MARTA B. LAMAR COLLECTION ADDENDUM 1
Earl K. Long Library
University of New Orleans
Size: ½ linear foot
Geographic locations: New Orleans, Louisiana
Inclusive dates: 1965-1976
Summary: Papers accumulated by Mrs. Lamar, a New Orleans preservationist; primarily concerned with the proposed Uptown Mississippi River Bridge but including material on other controversies. Includes correspondence, clippings, scrapbooks, publications, maps, petitions, studies, and miscellanea.
Related collections: Mark P. Lowrey Collection (Mss 47); Suzanne L. Ormond Collection (Mss 59); Marta B. Lamar Collection (Mss 62); Marta B. Lamar Collection, Addendum 2 (Mss 76); Marta B. Lamar Collection, Addendum 3 (Mss 77); Vieux Carre Property Owners, Residents & Associates Collection (Mss 247)
Source: Gift, May 1976
Access: No restrictions
Copyright: Physical rights, copyright, and literary property rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.
Citation: Marta B. Lamar Collection, Addendum 1, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
69-14 Cartoon: "Truckin' Down The Avenue" by Eldon Pletcher (Times-Picayune, February 6, 1976). Original pen and ink drawing with presentation inscription from Pletcher to Mrs. LaMarch
69-1 Clippings (loose) n.d.; December 21, 1966 - January 23, 1972, April 1976. See also Scrapbooks...(69-12, 69-13).
69-2 Correspondence (incoming/outgoing), n.d.; May 22, 1969 - May 15, 1971.
69-3 Legal opinion by Wood, King and Dawson, New York, N.Y., concerning "The Mississippi River Bridge Authority, Bridge Revenue Bonds, $65,000,000." A photo-offset reproduction (notarized February 19, 1966) of the original opinion dated November 8, 1954.
Maps (some with annotations)
69-7 R. Conradt. New Orleans and contiguous areas with proposed routs for new bridges and roadways. n.p., January 1, 1970 (4 items).
69-8 deLaureal Engineers, Inc. and Howard, Needles, Tamen and Bergendoff. Preliminary Plan-Alt. Layout No. 4; Uptown Mississippi River Bridge at Riverfront Expressway. [New Orleans], 1967.
69-9 New Orleans and contiguous areas with delineation of large land holdings on West Bank. n.p., n.d.
69-10 New Orleans and contiguous areas. Aerial photograph with proposed routes for new bridges and roadways. n.p., n.d.
69-11 Wilbur Smith and Associates. New Orleans and contiguous areas with "travel desires" and "trip-end termini" descriptions for Greater New Orleans Bridge, Huey P. Long Bridge, and Uptown Bridge under "1965-existing conditions" and "1965-assuming toll bridge program." n.p., ca. 1965.
69-4 Miscellany (transcripts of New Orleans City Council resolutions; studies and reports on transportation and bridges sites; statements, press releases and memoranda by individuals and organizations; political campaign literature; broadsides). n.d.; 1967-1974.
69-5 Petition (concerned with zoning; no signatures), n.d.
69-14 Poster (for meeting concerning a truck route), December 4, 1975.
69-6 Publications (some with marginalia and inclusions).
Awake! vol. XLIX, no. 22 (November 22, 1968).
Committee for Economic Development. Research and Policy Committee. Reshaping Government in Metropolitan Areas [New York, 1970].
New Orleans. City Planning Commission. The Old Man; Obstacle? Opportunity; A Status Report of the ... Bridge Study 1970; Direction Before 2000 [New Orleans, 1970].
New Orleans News. Vol. 1, No. 4 (February 24 - March 9, 1970).
New Orleans States-Item. Reprint of editorial "Bridge Proposal; Unworkable Now OK?" (June 1970).
The Planning Group, Inc. Comprehensive River Area Study; Summary, Conclusions, and Recommendations. "Prepared for the Office of State Planning, State of Louisiana...May 1972" [New Orleans, 1972].
The Progressive. Reprint of "Silent Death" by Seymour Hersh (May 1969).
Southern Journal. Vol. 2, No. 1 (Winter 1972).
Vieux Carré Courier. Vol. 6, No. 43 (December 19, 1969).
Scrapbooks (primarily clippings but including related miscellany).
69-12 March 1 - April 30, 1970.
69-13 ca. June, July, 1972.
Highway planning—Louisiana—New Orleans
Lamar, Marta B.
Urban planning—Louisiana—New Orleans