MSS 368 - FEMA - 1019/1021 Audubon Street Collection: Inventory

FEMA – 1019/1021 AUDUBON STREET COLLECTION

(Mss 368)

Inventory

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

November 2010

 

Summary

 

Size:                           0.5 linear foot

Geographic

locations:                 New Orleans, Louisiana

Inclusive dates:      1963-1985; August 2008

Bulk dates:               August 2008

Summary:                 Materials (chiefly 8 x 10 color photographs by Jerry Blanchard and measured drawings (1965) by Tulane University Architectural Services) from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) documenting the building at 1019/1021 Audubon Street (New Orleans, La.), which housed Tulane’s Department of Anthro­pology until it was damaged extensively by Hurricane Katrina.

Related

collections:              FEMA – Duncan Plaza Collection (Mss 351); FEMA – Xavier Cabrini Church Collec­tion (Mss 352); FEMA – Andrew H. Wilson Elementary School Collection (Mss 361); FEMA – Charles J. Colton School Collection (Mss 362); FEMA – George Washington Carver Middle and High School Collection (Mss 363); FEMA – New Orleans City Park Corral/Maintenance Facility Collection (Mss 367)

Source:                     Gift, July 2010

Access:                     No restrictions

Copyright:                Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.

Citation:                    FEMA – 1019/1021 Audubon Street Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

 

List of Series

 

Series I.  Photographs by Jerry Blanchard, August 2008

 

Series II.  Tulane Historical Documentation

 

            Subseries II.1.  Miscellaneous materials

 

Series II.2.  Measured drawings by Tulane University Architectural Services, 1965

 

 

Historical Note

 

            The structure at 1019/1021 Audubon Street in uptown New Orleans represents a traditional duplex housing typology common to the city’s neighborhoods and demon­strates regional building practices and materials of its era (ca. 1920).  Originally built for residential use, the structure had a total area of 7,200 square feet, including a partially sub-grade basement.  In 1963, as part of an expansion program of nearby Tulane University, the Administrators of the Tulane Educational Fund purchased the building for $29,000 and renovated it to house graduate and research training facilities for the Departments of Anthropology and Sociology.  Although the two departments split in 1967, they continued to share the building until 2005, when the Department of Anthropology became its sole occupant.

 

            Grant-funded renovations in 1965 converted the structure from residential to institutional use.  The front porch was enclosed, kitchens removed, and bathrooms reconfigured.  Modifications to the basement refitted it to house three labs and, more recently, space for graduate students and the department’s reference bone collection.  Faculty offices occupied the first and second floors.  Hurricane Katrina (2005) inflicted extensive water damage, especially in the basement labs, dispersing the Anthropology Department among various Tulane buildings.

 

Source:  Documentation by Jerry Blanchard, Waggonner & Ball Architects, 2010.

 

 

Container List

 

Series I.  Photographs by Jerry Blanchard, August 2008

 

368-1              Southeast corner of building, camera facing north

368-2              Partial north façade, camera facing south

368-3              East façade, camera facing northwest

368-4              Main entrance (west façade), camera facing south

368-5              West façade, camera facing southeast

368-6              Casement windows and plaster detail on west façade, camera facing southeast

368-7              West façade, camera facing southeast

368-8              North corner of building, camera facing south

368-9              Partial south façade, camera facing north

368-10            Southwest corner of building, camera facing northeast

368-11            Partial south façade, camera facing northeast

368-12            Plaster detail on south façade, camera facing northeast

368-13            Newel post and rail detail, camera facing southeast

368-14            Casement windows and transoms, camera facing north

368-15            Front entrance (west façade), camera facing southeast

368-16            Stair and rail assembly, camera facing east

368-17            Casement window, camera facing southwest

368-18            Newel drop, camera facing south

368-19            Casement windows and transoms, camera facing northwest

368-20            Double hung window, camera facing northeast

368-21            Interior door trim detail, camera facing northeast

368-22            Newel post and rail assembly, camera facing northeast

368-23            Double casement window, camera facing southwest

 

 

Series II.  Tulane Historical Documentation

 

            Subseries II.1.  Miscellaneous materials

 

368-24      West façade, camera facing east.  Unknown photographer, ca. 1985

368-25      Property deed, September 1963

368-26      West façade, camera facing southeast.  Unknown photographer, [n.d.]

368-27      West façade, camera facing east.  Unknown photographer, [n.d.]

 

            Subseries II.2.  Measured drawings by Tulane University Architectural Services, 1965

 

Folder 1

 

368-28            Basement floor plan

368-29            Second floor plan

368-30            Interior elevations

368-31            Details of cabinets, storage bins, etc.

368-32            Basement and first-floor plans, air conditioning

368-33            Second-floor plan, air conditioning

368-34            Basement and first-floor plans, electrical

368-35            Second-floor plan, electrical

 

Series III.  Miscellaneous materials

 

Folder 2

 

368-36            CD containing images listed above

 

 

Index Terms

 

Audubon Street (New Orleans, La.)

Blanchard, Jerry

Federal Emergency Management Agency

Hurricane Katrina, 2005

Tulane University of Louisiana.  Department of Anthropology