This is the "Louisiana Supreme Court" page of the "Digital Collections at the Earl K. Long Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Let us know what you think about creating a Digital Media Lab in the Earl K. Long Library. Please take our survey.
Earl K. Long Library
The University of New Orleans
Earl K. Long Library
  • Find
  • Services
  • Help
  • Collections
  • About
  • Ask-A-Librarian

Digital Collections at the Earl K. Long Library  

Digitized collections from the holdings of the Earl K. Long Library Louisiana and Special Collections.
Last Updated: Nov 14, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uno.edu/ekldigital Print Guide RSS Updates

Louisiana Supreme Court Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Searching Digitized Louisiana Supreme Court Resources

Digitized Historical Archives of the Supreme Court of Louisiana at UNO 

These digital archives consist mainly of manuscript case files appealed from lower state courts to the Supreme Court of Louisiana between 1813 and 1878. Digitized circuits include Alexandria; Baton Rouge (1813-1846); Monroe; and New Orleans. Not all cases from each circuit have yet been digitized. (For more information on the physical collection in the library's Department of  Louisiana and Special Collections, which includes cases from 1813 to 1920, see its finding aid.)

(Citing the Digitized Historical Archives of the Supreme Court of Louisiana? See the "Citing Digital Collections" tab. There is a special note on the Supreme Court collections under "Citable URL.")

 

The First Minute Book of the Supreme Court of the State of Louisiana 1813 to May 1818: An Annotated Edition by Sybil Boudreaux

Master's thesis by retired UNO librarian Sybil Boudreaux transcribing and annotating the first LASC minute book, which covers cases from 1813 to May 1818.

 

LexisNexis Academic's Federal and State Cases

This subscription database (accessible at UNO or by current students, faculty, and staff), can help locate cases. Limit searches to the date range 1812-1847 for UNO's digital collection or 1812-1921 for UNO's physical collection. See the research tips link above for advice on searching this database.

 

Historical Documents from the Law Library of Louisiana

This site from the Law Library of Louisiana houses digitized versions of Martin's Reports (Old Series, Volumes 1-12) as well as several other historical documents and photos in celebration of the Louisiana Supreme Court 2013 Bicentennial.  Publisher François Xavier Martin, who sat on the Louisiana Supreme Court from 1815-1846, began publishing the court's opinions in 1809 and was the first to do so. The Old Series covers cases from 1809 to 1923.

 

QUESTIONS? Contact the Louisiana and Special Collections Department at the University of New Orleans Earl K. Long Library via phone at 504-280-6544 for research help.

Digital Initiatives Librarian

Profile Image
Gena Chattin
Contact Info
504-280-6554
Earl K. Long Library
Send Email
 

Search other Libraries' Collections

Need to find archival collections on a topic and not having any luck with UNO's collections?

Check some of the resources listed in the guide Finding Primary Sources and Digital Collections on the Web.

New Orleans skyline
fdlp logo
construction sawhorserenovation update spacer

Copyright © 2011. Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
New Orleans, LA 70148. (504) 280-6549. Comments/Suggestions


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip