Whiz City of the Year: Feasts, Fashions, Sugar & Spice Nights,” Town & Country, March 1967
348-941 “Office of Career Placement and Cooperative Education Report,” June 29, 1990-September 13, 1990
Box 41
348-942 “Opportunity at Hand,” Homer L. Hitt, Jewish Children Magazine, February 24, 1964
348-943 “A Plan of Development, LSUNO Campus,” April 1959
348-944 Promotional Materials, Circa 1960s and 1980s
348-945 Recommendations for the Future of New Orleans
348-946 “Real Estate and Higher Education,” Homer L. Hitt, New Orleans Realtor, June 1964
348-947 “The Regent’s Report,” The Louisiana Board of Regents, 1983
348-948 “Report of the Committee for Planning Louisiana State University at New Orleans,” April 1957
348-949 “Shaping Educational Policy” by James Bryant Conant, Book Review by Homer L. Hitt, Journal of Higher Education, date?
348-950 “Trends in Higher Education in the United States,” nd
348-951 “A Tribute to UNO Black Pioneers,” February 16, 1991
348-952 “Twilight of the Animals,” 1979
348-953 “Unscrambling the Egg of the Metro New Orleans Economy,” Dr. Gordon A. Saussy, nd
348-954 “With All Deliberate Speed: The Integration of Southwestern Louisiana Institute,” Michael G. Wade, 1992
Subseries IV.2. Unpublished Draft of the History of the University of New
Orleans (circa 1980-1983)
348-955 Draft, Unpublished History of the University of New Orleans, Homer L. Hitt
348-956 Early Chapters: UNO, [nd-November 1980]
348-957 Early Turning Points in UNO’s Development
348-958 Fragments of Thought
348-959 Governor Long Intervenes: LSUNO Obtains Lakefront Campus
348-960 History of Purpose Statements Within the Context of the History of the University of New Orleans
348-961 Homer Hitt, Miscellaneous Notes
348-962 LSU Flip-Flop and State Commitment: LSUNO is Born
Box 42
348-963 LSU Moves to Protect Its Investment with 1958 Constitutional Amendment
348-964 LSUNO—In Pioneering Role—Survives Integration Crisis
348-965 LSU Plan for New Orleans Site, 1956-1957
348-966 Miscellaneous
348-967 Organization or Outline Ideas
348-968 Original Plans for (LS)UNO: Blueprint for Controversy
348-969 Prologue: The Dominance of Private Colleges at Midcentury
348-970 Some Reflections on UNO’s Beginning
348-971 Some Reflections on UNO’s Beginning
Box 43
348-972 Toward a Public Option: Retreat of the Educational Establishment
348-973 UNO History and Facts; History, Facts, Chronology, Purpose; General Documents, [nd-March 10, 1983]
348-974 UNO’s Roots: Public Higher Education Returns to New Orleans
348-975 UNO’s Roots: Public Higher Education Returns to New Orleans
348-976 Upgrade—1950 New Orleans Colleges, [June 26, 1986-July 24, 1986]
Box 44
Subseries IV.3. Sociology, Published Articles
348-977 “The Aged in Louisiana’s Agriculture,” Paul H. Price and Homer L. Hitt, June 1955
348-978 “Aging of Our Population,” Homer L. Hitt, Louisiana Welfare, January 1954
348-979 “All These People: The Nation’s Human Resources in the South,” Rupert B. Vance, Book Review by Homer L. Hitt, American Economic Review, March 1947
348-980 Bibliography, Publications of the Department of Rural Sociology, Louisiana State University, 1948
348-981 “The Challenge of World Population Growth,” Homer L. Hitt, April 27, 1966
348-982 “A Comparative Analysis of the People on New Ground Farms, Plantations, and Old Family Farms in the Upper Mississippi Delta of Louisiana,” Homer L. Hitt, December 1942
348-983 “Cotton Control Reexamined,” Homer L. Hitt, Harvard Guardian, June 1938
348-984 “Culture and Human Fertility,” Phylon: The Atlanta University Review of Race & Culture, Book Review by Homer L. Hitt, 1955
348-985 “A Demographic Analysis of First and Second Generation Mexican Population of the United States: 1930,” T. Wilson Longmore and Homer L. Hitt, September 1943
348-986 “A Demographic Analysis of the Population of the State of Sao Paulo, Brazil,” Paul H. Price, May 1949
348-987 “Dynamics of the Rural Population,” Report of the Ad Hoc Subcommittee on Population of the Rural Sociological Society, Part II: Levels and Trends in Rural Mortality, Homer L. Hitt, J. Allan Beegle, and John N. Burrus, Rural Sociology, March 1954
348-988 “The Educational Status of Louisiana’s Farm Population,” T. Lynn Smith and Louise Kemp, December 1947
348-989 “An Experiment in Research Planning: Abstract of the Texas Conference on Population Research,” Joe R. Motheral and Carl M. Rosenquist, November 1947
348-990 “Factors Motivating Voting Behavior in a One-Party State: A Case Study of the 1948 Louisiana Gubernatorial Primaries,” Rudolph Heberle and Alvin L. Bertrand, May 1949
348-991 “Farms and Farm People: Population, Income, and Housing Characteristics by Economic Class of Farms,” U.S. Department of Agriculture and U.S. Department of Commerce, American Sociological Review, April 1954
348-992 “Group Differences in Urban Fertility,” Clyde V. Kiser, Rural Sociology, Book Review by Homer L. Hitt, June 1943
348-993 “The Growth of Population in Louisiana 1890 to 1930,” T. Lynn Smith, July 1935
348-994 “Health and Mortality in Louisiana,” Louise Kemp and T. Lynn Smith, May 1945
348-995 “Health in Rural Louisiana at Mid-Century,” Homer L. Hitt and Paul H. Price, June 1954
348-996 “A Methodological Study of Migration and Labor Mobility in Michigan and Ohio in 1947,” Donald J. Bogue and “Population and Enrollment Trends and Forecasts: State of Washington,” Calvin F. Schmid, et. al., Rural Sociology, Book Reviews by Homer L. Hitt, September 1953
348-997 “Migration Between the South and Other Regions, 1949 to 1950,” Homer L. Hitt, October 1957
348-998 “The Misstatement of Women’s Ages and the Vital Indexes,” T. Lynn Smith and Homer L. Hitt, 1939
348-999 “New Settlement in the Mississippi Delta,” U.S. Department of Agriculture, June 1941
348-1000 “On that word Creole again,” Joseph G. Tregle, Jr., Louisiana History: The Journal of the Louisiana Historical Association, Spring 1982
348-1001 “The Population of Louisiana: Its Composition and Changes,” T. Lynn Smith, November 1937
348-1002 “Population Movements in the Southern United States,” Homer L. Hitt, May 1956
348-1003 “Population Redistribution in Louisiana,” Homer L. Hitt and T. Lynn Smith, May 1942
348-1004 “The Problems of a Changing Population,” National Resources Committee, May 1938
348-1005 “Public Education in Louisiana,” Rodney Cline, 1960
348-1006 “Radio Habits in Rural Louisiana,” Alvin L. Bertrand and Homer L. Hitt, September 1949
348-1007 “A Recent Epidemic of Hysteria in a Louisiana High School,” Edgar A. Schuler and Vernon J. Parenton, The Journal of Social Psychology, 1943
348-1008 “Recent Migration into and within the Upper Mississippi Delta of Louisiana,” Homer L. Hitt, Harvard University Dissertation, May 1941
348-1009 “The Relation of Residential Instability to Fertility,” Homer L. Hitt and Reed H. Bradford, Rural Sociology, March 1940
348-1010 “The Role of Migration in Population Change Among the Aged,” Homer L. Hitt, American Sociological Review, April 1954
348-1011 “A Sampling Technique for Studying Population Changes in Rural Areas,” Homer L. Hitt, December 1940
348-1012 “Socio-Psychological Integration in a Rural French-Speaking Section in Louisiana,” Vernon J. Parenton, The Southwestern Social Science Quarterly, December 1949
348-1013 “Three-Factor Cartographic Representation,” Homer L. Hitt, February 1948
348-1014 “The Use of Selected Cartographic Techniques in Health Research,” Homer L. Hitt, December 1947
Box 45
Subseries IV.4. Sociology Research
348-1015 Carcinoma; Dougherty, Hitt, and Tolbert, [nd 1953-May 8, 1957]
348-1016 [Dissertation Bibliography, nd 1946-nd 1958]
348-1017 Fundamental Changes in America’s Population, [nd]
348-1018 Louisiana Population Forecasts, [nd 1951-nd 1955]
348-1019 Migration Between the South and Other Regions, 1949-1950
348-1020 Population, [nd May 1956-nd December 1960]
348-1021 Population is Everybody’s Business, [nd December 1947-nd August 1950]
348-1022 Population Growth and Problem Material, [nd]
348-1023 Population Paper, [December 28, 1955-January 15, 1958]
348-1024 Population Problems, [nd February 1944-October 20, 1957]
348-1025 Sociological Research Association, [January 19, 1972-September 5, 1979]
Box 46
348-1026 T. Lynn Smith, May 22, 1958-October 19, 1960
348-1027 T. Lynn Smith, December 6, 1960-November 14, 1963
348-1028 T. Lynn Smith, February 21, 1964-October 11, 1967
348-1029 T. Lynn Smith, June 16, 1964-March 26, 1966
348-1030 T. Lynn Smith, January 30, 1968-March 20, 1970
348-1031 T. Lynn Smith, September 22, 1972-September 28, 1977
348-1032 Retirement Ceremony, Dr. T. Lynn Smith, April 18, 1974, Atlanta, Ga.
Series V. Clippings
Box 47
348-1033 UNO, Early Years, nd 1956-nd April 1970: Clippings on establishment of the university, including site allocation, integration issues, and early budget crisis.
348-1034 General Articles, March 29, 1976-August 16, 1992: Miscellaneous clippings about the university, including its site and curricular development, and 25th anniversary retrospectives. Other articles encompass education, social policy, and economic conditions in New Orleans and the state, as well as various other topics of interest to Hitt.
Box 48
348-1035 Obituaries, April 1, 1980-March 7, 1991: Obituaries for C.A. McMahan; Martin M. Kelly; John Hunter; Bland Cox Bruns; Rufus Harris; L. Anita Evans; Agnes Lamarque Crais; and Rene Andrew Curry, Sr.
348-1036 Hitt, Early Years, nd Spring 1937-February 27, 1953: Sociology
348-1037 Hitt Retirement and Chancellor Search, December 11, 1977-December 14, 1992: Clippings on the topic of Homer Hitt’s retirement, retrospectives of his tenure, and the subsequent search for and selection of the next chancellor of UNO. 348-1038 Desegregation Consent Decree, nd 1981-August 10, 1993: Local newspaper articles dealing with the 1974 consent decree to desegregate institutions of higher learning in Louisiana; includes a copy of the 1981 consent decree agreement, a 1985 status report to the LSU Board of Supervisors, and an undated article on the subject published by Dr. Raphael Cassimere.
Series VI: Audio-Visual
Subseries VI.1. Photographs & Illustrations
Box 49
348-1039 Abdulla Yaccoub Bishara, Secretary General of the Gulf Security Council, April 27-29, 1977 {see also Box 29, Folder 703}
348-1040 Alumni Association, Reception for Area Legislators, evening of May 11, 1973
348-1041 Alumni General Assembly, nd 1980
348-1042 Ambassador Schober, November 28, 1979
348-1043 American Institute for Decision Sciences, November 2, 1972
348-1044 Argentine Ambassador, April 27, 1967
348-1045 Bagert, Ben, Louisiana State Representative, March 13, 1975
348-1046 Basketball Team, Portraits, nd
348-1047 Boy Scouts Banquet, February, 4, 1977
348-1048 Buildings and Campus Construction, nd
348-1049 Business Administration Honors Convocation, 4/30/80
348-1050 Campus Park Proposal, March 6, 1975
348-1051 Ceremony, Depository Community of the European Library, September 12, 1974
348-1052 Certificates of Merit, March 20, 1975
348-1053 Christmas Party, December 21, 1973
348-1054 College of Science Honors Convocation, April 26, 1977
348-1055 Commencement, May 26, 1967
348-1056 Commencement, May 30, 1969
348-1057 Commencement, August, 6, 1975
348-1058 Commencement, December 16, 1977
348-1059 Commencement, December 20, 1979
348-1060 Commencement, May 23, 1980
348-1061 Commencement, Faculty and Students, December 21, 1973
348-1062 Commencement, Miscellaneous, nd
348-1063 Commencement, Southeastern Louisiana University, May 11, 1974, 10 A.M.
348-1064 Commendation, Charles W. Wall, Sr., April 29, 1980-May 19, 1980
348-1065 Commendation, Dr. Jack W. Timberlake, April 30, 1975
348-1066 Commendation, “Moon” Landrieu, April 26, 1978
348-1067 Consul General of Canada, Book Donation, November 16, 1977
348-1068 Daughters of the American Colonists, Flag Presentation, November 4, 1976
348-1069 Dawson, Myrtle H., May 19, 1965
348-1070 Dees, Benny, August 12, 1977-nd
348-1071 D'Estaing, Olivier Giscard, 1927-, French Dignitary, January 24, 1975
348-1072 Donelon, Jim, Postcard of Family, nd
348-1073 Early Site Photographs, nd
- Liberal Arts Building
- Original Campus—Barracks Buildings
- Science Building
- Utility Plant
348-1074 East Campus, Illustration of Site Development, nd 1974
Box 50
348-1075 Farewell Reception, LSU-Munich, May 31, 1973
348-1076 First Graduate Degrees, May 28, 1965
348-1077 German Consul, November 20, 1967
348-1078 Grant Presentation, Earth Sciences Department, August 14, 1972
348-1079 Ground Breaking, Greek Housing, nd
348-1080 Gulf South Photography, February 27, 1980
348-1081 Heard, Ida Mae, April 1, 1979-April 26, 1979
348-1082 Holiday Card, Lewis Eaton Jr. Family, December 14, 1983
348-1083 Holiday Card, New Orleans Saints, nd December 1976
348-1084 Homecoming, December 2, 1967
348-1085 Homer L. Hitt, Candids, nd May 1971- nd December 1978
348-1086 Homer L. Hitt, Formal Portraits and Headshots, nd
348-1087 Homer L. Hitt, Last Address, Army Reserve Orientation, June 16-27, 1980
348-1088 [Homer L. Hitt, Last Day, June 30, 1980]
348-1089 Honors Convocation, College of Business Administration, April 20, 1977; First Leadership Honors Convocation, May 1, 1977
348-1090 Illustration of Homer Hitt, Frolich, nd 1970
348-1091 Innsbruck, nd 1976
348-1092 International Trade Mart, October 23, 1973-February, 1, 1979
348-1093 Joint Legislative Committee, March 9, 1973
348-1094 Lakefront Arena Dedication, Contact Sheet, November 26, 1983
348-1095 Leadership Honors Convocation, April 28, 1980
348-1096 Legendre, Dennis, Award Presentation, May 29, 1969
348-1097 Liberal Arts Awards Convocation, April 23, 1980
348-1098 Library, Illustration of 1983-84 Additions, nd
348-1099 Louisiana Senate vs. House of Representatives, Basketball Game, February 9, 1974
348-1100 LSU Board Members, nd 1973-1974
348-1101 LSUNO Outdoor Signage, includes negative, nd
348-1102 LSUNO Proposed Name Change, Board Hearing, February 2, 1974
348-1103 LSUNO Young Democrats Convention, Hitt Address, nd
348-1104 Luncheon, July 8, 1975
348-1105 Luncheon, nd May 1980
348-1106 Luncheon, Astor Professor Joel Hurtsfield, University of London, April 25, 1978
348-1107 Luncheon Honoring Ben C. Toledano, June 17, 1980
348-1108 Luncheon, Mahmoud Ismail, Chairman, Alexandria (Egypt) Shipping Company, January 27, 1977 {Accompanying documentation, November 23, 1975-June 16, 1980}
348-1109 Luncheon, Mary L. Good, August 28, 1974
348-1110 Luncheon Meeting, Members Council of the Chamber of Commerce, March 20, 1969 {includes Certificate of Appreciation}
Box 51
348-1111 Marching Band, Portrait, nd
348-1112 Medical Center Commencement, 8/2/80
348-1113 “Meet Your State Legislators Dinner”, March 12, 1974
348-1114 Michot, Louis J., [August 20, 1975]
348-1115 Mueller, Nick, nd
348-1116 Muskie, Edmund S., 1914-1996, January 24, 1975-February 12, 1975
348-1117 New UNO Logo, April 22, 1974
348-1118 New Year’s Greeting Card, Donald and Olivia Ambler, February 27, 1978
348-1119 Nonsense in the Arts Slide, “Homer Hitt’s Freckles,” April 6-7, 1976
348-1120 Ocean Thermal Energy Conversion Conference, March 23, 1977
348-1121 Oil and Gas Accounting Conference, April 29-30, 1976
348-1122 Outstanding Undergraduate Teacher Award, Dr. Jerah Johnson, nd 1973
348-1123 Peltier, James R., August 10, 1972
348-1124 Portrait Presentation from Wallace Saul, Jr., November 13, 1975
348-1125 Privateer Dancers, nd
348-1126 Reception, December 15, 1974
348-1127 Reception, December 16, 1977
348-1128 Reception, Boggs, Lindy, 1916-, July 30, 1976
348-1129 Reception and Certificate of Appreciation Presentation, George C. Branam, November 29, 1979-nd December 1979
348-1130 Reception, Honoring Alumni Association Presidents, June 22, 1975
348-1131 Reception, UNO Federation of Teachers, November 30, 1977
348-1132 Red Cross Blood Donation, Homer L. Hitt, March 1, 1978
348-1133 Resolution, UNO Senate to Homer L. Hitt, nd May 1980
348-1134 Reunion, Class of 1962, nd (shows only Homer Hitt)
348-1135 Scholarship, Presentation, LSUNO Honors Convocation, May 12, 1967
348-1136 Student Government Association, Presidents, nd April 1974
348-1137 Toledano, Ben C., Book Donation, March 25, 1974
348-1138 Tribute to Hitt, Program Photographs, nd 1980
348-1139 Tunstall, Terrie and Kerrie, nd
348-1140 Unidentified, Miscellaneous, January 10, 1969-August 17, 1979
348-1141 UNO Alumni vs. Tulane Alumni, Baseball Game, August 29, 1977
348-1142 UNO Committee, LSU Board of Supervisors, July 18, 1974
348-1143 UNO Faculty Council, Special Meeting, October 30, 1974
348-1144 Weidie, Dr. Alfred E., Award Presentation, nd 1980
348-1145 Welcome, Fitzmorris and Landrieu, 2/15/80
348-1146 Welcome Party, Coach “Butch” Van Breda Kolff, June 22, 1977 {shows only Homer and Dougie Hitt}
Sub-subseries VI.1.1. Framed Audiovisual Materials
Box 52
348-1147 Cartoon, “Need I Search Further?,” Gulf South Research Institute, Ralph Vinson, nd
348-1148 Driftwood, “The Legacy of Homer Hitt,” September 12, 2003
348-1149 Photograph, Original Campus—Barracks Buildings
348-1150 Photograph, Utility Plans
348-1151 Photograph, Liberal Arts Building
348-1152 Photograph, Science Building
Subseries VI.2. Slides & Audio Recordings
Box 53
Sub-subseries VI.2.1. University of New Orleans
348-1153 Kodak Carousel, 75 Slides, Information Services Presentation, LSUNO Alumni Association General Assembly, June 14, 1969, University Center
348-1154 CD-ROM, TIFF Scans of Original Slides, LSUNO Alumni Association General Assembly, June 14, 1969, University Center
348-1155 Vinyl EP, The New Orleans Philharmonic Orchestra, The Star Spangled Banner and America the Beautiful, 1971.
348-1156 Vinyl LP, UNO Jazz Band, Jazz from the University of New Orleans, Camden, NJ: Recorded Publications Company, 1973-75.
348-1157 Vinyl LP, University of New Orleans Concert Band, 41st Annual Convention, American Bandmasters Association, New Orleans, La.: March 4-8, 1975.
348-1158 Vinyl LP, University of New Orleans Wind Ensemble and Symphonic Band, Spring Concert Highlights, Camden, NJ: Recorded Publications Company, 1975.
348-1159 Vinyl LP, UNO Jazz Band, Jazz from the University of New Orleans, Chalmette, La.: H & G Recording Service, 1975-76.
348-1160 Vinyl LP, University of New Orleans Jazz Band, Old Favorites, Chalmette, La.: H & G Recorded Productions, 1976-77.
348-1161 Vinyl LP, University of New Orleans Wind Ensemble and Symphonic Band, Concert Highlights, 1976-77.
348-1162 Vinyl LP, University Jazz Band and Lab Band, Chalmette, La.: H & G Recorded Productions, 1977-78.
Sub-subseries VI.2.2. Miscellaneous
348-1163 Vinyl LP, Hal Holbrook, Highlights from the CBS Television Network Special Mark Twain Tonight!, New York: Columbia, 1967.
348-1164 Vinyl LP, Thurlow Spurr and The Spurrlows. The Original Splendour Production. Waco, Texas: Word, 1972.
348-1165 Vinyl LP, Johnny Cash and Earl Scruggs. Ragged Old Flag. New York: Columbia, 1974.
Series VII. Certificates & Ephemera
Box 54
348-1166 Blank Diploma, nd
348-1167 Centennial Award, The American Society of Mechanical Engineers, nd 1980
348-1168 Certificate of Appreciation, Association of American Geographers, nd April 1978
348-1169 Certificate of Appreciation, Louisiana Committee for the Humanities, April 21, 1981
348-1170 Certificate of Appreciation, Louisiana Executive Service Corps., February 12, 1992
348-1171 Certificate of Appreciation, LSU Board of Supervisors, Theodore M. Hickey, nd 1960
348-1172 Certificate of Appreciation, LSU, Hitt Retirement, July 1, 1980
348-1173 Certificate of Appreciation, Mayor of New Orleans, July 6, 1979
348-1174 Certificate of Merit, The City of New Orleans, May 24, 1980
348-1175 Chairman, Telecommunications Advisory Group, March 14, 1973
348-1176 Citation to Accompany the Air Force ROTC Commendation Award to The University of New Orleans, nd
348-1177 Congratulations, Louisiana Senate, Hitt Retirement, June 6, 1980
348-1178 Honorary Ambassador of Goodwill, Louisiana, March 10, 1980
348-1179 Mayoralty of New Orleans, Certificate of Merit, April 25, 1973
348-1180 Honorary Citizen of New Orleans, April 26, 1973
348-1181 Mayoralty of New Orleans, Proclamation, UNO Founders Day, Bicentennial-Vicennial Celebration, April 9, 1976
348-1182 Proclamation, Governor David C. Treen, May 14, 1980
348-1183 Proclamation, Student Government Association, LSUNO, August 2, 1965
348-1184 Resolution, LSU Board of Supervisors, June 20, 1980
348-1185 Resolution, Metropolitan Area Committee, January 18, 1979
348-1186 Resolution, New Orleans City Council, Hitt Retirement, May 22, 1980
348-1187 Resolution, New Orleans City Council, First Official Founders Day, September 5, 1980
348-1188 Survey of Main Campus (Copy), April 11, 1958
348-1189 A master campus development & building plan for the east campus of Louisiana State University in New Orleans and the revising and updating of the master campus development & building plan for the main campus of Louisiana State University in New Orleans, nd 1969
348-1190 Survey of East Campus, Revised, July 11, 1969
348-1191 University of New Orleans Campus Master Plan Update, Phase I, July 1981
Box 54
348-1192 Door Nameplate, Office of the Chancellor
348-1193 Printing Slug, UNO Logo
348-1194 Printing Slug, Vice President in Charge, LSU in New Orleans
348-1195 Printing Slug, Vice President in Charge, Louisiana State University in New Orleans
348-1196 Printing Slug, Homer L. Hitt, Chancellor
348-1197 Printing Slug, Office of the Chancellor, LSU in New Orleans
348-1198 Printing Slug, Office of the Chancellor, Louisiana State University in New Orleans
348-1199 Printing Slug, Office of the Chancellor, New Orleans 70155
348-1200 RSVP Cards, “A Tribute to Homer Hitt”
348-1201 Stamp, Conference of Louisiana Colleges & Universities
348-1202 Stamp, UNO Logo
Series VIII. Plaques
Box 55
348-1203 Air Force ROTC, April 1980
Box 56
348-1204 Anti-Defamation League of B’Nai B’rith, Torch of Liberty Award,
348-1205 Recorded Recognition of Significant Contribution to the City of New Orleans, June 12, 1969
Box 57
348-1206 Basketball Team, 1979-1980, Number 1 Fan 1969-1980
348-1207 LSUNO Football, Number 1 Fan, November 21, 1968
Box 58
348-1208 Base, Inscribed: Homer L. Hitt, Founding Chancellor University of New Orleans Who Built An Institution Dedicated to Excellence, nd
348-1209 Department of Intercollegiate Athletics, LSUNO, Honorary Letterman, nd
348-1210 Institute for Human Understanding, One of the Ten Outstanding Men of 1974
348-1211 Testimonial Dinner Committee, Mounted Invitation, May 24, 1981
Box 59
348-1212 Boy Scouts of America, New Orleans Area Council, Eagle Scout Recognition Dinner, Chairman, February 20, 1970
348-1213 College of Urban & Public Affairs, 25th Anniversary, October 14, 1991
348-1214 Conference of Louisiana Colleges & Universities, President, 1969
348-1215 The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, Celebration of Excellence, 1897-1997
Box 60
348-1216 University of New Orleans Shield
Index Terms
Education, Higher--Louisiana--New Orleans--History.
Hitt, Homer L., 1916-2008
Louisiana State University in New Orleans--History.
University of New Orleans -- History.