Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Bother with Print?
Most topics can be researched without consulting these print indexes. These are included for completeness because the online indexes often do not cover articles as far back as the print.
Print Indexes and Abstracts
- Criminal Justice Abstracts
HV6001 .C67 Periodicals
Coverage: Contains hundreds of in-depth abstracts of current books, journal articles, government reports, and dissertations published worldwide. Coverage of over 500 journals published in several different languages.
- C.R.I.S. The Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in Sociology
HM 1.C6 Periodicals
Coverage: This multi-volume set, published in 1978, indexes English language periodicals in all periods and areas of sociology. It includes anthropology.
- Humanities Index
AI 3.H85 Periodicals
Coverage: indexes articles and book reviews in about 400 English language periodicals in the subject areas of archaeology and classical studies, area studies, folklore, history, language and literature, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology, and related subjects.
- Social Sciences Index
AI 3.S62 Periodicals
Coverage: indexes articles and book reviews in about 400 English
language periodicals in the subject areas of anthropology, area
studies, community health and medical care, criminal justice and
criminology, economics, family studies, geography, gerontology,
international relations, law, minority studies, planning and public
administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry,
psychology, social work and public welfare, sociology, urban studies,
women's studies, and related subjects.