Skip to main content

Reference Sources by Subject: Music Reference Sources

This guide lists the key reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in various subject areas.

Biographical Information

Biography in Context -- In addition to biographical articles, this database provides links to newspaper and magazine articles, websites and other sources about important figures in a variety of professions.

The New Grove dictionary of music and musicians -- This 20-volume work provides thorough overviews of musicians, compusers as well as other general music topics.  Located in the book shelves at ML100 .N48.

Oxford Music Oxford Music Online is the access point for Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources. With over 60,000 articles written by over 6,000 music scholars, Grove Music Online (GMO) is the authoritative resource for music research with an ongoing mission to chart the diverse history and cultures of music and musicians from around the globe.

Music Styles and Genres

  • The New Grove dictionary of American music -- This 4-volume set is located at ML101.U6 N48 1986.
  • The New Grove dictionary of jazz -- This 3-volume set is located at ML102.J3 N48 1994.
  • The New Grove dictionary of opera --This 4-volume set is located at ML102.O6 N5 1997.
  • The Garland encyclopedia of world music -- Accompanying CDs for vols 1-0 available at Public Services Desk.
    v. 1. Africa -- v. 2. South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean -- v. 3. The United States and Canada -- v. 4. Southeast Asia -- v. 5. South Asia, the Indian subcontinent -- v. 6. The Middle East -- v. 7. East Asia : China, Japan, and Korea -- v. 8. Europe / Timothy Rice, James Porter, and Chris Goertzen, editors -- v. 9. Australia and the Pacific Islands – v.10 The world's music ; general perspectives and reference tools. Located on the Book Shelves (3rd floor) ML100 .G16 1998.

Subject Guide

Jeanne Pavy's picture
Jeanne Pavy
Contact:
Room 205

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

New Orleans, LA 70148

504.280.6547