MSS 286 - Alma Young Collection: Inventory

Alma Young COLLECTION

(Mss 286)

Inventory

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

Summary

 

 

Size:                          ca. 25 linear feet (50 boxes)

 

Geographic

locations:                 The bulk of the collection deals overwhelmingly with New Orleans, Louisiana.  Some material pertains to Belize and other areas of the Caribbean visited and studied by Young.  Other areas with small amounts of related material include Potchefstroom, South Africa; Buenos Aires; Argentina; and American cities visited or studied by Young in the course of her urban planning work.

 

Inclusive dates:      1928; 1973-1996; 2004

 

Bulk dates:              1977-1996

 

Summary:                Academic and professional papers of a professor in UNO’s College of Urban and Public Affairs.  In addition to Young’s research material and administrative papers concerning UNO and CUPA, the collection also includes a great deal of material concerning Young’s tenure as a member of the Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans, her involvement with New Orleans’s Downtown Development District, and other urban planning projects in the city.

 

Related

collections:              Chamber of Commerce Collection (Mss 66); University of New Orleans Archives (Mss 159)

 

Source:                     Gift, 1996

 

Access:                     No restrictions

 

Copyright:                Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.

 

Citation:                    Alma Young Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

Biographical Note

 

Dr. Alma Young “embodied a remarkable balance among the roles of teaching, research, community involvement and university administration.”  UNO Research News – Winter 1997, pg 2.

 

            Alma Harrison Young was born in Florence, South Carolina on February 11, 1947.  Her parents were both college-educated and trained to be teachers, but her father worked most of his life as a postal clerk.  Young attended segregated black public schools, but decided early in life to move north to attend college.  She attended Radcliffe College in Cambridge, Massachusetts, where she received a Bachelor of Arts degree in Government and Philosophy in 1969.  She continued her education by earning a Masters in Journalism at Columbia University in 1970, and a Doctorate in Political Science at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1978.

 

            Alma Young came to New Orleans in the fall of 1975 with her husband, who was studying at Tulane University.  Her primary research interest at the time was politics in Belize and the English-speaking Caribbean, but she accepted a position at the University of New Orleans researching political participation.  Within a year, UNO offered her a position teaching social policy, and she joined the faculty of the School of Urban and Regional Studies as a professor of urban and public affairs.  She would remain part of the UNO faculty until 1996.

 

            After just five months at SURS, at the request of Mayor Ernest Morial Young  joined the first African-American-led administration in the city’s history.  As Morial’s Special Assistant, she directed the Office of Federal Programs and Special Projects from 1978 to 1980.  In this position, she obtained $23 million in federal Urban Development Action Grants for New Orleans.  During her time at City Hall, Alma Young continued to teach part-time at UNO.  By this point, while she continued to do research on Caribbean politics, she also had a research interest in urban development and social policy issues.

 

            Even after leaving the Morial administration, Alma Young remained involved with issues of urban planning and social policy outside of her academic career.  From 1980 to 1981 she served on the Board of Directors of the Downtown Development District, which was charged with maintaining and improving the quality of the downtown area.  She helped to found and directed the New Orleans Citywide Development Corporation from 1978 to 1981, which was set up to provide loans and technical assistance to small businesses.  She also worked on neighborhood revitalization projects such as the Freret Street Revitalization Project and on larger projects such as the Convention Center and Canal Place. 

 

            Of all Alma Young’s urban planning and civic involvement, her tenure on the Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans was arguably the most important.  Nominated by the Urban League for her work with the Downtown Development District and appointed to the Board for a five-year term from 1986 to 1991, Alma Young was the first woman commissioner in the port’s history.  Her tenure on the board came at a time when the port was faced with the city’s continuing transition from an economy based around the port to an increasing dependence on tourism and the service sector.  This transitional state can be clearly seen in the papers accumulated by Young during her time on the Board of Commissioners.

 

            Despite her varied roles in the civic activities of the city, Alma Young continued in an active role in the academic and administrative life of UNO.  She was Associate Director of the School of Urban and Regional Studies from 1980 to 1985 and served as Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs between 1985 and 1988.  Also, she was instrumental in starting both the Campus Child Care Center and the Women’s Center.  Young later returned to the newly renamed and expanded College of Urban and Public Affairs, where she served as the director of its new Ph.D. program for five years.

 

Meanwhile, her academic career continued apace.  In 1986 she co-edited Change and Crisis:  Militarization in the Non-Hispanic Caribbean which emerged from a panel she had chaired; it was widely acknowledged as the first major work on the topic.  Her election in 1986 as the first woman president of the Caribbean Studies Association was another high point of her career, and under her tenure she was able to bring the CSA’s annual conference to Belize for the first time.  She also edited the CSA’s quarterly newsletter for four years, and co-wrote many articles on the Caribbean with graduate students.  She helped bring the International Congress of Latin Americanists to New Orleans in 1988.  Young was also elected to the governing board of the Urban Affairs Association in 1995.

 

            Alongside her work in academia and urban planning, Alma Young was active in many civic and social-welfare organizations, including:

 

Girl Scout Council of Southeastern Louisiana – president 1993-1994; board member 1988-1996

Urban League of Greater New Orleans – board member, 1979-1981, 1986-1992

Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities – member of the board of directors, 1989-1996

Eighth Archdiocesan Synod, Committee on Community and Social Mission of the Church, Subcommittee on Employment and Jobs – Member, 1985.

Louisiana Children’s Museum – trustee, 1983-1987

Metropolitan Area Committee – director, 1983-1984, 1993-1995

Mayor’s Arts Policy Task Force – member, 1979

Mayor’s Task Force on Women – member, 1979

Toyota Families in Learning Program – director

Times-Picayune – member of advisory board, 1994-1996

Harvard University – member of Board of Overseers, 1992-1998

Agenda for Children – “statewide non-profit organization that advocates on behalf of children and their families.”  Board Member 1990-1996, Chair 1992-1996

Greater New Orleans Foundation Task Force on Teenage Pregnancy – member 1989-90.

Delta Assembly Planning Committee – Chair, 1987, co-coordinator 1984

Arts Council of New Orleans - Board of Directors, 1989-1991

 

            While Young was at UNO, her faculty biographical note described her research as focusing on “social policy and planning, especially the effects of citizen participation on public policy formulation and implementation, the difficulties of implementing federal programs at the local level, and the needs of particular groups.  Her research also cover[ed] areas of urban redevelopment, roles of urban planners, comparative urbanization, role of literacy in bringing women into development, Caribbean politics, and child care.”

 

In 1996, Alma Young left New Orleans and UNO in order to accept a position at Wayne State University in Detroit as a professor in urban affairs, and in 2000, she was appointed dean of that university’s College of Urban, Labor, and Metropolitan Affairs.  She remained in Detroit until her death on March 14, 2004 at the age of 57.

 

Additional biographical information on Alma Young can be found in folder 554.

 

Note:  The University of New Orleans’s School of Urban and Regional Studies (SURS) was renamed the College of Urban and Public Affairs (CUPA) in 1988.  For purposes of consistency, the use of these two names and acronyms in this finding aid and in the organizational scheme of this collection should be considered to be equivalent.

List of Series and Subseries

 

Series I.         UNO and SURS/CUPA Academic and Administrative Papers (16 boxes)

                        Subseries I.1            Academic Papers

                        Subseries I.2            Administrative Papers

 

Series II.        Port of New Orleans Papers (20 boxes)

                        Subseries II.1           Papers Relating to Meetings

                        Subseries II.2             Correspondence

                        Subseries II.3           Financial Papers

                        Subseries II.4           Reports

                        Subseries II.5           General / Miscellaneous Port Papers

 

Series III.       Urban Planning Papers

Subseries III.1            Downtown Development District Papers (4 boxes)

            III.1.a               Papers Relating To Meetings

            III.1.b               Correspondence

            III.1.c                Reports

            III.1.d               General/Miscellaneous Downtown Development District Papers

Subseries III.2            Urban Planning Reports (4 boxes)

Subseries III.3            New Orleans Citywide Development Corporation Papers (0.5 boxes)

Subseries III.4            Metrovision Partnership Papers  [0.5 boxes]

 

Series IV.      Girl Scout Council of Southeast Louisiana Papers (2 boxes)

 

Series V.       Miscellaneous (2 boxes)

 

Series Descriptions

 

Series I.         UNO and SURS/CUPA Academic and Administrative Papers 

            This series deals with Alma Young’s career as a professor in UNO’s College of Urban and Public Affairs between 1975 and 1996.    

                  Subseries I.1            Academic Papers

            This subseries consists of materials related to Alma Young’s research and academic activity in Caribbean studies and in urban studies.  The bulk of this material is related to academic conferences attended by Young, papers and monographs written or edited by Young, and clippings and research material accumulated by her in the course of her academic career.  The subseries also includes materials relating to her activity with the Caribbean Studies Association, and materials involving her Fulbright professorship in South Africa and her research trip to Buenos Aires.

                  Subseries I.2            Administrative Papers

            This subseries consists of materials related to Young’s participation in the administration of the SURS/CUPA department as well as other UNO committees and organizations.  This material is primarily correspondence related to the functioning of the department and the university, as well as minutes and agendas from departmental and committee meetings.  There are also papers related to Young’s involvement with the formation of the UNO Child Care Center.

           

Series II.        Port of New Orleans Papers 

            This series contains material accumulated by Alma Young during her term as a member of the Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans from 1986 to 1991.  After the expiration of her term, her seat on the Board was taken by Robert Tucker, Jr., who was sworn in on October 24, 1991.  Only a few of the papers in this series date from after this point.

                  Subseries II.1           Papers Relating to Meetings

            The bulk of the papers in this subseries consist of agendas and minutes from meetings of the Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans.  These agendas and minutes are filed together chronologically by meeting date.  Resolutions passed by the Board at these meetings are filed chronologically at the end of this subseries.

            While most of these papers deal with meetings of the Board of Commissioners, agendas and minutes from other meetings include committee meetings of the Board and joint meetings of the Board and the New Orleans Public Belt Railroad.  These meetings are interfiled chronologically alongside the main Board meetings.

                  Subseries II.2           Correspondence

            This subseries includes both internal port correspondence as well as external correspondence with port tenants, city officials, shipping companies, and other individuals and organizations.  Very little of the correspondence directly involves Dr. Young; most of it consists of copies of port correspondence that were sent to all members of the Board of Commissioners. While the bulk of the collection’s port-related correspondence is located in this series, researchers should also consult the correspondence found in the subject files in folders 340 to 349.

                  Subseries II.3           Financial Papers

            This subseries contains several types of financial records for the Port of New Orleans.  Each fiscal year, the Port produced a bound financial plan, these are located at the start of the subseries, along with specially produced financial statements and independent auditors’ reports.  In addition, the Port produced monthly financial reports for the use of its Commissioners.  Any financial records not falling into these formats are included at the end of the subseries.

                  Subseries II.4           Reports

            This subseries contains bound reports, studies, proposals, and plans produced by or for the Port of New Orleans.

                  Subseries II.5           General / Miscellaneous Port Papers

            This subseries includes miscellaneous material related to the Port, including bylaws, newspaper and magazine clippings, lease agreements with port tenants, periodicals, press releases, subject files created by Young around certain port-related issues, tariff amendments and revisions, and other types of material.

 

Series III.       Urban Planning Papers

            This series contains materials pertaining to Alma Young’s work on urban planning in the city of New Orleans, including her work with the Downtown Development District.  It does not include urban planning articles written by Young or materials relating to her tenure in UNO’s School of Urban and Regional Studies/College of Urban and Public Affairs.  Those materials can be found in Series I, which deals with Alma Young’s academic career.  Likewise, materials relating specifically to the Port of New Orleans are located in Series II.

Subseries III.1          Downtown Development District Papers

            In 1980 and 1981, Alma Young was a commissioner for the Downtown Development District of New Orleans, a special taxing district designed to strengthen the Central Business District through strategic planning and the implementation of capital improvements and services.  Notable projects included Canal Street improvement, the Lafayette Pedestrian Mall, and St. Charles Avenue Improvement.  This subseries consists of materials relating to Young’s tenure with the DDD.

Subseries III.2          Urban Planning Reports 

            This subseries consists of a wide variety of published reports, studies, proposals, plans, and promotional materials, all relating to urban planning.  Most of these materials are specific to New Orleans, though some titles deal with federal Urban Development Action Grants on a general level.  Some of the reports have attached correspondence and other accompanying material.  For similar materials, researchers should also consult Boxes 30 and 31, which contain published reports dealing specifically with the port of New Orleans, and Box 39, which contains published reports related to the Downtown Development District and its projects.

Subseries III.3          New Orleans Citywide Development Corporation Papers

            Alma Young was a founder of the New Orleans Citywide Development Corporation, an initiative designed to provide loans and technical assistance to local small businesses, and served as its director from 1978 to 1981.  These papers consist of correspondence, meeting materials, financial papers, and loan consideration proposals from her time in the organization.

Subseries III.4          Metrovision Partnership Papers 

The Metrovision Partnership was established in 1990, bringing together business and community leaders from the greater New Orleans area in order to develop a vision and a strategic plan to move the region out of economic difficulties and to provide a basis for the its future economy.  Alma Young served as a consultant in the stakeholder process, and as a facilitator for a focus group dealing with “Civic Culture and Quality of Life.”  The papers in this subsection largely deal with the meetings in which this vision and strategic plan were developed.

 

Series V.       Girl Scout Council of Southeast Louisiana Papers 

            This series pertains to Young’s time as a board member of the Girl Scout Council of Southeast Louisiana between 1988 and 1996.  It includes correspondence, meeting agendas and minutes, local and national Girl Scouts publications, press releases, and information on committees and membership numbers.  During Young’s tenure, the Girl Scouts made an effort to increase the diversity of their local membership; these efforts are reflected in the material in this subseries.

 

Series VI.      Miscellaneous 

            This series contains materials relating to Young’s work with organizations whose volume was not significant enough to warrant a series of their own.  These organizations include the Archdiocese of New Orleans’ Eighth Synod, the Arts Council of New Orleans, the Institute of Mental Hygiene, the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities, and the Urban League.  It also includes such peripheral and unclassifiable material as awards and certificates, biographical material, and miscellaneous correspondence which did not fit in with any other series.

 

Container List

 

 

Series I:  UNO and SURS/CUPA Academic and Administrative Papers

            This series deals with Alma Young’s career as a professor in UNO’s College of Urban and Public Affairs between 1975 and 1996.

 

Subseries I.1:  Academic Papers

            This subseries consists of materials related to Alma Young’s research and academic activity in Caribbean studies and in urban studies.  The bulk of this material is related to academic conferences attended by Young, papers and monographs written or edited by Young, and clippings and research material accumulated by her in the course of her academic career.  The subseries also includes materials relating to her activity with the Caribbean Studies Association, and materials involving her Fulbright professorship in South Africa and her research trip to Buenos Aires.

 

Box 1:                                    Conferences attended by Alma Young

1. Caribbean Studies Association (CSA), Dominican Republic, 1978.

                                                Papers presented by other scholars.

                                                [Young presented “Ethnic Conflict, Partisanship, and Radical Politics in Belize;” see folder 50]

2. Caribbean Studies Association (CSA), Dominican Republic, 1978.

                                                Correspondence and other Materials.

                                                [Young presented “Ethnic Conflict, Partisanship, and Radical Politics in Belize;” see folder 50]

3. Caribbean Studies Association (CSA), Curacao 1980.

                                    [Young presented “Maintaining Political Opposition: the Role of Leaders and Followers in Belize and Barbados;” see folder 52]

4. Caribbean Studies Association (CSA), Santo Domingo 1983.

5. Caribbean Studies Association (CSA), St. Kitts 1984.

                                    Panel on Political Violence in the Caribbean.

6. Caribbean Studies Association (CSA), San Juan 1985.

                                    Panel on Foreign Policy-Making in the Caribbean.

7. Caribbean Studies Association (CSA), Caracas 1986.

8. Caribbean Studies Association (CSA), Belize 1987.

9. Caribbean Studies Association (CSA), Havana 1991.

10. Crises in the Caribbean Basin, Tulane 1985.

 

Box 2:                                    Conferences Attended by Alma Young

11. Delta Assembly on Mexico - U.S. Relations, Natchez 1984.

                                    Conference Materials.

12. Delta Assembly on Mexico - U.S. Relations, Natchez 1984.

                                    Correspondence, Notes, and other Materials.

13. Delta Assembly on Population Issues, Biloxi 1987.  Correspondence and other Materials.

14. Delta Assembly on Population Issues, Biloxi 1987.

                                    Questions for the Assembly.

15. Delta Assembly on Population Issues, Biloxi 1987. 

                                    Lists of Invitees and Participants

16. International Conference of Americanists (ICA), New Orleans 1991.

17. International Studies Association (ISA), St. Louis 1977.

                                    [Young presented “The Role of Ethnicity in Transnational Political Systems: the Case of Belize;” see folder 55]

18. Latin American Studies Association (LASA), Albuquerque 1985.

                                    Papers presented by other scholars.

19. Latin American Studies Association (LASA), Albuquerque 1985.

                                    Materials acquired at conference.

20. Latin American Studies Association (LASA), New Orleans 1988.

 

Box 3:                                    Conferences Attended by Alma Young

21. Urban Affairs Association (UAA), Flint 1983.

                                    [Young presented “Can Urban Affairs Specialists Learn from their British Counterparts?”  see folder 56]

22. Urban Affairs Association (UAA), Portland 1984.

                                    [Young presented “Revitalizing the Central Business District;” see folder 68]

23. Urban Affairs Association (UAA), Norfolk 1985.

                                    [Young presented “The Evolving Cityscape: Socio-Economic Impacts of the 1984 Louisiana World’s Fair;” see folder 61]

 

                                    Monographs Written or Edited by Alma Young

 

                                    Dissertation:  “Political Opposition in the West Indies: The Process of Competition and Change in Belize and Barbados” (1978)

            24                    Title Page, Table of Contents, Preface

            25                    Chapter 1:  Introduction:  Determinants and Functions of Opposition

            26                    Chapter 2:  Environmental and Political Factors Influencing Opposition in the West Indies

            27                    Chapter 3:  Opposition in Historical Perspective

            28                    Chapter 4:  Electoral Politics and Opposition Survival

            29                    Chapter 5:  Social Bases of Parties

            30                    Chapter 6:  Socio-Political Characteristics of Legislators

            31                    Chapter 7:  Planned Corruption and the Maintenance of Intra-Party Control

            32                    Chapter 8:  Sites of Competition between Government and Opposition

            33                    Conclusion, Bibliography, Vita

                                    Edited Volume:  Change and Crisis:  Militarization in the Non-Hispanic Caribbean.  (1986)

            34                    Table of Contents, Maps

            35                    Chapter 1:  Toward an Understanding of Militarization in the Third World and the Caribbean  (by Alma Young)

            36                    Chapter 2:  Imperialism, National Security, and State Power in the Commonwealth Caribbean

            37                    Chapter 3:  The Increasing Emphasis on Security and Defense in the Caribbean

            38                    Chapter 4:  Violence and Militarization in the Eastern Caribbean: the Case of Grenada

            39                    Chapter 5:  Interest Groups and the Military Regime in Suriname

            40                    Chapter 6:  The Role of the Military in the National Security of Guyana

            41                    Chapter 7:  The Central American Crisis and its Impact on Belize (by Alma Young)

            42                    Bibliography, Information on Contributors

            43                    Editorial Comments, Correspondence, Research Notes

 

Box 4:                                    Papers Written By Alma Young:  Caribbean Studies

44                    “Belize, the United States, and the Central American Crisis” [presented at South Western Political Science Association Conference, Little Rock 1989]

45                    Latin American and Caribbean Contemporary Record (LACCR):

                                    Country Study on Belize, 1981-1983.

                                    Manuscripts

46                    Latin American and Caribbean Contemporary Record (LACCR):

                                    Country Study on Belize, 1981-1983.

                                    Research Notes, folder 1 of 2.

47                    Latin American and Caribbean Contemporary Record (LACCR):

                                    Country Study on Belize, 1981-1983.

                                    Research Notes, folder 2 of 2.

48. Latin American and Caribbean Contemporary Record (LACCR):

                                    Country Study on Belize, 1981-1983.

49. Latin American and Caribbean Contemporary Record (LACCR):

                                    Country Study on Belize, 1984.

                                    Manuscripts and Research Notes.

50. “Ethnic Conflict, Partisanship, and Radical Politics in Belize.”  [presented at CSA conference, Dominican Republic 1978.  See folder 1]

51. “1979 General Election in Belize.”

52. “Maintaining Political Opposition: the Role of Leaders and Followers in Belize and Barbados.”  [presented at CSA Conference, Curacao 1978.  See folder 3]

 

Box 5:                        Papers Written by Alma Young: Caribbean and Urban Studies

53. “Peace, Democracy, and Security in the Caribbean.”  [presented at Conference on Peace and Development in the Caribbean, Jamaica 1988.]

54                                            Review of The ‘Redlegs’ of Barbados: Their Origin and History.

55. “The Role of Ethnicity in Transnational Political Systems: the Case of Belize.”  [presented at ISA Conference, 1977.  See folder 17]

56. “Can American Urban Affairs Specialists Learn from their British Counterparts?”  [presented at UAA Conference, Flint 1983.  See folder 21]

57                                            “City Profile: New Orleans,” 1983

58                                            “Creating an Effective Citizen Involvement Program: Suggested Considerations”

59                                            “Creating Something from Nothing: the Struggle to Create a University Childcare Center Without University Financial Support.”

60                                            “Economic, Political, and Cultural Analysis of Black New Orleans.”  [presented at the People Make History conference, 1984]

61. “The Evolving Cityscape: Socio-Economic Impacts of the 1984 Louisiana World Exposition.”  [presented at UAA Conference, Norfolk 1985.  See folder 23]

62. “The Jackson Brewery Development:  Resolving Land-Use Change in a Co-operative Mode.”

63. “Managing Growth and Development in Puebla, Mexico.”

64. “Responding to Teenage Pregnancy: New Community Initiatives.”  [written for Urban League’s State of Black New Orleans 1986.]

65. “The Return to the River:  the Future of the New Orleans Riverfront.”

66. “The Revenue Picture in New Orleans.”  (Published by Urban League)

                                                Manuscript and Research Notes.

67. “The Revenue Picture in New Orleans.”  (Published by Urban League)

                                    Newspaper Clippings and Articles.

 

Box 6:                                    Papers Written by Alma Young:  Urban Studies

68. “Revitalizing the Central Business District: A Case Study of New Orleans: 1965-1982.”

                                    [presented at UAA Conference, Portland 1984. See folder 21]

69. “Strategic Planning for the Port of New Orleans”

                                    [see also folder 330]

70. “Teen Parenting and Child Neglect:  Are They Related?”  [presented at Delta Assembly, Biloxi 1987]

                                    Manuscript

71. “Teen Parenting and Child Neglect:  Are They Related?”  [presented at Delta Assembly, Biloxi 1987]

                                    Research Notes and Articles

72                    “Towards an Understanding of African-American Ethnicity.”

73. “Urban Development Action Grants:  The New Orleans Experience.”

                                    Manuscript.

74. “Urban Development Action Grants:  The New Orleans Experience.”

                                    Research Materials.

75                    “Vietnamese-Black Interaction in New Orleans:  A Preliminary Assessment.”

                                    Manuscript and Research Notes.

76. “Vietnamese-Black Interaction in New Orleans:  A Preliminary Assessment.”

                                    Newspaper Clippings and Articles.

77. “The Working Mother and the Increased Need for Child Care.”

 

Note:  See also folder 566 for the Urban League’s The State of Black New Orleans 1985, which contains a section by Alma Young entitled “The New Orleans Economy and Economic Development Strategies.”

            See also folder 330 for “The Local Matters: the Port of New Orleans Responds to Economic Restructuring,” written by Young after her tenure as a port commissioner.

 

Box 7:                                    Miscellaneous Academic Material

78. Bibliographies on Latin America and the Caribbean.

79. Caribbean Studies Association (CSA) - Correspondence.

80. Caribbean Studies Association (CSA) - Finances and Invoices for Caribbean Studies Newsletter.

81. Caribbean Studies Association (CSA) - Materials Related to the Fall 1985 edition of the Caribbean Studies Newsletter.

82                    Fulbright Professorship at Potchefstroom, South Africa, Spring 1995.

83                    Mission of American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) to Buenos Aires, 1981.  (Includes a paper by Young entitled “Squatter Settlements.”)

 

Box 8:                                    Miscellaneous Academic Material

84. M.I.T. Course Notes - Historiography, Fall 1973.

85. M.I.T. Course Notes - Lucian Pye’s Course on Theories of Political Development, Fall 1973.

86. M.I.T. Course Notes - Pool’s Class on Political Participation, Spring 1974.

87. Newspaper Clippings - The Changing Suburbs: Blacks and Hispanics.  (includes notes on Pontchartrain Park)

88. Newspaper Clippings - Immigration, Migration, Refugees, and Undocumented Workers.  (1980s)

89. Newspaper Clippings - Migration.

90. Newspaper Clippings - Urban Issues.  (1980s)

91. Research Notes - Belize - Military Spending.

92. Research Notes - Latin American and Caribbean Contemporary Record (LACCR):  Country Study on Belize, 1987-1988.

93. Research Notes - Latin American and Caribbean Contemporary Record (LACCR):  Country Study on Belize, 1987-1988.

94. SURS (School of Urban and Regional Studies) Occasional Papers.

95. Miscellaneous Academic Material

 

Subseries I.2:  Administrative Papers

            This subseries consists of materials related to Young’s participation in the administration of the SURS/CUPA department as well as other UNO committees and organizations.  This material is primarily correspondence related to the functioning of the department and the university, as well as minutes and agendas from departmental and committee meetings.  There are also papers related to Young’s involvement with the formation of the UNO Child Care Center.

 

General Correspondence: 

            Note:  These folders contain general correspondence involving CUPA/SURS and UNO administration, as well as a small amount of personal correspondence.  Additional correspondence can also be found in folders dealing with specific subjects, such as the

 

research papers and conferences in Boxes 1-6, and the folders dealing with specific topics and projects involving Young in Boxes 14-15.

 

Box 9:                        General Correspondence - 1979-1983

96. 1979
97. 1980
98. 1981
99. 1982 - January to June
100. 1982 - July to December
101. 1983 - January to June
102. 1983 - July to December

 

Box 10:                     General Correspondence - 1984-1989

103. 1984 - January to June
104. 1984 - July to September
105. 1984 - October to December
106. 1985
107. 1986
108. 1987
109. 1988
110. 1989

 

Box 11:                     General Correspondence - 1990-1996; no date.

111. 1990 - January to May
112. 1990 - June to December
113. 1991
114. 1992
115. 1993
116. 1994
117. 1995
118. 1996
119. [No date]

 

Box 12:                     Meetings and Agendas

120. SURS/CUPA Faculty Meetings, 1980-1986
121. SURS/CUPA Faculty Meetings, 1988-1991
122. SURS/CUPA Faculty Meetings, 1992-1996
123. SURS/CUPA Faculty Retreats, 1982-1996
124. Other Internal SURS/CUPA Meetings, 1980-1985
125. UNO Black Caucus
126. UNO Graduate and Faculty Council Meetings, 1982-1992
127. UNO Senate Meetings
128. Other UNO-wide (non SURS/CUPA) Meetings

 

Box 13:

129. CUPA Academic Plan, 1990-1993:  Drafts and Final Version
130. SURS/CUPA Courses, Curricula, Syllabi, 1980-1989
131. SURS/CUPA Courses, Curricula, Syllabi, 1990-1995
132. Miscellaneous Administrative Papers: SURS/CUPA, 1980-1983
133. Miscellaneous Administrative Papers: SURS/CUPA, 1984-1989
134. Miscellaneous Administrative Papers: SURS/CUPA, 1990-1996
135. Miscellaneous Administrative Papers: UNO, 1981-1996

 

Box 14:

136. Consent Decree to Desegregate UNO, 1988.
137. “Co-Production in Housing:  The Case of Mexico”  (A report submitted by the class in URBN 4001, Summer 1985.)
138. CUPA and the Freeport McMoRan Controversy, Fall 1995.
139. “1977 Evaluation of the Masters Program in Urban and Regional Planning at the University of New Orleans.”
140. Newspaper and Magazine Clippings related to UNO or to SURS/CUPA
141. Printed Material from UNO or SURS/CUPA – Fliers, Programs, Brochures
142. UNO Committee on Sexual Harassment -  Articles regarding Sexual Harassment
143. UNO Committee on Sexual Harassment - Correspondence, 1985-1989
144. UNO Committee on Sexual Harassment - Drafts and Revisions of Sexual Harassment Policy
145. UNO Committee on Sexual Harassment - Miscellaneous
146. Women’s Studies Department

 

Box 15:                     UNO Child Care Center

147. Articles about the UNO Child Care Center
148. Articles and Information regarding Child Care (General) (1 of 2)
149. Articles and Information regarding Child Care (General) (2 of 2)
150. Budgets and Financial Papers
151. Correspondence, 1985-1986, no date.
152. Correspondence, 1987-1988
153. Meeting Minutes and Notes
154. Miscellaneous
155. Position Descriptions and Job Titles
156. Proposals and Reports

 

Box 16:                     Academic Periodicals      

157. Caribbean Studies Newsletter, 1980-1982
158. Caribbean Studies Newsletter, 1983-1985
159. Caribbean Studies Newsletter, 1986-1988
160. Caribbean Studies Newsletter, 1995
161. Legacy (for UNO Alumni), September 1987
162. UNO Newsletter, SURS Newsletter

 

Publications written by or consulted by Alma Young, available in the UNO Authors Collection:

 

            The Working Mother and the Increased Need for Child Care”  Alma Young, Cornelia A. Good, and Sue Ann Hyer.  School of Urban Regional Studies, UNO: June 1985.

            Coastal Zone Management in the Metropolitan New Orleans Region.  Anthony J. Mumphrey, Jr., H. Wade VanLandingham, Alma H. Young, Edwin J. Durabb.  Urban Studies Institute, UNO:  August 1976.

            “Comparative Urbanization.”  SURS Occasional Papers, no. 5.  School of Urban and Regional Studies, UNO.

            “Evaluating Social Programs.”  SURS Occasional Papers, no. 2.  School of Urban and Regional Studies, UNO.

            Urban Development in the Louisiana Coastal Zone:  Problems and Guidelines.  Anthony J. Mumphrey, Jr.  Jane Schleichardt Brooks, John C. Miller, Jr.  Urban Studies Institute, UNO, December 1976.

 

Series II:  Port of New Orleans Papers

            This series contains material accumulated by Alma Young during her five-year term as a member of the Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans from 1986 to 1991.  After the expiration of her term, her seat on the Board was taken by Robert Tucker, Jr., who was sworn in on October 24, 1991.  Only a few of the papers in this series date from after this point.

 

Subseries II.1:  Papers Relating to Meetings

            The bulk of the papers in this subseries consist of agendas and minutes from meetings of the Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans.  These agendas and minutes are filed together chronologically by meeting date.  Resolutions passed by the Board at these meetings are filed chronologically at the end of this subseries.

            While most of these papers deal with meetings of the Board of Commissioners, agendas and minutes from other meetings include committee meetings of the Board and joint meetings of the Board and the New Orleans Public Belt Railroad.  These meetings are interfiled chronologically alongside the main Board meetings.
 

Box 17:         Agendas and Minutes, 1986-1988

163. July-August 1986
164. September-October 1986
165. November-December 1986
166. January-February 1987
167. March-April 1987
168. May-June 1987
169. July-August 1987
170. September-October 1987
171. November-December 1987
172. January-February 1988

 

Box 18:         Agendas and Minutes, 1988-1992

173. March-April 1988
174. May-August 1988
175. September-December 1988
176. January-March 1989
177. April-June 1989
178. July-September 1989
179. October-December 1989
180. January-March 1990
181. April-June 1990
182. July-September 1990
183. October-December 1990
184. January-June 1991
185. July-December 1991
186. January-March 1992

 

Box 19:         Board Resolutions, 1985-1991

187. August 1985, 1986
188. 1987
189. 1988
190. January-June 1989
191. July-December 1989
192. January-June 1990
193. July-December 1990
194. 1991

 

Subseries II.2:  Correspondence

            This subseries includes both internal port correspondence as well as external correspondence with port tenants, city officials, shipping companies, and other individuals and organizations.  Very little of the correspondence directly involves Dr. Young; most of it consists of copies of port correspondence that were sent to all members of the Board of Commissioners. While the bulk of the collection’s port-related correspondence is located in this series, researchers should also consult the correspondence found in the subject files in folders 341 to 350.

 

Box 20:         Correspondence, May 1986-December 1987

195. May-June 1986
196. July-August 1986
197. September 1986
198. October 1986
199. November 1986
200. December 1986
201. January 1987
202. February 1987
203. March 1987
204. April 1987
205. May 1987
206. June 1987
207. July 1987
208. August 1987
209. September 1987
210. October 1987
211. November 1987
212. December 1987

 

Box 21:         Correspondence, January-October 1988

213. January 1988
214. February 1988
215. March 1988
216. April 1988
217. May 1988
218. June 1988
219. July 1988
220. August 1988
221. September 1988
222. October 1988

 

Box 22:         Correspondence, November 1988-August 1989

223. November 1988
224. December 1988
225. January 1989, 1989 (no specified month)
226. February 1989
227. March 1989
228. April 1989
229. May 1989
230. June 1989
231. July 1989
232. August 1989

 

Box 23:         Correspondence, September 1989-June 1990

233. September 1989
234. October 1989
235. November 1989
236. December 1989
237. January 1990
238. February 1990
239. March 1990
240. April 1990
241. May 1990
242. June 1990

 

Box 24:         Correspondence, July 1990-May 1991

243. July 1990
244. August 1990
245. September 1990
246. October 1990
247. November 1990
248. December 1990
249. January 1991
250. February 1991
251. March 1991
252. April 1991
253. May 1991

 

Box 25:         Correspondence, June 1991-August 1993

254. June 1991
255. July 1991
256. August 1991
257. September 1991
258. October 1991
259. November 1991
260. December 1991
261. January-March 1992
262. April-June 1992
263. July-October 1992
264. March-August 1993

 

Subseries II.3:         Financial Papers

            This subseries contains several types of financial records for the Port of New Orleans.  Each fiscal year, the Port produced a bound financial plan; these are located at the start of the subseries, along with specially produced financial statements and independent auditors’ reports.  In addition, the Port produced monthly financial reports for the use of its Commissioners.  Any financial records not falling into these formats are included at the end of the subseries.

 

Box 26:

265. Financial Plan, Fiscal Year 1987
266. Financial Plan, Fiscal Year 1988
267. Financial Plan, Fiscal Year 1989
268. Financial Plan, Fiscal Year 1990
269. Financial Plan, Fiscal Year 1991
270. Financial Plan, Fiscal Year 1992
271. Financial Plan, Fiscal Year 1993
272. Financial Statements and Independent Auditors’ Reports, 1985-1990, 1994-1995
273. Independent Auditors’ Reports for Harbor Police Employees’ Retirement System, 1987-1990

 

Box 27:         Monthly Financial Reports, 1986-1987

274. June-August 1986
275. September-December 1986
276. January-March 1987
277. April-June 1987
278. July-December 1987

 

Box 28:         Monthly Financial Reports, 1988-1989

279. January-June 1988
280. July-December 1988
281. January-June 1989
282. July-December 1989

 

Box 29:         Monthly Financial Reports, 1990-1991;  Miscellaneous Financial Material

283. January-May 1990
284. July-December 1990
285. January-August 1991
286. Financial - Miscellaneous, 1986-1994

 

Subseries II.4:         Reports

            This subseries contains bound reports, studies, proposals, and plans produced by or for the Port of New Orleans.

 

Box 30:         Reports - No date, 1928, 1971, 1986-1987

287. “Crescent System Executive Overview.”  Port of New Orleans, [no date]
288. “A Survey of New Orleans and the New Orleans Industrial Zone.”  New Orleans Association of Commerce, [1928?]
289. “A Thumb-Nail Sketch of the Port of New Orleans and the Board of Commissioners.”  Emero S. Steigman, 1971.
290. Reviews of France Road Terminal Lease Agreements (2 versions), Perry International and Leslie Kanuk Associates, 1986
291. “Strategic Plan for the Port of New Orleans.”  Temple, Barker and Sloane; Cocchiara and Renner, 1986.
292. “France Road Terminal Improvement Plan.”  Port Planning and Development Division, 1987
293. Legislative Report for the Port of New Orleans, 1987
294. “Port of New Orleans Far East Trade Mission.” 1987
295. “Summary of Proposals for Changes in Dock Department Tariff.”  Port of New Orleans, 1987

 

Box 31:         Reports - 1988-1995

296. “France Road Terminal Traffic Analysis.”  Urban Systems, Inc., 1988
297. “Port Development Plan:  Upper Mississippi River Facilities.”  Bergeron and Lang, Inc., 1989
298. “Hurricane Preparedness Plan.” Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans, 1990
299. “Private Contracts for Public Business: an Analysis of Professional Service Contracts.” Bureau of Governmental Research, 1990
300. “Briefing Book:  Florida Avenue Bridge Truman-Hobbs Funding,” 1991
301. “Strategic Rail Plan for the Port of New Orleans.”  Ernst and Young Transmodal Consultants, Inc., 1991
302. “Office Relocation Study” (3 versions)  Waggoner and Ball Architects; Billes/Manning Architects, 1991-1992
303. “Louisiana’s Right to work Law: Its Impact on the Economy.”  Timothy P. Ryan, 1992
304. “Relations with Private Sector Stevedoring and Terminal Operating Firms.”  Perry International, Ltd.,1992.
305. “The Economic Impacts of the Port of New Orleans and the Maritime Industry on the New Orleans and Louisiana Economies.”  Timothy P. Ryan and Vincent Maruggi, 1995.

 

Subseries II.5:         General / Miscellaneous Port Papers

            This subseries includes miscellaneous material related to the Port, including bylaws, newspaper and magazine clippings, lease agreements with port tenants, periodicals, press releases,  subject files created by Young around certain port-related issues, tariff amendments and revisions, and other types of material.

            Periodicals:  Originally this collection also contained issues of Port Record and Port n’ People.  Since the Louisiana Collection’s State Documents collection already had these periodicals, the materials found in the Alma Young collection can now be found

 

with the rest of the state documents at P 100.7: (for Port Record) and P 100.7: PP (for Port n’ People)

            Subject Files:  While most of Alma Young’s Port of New Orleans material was organized according to type, she also created a number of files arranged by subject.  We have preserved these subject files in their original order.  Please be advised, however, that these subject files are far from exhaustive either in the range of topics covered or in the completeness of the materials arranged within each file.  Researchers working on a particular topic of interest are advised to also consult the files on correspondence, agendas and minutes, clippings, and other materials since these files contain a great deal of related material which is not contained in the subject files.

 

Box 32:

306. Biographical Material on Port Officials
307. Bylaws of the Board of Commissioners
308. Capital Improvement Program - Monthly Status Reports, August-December 1990
309. Capital Improvement Program - Monthly Status Reports, January-June 1990
310. Capital Improvement Program - Monthly Status Reports, January, October 1991
311. Capital Improvement Program - Other Plans, Summaries and Overviews, 1989-1995
312. Cargo Activity Reports and Summaries of Revenue/Tonnage Performances, 1988-1990
313. Clippings - Newspaper and Magazine Articles, 1984, 1986-1987
314. Clippings - Newspaper and Magazine Articles, 1988
315. Clippings - Newspaper and Magazine Articles, 1989
316. Clippings - Newspaper and Magazine Articles, 1990
317. Clippings - Newspaper and Magazine Articles, 1991
318. Clippings - Newspaper and Magazine Articles, 1992-1993

                                         Note: other port-related newspaper clippings can be found in the Subject Files (folders 341-350) and Alma Young’s research notes (folder 330)

 

Box 33:

319. Lease Agreements - Audubon Park Commission
320. Lease Agreements - Distributors Oil Co., Inc.
321. Lease Agreements - International Rivercenter
322. Lease Agreements - Louisiana World Exposition, Inc.
323. Lease Agreements - MECO
324. Lease Agreements - New Orleans Exhibition Hall Authority (Rivergate)
325. Lease Agreements - Turner Marine Bulk, Inc.
326. Lists of Board Members, Committees, and Nominees
327. Louisiana Revised Statutes regarding the Board of Commissioners
328. Maps and Plans
329. Organizational Charts
330. Paper – “The Local Matters: The Port of New Orleans Responds to Economic Restructuring.”  Manuscript and Research Material  [see also folder 69]
331. Periodicals - CityBusiness supplement, “Focus on the Port,” 1986, 1989, 1992-1994
332. Periodicals - CityBusiness supplement, “Partners in Economic Development,” [1991?]
333. Periodicals - Internacional, 1987
334. Periodicals - Port News Jamaica, September 1988

                                                (includes photo of Alma Young’s visit)

335. Times-Picayune insert:  “The Port of New Orleans: Developing a Louisiana Asset,” June 1991

 

Box 34:

336. Photographs of the Board and of Executive Director J. Ron Brinson
337. Policies and Procedures (for similar items, see: Bylaws – folder 307, Revised Statutes – folder 327, Tariff Papers – folders 351-353)
338. Press Releases, 1986-1988, [no date]
339. Press Releases, 1989-1992
340. “State of the Port Address,” 1987, 1992
341. Subject Files - Aquarium Project, May 1986-September 1987
342. Subject Files - Dispute with St. Bernard Port District over Kaiser Aluminum Site, August 1989-February 1990
343. Subject Files - Jackson Brewery Mixed-Use Development, 1987
344. Subject Files - Minority Business Enterprise Participation and Set Aside Program
345. Subject Files - Riverfront Economic Development Agency (Bill 65), April 1993
346. Subject Files - Riverfront Planning and Rivergate Deal, August 1988-April 1992

 

Box 35:

347. Subject Files - Role of a Board Member and Board-Staff Relations (International Program for Port Planning and Management)
348. Subject Files - Small/Independent Truckers’ Use of the Port of New Orleans, December 1989-February 1990 
349. Subject Files - Tax Reform Referendum, 1989
350. Subject Files - Trade Boycott against South African Apartheid, July-August 1985
351. Tariff Amendments and Revisions, 1986-1988
352. Tariff Amendments and Revisions, 1989-1991
353. Tariff Book and “Rules and Regulations Applying at Public Wharves”
354. Testimony of Port Officials before Government Bodies

 

Box 36:

355. Miscellaneous, 1986
356. Miscellaneous, 1987
357. Miscellaneous, 1988
358. Miscellaneous, 1989
359. Miscellaneous, 1990
360. Miscellaneous, 1991
361. Miscellaneous, 1992

Series III:       Urban Planning Papers

This series contains materials pertaining to Alma Young’s work on urban planning in the city of New Orleans, including her work with the Downtown Development District.  It does not include urban planning articles written by Young or materials relating to her tenure in UNO’s School of Urban and Regional Studies/College of Urban and Public Affairs.  Those materials can be found in Series I, which deals with Alma Young’s academic career.  Likewise, materials relating specifically to the Port of New Orleans are located in Series II.

 

Subseries III.1:        Downtown Development District Papers

“The Downtown Development District of New Orleans is a special taxing district created by state legislative act and approved in a city-wide voters’ referendum in 1975.  Its purpose is to strengthen the Central Business District through strategic planning and the implementation of capital improvements and additional services.” [1]  Alma Young became a Commissioner in January 1980, and held  that post until June 30, 1981.  Notable projects included Canal Street improvement, the Lafayette Pedestrian Mall, and St. Charles Avenue Improvement.

 

Subseries III.1.a:     Papers Relating To Meetings

Agendas and minutes were sent out to Alma Young and other members of the Board of  Commissioners as part of a package.  These packages generally included materials relating to the agenda items, including correspondence, reports, proposals, budgets, and other materials.  These materials have been kept with the meetings papers, while other materials not directly included in the meetings packages have been broken down into other subseries for correspondence, etc.

            The meetings documented in this subseries include both the regular monthly meetings of the Board of Commissioners and the special meetings held by that body.  They also include agendas and minutes from a number of task forces:  the Services Task

 

Force, the Canal Street Task Force, the Lafayette Mall Task Force, the St. Charles Avenue Task Force, the Administrative Task Force, the Transit and Information Referral Task Force, and the Communications Task Force.  Regardless of which of these groups conducted the meetings, all meeting-related documentation is interfiled in chronological order.

 

Box 37:  Agendas and Minutes, 1979-1982

362. October-December 1979, [no date]
363. January 1980
364. February 1980
365. March 1980
366. April 1980
367.  May 1980
368. June 1980
369. July 1980
370. August 1980
371. September 1980
372. October 1980
373. November 1980
374. December 1980
375. January 1981
376. February 1981
377. March 1981
378. April 1981
379. May-June 1981
380. July-August 1981
381. September 1981
382. October 1981
383. November 1981
384. December 1981
385. January-February 1982
386. March-April 1982

 

Subseries III.1.b:     Correspondence

Box 38:         Correspondence, 1979-1982

387. November-December 1979
388. January 1980
389. February 1980
390. March 1980
391. April 1980
392.  May 1980
393. June 1980
394. July 1980
395. August 1980
396. September 1980
397. October 1980
398. November 1980
399. December 1980
400. January 1981
401. February 1981
402. March 1981
403. April 1981
404. May 1981
405. June 1981
406. July 1981
407. August 1981
408. October-November 1981
409. December 1981
410. February-March 1982
411. May - June 1982

 

Subseries III.1.c:  Reports, Studies, and Plans relating to the Downtown Development District

 

Box 39:

412. “Downtown Development District of the City of New Orleans.” No date.
413. “The Lafayette Mall.”  City Planning Commission, no date.
414. “St. Charles Streetscape Improvements: Concept Feasibility.”  L.A. Torre, Ltd., no date.
415. “Sidewalk Requirements.”  Cashio, Cochran and Associates, Inc., no date.
416. “Report on Sanitation Services in the Downtown Development District.”  Downtown Development District, 1980.
417. “Transit and Information Referral System Final Report.”  L.A.Torre, Ltd., 1980.
418. “Lafayette Mall Feasibility Study and Plan.”  DMJM Curtis and Davis, 1981.  Preliminary Draft Report
419. ____.  Final Report
420. ____.Executive Summary
421. ____.  Appendix
422. “Downtown Development District Report on Downtown New Orleans.”  1987.

 

Subseries III.1.d: General/Miscellaneous Downtown Development District Papers

 

Box 40:

423. Annual Report and Plan, 1980.
424. Clippings – Newspaper and Magazine Articles
425. Contracts and Agreements for Services
426. Financial Papers – Downtown Development District
427. Financial Papers – Historic Faubourg St. Mary Corporation
428. International Downtown Executives Association
429. Lafayette Mall – Request for Proposals
430. Leases
431. Legal Papers – William H. Forman, Jr. v. City of New Orleans, et al.
432. Lists of Board Members and Task Forces
433. Ordinances, Acts, and Resolutions relating to the Downtown Development District
434. Personnel – Resumes and Job Descriptions
435. Plans
436. Press Releases
437. Publications Produced by the Downtown Development District
438. Reports and Studies
439. Speech by Alma Young for Ribbon-Cutting Ceremony – Smith and Smith Aircraft
440. Miscellaneous Downtown Development District Papers

 

Subseries III.2:  Urban Planning Reports

This subseries consists of a wide variety of published reports, studies, proposals, plans, and promotional materials, all relating to urban planning.  Most of these materials are specific to New Orleans, though some titles deal with federal Urban Development Action Grants on a general level.  Some of the reports have attached correspondence and other accompanying material.  For similar materials, researchers should also consult Boxes 30 and 31, which contain published reports dealing specifically with the port of New Orleans, and Box 39, which contains published reports related to the Downtown Development Districts and its projects.

 

Box 41:  Reports – no date, 1970-1978

441. “Opportunities for Artists and Craftsmen: Proposals for Intervention in the Warehouse District of New Orleans.”  The Architectural Coalition of Tulane University, no date.
442. “Showcase: New Orleans and the River Region.”  The Chamber – New Orleans and the River Region, no date.
443. “Public Participation in Water Resources Planning.”  Army Corps of Engineers Institute for Water Resources, 1970.
444. “The Central Area New Orleans Growth Management Program:  Technical Report.”  Wallace, McHarg, Roberts, and Todd, 1975.
445. “Criminal Justice Plan.”  Mayor’s Criminal Justice Coordinating Council, 1975
446. “Community, Economic and Manpower Development Linkages.”  U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, 1976.
447. “Heritage Square Industrial Development: Final Report.”  Jack Faucett Associates, Inc., 1976.
448.  “Survival in the City …”  Proceedings of the Conference on the Urban Environment of Greater New Orleans, 1976.
449. “The President’s National Urban Policy Report.”  U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, 1978.
450. “New Orleans 2001.”  Mayor Ernest N. Morial, 1978.
451. “New Orleans, Louisiana Today.”  Carla Crane, Urban Land Institute, 1978.

 

Box 42:  Reports – 1978-1980

452. “St. Thomas-Laurel Multi-Purpose Center:  Application for Funding HUD Innovative Grant.”  City of New Orleans, 1978.
453. “The Arts and City Government – a Unique Opportunity:  Report and Recommendations.”  Mayor’s Task Force on Arts Policy for the City of New Orleans, 1979.
454. “Citizen Participation Plan.”  City of New Orleans, 1979
455. “Final Report.”  Citizens’ Committee Against Crime, 1979.
456. “Impact Analysis of Indo-Chinese Resettlement in the New Orleans Metropolitan Area:  a Task Force Study.”  Indo-Chinese Refugee Resettlement Task Force, 1979.
457. “Preliminary Action Program for the Urban Parks and Recreation Recovery Program.”  1979.
458. “Final Report.”  Mayor’s Housing Task Force, 1979.
459. “Urban Development Action Grant Program: First Annual Report.”  U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, 1979.
460. “Citizen Attitude Survey 1979: Citywide Summary.”  City of New Orleans Office of Analysis and Planning, 1980.
461. “Citizen Attitude Survey 1979:  Services.”  City of New Orleans Office of Policy Planning, 1980.
462. “Comprehensive Needs Assessment.” Mayor’s Task Force on Human Services, 1980.

 

Box 43:  Reports – 1980-1984

463. “Conference Proceedings: Urban Development Action Grants:  Public-Private Partnerships for New Orleans’ Development.”  City of New Orleans, 1980.
464. “Midterm Report to the Citizens of New Orleans.”  Administration of Mayor Ernest N. Morial, 1980.
465. “Public-Private Partnership:  Putting the Puzzle Together.  A Guide to the Urban Development Action Plan Program.”  City of New Orleans Office of Federal Programs and Special Projects, 1980.
466. Recommendations for Commercial Development Along the Freret Street Commercial Strip.”  Robert L Siegel and Asociates, Inc., 1980.
467. “Revenue Revision Task Force: a Final Report.”  1980.
468. “Urban Development Action Grant Program: Second Annual Report.”  U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, 1980.
469. “Women and Work in Metro New Orleans.”  League of Women Voters, 1980.
470. “The Public’s Place in Art for Public Places: the Duncan Plaza Experience.”  Robert L. Dupont and Stuart Arnett, Office of the Mayor, 1981
471. “41 Reasons to Vote for Mayor Morial.”  Morial Reelection Campaign Committee, 1982.
472. “Guide to the Urban Development Action Grants:  Public-Private Partnerships for New Orleans’ Development.”  City of New Orleans, 1982.
473. “Louisiana Children’s Museum: A Prospectus.”  1982.
474. “Report of the Task Force of the Business of Government.”  Metropolitan Area Committee, 1983.

 

Box 44:  Reports – 1984-1989

475. “Agenda 1984:  An Urban Policy Statement of the National Conference of Democratic Mayors.” 1984.
476. “Arts Enterprise Zones:  A Summary of Issues and Recommenda­tions.”  Cheryl Kartes, Artspace Projects Inc., 1984
477. “Recommendation for the Future of New Orleans.”  Commission on the Future of the City, 1985.
478. “Tax Policy for Economic Development:  Louisiana’s Expenditure Policy; Future Policy Directions.”  Governor’s Economic Development Commission, 1985.
479. “Five Year Comprehensive Plan: 1986-1991.  Volume I.”  New Orleans Public Schools, 1986.
480. “Five Year Comprehensive Plan: 1986-1991.  Volume II:  Estimates of Major Cost Items.”  New Orleans Public Schools, 1986.  (Includes notes and background material)
481. “Short Term Measures for Closing Louisiana’s Budgetary Gap.”  Governor’s Economic Development Commission, 1986.
482. “New Orleans Growth Management Plan Update:  Final Report.”  Wallace Roberts and Todd, 1987.
483. “Environmental Enhancement and Public Art:  A Master Plan for the New Orleans Riverfront Floodwall Corridor.”  Riverfront Floodwall Corridor Committee, Inc., 1989.

 

Box 45:  Reports – 1989-1995

484. “Social Impact Assessment for the Mississippi River - Gulf Outlet New Lock and Connecting Channels  DACW29-89-M-0433.”  Urban Systems, Inc., 1989.
485. “Financing City Government in New Orleans:  Outlook ’90.”  Bureau of Governmental Research, 1990.
486. “Annual Report.”  Local Initiatives Support Corporation, 1991.
487. “Master Policy Recommendations:  New Century New Orleans.”  Citizen Advisory Committee, 1992.
488. “New Orleans Tomorrow:  An Economic Development Strategic Plan for the City of New Orleans.”  Economic Development Strategic Planning Committee, 1992.
489. “A Restructured System:  Recommendation for the Establishment of a Mayor’s Office of Children, Youth and Families.”  Mayor’s Special Task Force on Children, Youth and Families, 1994.
490. “Report on the Business Retention and Expansion Program:  May 1994-April 1995.”  Tommy J. Kurtz, Business Retention Program, 1995.
491. “Report on the Business Retention and Expansion Program:  May 1995-October 1995.”  Tommy J. Kurtz, Business Retention Program, 1995.

 

Subseries III.3:  New Orleans Citywide Development Corporation Papers

            Alma Young was a founder of the New Orleans Citywide Development Corporation, an initiative designed to provide loans and technical assistance to local small businesses, and served as its director from 1978 to 1981.  These papers consist of correspondence, meeting materials, financial papers, and loan consideration proposals from her time in the organization.

 

Box 46:

492. Correspondence, 1980-1982
493. Financial Report, Fiscal Year 1981.
494. Loan Consideration Proposals
495. Meeting Papers, 1980-1982
496. Progress Newsletter, 1984
497. Miscellaneous

 

Subseries III.4:  Metrovision Partnership Papers

In 1990, the Metrovision Partnership was established, bringing together business and community leaders from the greater New Orleans area in order to develop a vision and a strategic plan to move the region out of economic difficulties and to provide a basis for the its future economy.  Alma Young served as a consultant in the stakeholder process, and as a facilitator for a focus group dealing with “Civic Culture and Quality of Life.”  The papers in this subsection largely deal with the meetings in which this vision and strategic plan were developed.

 

Box 46:  (Continued)

498. Meetings -  March 6 and April 3, 1990
499. Meetings - June 6, 1990
500. Meetings – June 11, 1990
501. Meetings – June 28, 1990 (focus groups)
502. Meetings – July 19 – August 16, 1990
503. Meetings – August 23, 1990
504. Meetings – September 27, 1990
505. Clippings and Press Releases
506. Correspondence
507. “Demographic and Economic Trends – New Orleans Region”
508. Lists of Stakeholders
509. “Rules for Effective Team Meetings”
510. Stakeholder Process, Strategies, and Goals
511. Miscellaneous City Planning Materials – Speeches and Articles by      Mayor Ernest Morial, 1980, 1984.

 

 

Series IV:  Girl Scout Council of Southeast Louisiana Papers

            This series pertains to Young’s time as a board member of the Girl Scout Council of Southeast Louisiana between 1988 and 1996.  It includes correspondence, meeting agendas and minutes, local and national Girl Scouts publications, press releases, and information on committees and membership numbers.  During Young’s tenure, the Girl Scouts made an effort to increase the diversity of their local membership; these efforts are reflected in the material in this subseries.

 

Box 47:

512. Meeting Schedules; Meetings – May-July 1991
513. Meetings – February-April 1993 [unspecified 1993?]
514. Meetings – May-June 1993
515. Meetings – September, December 1993
516. Meetings – February 23, 1994
517. Meetings – April-May 1994 (includes 1994 annual meeting)
518. Meetings – June-September 1994
519. Meetings – November 16, 1994
520. Meetings – November 1995
521. Meetings – February 1996
522. Meetings - September-December 1996
523. Correspondence – 1991, [no date]
524. Correspondence – January-August 1993
525. Correspondence – September-December 1993
526. Correspondence – January-September 1994

 

Box 48:

527. Financial Papers
528. Lists and Information on Board Members and Committees; Membership Numbers
529. Nominating Committee Papers
530. Press Releases
531. Girl Scouts Publications – GSUSA News, January 1991-June 1994
532. Girl Scouts Publications – Viewpoint, March 1993
533. Girl Scouts Publications – Girl Scouts Bulletin, April-May 1993
534. Girl Scouts Publications – A Report from the National President, September 1993-February 1994
535. Girl Scouts Publications – Board Notes, December 1993-February 1994
536. Girl Scouts Publications – Girl Scout Leader, Summer 1994
537. Girl Scouts Publications – “Tactical Planning: the People and the Process,” 1983
538. Girl Scouts Publications – “The President and the Executive Director in Girl Scouting,” 1984
539. Girl Scouts Publications – “Strategic Planning in Girl Scouting,” 1986
540. Girl Scouts Publications – “Sensitive Issues Statements for Girl Scout Council-Designated Spokespersons,” 1992
541. Girl Scouts Publications – “Girls Scout Educational Opportunities,” 1993
542. Reports – “A Working Plan for Development,” 1993
543. Reports – Annual Report, 1995
544. Reports – “Management Report of the CEO,” 1995
545. Reports – “Resource Development and Marketing Study Report,” 1995
546. Miscellaneous Girls Scouts Papers

 

Series V:       Miscellaneous

            This series contains materials relating to Young’s work with organizations whose volume was not significant enough to warrant a series of their own.  These organizations include the Archdiocese of New Orleans’ Eighth Synod, Arts Council of New Orleans, the Institute of Mental Hygiene, the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities, and the Urban League.  It also includes such peripheral and unclassifiable material as awards and certificates, biographical material, and miscellaneous correspondence which did not fit in with any other series. 

 

Box 49:

547. Archdiocese of New Orleans – Eighth Synod, 1986 – Subcommittee on Employment and Jobs
548. Arts Council of New Orleans – Multicultural Committee Meeting Minutes and Final Report, 1992
549. Arts Council of New Orleans – Other Multicultural Committee Papers
550. Arts Council of New Orleans – Correspondence, July 1988
551. Arts Council of New Orleans – Survey Responses
552. Arts Council of New Orleans – “Municipal Endowment Grants for the Arts:  A Process for Making Recommendations,” 1982
553. Arts Council of New Orleans – Miscellaneous
554. Awards and Certificates of Recognition Received by Alma Young
555. Biographical Material on Alma Young
556. Institute of Mental Hygiene – Technical Advisory Panel - Correspondence
557. Institute of Mental Hygiene – Technical Advisory Panel - Report
558. Institute of Mental Hygiene -  Resumes of Panel Members
559. Institute of Mental Hygiene -  Articles Written by Panel Members
560. Institute of Mental Hygiene -  Miscellaneous
561. Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities

 

Box 50:

562. Urban League – Research Material Compiled by Alma Young for Urban League
563. Urban League – Census Data Consulted by Alma Young for Urban League
564. Urban League Publications – “Project Assist: Action Strategies for Implementing Social Transition,” 1978
565. Urban League Publications – “Running the Gauntlet,” Black Men in America
566. Urban League Publications – The State of Black New Orleans, 1985 (includes section by Alma Young, “The New Orleans Economy and Economic Development Strategies.”)
567. Urban League Publications – Urban League of Greater New Orleans 50^th Anniversary booklet, 1988.
568. Urban League Publications – Annual Reports, 1976-77, 1978
569. Urban League – Miscellaneous
570. Miscellaneous Correspondence

 

Urban League:  See also folder 64, which contains a section Alma Young wrote for the Urban League’s State of Black New Orleans 1986, entitled “Responding to Teenage Pregnancy: New Community Initiatives.”  See also folders 66-67, which contain Young’s article “The Revenue Picture in New Orleans,” written for the Urban League.

    [1] From pamphlet entitled “1988 Downtown Development District Three Rons Luncheon.”  Folder 437.

Index Terms

 

City planning—Louisiana—New Orleans

Downtown Development District

Port of New Orleans.  Board of Commissioners

Young, Alma