Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology: Print Resources

Resources for the study of Sociology

Print Resources

Guides to the Literature

Social Science Reference Sources : A Practical Guide, 3rd ed. / Tze-chung Li.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2000.
H71.Z99 L5 2000 Book Shelves

Social Sciences: A Cross-disciplinary Guide to Selected Sources, 2nd ed. /
general editor Nancy L. Herron.
Englewood, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1996
NETLIBRARY (Electronic Book)

Sociology: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources, 3rd ed. / Stephen H. Aby.
Westport, Conn.: Libraries Unlimited, 2005.
Z7164 .S68 A24 2005 Book Shelves 

Student Sociologist's Handbook, 4th ed. / Pauline Bart, Linda Frankel.
New York: Random House, 1986.
HM68 .B37 1986 Book Shelves

General Bibliographies

Current Sociology (Paris, France)
HM15.Z99 C8 Periodical Shelves
Years: 1952-present

International Bibliography of Sociology
HM15.Z99 I594 Periodical Shelves
Years: 1956-57, 1969-70, 1974-92, 1994

Dictionaries

Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology: A User's Guide to Sociological Language.
2nd ed. / Allan G. Johnson.
Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2000.
HM 425.J64 2000 Book Shelves

A Dictionary of Sociology, 2nd ed./ Edited by Gordon Marshall.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
HM 17.C66 1998 Book Shelves

Dictionary of the Social Sciences/ Edited by Julius Gould and William L. Kolb.
New York: Free Press of Glencoe, 1964.
H 41.G6 Book Shelves

Penguin Dictionary of Sociology. 4th ed./ Nicholas Abercrombie, Stephen Hill, Bryan S. Turner.
London: Penguin, 2000.
HM 17.A23 2000 Book Shelves

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Sociology, 2nd ed. / Edgar F. Borgatta, editor-in-chief, Rhonda J.V. Montgomery, managing editor.
New York : Macmillan Reference USA, 2000. 5 vols.
HM 425.E5 2000 Book Shelves

Encyclopaedia of the Social Sciences / editor-in-chief, Edwin R. A. Seligman; associate editor, Alvin Johnson.
New York : Macmillan, 1930-35. 15 vols.
H 41.E2 Book Shelves

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences / editors-in-chief Neil J. Smelser, Paul B. Baltes.
Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 2001. 26 vols.
H41.I58 2001 Book Shelves

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences/ David L. Sills, editor.
New York: Macmillan & The Free Press , 1968. 18 vols.
H 41.I5 Book Shelves

Social Science Encyclopedia / edited by Adam Kuper and Jessica Kuper.
London ; Boston : Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1985.
H 41.S63 1985 Book Shelves

Specialized Dictionaries

Crime Dictionary / Ralph De Sola.
New York : Facts on File, 1982.
HV6025 .D43 Book Shelves

The Criminal Justice Dictionary, 2nd ed., rev / compiled by Erik Beckman.
Ann Arbor, MI : Pierian Press, 1983.
HV6017 .B4 1983 Book Shelves

Cultural Theory: A Glossary/ Peter Brooker.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.
HM 101.B775 1999 Book Shelves

A Dictionary of Cultural and Critical Theory / editor, Michael Payne
Oxford, OX, UK ; Cambridge, Mass., USA : Blackwell Reference, 1996.
HM101 .D527 1996 Book Shelves

The Dictionary of Demography / Roland Pressat ; edited by Christopher Wilson.
Oxford, England ; New York, NY, USA : Blackwell Reference, 1985.
HB849.2 .P7413 1985 Book Shelves

Dictionary of Statistics & Methodology : a Nontechnical Guide for the
Social Sciences, 2nd ed. / W. Paul Vogt.
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, 1999.
HA17 .V64 1999 Book Shelves

Sage Dictionary of Criminology / compiled and edited by Eugene McLaughlin and John Muncie.
London : Sage, 2001.
HV12 .S34 2001 Book Shelves

Specialized Encyclopedias

The Encyclopedia of Aging : a Comprehensive Resource in Gerontology and Geriatrics, 2nd ed. / George L. Maddox, ed.-in-chief
New York : Springer Pub. Co., 1995.
HQ1061 .E53 1995 Book Shelves

The Encyclopedia of Aging and the Elderly / F. Hampton Roy and Charles Russell.
New York : Facts on File, 1992.
HQ1061 .R69 1992 Book Shelves

The Encyclopedia of Alcoholism / [edited] by Robert O'Brien and Morris Chafetz.
New York, N.Y. : Facts on File, Inc., 1982.
HV5017 .E5 1982 Book Shelves

Encyclopedia of American Immigration / James Ciment, editor.
Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpe, 2001. 4 vols.
JV6465 .E53 2001 Book Shelves

Encyclopedia of American Social History / Mary Kupiec Cayton, Elliott J. Gorn and Peter W. Williams, editors.
New York : Scribner, 1993. 3 vols.
HN 57.E58 1993 Book Shelves

Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior / Clifton D. Bryant, editor-in-chief.
Philadelphia, PA : Brunner-Routledge, 2001. 4 vols.
HV6017 .E53 2001 Book Shelves

Encyclopedia of Death and Dying / edited by Glennys Howarth and Oliver Leaman.
London ; New York : Routledge, 2001.
HQ1073.E543 2001 Book Shelves

The Encyclopedia of Drug Abuse / Robert O'Brien and Sidney Cohen.
New York : Facts on File, 1984.
HV5804 .O24 1984 Book Shelves

Encyclopedia of Drugs and Alcohol / Jerome H. Jaffe, editor-in-chief.
New York : Macmillan Library Reference USA, 1995. 4 vols.
HV5804 .E53 1995 Book Shelves

Encyclopedia of Gerontology : Age, Aging, and the Aged / editor-in-chief, James E. Birren.
San Diego : Academic Press, 1996
RC952.5 .E58 1996 Book Shelves

Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family / David Levinson, editor in chief.
New York : Macmillan Library Reference, 1995.
HQ9 .E52 1995 Book Shelves

The Encyclopedia of Marriage, Divorce, and the Family / Margaret DiCanio.
New York, N.Y. : Facts on File, 1989.
HQ9 .D38 1989 Book Shelves

Encyclopedia of Social History / edited by Peter N. Stearns.
New York : Garland, 1994.
HN 28.E53 1994 Book Shelves

Women's Studies Encyclopedia, rev. and expanded ed. / edited by Helen Tierney.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1999. 3 vols.
HQ1115 .W645 1999 Book Shelves

General Handbooks

Handbook of Sociology / Neil J. Smelser, editor.
Newbury Park, Calif. : Sage Publications, 1988.
HM51 .H249 1988 Book Shelves

International Handbook of Contemporary Developments in Sociology /edited by Raj P. Mohan & Arthur S. Wilke.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1994.
HM19 .I59 1994 Book Shelves

The International Handbook of Sociology / edited by Stella R. Quah and Arnaud Sales.
London ; Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage, 2000.
HM24 .I575 2000 Book Shelves

Specialized Handbooks

American Homelessness : a Reference Handbook, 2nd ed. / Mary Ellen Hombs.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 1994.
HV4505 .H647 1994 Book Shelves

Handbook of Critical Theory / edited by David M. Rasmussen.
Oxford ; Cambridge, Mass. : Blackwell Publishers, 1996.
B809.3 .H36 1996 Book Shelves

Handbook of Marriage and the Family, 2nd ed. / edited by Marvin B. Sussman, Suzanne K. Steinmetz, and Gary W. Peterson.
New York : Plenum Press, 1999.
HQ518 .H154 1999 Book Shelves

The International Handbook of Environmental Sociology / edited by Michael Redclift, Graham Woodgate.
Cheltenham, UK ; Northampton, MA, USA : Edward Elgar, 1997.
GE195 .I57 1997 Book Shelves

International Handbook on Aging : Contemporary Developments and Research / edited by Erdman Palmore.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1980, c1979.
HQ1061 .I535 1980 Book Shelves

International Handbook on Gender Roles / edited by Leonore Loeb Adler
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1993.
HQ1075 .I58 1993 Book Shelves

The Oxford Handbook of Criminology, 2nd ed. / edited by Mike Maguire, Rod
Morgan, and Robert Reiner.
Oxford [England] : Clarendon Press ; New York : Oxford University
Press, 1997.
HV6025 .O87 1997 Book Shelves

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Connie Phelps
Contact:
Earl K. Long Library

Room 205A

504.280.7273