Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Digital Collections
These are some of the most comprehensive search tools, but many libraries, museums, and archives may have collections on their websites that are not indexed anywhere else. If you do not find what you need from one of these search tools, try going directly to the holding institution's website or contact them directly.
(Scroll down for resources to find physical archival collections and finding aids.)
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Searchable database of digitized materials from libraries, archives, and museums. Included over five million objects as of 2014. Contributors include numerous state universities, the National Archives, the Smithsonian, and more.
Getty Research Portal
Digitized texts, rare books, and related literature, usually with an art history focus. Contributors include the Getty, the Smithsonian, and the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Mass-digitized book collections from a partnership of several large academic and research libraries including Indiana University and the University of Michigan. Public domain texts can be read online.
Searchable database that includes digitized materials ranging from old magazines to concert recordings from numerous sources including several large research libraries. Check each item's description for its source.
Internet Archive "Wayback Machine"
Archives past versions of websites.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
Searchable database of photos held by the Library of Congress. Digital versions may be available where copyright allows.
Library of Congress: American Memory
Digitized materials from collections at the Library of Congress.
National Archives Access to Archival Databases
A search engine for some electronic records held by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).
National Archives Online Public Access
Digitized materials from the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).
Searchable database of freely available digital libraries, institutional repositories, and online journals.
Smithsonian Institution Archive Collections
Search the official records of the Smithsonian, as well as personal papers, special collections, records of professional societies, and oral/video histories relating to the history of the Smithsonian. Digital and Print/Physical Archive search options available.
UNO Digital Collections
Portal to digitized materials from UNO's rare and unique holdings.
Searches library catalogs worldwide. Can limit searches to such criteria as "Archival Materials," "Visual Materials" (i.e. photographs), "Sound Recordings," etc.
Find Archives and Special Collections Finding Aids, Inventories
Digital Initiatives Librarian