MSS 372 - Raphael Cassimere, Jr. Collection: Inventory

Raphael Cassimere, JR. Collection

(Mss 372)

Inventory

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

February 2010

 

Summary

Size:   Approximately 7.5 linear feet (15 boxes)

Geographic locations:      New Orleans

Inclusive dates:      1968-2005

Summary:     Correspondence and papers relating to Raphael Cassimere, Jr.’s civic and academic work.

Related collections:     University of New Orleans Archives (Mss 159)

Source:         Gift.

Access:         No restrictions.

Copyright:    Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.

Citation: Raphael Cassimere, Jr. Collection, (MSS 372), University of New Orleans Archives, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

 

Biographical Note

Raphael Cassimere, Jr. was born on March 2, 1942. He is a lifelong New Orleanian, as well as a professor and civic and social leader. Cassimere received his B.A. and M.A. degrees in history from (LS)UNO in 1966 and 1968, respectively. He earned his Ph.D. from Lehigh University in 1971 and was appointed to the faculty of (LS)UNO the same year. His fields of specialization are Colonial American History, African-American History, and American Constitutional History. Dr. Cassimere currently serves as the Seraphia D. Leyda University Teaching Professor and Professor Emeritus of the Department of History.

Series List

Series I. Correspondence

          Subseries I.1. General and University of New Orleans

Subseries I.2. Vieux Carre Commission

Subseries I.3. NAACP

Series II. Coursework (Student/Professor)

Series IV. Research Projects

Series V: Publications and Articles

Series VI: Biographical Information/Curriculum Vitae

 

Container List  

Box 1

Series I. Correspondence

Subseries I.1. General and University of New Orleans

372-1              n.d.

372-2              1969, 1971

372-3              1972

372-4           1973 (Ad Hoc Committee on Minority Recruitment)

372-5              1974

372-6              1975

372-7              1976  

372-8              1977

372-9              1978

372-10            1979  

372-11a         1980 (Committee on University Governance)

Box 2

372-11b         1980 (Continued)

372-12            1981

372-13            1982  

372-14            1983

372-15            1984  

372-16            1985

372-17            1987

Box 3

372-18            1988

372-19            1989

372-20            1990

372-21            1991

372-22            1992

372-23            1993 (Ralph Adamo Grievance)

372-24            1993

372-25            1994

372-26            1999

Box 4

372-27            2000

372-28            2002

372-29            2003

372-30            2004

372-31            2005

Subseries I.2. Vieux Carre Commission

372-32            Correspondence, 1980-1984

372-33            Facing Change in the French Quarter of New Orleans: Trends and Developments, June 1984

372-34            French Quarter Manual: An Architectural Guide to New Orleans Vieux Carre, 1^st ed., 1997

372-35            Historic Summary, “Jax Castle,” 1982

372-36            Vieux Carre Design Guidelines, November 1984

Subseries I.3. NAACP

Box 5        

372-37            NAACP Conference Memorabilia

Box 6

372-38            Awards, n.d.

372-39            Correspondence, n.d.

372-40            Correspondence, 1968-1980

372-41            Correspondence, 1981-1990

372-42            Emergency Fund Raising Appeal, n.d.

372-43            Proposed Council Redistricting, 1972

372-44            NAACP and National Black Political Convention, 1972

372-45            27^th NAACP Youth Council, 1973

372-46            64^th Annual Convention, 1973

Box 7

372-47            Region VI Leadership Training Conference, 1975

372-48            Region VI Leadership Training Conference, 1978

372-49            38^th NAACP Youth Council, 1980

372-50            Region VI Leadership Training Conference, 1983

372-51            Annual Report, 1984

372-52            75^th Annual Convention, 1984

372-53            Freedom Fund Banquet, 1987

372-54            Annual Report, 1989

372-55            Algiers-Gretna Branch, 1991

372-56            82^nd Annual Convention, 1991

Series II. Coursework (Student/Professor)

373-57            Exams and Papers, 1968-1994

372-58            Government/Constitutional Law Class, 1969-1970

372-59            Miscellaneous Notes, n.d.

Box 8

372-60            Notebook, circa 1960s.

372-61            Notebook, 1967

372-62            Notebook, 1968

372-63            Notebook, 1968-1969

372-64            Notebook, Harry Cass, 1978

372-65            “A Guide to Undergraduate Study in History, University of New Orleans,” n.d. and “History Majors Guide,” n.d.

Box 9

Series IV. Research and Projects  

Subseries IV.1. Louisiana Higher Education Consent Decree

372-66            CELU: Citizens Committee for Equity and Excellence in Louisiana Universities, 1989-1992

372-67            Education in the 70’s

372-68            The Master Plan for Higher Education in Louisiana, April 1984

372-69            Newspaper and Journal Clippings, 1979-1991

372-70            Notes, n.d.

372-71            Plessy Revisited: Louisiana’s Separate and Unequal University System, n.d.        

372-72            Report of the Louisiana NAACP Special Committee on Desegregation of Public-Supported Higher Education in Louisiana, 1972

372-73            Resolutions on Education, 1961-1984

372-74            Toward a Plan for Dismantling the Dual System of Higher Public Education in Louisiana, March 13, 1974

372-75            U.S. v. Louisiana Civil Action; U.S., NAACP v. State of Louisiana Civil Action, n.d.

Box 10

372-76            Academic Advising

372-77            Africans and Indians in Colonial Louisiana, 1992

372-78            Allen Sims, Police Brutality

372-79            Chancellor Search Committee, 1981

372-80            Dillard University, Social Sciences Restructuring Plan, 1988             

372-81            Emergency School Assistance Program (Desegregation in Jefferson Parish Public Schools), 1972

372-82            Faculty Handbook and Committees, 1980

372-83            Glynn R. Simmons, Wrongful Conviction Case, 1995-2005

Box 11

372-84            Gretna: Discrimination Court Case, 1985

372-85            High School Commencement Speech, n.d.

372-86            Louis Armstrong Airport Environmental Impact Study, 2002

372-87            Louisiana Black Culture Commission, 1985

372-88            New Orleans International Music Colloquium: Roots and Revolution: The New Generation in Jazz, 1998

372-89            Race Relations in Louisiana (Kenner, Jefferson Parish)

372-90            SACS Self-Study Research, 1992

Box 12

Series V. Publications and Articles

372-91            Affirmative Action Program (Plan), UNO, 1975

372-92            America’s Best Colleges, U.S. News and World Report, October 15, 1995

372-93            Bill of Rights, Paper, Untitled

372-94            Black Studies: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications, n.d.

372-95            Brochures and Postcards, Miscellaneous, n.d.  

372-96            Clippings, Miscellaneous, Newspapers, 1972-1999

372-97            Clippings, Miscellaneous, Journals, 1961-1991

372-98            Clippings, Poverty and Justice, 1989

372-99            College of Liberal Arts, Questions and Answers, 1978; 1993-1994

372-100         Community, Jewish Federation of New Orleans, July 21, 1989

372-101         Construction Proposal, Waverly-Tallulah, Route I-20, Madison Parish, November 7, 1989

372-102         Crime in Greater New Orleans: Current Trends and Historical Patterns, September 1994

Box 13

372-103         Educational Tours, Travel Guide, 2006-2007

372-104         Esplanade Ridge News, August 1999

372-105         Equal Pay for Equal Work: The Struggle for Teacher Salary Equalization in Louisiana as Part of the Drove for Equal Educational Opportunities, n.d.

372-106         Et Cetera, A Service of Economic Applications, Inc., 1985-1988

372-107         Failure and Fraud in Civil Rights Enforcement by the Dept. of Education, 1987

372-108         Gospel and Blues, Music Educators Journal, 1980

372-109         Gaudet Industrial and Normal School, n.d.

372-110         A Guide to Using African Americans in New Orleans Before the Civil War, n.d.

372-111         A Historical Note on the Fragmentation of Public Administration in New Orleans, October 1981

372-112         Internet Printouts, Miscellaneous, March-June, 2005

372-113         Law School for the University of New Orleans, April 1975

372-114         Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, Section 2 Litigation Manual, 1982

372-115         The Legal Authority of the United States President to Involve the United States Military in Bosnia-Hercegovina (Rough Draft), 1994

372-116         Lehigh University, Miscellaneous, 1972, 1985

372-117         Long Term Disability Benefits, LSU, 1995

372-118         Louisiana Business Survey, Vol. 12, No. 4, October 1981

372-119         The Louisiana French, Jerah Johnson, n.d.

Box 14

372-120         Louisiana History Study Guides, Miscellaneous, n.d.  

372-121         Loyola University Bulletin, School of Law, August 1975, 1977-1978; 1978-1979 and Tulane University Bulletin, 1976-1977

372-122         LSUNO Planning Report, 1971

372-123         New Books from Virginia, 1981

372-124         New Orleans, January 1976

372-125         New Orleans Ethnic Studies for Teachers: The City, Its People, and Cultures (Logsdon)

372-126         New Orleans Jazz National Historical Park: Draft General Management Plan and Environmental Impact Statement, October 1998

372-127         New Orleans NOPD Reform and Crime, 1996-1998

372-128         Official Game Programs, Basketball, 1984-1985; 1987-1988

372-129         One Man’s View: Noam Chomsky, 1973

Box 15

372-130         PK-16+ Social Studies Consortium, November 15, 2000

372-131         Report of the Chairman of the Commission to Study the Orleans Parish Judicial System, February 1993

372-132         Report on Discrimination, Construction Industry, State of Louisiana, n.d.

372-133         Report of Proposal Evaluation, Sewerage & Water Board, Bureau of Governmental Research, October 14, 2002

372-134         The Sad Duty of Politics: Jimmy Carter’s 1970 Georgia Gubernatorial Campaign

372-135         School Improvement Plan, Warren Easton Fundamental Senior High School, 1993-1994

372-136         State Laws and Published Ordinances—Firearms, 17^th Edition, 1987

372-137         Supplement Sampler for The American Pageant, 1991

372-138         Together Apart, The Myth of Race, How Shall We Punctuate It?

372-139         Thunder’s Mouth Press, 1987

372-140         UNO Newsletters, Miscellaneous

372-141         UNO Office of High School Relations, 1981-1982

372-142         UNO Student Handbook, 1972-1973; 1980-1981; 1993-1994

372-143         UNO Viewbook, 1984-1985

372-144         UNO Viewbook, 1988-1989

372-145         We Won’t Go Back: The Rise of the Ku Klux Klan and the Southern Struggle for Equality, 1980

372-146         Series VI: Biographical Information/Curriculum Vitae

 

Index Terms

African Americans—Civil rights—History—20th century.

Cassimere, Raphael, Jr., (1942 - ).

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People—History.

United States—Race relations.

University of New Orleans—History.

Vieux Carré (New Orleans, La.).