MSS 365 - Jesse Smith Collection: Inventory

JESSE SMITH COLLECTION

(Mss 365)

Inventory

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

October 2010

 

Summary

 

Size:                           3.5 linear feet

Geographic

locations:                 New Orleans, La.

Inclusive dates:      1963-1982

Summary:                 Ledger and Daily Receipts Journal of Terrell & Co., dba as Baronne Credit Service, Inc.; also related printed materials pertaining to the credit industry.

Related

collections:            

Source:                     Gift, 2010

Access:                     No restrictions

Copyright:                Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.

Citation:                    Jesse Smith Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

 

 

Historical/Biographical Note

 

            First listed in the New Orleans City Directory in 1962, the Baronne Credit Service was located at 902 Richards Building (837 Gravier Street).  In about 1973 it merged with Terrell Loan Company, retaining the Baronne name but moving to the Terrell location at 719 Maison Blanche Building (921 Canal Street), where it remained until it closed in 1981.  Under the management of Jesse Smith, who became president of the firm at the time of the merger, the Baronne Credit Service offered all types of loans but especially promoted its small loans, discount loans, furniture loans, and co-signer loans.

 

            Jesse R. Smith of New Orleans, a veteran of World War II, was the husband of Shirley S. Smith and the father of Vernon G. Smith.  He died on October 13, 2011, at the age of 85.

 

Sources:  New Orleans City Directories, 1962-1984; obituary, New Orleans Times-Picayune, October 17, 2011.

 

 

List of Series

 

Series I.         Loan company records

 

Series II.        Materials pertaining to credit professionals’ associations

 

Series III.       Publications pertaining to the credit industry

 

Container List

BOX 1

 

Series I.  Loan company records

 

 Terrell & Co., New Orleans, La., dba Baronne Credit Service, Inc.

 

365-1                          Loan Register

                                                December 1963 – February 1972

 

365-2                          Daily Receipts Journal

                                                July 1, 1971 – February 18, 1972

 

BOX 2

 

Series II.  Materials pertaining to credit professionals’ associations

 

Louisiana Consumer Finance Association

 

365-3                          Miscellaneous materials pertaining to the organization, including Roster and Directory, [1970], 1971; Constitution and By-Laws, 1971; agendas and reports of Board of Directors and member­ship meetings, ca. 1972-1973; memoranda; correspondence; Directory, Officers and Board Members, 1979-1980.

 

New Orleans Exchange of Consumer Finance Companies, Inc.

 

Membership Rosters

 

365-4                               ca. 1977, 1978

 

 

Series III.  Publications pertaining to the credit industry

 

365-5              Expanded Payment Table for Monthly Mortgage Loans.  Boston: Financial Publishing Co., 1969.  On cover: Carrollton Homestead Association, 2619 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70119, 821-1563.

 

365-6              Expiration Date Finder.  Baton Rouge, La.: American Press & Graphics Inc., [n.d. but 197-].  2 copies.

 

365-7              Monthly Payment Charts.  [S.l.: s.n., n.d. but ca. 197-].

 

365-8              National Consumer Finance Association.  1980-1981 Directory of Consumer Finance Companies.  Washington: The Association, 1980.

 

365-9              Pro Rata Refunds and 12/78s Refunds.  Copy 1: Atlanta, Ga.: American Charts Co., 1964.  Copy 2: Maywood, Ill.: G. L. Collard & Sons, Inc., [n.d. but ca, 1960s-1970s].

 

365-10            The 78s or Sum of the Digits Method for Computing Earnings and Rebates Including Useful Tables.  Boston: Financial Publishing Co., [n.d. but ca. 197-].

 

365-11            Federal Reserve System.  Board of Governors.  Truth in Lending: Regulation Z, Annual Percentage Rate Tables, Vol. I.  Washington: The Board, [1978?].

 

 

Index Terms

 

Baronne Credit Service, Inc. (New Orleans, La.)

Credit

Louisiana Consumer Finance Association

Orleans Exchange of Consumer Finance Companies, Inc.

Smith, Jesse

Terrell & Co. (New Orleans, La.)