Library Guides: BIOL 6091--Rees: Other Scholarly Sources

Tools You Can Use to Search

UNO Library Catalog (best for print books, e-books, and location of printed journals)

Recommended Databases:

One Search
Searches over 60 databases across the widest variety of topics--news, education, and the entire range of sciences, social sciences, and the humanities

Literati by Credo
Credo Reference provides access to almost 600 reference titles covering a broad range of disciplines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an electronic archive of journals, e-books, and primary source material from a range of disciplines. The UNO Library has access to all JSTOR journals (over 2,500 titles) and primary source collections, as well as selected e-books. Note: JSTOR journal archives generally begin with the first volume of the journal but do not include current volumes (from the past three to six years).

The main guide to Biology resources is the most complete listing of UNO's access to literature in the sciences: Biology Database Guide

Dissertations and Theses A&I (ProQuest)
An index to theses and dissertations (1861- )
The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database (PQDT) is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. It is the database of record for graduate research, with over 2.3 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.
Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1861.
Over two million dissertations and theses are available from the UMI vaults on microfilm or in hardcopy, and researchers can preview many recent titles electronically. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, more than 750,000 are available for download in PDF format.

Start Your Search Here

Go to the ONLINE CATALOG

Simple Keyword Search

Advanced Search

Go to the RESERVES search page

Faculty members place textbooks and other materials in the Library for student use. Students may search the database by instructor name, course abbreviation, or course number to check for available course materials.

Example searches

Course Name is the first two to four letters of the course abbreviation.

ENGL will retrieve English followed by courses that follow in alphabetical order.

Course ID is both the abbreviation and course number

Searching ENGL 1158 will retrieve this course at the top of the results list

Instructor Name

Searching Blankenship will retrieve this name at the top of the results list.

Search our Research Databases for full text articles and citations.

A · B · C · D · E · F · G · H · I · J · K · L · M · N · O · P · Q · R · S · T · U · V · W · X Y Z

Browse the list of UNO Library databases by title or subject.