MSS 383 - FEMA - McDonogh No. 16 School (Center for the Education of Adults) Collection: Inventory

FEMA – McDONOGH NO. 16 SCHOOL (NEW ORLEANS CENTER FOR THE EDUCATION OF ADULTS) COLLECTION

(Mss 383)

Inventory

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

May 2012

 

Summary

 

Size:                      0.2 linear foot

Geographic

locations:               New Orleans, Louisiana

Inclusive dates:     2010-2011

Summary:              Textual and photographic documentation from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) recording McDonogh No. 16 School, 1815 St. Claude Avenue, New Orleans, Louisiana.

Related

collections:            Orleans Parish School Board Archives (Mss 147); FEMA – Duncan Plaza Collection (Mss 351); FEMA – Xavier Cabrini Church Collec­tion (Mss 352); FEMA – Jackson Barracks Collection (Mss 360); FEMA – Andrew H. Wilson Elementary School Collection (Mss 361); FEMA – George Washington Carver Middle and High School Collection (Mss 363); FEMA – New Orleans City Park Corral/Main­tenance Facility Collection (Mss 367); FEMA – 1019/1021 Audubon Street Collection (Mss 368); FEMA – Francis W. Gregory Junior High School Collection (Mss 373); FEMA – Orleans Parish Projects Collection (Mss 376); FEMA – YWCA of Greater New Orleans Collection (Mss 379); FEMA – Christian Community Youth Against Drugs Structures Collection (Mss 380); FEMA – Kingsley House Draft Report (Mss 381); FEMA – Enon Elementary School Recordation (Mss 382); FEMA – William Frantz School Collection (Mss 384)

Source:                  Gift, May 2012

Access:                  No restrictions

Copyright:             Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.

Citation:                 FEMA – McDonogh No. 16 School (New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults) Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

 

 

Historical Note

 

          Construction of McDonogh No. 16 School began in 1908, and the school was dedicated on November 6, 1909.  It replaced a building that previously stood on part of the site, which was originally the Fillmore School (built ca. 1848) but was renovated in about 1884 and renamed in honor of John McDonogh, the philanthropist whose bequest provided for the construction of numerous schools in New Orleans.  McDonogh No. 16 School underwent extensive renovation in 1952, at which time its use beyond 1971 was not anticipated.  In fact, however, the building remained in use well beyond that date, known successively as the Gateway School and as the New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults (NOCEA).  The structure sustained heavy damage as a result of Hurricane Katrina (2005).

 

          The McDonogh No. 16 School building is considered “a contributing resource to the New Marigny Historic District.”  It is eligible for listing on the Register of Historic Places “for its association with the early-twentieth-century growth of the Orleans Parish School District and the City of New Orleans,” as well as for “the distinctive characteristics of the Italian Renaissance Revival school in New Orleans” which it embodies.

 

Source:  Smith, C. Spencer.  “McDonogh No. 16, New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults.”  [S.l.: s.n.], 2011.

 

 

List of Series

 

Series I.  Photographic documentation

 

Series II.  Textual documentation

 

Container List

 

Series I.  Photographic documentation

 

Folder 1

 

Glossy color photographs of New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults (NOCEA, formerly McDonogh No. 16 School), 1815 St. Claude Avenue, New Orleans, Louisiana.  Each is 8” x 10”.  Photographed by C. Spencer Smith unless otherwise noted.

 

383-1      New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … north elevation main classroom building, facing southeast.  February 25, 2011.

 

383-2       New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … east elevation main classroom building, facing west.  April 27, 2011.

 

383-3       New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … south elevation main classroom building, facing north.  March 1, 2011.

 

383-4       New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … west elevation main classroom building, facing east.  February 25, 2011.

 

383-5       New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … northeast oblique main classroom building, facing southwest.  May 18, 2011.

 

383-6       New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … southeast oblique main classroom building, facing northwest.  May 26, 2011.

 

383-7       New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … southwest oblique main classroom building, facing northeast.  May 26, 2011.

 

383-8       New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … northwest oblique main classroom building, facing southeast.  May 26, 2011.

 

383-9       New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … south entry, main building, facing north.  February 25, 2011.

 

383-10     New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … west entry, facing east.  February 25, 2011.

 

383-11     New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … north entry, main building, facing south.  April 27, 2011.

 

383-12     New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … east entry, main classroom building, facing west.  February 25, 2011.

 

383-13     New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … terra cotta detail, main building, facing northeast.  February 25, 2011.

 

383-14     New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … French tile detail, main classroom building, facing northwest.  February 25, 2011.

 

383-15     New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … roof bracket detail, main classroom building.  February 25, 2011.

 

383-16     New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … south elevation, window, main building, facing north.  February 25, 2011.

 

383-17     New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … north elevation, window, main building, facing south.  April 27, 2011.

 

383-18     New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … main entry stairs, main classroom building, facing north.  Photographed by FEMA.  March 16, 2010.

 

383-19     New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … main stair, main building, facing south.  Photographed by FEMA.  March 16, 2010.

 

383-20     New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … first floor columns, main building, facing west.  Photographed by FEMA.  March 16, 2010.

 

383-21     New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … second floor administration, main classroom building, facing south.  Photographed by FEMA.  March 16, 2010.

 

383-22     New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … second floor administration doors, main building, facing south.  Photographed by FEMA.  March 16, 2010.

 

383-23     New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … second floor typical classroom, main classroom building, facing south.  Photographed by FEMA.  March 16, 2010.

 

383-24     New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … second floor corridor, main classroom building, facing east.  Photographed by FEMA.  March 16, 2010.

 

383-25     New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … secondary stair, main classroom building, facing east.  Photographed by FEMA.  March 16, 2010.

 

383-26     New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … northeast corner – contextual view, main classroom building, facing northwest.  September 27, 2011.

 

383-27     New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … southeast corner – contextual view, main classroom building, facing southwest.  September 27, 2011.

 

383-28     New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … southwest corner – contextual view, main classroom building, facing northeast.  September 27, 2011.

 

383-29     New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults, … north elevation – contextual view, main classroom building, facing south.  September 27, 2011.

 

Folder 2

 

383-30     CD containing McDonogh No. 16 School (New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults) documentation.  Contains 16 images not included as prints.

 

Series II.  Textual documentation

 

Folder 3

 

383-31     Smith, C. Spencer.  “McDonogh No. 16, New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults.”  [S.l.: s.n.], 2011.

Includes photographer’s log and narrative report.

 

Index Terms

 

Federal Emergency Management Agency

Hurricane Katrina, 2005

McDonogh No. 16 School (New Orleans, La.)

New Orleans Center for the Education of Adults

Schools—Louisiana—New Orleans

Smith, C. Spencer