Louisiana Cemeteries: Archives & Cataloged Books
Questions? Ask us!
Louisiana Cemeteries
A resource for the study of Louisiana Cemeteries, with emphasis on the Greater New Orleans region
By Lisa Werling, MLIS
Archival Collections
- Jacob Schoen & Son CollectionBusiness records of a major mortuary in New Orleans
Consists of over 200 volumes of accounting books used to conduct their business, including journals, cash books, order books, and ledgers. Also contains some books relating to Schoen Realty & Investment Company, Hope Benevolent Association, Fire Company No. 10, and the Metropolitan Club. - Magnolia Cemetery Collection1 bound volume of minutes of the Board of Directors, and 1 folder of correspondences; also included are clippings, contractor bids, and miscellany. Inclusive dates: January 1866 - March 1913
- Save Our Cemeteries CollectionRecords produced and/or accumulated by Save Our Cemeteries, Inc., and organization dedicated to the preservation of New Orleans cemeteries; includes records of joint meetings with St. Louis Cemeteries Preservation Committee, an organization sponsored by the Catholic Archdiocese of New Orleans. Consists of photocopies of minutes, reports, memoranda, clippings, and miscellany. Inclusive dates: 1923, 1977 - 1978
- Weiblen Memorials Collection, Addendum 1Records of a marble and granite business, consisting mainly of advertising catalogs. Inclusive dates: ca. 1900-1972
Resources from the Catalog
- "Cities of the dead"--New Orleans cemetery architecture byCall Number: LACOL NB1800.Z99 G56
- "Gone but not forgotten": records from south Louisiana cemeteries byCall Number: LACOL F368 .C67 1983 V.1ISBN: 0940984148
- A cemetery in a church and other stories byCall Number: LACOL GT3211.N5 M3
- An investigation into the ethnographic and historical significance of the Holt Cemetery byCall Number: LACOL THESIS 1998 .B73
- Bossier Parish headstones : a complete inventory of all known cemeteries, family plots, and lone burials byCall Number: LACOL F377.B6 C36 1997ISBN: 0963750720
- Briley's memorial history & cemetery directory of Winn Parish, Louisiana byCall Number: LACOL F377.W6 B7 1998
- Burial archaeology and osteology of Charity Hospital/Cypress Grove II Cementery New Orleans, Louisiana: report of investigations byCall Number: LACOL F371 .B87 1993 V.1 & V.2
- Caddo Parish, Louisiana cemetery records byCall Number: LACOL F377 .C15 C33 2004 V. 1 & V. 2ISBN: 1570881197
- Cemeteries of central Lafourche Parish, La byCall Number: LACOL F377 .L25 H43 1984
- Cemeteries of Houma, Louisiana: Terrebonne Parish byCall Number: LACOL F379.H7 C45 1989 V.1
Cemeteries of New Orleans : a journey through the cities of the dead by Call Number: LACOL F379 .N562 A2 2005ISBN: 0896586650
City of the dead: a journey through St. Louis Cemetery #1, New Orleans, Louisiana by Call Number: LACOL F379.N562 S7356 1996ISBN: 1887366024
Clasped hands: symbolism in New Orleans cemeteries by Call Number: LACOL NB1856.N45 H83ISBN: 0940984040- Concordia Parish cemetery records, 1786-1995 byCall Number: LACOL F377.C7 C66 1998
- Consecrated ground: funerary art of New Orleans byCall Number: LACOL NB1856 .N45 F55 1998ISBN: 0965781305
Elysium: a gathering of souls: New Orleans cemeteries by Call Number: LACOL F379.N562 A2 1997ISBN: 0807122289
Final destinations : a travel guide for remarkable cemeteries in Texas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Louisiana by Call Number: LACOL F387 .F56 2000ISBN: 1574410857- Final report for the Office of the Mayor, City of New Orleans byCall Number: LACOL HT177 .N49 N48 1982
- Ghost of stone [videorecording] byCall Number: VIDEO CASSETTE 00178Documentary on Lafayette Cemetery No. 1, its history, preservation needs, and importance to the culture and community of New Orleans. Also features efforts of Save Our Cemeteries.
Grave House Legends by Call Number: LACOL GT3210 .L8 B76 2010ISBN: 1450576451Publication Date: 2010- Great cemeteries of the world. Episode twenty, New Orleans [videorecording] byCall Number: VIDEO CASSETTE 00322This 26 part series explores the residents, history, art and mystique of the most renowned cemeteries of the world. The intriguing history of the cemetery itself is the backdrop to the exploration of its most fascinating residents. Episode twenty features the burial sites of Marie Laveau in St. Louis #1 and Jefferson Davis in Metairie Cemetery.
Haunter of ruins: the photography of Clarence John Laughlin by Call Number: TR654 .L364 1997ISBN: 0821223615- History of St. Louis II Cemetery byCall Number: LACOL F379.N5 C285
- In old New Orleans byCall Number: LACOL NX511.N39 I5 1983ISBN: 0878051864New Orleans cemeteries / Peggy McDowell
- Lest we forget : a record of tombstone inscriptions : Red River Parish, Louisiana, and vicinity byCall Number: LACOL F377.R32 S43 1983
- National register evaluation of the Bayou Jean Louis Cemetery (16SM89), Atchafalaya Basin Project, St. Martin Parish, Louisiana byCall Number: F371 .N373 1999
Nawlin's Way of Death by Call Number: LACOL F379 .N562 A2 2011ISBN: 1463441339Publication Date: 2011- Necrogeography : material cultural elements in modern Upland South cemeteries of Louisiana and Mississippi byCall Number: LACOL THESIS 1998 .M346
- New Orleans architecture, Vol. III: The Cemeteries byISBN: 0882890204
New Orleans cemeteries by Call Number: LACOL F379.N562 A2 1999ISBN: 0738501263
New Orleans cemeteries : life in the cities of the dead by Call Number: LACOL F379 .N562 A2 1997BISBN: 0965708519- Nostalgic notes on St. James: St. James Church and cemeteries, the old chapel, the old rectory, St. James Parish, Louisiana byCall Number: LACOL F379.S134 C347 1977
- Odd fellows rest: an original play byCall Number: LACOL PS3572.I375 O3 1996ISBN: 1993285059
- Out of sight, out of mind : a GIS study of changes in cemetery locations in southeastern Louisiana from an archaeological and geographical perspective, 1930-1997 byCall Number: LACOL GT3210 .L8 N35 1999B
- Preserving New Orleans' historic cemeteries byCall Number: LACOL MASTERS REPORT 1998 .C72
Sacred: New Orleans funerary grounds by Call Number: LACOL NB1856 .N45 H88 2005ISBN: 1411645367- Samuel Wilson, Jr. (1911-1993) [videorecording] byCall Number: DVD 0033Includes a walking tour of St. Louis Cemeteries I and II, 1986 (28:30)
- Sleeping by the bayous : a history of the cemeteries and tombstone inscriptions of the Houma, Louisiana, area including Gray, Schriever, Bayou Blue and Little Bayou Black byCall Number: LACOL GT3211.H6 R63
- St. Bartholomew and St. Mary's Cemeteries byCall Number: LACOL F379 .N562 S728 2002
- St. Philomena Catholic Church Cemetery, Assumption Parish, Labadieville, Louisiana byCall Number: LACOL F379 .L14 C38 2002
- The cemetery as a cultural manifestation : Louisiana necrogeography byCall Number: LACOL GT3310.L8 N35
- The Confederate generals buried in Louisiana byCall Number: LACOL E467 .M85 1987
- The history of the Catholic Cemetery in Natchitoches, Louisiana byCall Number: LACOL F379 .N2 W53 2004ISBN: 1591966612
- The mortuary architecture of Jacques Nicolas Bussiere de Pouilly byCall Number: LACOL NA6152.N4 M38 1992A
- The Natchitoches cemeteries : transcriptions of gravestones from the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries in northwest Louisiana byCall Number: LACOL F379.N3 P84
The Reposed by Call Number: LACOL TR654 .G743 1999ISBN: 0807124133- The St. Louis Cemeteries of New Orleans, 5th ed. byCall Number: LACOL NB1527.N4 W5 1968
- To glorious immortality; the rise and fall of the Girod Street Cemetery, New Orleans' first Protestant Cemetery, 1822-1957 byCall Number: LACOL F379.N5 H8
