Skip to Main Content

Archives and Inventories: 326 - 350

326 - 350

MSS 326 - Fred Palmisano Collection
Musical compositions and plays by Fred Palmisano of New Orleans.
This collection has not been processed.
(ca. 1970-1990),
(3 lin. ft.)

 

MSS 327 - Henry P. Dart, Jr. Diary

Desk diary maintained by Henry Plauche Dart, Jr. (b. 1883). Contains daily entries which include comments on professional, personal, and financial activities.
(ca. 1917),
(1 item)
Related Collections:

 

 

MSS 328 - Armando Gomez de Velasco Collection
Collection of miscellaneous material compiled by Armando Gómez de Velasco, who served in the Mexican Revolution as an officer in the armies of Francisco Madero and Francisco "Pancho" Villa, and who was involved with a magazine of political satire during that time. Includes manuscripts, typescripts, telegrams, photographs, newspapers, and extensive ephemera pertaining to the Mexican Revolution (1910-1920). Volumes are bound by hand and are titled and dated on the covers; actual dates of contents vary slightly. The collection once contained additional volumes which are not present.
(ca. 1909-1951),
(9 volumes)

 

MSS 329 - New Orleans Municipal Election of 2006 Collection
Collection of miscellaneous material compiled by staff members of the LouEarl K. Long Libraryisiana and Special Collections Department relating to the New Orleans municipal election of 2006. Includes newspaper and magazine clippings, candidates' pamphlets and flyers, voter guides and organizational endorsements, printouts from candidates' websites, and campaign signs. The collection contains material related to the mayor's race as well as the city council races and elections for other parish officials.
(ca. 2005-2006),
( lin. ft.)
Related Collections:

  • Louisiana Collection Vertical File

 

MSS 330 - The Times-Picayune Huey P. Long Assassination Editions Collection
Issues of the New Orleans Times-Picayune published September 9 through September 13, 1935, covering Huey P. Long's shooting by Carl A. Weiss, death, and burial. Ten issues, including extras.
(ca. 1935-1935),
(3 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:

 

MSS 331 - The Times-Picayune Hurricane Katrina Editions Collection
Issues of the New Orleans Times-Picayune published August 28, 2005 through September 17, 2005, covering Hurricane Katrina's devastation of the New Orleans area. Twenty-three issues. (Issues of August 30-31 and September 1, 2005, were issued in electronic form only. See http://www.nola.com/katrina/pages/.
(ca. August-September, 2005),
(3 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:

 

MSS 332 - "Writing Katrina" (Spring 2006) Collection
Interviews with persons who experienced Hurricane Katrina (August 29, 2005) and/or its aftermath in the New Orleans area. Each interview file contains a transcript, related documentation, and audiotape(s) and/or videotape(s) and/or CD(s). Some additionally are accompanied by photographs. The interviews were conducted in partial fulfillment of the requirements of the University of New Orleans course HIST 4991, "Writing Katrina: Oral History Theory and Practice" (Spring 2006), taught by Dr. Connie Z. Atkinson.
(ca. 2006),
(1.5 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:

 

MSS 333 - "Writing Katrina" (Fall 2006) Collection
Interviews with persons who experienced Hurricane Katrina (August 29, 2005) and/or its aftermath in the New Orleans area. Each interview file contains a transcript, related documentation, and audiotape(s) and/or videotape(s) and/or CD(s). Some additionally are accompanied by photographs. The interviews were conducted in partial fulfillment of the requirements of the University of New Orleans course HIST 4991, "Writing Katrina: Oral History Theory and Practice" (Fall 2006), taught by Dr. Connie Z. Atkinson.
(ca. 2006),
(1.5 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:

 

MSS 334 - Sybil Kein Creole History Collection
Personal, literary, and research papers of Sybil Kein. The material pertains to Kein's career as a poet, playwright, musician, and academic. In addition to charting the course of Kein's career, the central subject matter of the collection is the history and culture of Louisiana's Creoles of color.
(ca. 1968-2005),
(9 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:

 

MSS 335 - Newcomers Club of New Orleans Collection
Records of the Newcomers Club of New Orleans, an organization comprised of women over twenty-one years of age who have relocated to the New Orleans area within two years prior to joining.
(ca. 1947-1998),
(9 lin. ft.)

 

MSS 336 - Avondale Shipyards Collection
Newsletters, photographic slides, and other miscellany.
(ca. 1948-2002),
(5 lin. ft.)

 

MSS 337 - Stephen P. Alleman Collection
Recordings by punk and new wave musical groups and artists active in New Orleans ca. late 1970s-early 1980s
(ca. 1979-1985),
(.5 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:

 

MSS 338 - Francis C. Grevemberg Collection, Addendum 2
This collection has not been processed.
(ca. ),
( lin. ft.)
Related Collections:

 

MSS 339 - Carroll Grevemberg Collection
This collection has not been processed.
(ca. ),
( lin. ft.)

 

MSS 340 - Zonta Club Collection
The Zonta Club of New Orleans is the local chapter of Zonta International, a worldwide organization dedicated to the advancement of women. The New Orleans chapter was founded in 1959.
(ca. 1959-2006),
(13 lin. ft.)

 

MSS 341 - Don Lee Keith Collection
Articles, photographs, newspaper clippings, magazine clippings, newspapers, magazines, audio, and correspondence related to Don Lee Keith. Includes research materials acquired by Keith, significant portions of which focus on Truman Capote or Tennessee Williams, as well as articles written by Don Lee Keith, both published and in draft or manuscript form.
(ca. 1947-2001),
(1.7 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:

 

MSS 342 - Wallace C. Walker Scrapbooks Collection
Four scrapbooks containing chiefly photographs and newsclippings pertaining to residences and other structures in Louisiana. Assembled by Wallace C. Walker, a New Orleans developer, contractor, and realtor who worked on these and other construction projects in Louisiana and Mississippi.
(ca. 1936-1952),
(1 lin. ft.)

 

MSS 343 - John C. Kelly - Michael J. Rosa Collection
Ball invitations, programs, and related memorabilia associated with the celebration of the New Orleans Carnival by the city's gay community.
(ca. 1977-2006),
(3 lin. ft.)

 

MSS 344 - Bultman Funeral Home Collection
The collection consists primarily of bound ledgers and account books of various types, created in the normal course of business of a prominent New Orleans funeral home. Flooding that occurred in association with Hurricane Katrina (2005) destroyed other archival records, and many gaps exist. No other records are known to survive. Also present are a small quantity of records of the funeral home operated by the Joseph Laughlin Co., and of the Gulf States Life Insurance Co., the latter pertaining to burial policies.
(ca. 1892-1991),
(20 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:

 

MSS 345 - Michael Arseneau Collection
Twenty-six (26) photographic slides depicting the interior of Bultman Funeral Home (3338 St. Charles Avenue in New Orleans) on the day before Bultman's vacated it. Accompanied by a compact disc containing the same images. The images were captured by Michael Arseneau, a librarian at the Earl K. Long Library and a skilled amateur photographer, who participated in transporting the Bultman Funeral Home Archives (Mss 344) to the library.
(ca. 2007),
(.2 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:

 

MSS 346 - J. John Perret Collection
Two sermons of Adrien Emmanuel Rouquette (1813-1887), a priest who served in New Orleans from 1845 to 1859 and thereafter as a missionary to the Choctaw of Bayou Lacombe.
(ca. 1845-1859),
(.1 lin. ft.)

 

MSS 347 - Orleans Parish School Board Legal Files
This collection has not been processed.
(ca. ),
( lin. ft.)
Related Collections:

 

MSS 348 - Homer L. Hitt Collection
Papers, correspondence, photographs, clippings, and related ephemera documenting the establishment and operation of LSUNO (later UNO) from its inception until the 1980s. The collection also includes the personal papers, letters, speeches, and other items belonging to, and produced by, the first chancellor of the university.
(ca. 1917-2008),
(30 lin. ft.)

 

MSS 349 - Lionel G. Whitfield Collection
Correspondence and personal papers of Leonard G. Whitfield and his mother, Mrs. Hazel James. Correspondence is from Lionel to his mother from his time in the Army between the years 1950 and 1952 during the Korean War. Also includes telegrams and sympathy cards following his grandmother's death shortly after his return from duty, as well as other miscellaneous items such as photographs, patches, and tax forms.
(ca. 1892-1964),
(.8 lin. ft.)

 

MSS 350 - Bertram C. Sippola Collection
Meeting minutes, correspondence, and printed ephemera chronicling general university activity, as well as Junior Division history, through the 1970s until the department's dissolution in the late 1980s. Some papers also contain early information about the administration of the Bachelor of General Studies degree when it was overseen by the Junior Division.
(ca. 1970-1988),
(1 lin. ft.)
Related Collections:

MSS 159 - University of New Orleans Archives