MSS 101 - Greater New Orleans AFL-CIO Collection: Inventory

GREATER NEW ORLEANS AFL-CIO COLLECTION 

Summary

 

Size:                           29 linear feet

Geographic
locations:                 New Orleans, Louisiana

Inclusive
dates:                        n.d., 1953-1977

Bulk dates:               1957-1975

Summary:                 Records of Greater New Orleans A.F.L. - C.I.O., New Orleans, Louisiana.  Consists of files for the Greater New Orleans A.F.L. - C.I.O. and two associate groups:  H.R.D.I. (Human Resources Development Institute) and C.O.P.E. (Committee on Political Education.)  Included are correspondence, minutes, publications, questionnaires, press releases, election endorsements, agree­ments, miscellany.

Related
collections:              Stoddard Labor Collection (Mss 12); United Teachers of New Orleans, Local 527 Collection (Mss 135); Greater New Orleans AFL-CIO Collection, Addendum 1 (Mss 187)

Source:                     Gift, January 18, 1978

Citation:                    Greater New Orleans AFL-CIO Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

Historical Note

 

            The Greater New Orleans A.F.L. - C.I.O., an association of various union locals, involved itself in political activities in supporting various locals with strikes and collective bargaining, in civic and social programs and in promoting the interests of organized labor with state and governments.

            H.R.D.I. is an independent agency sharing offices with the Greater New Orleans A.F.L. - C.I.O. and is funded by the United States Department of Labor.  It provides technical assistance to unions and local and state bodies in the development of manpower programs.

            C.O.P.E. is the political arm of the A.F.L. - C.I.O. and endorses candidates with records favorable to organized labor.

Note:  In most instances, the file titles are given by the Greater New Orleans A.F.L. - C.I.O. were retained.  However, when no titles existed, they were assigned based upon the contents of the file folders.  The series headings (e.g., Candidate files, Election files, etc.) were assigned to facilitate organization.

List of Series

 

 

Series I.         Files pertaining to C.O.P.E.

 

Series II.        Files pertaining to Greater New Orleans A.F.L.-C.I.O.

 

Series III.       Files pertaining to H.R.D.I.

Container List

Series I.         Files pertaining to C.O.P.E.

                                                                       

Included are questionnaires, clippings, correspondence, publications, miscellany.  n.d., February 5, 1958 - November 12, 1968, 1969.

 

            Subseries I.1.  Candidate files.

 

101-261               Candidates for February 21, 1959. November 18, 1958 - January 9, 1959.

 

101-262               Candidates for December 1959 Election n.d., September 24, 1959 - March 23, 1960.

 

101-263               Candidates of December 7, 1963 Primary n.d., January 9, 1963 - January 22, 1964.

 

101-264               Meet the Candidates Night (City Election 1961). n.d., October 16, 1961 - December 5, 1961.

 

            Subseries I.2.  Specific Candidates

 

101-265         Philip Ciaccio. n.d., January 22, 1962 - June 1, 1962.

 

101-266         Daniel McGovern. n.d., February 26, 1958 - October 19, 1958.

 

101-267         Rene Viosca. n.d., October 15, 1958 - December 9, 1958.

 

101-268         Correspondence. n.d., August 10, 1959 - November 5, 1964.

 

            Subseries I.3.  Election Files

 

101-272         Clippings - Election Results. February 5, 1958 - January 10, 1960.

 

101-273               Kennedy-Johnson Democratic Committee. n.d., September 19, 1960 - December 5, 1960.

 

101-274               Constitutional amendments. November 6, 1962.

 

101-275               Special - Judgeships and Senate. February 9, 1963.

 

101-276               St. Bernard Parish - Parochial and Legislative. December 7, 1963.

 

101-277               Jefferson Parish - Parochial and Legislative. January 11, 1964.

 

101-278               Orleans and Jefferson Parishes - Local, State, and Congressional. July 25, 1964 and August 29, 1964.

 

101-279               Orleans Parish - Municipal. 1966.

 

101-280               Slidell, Kenner. April 9, 1966.

 

101-281               Orleans, Jefferson, St. Bernard, St. Tammany Parishes. Local, State, and Congressional. August 13, 1966.

 

101-282               Orleans and Jefferson Parishes - Local, State, and Congressional. November 8, 1966.

 

101-283               State Offices. November 1967.

 

101-284               Orleans Parish - School Board. November 5, 1968.

 

            Subseries I.4.  Legislative Elections

 

101-292         House of Representatives. Jefferson Parish. 1961.

 

101-293         House Of Representatives. Orleans Parish. 1963 (Wards 1-9).

 

101-294         House of Representatives. Orleans Parish. 1963 (Wards 10-17).

 

101-295         House of Representatives. St. Bernard Parish. 1963

 

101-296         Senate. 1963 (Districts 1-10).

 

101-297         House of Representatives. Jefferson Parish. 1964.

 

101-298               House of Representatives (Special Election). Orleans Parish. 1966 (Wards 7, 9, 12).

 

101-299               House of Representatives and Senate. Orleans, Jefferson, St. Bernard Parishes. 1967. (Arranged numerically by districts).

 

            Subseries I.5.  Miscellaneous Subject Files

 

101-285         Peter Babin, Jr. n.d.,  July. 17, 1958 - July 8, 1959.

 

101-286               C.O.P.E. Election - April 1964 Meeting.  n.d., March 26, 1964 - April 23, 1964.

 

101-287         C.O.P.E. Executive Board.  1968 and 1969.

 

101-288         Miscellany.  n.d., and September 21, 1967.

 

101-289         St. Bernard Labor Advisory Committee.  July 3, 1964 - October 21, 1964.

 

101-290         State C.O.P.E.  July 14, 1959 - July 27, 1959.

 

101-291         A. P. Stoddard.  n.d., April 1967 - November 13, 1967.

 

            Subseries I.6.  Publications

 

101-303               C.O.P.E. Publications.  (Note: Also includes a few random issues of other publications).

                                    Keeping In Touch. n.d., August 1, 1959 - July 9, 1964.

                                    Political Memo from C.O.P.E. July 20, 1959 - February 21, 1966.

 

101-304               Orleans Parish Democratic Executive Committee publications.

                                    First and Second Democratic Primaries. December 7, 1963 - January 11, 1964.

                                    First and Second Democratic Primaries. November 4, 1967 - December 16, 1967.

                                    First and Second Democratic Primaries. May 12, 1962 - May 26, 1962.

                                    First and Second Special Democratic Primaries. February 9, 1963 - March 23, 1963.

                                    First and Second Special Democratic Primaries. Feb, 12, 1966 - March 19, 1966

                                    Mayoralty First and Second Democratic Primaries and Special Democratic Election. November 6, 1965 and December 11, 1965 and December 11, 1965.

                                    Mayoralty First Democratic Primary. January 27, 1962.

                                    Mayoralty Second Democratic Primary. March 3, 1962.

 

            Subseries I.7.  Questionnaires

 

101-269         Questionnaires. n.d.

 

101-270         Questionnaires 1959. n.d., August 17, 1959 - December 29, 1959.

 

101-271.        Questionnaires 1963. n.d., January 10, 1963. - January 21, 1963.

 

            Subseries I.8.  Registration File

 

101-300         C.O.P.E. Registration Report. January 19, 1959.

 

101-301         Registration Check. n.d.

 

101-302         Voter Registration - Orlans Parish. n.d., April 21, 1967.

 

 

Series II.        Files pertaining to Greater New Orleans A.F.L. - C.I.O.

 

Included are correspondence, publications, minutes, reports, agreements, news articles, and press releases, constitutions, questionnaires, miscellany. n.d., August 18, 1954 - December 10, 1977.

 

Series II.1.  Correspondence

 

101-1              n.d., October 21, 1957 - August 13, 1959.

 

101-2              August 17, 1959 - August 5, 1960.

 

101-3              August 8, 1960 - June 8, 1961.

 

101-4              June 12, 1961 - February 19, 1962.

 

101-5              February 20, 1962 - March 29, 1963.

 

101-6              April 1, 1963 - March 16, 1964.

 

101-7              March 17, 1964 - October 30, 1964.

 

101-8              November 1964 - July 19, 1965.

 

101-9              July 20, 1965 - April 18, 1966.

 

101-10            April 19, 1966 - April 21, 1967.

 

101-11            April 24, 1967 - August 22, 1968.

 

101-12            August 23, 1968 - July 25, 1973.

 

Series II.2.  Material Originally not in File Folders

 

101-120         CETA. n.d., 1973 and March 1975.

 

101-121         Changes in Constitution and by-laws. n.d., April 20, 1961 - May 19, 1972.

 

101-122         C.O.P.E. n.d., 1960, February 26, 1973 and August 14, 1976.

 

101-123         Miscellany. n.d., November 31, 1965 [sic] - June 1966.

 

Series II.3.  Miscellaneous Subject Files

 

101-13                  Air Conditioning and Refrigeration.  n.d., August 18, 1954 - September 24, 1963

 

101-14                  Air Conditioning Ordinance - 1963. n.d., March 7, 1961 - December 19, 1963.

 

101-15                  A. Philip Randolph Institute.  June 29, 1971.

 

101-16                  Anti - Strike Breaking Legislation.  February 1960 - October 27, 1960.

 

101-17                  Army Terminal Command.  n.d., February 4, 1965.

 

101-18                  Bids and Specifications City of New Orleans.  January 29, 1959 - June 1, 1959.

 

101-19                  Big Brothers. n.d. April 23, 1971 - February 17, 1972.

 

101-20                  Building Service Employees Local 275 (Housing Authority Correspond­ence).  n.d., January 15, 1963.

 

101-21                  Bureau of Governmental Research. n.d., June 6, 1967 - January 21, 1970.

 

101-22                  Charity Hospital.  August 25, 1964 - October 30, 1972.

 

101-23                  Checks for "Strike Appeal."  n.d., September 12, 1958 - October 14, 1958.

 

101-24                  City Councilmen.  February 6, 1959 - July 9, 1959.

 

101-25            City Employees. December 26, 1968 - January 21, 1969.

 

101-26            Civil Rights. n.d., August 4, 1964 - September 18, 1964.

 

101-27            Class of '55. May 11, 1970.

 

101-28            Committee Reports. September 23, 1959.

 

101-29                  Committee to Organize Unorganized,  n.d., January 1961 - February 14, 1962.

 

101-30                  Community Service Activities. June 1968.

 

101-31                  Community Services Activity Committee.  n.d., April 1957 - March 22, 1966.

 

101-32                  Community Services Council Inc. February 23, 1972 - April 30, 1973.

 

101-33                  Constitution - Original CLC [Central Labor Council].  n.d., 1956, August 7, 1956 - June 2, 1959.

 

101-34                  County, State. September 3, 1958 - September 30, 1958.

 

101-35                  Dock Board - Wharf.  n.d., April 11, 1961 - June 2, 1963.

 

101-36                  Dodd, Hirsch, Barker, and Meunier. 1963, June 21, 1963.

 

101-37                  Emergency Planning Conference.  n.d., 1961, September 22, 1961 - April 9, 1962.

 

101-38                  Fact-Finding and Arbitration Committee. July 29, 1958 and August 5, 1958.

 

101-39                  Federal Housing Project - Algiers. February 16, 1959 - February 19, 1959.

 

101-40                  Federationist.  n.d., September 1957 - October 30, 1959.

 

101-41                  Forms for Finance Committee Reports.  n.d.

 

101-42                  Four Freedoms Hotel.  n.d., March 10, 1960 - February 1, 1961.

 

101-43                  Glass Bottle Blowers Association.  n.d., September 5, 1958 - October 20, 1958.

 

101-44                  Grape Boycott.  n.d., February 1969 - May 10, 1969.

 

101-45                  Human Relations Committee.  n.d., June 2, 1966 - September 5, 1972.

 

101-46                  Improving the Quality of Urban Life. December 1967.

 

101-47                  Jefferson Parish Liaison Committee. February 3, 1966 - April 12, 1966.

 

101-48                  Kennedy's Committee to Boost Economy of Greater New Orleans.  n.d., March 4, 1961 - May 9, 1961.

 

101-49                  Labor Area Trends Pamphlet. May 24, 1973.

 

101-50                  Labor Day. August 11, 1958 - September 1958.

 

101-51                  Labor Mediation Board.  n.d., July 28, 1966 - July 5, 1967.

 

101-52                  Lackland Golf Club.  n.d., May 11, 1971 - January 31, 1972.

 

101-53                  LDES Manpower Advisory Committee Approval Form.  n.d., August 8, 1972 and August 10, 1972.

 

101-54                  LEAP.  n.d., May 20, 1969 and September 24, 1969.

 

101-55                  Legislative Reports.  n.d., May 16, 1962 - January 14, 1963.

 

101-56                  Legislature 1960 Bills.  n.d., 1960, May 18, 1960 - May 25, 1960.

 

101-57                  Legislature 1966.  n.d., 1966, May 16, 1966 - July 5, 1966.

 

101-58                  L.L.P.E. Minutes. June 30, 1955 - June 20, 1957.

 

101-59                  Louisiana A.F.L. - C.I.O. Newsletter.  n.d., September 1963 - February 1967.

 

101-60                  Louisiana State Labor Council.  n.d., August 15, 1958 - February 26, 1963.

 

101-61                  LSUNO.  n.d., October 25, 1961 - July 16, 1968.

 

101-62                  MA-4 Contracts.  n.d., April 9, 1970.

 

101-63                  MAPC.  n.d., February 18, 1972 - May 8, 1973.

 

101-64                  MDTA.  n.d., October 2, 1964 - March 15, 1965.

 

101-65                  George Meany.  n.d., May 27, 1958 - August 17, 1961.

 

101-66                  Medical Care Center.  n.d., December 17, 1973 - September 5, 1974.

 

101-67                  Miscellaneous.  n.d., 1958, January 15, 1959 - September 1, 1971.

 

101-68                  Missile Plant Committee. September 19, 1961 - May 17, 1962.

 

101-69                  Ray Mix. August 27, 1958 - August 28, 1958.

 

101-70                  Model Cities.  n.d., June 27, 1968 - July 1, 1969.

 

101-71                  Monorail.  n.d., March 31, 1958 - August 19, 1959.

 

101-72                  DeLesseps Morrison (Mayor).  n.d., May 26, 1958 - July 28, 1961.

 

101-73                  National Labor Relations Board.  n.d., September 1958 - April 18, 1962.

 

101-74                  New Orleans, City of.  n.d., March 27, 1962 - May 27, 1963.

 

101-75                  New Orleans Family Health Center.  n.d., March 31, 1972 - October 31, 1973.

 

101-76                  New Orleans Plan.  n.d., February 26, 1970 and May 8, 1970.

 

101-77                  News Articles and Releases.  n.d., June 1968 - January 12, 1970.

 

101-78                  News Articles and Releases.  January 14, 1970 - May 28, 1973.

 

101-79                  News Articles and Releases.  May 30, 1973 - October 1974.

 

101-80                  Office Employees. No. 60 - 1966 Contract.  n.d., June 1963 - June 1, 1966.

 

101-81                  Outreach.  n.d., July 1969 and July 31, 1969.

 

101-82                  Payroll Deductions.  n.d., March 27, 1958 - November 14, 1958.

 

101-83                  Per Capita Exoneration Committee.  May 28, 1959 and July 21, 1960.

 

101-84                  Planetarium and Science Museum.  n.d., March 9, 1962 and May 28, 1962.

 

101-85                  Planning Commission.  May 6, 1950 (March 14, 1974 - July 15, 1974) July 15, 1974

 

101-86                  Planning Commission.  July 17, 1974 - January 22, 1975.

 

101-87                  Plaquemines Parish - Ordinance No. 54.  n.d., January 30, 1964 - November 18, 1965.

 

101-88                  Pontchartrain Golf.  n.d., January 7, 1973.

 

101-89                  President's Council on Youth Opportunity.  n.d., January 3, 1968 - September 18, 1970.

 

101-90                  Prevent-Med Program.  n.d., September 24, 1971 - December 1972.

 

101-91                  Public Belt Railroad-Railway Clerks Union.  February 1, 1967 - May 18, 1968.

 

101-92                  Public Relations Committee. July 29, 1958 - March 28, 1961.

 

101-93                  Questionnaires - Signed by members of Legislature.  n.d., September 21, 1959 - September 29, 1959.

 

101-94                  Regional Planning Commission.  n.d., May 6, 1970.

 

101-95                  Resolutions.  n.d., July 18, 1960 - February 14, 1966.

 

101-97                  Right Wing Reports.  February 1962 - April 10, 1963.

 

101-98                  Safety Labor.  n.d., 1964 (April 8, 1969 - October 1969) October 1969

 

101-99                  Sales Tax.  n.d., November 25, 1964 - November 29, 1966.

 

101-100               Sales Tax. (Proposed by Davis).  n.d., December 1, 1960 - January 19, 1961.

 

101-101               William F. Schnitzler (Secretary - Treasurer A.F.L. - C.I.O.). March 31, 1958 - December 31, 1963.

 

101-102               Scholarships.  n.d., 1966 - May 3, 1967.

 

101-103               Schools (Resolution and Letters).  n.d., August 15, 1960 - November 10, 1961.

 

101-104               Social Security.  n.d., March 6, 1967 - January 16, 1968.

 

101-105               Social Welfare Planning Council.  n.d., July 15, 1960 - July 10, 1964.

 

101-106               Special Committee Receipts.  n.d., February 15, 1959 - February 23, 1959.

 

101-107               Special Committee.  February 2, 1959.

 

101-108               Steering Committee.  February 24, 1970.

 

101-109               A. P. Stoddard.  n.d., May 1, 1964 - May 11, 1967.

 

101-110               Suspended Unions.  n.d., September 30, 1956 - May 9, 1963.

 

101-111               Tax Exempt Union File (Real Estate).  July 8, 1963 - February 28, 1964.

 

101-112               Telegrams.  n.d., April 14, 1958 - July 28, 1969.

 

101-113               Union Shops, Greater N.O. Metropolitan Area.  n.d., May 3, 1972.

 

101-114               United Farm Workers Organizing Committee.  n.d., March 5, 1969 - June 21, 1969.

 

101-115               United Mine Workers - Committee to Halt Encroachment.  n.d., 1964, July 10, 1964 - September 16, 1964.

 

101-116               Urban League.  n.d., May 16, 1969 - July 1, 1969.

 

101-117               Urban Renewal.  n.d., December 1967 - May 2, 1968.

 

101-118               Voters Service (Registration Data).  n.d., 1957, May 5, 1958, February 13, 1959.

 

101-119               WDSU-TV (Editorials, etc.)  May 3, 1959 - December 4, 1961.

Subseries II.4.  Publications

 

101-124               American Bar Association.

                                    About Time. January 1977.

                                    Directory of Criminal Justice Diversion Programs. 1976.

 

101-125               A.F.L. - C.I.O.

                                    A.F.L. - C.I.O. Labor Studies Center.  1975-1976.

                                    A.F.L. - C.I.O. News.  November 12, 1977, November 19, 1977. December 10. 1977.

                                    Case For Federal Job Injury Standards.  December 1972.

                                    College Cost Squeeze Workers Out.  November 1972.

                                    Community Resources Available in New Orleans Area.  December 1972.

                                    Constitution and By-Laws:  C.O.P.E.  1957.

                                    Constitution and Rules:  New Orleans A.F.L. - C.I.O.  1963.

                                    Cooperation - Key to Jobs for Handicapped.  n.d.

                                    Economic Squeeze on the Worker.  December 1972.

                                    The Greater Danger.  November 1956.

                                    Hidden Cost of Not Belonging.  n.d.

                                    Labor Champion of Public Education.  November 1970.

                                    Labor Looks at Automation.  1967.

                                    Legislative Achievements of A.F.L.  1955.

                                    Memo from C.O.P.E.  n.d.

                                    Organizations Affiliated with A.F.L. - C.I.O.  1972.

                                    Peoples Forum Program.  1971.

                                    Policy Resolution...A.F.L. - C.I.O. Eleventh Constitutional Convention (Manpower). October  1975.

                                    Policy Resolution...A.F.L. - C.I.O. Eleventh Constitutional Convention (Woman Workers).  October 1975.

                                    Policy Resolutions...Third Constitutional Convention, A.F.L. - C.I.O.  1959.

                                    Policy Resolutions...Fifth Constitutional Convention, A.F.L. - C.I.O.  1963.

                                    Policy Resolutions...Sixth Constitutional Convention, A.F.L. - C.I.O.  1965.

                                    Policy Resolutions...Eleventh Constitutional Convention, A.F.L. - C.I.O.  1975.

                                    Political and Legislative Views of the Louisiana A.F.L. - C.I.O.  n.d.

                                    Proceedings of Third Convention of Louisiana State Labor Council A.F.L. - C.I.O.  1958.

                                    Profile of a Changing Workforce.  1974.

 

101-126               The Seventeen Million. n.d.

                                    State and Local Taxes.  1958.

                                    Statements Adopted by A.F.L. - C.I.O. Executive Council. February 14-21, 1972.

                                    Taft-Hartley Case Study.  n.d.

                                    Tax Subsidies That Export Jobs.  November  1972.

                                    Union Philosophy and the Professional.  n.d.

                                    Up From the Sweatshop.  July  1969.

                                    What Every Worker Should Know About Alcoholism.  n.d.

                                    What You Owe to the A.F.L.  n.d.

                                    Why Unions?  July 1969.

                                    Working Together...Jobs for Handicapped.  May 1967.

 

101-127               A. Philip Randolph Institute.

                                    Seniority and Racial Progress.  n.d.

 

101-128               Bureau of Governmental Research.

                                    Dimensions and Solutions of New Orleans' Financial Dilemma.  1966.

                        Orleans Parish Offices.  1961.

 

101-129         Bureau of National Affairs Inc.

                        Highlights of Wage and Hour Law.  1974.

                        1976 Calendar of Wage Negotiations.  1976.

 

101-130         Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions.

                        Community of Fear.  1960.

                        Cybernation.  1962.

                        Economy Under Law.  1960.

                        Negro as an American.  1963.

                        World Without War.  1961.

 

101-131         Goals to Grow.

                        Framework for the Future.  Vols. I, II, III. 1971, 1972.

 

101-132         League for Industrial Democracy.

                        Black Builders.  ca. 1970.

                        Down on the Farm.  1955.

 

101-133         Louisiana State Government Publications.

                        Charity Hospital Legislative Audit.  1972.

                        Directory of Manufacturers.  1970

                        General Labor Laws.  1959.

                        Goals for Louisiana.  1970.

                        Handbook for School Administrators.  1953.

                        Laws Relating to Labor Organizations.  n.d.

                        Roster of Officials.  1957.

 

101-134         Miscellaneous.

                        Affirmative Action Register.  1977.

                        Confidential Convention and Corporate Schedule.  1976.

                        Courier.  May 15, 1974.

                        Demand for Rehabilitation.  1966.

                        Growth with Less Inflation.  1970.

                        Louisiana Business Survey.  July 1971 and October 1971.

                        Louisiana Economy.  February 1974.

                        Louisiana Governmental Guide.  1970, 1971, 1972.

                        Louisiana Migrant Labor Problems.  1960.

                        The Machinist.  March 21, 1963.

                        Mutual Agreement Programming.  1974.

                        New Precinct Directory of Orleans Parish.  1959.

                        New South Student.  April 1967.

                        Quality of Work Programs.  1975.

                        Taxes and Public Interest.  1963.

                        United Work Program.  1975.

                                    Veterans' Reemployment Rights.  1971

                                    Where the Money Is.  1975

                                    Workers in Our Fields.  1959.

 

101-135               National  Alliance of Businessmen.

                                    Job Entry Program.  n.d.

                                    Working.  Fall 1976.

 

101-136               National Council on Crime and Delinquency.

                                    Crime and Delinquency.  July 1975, July 1976, January 1977

                                    Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency. July 1976.

 

101-137               Public Affairs Research Council of Louisiana.

                                    Louisiana State Tax Handbook.  1969.

                                    PAR Analysis.  September 1970 - March 1977.

                                    PAR Legislative Bulletin.  June 5, 1970 - June 18, 1976.

                                    Statistical Profile of Louisiana.  1973.

 

101-138               Southern Regional Council.

                                    Black Youth in a Southern Metropolis.  1968.

                                    Economic Status of Negroes.  n.d.

                                    Hunger U.S.A. Revisited.  n.d.

                                    The Job Ahead.  1975.

                                    Price We Pay for Discrimination.  1964.

                                    Special Reports and Supplements.  n.d., November 1967 - December 1969.

 

101-139               United States Government Publications.

                                    Civil Rights in the Urban Crisis.  1968.

                                    Comprehensive Employment and Training Act Information. (Includes numerous pamphlets.)  ca. 1975.

                                    Employment and Training Report of the President.  1976.

                                    Glossary of Abbreviations and Acronyms.  1972.

                                    Know Your Communist Enemy.  December 8, 1955.

                                    National Apprenticeship Program.  1972.

                                    Union Election Cases Under the IMRDA.  1972.

                                    Your Government Conducts Election.  1966.

Series III.       Files pertaining to H.R.D.I.

 

Included are reports, correspondence, surveys, minutes, agreements, news releases, publications, miscellany. n.d., January 3, 1967 - March 10, 1976.

 

            Subseries III.1.  Bi-Weekly Report Files.

 

101-140         n.d., April 4, 1972 - December 19, 1973.

 

101-141         January 8, 1974 - May 24, 1974.

 

101-142         May 29, 1974 - September 16, 1974.

 

101-143         September 17, 1974 - January 12, 1975.

 

            Subseries III.2.  Correspondence.

 

101-144         Peter Babin III.  December 3, 1970 - March 30, 1973.

 

101-145         Donald Bridges.  June 18, 1973 - December 20, 1974.

 

101-146         Employers.  January 24, 1974 - February 20, 1974.  Incoming.

 

101-147         n.d., December 17, 1968 - December 22, 1970.

 

101-148         January 4, 1971 - August 7, 1974.

 

101-149         Incoming from National Office.  October 16, 1970 - March 1, 1973.

 

101-150         Memos.  January 8, 1969 - June 3, 1969.

 

101-151         Outgoing.  January 17, 1969.

 

101-152         Marcia Stein.  December 14, 1973 - May 22, 1974.

 

            Subseries III.3.  Material Originally not in File Folders. 

 

Primarily includes correspondence, publications, tally sheets, materials relating to Manpower Conference.

 

101-253         Analysis of 1976 H.R.D.I. Survey.  March 10, 1976.

 

101-254         Correspondence.  March 18, 1971 - December 9, 1974.

 

101-255         Manpower Conference.  September 11, 1974.

 

101-256         Miscellany.  n.d., December 14, 1972 - September 5, 1974.

 

101-257         Publications.  n.d., April 1973 - November 1974.

 

101-258         Report to U.S. Department of Labor.  January 25, 1976.

 

101-259         Staff Conference.  April 6-11, 1975.

 

101-260         Tally Steets.  July 31, 1973 - June 14, 1974.

 

            Subseries III.4.  Miscellaneous subject files.

 

101-153               Activities Report Outside HRDI.  March 13, 1969 and May 1, 1969.

 

101-154               Activity Records Report.  n.d., Jan, 3, 1969 - August 3, 1970.

 

101-155               American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees.  April 9, 1969.

 

101-156               A. Philip Randolph Institute.  n.d., April 14, 1971 - February 29, 1972.

 

101-157               Area Manpower Representatives.  April 1969 - March 1971.

 

101-158               Audit of the New Orleans Office.  n.d., December 4, 1973.

 

101-159               Jim Boyle.  August 20, 1970.

 

101-160               Charlie Bradford (Midwest).  May 27, 1971 - January 12, 1972.

 

101-161               Buddy Program.  n.d., March 4, 1969 - May 14, 1969.

 

101-162               Building and Construction Trades.  n.d., July 30, 1969 - January 26, 1972.

 

101-163               Building Trades Activities.  January 4, 1973 - November 1, 1974.

 

101-164               Calendar of Travel.  November 23, 1970 - May 1, 1972.

 

101-165               CAMPS.  n.d., March 7, 1969 - September 17, 1971.

 

101-166               Charity Hospital Job Developments.  n.d., April 28, 1972 - December 1, 1972.

 

101-167               City Action Plan.  September 3, 1969.

 

101-168               Communications from Washington (Informational Materials)  n.d.

 

101-169               Concentrated Employment Program.  January 29, 1969 and April 5, 1969.

 

101-170               Olga Corey.  September 14, 1970 - July 16, 1971.

 

101-171               Council on Governmental Reorganization (Task Forces on Development of Human Resources).  n.d., March 7, 1969 - March 1970.

 

101-172               Department of Labor.  December 14, 1970 - September 28, 1974.

 

101-173               Emergency Employment Act.  August 19, 1971 - August 27, 1971.

 

101-174               EEA. Weekly Report Louisville.  September 15, 1971 - March 17, 1972.

 

101-175               EEA. Weekly Report Memphis.  September 17, 1971 - March 10, 1972.

 

101-176               EEA. Weekly Report Nashville.  August 24, 1971 - April 7, 1972.

 

101-177               Employment Service.  October 25, 1972 - June 4, 1974.

 

101-178               Executive Council Statements.  February 17, 1969 - March 13, 1969.

 

101-179               General Services Administration.  n.d., September 1969 - July 18, 1972.

 

101-180               Government.  n.d., August 28, 1972 - May 3, 1974.

 

101-181               Greenleigh Associates.  n.d.

 

101-182               Charlie Hollowell.  August 20, 1970 - March 15, 1971.

 

101-183               H.R.D.I.  n.d., February 24, 1969 and December 19, 1969.

 

101-184               H.R.D.I.  Board of Trustees. n.d.

 

101-185               H.R.D.I. Field Staff Organization.  n.d., March 27, 1969 - June 11, 1971.

 

101-186         H.R.D.I. Monthly Reports (Overall).  June 25, 1971.

 

101-187         H.R.D.I. National Summary.  February 1, 1973 - March 30, 1973.

 

101-188         H.R.D.I. Newsletters.  September 1970 - April 1, 1971.

 

101-189         H.R.D.I. Questionnaire.  n.d., and August 21, 1970.

 

101-190         H.R.D.I. Statistics.  n.d., August 15, 1972 - January 27, 1973.

 

101-191         H.R.D.I. Training Program.  n.d., November 14, 1969 and April 26, 1970.

 

101-192         Itinerary.  April 28, 1972 - December 1, 1972.

 

101-193               Job Development and Placement.  n.d., August 1970 - September 28, 1971.

 

101-194         Job Placement Program.  September 3, 1971.

 

101-195         Job Placement (Time and Attendance).  n.d.

 

101-196         Job Placement (Vacations).  November 23, 1971.

 

101-197         JOBS 70 Contracts.  n.d., May 21, 1971 - February 17, 1972.

 

101-198         JOBS 70 Contracts (Ernest Colbert).  May 20, 1971 - December 14, 1972.

 

101-199         JOBS 70 Proposals.  n.d., September 5, 1973 - May 17, 1974.

 

101-200               Labor Survey - Manpower Involvement.  n.d., April 30, 1969 and June 1, 1969.

 

101-201               Lease.  August 11, 1970 - March 18, 1971.

 

101-202               Manpower Advisory Committee.  n.d., September 28, 1970 - June 2, 1971.

 

101-203               Manpower Conference.  n.d., March 12, 1973 - September 18, 1973.

 

101-204               Manpower Planning Council.  n.d., November 27, 1972 - August 8, 1974.

 

101-205               Miscellaneous.  n.d., July 29, 1968- October 11, 1974.

 

101-206               Miscellaneous '72 Kentucky.  December 8, 1971 - March 24, 1972.

 

101-207         Miscellaneous '72 Memphis.  August 24, 1971 - March 17, 1972.

 

101-208         Miscellaneous '72 Nashville.  February 3, 1972 - April 14, 1972.

 

101-209         Monthly Progress Report.  July 31, 1969 - April 7, 1970.

 

101-210         Monthly Report (November).  November 1970 - June 18, 1974.

 

101-211         Monthly Reports '72 Kentucky.  January 1972 and February 1972.

 

101-212         Monthly Reports '72 Memphis.  January 1972 and February 1972.

 

101-213         Monthly Reports '72 Nashville.  January 1972 and February 1972.

 

101-214               National Alliance of Businessmen.  n.d., January 1969 - September 24, 1974.

 

101-215               Neighborhood Council Presidents.  January 17, 1969 and March 21, 1969.

 

101-216               New Orleans Secretary - Karen Ann Rosa.  April 24, 1972 - October 11, 1972.

 

101-217               New Orleans Time and Attendance Reports.  n.d., December 20, 1968 - August 4, 1972.

 

101-218               Office and Professional Employees Unions (OPETU No. 2).  n.d., January 1, 1969 - April 1, 1971.

 

101-219               Organizational Chart.  n.d.

 

101-220               Pascagoula, Mississippi - Litton Industry.  n.d., November 17, 1969 - April 12, 1971.

 

101-221               Photos.  n.d.

 

101-222               Priorities.  December 15, 1970.

 

101-223               Prisoner Release.  August 29, 1973.

 

101-224               Program Achievements.  November 5, 1970.

 

101-225               Public Employment Program.  July 10, 1974.

 

101-226               Questionnaire on Urban League.  n.d., August 28, 1973.

 

101-227               Reading File.  August 3, 1972 - February 14, 1974.

 

101-228               Regional Manpower Administration.  December 17, 1968 - March 22, 1971.

 

101-229               Regional Secretary Communications - Incoming.  May 17, 1971 - December 15, 1971.

 

101-230               Regional Secretary Communications - Outgoing.  July 12, 1971 and July 13, 1971.

 

101-231               Regional Secretary - Travel Authorizations and Expense Report.  n.d., June 11, 1971 - October 28, 1971.

 

101-232               Report Procedures and Worksheet Data ' 73.  n.d., 1973 and March 5, 1973.

 

101-233               Rothman, Julius.  December 5, 1972 - November 20, 1974.

 

101-234               Scope of Work for H.R.D.I.  n.d., February 1, 1973 - January 26, 1975.

 

101-235               Speaking Assignment.  March 28, 1974.

 

101-236               Status of ES Relationship Information January '73.  December 29, 1972.

 

101-237               Marcia Stein.  August 11, 1970 - September 9, 1971.

 

101-238               Summer Youth Employment Program Memo 1972.  n.d., April 20, 1972 and July 18, 1972.

 

101-239               Summer Youth Program - First Report 1972.  n.d.

 

101-240               Merlin L. Taylor.  n.d., January 2, 1969 - April 7, 1971.

 

101-241               Time and Attendance Record.  n.d., January 4, 1973 - December 27, 1974.

 

101-242               Top Priorities and Protections.  November 17, 1970.

 

101-243               Travel Authorizations.  February 20, 1973 - February 22, 1974.

 

101-244               Travel Authorizations - New Orleans area.  November 4, 1970 - February 22, 1973.

 

101-245               United Fund.  n.d., May 1969 - 1973.

 

101-246               Vacations.  October 4, 1972 - October 26, 1972.

 

101-247               Veterans Assistance Program '72 Kentucky.  February 28, 1972 - March 6, 1972.

 

101-248               Weekly and Bi-Weekly '72 Kentucky.  January 7, 1972 - March 18, 1972.

 

101-249               Weekly and Bi-Weekly '72 Memphis.  December 31, 1971 - March 17, 1972.

 

101-250               Weekly and Bi-Weekly '72 Nashville.  n.d., January 7, 1972 - March 17, 1972.

 

101-251               Youth Advisory Council.  n.d., May 8, 1970 - May 10, 1971.

 

101-252                   Youth Opportunity.  1970. November 1970 - December 30, 1970.

Index Terms

Committee on Political Education (C.O.P.E.)

Greater New Orleans AFL-CIO

Human Resources Development Institute (H.R.D.I.)

Labor—Louisiana—New Orleans

Unions—Louisiana—New Orleans