PSYC 3300--Gumpert: Testing/Instruments

Tests and instruments are commonly referred to as published or unpublished. Published means just that and that the item is likely under copyright. The first source, as you know to check, is the Mental Measurements Yearbook database found on the first page of this guide. After that, there are a number of other books and websites to peruse to find testing instruments. Some are free to you, but please know that many charge for a copy of the instrument and are only for use by licensed psychologists. 

In order to gain access to such a test or instrument, you must contact the publisher. Unpublished tests or measures are often, but not always, shared in the literature that mentions them. PsycINFO, the database, does include a useful feature to locate articles that use certain tests.

APA Guide on Locating Published Instruments

APA Guide on Locating Unpublished Instruments

APA Guidelines on Responsibilities of Test Users

Youtube video on how to choose and locate an instrument. Skip to 0:36 for info on using the Mental Measurements database!

Psychological Tests for Student Use--Offered by York University, this webpage gives access to a small, but useful set of test instruments for student use. *The copyright holders have generously waived the requirements to seek their permission.

National Quality Measures Clearinghouse--NQMC is an initiative of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. This website contains a database for information on specific evidence-based health care quality measures and measure sets. 

Health Sciences and Research Resources Database-- Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine. Focuses on data sets, instruments, survey, etc. in the health and behavioral sciences. *This database is now retired (2021), some links may no longer work. 

Does not contain full text of instruments but does include contact information for obtaining them.