Skip to Main Content

Louisiana Cemeteries: Articles

Articles, Popular

Ager, D. (1992). "Pile 'em high in the deltas." New Scientist. 133(1803), 53. Retrieved from Academic Search Complete database.

Bloom, G.W. (1998). New Orleans Marches to a Different Beat. American Visions, 13(5), 16. Retrieved from Academic Search Complete database.

Butler, Wanda. (June 1994). “Of angels and memory.” Southern Living, 29:6, p. 52-53. Retrieved from Bayou State Periodical Index. (Topic: Metairie Cemetery).

Calvit, Elizabeth. (May 1996). "New York non-profit names Lafayette Cemetery No.1 to its list of 100 most endangered monuments worldwide." Preservation in Print, 23:4, p. 30. Retrieved from Bayou State Periodical Index.

Charlot, Shavon; Heslin, Ann. (May 2001). “Dead space: Defining and preserving Creole cemeteries of New Orleans.” Preservation in Print, 28:4, p. 26. Retrieved from Bayou State Periodical Index. (Topic: St. Louis Cemetery No. 1)

Dawson, Faith. (Oct. 1996). "Grave matters: Help for a local cemetery (Newsbeat)." New Orleans Magazine, 31:1, p. 38. Retrieved from Bayou State Periodical Index. (Topic: Lafayette Cemetery No. 1).

Duplantier, Michael A. (June 1998). “Meet me in St. Louis.” Preservation in Print, 25:5, p. 30. Retrieved from Bayou State Periodical Index.(Topic: St. Louis Cemetery No. 3)

Eichhorn, M.L. (Fall 2001). “Oblivion's blight: New Orleans' Girod Street Cemetery became the graveyard that care forgot.” Louisiana Cultural Vistas, 12:3, p. 42-51. Retrieved from Bayou State Periodical Index.

Hannah, Lindsay S.; Masson, Ann. (Oct. 2002). “Victories over time and neglect: Dozens of tombs in St. Louis Cemetery No.1 repaired. Preservation in Print, 29:8, p. 30-31. Retrieved from Bayou State Periodical Index. (Topic: St. Louis Cemetery No. 1)
"Julia Street." (May 1996). New Orleans Magazine, 30:8, p. 18. Retrieved from Bayou State Periodical Index. (Topic: Odd Fellows’ Rest Cemetery).

"Julia Street." (March 1997). New Orleans Magazine, 31:6, p. 14-15. Retrieved from Bayou State Periodical Index. (Topic: Myra Rodgers Memorial Chapel and Cypress Grove Cemetery).

"Julia Street: St. Joseph and Holt Cemeteries.” (Nov. 2001). New Orleans Magazine, 36:2, p. 10-12. Retrieved from Bayou State Periodical Index.

"Lafayette I Cemetery is focus of Save Our Cemeteries effort." (June 1993). Preservation in Print, 20:5, p. 32. Retrieved from Bayou State Periodical Index.

"Long-term parking: The art of cemetery-hopping (City guide: Housekeeping)." (Oct. 1997). New Orleans Magazine, 32:1, p. 72. Retrieved from Bayou State Periodical Index.
Masson, Ann. (April 2001). “Not just a map: GIS technology comes to New Orleans cemetery.” Preservation in Print, 28:6, p. 22-23. Retrieved from Bayou State Periodical Index.

Masson, Ann. (April 2002). “Searching for tomb owners.” Preservation in Print, 29:3, p. 32. Retrieved from Bayou State Periodical Index. (Topic: St. Louis Cemetery No. 1)

McCaffety, K. (November 1998). "Raising the dead." Historic Traveler. 5(1), 34. Retrieved from Academic Search Complete database.

Morton, S.M. (July 2010). "Tombstone Tales." Family Tree Magazine. vol. 11, no. 4. pgs. 26-32. Available at Jefferson Parish Public Library West Bank Regional Special Collections.

Rothstein, E. (August 11, 2008). "Voodoo and New Orleans: Two Cultures of Permeable Boundaries." New York Times. p. 4. Retrieved from Academic Search Complete database.

Smolowe, J., & Rose, C. (1999). "The Big Uneasy." People. 51(16), 44. Retrieved from Academic Search Complete database.

"Stealing from the dead." (April 10, 1999.) Economist, 351(8114). p. 28-29. Retrieved from Academic Search Complete database.

Williams, F. (1999). "The big easy goodbye." Travel Holiday, 182(1), 96. Retrieved from Academic Search Complete database.

Articles, Academic

Matero, F. and Peters, J. "Survey Methodology for the Preservation of Historic Burial Grounds and Cemeteries." APT Bulletin, Vol. 34, No. 2/3, (2003), pp. 37-45. Retrieved from JSTOR database.

Upton, Dell. "The Urban Cemetery and the Urban Community: The Origin of the New Orleans Cemetery." Perspectives in Vernacular Architecture, Vol. 7, Exploring Everyday Landscapes (1997), pp. 131-145. Retrieved from JSTOR database.