Skip to main content

Archives and Inventories: 301 - 325

301 - 325

MSS 301 - Elizabeth Casellas Collection of Music Manuscripts

 
Manuscripts of original musical compositions by Elizabeth "Betty" Brannon Casellas (1925-1984), including instrumental works and songs, some of the latter for children.
(ca. 1946-1962), (1 lin. ft.)
MSS 302 - Don Lee Keith Collection of New Orleans Photographs
The collection consists chiefly of photographs from the New Orleans Courier (formerly the Vieux Carre Courier), a weekly newspaper.
(ca. 1960-1980), (.75 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:
MSS 303 - Karen Harris Collection of Printed Ephemera
Ephemera accumulated by Karen H. Harris, Professor Emerita of Library Science. The collection includes apothecary labels collected by Mrs. Harris's uncle, a New Orleans pharmacist.
(ca. 1890-1913), (5 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:
MSS 304 - William C. Phelps Collection of Photographs
Color photographs by William C. Phelps, a professional photographer in New Orleans. The photographs fall into two groups: scenes of the American Southwest and Mexico, and vegetables arranged creatively.
(ca. 1990s), (6 lin. ft.)
MSS 305 - New Orleans Geological Society
Records and files of the New Orleans Geological Society. Consists of correspondence, publications, memoranda, financial records, and other materials.
(ca. 1948-1986), (9 lin. ft.)
MSS 306 - Patricia Gormin Collection
Videotapes of Project 8, a monthly, thirty-minute program broadcast by WVUE-TV, New Orleans. The program was produced, written, and reported by Patricia Gormin.
(ca. 1978-1982), (8.3 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:
MSS 307 - Jacob Schoen & Son Collection
Consists of over 200 volumes of accounting books used to conduct their business, including journals, cash books, order books, and ledgers. Also contains some books relating to Schoen Realty & Investment Company, Hope Benevolent Association, Fire Company No. 10, and the Metropolitan Club. Records are of particular interest to anyone interested in the livery or funeral businesses, particularly in New Orleans, as they reflect the interdependence of the undertakers of the city when it came to lending and borrowing equipment. The collection would also be of use to anyone interested in the history of the Faubourg Marigny, French Quarter, and Bywater neighborhoods, as well as the extended Seventh, Eighth and Ninth Wards of the city. It would also be of interest to anyone studying family or cultural history of those areas, particularly the German, Italian, and Creole residents, as well as the many benevolent associations throughout the city.
(ca. 1874-1997), (30 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:
MSS 308 - Homer Hitt Collection of Editorial Cartoons
Original editorial cartoons pertaining to Louisiana State University in New Orleans (later the University of New Orleans), collected by and mostly inscribed by the cartoonists to Dr. Homer Hitt, founding chancellor of the university. The cartoons appeared on WDSU-TV (New Orleans) and in various local print media.
(ca. 1963-1980), (6 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:
MSS 309 - Bayou Lacombe Oral History Collection
Copies of tapes of interviews with current and former residents of Bayou Lacombe, recorded on thirty-nine (39), sixty-minute audiotape cassettes.
(ca. 1990-2001), (1 lin. ft.)
MSS 310 - K & B Archives
Artifacts associated with K & B, Inc., formerly known as Katz & Besthoff, Limited, a chain of drug stores that operated from 1905 to 1997. Headquartered in New Orleans, the company operated stores in Mississippi, Alabama, Florida, Tennessee, and Texas, as well. This portion of the collection mainly contains pharmaceutical bottles and products sold by K & B, including both national and store brands.
(ca. late 1800s-1997), (36 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:


 

MSS 311 - Charles Dennery Co. Collection
Business records, awards, and pictures associated with Charles Dennery Co., Inc., a company that imported and manufactured supplies and utensils for bakers, confectioners, candy makers, restaurants, cafeterias, ice cream manufacturers, soda water dispensers, and bottlers.
This Collection has not been processed.
(ca. 1894-1973), (12 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:
  • MSS -
MSS 312 - Building Arts Collection
Cassette tape recordings and transcripts of forty-eight interviews with black Creole craftsmen who participated in the building trades in New Orleans. Included are carpenters, plasterers, masons, and others.
(ca. 1998-2001), (2 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:
MSS 313 - K & B Archives, Addendum 1
Business records of K & B, Inc., formerly known as Katz & Besthoff, Limited, a chain of drug stores that operated from 1905 to 1997. Headquartered in New Orleans, the company operated stores in Mississippi, Alabama, Florida, Tennessee, and Texas, as well.
(ca. 1946-1997), (9 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:
MSS 314 - K & B Archives, Addendum 2
Memorabilia associated with K & B, Inc., formerly known as Katz & Besthoff, Limited, a chain of drug stores that operated from 1905 to 1997. Headquartered in New Orleans, the company operated stores in Mississippi, Alabama, Florida, Tennessee, and Texas, as well.
This collection has not been processed.
(ca. - ), (6 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:
MSS 315 - K & B Archives, Addendum 3
Business records of K & B, Inc., formerly known as Katz & Besthoff, Limited, a chain of drug stores that operated from 1905 to 1997. Headquartered in New Orleans, the company operated stores in Mississippi, Alabama, Florida, Tennessee, and Texas, as well.
(ca. 1868-2003), (6 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:
MSS 316 - Joseph Logsdon Collection
Papers of Joseph Logsdon, longtime professor of history at the University of New Orleans
This collection has not been processed.
(ca. - ), ( lin. ft.)
Related Collections:
  • MSS -
MSS 317 - Tharp-Sontheimer Funeral Homes Collection
Business records of Tharp-Sontheimer Funeral Homes.
(ca. 1869-1987), (5.5 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:
MSS 318 - Mrs. Muffin Collection
New Orleans metropolitan area and region within WDSU-TV's broadcast signal.
(ca. 1950-1957), (1.5 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:
MSS 319 - WVUE-TV Channel 8 News Collection
Film and scripts of news and sports programs broadcast by WVUE-TV, then the ABC affiliate in New Orleans, Louisiana.
This collection has not been processed.
(ca. 1968-1980), (350 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:
MSS 320 - Fredrick Barton Collection of Literary Manuscripts
Typescripts of four novels by Fredrick Barton.
(ca. 1989-2002), (2 lin. ft.)


 

MSS 321 - Rene Louapre / Saenger Theatre Collection of Sheet Music
Music from the Saenger Theatre, performed by Rene Louapre and his orchestra. In most instances, complete orchestrations are present.
(ca. 20th century), (115.5 lin. ft.)
MSS 322 - Krauss Department Store Collection
Records of Krauss Department Store, chiefly pertaining to advertising but also including photographs, correspondence, memorabilia, and other materials.
This collection has not been processed.
(ca. 1903-1997), (27 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:
MSS 323 - Southern Food and Beverage Museum Collection
Menus and other food-related ephemera and other materials, collected chiefly from restaurants in the southern United States.
This collection has not been processed.
(ca. post 1950s), (6 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:
MSS 324 - Mrs. Bernard J. Ward Collection
Collection of receipts, treasury notes, and bonds issued chiefly by the Confederate States of America and by Louisiana companies. Also one issue of the St. Martinville (La.) Courier of the Teche (February 11, 1865), printed on wallpaper.
(ca. 1852-1865), (83 items)
Related Collections:
MSS 325 - Francis C. Plough Collection
Five-dollar bond (#24188), State of Louisiana, ca. 1880; letter from Joseph Kohn, New Orleans, to D. B. Gorham, February 16, 1881, regarding a lawsuit over taxes.
(ca. 1800-1881), (.1 lin. ft.)
Related Collections: