LIONEL G. WHITFIELD COLLECTION
Earl K. Long Library
University of New Orleans
Size: Approximately 0.8 linear feet (2 boxes)
locations: Japan, Korea, New Orleans, Washington State, Missouri
Inclusive dates: 1892-1964
Bulk dates: 1950-1952
Summary: Correspondence and personal papers of Leonard G. Whitfield and his mother, Mrs. Hazel James. Correspondence is from Lionel to his mother from his time in the Army between the years 1950 and 1952 during the Korean War. Also includes telegrams and sympathy cards following his grandmother’s death shortly after his return from duty, as well as other miscellaneous items such as photographs, patches, and tax forms.
Source: Purchase, 2007
Access: No restrictions on use
Copyright: Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
Citation: Lionel G. Whitfield Collection (Mss 349), Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
List of Series and Subseries
Series I. Personal Correspondence
Series II. Photographs
Series III. Patches
Series IV. Keepsakes
Series V. Telegrams
Series VI. Sympathy Cards
Series VII. Funeral Items
Series VIII. Legal Documents
Series IX. Greeting Cards
Series 1: Personal Correspondence
Personal letters of Lionel Whitfield to his mother, Mrs. Hazel James between his entry into the U.S. Army in November of 1950 and his return from duty in Korea in March of 1952.
Box 1: Personal Correspondence, November 18, 1950 - March 6, 1952
Personal Correspondence, November 18, 1950 - January 22, 1951
349-1 Personal letters from Rct. (Recruit) Lionel G. Whitfield to his mother, Mrs. Hazel James. Covers his time spent in various training camps in Arkansas and Missouri (Camp Chaffe and Fort Leonard Wood). (10 letters)
Personal Correspondence, February 2, 1951 to April 29, 1951
349-2 Personal letters from Pvt. (Private) Lionel G. Whitfield to his mother, Mrs. Hazel James. Covers his time spent in various training camps in Missouri and Washington (Fort Leonard Wood, and Fort Lawton, respectively). Also includes a letter written from aboard a ship passing through Unimark Pass, Alaska, and "Somewhere in Japan." (9 letters)
Personal Correspondence, May 2, 1951 - July 11, 1951
349-3 Personal letters from Pvt. (Private) Lionel G. Whitfield to his mother, Mrs. Hazel James. A number of letters are given the location "Somewhere in Korea." During this period, Whitfield is promoted to P.f.c. (Private First-Class). (9 letters and 1 empty envelope)
Personal Correspondence, July 20, 1951 - March 6, 1952
349-4 Personal letters from Cpl. (Corporal) Lionel G. Whitfield to his mother, Mrs. Hazel James. A number of letters are given the location "Somewhere in Korea." During this period, Whitfield is promoted to Cpl., briefly acts as a Sgt. (Sergeant), and is eventually returned to Cpl. (16 letters)
Series 2: Photographs
Photographs of and presumably taken by Lionel G. Whitfield. Photographs appear to be mostly of Mr. Whitfield's return home in March of 1952, and of the homecoming celebration at the port in Washington State to welcome the soldiers back.
Box 1: Photographs, 1951-1952
349-5 Item 1: Lionel G. Whitfield
This envelope contains 4 photographs of Lionel G. Whitfield.
Item 2: Shoreline
This envelope contains 9 photographs that depict long distance shots of a distant shoreline, most likely off the coast of Japan.
Item 3: Approaching Port
This envelope contains 9 photographs depicting the approaching shore.
Item 4: Civilian Craft
This envelope contains 7 photographs of non-military craft, ferries and several of a tugboat decorated in streamers.
Item 5: Battleships
This envelope contains 8 photographs of military vessels and transport ships, a battleship with the number "89", and a transport ship with the identification "K086."
Item 6: Miscellaneous
This envelope contains 10 photographs, several of nondescript military buildings/ warehouses, a shot from the passenger area of a moving train, and of a building bearing the identification "Ressers."
Series 3: Patches
Patches, military issue and homemade, from Lionel G. Whitfield's service in Korea.
Box 1: Patches, 1951-1952
349-6 Item 1: Korea
This envelope contains 2 homemade patches, depicting a cut-out of the country of Korea, with "Korea" stitched across the surface.
Item 2: Infantry Patches
This envelope contains 2 army and infantry patches, one of the 27th "Wolfhound" Infantry, and the Eighth Army.
Item 3: Infantry Patches
This envelope contains 2 infantry patches, both from the 25th Infantry.
Series 4: Keepsakes
Souvenirs from Lionel G. Whitfield's time in Korea and Japan.
Box 1: Keepsakes, 1951
349-7 Item 1: Handmade Wallet, 1951
Hand-stitched leather wallet, with the United Nations, United States, and Korean flags painted on the face.
Item 2: Business Card
Business card for "Hotel Kiraku” in Tokyo, Japan. Originally in a pocket of the previously mentioned wallet.
Series 5: Telegrams
Telegrams bearing messages of condolences for Lionel G. Whitfield's mother, Mrs. Hazel James, after the death of her mother, Lionel's grandmother, shortly after his return from Korea.
Box 2: Telegrams, 1952
Telegrams, April 21, 1951 - March 22, 1952
349-8 Telegrams, mostly from friends and family offering their condolences to Lionel G. Whitfield's mother, Mrs. Hazel James, after the death of her mother, Mrs. Gadilie James. There are additionally 2 telegrams from before her death inquiring as to Gadilie's health, and one from Lionel during his time in Korea stating "All is well." (16 telegrams)
Series 6: Sympathy Cards
Sympathy cards bearing messages of condolences for Lionel G. Whitfield's mother, Mrs. Hazel James, after the death of her mother, Lionel's grandmother, shortly after his return from Korea.
Box 2: Sympathy Cards
349-9 8 sympathy cards and 1 empty envelope, bearing condolences on the death of Mrs. Gadilie James.
349-10 11 sympathy cards, bearing condolences on the death of Mrs. Gadilie James.
Series 7: Funeral Items
Materials related to the funeral of Mrs. Gadilie James.
Box 2: Funeral Items, 1952
349-11 Item 1: Floral Cards
This envelope contains 6 floral cards from various flower shops.
Item 2: Floral Cards
This envelope contains 5 floral cards from various flower shops.
Item 3: Scheinuk the Florist flyer.
Two flyers for "Scheinuk the Florist", a flower shop formerly located on 2600 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, Louisiana.
Item 4: Funeral Program
Program for the funeral of Mrs. Gadilie James, held at St. John 4th Baptist Church.
Item 5: Thank You Card
A thank you card, postmarked January 13, 1959, bearing thanks for well-wishes regarding the death of one Mrs. Sarah Jackson.
Series 8: Legal Documents
Various financial documents and one marriage certificate from between 1892 and 1964.
Box 2: Legal Documents, 1892-1964
349-12 Various financial documents from between the years 1903 and 1964, including a savings account ledger belonging to Gaddie James, tax notices, and rental receipts. Also includes store receipts, a tax return letter, and applications for "homestead exemption." Finally, a marriage certificate dated February 24, 1892, recording the marriage of Ed Woodfolk to Gattie Ann Jackson. Marriage certificate is in extremely fragile condition.
Series 9: Greeting Cards
Box 2: Greeting Cards, 1951-1963
349-13 Various greeting cards, mostly addressed to Mrs. Hazel James, Lionel G. Whitfield's mother. Includes birthday cards, Christmas cards, Valentine's Day cards, and mother's day cards. Also includes a marriage invitation, a Dillard University commencement invitation, and get well card. (12 cards, 1 empty envelope)
Korean War, 1950-1953
United States--Armed Forces--African Americans
United States. Army