MSS 380 - FEMA -Christian Community Youth Against Drugs Structures Collection: Inventory

FEMA – CHRISTIAN COMMUNITY YOUTH AGAINST DRUGS STRUCTURES COLLECTION

(Mss 380)

Inventory

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

April 2012

 

Summary

 

Size:                           0.2 linear foot

Geographic

locations:                 New Orleans, Louisiana

Inclusive dates:      March 24 – June 28, 2010

Summary:                 Materials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) documenting extensive damage by Hurricane Katrina to the Christian Community Youth Against Drugs (CCYAD) facilities at 3155 North Claiborne Avenue, 3211-13 North Robertson Street, and 3216 North Claiborne Avenue, all in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Related

collections:              FEMA – Duncan Plaza Collection (Mss 351); FEMA – Xavier Cabrini Church Collec­tion (Mss 352); FEMA – Jackson Barracks Collection (Mss 360); FEMA – Andrew H. Wilson Elementary School Collection (Mss 361); FEMA – Charles J. Colton School Collection (Mss 362); FEMA – George Washington Carver Middle and High School Collection (Mss 363); FEMA – New Orleans City Park Corral/Maintenance Facility Collection (Mss 267); FEMA— YWCA of Greater New Orleans Collection (Mss 379)

Source:                     Gift, March 2012

Access:                     No restrictions

Copyright:                Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.

Citation:                    FEMA – Christian Community Youth Against Drugs Structures Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

 

Historical Note

 

            At its facilities on North Claiborne Avenue and North Robertson Street in the Bywater National Register Historic District of New Orleans (NRHD), the CCYAD Foundation provides substance abuse treatment services.  Hurricane Katrina and its aftermath inflicted heavy damage on the CCYAD’s buildings.

• 3155 North Claiborne Avenue was constructed ca. 1895 as a one-story shotgun house with a ca. 1925 addition.  Prior to Hurricane Katrina, the CCYAD used this building as a treatment facility, with most rooms serving as bedrooms.  Although located in the Bywater NRHD and within a period of significance for that district (1807-1935), FEMA “determined that the structure did not sufficiently retain the qualities of significance to contribute to the Bywater NRHD.”  The structure’s poor condition, as evidenced by missing sections of roof and water damage, led FEMA to determine in 2009 that it should be demolished.  Textual documentation and 9 photographs.
• 3211-13 North Robertson Street was constructed ca. 1900 as a double shotgun with elements of Victorian style.  Prior to Hurricane Katrina, the CCYAD used this building as a treatment facility and converted most rooms to bedrooms. Located in the Bywater NRHD and within a period of significance for that district (1807-1935),FEMA determined in September 2009 that the structure retained “sufficient integrity to contribute to the Bywater NRHD” because of the uncommonness of its decorative details at the time of its construction.  Nevertheless, extensive water damage and missing sections of roof resulted in its being designated for demolition.  Textual documentation and 10 photographs.
• 3216 North Claiborne Avenue was constructed of bargeboard ca. 1910 as an L-shaped one-story shotgun, probably because of the constraints of its shallow lot.  Before Hurricane Katrina, the building served as a treatment facility for the CCYAD.  Its front room housed an office and reception area and the east room functioned as a laundry room.  Residents shared a kitchen and bathroom, and the rest of the house was given over to bedrooms.  Located in the Bywater NRHD and within a period of significance for that district (1807-1935), in September 2009 the structure was determined by FEMA to retain “sufficient integrity to contribute to the Bywater NRHD.”  Its deterioration, as evidenced by missing sections of roof and extensive water damage, have marked it for demolition.  Textual documentation and 15 photographs.
• 1540-42 Piety Street, 9 photographs only (no textual documentation).

 

 

Source:  Wittie, Kelly Sellers.  Recordation of the Christian Community Youth Against Drugs Structures, New Orleans, Orleans Parish, Louisiana.  New Orleans: R. Christopher Goodwin & Associates, April 2010.

 

 

List of Series

 

Series I.         Textual documentation

 

Series II.        Photographic documentation

 

 

Container List

 

Series I.  Textual documentation

 

Folder 1

 

380-1              Wittie, Kelly Sellers.  Recordation of the Christian Community Youth Against Drugs Structures, New Orleans, Orleans Parish, Louisiana.  New Orleans: R. Christopher Goodwin & Associates, April 2010.

 

Series II.  Photographic documentation

 

Folder 2

 

3155 North Claiborne Avenue, New Orleans, Louisiana.  5” x 7” glossy black-and-white photographs by Kelly Sellers Wittie, photographer.  March 24, 2010.

380-2        View of south elevation, facing north

380-3        View of north elevation, facing south

380-4        View of west elevation, facing northeast

380-5        View of east elevation, facing northwest

380-6        View of southwest corner, facing northeast

380-7        View of southeast corner, facing northwest

380-8        View of dining room, facing south

380-9        View of rear bedroom, facing north

380-10     View of 3100 odd block of North Claiborne Avenue

 

Folder 3

 

3216 North Claiborne Avenue, New Orleans, Louisiana.  5” x 7” glossy black-and-white photographs by Kelly Sellers Wittie, photographer.  March 24, 2010.

380-11     View of north elevation, facing south

380-12     View of south elevation, facing northeast

380-13     View of east elevation, facing west

380-14     View of west elevation, facing east

380-15     View of northwest corner, facing southeast

380-16     View of northeast corner, facing southwest

380-17     View of front room, facing south

380-18     View of laundry room, facing south

380-19     View of 3200 even block of North Claiborne Avenue, facing southeast

3216 North Claiborne Avenue, New Orleans, Louisiana.  5” x 7” glossy color photograph by A. Seward, photographer.  June 28, 2010.

380-20     View facing south

 

Folder 4

 

3211-13 North Robertson Street, New Orleans, Louisiana.  5” x 7” glossy black-and-white photographs by Kelly Sellers Wittie, photographer.  March 24, 2010.

380-21     View of south elevation, facing north

380-22     View of north elevation, facing south

380-23     View of west elevation, facing east

380-24     View of east elevation, facing west

380-25     View of southwest corner, facing northeast

380-26     View of southeast corner, facing northwest

380-27     View of interior bedroom, facing north

380-28     View of front room, facing northeast

380-29     View of quoins on south elevation, facing north

380-30     View of 3200 block odd of North Robertson Street, facing northeast

3211-13 North Robertson Street, New Orleans, Louisiana.  5” x 7” glossy color photographs by A. Seward, photographer.  June 28, 2010.

380-31     View facing northwest

380-32     View facing southeast

380-33     View facing north

380-34     View facing northwest

380-35     View facing north

 

Folder 5

 

1540-42 Piety Street, New Orleans, Louisiana.  5” x 7” glossy color photographs by A. Seward, photographer.  June 28, 2010.

380-36     View facing west

380-37     View facing northwest

380-38     View facing west

380-94     View facing north

380-40     View facing west

380-41     View facing south

380-42     View facing southwest

380-43     View facing west

380-44     View facing west

 

Index Terms

 

Christian Community Youth Against Drugs Structures (New Orleans, La.)

Federal Emergency Management Agency

Hurricane Katrina, 2005

Seward, A.

Wittie, Kelly Sellers.