Multimedia Collections

Although the use of these items has declined markedly with the advent of CDs, these collections include many prized recordings not available in other formats. These items do not circulate, but we do have turntables patrons can use to listen to them in the back of the Multimedia Collection (room 320) on the third floor. Patrons must ask the staff at the Public Services Desk on the first floor to obtain these recordings and the headphones necessary to listen to them. We have six separate collections:

• "Regular" collection, most of which is included in our online catalog. Patrons may also use the large card file, located to the right as they enter room 320, to find the artists, albums, and individual songs they are looking for.

• The Nozaki Collection, with over 700 titles, mostly jazz. You may search this online guide to find items from this collection.

• The Noble Collection, over 1800 recordings, mostly jazz and vocalists. You may search this online guide to find items from this collection.

• The Palmisano Collection, featuring over 1400 recordings, primarily Broadway and movie musicals before 1990. You may search this online guide to find items from this collection.

• The Coker Collection, with over 700 recordings; mostly jazz but some classical. You may search this online guide to find items from this collection.

• The Von der Haar Collection, with over 3000 recordings; mostly classical with an emphasis on opera recordings. You may search this online guide to find items from this collection.