Library Guides: Louisiana Cemeteries: Archives & Cataloged Books

Questions? Ask us!

Louisiana and Special Collections

Email Me

Contact:

504-280-6544

Louisiana Cemeteries

A resource for the study of Louisiana Cemeteries, with emphasis on the Greater New Orleans region

By Lisa Werling, MLIS

Archival Collections

Jacob Schoen & Son Collection
Business records of a major mortuary in New Orleans
Consists of over 200 volumes of accounting books used to conduct their business, including journals, cash books, order books, and ledgers. Also contains some books relating to Schoen Realty & Investment Company, Hope Benevolent Association, Fire Company No. 10, and the Metropolitan Club.

more... less...

Records are of particular interest to anyone interested in the livery or funeral businesses, particularly in New Orleans, as they reflect the interdependence of the undertakers of the city when it came to lending and borrowing equipment. The collection would also be of use to anyone interested in the history of the Faubourg Marigny, French Quarter, and Bywater neighborhoods, as well as the extended Seventh, Eighth and Ninth Wards of the city. It would also be of interest to anyone studying family or cultural history of those areas, particularly the German, Italian, and Creole residents, as well as the many benevolent associations throughout the city. Bulk dates: 1874-1923; 1944-1997
Magnolia Cemetery Collection
1 bound volume of minutes of the Board of Directors, and 1 folder of correspondences; also included are clippings, contractor bids, and miscellany. Inclusive dates: January 1866 - March 1913
Save Our Cemeteries Collection
Records produced and/or accumulated by Save Our Cemeteries, Inc., and organization dedicated to the preservation of New Orleans cemeteries; includes records of joint meetings with St. Louis Cemeteries Preservation Committee, an organization sponsored by the Catholic Archdiocese of New Orleans. Consists of photocopies of minutes, reports, memoranda, clippings, and miscellany. Inclusive dates: 1923, 1977 - 1978
Weiblen Memorials Collection, Addendum 1
Records of a marble and granite business, consisting mainly of advertising catalogs. Inclusive dates: ca. 1900-1972

Resources from the Catalog

"Cities of the dead"--New Orleans cemetery architecture by Gilbert, Janice Dee.
Call Number: LACOL NB1800.Z99 G56
"Gone but not forgotten": records from south Louisiana cemeteries by Conrad, Glenn R.
Call Number: LACOL F368 .C67 1983 V.1

ISBN: 0940984148
A cemetery in a church and other stories by McGuire, R. A.
Call Number: LACOL GT3211.N5 M3
An investigation into the ethnographic and historical significance of the Holt Cemetery by Branyon, Ian Christopher Morgan, 1965-
Call Number: LACOL THESIS 1998 .B73
Bossier Parish headstones : a complete inventory of all known cemeteries, family plots, and lone burials by Cardin, Clifton D. (Clifton Dale), 1957-
Call Number: LACOL F377.B6 C36 1997

ISBN: 0963750720
Briley's memorial history & cemetery directory of Winn Parish, Louisiana by Briley, Richard.
Call Number: LACOL F377.W6 B7 1998
Burial archaeology and osteology of Charity Hospital/Cypress Grove II Cementery New Orleans, Louisiana: report of investigations by Beavers, Richard C.
Call Number: LACOL F371 .B87 1993 V.1 & V.2
Caddo Parish, Louisiana cemetery records by Friends of Genealogy (Shreveport, La.)
Call Number: LACOL F377 .C15 C33 2004 V. 1 & V. 2

ISBN: 1570881197
Cemeteries of central Lafourche Parish, La by Hebert, Traise W.
Call Number: LACOL F377 .L25 H43 1984
Cemeteries of Houma, Louisiana: Terrebonne Parish by Terrebonne Genealogical Society.
Call Number: LACOL F379.H7 C45 1989 V.1
Cemeteries of New Orleans : a journey through the cities of the dead by Arrigo, Jan, 1960-
Call Number: LACOL F379 .N562 A2 2005

ISBN: 0896586650
City of the dead: a journey through St. Louis Cemetery #1, New Orleans, Louisiana by Florence, Robert.
Call Number: LACOL F379.N562 S7356 1996

ISBN: 1887366024
Clasped hands: symbolism in New Orleans cemeteries by Huber, Leonard Victor, 1903-
Call Number: LACOL NB1856.N45 H83

ISBN: 0940984040
Concordia Parish cemetery records, 1786-1995 by Scott, Thelmarie.
Call Number: LACOL F377.C7 C66 1998
Consecrated ground: funerary art of New Orleans by Cook, Lisa L.
Call Number: LACOL NB1856 .N45 F55 1998

ISBN: 0965781305
Elysium: a gathering of souls: New Orleans cemeteries by Clark, Sandra Russell.
Call Number: LACOL F379.N562 A2 1997

ISBN: 0807122289
Final destinations : a travel guide for remarkable cemeteries in Texas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Louisiana by Woolley, Bryan.
Call Number: LACOL F387 .F56 2000

ISBN: 1574410857
Final report for the Office of the Mayor, City of New Orleans by New Orleans (La.). Mayor's Task Force on the Iberville-Cemeteries Area.
Call Number: LACOL HT177 .N49 N48 1982
Ghost of stone [videorecording] by Buchtel, Jason R.
Call Number: VIDEO CASSETTE 00178

Documentary on Lafayette Cemetery No. 1, its history, preservation needs, and importance to the culture and community of New Orleans. Also features efforts of Save Our Cemeteries.
Grave House Legends by Jeremy Broussard
Call Number: LACOL GT3210 .L8 B76 2010

ISBN: 1450576451

Publication Date: 2010
Great cemeteries of the world. Episode twenty, New Orleans [videorecording] by Purdy, Rick.
Call Number: VIDEO CASSETTE 00322

This 26 part series explores the residents, history, art and mystique of the most renowned cemeteries of the world. The intriguing history of the cemetery itself is the backdrop to the exploration of its most fascinating residents. Episode twenty features the burial sites of Marie Laveau in St. Louis #1 and Jefferson Davis in Metairie Cemetery.
Haunter of ruins: the photography of Clarence John Laughlin by Laughlin, Clarence John.
Call Number: TR654 .L364 1997

ISBN: 0821223615
History of St. Louis II Cemetery by compiled by Raphael Cassimere, Jr., ... D. Clive Hardy, Joseph Logsdon [et.al.]
Call Number: LACOL F379.N5 C285
In old New Orleans by Holditch, W. Kenneth.
Call Number: LACOL NX511.N39 I5 1983

ISBN: 0878051864

New Orleans cemeteries / Peggy McDowell
Lest we forget : a record of tombstone inscriptions : Red River Parish, Louisiana, and vicinity by Sealy, Gwen Bradford.
Call Number: LACOL F377.R32 S43 1983
National register evaluation of the Bayou Jean Louis Cemetery (16SM89), Atchafalaya Basin Project, St. Martin Parish, Louisiana by Maygarden, Benjamin.
Call Number: F371 .N373 1999
Nawlin's Way of Death by Roberta Etienne
Call Number: LACOL F379 .N562 A2 2011

ISBN: 1463441339

Publication Date: 2011
Necrogeography : material cultural elements in modern Upland South cemeteries of Louisiana and Mississippi by McNeill, Gerald Thomas, 1950-
Call Number: LACOL THESIS 1998 .M346
New Orleans architecture, Vol. III: The Cemeteries by Huber, Leonard
ISBN: 0882890204
New Orleans cemeteries by Brock, Eric J.
Call Number: LACOL F379.N562 A2 1999

ISBN: 0738501263
New Orleans cemeteries : life in the cities of the dead by Florence, Robert
Call Number: LACOL F379 .N562 A2 1997B

ISBN: 0965708519
Nostalgic notes on St. James: St. James Church and cemeteries, the old chapel, the old rectory, St. James Parish, Louisiana by Campbell, Marie McDowell Pilkington.
Call Number: LACOL F379.S134 C347 1977
Odd fellows rest: an original play by Villarrubia, Jan.
Call Number: LACOL PS3572.I375 O3 1996

ISBN: 1993285059
Out of sight, out of mind : a GIS study of changes in cemetery locations in southeastern Louisiana from an archaeological and geographical perspective, 1930-1997 by Nance, Cindy Ann.
Call Number: LACOL GT3210 .L8 N35 1999B
Preserving New Orleans' historic cemeteries by Cramer, Paul C.
Call Number: LACOL MASTERS REPORT 1998 .C72
Sacred: New Orleans funerary grounds by Huston, Elizabeth
Call Number: LACOL NB1856 .N45 H88 2005

ISBN: 1411645367
Samuel Wilson, Jr. (1911-1993) [videorecording] by Wilson, Samuel, 1911-
Call Number: DVD 0033

Includes a walking tour of St. Louis Cemeteries I and II, 1986 (28:30)
Sleeping by the bayous : a history of the cemeteries and tombstone inscriptions of the Houma, Louisiana, area including Gray, Schriever, Bayou Blue and Little Bayou Black by Robertson, Billie Earp.
Call Number: LACOL GT3211.H6 R63
St. Bartholomew and St. Mary's Cemeteries by Westbank Genealogy Society.
Call Number: LACOL F379 .N562 S728 2002
St. Philomena Catholic Church Cemetery, Assumption Parish, Labadieville, Louisiana by Cavalier, Essie Joseph.
Call Number: LACOL F379 .L14 C38 2002
The cemetery as a cultural manifestation : Louisiana necrogeography by Nakagawa, Tadashi, 1957-
Call Number: LACOL GT3310.L8 N35
The Confederate generals buried in Louisiana by Mundie, James A.
Call Number: LACOL E467 .M85 1987
The history of the Catholic Cemetery in Natchitoches, Louisiana by Williams, Payne.
Call Number: LACOL F379 .N2 W53 2004

ISBN: 1591966612
The mortuary architecture of Jacques Nicolas Bussiere de Pouilly by Masson, Ann M.
Call Number: LACOL NA6152.N4 M38 1992A
The Natchitoches cemeteries : transcriptions of gravestones from the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries in northwest Louisiana by Prud'homme, Lucile Keator.
Call Number: LACOL F379.N3 P84
The Reposed by Greiner, William K.
Call Number: LACOL TR654 .G743 1999

ISBN: 0807124133
The St. Louis Cemeteries of New Orleans, 5th ed. by Wilson, Samuel, 1911-
Call Number: LACOL NB1527.N4 W5 1968
To glorious immortality; the rise and fall of the Girod Street Cemetery, New Orleans' first Protestant Cemetery, 1822-1957 by Huber, Leonard Victor, 1903-
Call Number: LACOL F379.N5 H8