English Research Guide: Find Articles
Electronic Journal Collections
JSTOR - This electronic archive of core academic journals contains about 450 literature and language journals. Full-text coverage for most titles is for older volumes only (missing latest 3-7 years).
Project Muse - This collection of electronic journals, published by Johns Hopkins University Press, includes current issues and some back volumes (archival coverage varies by title) for about 230 literature journals. Though the UNO library does not subscribe to any of the journals in this database, but you still may want to use it to search the full text of the journals (and books) on the platform. Articles can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan.
Indexes to journals (and other content, in some cases)
- MLA (Modern Language Association) International BibliographyMLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
- Literary Reference Center PlusThis database upgrades Literary Reference Center. The LRC Plus Database provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research.
• More than 36,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews
• More than 87,000 articles/essays of literary criticism
• Nearly 260,000 author biographies
• More than 780 literary journals
• Nearly 2,800 reference books
• More than 930,000 book reviews
• More than 150,000 classic and contemporary poems
• More than 35,000 classic and contemporary short stories
• More than 11,000 author interviews
• More than 7,400 classic novels
• Nearly 170 critical essays about popular young adult (YA) literature titles
• More than 150 Critical Insights volumes - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,700 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals. The database features PDF content going back as far back as 1887.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
Subject Guide
Jeanne Pavy
Contact:
Room 205
Earl K. Long Library
University of New Orleans
New Orleans, LA 70148
504.280.6547
Earl K. Long Library
University of New Orleans
New Orleans, LA 70148
504.280.6547