MSS 382 - FEMA - Enon Elementary School Recordation: Inventory

FEMA – ENON ELEMENTARY SCHOOL RECORDATION

(Mss 382)

Inventory

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

April 2012

 

Summary

 

Size:                      0.25 linear foot

Geographic

locations:               Enon, Washington Parish, Louisiana

Inclusive dates:     2011-2012

Summary:              Textual and photographic documentation from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) recording Enon Elementary School, located at 14508 Highway 16, Enon, Washington Parish, Louisiana.

Related

collections:            FEMA – Duncan Plaza Collection (Mss 351); FEMA – Xavier Cabrini Church Collec­tion (Mss 352); FEMA – Jackson Barracks Collection (Mss 360); FEMA – Andrew H. Wilson Elementary School Collection (Mss 361); FEMA – George Washington Carver Middle and High School Collection (Mss 363); FEMA – New Orleans City Park Corral/Main­tenance Facility Collection (Mss 367); FEMA – 1019/1021 Audubon Street Collection (Mss 368); FEMA – Francis W. Gregory Junior High School Collection (Mss 373); FEMA – Orleans Parish Projects Collection (Mss 376); FEMA – YWCA of Greater New Orleans Collection (Mss 379); FEMA – Christian Community Youth Against Drugs Structures Collection (Mss 380); FEMA – Kingsley House Draft Report (Mss 381)

Source:                  Gift, April 2012

Access:                  No restrictions

Copyright:             Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.

Citation:                 FEMA – Enon Elementary School Recordation, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

 

Historical Note

 

          The land upon which Enon Elementary School stands was previously the property of Boyd K. Knight, who donated it to Washington Parish in 1922 as the future site of Enon High School.  Five buildings were constructed between 1922 and 1939 to house the high school.  At some later time, it was repurposed as an elementary school.

 

          According to FEMA, the school complex “expresses the distinctive characteristics of the PWA [Public Works Administration] Moderne style, especially within the rural setting of Washington Parish.  In addition, two buildings erected by the Public Works Administration ... are also situated on the site.  The facility is remarkably intact with a high degree of architectural integrity and value to the residents of the small community.”

 

          In response to Hurricanes Katrina and Rita (2005), FEMA has granted funding “to implement wind retrofit measures in the form of mesh screens to be attached to the exterior windows of Enon Elementary School.”  The school is eligible for inclusion in the National Register of Historic Places, and FEMA has determined that “installation of the mesh screens would result in adverse effects to the historic school.”  This documentation has been prepared to mitigate those adverse effects.

 

Source:  DiGiuseppe, Dan.  “Enon Elementary School Recordation, 14508 Highway 16, Enon, Washington Parish, Louisiana.”  [S.l.]: FEMA, April 3, 2011.

 

List of Series

 

Series I.  Textual documentation

 

Series II.  Photographic documentation

 

Container List

 

Series I.  Textual documentation

 

Folder 1

 

382-1       DiGiuseppe, Dan.  “Enon Elementary School Recordation, 14508 Highway 16, Enon, Washington Parish, Louisiana.”  [S.l.]: FEMA, April 3, 2011.

 

Series II.  Photographic documentation

 

Folder 2

 

Glossy color photographs of Enon Elementary School, 14508 Highway 16, Enon, Washington Parish, Louisiana.  Each is approximately 5” x 7.5”, most printed two per page on 8.5” x 11” photographic paper.  Photographed by A. Seward.  Undated but ca. 2011.

382-2       Enon Elementary School, detail main entrance south façade of main building ... facing northeast.

382-3       Enon Elementary School, main elevation in main building ... facing north.

382-4       Enon Elementary School, oblique main building ... facing northwest.

382-5       Enon Elementary School, oblique main building ... facing northeast.

382-6       Enon Elementary School, oblique main building to mimic historic rendering ... facing northeast.

382-7       Enon Elementary School, lobby area in main building … facing east.

382-8       Enon Elementary School, auditorium in main building … facing east.

382-9       Enon Elementary School, auditorium stairwell in main building … facing south.

382-10     Enon Elementary School, interior in main building … facing north.

382-11     Enon Elementary School, central stairwell in main building … facing east.

382-12     Enon Elementary School, central stairwell in main building … facing east.

382-13     Enon Elementary School, detail main entrance south … facing north.

382-14     Enon Elementary School, detail window on south façade of main building … facing north.

382-15     Enon Elementary School, interior window in main building … facing east.

382-16     Enon Elementary School, interior hall in main building … facing north.

382-17     Enon Elementary School, oblique main building to mimic historic rendering … facing northeast.

382-18     Enon Elementary School, main elevation annex building … facing north.

382-19     Enon Elementary School, main elevation gymnasium … facing north.

382-20     Enon Elementary School, oblique gymnasium … facing northeast.

382-21     Enon Elementary School, rear oblique gymnasium … facing southwest.

382-22     Enon Elementary School, rear oblique annex and gymnasium … facing southwest.

382-23     Enon Elementary School, oblique ancillary buildings behind the main building … facing northeast.

382-24     Enon Elementary School, context showing spatial relationship between main building and ancillary buildings located behind the main building … facing west.

382-25     Enon Elementary School, south elevations of ancillary buildings, two center cottages are PWA … facing northwest.

382-26     Enon Elementary School, south elevation ancillary building … facing north.

382-27     Enon Elementary School, PWA classroom building … facing north.

382-28     Enon Elementary School, south elevation PWA classroom building … facing north.

382-29     Enon Elementary School, south elevation ancillary building … facing north.

382-30     Enon Elementary School, north (rear) elevation main building … facing south.

382-31     Enon Elementary School, north and east elevations main building … facing southwest.

382-32     Enon Elementary School, detail window on south façade of main building … facing north.

 

Folder 3

 

382-33     CD containing Enon Elementary School documentation.

 

Index Terms

 

DiGiuseppe, Dan

Enon Elementary School (Enon, La.)

Federal Emergency Management Agency

Hurricane Katrina, 2005

Hurricane Rita, 2005

Schools—Louisiana—Enon

Seward, A.

Washington Parish, La.